Mitsubishi Outlander GT Prototype with 3.0L V6 to be unveiled at NYIAS 2009

Outlander GT

Mitsubishi will debut the vehicle above at the NYIAS 2009. It will be called the Mitsubishi Outlander GT Prototype, essentially what looks like an Outlander with a Lancer face up front, which makes it look more aggressive.

Of course for an American show debut you mustn’t talk about anything being a performance model without at least a V configuration engine so it uses a 3.0 litre SOHC MIVEC V6 engine, never mind the fact that the 4-pot in the Evo or even the Lancer Ralliart is more powerful.

The Outlander will also reportedly gain a new feature called Idle Neutral Logic, which basically shifts your auto transmission into neutral automatically when you stop. This really isn’t something new I think, heard of it years back but I forgot which car… but new for the Outlander I guess.

Stay tuned for more details when the MYIAS rolls along in a few days time.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Apr 06, 2009 at 4:12 am

waa,look like outlander

will have jaws mouth grill

same with their lancer

wrarrr

• chaku on Apr 06, 2009 at 4:22 am

wth is wrong with mitsu…

obsessed with that face ar?lancer,colt n now outlander…not to mention several other concept car that bear the same face..

• lambov12 (Member) on Apr 06, 2009 at 5:18 am

they fit the lancer shark mouth on the outlander ..

• willpower on Apr 06, 2009 at 6:30 am

when this special machine will hit our shores

• CocoBear on Apr 06, 2009 at 7:21 am

Yawn… Soon, all their line-ups will be bear the same shark face, baby shark, mumy shark, daddy shark…..

• The front looks so much like Audi, the gaping mouth and all.

• Farhat Haniff on Apr 06, 2009 at 3:18 pm

The shark face only look well fitted on low hood saloon/sedan cars (eg Lancer/Evo), to actually capture the aggressiveness and it will do what its suppose to do, lead, prance and capture every car on the road. When its on the Colt, small hood, higher level, it lost its aggressiveness, same with SUV. Larger headlamps or matching side and back profile will work.

• Farhat Haniff on Apr 06, 2009 at 3:19 pm

The shark face only look well fitted on low hood saloon/sedan cars (eg Lancer/Evo), to actually capture the aggressiveness and it will do what its suppose to do, lead, prance and capture every car on the road. When its on the Colt, small hood, higher level, it lost its aggressiveness, same with SUV. Larger headlamps or matching side and back profile will work…

• mystvearn on Apr 06, 2009 at 6:31 pm

That is just a evo X on bigger wheels:P

• eezarm on Apr 06, 2009 at 7:22 pm

maybe…they want to be like Audi…to have the same front look on every models…probably like BMW too…

i wonder if proton put Waja look on all the models…hahaha…

• initial R on Apr 06, 2009 at 8:29 pm

ok le tu… mula spesis dugong, skarang spesis jerung. Wah… meriah mamalia air atas jalan skarang… :) trend baru dari jepun. sebulan dua nanti tengok wish dugong mendarat kat malaysia, pastu outlander jerung plak. ;P.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 06, 2009 at 10:53 pm

Just wait the pic to be unblurred baru tahu lor..

• amirzaim on Apr 07, 2009 at 6:18 am

The front outlander design like a lancer evo x. hehehe……..would be a lancer suv edition huh ?…

• wisedriver (Member) on Apr 07, 2009 at 4:43 pm

evo 10 jinjang version .. same like wira jinjang

• bmpower on Apr 07, 2009 at 5:55 pm

if they think they can apply all EVO lancer front look to all of their car..

they are all wrong!.. It look sucks and horrible!.

• Paul, The Neutral Logic is derived from Opel Vectra. Remember that old skool with full of gadget

• I wonder how much horsepower produce from this 3.0 V6 SOHC Mivec engine… I expect at least 230hp…

Old Mitsubishi Eclipse 3.0 V6 without Mivec can produce 210hp…

• Tristan123 on Apr 08, 2009 at 2:06 am

I was a little sceptical in trying a service like this, but much to my delight this company was a pleasure to do business with. I buy and sell quality used vehicles for a living; I started by listing a 2005 Honda Accord with them which sold in a short time for its actual value. Now I have been selling with them for the last year putting a little extra money in my pocket. I give them an A+ rating. If you are having trouble selling your car, they will definitely be able to assist you.