Geely GE shamelessly apes the Phantom

Geely GE

Everytime Chinese automakers begin to show that they’ve moving one step ahead towards being able to produce advanced and most importantly SAFE cars, things like this destroy all that goodwill and return them to rip-off death trap status.

This is the Geely GE, which at first impression is obviously a rip-off of a Rolls-Royce. Geely denies this of course, saying that while it shares some similiarities it is “original” because while it looks similiar, the details are different enough to be called something new. The 5.4 meter long car has a 3.5 litre V6 engine under its hood.

Geely GE

The Geely GE (GE = Geely Excellence) shown here is a concept car but it must be for the truly antisocial high class Chinese customer as when you peek into the rear passenger cabin there is only one seat, somewhat like a little throne in the car. Only 3 seats in such a large thing – one driver and perhaps a bodyguard at the front and the boss at the back. The production version will be sold under a new brand called YingLun, which is meant to sound like England.

Rolls-Royce Asia Pacific is contemplating legal action, but we don’t know of any further action yet as of publishing time. But what they did say is that despite imitation being the best kind of flattery, they definitely are not flattered.

Look after the jump for more angles of the Geely GE.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=261]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• corolla_KE70 on Apr 28, 2009 at 4:36 am

They can copy the car, but they cant copy the soul of the Royce.

• Gajen on Apr 28, 2009 at 4:42 am

no other work…what a copycat…

• lambov12 (Member) on Apr 28, 2009 at 4:48 am

no imagination .. souless ..

• Dracryst on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:01 am

Chrysler 300C + RR Phantom LOL

I don't feel any "class" by looking at it.

• flipode on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:06 am

damn nice..

• mystvearn on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:07 am

They will keep copying forever until its not economically viable.

• chain on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:08 am

as less they have some effort to make some luxury car for those who cant afford to buy Rolls-Royce. and if u say the automaker is soulless how about proton.furthermore their automakers are still younger than proton.

• Mini_Mack on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:18 am

ayooo…why have to bring proton story here 'chain'? Hah? why…dont understand la this kind of people…

• BMW tried to sued in d past but failed to win d case at d end….gd luck to RR

• proton using mitsubhshi is because of the colaborate issue, nothing can be shouted at proton.

geely has their engineering power, they have designer in house, i still dont get the reason why they have to copy something bulat bulat.

lexus did it by copying part of the mercedes like how merc styled their car. then now they developed their own L-finess .

• nengkupao on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:31 am

Sighs this china automobil manufacturer is always making the chinese people's name ugly!!! Luckily i wasn't born in china…

• Khim Foh on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:36 am

I almost fell off my chair when I saw this blatant copying of the RR Phantom and I guess the boys from RR must be fuming at the Geely.

Personally Geely has really 'outdone' itself by blatantly copying the RR Phantom. It's so wrong, it's so hideous, it's so Chinese…hahahahaha

• kicap on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:39 am

Which part do you think its copy the Rolls?? Is it the grille that you all whining about?? To me, everything is tailored to their own design. Yes, the grille is quite similar to the Rolls but that is because only Rolls has that kind of unique desgin. That's why people like to bash this kind of stuff. And i salute the idea of single seat king-alike in this car! Very orignal and brave!

• Archer on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:51 am

Well Lexus has copied parts of Mercedes and Infinity copied BMW. Everyone copies a little styling here and there but Geely copying almost 100% of RR is blatant. Anyway no class lah if buying one of those copy cat cars, I certainly will not. Glad to say at least Proton Malaysia has some original ideas of their own and not considered a copycat car company.

• Calvin De La Rosa on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:58 am

This is soo wrong on many levels…

• flake on Apr 28, 2009 at 6:01 am

can't say its a copy cause technically it ain't one. Still what can RR sue them on copying ideas

• layman on Apr 28, 2009 at 6:15 am

Air Asia – "Now everyone can fly"

Geely – "Now everyone can own a Rolls-Royce"

• henry on Apr 28, 2009 at 6:16 am

the front looks merely similiar to 80's Lincoln/Cadillac limos.

• Aizat on Apr 28, 2009 at 6:18 am

It must be difficult for the boss to enter .. at last the bos seat beside driver .. ahaha

• gokibin on Apr 28, 2009 at 6:20 am

I wan one of these… can imagine it now… me, driving thru my "hood"… wah, can give one to snoopDOGG…. pimp car man…

• James on Apr 28, 2009 at 6:26 am

I saw this car in the Shanghai Auto Show, and also Persona and Savvy over there which are under Lotus badge.

• this car better be bloody expensive, if not, people might be better off buying the original Rolls just because it can actually sit like at least 4 people. not.. 3?

• James on Apr 28, 2009 at 6:31 am

This is a link to the Savvy in the Shanghai Auto Show. http://auto.sina.com.cn/news/2009-04-21/220848466…

• nabill on Apr 28, 2009 at 6:34 am

it reflects the society perhaps , this is soo sick…and this actually shows geely have not done or improve anyting all those years, the fact that thy waste so much time and money copying RR shows despite the hype , they are noting more than assembelers rather than outsright car manufacturer , paul please remove this topic , its so shamless to even see the pic….human dignity worth more than this man !

• protonbasher on Apr 28, 2009 at 6:39 am

"…proton using mitsubhshi is because of the colaborate issue, nothing can be shouted at proton.

geely has their engineering power, they have designer in house, i still dont get the reason why they have to copy something bulat bulat.."

Proton has been around now for donkey years and they still cannot design an engine by themselves. Even the Exora was done with help from an external engineering advisory team – now why's that? I'm sorry, Geely is very blatantly guilty of copying (as as such continuing the Chinese stereotype), but as a national car maker, Proton is guilty of shaming all Malaysians.

• dozing on Apr 28, 2009 at 6:46 am

geli…so geli

• Shadab on Apr 28, 2009 at 6:51 am

You forget when europe stole, leave alone copying, ancient chinese knowledge in fields of technology, medicine, maths in the 17th century , and calling it their own.

To use an old saying

Kettle calling the pot black

• drgn86 on Apr 28, 2009 at 7:18 am

[quote comment="234349"]it reflects the society perhaps , this is soo sick…and this actually shows geely have not done or improve anyting all those years, the fact that thy waste so much time and money copying RR shows despite the hype , they are noting more than assembelers rather than outsright car manufacturer , paul please remove this topic , its so shamless to even see the pic….human dignity worth more than this man ![/quote]

hey, don't put this into a racial stereotype issue, ok? be careful with your words, just because geely is a chinese car manufacturer doesn't mean the whole chinese society is similar. stop dramatising stuff such as this, "human dignity worth more than this man"

• michishige on Apr 28, 2009 at 7:23 am

geely should at least change the exterior a bit..

like mitsuoka galue..

then top gear would be kind enough to test drive it..

but if it looks like this, it will end up in a 10 sec bashing review by the trio.

• Tiadaid on Apr 28, 2009 at 7:25 am

[quote comment="234351"]"…proton using mitsubhshi is because of the colaborate issue, nothing can be shouted at proton.

geely has their engineering power, they have designer in house, i still dont get the reason why they have to copy something bulat bulat.."

Proton has been around now for donkey years and they still cannot design an engine by themselves. Even the Exora was done with help from an external engineering advisory team – now why's that? I'm sorry, Geely is very blatantly guilty of copying (as as such continuing the Chinese stereotype), but as a national car maker, Proton is guilty of shaming all Malaysians.[/quote]

Hello, who owns Lotus? Tell me that…always bash but no substance. At least Proton don't blatantly copy…

• At least they have taste, they copied/designed something nice.

• Rush Lee on Apr 28, 2009 at 7:38 am

[quote comment="234346"]I saw this car in the Shanghai Auto Show, and also Persona and Savvy over there which are under Lotus badge.[/quote]

it's under Europestar badge la kawan..

[quote comment="23435]Proton has been around now for donkey years and they still cannot design an engine by themselves. Even the Exora was done with help from an external engineering advisory team – now why's that? I'm sorry, Geely is very blatantly guilty of copying (as as such continuing the Chinese stereotype), but as a national car maker, Proton is guilty of shaming all Malaysians.[/quote]

funny statement.. u are the one who's quilty of shaming all malaysians with ur attitude.. u're such a disgrace to our Malaysians community.. Japanese products always good mentality.. condemned our own product.. dont tell me that this 3.5 litre V6 engine was design by Geely themself.. Even if Exora need a support from external engineering, in that time local engineer will learn how to make an improvement.. and, Geely GE was a copy bulat bulat.. now, why's that? If the ori designer want to filing lawsuit against them, they will easily said, this design was our. As always..

i've once heard another costumers talking each others when i went to hardware store, they said that "NIPPON PAINT" is better than "COLORLAND"… Just curious, both are same with 5 years lasting, quality are the same and "COLORLAND" dont have bad past story just like proton, but "NIPPON PAINT" is better just because it's was japanese made? and just because COLORLAND was malaysian made? Malaysian mentality…

• drgn86 on Apr 28, 2009 at 7:40 am

the main reason that proton are always bashed at is the current automotive policy that is forcing malaysians to forgo more of their hard-earned money if they want non-national brands, why the bias if they claim to shed their old mentality for further improvement?

• fliedlice on Apr 28, 2009 at 7:50 am

[quote comment="234351"]"…proton using mitsubhshi is because of the colaborate issue, nothing can be shouted at proton.

Proton has been around now for donkey years and they still cannot design an engine by themselves. Even the Exora was done with help from an external engineering advisory team – now why's that? I'm sorry, Geely is very blatantly guilty of copying (as as such continuing the Chinese stereotype), but as a national car maker, Proton is guilty of shaming all Malaysians.[/quote]

protonbasher, if you do not know what you are talking about, then shut up. Tiadaid is absolutely right about Lotus. if you know anything about the automotive industry you will know that there are companies like Lotus engineering (england), EDAG (germany) and LG (korea) that do automotive consultancy work for most of the car makers around the world as their core business.

it's people like you who like to show off their lack of intelligence and knowledge that is shaming Malaysia.

• what a blatant rip off.

i think China will protect them, as with the other copied car. chery qq etc.

• tarmac on Apr 28, 2009 at 8:25 am

the throne back seat is a little short/low, don't u think. Are they insinuating these rich cinamen are short? tst tst. Why no leg rest? The car IS to bad taste but the back seat is just hilarious. Should have launched on April 1st.

• oldwira on Apr 28, 2009 at 8:31 am

Brainless basher and shut that automotive policy issue up. Follow Koreans who always support their automative industry without giving a damn chance to Jap craps entering their market. Shamless.

• eezarm on Apr 28, 2009 at 8:34 am

[quote comment="234341"]Air Asia – "Now everyone can fly"

Geely – "Now everyone can own a Rolls-Royce"[/quote]

————–

yeah…totally agree with dat…

• Saleh Al hashemi on Oct 11, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Had it not been for CHINA no one of the low and middle class people would have worn or owned a commodity whether an immitated swiss watch or copycat RR? We have to be realistic and logical in lieu of being resentful and cynical. At least the majority of people now can afford to dream to possess semiqualitative brands?.

• alansmithz (Member) on Apr 28, 2009 at 8:42 am

[quote comment="234372"]the main reason that proton are always bashed at is the current automotive policy that is forcing malaysians to forgo more of their hard-earned money if they want non-national brands, why the bias if they claim to shed their old mentality for further improvement?[/quote]

Proton is very poor in copying. Look at all the previous Proton models, if they have really put more effort in copying good idea & design from others, they might not be what they are today (good example Hyundai & KIA).

Copying is how some people learn how to do something & eventually understand how to make one "copy" work. It's not as easy as we assumed.

For Geely to copy like that, it show us how the China businessman do business. In my opinion, they might think Rolls Royce Phatom are bloody too expensive & ripe off for their money. Geely bosses might think: "We can build the same thing & sell it for 1/10 of the price & still earn s**t lot of renmingbi from this". So, there you have, a middle class man Rolls Royce.

They are pirates but they use their skill & knowledge well to steal, not like some cronies here who use their mouth & name to get rich overnight.

In China, it's really dog eat dog competition. Anyone will sink if they don't swim. (Ha ha, if you just keep talking & not moving your arm & leg to paddle, water will enter your mouth & you eventually drown…..Simple??)

• tah hape2 protonbasher…

people talk about this bluntly copied car….

suddenly it ended with Proton issue

typical malaysia….

kasi betis nak peha…… never feel grateful…..

can we just not related every single car that appear in this blog to Proton…

Malaysian should have confident with own products…. give time to Proton under new management… DSZ gudluck…

by d way … it is not wrong to call upon engineering consultancy to help with our product … at least they have effort… not just sitting in the cold office… and do nothing… just justifying themselves clever enough…

• tansri on Apr 28, 2009 at 8:53 am

so gurly~geely to talk about proton here..

proton has shown malaysian has dignity to build their own car, not like china..

they stand on their own..we should be proud!!

• protonbasher on Apr 28, 2009 at 9:17 am

Nothing like a good Proton bashing to get the blood boiling in some people. hehehe… Ok I admit, I know little of the automotive industry. I'll shut up now.

By the way, Paul – keep up the good work. We like your post very much here in the UK!

• No need a genius to tell Proton sucks.

• automotive industry is always copying each other design..

• Plutohunter on Apr 28, 2009 at 10:10 am

So the name of this model is "Geely GE" which also breaks into "Geely Geely Excellence", am I correct? How funny, just like ATM machine, auto-teller machine machine, hahaha.

• chain on Apr 28, 2009 at 10:59 am

[quote comment="234393"]so gurly~geely to talk about proton here..

they stand on their own..we should be proud!![/quote]

malaysian diginity to copy other peoples car and copy until more lousy such as wira n saga also perdana..proton used so much $ to buy a nearly bankrupt car company lotus,and gain nothing.you think UK people will teach you how to make engine isnt?..wat a joke..they will just let you make the normal component of a engine but they kept their core technology.

• ambipur on Apr 28, 2009 at 11:09 am

i wonder if they would copy supercars? hmmm

googled around and saw a mix yaris+scionxa, fiat panda copies made from china,

the most that RR can do is deny any exports of the car to any country as it can cause consumers to buy the wrong car and get wrong perception of a good quality automaker and a copycat automaker

• ambipur on Apr 28, 2009 at 11:11 am

[quote comment="234417"][quote comment="234393"]so gurly~geely to talk about proton here..

malaysian diginity to copy other peoples car and copy until more lousy such as wira n saga also perdana..proton used so much $ to buy a nearly bankrupt car company lotus,and gain nothing.you think UK people will teach you how to make engine isnt?..wat a joke..they will just let you make the normal component of a engine but they kept their core technology.[/quote]

lotus doesnt make engines they use toyota engines.

• Calvin De La Rosa on Apr 28, 2009 at 1:02 pm

It's soo funny how SOME MALAYSIAN get offended when people any where in the world bashing product from China… and yet they hold MALAYSIAN CITIZENSHIP… sigh + face-palmed!

China declared their independent 200+ B.C… that's more than TWO THOUSAND (2000) years AGO! Malaysia only officially independent 51… that's five, one, years ago!

We are a YOUNG 3RD WORLD country with population less than 28 million people compared to 1.3 BILLION people in the Mainland (not including HK). that's 1,300,000,000 people. Out of that, 800,000,000+ (800 millions plus) are working in industrial sector with payment as low as US125 per year… that's PER YEAR. And yet HERE, we hear people without any qualification complaining getting RM800 PER MONTH working in retail lines!

That's just ONE of MANY FACTORS why China can produces products at dirt cheap price… cheap labours. Putting in place of all the COST SAVING, aren't we suppose to expect high quality (/QC) and original products?

So instead of focusing on China or other countries that we dont have their citizenship in the 1st place… why dont we focus on our YOUNG COUNTRY. Have problems with our YOUNG COUNTRY homemade product..? Give CONSTRUCTIVE criticism.

Remember, USA that independent some 300 years plus ago, and so call the no. 1 country in the world, just approved in total US40 BILLION BAILOUT for GM & Chrysler, two proud automakers with combine history of more than 100 years!

And not to mention latest report said that USA has 36 MILLIONS unemployment and 13 MILLIONS people lost their job since the recession!

So be thankful we are living in a 'YOUNG COUNTRY' on the rise and maturing into a global player. So please, instead of arguing, bashing, bickering, etc, with the advance of Internet and places like PAULTAN.ORG, voice your CONSTRUCTIVE comment(s) so that the whole nation can hear you and trust me… THERE ARE people that want to elevate this 'young country' to a new height are LISTENING!

• jamsbong on Apr 28, 2009 at 2:46 pm

First look, it does feel like a copycat but looking inside it looks original. The single back seat positioned in the middle. That will make you feel like a king!

haha…

I think is a fantastic job, Japanese companies have long being a master of copying. Now the new generation of copycats belong to China. Big deal… For me, the fact that Geely dares to challenge the luxury market is courageous. Good work Geely.

• Skippy on Apr 28, 2009 at 3:54 pm

Can i clear something here?

1. From 1985 saga to waja/perdana, PROTON was NOT COPYING….. it was this thing we call REBADGE.. with agreement of both parties… PROTON & Mitsubishi..

2. This Geely IS COPYING… without any agreement from RR…

3. Who said proton doesn't know how to build engine? you know there is this thing we call CAMPRO… tho it's not 100% proton design but it is PROTON's design with lotus helps.. but then lotus is 100% owned by proton… to basically the engine is 100% proton…. hmmmm

thank you…

• tansri on Apr 28, 2009 at 3:54 pm

[quote comment="234417"][quote comment="234393"]so gurly~geely to talk about proton here..

malaysian diginity to copy other peoples car and copy until more lousy such as wira n saga also perdana..proton used so much $ to buy a nearly bankrupt car company lotus,and gain nothing.you think UK people will teach you how to make engine isnt?..wat a joke..they will just let you make the normal component of a engine but they kept their core technology.[/quote]

haha..you so funny..p1 not just pirately copy or use mitsu tech or engine..that is the bigdiff… a dignified wouldnt do such geely did..they copy and denied..they are just like pirate!

p1 doesn't get anything from lotus? this just show how genius are you..p1 get the access to tune their cars handling superbly with lotus..look at neo & savvy for example..

p1 own the lotus.. come on..nowadays, it is the trend,,people buy other companies for the acess of tech. that they do not have..lotus make engine?haha..you r so clever..

• xavier lert on Apr 28, 2009 at 3:57 pm

a car for lonely man……..

• biggie on Apr 28, 2009 at 4:14 pm

the throne = toilet seat.

Better put the throne into savvy or range rover then the toilet is complete.

• observer on Apr 28, 2009 at 4:41 pm

Someone here said that China is an old country while Malaysia is a new country. Truth is China is both an old country and a new country. Old because its civilization started a long time ago and new because its modernization and entry into the modern world was relatively recent.

To put things into perspective, let us compare China and Japan. Japan started modernization and industrialization from the 1870's after the Meiji restoration and after a period of 20-30 years (i.e by towards the end of the 19th century), they had basically industrialized. From the start of Japanese industrialization to the 1970's, which is a period of about a 100 years, Japan was called a copycat nation. In fact, Japan famously used to copy machines from the West and they even copy the cracks in them!

China's real modernization and industrialization can be said to start from Deng Xiao Ping's reforms starting from 1978. In that period of about 30 years to the present, China has undergone what some people has called the '2nd Industrial Revolution' . (The 1st Industrial Revolution being the one that took place in the 18th and 19th centuries in the West).

Give the Chinese a bit of time and I am confident that like Japan, they will get out of the copycat mode and in fact get out of it much faster than Japan.

• kahing on Apr 28, 2009 at 4:49 pm

1 word

IDIOTS !!!!!!!!!

• stephenstreets on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:05 pm

"YingLun, which is meant to sound like England."

Hahahha really lawak gila man.Damn!!!.

The car dunno what to say…at least we all know now that its lonely at the top.

• zhenzhen on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:06 pm

WHer's the seat for the sexy secretary?

• azrai on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:15 pm

Why everything has to be 'related' to P1? Misteri betul komen2 di sini.

• farghmee on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:27 pm

[quote comment="234454"]Why everything has to be 'related' to P1? Misteri betul komen2 di sini.[/quote]

misteri orang malaysia..m i s t e r i ~ :D

what will be the crash-rating of this GE? ;)

• carsut on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:30 pm

"well done" to china automotive.. i dont care if their copycat RR. but maybe if a 1st step to success (i hope). BTW, i saw Phantom (Sultan's car) several times, and it seem really BIG even S-class look small not to mention Perdana

• henryee on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:35 pm

[quote comment="234356"]You forget when europe stole, leave alone copying, ancient chinese knowledge in fields of technology, medicine, maths in the 17th century , and calling it their own.

To use an old saying

Kettle calling the pot black[/quote]

I totally agreed with u. Look at the recently news where The Chinese Ancient Artifact has been stolen by those stupid Foreigners' army and they are recently made a Bid to sell off the Chinese Ancient Artifact.

What you call that is~~???

But certainly, we don't want any race discrimination here, it is BAD.

But for me, ALL CAR MANUFACTURERS ARE COPYCAT, coz every car will also sharing the same platform, like 4 wheels, 2 headlamps, 2 tail lamps, a steering wheel, side mirrors, rear view mirrors, air con & air cond vents, and many other safety features.

These kind of things is very subjective, like most cars they'll have the things that I mentioned above, if u say that this car is a copycat, then from my point of view, Every car manufacturers are COPYCAT ALSO.

• .China has 100 plus car manufacturers, some big and many smaller ones. If you look at the current Shanghai Auto Show, they have come out with a profusion of new models. Compared to just a few years ago, where the models exhibited look outdated, the present crop of new models show that they have caught-up with the current style trend and in fact many of the new models show encouraging originality.

• peter on Apr 28, 2009 at 6:22 pm

China has 100 + car manufacturers, some big and many smaller ones. If you look at the current Shanghai Auto Show, they have come out with a profusion of new models. Compared to just a few years ago, where the models exhibited look outdated, the present crop of new models show that they have caught-up with the current style trend and in fact many of the new models show encouraging originality.

• jimmy on Apr 28, 2009 at 6:33 pm

Someone here said that China is an old country while Malaysia is a new country. Truth is China is both an old country and a new country. Old because its civilization started a long time ago and new because its modernization and entry into the modern world was relatively recent.

To put things into perspective, let us compare China and Japan. Japan started modernization and industrialization from the 1870's after the Meiji restoration and after a period of 20-30 years (i.e by towards the end of the 19th century), they had basically industrialized. From the start of Japanese industrialization to the 1970's, which is a period of about a 100 years, Japan was called a copycat nation. In fact, Japan famously used to copy machines from the West and they even copy the cracks in them!

China's real modernization and industrialization can be said to start from Deng Xiao Ping's reforms starting from 1978. In that period of about 30 years to the present, China has undergone what some people has called the '2nd Industrial Revolution' . (The 1st Industrial Revolution being the one that took place in the 18th and 19th centuries in the West).

Give the Chinese a bit of time and I am confident that like Japan, they will get out of the copycat mode, and in fact get out of it much faster than Japan.

• JULIAN_LEE on Apr 28, 2009 at 6:36 pm

Rolls Royce better

• RS Raichand on Apr 28, 2009 at 6:39 pm

[quote comment="234423"]It's soo funny how SOME MALAYSIAN get offended when people any where in the world bashing product from China… and yet they hold MALAYSIAN CITIZENSHIP… sigh + face-palmed!

China declared their independent 200+ B.C… that's more than TWO THOUSAND (2000) years AGO! Malaysia only officially independent 51… that's five, one, years ago!

We are a YOUNG 3RD WORLD country with population less than 28 million people compared to 1.3 BILLION people in the Mainland (not including HK). that's 1,300,000,000 people. Out of that, 800,000,000+ (800 millions plus) are working in industrial sector with payment as low as US125 per year… that's PER YEAR. And yet HERE, we hear people without any qualification complaining getting RM800 PER MONTH working in retail lines!

That's just ONE of MANY FACTORS why China can produces products at dirt cheap price… cheap labours. Putting in place of all the COST SAVING, aren't we suppose to expect high quality (/QC) and original products?

So instead of focusing on China or other countries that we dont have their citizenship in the 1st place… why dont we focus on our YOUNG COUNTRY. Have problems with our YOUNG COUNTRY homemade product..? Give CONSTRUCTIVE criticism.

Remember, USA that independent some 300 years plus ago, and so call the no. 1 country in the world, just approved in total US40 BILLION BAILOUT for GM & Chrysler, two proud automakers with combine history of more than 100 years!

And not to mention latest report said that USA has 36 MILLIONS unemployment and 13 MILLIONS people lost their job since the recession!

So be thankful we are living in a 'YOUNG COUNTRY' on the rise and maturing into a global player. So please, instead of arguing, bashing, bickering, etc, with the advance of Internet and places like PAULTAN.ORG, voice your CONSTRUCTIVE comment(s) so that the whole nation can hear you and trust me… THERE ARE people that want to elevate this 'young country' to a new height are LISTENING![/quote]

The best comment I read in Paul Tan's blog!

So very true.

• RR wont get a penny out of it, it looks alike but it is not the same. If RR can claim just like that, that also means Britney Spear can sue many girls that purposely take surgery to look like her, still it is not ethical from business point of view though.

Don't think the People of China Republic care, they have good enough buying power inland to withstand any sanction if there is one. Beside of its made in China for China, it is cheaper by big margin.

Proton has manage to design their own, people just not satisfy with their quality and service.

• AbangTerra on Apr 28, 2009 at 6:53 pm

it may be a copycat…

wouldn't you get a Geely Lancer 2.0 GT, same engine specced, everything same except QC for the price of RM$80k?…instead of Mit Lancer's $120k?.

different people, different reasons…

got market..why not?..competition.

• torque (Member) on Apr 28, 2009 at 6:59 pm

Aiseyman…this kind of people also got meh?! Dude, Proton never actually copy la…it's actually an agreement by both Mitsubishi and Proton to produce such rebadge models in the old days. And YES!! Proton did used a lot of money to take over Lotus but it does pay its fruit in the end. Not only Proton manage to turn Lotus account from red to black ink but they are currently making profits right now. And lastly, BY GOD!!! Lotus specialization doesn't focus in engine building, they are more towards chassis building and suspension tuning professionals. Oh ya, don't forget…even the bloody great Nissan GTR turn to Lotus to fine tune their handling and suspension…

• maybe i buy this one, and then change the badge to rolls royce… hahaha…

• torque (Member) on Apr 28, 2009 at 7:05 pm

[quote comment="234482"]

Proton has manage to design their own, people just not satisfy with their quality and service.[/quote]

Agree…

• Chris on Apr 28, 2009 at 7:08 pm

Only the front panel look almost same to RR. The rest of the designs totally different. How can ppls say they are copy cat. Example Proton Saga rear look like Nissan Latio Sedan Rear. Kia Koup front look like Civic Front. Can Nissan sue Proton & Honda Sue Kia? RR just wasting their time.

• goguncas71 (Member) on Apr 28, 2009 at 7:37 pm

What? No ISOFIX? :(

Saw this a while back, thought it was an April fool joke but apparently not….

YingLun? Ha..ha.. :p

• gen2lama on Apr 28, 2009 at 7:40 pm

[quote comment="234434"]Can i clear something here?

1. From 1985 saga to waja/perdana, PROTON was NOT COPYING….. it was this thing we call REBADGE.. with agreement of both parties… PROTON & Mitsubishi..

2. This Geely IS COPYING… without any agreement from RR…

3. Who said proton doesn't know how to build engine? you know there is this thing we call CAMPRO… tho it's not 100% proton design but it is PROTON's design with lotus helps.. but then lotus is 100% owned by proton… to basically the engine is 100% proton…. hmmmm

thank you…[/quote]

hehehehe and now the cycle came back…..proton and mitsu are ready to came out with the new result of the colaborataion…..Lancerwaja….

any news paul?

• Black Dog on Apr 28, 2009 at 7:42 pm

[quote comment="234381"]the throne back seat is a little short/low, don't u think. Are they insinuating these rich cinamen are short? tst tst. Why no leg rest? The car IS to bad taste but the back seat is just hilarious. Should have launched on April 1st.[/quote]

The small seat is for their Little Dragon! Not the father, their son is the real Boss!

• Black Dog on Apr 28, 2009 at 7:47 pm

Paul, do a contest where you put a real RR pix & Geely GE together then ask everybody to circle the different parts! (I think shell currently have a contest)

• read somewhere price is 30k pound sterling vs the 200k pound sterling RR…thats cheap…Geely did a "Tata Nano" of the luxury segment!!…gud for consumer!

• good idea from blackdog. but it will be more interest to know listed out both RR and GE spec & price. which to buy if we hv to take out $ from our own pocket?

• The Sabahan on Apr 28, 2009 at 8:40 pm

geely bikin geli la.

the idea of having a single seat at the back kills me. the kind of mentality to do that reflects the type of thinking we all could not even grasp. its been a century and more of the automobile yet even cars made for royals or corporate figure sits two behind. the king and his queen? the boss and his wife or partner/friend/pesonal assistant, but this???? this epitomizes the term, the boss.

i think people would look stupid in such a rip off yet sitting alone at the back of that rip off mobile makes it worse. much more money than class. r-r must sue for formality reasons, not to promote criminal activity!!

i would love have have one without the tinted glass and drive my three year old son sitting at the back hahahahahahha.

• albagmane on Apr 28, 2009 at 8:54 pm

gosh… this is a sad car indeed… a car that big tat can only accommodate one single communist China dude… now tat's a sad creation… ppl have now inventing something more practical like the 7 seater MPVs… or let's take a bus for an example that can seat more than 30 ppl… poor china is poor… -_____-

• geely ge, geli je.

• Hamster on Apr 28, 2009 at 9:27 pm

To all of you bashing Proton like a smart ass, please get a job at Proton and make a difference.

• Far East RR ! What next on their list i wonder … maybe a copy version of Aston Martin with the price of proton !

• jimmy on Apr 28, 2009 at 11:08 pm

China has 100 plus car manufacturers, some big and many smaller ones. If you look at the current Shanghai Auto Show, they have launch a profusion of new models of all types. Compared to just a few years ago, where the models exhibited looked outdated, the present crop of new models show that they have caught-up with the current style trend and in fact many of the new models show encouraging originality.

• SlumdogBillionair on Apr 28, 2009 at 11:41 pm

im not showing out my hate towards the car,but i'll kick it if it appears infront of me. anyone want to be counted in for the joy?

one who is going to own this geely machine most likely had lost some sense of life. figure why?

• linear_system on Apr 28, 2009 at 11:50 pm

[quote comment="234461"][quote comment="234356"]You forget when europe stole, leave alone copying, ancient chinese knowledge in fields of technology, medicine, maths in the 17th century , and calling it their own.

To use an old saying

Kettle calling the pot black[/quote]

I totally agreed with u. Look at the recently news where The Chinese Ancient Artifact has been stolen by those stupid Foreigners' army and they are recently made a Bid to sell off the Chinese Ancient Artifact.

What you call that is~~???

But certainly, we don't want any race discrimination here, it is BAD.

But for me, ALL CAR MANUFACTURERS ARE COPYCAT, coz every car will also sharing the same platform, like 4 wheels, 2 headlamps, 2 tail lamps, a steering wheel, side mirrors, rear view mirrors, air con & air cond vents, and many other safety features.

These kind of things is very subjective, like most cars they'll have the things that I mentioned above, if u say that this car is a copycat, then from my point of view, Every car manufacturers are COPYCAT ALSO.[/quote]

funny laa people like u…u dont know the difference between 100% copy n engineered the copy…if u look at the geely GE what the first car in your mind?i assume RR rite?if u look at citroen or BWM or proton cars,can u see merc or RR or aston martin in them?lol

• huh.. middle single seat?… macam mane nak bawak awek?… mesti susah nak drive through beli mcd.. or nak ludah chewing gum keluar..

• TheOne on Apr 29, 2009 at 12:21 am

Proton never copied designs of cars. They just used the other cars platforms. however… almost all the protons that i have owned have defective parts. power windows failing, auto lock doesn't lock on one door, loud engine noise (if it sounds nice then I won't mind the engine souns.. but it sounds bad and cheap), horribly stiff and lousy suspension, not even a single engine above 2.0 from proton…. never made a car than can move decently fast. whereas cars from Japan and Germany that i owned never had any problems. Isn't it a sign that Malaysian auto industry has fallen behind the world standards? just look at topgear.com and see what they say about the malaysian cars. You know it's cheap and low quality… just admit it

• muryadi on Apr 29, 2009 at 12:48 am

[quote comment="234552"]Proton never copied designs of cars. They just used the other cars platforms. however… almost all the protons that i have owned have defective parts. power windows failing, auto lock doesn't lock on one door, loud engine noise (if it sounds nice then I won't mind the engine souns.. but it sounds bad and cheap), horribly stiff and lousy suspension, not even a single engine above 2.0 from proton…. never made a car than can move decently fast. whereas cars from Japan and Germany that i owned never had any problems. Isn't it a sign that Malaysian auto industry has fallen behind the world standards? just look at topgear.com and see what they say about the malaysian cars. You know it's cheap and low quality… just admit it[/quote]

TheOne, why need to be so angry. To be a successful auto company, it must be done and supported by all including Proton, vendors, Sales people, servicing and also the Rakyat "of course" since it's a national/country project.

Everybody attitudes also kena tukar dan banyak benda kena belajar. Dengan pengorbanan rakyat Malaysia yg terlalu banyak dan melibatkan berbillion RM telah habis tentulah harapan menjadi tinggi terhadap Proton. Harap Proton dan yg berkait dgnnya secara langsung sedar perkara ini.

Tugas ini bukannya sedikit tapi saya masih percaya yg Rakyat Malaysia dapat melakukannya.

• datin sofiera on Apr 29, 2009 at 1:15 am

Congrats to Geely as one needs to have a very thick skin to pull this one off.

• Qosh Moreno on Apr 29, 2009 at 1:18 am

it's about Geely….

not proton here we r discussing…

obviously this a total piece of crap…

even the name resembles something like crap…

master of copycats, what can we say more….

• mkrafz on Apr 29, 2009 at 1:19 am

sick chinese carmaker..

don't call yourself are carmaker..

it's CARCOPYING!..

that more proper..

• datin sofiera on Apr 29, 2009 at 1:22 am

money can't buy you taste

• Skippy on Apr 29, 2009 at 1:42 am

[quote comment="234552"]Proton never copied designs of cars. They just used the other cars platforms. however… almost all the protons that i have owned have defective parts. power windows failing, auto lock doesn't lock on one door, loud engine noise (if it sounds nice then I won't mind the engine souns.. but it sounds bad and cheap), horribly stiff and lousy suspension, not even a single engine above 2.0 from proton…. never made a car than can move decently fast. whereas cars from Japan and Germany that i owned never had any problems. Isn't it a sign that Malaysian auto industry has fallen behind the world standards? just look at topgear.com and see what they say about the malaysian cars. You know it's cheap and low quality… just admit it[/quote]

really aar??? proton never made car that can move decently fast?? r u sure meh?? my gen2 1.6 auto normal campro (dented at the back cuz some bloody stupid negro slam their car into mine) can smoke a 1.8 vtec civic meh… well thanks to my driving skills n gen2 ride n handling…

btw… neo cps is a pretty fast car too…

about quality… agree that proton build quality not yet up to those european makes standard… but if ppl not really blinded by the T badge.. u can see the quality is quite on par with all the CKD T badge…

• gattaca on Apr 29, 2009 at 1:52 am

[quote comment="234549"]huh.. middle single seat?… macam mane nak bawak awek?… mesti susah nak drive through beli mcd.. or nak ludah chewing gum keluar..[/quote]

now aku dah tau sapa punya chewing gum yg bersepah2 kat tgh jalan tu..hahhahahhaa

• gattaca on Apr 29, 2009 at 1:57 am

another copy cat art from china car copier machine…

http://creativeadvertisingworld.com/bmw-7-vs-byd-…

• Proton has been around now for donkey years and they still cannot design an engine by themselves. Even the Exora was done with help from an external engineering advisory team – now why’s that? I’m sorry, Geely is very blatantly guilty of copying (as as such continuing the Chinese stereotype), but as a national car maker, Proton is guilty of shaming all Malaysians.

============================================

under some circumstances , proton still need LG as partner in engineering becasue LG is really good in mass production. They are good in heavy industries which benefits proton, the management of their thing is also part of the reason why LG industry is qyuite powerful nowadays. LG did the biggest cargo tank in the world.

lotus is proton's partner in doing engine, whilest mitsubhisi is the partner for gearbox whilst mass production and heavy industry on LG is a good thing.

proton can't do everything by themselves especially they are just merely a niche player in this field.

you must remember that Volvo is using Yamaha outsourced engine in their model line-up. there is nothing wrong for doing collaboration and partnership within companies as long as it benefits the economics scale of it.

• munky on Apr 29, 2009 at 2:48 am

lol lots of 'genius' in surfing this site eh

• Roti naan on Apr 29, 2009 at 3:12 am

looks like RR, sound like RR but it's not a RR

• carsut on Apr 29, 2009 at 3:35 am

pls do some research before u make a comment, it will show ur stupidness if its false statment though..

• Meemegi on Apr 29, 2009 at 3:46 am

guys, lighten up. see the humor in this. it has a throne at the back… u have to laugh.

• James on Apr 29, 2009 at 3:51 am

It's gonna be on sale in China in the next 3 years, at a starting price of 1 million yuan (around RM 500,000). Only one-sixth of the RR Phantom's price. Probadly gonna sell like hot cakes in China.

• Haiz… What a poor imitation of RR…

Destroy the true spirit of RR Phantom…

Hopeless!!

• Rulered on Apr 29, 2009 at 6:14 am

There's nothing wrong building a concept car as long as you don't mass produce and market it. We can build our own 'concept' car base on any model in the world we want to. I really don't care much about the direct copycat of it's exteriors because that is something anyone can do (especially China), but what is more important is whether the 3.5 litre V6 engine is an imitation too, if it is not then there's something you guys should take note. I mean if someone from our local car manufacturer can develope a 5.4litre V8 engine and decided to put it in an imitation Discovery just for the heck of it (with only half the cost), then why not? What I mean to say is that someone from Land Rover would say, hey these guys shouldn't be taken lightly, they can build an engine as good as ours or perhaps better and it's only a matter of time before they catch up. I don't like to bash Malaysian product because I'm a Malaysian, my comment is purely to encourage Malaysian car manufacturers. Thank you.

• farhitech on Apr 29, 2009 at 7:24 am

[quote comment="234439"]the throne = toilet seat.

Better put the throne into savvy or range rover then the toilet is complete.[/quote]

ha ha ha …. keh keh keh … hu hu hu

pocah porut den baco komen ekau . ado ko patut seat kete di samokan dgn mangkuk jamban .

ekau bior betul jang .

• the rear seat is too much la , single seat.

the reaosn rolls royce has a bench seat is because u can actually chat with the client well inside the car. a car is never something like a plane.

• slimershine on Apr 29, 2009 at 8:59 am

better buy tri-cycle. oso can seat 3person. huhu.

• MisterBenjo on Apr 29, 2009 at 9:40 am

Stupid proton bashers always hijack the topic..hate them…

• gattaca on Apr 29, 2009 at 9:53 am

[quote comment="234649"]Stupid proton bashers always hijack the topic..hate them…[/quote]

yes. please stick to the topic…sikit2 mau lencong ke proton jugak..

• Luqman on Apr 29, 2009 at 2:13 pm

[quote comment="234570"]

you must remember that Volvo is using Yamaha outsourced engine in their model line-up. there is nothing wrong for doing collaboration and partnership within companies as long as it benefits the economics scale of it.[/quote]

Volvo is using AUDI (5cyl.) and Mitsubishi (4cyl) engines, not Yamaha.

But I agree: Even Mercedes Benz is using Mitsubishi engines for their Smart car and VW engines for their Vito Transporter.

There's nothing bad in buying an engine from another manufacturer.

• A shameful rip. Chinese makes really have no pride.

• Ryzal on Apr 29, 2009 at 5:57 pm

I think this car body not as tough of Royle Royce and look like old proton wira body.. If you 'Safety' type person.. don't ever look at this car..

• Ryzal on Apr 29, 2009 at 6:01 pm

And I think Malaysia Car Factory should do what Japan done before and now what China do.. Copy and improve it.. and make it cheap.

Nowadays, people like to copy.. but if you copy it without make it better you are totally insane!.

• Fridz (Member) on Apr 29, 2009 at 8:15 pm

As we call it 'cap ayam'…

this is Chevy Optra5 made in China
    http://www.byd.com/showroom.php?car=f3r

hard top Merc Benz made in China
    http://www.byd.com/showroom.php?car=f8

• Rush Lee on Apr 29, 2009 at 8:42 pm

[quote comment="234409"]No need a genius to tell Proton sucks.[/quote]

yaa.. i agreed.. mostly a Proton bashers is a stewpeed.. an idiot who's talk cock, crap base on old stories.. they use this status to bashing Proton at any thread about automotive.. even if Paul have a thread about children car (powerwheel), Proton's will automaticly invovled….

I think chinamen misunderstand by "COPYRIGHT" word.. for then it's "right to copy"… hahaha…

• edperdana (Member) on Apr 29, 2009 at 8:46 pm

This new Perdana replacement candidate sure looks good..lets try installing a turbo Campro CPS 1.6 and add another seat at the back..success! :p

• Skippy on Apr 30, 2009 at 2:09 am

nowhere near perdana beauty lol…………..

• Seriously i can't stop looking at those rims… i think those can only tahan for 1 month and the chrome paint would wear off? hahahaha

• gti'o on Apr 30, 2009 at 7:29 am

atleast maybe ppl in yinglun, like their car… yea put the name yinglun that might work YINGLUN!! rofl

• master of designer on Apr 30, 2009 at 9:56 am

i hate the company that take the r.r.

• zamildrift on Apr 30, 2009 at 3:40 pm

The front looks and the rims are horrendous to me, but inside is a totally original.

• anonymouspokesperson on Apr 30, 2009 at 7:55 pm

hahaha this is somewhat funny rather than serious, just classic isn't it the way its being done in china, if u think about it, its just hilarious, not just the car, the name Geely Excellence, the defense of possessing 'some' similarities to the rolls. its just ridiculous and they really are making a big mockery out of themselves. hahaha

p.s good one about the highly anti-social paul, i never thought about it that way!!! hahaha

• anonymouspokesperson on Apr 30, 2009 at 7:57 pm

YINGLUN!!! HAHAHA!!!

• mukhri88 on May 01, 2009 at 1:02 am

[quote comment="234577"]looks like RR, sound like RR but it's not a RR[/quote]

correctcorrectcorrect!

Funny mainlanders.. such fun reading the copycat supporters. Please folks, the copycat era is gone. The Japs did it as well as the Taiwanese, a long time ago. Anybody who copies now are simply treated as a joke now, such comedians. Chinese cars are as much of a joke as American sports cars, haha.

• Geely sux on May 01, 2009 at 7:52 am

This is another copycat mastepiece from China. Last time Chery copy almost 100% of chevy Spark and called their own car QQ. Then another chinese carmaker copied Honda CRV. Now Geely copy Rolls-Royce. Its a shame that the Chinese government are not interferign to put this total nonsense to a stop.

• briangtr35 on May 01, 2009 at 10:27 am

man, china now have step forward, but this model dissapointment, copy? for what. Waiting for sue them, well, we have to wait. Rolls royce actually working hard and study hard to build one Phantom, but, come on china, you have design your own luxurious model.

• myviRS on May 01, 2009 at 4:02 pm

[quote comment="235026"]YINGLUN!!! HAHAHA!!![/quote]

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

Again.. YINGLUN.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

• flake on May 01, 2009 at 4:32 pm

I laugh at the bashers here because on the exterior it look like a RR but in reality it is much smaller than a RR. The two in reality is complete two different. Copying of idea is nothing new in the car industry, it is the only thing in the world no one can patents.

• layman on May 01, 2009 at 6:00 pm

[quote comment="235203"]I laugh at the bashers here because on the exterior it look like a RR but in reality it is much smaller than a RR. The two in reality is complete two different. Copying of idea is nothing new in the car industry, it is the only thing in the world no one can patents.[/quote]

Could not agree with you more. And come to think of it, is we Malaysia capable of copy and build a car as good as this?

• Perotiga on May 01, 2009 at 9:00 pm

[quote comment="234370"][quote comment="234346"]I saw this car in the Shanghai Auto Show, and also Persona and Savvy over there which are under Lotus badge.[/quote]

it's under Europestar badge la kawan..[/quote]

look at plate in chinese characters, you know what it mean? LOTUS'S CAR.

proton had learn, "Lotus" Savvy would beat down Myvi years ago.

• ProTon LoVeR (Member) on May 01, 2009 at 11:45 pm

we know that proton have low q.. but in malaysia fuel eco is the important thing .

just forget what the top gear say….

they only like cars with big engine.. about the quality, proton is in progress…

u no la how difficult to make a car…..

• ProTon LoVeR (Member) on May 01, 2009 at 11:48 pm

[quote comment="235136"]This is another copycat mastepiece from China. Last time Chery copy almost 100% of chevy Spark and called their own car QQ. Then another chinese carmaker copied Honda CRV. Now Geely copy Rolls-Royce. Its a shame that the Chinese government are not interferign to put this total nonsense to a stop.[/quote]

agree with that…….. how a shame…

• Perotiga on May 02, 2009 at 10:42 am

[quote comment="235251"]

we know that proton have low q.. but in malaysia fuel eco is the important thing .

u no la how difficult to make a car…..[/quote]

only savvy has fuel eco, but with the higher maintain cost.

• Alfa Juliet on May 02, 2009 at 5:15 pm

WTF?! They copy the Phantom and make it ugly?! Seriously…WTF?!

• Perotiga on May 03, 2009 at 4:18 am

[quote comment="234442"]Someone here said that China is an old country while Malaysia is a new country. Truth is China is both an old country and a new country. Old because its civilization started a long time ago and new because its modernization and entry into the modern world was relatively recent.

Give the Chinese a bit of time and I am confident that like Japan, they will get out of the copycat mode and in fact get out of it much faster than Japan.[/quote]

no doubt china know how to copy as well to downgrade. please don't comparing with japan and malaysia, they don't have cop ayam. hahaha china's YingLun, where is my YingLun QingRen? please don't copy my QingRen(honey).

• Prismo on May 03, 2009 at 6:18 am

[quote comment="235234"][quote comment="234370"][quote comment="234346"]I saw this car in the Shanghai Auto Show, and also Persona and Savvy over there which are under Lotus badge.[/quote]

it's under Europestar badge la kawan..[/quote]

look at plate in chinese characters, you know what it mean? LOTUS'S CAR.

proton had learn, "Lotus" Savvy would beat down Myvi years ago.[/quote]

aduh.. but the badge was a Pranching lion, Europestar badge.. LOTUS'S car mean it's was Lotus ride, Lotus tuned.. :)

• Prismo on May 03, 2009 at 6:21 am

[quote comment="235339"][quote comment="235251"]

u no la how difficult to make a car…..[/quote]

only savvy has fuel eco, but with the higher maintain cost.[/quote]

do u have any prove? any savvy's high maintaining bills that u can show to us here?

on topic

GG versus RR ;)

• Perotiga on May 04, 2009 at 5:09 am

goood neews, cop singa Europestar badge CBU Youngman Lotus Exora will launch in china soon with 2.0L engine. keep moving proton to tech them what exactly to built a car.

http://bbs.auto.sina.com.cn/treeforum/App/view.ph…

• Reasonably Insane on May 04, 2009 at 7:34 pm

[quote comment="235690"]goood neews, cop singa Europestar badge CBU Youngman Lotus Exora will launch in china soon with 2.0L engine. keep moving proton to tech them what exactly to built a car.

http://bbs.auto.sina.com.cn/treeforum/App/view.ph…

what exactly do you mean by that? r u implying that proton don't know how to build car? that youngman did nuthing other than rebadging proton's and decided to put a 2.0 L engine in it….. what is there to teach proton? big car need big engine???

• Perotiga on May 05, 2009 at 5:39 am

one more, shanghai englon

GE = Geely Excellence

safety : C-NCAP 5 out of 6 stars
    http://www.auto-show21.com/motershow/auto_shangha…

• Prismo on May 06, 2009 at 12:42 am

[quote comment="235865"]one more, shanghai englon

GE = Geely Excellence

safety : C-NCAP 5 out of 6 stars
    http://www.auto-show21.com/motershow/auto_shangha…
    hahaha.. Chery QQ can even score 4 stars at C-NCAP when it's fail miserably crash test at ENCAP…

• Perotiga on May 06, 2009 at 6:58 am

[quote comment="235996"]

hahaha.. Chery QQ can even score 4 stars at C-NCAP when it's fail miserably crash test at ENCAP…[/quote]

really? I am hope so exora didn't test at CNCAP.

• Prismo on May 06, 2009 at 5:19 pm

[quote comment="236066"][quote comment="235996"]

hahaha.. Chery QQ can even score 4 stars at C-NCAP when it's fail miserably crash test at ENCAP…[/quote]

really? I am hope so exora didn't test at CNCAP.[/quote]

it will if it's was entering china under Europstar badge.. maybe? maybe…?

• Perotiga on May 12, 2009 at 8:55 pm

[quote comment="235792"]

what exactly do you mean by that? r u implying that proton don't know how to build car? that youngman did nuthing other than rebadging proton's and decided to put a 2.0 L engine in it….. what is there to teach proton? big car need big engine???[/quote]

based on the auto sina's blog, youngman lotus put a 2.0L engine to completion with byd m6, cross and ??? in china. prices may started 130k yuan, around 150 – 170k yuan. seriously… nothing implying.

• CAN SOMEONE PLEASE EXPLAIN TO ME WHY A CAR MANUFACTURER WOULD WASTE TIME DEVELOPING, BUILDING AND LAUNCHING A HEAP OF CRAP LIKE THIS? WHO ON EARTH WILL BUY IT AND IF THERE'S ANYONE OUT THERE WHO WILL, WHO ARE YOU AND HOW DID YOU MANAGE TO EARN ENOUGH MONEY TO BUY THIS CAR WITHOUT A BRAIN?? THE GOOD NEWS IS THAT THE GAP BETWEEN GREAT, INNOVATIVE GROUND BREAKING DESIGN AND UNADULTERATED BULLSHIT HAS JUST WIDENED. SO I HAVE TO SAY THANK YOU TO GEELY FOR BEING SO PATHETIC. UNREAL…

• wow…that irony…