Preview: Mercedes ESF 2009 Safety Concept

ESF

Mercedes-Benz has taken the new W221 Mercedes-Benz S400 Hybrid and modified it with experimental safety features. The new testbed is called the ESF 2009 Experimental Safety Vehicle.

The features are quite interesting – inflatable metal structures consisting of side impact bars that can be blown to pressure of between 10 to 20 bar, an “airbag brake” which is located below the car and inflates to create friction with the road to help reduce speed and raise the car up by 80mm to compensate for brake dive, seat bolsters that shift the passengers 50mm into the center of the cabin to reduce injuries from side impacts, and even seatbelts installed inside the airbags.

These are just a preview – the full press release has yet to be unveiled by Daimler. Stay tuned for full details on these experimental safety features.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=320]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• The inflatable side beam is something

• Wak Rempit on Jun 11, 2009 at 1:16 am

Wow… is all I can say…

some of the typical safety feature should be standard in all cars especially in Malaysia, most common is airbag. Can't believe we just initiated back seat safety belts in all cars after so many years, let alone the topic above… sigh

Anyway, the airbag brake looks like a plastic bag stuck under your car…hahaha

• DannyArcher on Jun 11, 2009 at 2:00 am

now we know why our 'menteri' don't wanna drive proton, i bet they forbids their kids to drive proton too. force rakyat to drive unsafe car, but so protective of their own kids, like how they don believe in our own education system.

• Littlefire on Jun 11, 2009 at 4:14 am

Yup, they drive the Perdana just to show face to the people and for working (claim G money). But when you went to their house.. OMG~! So many luxury cars hiding in their garage…

• perotujuh on Jun 11, 2009 at 5:31 am

YahLOL, the Istana Sultan also parking many BMWs and Mercedes in garage, have you guys ever been there?

• roti naan1 on Jun 11, 2009 at 5:33 am

[quote comment="244029"]Yup, they drive the Perdana just to show face to the people and for working (claim G money). But when you went to their house.. OMG~! So many luxury cars hiding in their garage…[/quote]

Luxury cars bought by dirty money….

• Gajen on Jun 11, 2009 at 8:09 am

this is ultra awesome…stunned by the technology…based on the picture,toyota was the 1st one to come out with the airbag inbetween passengers right? the crown majesta if im not mistaken..

This car is superb…wonder when will our flagship car be like that…

• pelams on Jun 11, 2009 at 3:16 pm

shift passenger 50mm into centre cabin? that wont make much difference

• alfisti on Jun 12, 2009 at 1:11 pm

50mm in a side impact can mean the difference between a broken bone and a bruise.