Wilks and Pugh to pilot Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 in the Intercontinental Rally Challenge

Satria Neo Super 2000

The Proton Satria Neo S2000 will be participating in the Intercontinental Rally Challenge, and Proton officially unveiled its line-up at the 2-day Rally Show festival (6th and 7th June), held at the ground of the Chatsworth House.

The Satria Neo Super 2000 will be pilot by a team consisting of two-times British rally champion Guy Wilks and co-driver Phil Pugh. The S2000 car was designed and built by British team Mellors Elliot Motorsport (MEM).

“We are very excited to have Guy Wilks driving for Proton in the IRC. After his stunning performance in the recent Pirelli Rally, we are positive about our capabilities to put up a strong challenge. MEM has done a great job with the Proton Satria Neo S2000 and we will continue to improve as the year progresses,” said Proton MD Dato’ Haji Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir.

Satria Neo Super 2000

“This is fantastic news and a fantastic opportunity. Proton and MEM are highly ambitious but also very realistic as newcomers. We need to make progress in every round and be ready to fight for the championship in 2010,” said Guy Wilks.

The Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 uses the Satria Neo’s chassis and a 2.0 litre engine which is derived from a 1.8 litre Renault engine, similiar to the one you will find in the Waja 1.8X. It produces 278 horsepower at 7,600rpm.

The IRC uses the standard FIA points system: 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1. The best seven scores added together will decide final championship results. There are 7 races remaining this year – Belgium Ypres Rally, Rally Russia, Rali Vingo Madeira, Czech Republic, Spain, Rally Sanremo and finally Scotland. All are Asphalt rallies except Russia and Scotland.

Look after the jump for more pix of the Neo S2000.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=319]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• seat-belt on Jun 10, 2009 at 10:47 pm

wow…nice..

i kinda like the side mirror….

• mangkok on Jun 10, 2009 at 10:52 pm

wow will there be ltd edt of these on our shore…….

• st power on Jun 10, 2009 at 10:57 pm

a good car Proton Satria Neo S2000

• mamilGT3 on Jun 10, 2009 at 10:59 pm

honestly I'm proud of Proton! the car is really a "Satria" (Warrior).

• st power on Jun 10, 2009 at 10:59 pm

is not campro?

• nice build…hope it runs well and stay in one piece to. (this brand know to fail and fall in parts after a while right?)

• st power on Jun 10, 2009 at 11:10 pm

is not campro

• Ultranius (Member) on Jun 10, 2009 at 11:14 pm

Nice wide body kit and heavyly loaded. Hope the driver can deliver outstanding result. LOL!

• Ultranius (Member) on Jun 10, 2009 at 11:15 pm

Nice body kit and heavyly loaded. Hope the driver can deliver outstanding result. LOL!

• Wak Rempit on Jun 10, 2009 at 11:37 pm

Congrats to Proton for having the balls to participate in such event. I still remember moons ago Paul did a post about the car being built (everyone was excited), so now they really gonna put it into action… good luck just make sure you don't embarass malaysia… hehehe

hehe.. I think both of those matsalleh are pendek… knowing Neo's design

• panaroL on Jun 11, 2009 at 12:00 am

Congratz to Proton. But seriously, what Proton parts are actually in the Neo S2000, apart from the bodyshell? Any? If so, is it a Proton just because the bodyshell and money comes from Proton? if so, I wouldn't be too proud. Does this even contribute towards Proton's R&D to translate the technology involved into normal street going cars?

Ouh, and another thing. What's with these British drivers? Why don't they get our very own Flying Sikh, the superb Karamjit Singh? What's wrong with having Malaysian drivers? We DO have world class rally drivers if you did not know, Proton.

• Prismo on Jun 11, 2009 at 12:12 am

[quote comment="243956"]nice build…hope it runs well and stay in one piece to. (this brand know to fail and fall in parts after a while right?)[/quote]

Yea, this Neo S2000 are nicely build it's will be stay in 1 piece. Satria Neo S2000 and a road going Satria Neo, it's a totally different machine.. err.. FYI, my Waja was 6 years old just now, and it's still tough, no falling parts, and yet all parts still fit nicely together in 1 piece…

• For those who haven't seen the Neo S2000 in action, watch this.

http://rallypert.blogspot.com/2009/04/videos-prot…

It leads most of the stages, before being caught in fire caused by some electrical malfunction.

• and here's the stage times
    http://www.tynecomp.co.uk/Results/MSA_british_09/…

• [quote comment="243968"]Congratz to Proton. But seriously, what Proton parts are actually in the Neo S2000, apart from the bodyshell?… Does this even contribute towards Proton's R&D to translate the technology involved into normal street going cars?[quote]

I guess what Proton got from this technology is the new spoiler on the latest Proton Satria Neo CPS.

Anyway, actually this is something that we should proud of. Just like went Petronas involve in Formula 1. It's not thir technology, they don't even use their own engine. But it show what malaysian capable are.

• Wak Rempit on Jun 11, 2009 at 12:26 am

[quote comment="243968"]Congratz to Proton. But seriously, what Proton parts are actually in the Neo S2000, apart from the bodyshell? Any? If so, is it a Proton just because the bodyshell and money comes from Proton? if so, I wouldn't be too proud. Does this even contribute towards Proton's R&D to translate the technology involved into normal street going cars?

Ouh, and another thing. What's with these British drivers? Why don't they get our very own Flying Sikh, the superb Karamjit Singh? What's wrong with having Malaysian drivers? We DO have world class rally drivers if you did not know, Proton.[/quote]

I second you bro… or Dato’ Syed Zainal is vindictive to Malaysian who complaint on his cars too much… so to prove a point he hire foreign drivers…. just kidding… hehehe

• bmpower on Jun 11, 2009 at 12:29 am

[quote comment="243968"]Congratz to Proton. But seriously, what Proton parts are actually in the Neo S2000, apart from the bodyshell? Any? If so, is it a Proton just because the bodyshell and money comes from Proton? [/quote]

So you think myvi body shell or Kenari bodyshell fitted all this kind of rally stuff is good or can be good for rally?

So think again!

Good bodyshell including the shape, the gravity center etc etc in not a small matter lah bro!. That's included.

So think again!

Campro had only 1..6 engine.. How to participate to reach 260hp or above? If proton can tune up 1.6 campro CP2S let say 280 by default… now proton surely the most powerfull engine make in the world lah then! Haiya…

So think again!

Just support.. don't be skeptical all the time la… cheers

Paul, the S2000 already race in a rally. (the white with red stripe one if i not mistake). I dont know who and what team.

They make an impressive appearance.. They lead above 6 minute (if i not mistake ) faster than others… sadly, the fly and accident and BURN!. However, they got very good attention!

• theanswer on Jun 11, 2009 at 12:31 am

haha anyone here use waja 1.8x? now u guys can rebore til 2.0 like this satria neo.

• [quote comment="243968"]Congratz to Proton. But seriously, what Proton parts are actually in the Neo S2000, apart from the bodyshell? … Does this even contribute towards Proton's R&D to translate the technology involved into normal street going cars?[/quote]

I guess what Proton got from this technology is the new spoiler on the latest Proton Satria Neo CPS. Hehe..Just joking..

Anyway, actually this is something that we should proud of. Just like went Petronas involve in Formula 1. It’s not thir technology, they don’t even use their own engine. But it shows what malaysians capable are.

• theanswer on Jun 11, 2009 at 12:35 am

if i wasnt mistaken..waja 1.8x engine already got vvt. so no need campro cps. to those who really kinda skeptical to p1 by asking 'what Proton parts are actually in the Neo S2000, apart from the bodyshell? Any?'…pls think again..u should be proud..bcause it shows that neo got its own potential..if the car was so bad..no potential..those mech wont chose neo as a platform for a rally car.

• bmpower on Jun 11, 2009 at 12:37 am

the last parag typos.. sorry.

just so lazy to research :

They lead others by seconds… but unlucky they crashed and burned..

read more here : http://rallypert.blogspot.com/2009/04/thank-goodn…

Wish a good result later.

• initial R on Jun 11, 2009 at 12:44 am

nice & sweet. More batter PDRM used this type S2000 model as highway patrol car. Sure burn the street. Bodyshell Satria Neo, engine if I not mistake also used by Renault Clio right Paul ?. We can see after this Satria Neo S2000 will be champion lagend among rally car. What the tag price if proton sold this spec ?.

• tokmoh on Jun 11, 2009 at 12:59 am

[quote comment="243956"]nice build…hope it runs well and stay in one piece to. (this brand know to fail and fall in parts after a while right?)[/quote]

Proton hv improved a lot since Satria Neo. I dun hear Persona, Saga BLM, Exora being as problematic as older protons.

[quote comment="243968"]Congratz to Proton. But seriously, what Proton parts are actually in the Neo S2000, apart from the bodyshell? Any? If so, is it a Proton just because the bodyshell and money comes from Proton? if so, I wouldn't be too proud. Does this even contribute towards Proton's R&D to translate the technology involved into normal street going cars?

Ouh, and another thing. What's with these British drivers? Why don't they get our very own Flying Sikh, the superb Karamjit Singh? What's wrong with having Malaysian drivers? We DO have world class rally drivers if you did not know, Proton.[/quote]

You're saying as if the bodyshell is as trivial as a rear-side mirror. Cannot think like a race team director kah? They'd like to have a small, light, cheap car. It helps that the Satria Neo chassis is built with expertise from Lotus.

They way you're thinking, is as if nobody in motorsports deserve to be proud of their achievements. Do Ferrari make their own oil? No, they use Shell. Do the make their own computer? No, they use Acer computers. Do they make own tyres? No, Bridgestone give them. Do they have Italian drivers? No, Kimi is a Finn while Massa is Brazilian. So what, Ferrari oni show off logo?

Get it? Bodyshell is the backbone, the core. Being able to build one is considered amazing. It's not like buat maggi 2 minit. Proton do get credits n able to promote their logo n presence. It's branding. It's creating a cult following, just like Evo n Impreza.

Proton, no longer only wants to be a jaguh kampung. They're becoming a proper global car manufacturer player like Hyundai n Kia is doing.

Regarding translate to "normal street going cars", I think it's agreeable to say Proton already has class-leading ride n handling. But then again, proton cannot too syok sendiri. U tau tau la msians. Nak design mcm european, engine mcm jepun pastu harga mcm basikal bmx. Tak dpt la bro……

• ambipur on Jun 11, 2009 at 1:05 am

doesnt look that bad at all.

just wondering, why does it seem that all rally cars now are moving towards the hatchback scene. Citroen, Peugeot even the new Subaru. so i guess this would fit right in then.

what if prodrive or ralliart get their hands on this neo, that would be a killer rally machine.

• farghmee on Jun 11, 2009 at 1:20 am

the white neo with the wide bodykit is CCUUUUNNNN :)

• initial R on Jun 11, 2009 at 2:08 am

[quote comment="243988"]doesnt look that bad at all.

just wondering, why does it seem that all rally cars now are moving towards the hatchback scene. Citroen, Peugeot even the new Subaru. so i guess this would fit right in then.

what if prodrive or ralliart get their hands on this neo, that would be a killer rally machine.[/quote]

bro, this mechine also became killer machine already. Along rally it get top position. Mean proton became way more batter in building the bodyshell. So next Proton have to move on to big engine after 1.6 turbo charge lunching. They can study Renault 1.8 engine and implement to R&D Campro 1.8 & 2.0 CPS/Turbo charge. Thats more like it, European style, Big bhp in small engine (japs style), with Malaysian budget (Malaysian style). :)

• initial R on Jun 11, 2009 at 2:13 am

what if Satria Neo S2000 for PERT look nice to me
    http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_RjAgL4XENlA/Si8ZOhep9dI…

• yup..agree with tokmoh. btw, ade siaran langsung ke time race nanti?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 11, 2009 at 4:04 am

watching IRC on TV in the near future will suddenly be more exciting. Before this, can only watch the pugs, fiats, etc. and now, we can see a proton challenging the established car brands head to head.

rally ypres in belgium will be tough though. a top 5 finish there for proton would be fantastic as they will have to face the local belgians like "fast freddy loix" who have plenty of local knowledge. wilks will also have to contend with his on form compatriot, meekes in his peuqeot.

• michishige on Jun 11, 2009 at 5:35 am

PROTON!!!

GIVE ONE TO KARAMJIT !

• roti naan1 on Jun 11, 2009 at 5:41 am

Come on, no need to blow horns la….Other car manufacturers have been going rally since donkey years ago.

Nothing new, except proton syoik sendiri. What Malaysian get? Their proton cars are more expensive than export proton cars. Export proton gets more goodies. Malaysian protons dont even get airbag as standard.

Malaysians got suckered for many donkey years….

• Chris Chong on Jun 11, 2009 at 6:40 am

[quote comment="243988"]doesnt look that bad at all.

what if prodrive or ralliart get their hands on this neo, that would be a killer rally machine.[/quote]

Hatchbacks tend to have shorter wheelbases than sedans and less overhangs (wheels sort of placed at the corners of the car). This allows a car to yaw easier, which I guess helps the car change directions quicker. In some cases, hatchbacks have better aerodynamics too, depending on the rules (rear wing height, size, etc).

Hatchbacks have always been popular in rallying. The Lancia Delta Integrale and, more recently, Ford Focus are great examples. Even the original

Mini was used waaaaay back. Big 4-door sedans like the Lancer haven't had much success in recent years – also due to rule changes, of course.

• gavin on Jun 11, 2009 at 7:29 am

"Fei mau' neo with 4wd

• AJIBUGAU on Jun 11, 2009 at 4:17 pm

No No..to Karamjit..too tall for Satria Neo..only pendek driver can fit in Neo

• afkar on Jun 11, 2009 at 5:11 pm

let's give credits to proton..

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 11, 2009 at 5:12 pm

[quote comment="243975"][quote comment="243968"]Congratz to Proton. But seriously, what Proton parts are actually in the Neo S2000, apart from the bodyshell?… Does this even contribute towards Proton's R&D to translate the technology involved into normal street going cars?[quote]

I guess what Proton got from this technology is the new spoiler on the latest Proton Satria Neo CPS.

Anyway, actually this is something that we should proud of. Just like went Petronas involve in Formula 1. It's not thir technology, they don't even use their own engine. But it show what malaysian capable are.[/quote]

Anyone is "capable" when you throw in enough money. Money buys the best technology and the people behind the technology. I can put my name on an F1 car if I throw out a few tenths of millions…or even buy a seat on one.

I'll give it to Proton though, the Satria Neo is a good chassis, but they could have at least tried to modify the campro for racing. What happened to R3? Isn't one of the R = Rally?

And on the flying sikh, less deserving people have had a free ride to space or climb a mountain. Yet, opportunities for this guy have been slim. I don't want to point out the obvious what is wrong with this picture.

• rally_fan on Jun 11, 2009 at 5:14 pm

[quote comment="244049"]Come on, no need to blow horns la….Other car manufacturers have been going rally since donkey years ago.

Nothing new, except proton syoik sendiri. What Malaysian get? Their proton cars are more expensive than export proton cars. Export proton gets more goodies. Malaysian protons dont even get airbag as standard.

Malaysians got suckered for many donkey years….[/quote]

get some new material dude.. this is darn old and boring already la.

• yippi33 on Jun 11, 2009 at 5:23 pm

[quote comment="244049"]Come on, no need to blow horns la….Other car manufacturers have been going rally since donkey years ago.

Yeah right…you might as well quit your job and sit back home doing nothing..let all the mat salleh and bang-a-la do your work..

• zackrossi on Jun 11, 2009 at 5:25 pm

We hope that PERT will be joining the rally again with this Satria NEO S2000 model. As they in old day. Rise again PERT & Karamjit…….

Stop all the rubbish comment. Stick to motorsport…..

• prolever on Jun 11, 2009 at 6:00 pm

its interest to watch proton in foreign country tv… ya la 4 rally…. usualy we only watch subaru. seat, fiat and wse car maker….. but stilll i like the white……. like superb…….. its seams like subaru….. 4 a long time, subaru just like a average car maker…. after they enter the wrc…. look what happend……. its car become a world wide……. i hope proton will become like that…

• nenong on Jun 11, 2009 at 6:10 pm

Proton shud launch Satria Neo 2.0 Ltd Edition here! hehe

• prolever on Jun 11, 2009 at 6:17 pm

oh ye ke….. how many a……mits, subaru,fiat, seat,saab, suzuki,citroen,peugeot,vw ad others 2 or 3 car maker i dont remember…… below 15, i think sikit a……. what proton syok sendiri….dah kerajaan x hadkan keselamatan dalam pengeluaran ciri keselamatan. proton x buat a…. tengok mcm uk…..kerajaan deorg kate kalu nk masuk kene ad ciri keselamatan like abag, abs sebagai ciri standard…… kerajaan malaysia……n tah a. sb 2 la proton x buat bende2 alah 2 sebagai ciri standard….. exora pun dpt abag dan abs sbgai ciri standard sebab deorg nak bagi keselamatan kat pembeli. mcm waja. ble dah ada abag ngan ebd. mmg a jadi mhl tapi still comen mahal a…. nak selamat tapi berkira duit…… i think its better u drive a kancil je la……… go back study a…….

• bmpower on Jun 11, 2009 at 6:21 pm

please sell limited edition of Neo S2000 to us.

Some will buy it..

• [quote comment="244086"]No No..to Karamjit..too tall for Satria Neo..only pendek driver can fit in Neo[/quote]

Yess…

No to karamjit….

give to karam sigh Walia

So he can go inside the forest using this car

• intermilan on Jun 11, 2009 at 6:57 pm

finally, it going to happen.

let see how things go first. and hopefully forummers here will not be to quick to conclude anytrhing based on the belgium rally result. if proton and mem are committed, its a learning, adapting journey of 5-6 IRC event in 2009.

but it will be a dash to start IRC programme with a bang in belgium. My personal expectation is for them to at least finish the rally. no retirement, please. a top 8 finish would be lovely.

• CBRian on Jun 11, 2009 at 7:34 pm

All the best ..!

• Alifzzz on Jun 11, 2009 at 8:02 pm

[quote comment="244104"]please sell limited edition of Neo S2000 to us.

Some will buy it..[/quote]

I dunno whether anyone would buy it. Saw the price tag last time much expensive than Lancer Evo !!

• Tengokaje.. on Jun 11, 2009 at 9:30 pm

Nice car. Hopefully proton can complete the IRC series this year.

Salam..

• proton should consider our own karamjit to drive it, he is a proven driver why not ?

• Nobody on Jun 11, 2009 at 9:39 pm

As for the S2000, well its been prepared by an experienced racing team? so they?ll make sure it wont fall apart and even if they do? so too the other cars? even the WRC cars. I mean how many times have we seen ?big? teams suffer reliability issues be it in WRC or F1? A lot right? Recall that Subaru?s front hood popped open after a water puddle.

You can?t compare a race prepped car to a normal road car and I agree that a racing team chooses a car which has an already good platform to work on and what a platform they have in the Neo. Mods would be more difficult on say a Kenari or a Myvi or a Spectra or even a Persona.

The spoilers are there for extra aerodynamic downforce to help traction and in rallies, to help longitudinal stability during high jumps? Spoilers on normal road cars are there to achieve zero-lift and perhaps reduce drag by reducing the size of the aerodynamic wake behind the car hence saving fuel. (So, careful when fitting wings on the back of your bonnets)

Regarding the drivers being British instead of Malaysian, well, it?s a British team and the drivers are good, so why not. If you buy a car, you?d rather have your family drive it rather than the people who build that car? Plus, these drivers also helped to develop and tune the car? The Neo of the Axle Racing headed by Alex Yoong is driven by Malaysian drivers? since it?s a Malaysian team.

I sympathy those who still think that Proton cars are expensive? Hopefully, one day Proton will sell their cars at the price of a roti canai. Proton is first and foremost a business corporation? so they have to make profit somewhere. Their products must also be competitive in order to sell, and in the international market, competition is so strong that selling cheap is a very big marketing strategy. Of course, I would also want to see locally sold Protons to have at least the same level of equipment and quality as exported ones. This I agree, but price-wise? I think it?s reasonable.

Locally, Proton cars are already far cheaper that other brands. The price tag of a Hi-line Persona SE is comparable with say? a very base model Toyota Vios. Compare the specs level and performance between the two? the Persona outperforms the Vios (see reviews). I would even go as far as saying that the Persona also looks better that the new Vios (again beauty is in the eye of the beholder). The only card the Vios is playing is quality of perceive and reliability, and if you can get over that? then you?d be rational in your judgment.

Thanks for reading?

• satria neo will be joining the ranks of evo,imprezza etc

• michishige on Jun 11, 2009 at 10:13 pm

[quote comment="244110"][quote comment="244086"]No No..to Karamjit..too tall for Satria Neo..only pendek driver can fit in Neo[/quote]

Yess…

No to karamjit….

give to karam sigh Walia

So he can go inside the forest using this car[/quote]

WAHAHAHA LOL…

who knows he might accidentally used the rally route and end up winning the stage while chasing the illegal loggers and polluters..

but, who will be the co-driver? :P

• bmpower on Jun 11, 2009 at 10:25 pm

[quote comment="244126"][quote comment="244104"]please sell limited edition of Neo S2000 to us.

Some will buy it..[/quote]

I dunno whether anyone would buy it. Saw the price tag last time much expensive than Lancer Evo !![/quote]

You calculate from what?

If there's lancer evo rally car. the real price should be twice than the current one… or more…

If Neo S2000 had a 'road version'… of course you can make it cheaper.

1 – no need roll cage (save thousands)

2 – No need etc etc..

just the wide body kit and 278hp engine and better disk brake and gearbox is enough already!

• co-driver wud be marziDol 360 lerrr

• nazri on Jun 11, 2009 at 10:44 pm

[quote comment="244142"]proton should consider our own karamjit to drive it, he is a proven driver why not ?[/quote]

come on guys… karamjit too old already should be another young malaysian can drive it.

• chap_de_x on Jun 11, 2009 at 10:52 pm

i already watch the rally video…very nice looking and sound neo….nice work MEM….let see how it perform against other s2000 car like peugeot at belgium….guy already prove the machine he drive can do well at BRC…beating evo and ford…and guys please keep this topic about motorsport ya…stop the negative and skeptical mind of your….please

• Rush Lee on Jun 11, 2009 at 11:26 pm

[quote comment="244146"][quote comment="244110"][quote comment="244086"]No No..to Karamjit..too tall for Satria Neo..only pendek driver can fit in Neo[/quote]

Yess…

No to karamjit….

give to karam sigh Walia

So he can go inside the forest using this car[/quote]

WAHAHAHA LOL…

who knows he might accidentally used the rally route and end up winning the stage while chasing the illegal loggers and polluters..

but, who will be the co-driver? :P[/quote]

How about Karpal Singh? he's a lawyer maa… so he have to filed lawsuit against those illegal loggers and polluters in the court instantly.. ;)

• gangully on Jun 12, 2009 at 12:04 am

i think everyone is missing the point. this MEM SATRIA NEO S2000 is being dveloped by MEM and not PROTON! PROTON is a SPONSOR! maybe by sponsoring the CHASSIS and BODY!

STOP ASKING why KARAMJIT not driving and why PROTON DID NOT OFFER KARAMJIT!

and to those who just come on and bash bash bash, go for it, bash summore, i bet you with that attitude, you will only be able to drive a PROTON…

• LeBronJames on Jun 12, 2009 at 12:49 am

Gangully,

Relax bro, u r not relax. People are justt concern. Karamjit deserved to drive a original Mitsubishi Engine and not re-con mod engine previously from Waja or from older version Lancer.

Why Exora is not powered by 1.8 or 2.0 campro now? The answer is already in your head, is weather you dare to speak it out!

Winning is not everything, Winning with other engines brand is nothing to me. Losing with Campro it's ok. That is how we learn and improved!

• bmpower on Jun 12, 2009 at 1:12 am

[quote comment="244162"]i think everyone is missing the point. this MEM SATRIA NEO S2000 is being dveloped by MEM and not PROTON! PROTON is a SPONSOR! maybe by sponsoring the CHASSIS and BODY!

and to those who just come on and bash bash bash, go for it, bash summore, i bet you with that attitude, you will only be able to drive a PROTON…[/quote]

haiyah!.. we already knew it long time ago. Even paul already mentioned in post above too lah you. And more thing you already not really know into…

Please update you knowledge more uptodate. TQ.

• building a car is not all about engine…

• [quote comment="244162"]i think everyone is missing the point. this MEM SATRIA NEO S2000 is being dveloped by MEM and not PROTON! PROTON is a SPONSOR! maybe by sponsoring the CHASSIS and BODY!

and to those who just come on and bash bash bash, go for it, bash summore, i bet you with that attitude, you will only be able to drive a PROTON…[/quote]

Prodrive built Subaru WRC. M-Sport built Focus WRC. So, what's wrong with MEM built the Neo s2000?

• Wak Rempit on Jun 12, 2009 at 3:05 am

Wah! So hot lar this topic..! Let me add more spices… hehehe

[quote comment="244176"]building a car is not all about engine…[/quote]

Dude, they are building a race car… the engines make a difference.

[quote comment="244168"]Gangully,

Winning is not everything, Winning with other engines brand is nothing to me. Losing with Campro it's ok. That is how we learn and improved![/quote]

Why compete if not planning to win. They (MEM) race not to represent any specific brand like Subaru or Citroen etc in WRC. They are just independent race team who apparently procure Neo's chassis as one of their parts. Knowing teams like this they only choose the best parts, so that we can be proud of. If they use Campro and win, hey thats even better!

• Reasonable on Jun 12, 2009 at 3:24 am

Just another image of Wira with Evo heart….

But the bodykit and exterior are nice!

• sure it does..but like i mention earlier,its not all about engine. Simple, powerful engine + gud chassis vs powerful engine + not so gud chassis. which one do u think will have better chance?

• rally_fan on Jun 12, 2009 at 5:58 am

[quote comment="244181"][quote comment="244162"]i think everyone is missing the point. this MEM SATRIA NEO S2000 is being dveloped by MEM and not PROTON! PROTON is a SPONSOR! maybe by sponsoring the CHASSIS and BODY!

Prodrive built Subaru WRC. M-Sport built Focus WRC. So, what's wrong with MEM built the Neo s2000?[/quote]

gangully, you're slightly wrong on the proton being just a sponsor. homologation of a car for S2000 is very much the manufacturers responsibility to ensure all the right info is available. MEM or any other race car builder cannot build a car like this without the manufacturers support. and of course proton are out to win. its their car.

• rally_fan on Jun 12, 2009 at 6:00 am

[quote comment="244186"]Just another image of Wira with Evo heart….

But the bodykit and exterior are nice![/quote]

its far from what you've said. the engine is from the waja 1.8. regardless of where it came from, its still part of the proton family of engines and is a production engine. The engines that the evo ran were never ever available in a massproduced proton.

• since i hold my purchase for satria neo cps,

now my is pumping ,,

• teamsleepnine on Jun 12, 2009 at 8:23 am

ferrari 430 gt2 racecar and gt3racecar is build by michelotto

lamborghini murcielago rgt,gallardo gt3,super trefeo race car is build by reiter engineering,subaru by prodrive

bmw 3 series s2000 wtcc by schnitzer racing.

the list goes on………

as for the engine the gtr gt1 racecar use a v8 engine,the gt500 use a v8 too,heck it dont even use the gtr chasis,it use a tube/space frame chasis,but nobody make noise about it,everybody go like go go go nissan….ahhhh malaysian!!!

• Tiadaid on Jun 12, 2009 at 9:19 am

[quote comment="244143"]As for the S2000, well its been prepared by an experienced racing team? so they?ll make sure it wont fall apart and even if they do? so too the other cars? even the WRC cars. I mean how many times have we seen ?big? teams suffer reliability issues be it in WRC or F1? A lot right? Recall that Subaru?s front hood popped open after a water puddle.

You can?t compare a race prepped car to a normal road car and I agree that a racing team chooses a car which has an already good platform to work on and what a platform they have in the Neo. Mods would be more difficult on say a Kenari or a Myvi or a Spectra or even a Persona.

The spoilers are there for extra aerodynamic downforce to help traction and in rallies, to help longitudinal stability during high jumps? Spoilers on normal road cars are there to achieve zero-lift and perhaps reduce drag by reducing the size of the aerodynamic wake behind the car hence saving fuel. (So, careful when fitting wings on the back of your bonnets)

Regarding the drivers being British instead of Malaysian, well, it?s a British team and the drivers are good, so why not. If you buy a car, you?d rather have your family drive it rather than the people who build that car? Plus, these drivers also helped to develop and tune the car? The Neo of the Axle Racing headed by Alex Yoong is driven by Malaysian drivers? since it?s a Malaysian team.

I sympathy those who still think that Proton cars are expensive? Hopefully, one day Proton will sell their cars at the price of a roti canai. Proton is first and foremost a business corporation? so they have to make profit somewhere. Their products must also be competitive in order to sell, and in the international market, competition is so strong that selling cheap is a very big marketing strategy. Of course, I would also want to see locally sold Protons to have at least the same level of equipment and quality as exported ones. This I agree, but price-wise? I think it?s reasonable.

Locally, Proton cars are already far cheaper that other brands. The price tag of a Hi-line Persona SE is comparable with say? a very base model Toyota Vios. Compare the specs level and performance between the two? the Persona outperforms the Vios (see reviews). I would even go as far as saying that the Persona also looks better that the new Vios (again beauty is in the eye of the beholder). The only card the Vios is playing is quality of perceive and reliability, and if you can get over that? then you?d be rational in your judgment.

Thanks for reading?[/quote]

Oh no, you shouldn't have gone there about the price…sure kena hentam one, since u didn't factor in the taxes…

• Protonfanatics on Jun 12, 2009 at 10:50 am

——————————————————————

To all Proton bashers,

It’s funny that as Malaysian, we always look at ourself with that feeling of inferior complex & always like to critizing & bashing our own car manufacturing company and car, however good they are. I believe Malaysians should be given an award for the most people in the whole wide world who have the most negative thinking about themselves & the ability of their own kind to produce a good car. Critize, critize, critize & bashing, bashing, bashing our Proton company & car. I guess it’s the colonial mentality that we still inherited from the British, where the British are always the superior race, while we Malaysians are always the inferior ones.

The Britishs and Americans never never critize their own kind. Even when their national football sucks & didn’t manage to enter the last European Cup in 2008 or the World Cup. And when somebody foreign, either Italian, Frenchs or Spanish people critizing the Britishs or American national football team, they will defend their reputation like hell! Neverbody mess with them. Even in reality their national football sucks! That’s why they advance further & become world class & 1st class people.

Whereas some Malaysians here have a 3rd world mentality, giving the harshest critic & bashing to their own fellow citizens working in Proton. Luckily, these few Malaysian citizens who receive the harshest critic & bashing from 3rd class mentality Malaysians; remain patience, preserve, work harder & someday would like to proof these 3rd Class mentality Malaysian fools that they are wrong.

A good example is when the British Topgear, hosted by Jeremy Clarkson was making fun of the Perodua Kelisa. Instead of Malaysians defending our pride & joy, most of us join him in critizing & bashing the Perodua Kelisa. That’s what I call a colonial mentality!

The British people are like that! They like to make fun of other people cause they think they are the superior race. With the price so cheap, Perodua Kelisa is design for a specific purpose. It is designed for people looking for cheap, low maintenance, convenience, easy parking, petrol saving & city driving environment. This car is not make for performance, speeding or racing! What do u expect? Buying one of the cheapest car & expect it to run like a Ferrari, handle like a Lotus & safety like a Volvo? DON’T compare Kelisa to a Ferrari or a Mitsubishi Evo stupid!

If you want to compare a car, compare it apple to apple. Compare it within the same car class or similar price. Don’t compare an apple with a durian!

In addition, the British bragging about themselves & make fun of the Malaysian & Korean car manufacturers saying these cheap car are lousy & low quality.

Guess what? Below are the list of defunct or bankrupted British car manufacturers:-

Austin, Autovia, BMC, BLMC, British Leyland, Dawson, De Lorean Motor Company, Hillman, Humber, Jensen, Lea-Francis, MG Rover, Morris Motor Company, Nuffield, Riley, Rootes, Singer, Standard, Sterling, Sunbeam, Sunbeam-Talbot, Sunbeam-Talbot-Darracq, Talbot, Triumph Motor Company, Vanden Plas, Wolseley.

In addition, what happen to British car manufacturers like Lotus, Jaguar, MINI, Land Rover & Aston Martin? All are sold & owned by foreign car manufacturer, or else these brands will go bankrupted like the ones above. Lotus sold to Proton Malaysia, Jaguar & Land Rover sold to Tata India, Mini to BMW Germany & Aston Martin sold to Middle East investors.

Even GM & Chrysler went bankrupted & had to be bailed out by the American government. In times like these, where most car manufacturers either went bankrupted or scaled down their operation, Proton & Perodua are spending more money into research & marketing and entering into more new markets. Remember, Proton bought over Lotus, increasing our market share in Britain & other parts of the world each year, entering the IRC & WRC rally this year while other car manufacturers withdraw from it and is entering new markets like India & mainland Europe this year.

I am wondering, why Proton & Perodua are still selling their cars in Britain & still didn’t go bankrupted or sold to other foreign owned companies like the others? Proton & Perodua should stop selling their cars in Britain by now. Hell, Proton should close shop now instead of entering new market in India & mainland Erope this year and entering the IRC rally this year. Proton might also enter the WRC rally next year while some manufacturer like Subaru is quitting it. And Proton can afford to hire Petter Solberg, the former WRC champion in 2003 as their driver.

In addition, in its first rally debut in Europe, our “crappy” Proton Satria Neo S2000 managed a podium position on its first ever World Rally Championship outing, temporarily beating the current WRC Champion Sebastien Loeb in a full spec WRC Citroen C4, as well as other more experince and well known cars such as Peugeot, VW and Fiat. For your information, Sebastien Loeb is a five time WRC champion while the Proton Satria Neo S2000 driver, Niall McShea was only a former Production Car World Rally champion. And how on earth, our “unreliable” Proton Wira, driven by our own Karamjit Singh can won the FIA Production World Championship in 2002 and FIA Asia-Pacific Championship in 2004? Can some 3rd class mentality Malaysians please answer these questions?

Remember, these Proton & Perodua cars might look ugly, lousy & unreliable, but the Brits are still buying it!!! And the numbers keep increasing every year! Especially times like these where the world is in recession. But you guys forget, these type of cars that Proton and Perodua are selling that are responsible for KILLING the British car manufacturers, until forcing the British car manufacturer either to go bankrupt or to be sold off to foreign owned company like the Brits like to poke fun at such as Proton. Remember, without Proton, Lotus might go bankrupt. MG Rover went bankrupted when Proton decided not to purchase it years ago. Hello, who is having the last laugh now?

Automotive industry in the United Kingdom
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_motor_indust…

So all Malaysians, please WAKE UP!! Don’t be 3rd class mentality Malaysian fools, but become World Class & 1st class mentality Malaysian geniuses. DEFEND Proton & Perodua cars like hell if any idiots want to criticize or bash them.

If you still think Proton car sucks, find yourself another country such as Bangladesh or some African countries like in Somalia. I believe you better belong in those countries…

P/S: 3rd class mentality Malaysians, you are welcome to pack your bag & leave this country for good. We don’t need idiots like you in here!

By Protonfanatic

• LeBronJames on Jun 12, 2009 at 6:21 pm

Hi Protonfanatic,

Thank you for your long explanation, I truly understand your concern. Do you think we like to talk bad things for fun? If I complain alone maybe i am crazy. I can tell you 90 percent of my surrounding shares the same opinion.

So Mr. First class mentality have you been let down before by your national car before? To me, first class, second class or third class mentality have the rights to give posivite opinion and not destructive.

Come on, some times complaining is good atleast we still care about our national cars. Big problems arise when no one complain about them as everyone have given up hope on them. Do you want that to happen Mr. 1st class mentality?

:)

• nighttrain on Jun 13, 2009 at 1:24 am

Correcto mundo LeBron.. I'll just have to agree with youon this bro. But I guess this is another marketing scheme. Once Proton start winning, they'll release a WRC street legal version and boost overall sales. Just win the damn thing already. GO Proton!

• nighttrain on Jun 13, 2009 at 1:24 am

The little car that can!

• we should defend p1 and p2 like Protonfanatics said..but not membabi buta.

we also should criticize both of p1 n p2 as long Malaysian do it base on fact and rational thinking rather than dengar cakap org lain, or simply hate. y hate?? ask urself. and from my personal statistic base on my surrounding, 80 percent agree proton is value for money. Padan dengan harga.

• Prem3377 on Jun 13, 2009 at 2:50 am

Protonfanatic,

your i get your point..and your points were true but there is a small mistake in it..our mentality is actually same as british people mentality..thats why we not making progress in many ways.Birtish people are rich and they are a developed country because they started all very early but now they are going backwards…

why malaysians are same like british people you may ask?

let me give you some simple example:

lets start from their automotive industry

they never praise and always feel their country made cars are second to all even to the japanese.they feel their car is expensive and they dont have a sense of pride.even cars like jaguar,bentley and etc sell more around the world compared to their own country men because they always have the mentality like our fellow malaysians..foreign products are always better and they admire german products so much like how we admire japanese products and that sense of mentality which made german products to get super good review from most british magazines..and people like JC which british people admire so much lead to the downfall of british automotive industries..and made foreign products dominate their auto industry and send all money out of their country's economy.

second good example is their national football team:

even if they have the best league in the world currently and a few world class players plus world class coaches…they never won anything major and recently never even qualify for euro 2008 championship..its all because the british mentality…if you notice..their media is very similar to us..they usually highlight their defeat more and than victory and make a big fuss out of something which is not important such as their former coach having an affair and etc…why must they even bother that the coach is having an affair??its his personal life..same goes in over country..they highlight their opposition teams capabilities and make our team less superoir and put so much pressure on our national team..not only football but badminton,hockey and etc…and we were once better than japanese but now..see where we are????

our mentality is the one has to change..people here complain about proton,country,the G and etc…but they fail to realise they are also part of malaysia..if you dont support them..or improve urself then your country will never see progress..and if you think they are not doing right..then dont blindly bash but try your best to help them change…if you feel proton is cheating you…have dont buy proton campaign…if you think the G is not good..vote for the opposition(which i did)….then you talk..i dont mean you protonfanatic…i means the rest of the bashers…

you guys just know how to bash blindly but never made an effort to improve things…you can write to proton customer care and complain..demand a reply and suggest them how to improve proton cars and quality…

if you dont improve yourself..the dont expect your country to be any better..for example..paultan.org started few years back as small automotive blog…and after a few years he is the most famous automotive blogger and can be said talk of the town…i used to buy 3 car magazine a month..now reduced to one because paultan.org and paultan provide enough information..and faster than those magazines..plus its free..if one man can make so much difference..imagine if all of us can do the same…

its not easy get about 3 million people's attention…and paul did it in such a short time..i hope all malaysians can do the same..or atleast try…

• about british going backward…may i quote:

"Mungkin sejarah tak ada kena mengena dengan jenis kerja yang akan dibuat oleh kita. Tetapi tanpa sejarah kita tidak tahu siapa kita, dari mana kita datang dan kenapakah kita berada di sini dan tidak di tempat lain. Apabila kita tidak tahu dari mana kita datang, maka sukar bagi kita menentukan kearah mana kita akan pergi. Mungkin kita percaya kita sedang maju kehadapan tetapi sebaliknya kita sedang undur ke belakang" -Tun

hehe.

• tokmoh on Jun 14, 2009 at 6:04 am

[quote comment="244281"]Hi Protonfanatic,

Thank you for your long explanation, I truly understand your concern. Do you think we like to talk bad things for fun? If I complain alone maybe i am crazy. I can tell you 90 percent of my surrounding shares the same opinion.

So Mr. First class mentality have you been let down before by your national car before? To me, first class, second class or third class mentality have the rights to give posivite opinion and not destructive.

Come on, some times complaining is good atleast we still care about our national cars. Big problems arise when no one complain about them as everyone have given up hope on them. Do you want that to happen Mr. 1st class mentality?

:)[/quote]

Complaining can be like a double-edged sword.

On one side, today's Proton QC have improved cuz ppl kept highlighting Proton's QC. This is complaining for the better.

On the other hand, it's nothing but a convenient excuse for people to talk cock. This is complaining for retardation.

Nevermind. Important thing is Proton must continue working harder. Never, never, never give up.

There's always room for improvement. I believe what Proton needs to improve now is their SC service and delivery efficiency. I read in motortrader, a guy who wanted to buy Satria Neo CPS had to wait longer cuz Proton focuses building Campro CPS engine for Exora.

• Prismo on Jun 15, 2009 at 3:35 pm

[quote comment="244168"] Winning is not everything, Winning with other engines brand is nothing to me. Losing with Campro it's ok. That is how we learn and improved![/quote]

The FIA IRC regulation said all the S2000 cars must USE maximum 2.0cc engine.. If the competition regulation just needed an 1.6cc engine, i am very sure they will use CamPro 1.6 instead of Reanult engine just what Team Axle that lead by Alex Yoong did at before. Why MEM decided to use the Renault 1.8 instead of mitsu 2.0 engine? I think maybe Renault engine was an Europe engine, so the upgrade parts was easily to get.. So, the spare parts was everywhere in Europe and easy to find.. maybe?.. If u think winning with the other engine is nothing for u, but for me winning is winning… When "Guy Wilks" reach the finish line at the 1st place, it's will shown at results screen, "Wilks & Pugh/Proton Satria Neo S2000" (the car that they race with) not the "Wilks & Pugh/Renault 2.0 engine with 278hp" .. think wise mate.. ;)

• farghmee on Jun 15, 2009 at 5:27 pm

back to car>>

from readings on the net, one forummer came with this 1 bright idea.

keyword: ICON

would proton make the satria a living legend icon? :)

• ProtonGila on Jun 16, 2009 at 5:38 pm

Hi Mr.ProtonFanatics, We are Malaysian,of course we are proud of Proton and we will support it.We Malaysian would not criticize for nothing nor complaint for funny but for the good sake of Proton. But do you know why most malaysian start to give up on Proton??!! Ask yourself and be honest to yourself….. Let me put it this way,if is not we supported Proton for the past 24 years and hoping Proton will not let us down again,Proton definitely go bankrupt many many years ago! Come on,you guys dun tell me Proton cant produce a good new car after 24 years of experience???!!! Let us don’t talk about the engine but the design and layout of Proton car,seriously Proton still lack far behind . We're not comparing Proton with those Giant player in the market.We compare ample to ample.Just compare with Kia/hyudai or even China brand.But Proton really make us feel bad about it…Example the Proton Wira model,the mould produced for more than a decade and still doing so until its end production offiacially last year.Why is that happening? NO R&D done??? Financially not strong??? I strongly dun believe it!!! I guess the Wira mould is the World best ROI model!!! Did some minor facelift then so-called new model??? Not mentioning the new BLM 1.6!!! w/h any new additional safety features. There are tones of reasons and it's so obvious that Proton did it badly in automotive market recently.Proton knew the problem itself many years ago but they are reluctant to change and make it a true Malaysian car that we all Malaysian can be proud of… I can dare you and say that if Proton can produce a really reliable and good car.We Malaysian are willing to pay for it and brag about Proton to others!!! We Malaysian are proud of our National car if Proton seriously think about it and changed!

By, Proton Gila

• Prismo on Jun 16, 2009 at 8:20 pm

Err… Mr. ProtonGila.. we are believe that Proton nowadays are willing to change, trying to change and already changed and improved a bit or very much for some other peoples… maybe his (ProtonFanatics) point was, give new CEO (DSZA) a chance to prove himself.. nothing to loose right? maybe we can gain some more in the future.. just let's them try to change… but the constructive comments is needed.. ;)

• S.Roma on Jun 17, 2009 at 1:30 am

Ouh, and another thing. What’s with these British drivers? Why don’t they get our very own Flying Sikh, the superb Karamjit Singh? What’s wrong with having Malaysian drivers? We DO have world class rally drivers if you did not know, Pr[quote comment="243968"]Congratz to Proton. But seriously, what Proton parts are actually in the Neo S2000, apart from the bodyshell? Any? If so, is it a Proton just because the bodyshell and money comes from Proton? if so, I wouldn't be too proud. Does this even contribute towards Proton's R&D to translate the technology involved into normal street going cars?

FYI, Karamjit Singh lose when they race at a place (cant remember where and when le, but recently). And, he is only win ASEAN race, not WRC lor… but that was long time ago, if im not mistaken, it is on 2003 last winning for ASEAN race…

World class driver? i do not thk so ! Maybe can, but need 10 years or more to achive that title.

Im not trying to condemned here, but what i mean is that, we still lack of exp driver, and technology, compare to that Britain driver, from my opinion, he is better than Karamjit Singh.

• ruganhaur on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:08 am

hello – hello guys.. for all these years, all of you did not realized ka ?? proton produced their cars with low qualities and sometimes with all what u believe

PROTON qualities is so terrible ,is for what reason?? TO help the certain tycoons – la…ye la those who have the AP la , the ' LUBANG ' for halfcults la, the acssesories- la , those who sells bodykit- la, performance parts- la, to get more and more profits from those Proton buyers-la… Ye la kan, just a few days they bought new Proton, pasang itu ini, tuka itu ini, ye la kan design orang tua.. memangla macam tu… But for me it's okay la. It's just a car so what u expected!!! A Ferrari or Hummer- ka ? The Proton had tried their best for long time and wake up-la guys my fellow bashers.Even if u buy a foreign car, will u be happy all the time? Ye la, with unreasonable price and DP, hard to get spare parts,kalau ade pun mahal mcm gaban,high maintenance and so on ( lu pikir la sendiri ). I believe most of Malaysian are from middle and low incomes. So, these kind of brands-la they will expected to buy. I'm not sure bout' others( deep pockets-la ).BTW, Proton has given us more and more good expression for their brands.And with this participation in IRC, I know those who are truly believe in Proton cars ( Neo owners- ler ) will MELOMPAT happily to apply those MEM cars spec to their cars.Even for me.. Aku nak booking la sebijik..jadi kete ke-empat aku..balik kampung leh rally….So, for those bashers who I think has low confident for Proton, be reasonable -la. respect for others and stay away from alcohol and drugs.Cube modified dulu baru tau ( cube dulu baru tau )

*p/s = nak canggih beli je kete Batman.. aku ade sebijik..utk di jual.. nak bgtau.. aku nak beli Bumble- bee plak..

• KickingDust on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:12 am

Great comments, keep it coming.

Cheers

• ruganhaur on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:14 am

don' t get mad!! be appy…jgn bash aku dengan spana tayar korang dahlaa..

• Lakers 09 Champion.. on Jun 19, 2009 at 11:08 pm

Proton gila… gimme one example that proton made some minor changes on their car and called it new model??? I havent heard any… what i knew they only call it enhanced/facelift or SE version…. not new model..

btw on the SAGA 1.6 LE… proton did mentioned they only sell the basic version… ofcuz la no added gadgets on that car… plus the price only differ a bit from the 1.3 ones….

• LeBronJames on Jun 20, 2009 at 12:26 am

Hi Lakers 09 Champion….LeHype The Loser said,

Proton gila… gimme one example that proton made some minor changes on their car and called it new model??? I havent heard any… what i knew they only call it enhanced/facelift or SE version…. not new model..

—————————————————————-

Allow me to answer on behalf of Proton Gila. Proton Wira, transform become Satria (just chop if the tail), Putra (chop off the tail too), Proton Arena (also chop of tail) what else need to chop? :)

Well let the pass be. I am looking up on the new CEO. All the best don't let us down again.

• ProtonGila on Jun 20, 2009 at 12:40 am

Thanks for the explanation…well done!!!

I hope Proton will re-think and do seriously consider the when they want to come out new design…Not hoping to see another Persona head or BLM head on the next coming models.

Proton dont let us down!!! Gambatte!!! :)

• PROTON WRC 2010 on Jun 20, 2009 at 3:14 pm

well there is video about PROTON to enter WRC with World Champion Petter Solberge

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8pYcrjH0oA

it said,

Petter Solberg, Juara Dunia WORLD RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP tahun 2003 (8 tahun bersama Subaru World Rally Team) akan memandu PROTON SATRIA NEO S2000 dalam WRC 2010 dan akan membawa satu pasukan lengkap yang pernah terlibat dalam projek WRC SUBARU.

"The Proton is a nice car, it's a very detailed car," – Petter Solberg, WRC champion with SUBARU

"PROTON has already set its goal to run a racing programme similar to Subaru's in the WRC." – PROTON? director Datuk Hj Abdul Razak Dawood.

REVOLUSI WRC !!!

PROTON will do a SUBARU.. WOW!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_mhJ0Phe-qE

Japanese really know how to conquer European market with WRC..

SUBARU, MITSUBISHI, TOYOTA really have a big success in European market (so many rich people there) due to their extreme involvement in racing motorsports in World Rally Championship (WRC).. maybe after this PROTON may consider compete in NASCAR to enter USA market? (so much rich people there also)

• Prismo on Jun 22, 2009 at 5:16 pm

LeBronJames said,

June 19, 2009 @ 4:26 pm

Hi Lakers 09 Champion….LeHype The Loser said,

—————————————————————-

Allow me to answer on behalf of Proton Gila. Proton Wira, transform become Satria (just chop if the tail), Putra (chop off the tail too), Proton Arena (also chop of tail) what else need to chop?

Well let the pass be. I am looking up on the new CEO. All the best don’t let us down again.

—————————————————————-

Mitsu Evo3 transform become Mirage Cyborg/Colt (just chop the tail), Mitsu Coupe (Putra base on this) also had a same front end as Evo 3… Arena case, i think another manufacturer done a similar thing when producing their cute little Ute.. cost cutting…

• Lakers 09 Champion.. on Jun 25, 2009 at 3:57 pm

LeBron James aka LeHype… those example of yours… is what we ppl in automotive industries called as using 1 platform to spawn a few models….. btw if i'm not mistaken satria is from mitsu colt… and putra is 90% mitsu tbh… those examples u gave are basically when proton was doing rebadging… not making cars from scratch…. duh…

research b4 u talk…@**h**e!

• LeBronJames on Jun 26, 2009 at 11:25 pm

Lakers 09 Champion….LeHype The Loser said,

Please except the truth, the truth will always be the truth. Bottom line is that, previously Proton wira, Satria, Arena, Putra when you see them driving head to head with you they all looks the same. Same goes to Gen2 & Persona.

Anyway, there is no point to argue.

• ProtonGila on Jun 30, 2009 at 1:08 am

Lakers 09 Champion….LeHype The Loser said,

is what we ppl in automotive industries called as using 1 platform to spawn a few models….. btw if i’m not mistaken satria is from mitsu colt… and putra is 90% mitsu tbh… those examples u gave are basically when proton was doing rebadging… not making cars from scratch…. duh…

research b4 u talk…@**h**e!

—————————————————————-

Well,I find someone is trying to talk non-sense here…Hello Bro,what most of malaysian meant here was the layout/exterior design of wira,arena,satriaputra were basically the same!!! If is not 100% the same then at least 95% above are identical for the front head design…duh!!!

Do not try to protect Proton or whatever given reason,Proton seriously did it badly in overall…Please go back and design seriously what is for Malaysian car and not those cheapo and not-up to date standard car…

Proton Failed Malaysia!

• dzoukq on Jul 03, 2009 at 8:58 am

why proton didnt suggest or introduce to MEM about karamjit as a drive..rather then mat saleh there..huh

• Proton X Gila on Sep 25, 2009 at 8:44 pm

to ProtonGila=WE MALAYSIAN SUPPORT PROTON,GO PROTON,GO PROTON!!!!