Undisguised AM Rapide spotted in Belgium

Aston Martin Rapide

This Aston Martin Rapide suspected to be very close to production was spotted in Belgium and snapped by kim of Autogespot. The car looks pretty much undisguised, and while it’s still as good-looking as all Aston Martin can be, I feel the concept car somehow looked longer and sleeker, and this production version has its proportions slightly out of whack because of those headlamps that look a little too large for the car and seem to have some kind of extra layer over it. Look after the jump for a trip back through time, revisiting the original concept Rapide through a photo gallery.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=33]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jun 15, 2009 at 3:07 pm

looks much better than the Panamera.. but the rear is getting a just a tad tired, Aston will need to come up with sumthin fresh soon.

• the stik on Jun 15, 2009 at 3:42 pm

nooooo… i like those rear.. trademark.. sexy.. muaahh..!!

• Tiadaid on Jun 15, 2009 at 3:47 pm

Nice..way better than the Panamera

• mitlanevo on Jun 15, 2009 at 4:59 pm

there's another black one too….

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 15, 2009 at 8:42 pm

This is probably the best looking of the sporting 4 door coupes out there.

Very Aston Martin and very good looking.

The Maserati is well, too sedan like, the Benz CLS has weird droopy ends, The Panamera just has an oddly tacked on rear end, the Passat CC just looks odd with that gargantuan front end (trying to beat Peugeot are we?), the Estoque with its rather OTT mad look, the Aston seems the only one that made the look gell up well.

Well this and the upcoming Tesla S and the Fisker Karma would probably go for the best looking 4 door coupe look.

• howitzer on Jun 15, 2009 at 8:48 pm

guess that everyone want to be a driver after this.. any dato' want a new driver?? hehe

• nabill on Jun 15, 2009 at 9:12 pm

the rear doors look small and cramped

• prolever on Jun 15, 2009 at 10:11 pm

sleek and sexy.. but all the supercar sedan rear still the sme.. look like unty have a big "ponggong".. even the rear door is to small….like kancil….. even saga still have a large open radius and large spave 2 enter…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 16, 2009 at 12:31 am

yuck….its really just a DB9 with four doors, considering the DB9 is a rather ugly car, this is worst

• Caddilac Wong on Jun 16, 2009 at 2:32 am

Such a fantastic looking car… Way gorgeous than the butt-less Panamera…

Hope to see the Lambo's Estoque and Audi's A7 in Franfurt Motorshow…

• saw one on the way go Huntington Beach..

damn fast..

• Though disagree Supercar manufacturer building 4 doors, but this is the best looking example so far.

• roti naan1 on Jun 16, 2009 at 3:39 am

I'll take one, in pink color please.

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6zY85bbd9k
    listen to the glorious v12 guys!!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 16, 2009 at 4:20 am

[quote comment="244743"]Though disagree Supercar manufacturer building 4 doors, but this is the best looking example so far.[/quote]

ya.. its strange, but its what the market seems to be demanding nowadays.

• Gajen on Jun 16, 2009 at 4:56 am

its nice…but its like an elongated db9…same typical design…i doubt they have run out of ideas cos if u look at the one 77…its just gorgeous..

whereas this is nice but not surprising enough

• mystvearn on Jun 16, 2009 at 5:05 am

The lambo 4 seater looks better

• nice and sleek! for the family man who wants to go fast!

• front and side look a bit like the peugeot 407

• samuraijin on Jun 16, 2009 at 9:41 am

I think i saw this car once in Times Square?!

• [quote comment="244806"]I think i saw this car once in Times Square?![/quote]

are you sure man?

better u go n check ur brain

cheers!

• tonton on Jun 16, 2009 at 8:36 pm

dont be too harsh red97

samuraijin : it is not on production yet. actually, db9, dbs, volante, vantage looks so similiar. the one you spotted maybe one of these.

gajen : it is more like elongated vantage. same engine, 6.0 V12

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 17, 2009 at 2:18 am

[quote comment="244806"]I think i saw this car once in Times Square?![/quote]

yea, i saw it too

• the one in timessquare should be an aston martin DB series lah .

it could be a visual mistake just like persona and gen2.

• tonton on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:30 am

maybe it is V8 vantage.

spotted once at jalan duta, with a singaporean plate. my first time though, to saw in live. the sound, pergh it is one of a kind!

• DB, dark blue at infront of KLCC daily around 4pm..near to bus stop …check it out…

• afkar on Jun 20, 2009 at 9:01 pm

that's better alot better than panamera and i can say can threaten the estoque, is it?? hehe