Proton Edar Drive for Cash: RM50k Grand Prize!

Drive For Cash

Good news for anyone who plans to buy a Proton in the next two months. Proton Edar is currently having a contest where anyone who buys a Proton from between the 1st of June 2009 to the 31st of August 2009 will be able to be eligible for entry. What you need to do is answer a few pre-determined questions (should be easy) and complete a slogan of less than 20 words beginning with “I prefer a PROTON because…

Every week, 30 entries will be selected from the entries received during that week. Out of this 30 entries, 17 will be selected as weekly winners for the week, while the remainder will be entered into a monthly pool to win the monthly winner prizes. Out of the 17 weekly winners, 2 will win RM5,000 each, while the rest will win a Proton GPS navigation unit.

Next we go to the monthly pool. There should be about 13 entries every week (30 minus 17), and with roughly 4 weeks a month you should have 52 entries each month. From this monthly pool, a number of entries will be selected. One entry from the monthly selection will win the monthly prize of RM20,000, while the rest goes into a Grand Prize pool, which will be picked at the end of the contest. The Grand Prize is RM50,000 cash.

The prizes will be awarded based on the number of correct answers and the best creative slogan based on Proton Edar Sdn Bhd’s panel of judges.

So as a recap of the prizes:

Weekly selection 2 x RM5000.00
Weekly 15 consolation x GPS System
Monthly selection 1 x RM20,000.00
Grand Prize 1 x RM50,000.00

Click here for more details on the contest.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• saiful on Jun 24, 2009 at 8:37 am

hi….

well done because promote the proton..that our country car….

• i prefer a proton because it is cheaper than other competitors.

• jejamban on Jun 24, 2009 at 9:11 am

woooooooo

• luth textile on Jun 24, 2009 at 9:26 am

i proud have a proton car..

whatever others condemn the car, i like it.

• bmpower on Jun 24, 2009 at 10:41 am

perodua?

give it all to mother japan.

• PROTON marketing on Jun 24, 2009 at 11:09 am

bmpower.. LOL

how about buy PROTON car and get free petrol from PETRONAS for 100litre and also free 1 SYNTIUM FULLY SYNTHETIC.. can promote both company what!

and one free T-Shirt and sticker.. love it if they have a very big design of the PROTON TIGER company logo, the black and white one like that PROTON SATRIA NEO WRC use.. and words "SUPPORT PROTON WRC 2010 PROJECT"

• Mat Rempit on Jun 24, 2009 at 2:47 pm

"I prefer a PROTON because everything else is jacked up due to protectionism."

Now don't get me wrong – I think Proton is moving in the right direction nowadays. In fact I'm very fond of the Neo CPS. It's just that I hope our government would start encouraging fair play in the market soon.

• PROTON is cheaper and people prefer PROTON due to government impose high tax on non-national cars. (Ref: http://media.paultan.org/pricelist.pdf ). If PROTON moving in the right direction, why still imposed high tax to non-national cars and not making profit for the past few years? People proud to have PROTON car because we have no choice! (Only good financial income people can afford to buy non-national cars). Governments will NEVER encouraging fair play in the Malaysian car market FOREVER (unless people change the government in the next election). This "Proton Edar Drive for Cash: RM50k Grand Prize!" it’s a desperate marketing gimmick to grab people attention.

• "I prefer a PROTON because I got no money"

Can ar?

• i prefer proton because…. errr, can we mention any flora or fauna in the slogan?…. just to make sure i wont be disqualified

• DenFire on Jun 24, 2009 at 5:47 pm

How about "I prefer proton because that's the only car that I can afford…" :)) sorry sorry.. just joking…

• roti naan1 on Jun 24, 2009 at 7:03 pm

i prefer proton bcoz it got Thundercat logo.

Very fierce.. AUUMM!!!!

• springbok on Jun 24, 2009 at 7:25 pm

Another gimmic to entice

the public by offering $$.

Contests are all con-jobs.

Just lower your car prices.

In Australia they have mid year stock clearance

with added goodies included.

I don't see why Proton cannot do this.

-would be great if other car co join in the bandwagon too.

• springbok on Jun 24, 2009 at 7:45 pm

Another gimmic to lure

the public with $$.All contests are con-jobs.

Just lower your car prices.

In Australia they have mid year stock clearance

with added stuff/goodies thrown in.

Proton shd adopt this approach & i'm sure

other car co's will join in the bandwagon.

• roti naan1 on Jun 24, 2009 at 10:47 pm

Thunder, thunder, thunder….Cats!!

Proton!!!!! (replacing "Ho!!")

• whiteeye on Jun 25, 2009 at 4:56 am

If not for the G to protect Proton, do u all think it can survive, n the market is not healthy, all benefit is to the G, helping Proton just an accuase, tax is wat only they care.

• This is at least by far better and more sense than "Pesta Mega Beli Barangan Malaysia" with a CBU Perodua Nautica in the promotional materials. Whoever doing that should be shot.

• transformer (Member) on Jun 25, 2009 at 6:19 am

“I prefer a PROTON because…"

no money to buy foreign makes because they are being tax 300% for the sake of providing jobs for local and not to forget those cronies

• afroiq on Jun 25, 2009 at 6:59 am

i prefer proton because i want to protect our country economy. :)

• PROTON contest.. on Jun 25, 2009 at 1:06 pm

"I prefer PROTON because

1) I don't like Perodua who is Toyota/Daihatsu dog

2) I like thundercat… AUMMM!!!

3) I don't need power window

4) I don't like diesel engine

5) I don't like F1

6) I like Petter Solberg

7) I like WRC

8) I like LOTUS

9) I don't like Volkswagen

10) I like Mitsubishi

11) I like PROTON EXORA CPS with very small engine without turbo

12) I don't need various type of engine like what Toyota, Nissan, BMW, Mercedes did

13) I only like engine under 2,000cc

14) I like Dr Mahathir

15) other cars so expensive because of tax regulation, no choice

16) I don't like Honda Civic Type-R

17) I don't like Ferrari

18) I don't like Toyota Supra

19) I don't like Lamborghini

20) I hate Michael Schumacher

21) I hate Top Gear

22) I hate Jeremy Clarksson

23) I love Paul Tan

24) I am really patriotic

25) I don't care car so expensive compare when I buy other car from other country, especially japanese car

26) I hate Germans engineering

27) I like EVO

28) I want to help the cronies

29) I only like bumiputera

30) I do not need to eat nasi, PROTON is enough

31) I do not need to buy house, PROTON is my house

32) I really like to make loan

33) I really want PROTON even though I have to borrow money from along

34) I love national car project

35) I don't like to see healthy competition"

surely I will win this RM50k Grand Prize! LOL

• azrai on Jun 25, 2009 at 4:03 pm

I prefer Proton because I prefer low installment compare to other cars with a high tax (although it takes me and other malaysian 9 years to settle it and get a voucher of RM5k after 10 years to buy another Proton) plus easy spare parts to get from Mitsubishi's car at kedai potong. Alamak..exceed the 20 words quota.

• Prismo on Jun 25, 2009 at 5:37 pm

I prefer Proton because, Saga is cheaper than Perodua Myvi that also protected by G… can be like this arr??

• i prefer a proton because at least, a proton is better than a tata nano.

• condemn proton…and then get advert sponsorship from them! what an irony!

• all bull shit

• im frm proton before..hq proton also didnt confident proton cars first lounch. thay advise to they family members dont buy proton cars. firs model got problem..now end of june 09 exzora systems cps got problem, exzora radiator cabel must change ..soft call customer exzora..so how..true what

• im frm proton before..hq proton also didnt confident proton cars first lounch. thay advise to they family members dont buy proton cars. firs model got problem..now 28/06/09 exzora cps systems got problem, exzora radiator cabel must change..soft call customer exzora..so how..true what

• At the first time, I plan to buy proton. Im also proud to be malaysian as proton is our country product. But I can say that proton didnt appreciate us as malaysian. Why I said that? This is bcoz, when proton launch car in overseas, the car come with better spec than what we get in malaysia. Example thailand. even with the same price (when do conversion) the car is better in thailand than malaysia. I wondering why proton make us like this. They are many campain such as "kempen beli barangan buatan malaysia" and so on. But why you dont give us same as what you export????? I already surf proton uk and proton thai website. The car is far better than what we get.. Even with the same price in malaysia. Dont believe me? try to surf proton uk and proton thailand. I think proton take more profit on us to cover what they give to another country.

Seriously, I want to buy proton for the first time bcoz can say Im also patriotic person. but when thinking again. Sorry to say la proton. You offer different between us and oversean EVEN WITH THE SAME PRICE!!!!

T

• doraemon bin ultrama on Jul 25, 2009 at 4:10 am

…guys, if u know the peace and stability that all of us enjoying now is so pricey, you wouldnt mind pay it at all cost…..trust me. proton case is small matter meh

• bruts on Jul 29, 2009 at 8:37 am

i lov to have proton to espclly exora coz size of family but to think about the spec and quality i dont sure. many have said about that. to think about the prize ok lo.. I dreally dont agree with the bank interest. Although the tax for outside car high but the interest ok lo…for proton it different..why maaa..but to be a patriotic ok laaa 4 prtn..

• I love protong on Aug 04, 2009 at 12:35 am

I prefer proton because proton was my first car and I already sold it because:

1) tired to replace power window motor (many time loh!)

2) loan still long to go, but my protong seemed not long to go..

3) so many peoples used same car like me, hard to find it in MidValley parking.

4) I bought new car loh..(salary increase, buy new ones loh – try other brand loh..)

p/s: buleh menang ke if my entry like this..?

• Alan C on Sep 24, 2009 at 2:17 am

You know what, i didnt qualified for this contest as the Proton Edar salesman delayed my Xchange Progamme since i have booked this SAGA since 23-May but until today i'm still waiting and waiting. When i called-up the salesman, he will say: dont know when, i dont know, not so clear & etc. I'm really frustrated with his services since day 1, was introduced by a friend which he told me the salesman actually is his counsin's brother so i just trusted him but now really regretted… Anyone can tell me if the Proton Edar salesman cannot provide me service, where else can i go?? Approach the Branch Manager?? I've written three emails to Proton Edar in KL since July but never received a single words from them… HELP!!! This car is very important to me as i need this car to run business but now i've been sitting at home for 4months plus… What the hell Proton Edar??

• for this contest, how do check if the owner won the prize? is it proton will contact them directly?