2010 Mazda3 2.0 Sport: a sporty niche product

Mazda 3

Ah, it’s nice to see yet another C-segment competitor here in Malaysia. The new Mazda 3 was launched about a month ago by new Mazda distributors Bermaz, part of the Berjaya group. Although it has an all-new exterior and interior, the new Mazda 3 continues to ride on an adaptation of the old car’s platform. What kind of competitor is this new sporty-looking sedan and should you buy it? We find out after the jump.

Mazda 3

Mazda’s new front grille which features a rather large smiley is the first thing you’ll notice if you have the front of the car in view. The design is quite dynamic and has a little organic touch to it, looking more like a hybrid metal and organic alien lifeform rather than what we’re used to seeing, especially in the design cues of the typical C-segment sedan. And it’ s a very happy-looking one indeed.

The sporty stance is helped by the fact that it looks quite compact. The current pick of the crop best all-rounder Civic dwarfs the Mazda 3 in comparison, and this theme continues in the interior – it feels narrower than average and rear legroom is also quite limited. It’s going to be quite a tight squeeze in there if you have a tall person in the driver’s seat, and if thats the case functionally it’s going to be a 3+1 seater.

Mazda 3

Surprisingly the new Mazda 3 is one of the few modern cars who still provide some really nice soft padding on the dashboard, although its only in a majority of the surface and not everything, so that’s a nice touch. The seating position is slightly higher than a regular sedan’s so it depends on your personal preference whether you like this or not. Nevertheless when the situation comes, it helps with maneuvering the car around tight spaces because you get to see the edges of the car more clearly.

Mazda 3The entertainment system and steering wheel are chock full of various dials, buttons and other controls because the car is specced quite generously, with a CD changer with USB and MP3 text support, and a trip computer with lots of useful tools such as service reminders, a dedicated odometer for maintenance tasks such as tyre rotation, rain sensor wipers, light sensor headlamps and etc. In other markets the multi-info display is available in full colour with integrated GPS navigation but in Malaysia it gets a regular monochrome display with a white backlight, which looks rather out of place in a sea of red on black displays.

Mazda 3

The 2.0 model has a two-tone dark grey and beige interior and a matching two-tone black and beige colour for the decent supportive leather seats (it seems that the leather is a RM2,800 option), which are done locally instead of coming together with the imported car. A quick chat with the Bermaz folks upon returning the test unit revealed that customers can customise the leather seat colour if they really want it, but it could cause delays in delivery time.

Some controls especially on the center dash area are just about above average in feel but the steering wheel controls and signal stalks feel very good and tactile, especially the switch-like controls on both sides. The steering wheel audio controls are quite complete with even a quick mute button to quickly silence your audio system for incoming calls.

There is a paddle shift function and the implementation is not the usual left to downshift and right to upshift, but instead both sides of the steering wheel provide the same upshift and downshift functions via pulling and pushing respectively. Manual shifting can also be done via the gear lever and I like that Mazda has implemented the “proper” way of pulling to upshift and pushing to downshift.

Mazda 3

Unlike the Focus which has the same powertrain, the Mazda 3’s transmission has 5 gears instead of 4 allowing for a bit more flexibility in choosing just the right gear to be in when you attack a corner, as there more ratios within a specific range. You won’t be forced to go in with an overly screaming engine, or too slow with the engine not in the powerband.

The Mazda 3 has bi-xenon headlamps, which means you get xenon headlamps for both the high beam and the main beam. Alot of car manufacturers only equip xenons for the main beam, leaving the high beam functionality to a regular halogen bulb. The default setting is pointed rather high so you may want to adjust this in order not to annoy other road users, but at the default, the cast of the beam is far, wide and bright. The 2.0 litre model also uses LED for the rear lighting instead of normal bulbs for the 1.6 litre.

Mazda 3

The 2.0 litre model produces 145 horsepower at 6,500rpm and 182Nm of torque at 4,500rpm. The test unit we drove probably had something wrong with the engine. The same engine is found in the Focus 2.0 and the previous Mazda 3 and it definitely did not feel the same. For the test unit, while the engine pulled strongly towards the redline, it was quite hesitant, a little rough, and there were little pockets of random torque dip on the way there. The engine had less than 5,000km on it so it could be something wrong with the run-in process? Any early adopters of the Mazda 3 here? How does your engine feel like?

In terms of ride comfort, it tackled road irregularities decently enough though the ride is slightly on the firm side.. Most bumps and rough roads can be felt but its nothing jarring, with the car soaking up some but not most of the vibration. It’s a trade-off for the sporty handling, though the steering and the way the 3 behaves as it slices through the bends isn’t quite as engaging as the Focus. Firm and planted but somehow not as fun, could be something to do with the high-ish seating position.

Mazda 3

There’s lots of grip and not much bodyroll though so it’s still enough to impress all but the most sensitive butt-o-meters who are fussy about how much the steering picks up everything it goes over. Although its platform-mate the Focus provides a more engaging drive together with the same engine, but the Mazda 3 holds its own quite well in that aspect. It can be used as a tool to enjoy the occasional B-road on the way back to the kampung, or just up and down for fun without any particular destination in mind.

Safety features include 6 airbags (all of them are for the front passengers), and anti-lock brakes. Sadly, no traction control! The remote control is able to control the car’s windows so that’s an added convenience, allowing you to pre-air the car after its been parked all day long on a hot day before you embark on your way home.

Mazda 3

So what kind of car is the new Mazda 3? It’s more of a niche product for someone who wants something that looks different and drives sportily enough. The car has little nice and friendly touches to it to remind you that you’re in something different, such as the center dash illumination that pulsates every time you change the volume, or the welcome and good bye messages that display on the multi-info display. Heck, you can even customise the volume of your turn signal indicators clicks! All these little things are nice touches and let you know you’re driving something out of the ordinary, especially at this segment. For those who want to move their family in comfort and want the most metal (equals to space) for their money, you’ll be disappointed with the smallish interior. It’s more of between the B and C segments.

At over RM131k (it’s apparently around RM133k now) it seems like alot of money to pay (probably because its fully imported, and even then word is that the introductory price is going to go up by abit!) but the 3 gives back to the buyer in terms of equipment level, though the cheaper but very well equipped 308 manages to do the same at a cheaper price. But that’s only for those who don’t mind a hatchback.

So what you’re paying for here is some exclusivity and a relatively high equipment level. Like I said, a niche product and a rather charming one at that, because based on my own personal needs I can’t bring myself to pay this price for a small interior.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=385]

[zenphotopress number=99 album=317]

[zenphotopress number=99 album=318]

[cpg_album:153]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Gajen on Jul 20, 2009 at 11:34 am

very nice indeed….but expensive…and no legroom

• JULIAN_LEE on Jul 20, 2009 at 12:50 pm

bad choice, i'd rather plonk all my moni on a m3.

• nothingspecial on Jul 20, 2009 at 1:33 pm

i prefer the 6. this one is like a baby 6 but without the macho. its like a girls car…thats wat i felt la..

• Ariff on Jul 20, 2009 at 2:17 pm

Should I get a 2.0 Mazda 3(waiting for Hatch.When will it come??) or 2.0 Mazda 6??The 2.0 6 looks very low in equipment level…

• Hanif on Jul 20, 2009 at 2:17 pm

RM130k for a small Mazda3……?

Why does the Honda Civic look cheaper? Lower equipment spec?

• I will buy even it is smaller then it competitor. At least I get almost full spec, good quality interior and all little extra that worth the money. I drove few times here in Australia and it was good, better then Honda Civic and Toyota Corolla Auris….

• The car looks ok.But the price not.Better get Civic.Bigger space.Better fuel efficiency.

• Road Thunder on Oct 17, 2010 at 9:18 pm

Agreed. Zul is a fool. Look at the dismal sales figures of Mazda 3. Can’t even beat the uncle car Altis

• nice weekend car..

• williaml on Jul 20, 2009 at 4:22 pm

If a CBU Japan model at RM133K with all the ridiculous import duties, excise duty & sales tax, and HIGH exchange rate of RM versus Yen, it is not pricy actually, about few thousand higher than CKD Civic only.

• i have paid the deposit n cant wait to get my new toy.. love it!!

although is rather pricy but hey, it has more features comparing to civic or altis.

• barca on Jul 20, 2009 at 4:36 pm

about time…..another cheeful japanese car on our shores!

hope to see more mazda on our roads soon.

• mohd hafizzul on Jul 20, 2009 at 4:58 pm

lawa lah!

• keluangman on Jul 20, 2009 at 5:04 pm

keluangman said,

This Mazda 3 is for the people who likes to be different. If you want value for money(esp when it comes to interior space), this is NOT your car.

Personally I think RM133k is abit steep to spend on such a smallish (albeit well equipped, too bad no traction control!) sedan. It's less than RM10k away(or mere RM90 away for 9 yrs loan) from a basic spec Camry or Accord sedan, which is much more spacious and comfortable to drive!

• arayko on Jul 20, 2009 at 5:05 pm

tested the 1.6 model last 2 month.

weakness:

the rear seat is kind weird for people to get in and out.. defnitely not a good idea for seniors.

i notice the petrol consumption is quite bad when keep pressing during the short distance test drive

• tikus on Jul 20, 2009 at 5:24 pm

Better go for Pug 308 Turbo.Save almost 20k and road tax.

• Tempting…but i'd still go for the Focus, it may have a 4 speed auto but I won't trade its steering feel for anything else

• Hybrid on Jul 20, 2009 at 5:44 pm

seen one on the road. Looks like subpar car but pls dont get the voilet red. It looks totally cheap! soon enough it will turn to pinkish red.

• Maserati on Jul 20, 2009 at 6:05 pm

Yeah,in these circumstances,the Peugeout 308 Turbo looks the most value for money !

Mazda 3 at this price will definately not be a big hit among m'sians

• wonder why Mazda 3 always the priciest compared to focus & civic. guess it is imported from japan? definitely will make it harder to sell…

smiley face look similar to 308 smiley face :D

• Wak Rempit on Jul 20, 2009 at 6:35 pm

That is strange… the unit I test drove did have an all black interior (maybe some spots of grey) and no leather seats unlike this one… pelik betul…

Truthful that space is inadequate in this car and that fact is obvious, but one has to remember that this is not a family sedan. To be honest this car has nothing to do with your family, it is something to impress a hot babe, got it? :)

The car is for younger (or people who feel young) and dynamic driver who preferred something sporty and different, truly it is different driving this car… you will feel boasting… if that is the right word.

• duorenz on Jul 20, 2009 at 6:55 pm

As pointed by Paul, having all those power and torque is TOTALLY DANGEOROUS without active safety compoenent such as Traction Control.

308 alone has 6 traction-related controls.

• MBX Boy on Jul 20, 2009 at 6:56 pm

More Malaysians ought to buy Mazdas. Handling top. Reliability of Mazda also top, but Malaysians a lil dumb n balik2 go for T & H, even if it means poorer CKD quality. In Australia and in many developed nations, this car is one of the best selling C-segment cars. If more Malaysians use Mazdas, spareparts will be aplenty and the 2nd hand value will be good.

• good car, but felt a bit uneasy with the smiley face, and less legroom…

• nice…. hey paul, any possibility the Maz 2 wil be coming in msia as a ckd in msia or a cbu from thailand?….. coz i read the papers early this month about Ford n Mazda expanding their factory to have the Maz2 n ford xx? (that shares d same platform wit the mazda 2). kinda nice looking. coz i was looking around for a small hatch, sedan(rm 100k) for my wife and stubled on the news (NST). that made a pause on me looking at the jazz, suzy swift sport and others.

no doubt that the YEN is soaring again but i was wondering if its thailand cbu (if only) the prices will not be such a really be a big impact right? 1 thing i like about mazda sedans, its either basics or really full accesories.

• I tested the Mazda3 last sat at the federal highway bermaz, i have the same issue with the engine as describe by paul. so is that common? The rear legroom is not that bad, as i still can comfortable rest my leg. also regarding the leather seat, i double n tripple confirm with the sales, mazda3 2.0 did not come with leather seat, and to get a leather seat need to add rm2800, n they did mention about the price increase in coming months..which i'm a bit doubtful although at this moment they have order list of total 250, need to wait 3 months to get the car though… Thought of booking as i like the design n gadgets..but hold myself on till end of the year..to see what else the market offering…

• A better car than Civic & Altis

• Vanquish on Jul 20, 2009 at 8:13 pm

The Mazda3 is not small, I've personally test drove it yesterday and find it to be a very decent car. I'd choose the Mazda3 over the Honda Civic 2.0 anytime…

• Road Thunder on Oct 17, 2010 at 9:20 pm

Have you bought it then, Capt Vanquish? Or regret after buying it?

• Vanquish on Jul 20, 2009 at 8:19 pm

@ dp:

The Mazda2 will be coming to M'sia in January 2010. Bermaz tried to get it in earlier around November 2009 but it didn't work out. For the time being, the hatchback will be brought in first, Bermaz is still figuring out whether to bring in the sedan or not…

Bermaz will be importing the Mazda2 from Thailand and the price may undercut the Honda City, Jazz & Toyota Vios.

• Shadoa on Jul 20, 2009 at 8:21 pm

I don't understand why Paul kept on saying the Mazda3 is kinda small. Is it just psychological (pre-conceived opinion), or it really is really smaller compared to other C-segment cars? Paul says smallish interior. Paul says size is like something between B and C? From the official Malaysian websites, I got: Civic's dimensions (L/W/H/WB): 4540/1755/1435/2700, Altis: 4540/1760/1465/2600, Mazda3: 4580/1755/1470/2640. From these dimensions, I don't see it agreeing to what Paul mentioned. What say u?

• because the civic is locally assembled while this Mazda3 is a CBU unit. it's a bang for bucks with this much equipments to be offered and Jap-built quality.

• prodrive6406 on Jul 20, 2009 at 8:52 pm

this car is much better lo… where to find a new CBU car in malaysia with this price range even though in sabah a recond mazda rx8 can cost around RM134k… i already been test drive this car(but not the 2.0 model) it has better handling, smooth engine and i am very satisfied with this car…

• prodrive6406 on Jul 20, 2009 at 8:57 pm

i think the hatchback model will not to be our malaysian market because my friend in japan told me the hatchback model already sold out due to the high demand on this model in japan and us market…

• theanswer on Jul 20, 2009 at 9:09 pm

bad choice, i’d rather plonk all my moni on a m3.

what m3 got to do with mazda 3? lol~ funny la u.

• karspersky on Jul 20, 2009 at 9:12 pm

Just take the 1.6 liter model..very nice and uncluttered. I've tested the 2.0 too many gadgets inside..pening…oh yeah..if u wanna chg the tyres to bigger dimension, you need to notify mazda they'll redo the ECU for u again, or u'll have something like oversteer or something. But this is a nice car..cbu ..thats what i was told from sales man…the 1.6 model is around 111k i think..from mazda showroom shah alam

• Early adopter on Jul 20, 2009 at 9:21 pm

Hey Paul,

I am one of the many early owners of the new Mazda 3. I am referring to your comments on the engine and what I can say for my ride is that the engine is performing smoothly and reacts "adequately" when the pedal is floored.

Hope this helps to your questions. Additionally, just a little clarification on the leather seats. From my understanding, leather seats comes at an additional cost. At least that was what I was told during the launch at BTS and my dealer.

Overall, I do agree with some of the public's comment that it is slightly overpriced with a car of such size, but the key point is the overall driving experience. Again, I do want to start a controversy as people will tend to start comparing the facts and figures of other makes and etc, etc, etc….

No offend to anyone ya…!

• Early adopter on Jul 20, 2009 at 9:28 pm

And yes, I too am quite puzzled on the comparison between a M3 and Mazda 3….

Is he referring to a 2nd E36 M3 (based on Mazda 3 price range)??? If its true, that car is easily 6 – 8 years old (if my memory is serving me rite)…

Hmmmm………

• mohdjiman on Jul 20, 2009 at 9:31 pm

Nice!!

• xatomic on Jul 20, 2009 at 9:40 pm

The price list actually states there that it is optional to have leather seats for extra RM2,800…from what I heard, the basic version (2.0 and 1.6) both does not come with leather seats. Paul, can u get a written statement from Bermaz that says they come wt leather seats? Coz i sure gonna claim it frm them when i get the car….booked it on 2nd day of launch and still waiting til now :(

The red car that they displayed in BTS also have dual tone leather seats and it could be the same car here..

C mon if interior space is everything, must as well just get a MPV…do sporty cars ever come wt heaps of space? haha

• nabil on Jul 20, 2009 at 9:42 pm

i noticed the dashborad and the interior in general is quite plasticky…bt those who gotta hav brave decision! service is unkown , spare parts through the roof probably , non existant resale value…bt its sting different…sting like alfa romeos…buy with heart not mind~!

• buyer21 on Jul 20, 2009 at 9:52 pm

How's the pick up and mid range acceleration of this new 2.0 m3 compared to vios, city vtec, civic 1.8&2.0 ? anyone driven all the above? mind to share ur experience?

thanks!

• I supposed to test drive it today but has been postponed to another day.. this is one of my shortlisted nxt car (out of 4 cars – E46, c200 and civic 2.0 (new)) but after reading Paul's review, I am now have to really reconsider it.. (especially after find out that there's no COLOUR screen with GPS)… I've doing my own research on this car for quite sometimes and only now I know that Malaysian will only get specced-down version at more expensive price!..

But for me it's still a great car in it's class for it equipment and design..

Should I still consider it as my next car? perhaps if Bermaz can subsidize the interest (which currently at 3.5%) and give more goodies (like Ford does with 42" LCD tv).. then I'll consider..

I love it.. but not at RM131K..

• i'd just made a booking n cant wait to for the delivery!!

although it is more expensive than civic or lancer but the built-in accessories are worth every single penny… :)

• intermilan on Jul 20, 2009 at 10:21 pm

Nice to see more options in C-segment.

The 1.6 model is currently going for RM 111,017.50 OTR with insurance, while the 2.0 liter model is going for RM 131,537.90 OTR with insurance. Special introductory prices for the first 100 customers only.

Guess the normal price will be more expensive by about RM1.5~2.0K.

So, in term of price, the 1.6 mazda3 is comparable with 308 turbo and civic 1.8. Looking at the cars spec., it is quite difficult to choose the mazda. Except it might have a slightly bigger boot than the 308 turbo (which had a boot of 420L . Read – not small). Civic boot is larger at ~485L.

Specification wise, mazda3 1.6 fall far short from the 308 turbo. Almost all c-segment car (within the price bracket) did, so its not a big shame.

But in term of spec, it should compete with the 308 VTi (priced at RM96.5K otr). which is almost RM15K cheaper. which is a big different. which is a problem.

mazda 1.6 liter base model features a 103 horsepower with 144Nm of torque at 4,000rpm with 4-speed auto. VTi 120 horsepower with 160Nm of torque at 4,250rpm with 4-speed auto. emm..

And the 3 didn't have a few accesories such as rain sensor wipers, power folding mirrors, less 2 airbags, sliding arm rest (as an example) compared to the VTi. It does have the paddle shifter thou (rite?).

Difficult for the 3 to pick a fight with the Peugeot but mazda3 surely will have its own set of fans. At least it's looks good.

As for the 2.0 sport, well, its RM133K and at that price, it's pricier than civic or lancer 2.0. but then, the mazda3 is better specced, i think.

Worryingly, the price is quite similar to the Peugeot 407 premium, a D-segment car that is full of kits too.

• Ariff on Jul 20, 2009 at 10:33 pm

oh god,most of u talk abt this car's pros n cons,but it made me wanna have ths car more than ever!!please!!i need to know,which is better Mazda 3 2.0(definitely waiting for Hatch),Mazda 6 2.0 (+RM10k than the 3,and low equipment level) or Toyota Caldina GT4 (Recon,stop production,too big(?)).I'm in my teens and am quite chubby(or should i say,fat??).Please,all of u pros here!!if possible,i wanna knw if u've test driven any of the cars.

• Paul Tan on Jul 20, 2009 at 11:09 pm

@Shadoa exterior dimensions are not directly proportional to interior dimensions.

• ProTip on May 13, 2010 at 3:18 pm

You said it yourself, the paper specs of the Mazda3 interior are actually larger than the Civic. But when I was inside, it did feel smaller.

I suspect it has to do mainly with the dashboard of the Civic being sloping really gently away from you, whereas the Mazda3’s one is shorter (the windshield slopes at a steeper angle).

Also the seats on the Mazda3 seem to be smaller and more “bucket” like, possibly contributing to the feeling of it being small.

• scouser (Member) on Jul 20, 2009 at 11:30 pm

Ariff,

My recommendation. Go fo Mazda6 2.5. You'll never regret.

It has been 3 months owning it,. Enjoy it every second & real head-turner.

Paul, agreed with you Mazda's manual shifting is more proper. You dont need 2 hands to change gear.

• Ariff on Jul 20, 2009 at 11:42 pm

scouser : i knw 6 2.5 is great,but it's too expensive..

• Ariff on Jul 20, 2009 at 11:44 pm

scouser:i knw 2.5 is a damn gud car,but it's too expensive for a 1st car n for a teen.my budget is like RM140k +-.

• kesian rakyat on Jul 20, 2009 at 11:44 pm

Notice the pictures displayed :

on top (Red colour) = Malaysian version.

down below (Grey Colour) = Japanese version

See the difference:

Malaysian version = the smiley mouth upper lips had been repainted with same body colour to make it smaller and cuter too. Painted in Malaysia by Malaysian too or by the Japanese? Japanese manufacturer listening to Malaysian marketeer? If true, very goodlah…

Nice damn car. Malaysian need to work harder to earn this car. haha…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jul 21, 2009 at 12:29 am

It's worth the money. There are a lot of niceties in the car. Like the leather seats which is far superior to those cheap leather found in the Honda Accord or Toyota Camry. And…its a proper CBU from Japan. Not a sissy CBU from Siam.

• One man's meat is another man's poison.

That is why before you buy a car you test drive it. So if you like the car you are driving, you don't really care what your parents, your neighbour or your freinds say about your new ride. Because YOU are the one that is driving the car.

If your a mama's boy then you would most probably end up driving the car that your mama wants (or end up marrying the girl that your mama want). Heck, i might as well marry the woman that my mama hates so that i can annoy the hell out of her, eventhough knowing that she will be of high maintainance.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jul 21, 2009 at 12:40 am

its a very good car. worth thw money

• bmpower on Jul 21, 2009 at 1:22 am

I like most of the Mazda's design … except this one.

I hate the smiley look.

• sharif on Jul 21, 2009 at 1:30 am

Sometimes it's the things that you don't see that matters. Japan -CBU cars like Mazda, Camry, Accord come with ultra-high tensile steel for crash safety. Thailand CBU & Malaysia CKD tarak.

• tikus on Jul 21, 2009 at 1:37 am

Intermilan,

I totally agree with you.Why waste 10-20k for the car that lower spec.10-20k around 4-500 bucks per month installment.

• Jr. racer (Member) on Jul 21, 2009 at 1:40 am

lancer 2.0 gt far more better than this 1…

rear legroom quite small lah..

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 21, 2009 at 1:54 am

Saw one today on the road, which means there are poeple buying them. It does look good though. Much better in person than from pictures.

But at that price. Its going to be a hard sell. I am one of those few that actually prefers a hatch, so the 308 Turbo and Ford Focus Hatch is a much better preposition.

When you look at this, you'd wonder how naza does the 308 Turbo for that sort of price.

• bob the bencher on Jul 21, 2009 at 3:48 am

It looks really cool… i'm really considering buying 1

• meteoraniac on Jul 21, 2009 at 5:32 am

nice car .. but pretty sure its the wrong stategy to promote the Mazda brand in Malaysian market by pricing so much higher than the nearest competiton.. should have followed Naza's strategy on the Pugs each to their own i guess

• nice looks, nice interior, steep pricing.

yeah, this is a niche product. personally, i would go for peugeot 308 because it really destroyed the entire B- small C segment cars.

but hey, this car will be rare, and the person driving it will defintely know he is the rare few to own such a car.

• I still prefer 308…

since this car is made for people to have fun, the boot is not really important, so why not get a hatch? I still think hatches serve better in having fun…

• mb3300 on Jul 21, 2009 at 1:05 pm

I recently had a roadtrip with 2 other friends to penang with the new facelifted civic 2.0.

I have to say i was really impressed with its pickup power and acceleration and its capabilities cornering at 140 kmph with ease (without VSA), it also drove beautifully at 190-200kmph, ruling the road like a complete bully. Its HID lights are very bright and covers the view infront widely.

On the downside, I found the rear legroom to be rather uncomfy for me (178cm), and the paddle shifters to be very sluggish, my friend also had to fuel his tank 3 times. each at rm70. Well considering the car was driven at nothing less than 160kmph (average).

My question to others who have driven the civic 2.0 and mazda3 2.0….does the latter drive as beautifully as the civic 2.0?? Does it easily reach 180-200kmph smoothly? And when you step on the paddle (pick up)does it feel like you're being thrown back with its sheer power?

I really like the mazda3 2.0, rear legroom is least of my worries, its the perfect weekend car. With its feature filled luxury, I think its a bargain.

But Paul's comments on the engine was a true let down. Any chance for Paul to do it again? This time with a fault free unit?

My final question would be; When compared to the 2.0 Civic, does the Mazda3 2.0 has better road handling (chasis) as compared to the civic?

• mb3300 on Jul 21, 2009 at 1:17 pm

I also wished that the m3 2.0 came with a traction/stability control that can be switched off whenever prefered. I think this is the single most important factor that it doesnt have. WHY!!??!

Driven with the stability control abled maybe a bit tiring and boring over a long journey like the one i just took, with its switched off, its entirely a different experience. That is what Ive experienced with the new civic 2.0.

Id hate myself if I bought the civic instead of the m3.

What should i do?

• dUg0nGnesSss on Jul 21, 2009 at 4:28 pm

mb3300, my advice go to TEST DRIVE , every ppl have different BUTT-O-METER!!!

• keluangman on Jul 21, 2009 at 4:43 pm

just wanna say this,

those who intend to BUY Mazda 3 2.0 as their weekend car, do please test drive the Peugeot 308 Turbo first. You'll then know what I'm talking about. And then decide which car is more fun to drive(no practicality factor involved here)

One conclusion about this car, you'll hate how small the rear legroom is. Maybe this is due to Mazda wanting it to have big boot space.

• Look good with the repainted Bumper grill but not as great as the original Smiley face as preferred…. wondering why Bermaz repainted these. Look a few times more it look a bit like Sohai face father than Smiley…

• sharif on Jul 21, 2009 at 6:24 pm

I think what you mean is Stability Control. Traction Control is for controlling wheelspin. Anyway, it is not as critical as having ABS, EBD or BA.

If you have the opportunity, take the Mazda3 Sport for a drive around corners and see whether you can see the edge of the corner earlier than the C…, because you will. The pillar is not going to obstruct your vision like C…

Part of the problem wit testdrive units is that they are not properly run-in. It has a chip that learns the driving style of the owner, so naturall, when so many people testdrive the car, it will return to factory settings. Once you own the car and drive it regularly, it will drive according to your style,

I have a '07 Mazda6 2.0 and it was sluggish at first, but now… 220 is no problem. I believe they have the same engine. So, enjoy. This is when the journey is more interesting than the destination.

cheerios

• duorenz on Jul 21, 2009 at 8:05 pm

mb3300,

the m3 2.0 does not come with any stability control in the first place, hence your question with VSA switch ON/OFF is not applicable.

M3 only comes with standard ABS+EBD.

• Mazda 3 has just won the

Auto Asian Mag's Best Value For Money Executive Sedan

and

nominated for the world car of the year 2010 awards…

does that help u a little on that?

• Marvin on Jul 21, 2009 at 11:39 pm

I thought I saw photos with sunroof. Sorry, not able to drop by showroom yet.

Is it on both 1.6 and 2.0?

• just test drive it.. really below my expectation.. not as good as euro/us spec.. and the sale personsaid the leather seat is not included.

• mb3300 on Jul 22, 2009 at 2:54 am

Really? I can drive a test car for 180-200kmph? The SA would allow that? Even if he does, need an empty highway…I heard test drives are limited to a very short distance, a distance that wouldnt be feasible to drive at such speeds.

Whoever that has booked a M3 2.0, come lets be friends! Thats the only way I can evaluate this machine.

• mb3300 on Jul 22, 2009 at 2:55 am

MK, what kinda expectations did you have before test driving it? Mind expanding on that? Thanks

• mb3300 on Jul 22, 2009 at 3:03 am

duorenz, i know M3 doesnt come with a VSA, hence the "I wish".

• mb3300 on Jul 22, 2009 at 5:04 am

Marvin, the sunroof version isnt in malaysia. Im guessing to avoid having too many similarities with the M6 that may jeopardize its sales.

• Marvin on Jul 22, 2009 at 7:36 am

mb3300, thanks for the info.

i was kinda excited seeing the sunroof in photo.. would be great if sunroof is included

• if you want to be thrown back when you pedal to the metal in a car loaded with features in this price range check out the 308 turbo. test drived it, the feeling is exciting.

• Cross on Jul 22, 2009 at 9:03 am

i cant understand some people…legroom legroom headroom this room bedroom…just because u can swing ur legs madly in the back seat it still doesn't mean its comfortable…the myvi gives u goooood legroom…but much shorter seats n a very upright seating position…i sat in the back of a Latio once and yes yes u can have all that legroom but it was so uncomfortable, i found my legs ON the seats most of the time…there is no point in having legroom if its not comfortable n supportive..in the mazda i fell asleep…with my legs on the floor…where its supposed to be…n i wasnt wiggling or slouching…malaysians r such fools at times when it comes to cars…

and resale value…does it make sense to have such great resale value that after 2 or 3 years, ur car value is not far from the current brand new price?

sounds great dont it? but who in the lovely name of god is gonna buy a 2nd hand car when they can have a new one for mayb 50 bucks extra each month…think msians! if u want resale value….pls take the bus n buy a house instead…

n msians r like mat rempits…SAFETY IN NUMBERS LA KONON! so wat if everyone owns a Toyota or Honda…does it make it a good car just cos ur neighbours got one? even if it was assembled by rempits in melaka? if u wanna buy a JAPANESE car then buy one thats from JAPAN! or else let me intro u to my friend that deals wit PROTON…if u r gonna buy a car, buy it cos the CAR itself is good and it was built wit quality in mind…not hitting a 100k units sold like toyota did in 2008…which then killed the market and hence affecting all of us…u Toyota sales ppl should knw wat im talking bout…

another thing is that if u pay peanuts u seriously get monkeys…n u think the cost of maintaining a T or H is cheap? go check properly n compare la…dont listen to rumours n ur neighbor whom only drives the car to work n back..spare parts? if ur dumb enough to buy a car due to safety in numbers then ur dumb enough to not knw how to source for cheaper parts…which in the end makes u more of an idiot…

a car is not only meant as a means of transport…cos a lot of ppl moan n groan about driving…if thats the case why in the heavenly tuhans name own a car…go take lrt…or the bus…or a cab…better still…complaining bout fuel price? n kedekut? WALK!

my conclusion…a proper car is one thats from the country of origin…not manufactured locally just to save cost…a car is not somethin to get u from A to B…its an extension of the driver…a car needs to be built out of passion and have a soul….it should excite u when u get near it…it should form a bond..its not a social symbol..but it is an embodiment of ur personality…

btw….if the moderator is taking this off, its fine….i speak my mind as any of u would…so if this is still a FREE country i hope all of u get to read this

Ps – im malaysian too.

• Paul Tan on Jul 22, 2009 at 9:55 am

I think some Mazda fans here fail to see that my verdict on the car was actually good, just that perhaps you could say I'm unlucky to require more interior space. If you don't, it's a great choice.

• mb3300 on Jul 22, 2009 at 10:22 am

Marvin, no problem, I thought the same when the first official pictures came out, it was too good to believe! Then, reality hit me hard.

J, I know the 308 turbo is a fine car, but I dislike its protruding backside and the interior looks dull, they even have 6 slots for the cds, not 1 slots that fits 6 cds, but 6 independent slots, now whats that about?? Lol…and Nasim's after sales, well Im a bit skeptic bout that. But the moonroof is very cool, but how effective is it for the hotter than hell climate we have ?

Cross, bit too emotional there, but I totally agree with each and every thing you ranted about. Malaysians, generally arent risk takers, can you blame them? Look at the other aspects of the country, haiz…okay I should go drifting away from the topic now.

I guess what Paul is trying to say is that, he is a big boy, hence, the space issues arised. But Paul what I was really looking forward to hearing from here was the power of the engine (accelaration, pickup, etc) Its rather tragic that you had to be given a problematic unit?

Anyways…bout the legroom. So I sat in the back of a civic, it wasnt comfy at all depsite the legroom (prolly like 3cm more), for tall people, you are bound to place your legs on the seat infront, for that extra comfort. I went a step further by streching my legs on the seat from one end to another, only then I felt somewhat comfy that I almost dozed. Now is that what we call by legroom? Think again. No one can really sit at the back seat of a car and not feel uncomfy, cus your legs need to be stretched every now and then. I dont think any car despite of its legroom can offer you this comfort, without placing your legs over the seat infront or stretching your legs diagonally on the seat (provided theres no one else behind), this is just not possible.

Maybe a limousine can fulfull this, or even a spacious 7/5 seater suv.

• vinkws on Jul 22, 2009 at 1:44 pm

Agree with Earely Adopter.

Each and every individual got their own preferences. And this article is solely about this mazda 3, so perhaps should have more focus on what this car good at and lack off, right guys?

Used to drove a 2003 pug 206cc. Great car.

Booked mine for m3 1.6 as well in june;one of the first 100 and still waiting for the car. Love the car despite less power.

• xatomic on Jul 22, 2009 at 1:48 pm

Bugz, which branch/dealer? I oso want the smiley look maintained and dont want the grille to be painted haha

• "mb3300 said,

July 21, 2009 @

MK, what kinda expectations did you have before test driving it? Mind expanding on that? Thanks"

mb3300,

my xpectation is the multiinfo display is in full colour and with integrated GPS, and also the plastic (at the door and dashboard) they use looks better – not like al cheapo that almost similar like in proton.. eventhough it's just small matter for others, at 133K it's slightly on higher side – I would straight away booking if the price is around RM123K like lancer.

The rest is ok for me.. i pushed the car easily up to 140kmh at duke and elevated hway but due to safety I slowed down. The handling is good as what I expected based on the online review and in my opinion better than civic. pedal shifter with both side can up n down is great… but again.. at RM133K, i would rather wait for Bermaz to reduce(subsidize) the interest or give some other goodies that worth at least 5K.

• wallstreet on Jul 22, 2009 at 2:58 pm

2008 World Car of the Year – Mazda 2

2009 World Car of the Year Top Ten – Mazda 6

2010 World Car of the Year Nominee – Mazda 3

Does this tells us how Mazda improve over the years? Move aside Honda and Toyota….Malaysians, please change your mindset and stop the herd mentality of sticking only to Honda and Toyota.

• Better buy Peugeot 407, handling more fun

• Early adopter on Jul 22, 2009 at 4:13 pm

Well, one thing that sums all this up is, not one car can satisfy every individual's appetite. It all boils back down to your priority and passion…if a pug 308 may satisfy all your essential criteria in a car, happy for you. Go get one. The same applies for those who digs the Mazda 3.

Conclusion, enuff of the constant debate la ppl…..just deliberate on the sole aspect of Mazda 3 itself as this article is focussed solely on this ride. Agree Paul?

• Booked the m3 in June. Was one of the first 100. Still waiting for the car. Sales guy said early august.

Anyway, i asked if they could leave the front grille unpainted so that it would maintain the smiley face and they said that it CAN be done!

• Early adopter on Jul 22, 2009 at 6:54 pm

Hey Bugz…glad to hear that you'll be getting your ride real soon. On the front grille to be left unpainted, you sure that can be done? When I got my ride last month, they advised no can do la….apparently al M'sia M3 grille had been sprayed beforehand to match the car's body colour…

Unless your dealer is taking the extra effort to spray it back to black for you…otherwise, I'm kinda sceptical on this…but just my 2 cents. I could be wrong :)

• AFAIK the 2010 Mazda3 will be sourced from the Philippines and they will start manufacturing units for export in SEA markets like Malaysia,Singapore,Thailand and Indonesia by at the end of the year..

• sharif on Jul 23, 2009 at 8:37 pm

Dear Ikus, Buy a Peugeot 407? Please! I owned one for 2 years and had so many headaches. 3rd month the CD player kaput, 11th month change gearbox, 18th month the engine belt tensioner (metal) broke, every week ESP/ASR not functioning. 4 times the car stalled in the middle of the road! If you don't make the workshop manager your best friend, chances are you will get the car repaired or serviced late or next week. I serviced the car religiously without fail and the car failed me, many times. Couldn't tahan so I sold off the car. Glad I did.

Handling? There is no way the 407 can corner better than the Mazda6. Took the 407 around a few corners and it just resisted. Better than the generic jap cars yes, but not the Mazda6, nor the Mazda3 .Normal driving is ok but spirited driving, it will not perform. Ask ex-peugeot owners why they sold off their cars and you will probably get a similar answer.

• Steven on Jul 24, 2009 at 6:23 am

I drove one 2.0L when my car was due for services + checkup here in australia. over 5 days, the car clocked at 10.5l/ km for highway and city combined consumption, which is alarmingly high. My GH 2.5L has the same amount of fuel consumption as the 09 mazda 3. Mazda 3 is well known for its poor fuel consumption in the past, its engine is voted one of the worst engine in the world, not sure if mazda fixed this up with the new m3.

• Early adopter on Jul 24, 2009 at 4:58 pm

Steven…I beg of you to defer your statement. Where did you find a press statement that states previous Mazda 3 "..its engine is voted one of the worst engine in the world.."???

I am not being overly defensive, rather it irritates me when people blow things out of proportion. On the fuel consumption, believe this is a very subjective subject as there are way too many factors that may dictate the numbers. And if fuel consumption is such a big concern, get a smaller cc manual ride..Common', what do you expect from a 2.0 auto sedan?? Super fuel savings?? I wish, but reality has it that these are not uncommon traits on vehichle of such attributes.

• wallstreet on Jul 24, 2009 at 6:25 pm

Steven said,

July 23, 2009 @ 10:23 pm

I drove one 2.0L when my car was due for services + checkup here in australia. over 5 days, the car clocked at 10.5l/ km for highway and city combined consumption, which is alarmingly high. My GH 2.5L has the same amount of fuel consumption as the 09 mazda 3. Mazda 3 is well known for its poor fuel consumption in the past, its engine is voted one of the worst engine in the world, not sure if mazda fixed this up with the new m3.

Thats 10.5l/100km….which car need 10.5l/km????Gila kah? and fuel consumption is very subjective depending on how you drive and where you drive it…and also new car will have higher fuel consumption until at least 5000km.

Is there such a thing as 'voted worst engine in the world'??? Care to show us where you read this? Then why did you buy it when you see this?

• mb3300 on Jul 24, 2009 at 8:36 pm

Lol, good one wallstreet.

• Early adopter on Jul 24, 2009 at 9:10 pm

Oh, good catch..didn't notice the 10.5l/km…despite the typo, general 2.0 cc (auto) mid-size sedan variants in Malaysia are almost on par if not less….

• Sexythang on Jul 27, 2009 at 1:01 am

good car. but brings nothing new to the table apart from a bigger smile. good car and it will sell well. but the mazda 6 lowest spec is too tantilizingly close as well as an accord euro.

for msia i think they should price it the same as the lancer GT. that would guarantee good sales. esp if your are in the 110-130k rm bracket. i must say the 308 turbo is a steal at that price in msia.

• how about Mazda 6 Speed . . .

wish to hear about it more.

• I bought an M3 two months ago, with

almost the same plate no. like the one shown above..

BUT, I bought the old version of M3 instead of the new one..

The new one might have everything and is much

better than the old one, however the smile especially

when it is painted (the smiley bar in the front bumper)

turns me off, so I just bought the old one..

If I were to compared M3 to Civic or Lancer,

I'd say Civic is a comfortable, passanger car and

Lancer only have the look, as it isn't very much a good driving car..

At first, M3 really can't be drove fast..

But now it is way better and rev greater than I expected..

The price is reasonable for me, so I would say

for anyone who is interested in getting an M3

or 'Sporty-Sedan' just go for it..

Honestly, M3 stands out in the crowd..! =P

• mb3300 on Jul 28, 2009 at 5:47 am

CKS, with all the issues the local car buyers has on Mazda, MazdaSpeed will never see the dawn in Malaysia. Lets start supporting the current models, in time, more models could be brought in by Bermaz.

Scud, congrats on your ride. Even the old M3 looks stunning. Mazda age slowly and gracefully.

As for the speed, its only a matter of time once the engine gets used to all the revs, it will get accustomed to your driving style.

• mb3300 on Jul 28, 2009 at 8:13 am

Scud, which M3 is yours? The 1.6 or the 2.0? Could you provide a comprehensive review on your ride & comfort ? Thanks.

• sharif on Jul 29, 2009 at 1:13 am

I heard that Bermaz is bringing in the CX-7 soon. If I am not mistaken, this is the same engine on the Mazdaspeed3. If this engine has been approved for Malaysia, then maybe, Bermaz can also bring in the Mazda3 Sport later. Really hope they do. Need to see more Mazda muscle cars on the road.

• sharif on Jul 29, 2009 at 5:54 pm

Sorry, typo, If this is the same engine as Mazda3 MPS, then maybe Bermaz can bring in the Mazda3 MPS later. Let's hope we Malaysians get to see what it can really do.

• Early adopter- What car u curretnly driving?

Cross – What car u curretnly driving?

• Hi again!

I bought the 1.6 sedan, most probably because of the worth

buying price and 2.0 for me is the same if the car is same..

[The part in the front bumper (silver-plated) looks nicer in my white M3]

And, that is right about the revving..

This ride is quite comfortable, but it's more

to a driver's car and it handles better than

most cars does..

After driving this car for two months, I feel

'less confident' when driving other cars

especially when it comes to sharp corners..

Honestly, this ride is my first Automatic ride..

Feels slower than normal Manual local cars that I've driven..

But actually it is fast enough in the 'real world'..

Most likely because I've tested an RX-8 before this,

and it is fast and responsive [M3 has this ability as well^^]

but due to my young age the bank did not approve

my purchase, also because of some stupid problem

I've encountered with my previous dealer..

So, voila, I've selected Mazda 3 from BerMaz instead..

It's weird for me though..

I thought that driving the Manual can be faster

and rev easier, but I was totally wrong!

The Automatic transmission supplied is WAY, WAY~

better than I can possibly imagine..

It is so intelligent and revs like nobody's business..

If you are a heavy-footer, the second gear can rev up

to 6-7krpm [I guess you'll let it gear up at this point]

and the speed already reach around 60-70kmph..

Then the third gear can reach 100kmph fast,

maybe within 10-15secs if I'm not mistaken..

Trust me, if you love driving, this is really a fun ride..

Like mb3300 said, let time shows how this car works..

• Oh ya, also the CX-7 is coming to Malaysia for real..

But they'll tune the engine before coming in

due to some fuel problem here in our country..

If they use the unmodified engine and uses our fuel

to runs it, the engine might be damaged..

Something's wrong with our fuel maybe?

I wasn't quite sure about the technical problem though..

But ya, the CX-7 is coming soon..

Regards,

Scud

• mb3300 on Aug 01, 2009 at 5:15 pm

Hey Scud thanks for the review…if that is how you feel on the 1.6, then for 2.0 sure no problem eh? Now you made me want this car even more!

The older version is still a beauty, definitely a head turner.

The bank did not approve your purchase due to young age? haha..how young are you Scud? RX8, I keep seeing this car more and more these days, too bad its way beyond my budget :(

• Ya, RX-8 seems to be more than M3 huh?

I'm 20.. *peace*

RX-8 is a riskier choice, so overall M3

is really a no regret choice..

Head turn is decent, especially it's a white..

Will see if I could get the facelift RX-8 in a year or so..

It is way safer, and I prefer to let BerMaz service..

They are very nice and treat customer darn good..!

mb3300, do get one soon..!

2.0 is of course better, or get the new

facelift version isn't bad too, right?

Congratulating you in advance!

• cottoncandy on Aug 03, 2009 at 12:36 am

the looks that kill

• demio121 on Aug 03, 2009 at 8:48 pm

sur ete Focus 2.0 and Mazda3 2.0 is the same engine?

• mb3300 on Aug 04, 2009 at 7:56 am

Hey Scud, thanks for the wishes. Youre sure to know once I have booked it :)

Demio121, Focus and Mazda 3 shares the same chasis, but I cant really say about the engine. Highly doubt if its the same, as both the engines received different set of reviews.

• Early adopter on Aug 04, 2009 at 8:37 pm

In response to kuku_nan, I'm driving the new M3 2.0

• mb3300 on Aug 05, 2009 at 8:38 pm

already? I thought it takes 4 months to get the new m3 2.0? the shipment has already arrived?

• Early adopter on Aug 06, 2009 at 1:08 am

Yup, got it end June. Been a month plus now. Haven't you seen one in the road? Believe there are already a few after me that has gotten the car…

• Early adopter on Aug 06, 2009 at 1:09 am

Yup, got mine end june. A few others also had gotten theirs not long after me…

• mb3300 on Aug 06, 2009 at 8:02 am

Really? havent seen a single one on the road yet….which color is yours?

You know since you have the car for more then a month, i think its high time for a full fleged review on your ride :) what say you?…nothing like a review from the owner.

Will be looking forward for it and im sure ill be the only one here…

• mb3300 on Aug 06, 2009 at 10:30 am

Will be looking forward for it and im sure IM NOT the only one here…*

• xatomic on Aug 08, 2009 at 1:43 am

Just got mine as well..2.0 pearl white.. loving every minute of it :)

• mb3300 on Aug 08, 2009 at 2:38 am

reviews guys…REVIEWS….

• quite a looker, but cost a lotta money..

• Thomas on Aug 12, 2009 at 6:00 am

The 2.0 i-stop engine in new M3 is definitely not the same as in the Focus or previous M3. Althought the bore and stroke looks similar, and paper performace parametres – like power and torque – promisses better performance in new M3, the truth is, that it is not true :). New M3 has 2.0 DISI engine, which is totally remade compared to the last generation. It has worse acceleration time from 0-62 mph (10.4 s, the last gen had 9.5-8 s… as i remember well). It is becasuse the fuel consumption – which is better now, and emissions, which are also lower. Next thing – the electronic controlled throttle body – pedal = result is the lack of power when needed. That is the truth. I drove it, and it is terrible. Acceleration is very poor and compared to 1.6 90kW Toyota Corolla it feels quite the same and that is shame for Mazda. Mitsubishi Lancer with 1.8 Mivec engine also accelerate better compared to this piece of s..t. And BTW engine must be rough, because it utilises DISI, which was not present in the last generation.Direct injection must be rough in principle – just like FSI – the same. So i am not suprised.

• Jopin on Aug 14, 2009 at 9:26 pm

Why are Msian paying so high price for sh…t as per Thomas comments. Are we becoming filthy rich till we are out of our mind?

• To me, the new M3 has better outlook than the old one..

I've saw a few new M3 on the road now..

Although, the old one hasn't lost its appeal.. =P

But as Thomas said, ya, maybe the performance

was not as good as the old M3 which I'm driving..

About fuel consumption, the old one is much better than

I thought though, as if you must control yourself not to

step all the way down when driving in fully Automatic mode..

Using the Manual shifter is always the best way to save fuel..

And, the old one does look sportier than the new one too..

While the new one is more to a family-normal-sedan looking ride..

Anyway, M3 is still great no matter if it's the old one or new..

The price might be a little costlier, but this ride is one of a kind..

Peace!

• "sur ete Focus 2.0 and Mazda3 2.0 is the same engine?"

@demio121

They share the same engine block.

"Unlike the Focus which has the same powertrain, the Mazda 3’s transmission has 5 gears instead of 4 allowing for a bit more flexibility in choosing just the right gear to be in when you attack a corner, as there more ratios within a specific range."

Ford is developing a new 6-speed "Powershift" dual-clutch transmission for its petrol/gasoline models.

Currently Ford's Powershift can be found in the diesel 2.0 TDCi Focus models (not sold in Malaysia).

• sharif on Aug 20, 2009 at 1:52 am

Dear Thomas, the only reasion why the new M3 cannot compare to your previous one is because it has not been properly run-in. Let's be fair, a brand new car with less than 5000 km on the clock cannot compare with one that has clocked 20,000 – 50,000 km. I'm sure you know this

The Mazda3 Sport has won 2 major awards in Malaysia, and has been voted by professionals including Fairuz Fauzy himself.It is a competent car unless you think

Dear Jolpin, If you compare the difference between CKD quality and CBU Japan quality and you fully understand the difference, you will say that the local assemblers are overcharging you. Just look at their annual report and see how much money they make. It is actually the people's money. They get IAF grants from the government and still charge almost as high as CBU cars. That's because they keep the money given by the government. Do the math and you will see.

• Goodness. that's a pricey car man!

it's a shame they price it so close to a camry

• encikiz on Aug 21, 2009 at 6:15 am

Planned to reward myself for the past 2 hardworking years by pampering myself with a new ride. Wanna go for 308 but the back was a complete turn off to me.

So told myself to have a look at Lancer 2.0. Looks great with new facelift, but need to add around 1k+ from the previous version. But got myself a bit angry cause they don't give 3 years maintenance free anymore. Probably it was sold like hot cakes before. Can't testdrive cause testdrive unit was not at the place at that time. So when i'm inside, the door handle feels like a Waja, pedalshift doesn't follow the steering when u turn the wheel, although it got lots of space inside (i'm a small guy). To me exterior was mascular, engine was a stunner, but interior was so so.

After went out, hit my GPS to nearest Mazda dealer to hav a look at new Mazda 3. Salesman was friendly n can speak malay nicely. Straight went inside M3 2.0. M3 starts to impress me. Sleek dashboard designs with 4 buttons of pedalshift (up/down on left n right) – and it was planted to ur steering, so when u r cornering, u wont struggle if u want to drop gear, n convenient if u wanna drive single handedly (which by the way lancer can't) It has convenient auto cruise. Auto wiper w rain sensor, and AUTO DIMM rear mirror when someone high beamed u. Well, that was perfect!!! Plus there are tons of buttons and dials to push!!! so for a PC guy like me, that's adorable!!

I felt so comfort inside.with slide able armrest for driver, it is so great when driving singlehandedly for fun during evening weekends.

So i totally agree with with Paul, its really a niche product which really full fill my satisfaction. Next day, i test drive the car (didn't drive that fast, but i know the car can run) & straight away pay my booking.

Truly recommended!!

It's only been 2 weeks and my car already arrived at the Port Klang. Thanks to my salesman, he's been able to hijack one for me LOL. but can't get my favourite white color. But what the heck, red looks cool too, and i hope i can go balik raya with it!!

• Early Adopter on Aug 23, 2009 at 2:06 am

Glad to see that few of us still appreciates the car and enjoying the journey every second :)

So far my new M3 2.0 has clocked around 4k in mileage. Drive experience is getting better as you start to familiarize yourself with the dynamics of the car and have greater confidence level in addressing sharp corners at mid to high speed. Exterior wise, still very much a looker as still gaining strong attention for by-standers. On the performance aspect, I will try to reserve as much of this to myself coz seen in one to many forums that criticize its performance. I will however, just comment that this is not suppose to be a high performance car and as such, lets be fair in our remarks la….for a 2.0 cc auto transmission, I would say that the "push" is more than adequate. Of course it loses out to some other models, but it also outbeat some other models in different aspect.

For example, I just read the latest Autocar magazine and a comparison was made between M3 and Impul tuned Slyphy. To keep it short, M3 won! Not only that, M3 recently won an award "CIMB Preferred & Getacar @ Best Junior Sports Saloon for 2009". So, you be the judge :)

• mb3300 on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:00 am

Early Adopter

Tell me if the New m3 2.0 is any better if not comparable to the civic 2.0? I just need this to be answered. I only want to know on the performance side. The rest I know who the winner is.

• ZoomBro on Aug 25, 2009 at 1:24 am

mb3300,

The best person to know that will be you. Go test drive both cars and you will have your answer.

• Early Adopter on Aug 26, 2009 at 4:51 am

Hey mb330…performance wise, on paper civic wins. On the road, one M3 member told me he out beat a civic 2.0. He further advice that the trick to it is to play around with the paddle shifter. Unsure on this claim as I have not tested it before, but must say the downshift works excellent.

I was like you previously, caught in between…however you must balance your priority and expectations appropriately. Good performance, but lack of uniqueness and equipment list – civic. Lack in performance, buy stands out in the crowd and comprehensive list of equipments – M3.

That being said, I wish to make it clear that both car have strong points and its fans. The above are purely my personal opinion and may not jive with the rest. As ZoomBro said, test drive both cars, visit some of the local prominent club forum (e.g. www.mymazdaclub.com) and see what some of the owners feels.

Enjoy da' journey dude!

• DeVil on Aug 28, 2009 at 5:25 am

I think the best way to prove that M3 Sport is a class in it's category is to test the vehicle for yourself. Do you wanna drive an outstanding car like the M3 which people will stop to admire or drive a common car in it's category which people won't even take a 2nd glance unless you modify like a Bengster??

Well guys, i think many for us know what are we after??For the price difference of just a mere few thousands, one can get to drive a fully CBU. Do your reading, Japanese Made Products are one of the most trusted and least incidents products.

I've test driven the M3 hundreds of times and i dare to say that it's the Best in it's category.

• Early Adopter on Aug 28, 2009 at 6:28 am

Haha DeVil….i thinks is a little over exaggerated when you say you have driven hundred of times (unless you already own one)…but I must agree on some of the points you have shared. Good to know M3 has so many fans despite the lack of brand popularity in our market.

• DeVil on Aug 28, 2009 at 9:23 pm

Well!!

I'm from Bermaz so test driving the car is part of our job..

I also welcome u guys over to test drive it for yourself.

Feel the zoom zoom spirit in our cars!

• mb3300 on Aug 29, 2009 at 3:07 am

Zoombro and Early

Thank you, Im just trying to find time for my test drive. Will do so soon.

• Early Adopter on Aug 29, 2009 at 3:59 am

Already own one DeVil :) thanks for the invitation…

Yes, mb3300…go test one soon and let us know your your view and experience ya!

• DeVil on Aug 30, 2009 at 6:01 am

Early Adopter

U really make a good choice and hope ur baby will give u non stop fun!

Enjoy the car and i will be here to assist u guys and update u on any new launches and promos.

See ya

• Early Adopter on Aug 30, 2009 at 4:51 pm

Which centre are you based in DeVil and do you join any forum? Easier to chat there, otherwise Paul may ban us ….kekeke….

• DeVil on Sep 01, 2009 at 5:32 am

Early Adopter

I'm from Bermaz PJ.

U can join me at LYN.

My nick: delvin

• encikiz on Sep 03, 2009 at 10:59 am

DeVil,

got a question, i'm curious, is it true that the max speed for m3 sport 2.0is only 183km/h? is there any top speed cutoff? if there is, can i turn off the speed limiter? will it kacau my warranty?

Coz civic 2.0 can do 210km/h while lancer 200km/h.It'll be a major frustration if the m3 can only run at 183.

I'm asking u coz havent got my car yet. need to wait next week n i can't ask my SA. He doesn't really know about this car that well…sigh…

• DeVil on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:39 pm

encikiz

Actually we have the max speed for most Mazda Cars (local specs) top at 183Km/H! Models like M3 2.0L, M6, MX5, CX9.

But to be honest, these cars can go way above them depending on the driver and road condition. There's no cut off or limiter. We usually tell our customer that the top speed is 180+Km/H but when they test drive or purchase the car.

They feel satisfied when they hitting above the top speed.

I mean it's part of marketing gimmick and psychologically customers will have faith and trust in our vehicles because the car perform well above it's limit and expectation.

So no worries bro and don't do any modifications to your car engine as it will void the warranty. If there's a really a need, pls advise the SC or you can email me at [email protected] if you need more info. TQ

• ervin on Sep 05, 2009 at 9:35 pm

interior looks nice n sporty…but front looks weird…rear looks=baby mazda6 that all…if u r going to buy sylphy can consider this…but to me i still prefer altis(elegance) or civic(sporty)…

• Early Adopter on Sep 06, 2009 at 5:32 am

I can testify that M3 can definitely surpass the 183km/h (i own one)…based on some of the latest magazines (e.g. Autocar), it was mentioned that M3 top end can reach up to a max of 205 km/h.

Hope this info helps!

• DeVil on Sep 06, 2009 at 10:27 am

encikiz

may i know which dealer you got your car from??

• encikiz on Sep 10, 2009 at 7:56 am

DeVil

mine from Persada Auto@Dataran Sunway. Kinda upset. Alignment a bit lari. Hope they can do it for free when doing 1st service. If not…emmmhh sure will curse my SA. LOL

• padahmenar on Sep 11, 2009 at 6:37 pm

Rupa mcm gen 2 jer.. Gen 2 lagi bsar space blakang dia kot. Tapi memang nampak lbeh stylo and menampakkan kekayaan pemandunya… Gen 2 ke Mazda3 ker, janji hati puas.. Duit sendri bukan duit mak bapak korang lagi puas ati… Asal mampu, rembat dulu, nanti dah tue mampu tapi tak sesuai pulok.. hehehe… Kalau dah tak mampu tu, viva pon ok. Asal tak kena hujan n besesak naik public transport… Janji chat, hepi dan duit masyuk… hehe..

• Hi everyone,

I'd paid a booking deposit (RM3000) for a Mazda 3 2.0L (alunimium metallic colour) in the beginning of July and i got a job offer to work in Singapore lastweek.

Apparently the dealer said the deposit is refundable but i found out that it stated in the order form's terms & conditions that booking deposit paid by the customer shall be irrevocably forfeited by the company in the event of cancellation

anyway, it was my fault for not reading the terms carefully..

so for those who is interested in getting a new Mazda 3 2.0L (aluminium metallic colour) please contact me so that u can get the car faster and i can get back my deposit as well..

my contact is 012 277 3787

• KillLook on Sep 11, 2009 at 7:37 pm

Test drive the focus 2.0 and older version M3 2.0… M3 2.0 . it was so quite that you hardly hear the engine is turning on in M3. And quality wise, I believe M3 2.0 edge over focus. But when driving dynamic and fun.. focus win easily. Performance wise.. both are comparable.

• raszmatazz on Sep 15, 2009 at 12:02 am

been driving mazda3 1.6 for about 3 mths. proud to be the first 100 owners in malaysia and the only M3 on the terengganu's road so far..hihi. i love the sound of d engine wen i put a hard feet on the paddle. it's like WOW! n people will alwiz stare at ur car (ofkos they'll see who's the driver too..dont worry..haha). so far, it never disappointing me. still looking to change to 17/18" rims. but they told me it might reduce the performance if it's too heavy. adoi..

• If I am not wrong, changing the size may affect the ABS as well. But I’m not 100% sure…

• antsng on Sep 21, 2009 at 7:58 am

Got a M5 for 2 years, and I will say that "I still Loving it"….

Everytime i turn on the ignition, damn! doesnt it sound nice !!!

Got no major problem, just some minor, which being fix by SC in 3 hours due to some loose part. Those who think of buying a Mazda, just get it, no regret !!! Last time i was comparing M5 vs Wish vs Stream. But MAZDA is

Just like Bimmer, u will get "Sheer Driving Pleasure".

Why u should get it (M3 2.0)

– Price: Best in class in term of Spec against price.

– Design Ext : 2nd to none

– Design Int : Top 3

– Performance : Try it, u will know (dont look 2 much on paper data)

– NHV : Top 3

– Maintenance : Cheap !!! 10k to service. Fully sin. oil+filter+labour = RM250

Ur are thinking bout:-

– Resale value :-

Come on, u will love driving it for years!! After 5-6 years, all brand will not have big gap different. Buy gold if u care bout resale value so much.

– Gas :-

my M5 (MPV-1500kg) average 8km/liter (100% town). Ya, i know its not good but i really feel its POWER. T&H would have 10/L, so what, its does not make up to hundred of ringgit in different a month !! My M5 uses old engine (no SVT). new M3 got SVT (VVTI), should be better. Somemore, now got 5 speed.

Owning a car these days are for pleasure and self satisfaction, something that u want. U trade ur hard labour to find money, use the money to get something u want and desire. U own the car, u a MAZDA, u are not buying a TRANSPORTATION !!!

• nightdevil on Sep 21, 2009 at 8:37 am

Hi,

Does anyone know if we change the sports rims to a bigger rims will it void the warranty for new M3?

• DeVil on Sep 21, 2009 at 12:55 pm

nightdevil

Preferably not as it will disturb the safety features of the car, DSC, ABS and others

• nice car..compared to civic 2.0, i'll go for this car..but i owned lancer GT 2.0 now.. cheaper and fit the purposed.

• Hmmm, seems like no one in Malaysia is interested in this car. I've been driving the Mazda3 sports 1.6 for the past two months, and I must say it's one of the best cars I've ever driven. Cuts corners like it's on rails! Looks good too, as I opted for the aluminum silver, which shows off its many sexy curves. So many people stare when I fill up at petrol stations.

So far I have only seen less than a half dozen Mazda3 in town, which means I'm still being unique! I was initially very keen on the Civic 1.8 but after seeing EIGHT Civics parked along a single road one night, (Old and new vers looks the same to me) I decided I didn't want to be just another number! Vios? You wanna drive a Bangkok cab? Actually they're now using Altis for cabs in the land of smiles!!

• pennstater on Oct 28, 2009 at 3:55 am

this might be my new car

• xavier lert on Nov 03, 2009 at 12:44 am

205 only? thats slow…FYI the only big problem wit civic FD2 is the soundproofing…. others …

hmmm…fuel consumption really depends on how u drive…

i had one time travel from KL to kota baru (klate)..wit 4 pax and never refueled….still i got 5 bar left….but theres one time from KB to KL im alone…and i had to refuel at raub…but i hit the gas quite hard (KB – KL less 4hrs….)

• owner to be on Nov 14, 2009 at 10:08 pm

Can't wait to own one… Still in waiting list.. LOVE MAZDA3!!!!!

• owner to be on Nov 14, 2009 at 10:10 pm

And it selling like hot cake in Miri… Last week, 2 Owners olady received their Mazda3

• sekseku on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:22 am

How is spare part and maintenance $$after warranty? I believe very susah to get 2nd thing after 2011. any good workshop that can recommend??

• Early adopter on Nov 25, 2009 at 3:04 am

too early to say on the spare parts dude….its still a brand new model, hence no one can make an estimation

• KCivic on Nov 28, 2009 at 10:18 pm

Aiyo, so many people talk talk about Mazda 3, compare to Toyota la and Honda also get involved. Aiya, those who prefer different brands, ok what, show variety on the road ma, I am enjoying my Civic 2.0 everyday. I am sure those who opt for Mazda, no wrong in that, it will still give you the same amount of pleasure, just like drinking red wine, different specs give you different pleasure. How fast 2.0 litres should go and all, although the car's max speed varies, I agree with some of your comments that it really depends on the road conditions. I drive up North about once a month from PJ and please tell me which strecth of NKVE can allow you to max your speed to above 200km/hr ler. Unless maybe you drive early in the morning when lesser cars are on the highway, but to top above 200km /hr is dangerous because the morning sun is not out yet and is dark and a little scary lar. If you drive during normal hours, its rather difficult to fly your car, to such speed because sometimes, you get drivers going at 80km/hr on the right lane thinking the right lane is named after them, how to go fast. Most importantly safety comes first, go slower is ok. Average speed of 150km to 160km / hr is fast enough for me althought I have done 185 km/hr on the Civic 2.0 but then I felt it floated and my steering became very light. Spoke to some Integra fans who suggested to me to put a spoiler, my car is normal without spoiler, because he said the spoiler will keep the slipstream in check and stabilize the behind. I may want to try to hit 200km/hr but then again, i will be thinking and wondering of safety. Its good to know that our cars can do that. Not sure whether wrong to post this here although everyone is talking about MAzda. I guess its ok. cheers :)

• Early adopter on Dec 01, 2009 at 1:34 am

it's an open discussion, hence no harm in your comments mate!

• Head Hunter on Dec 08, 2009 at 12:23 am

Got my Mazda 3 2.0 3 weeks ago and it has been working fine. Pick up is good and it's definitely a head turner even from my friends (who are richer) and driving Accord, Mercedes & others. Not a real car person so all the technical jargons are lost on me. :) Was considering Lancer 2.0, Accord 2.0 and Camry 2.0 before settling for the smaller Mazda 3 2.0. It's such a beauty and it's definitely love on first sight. Been getting a lot of jeers from some friends (surprisingly those driving 'lesser' cars) of not getting either Toyota or Honda but I really have no regrets…

• mazda 3 was touted as a car that was meant to compare with the continental cars of the same class whereas the t and h didnt have any in that category.Now comes along the korean cars hot on the heels along the same road.correct me if i m wrong but none of the t and h in the same class has the same ride comfort except for the recent hyundai i 30 which is of course priced way cheaper but minus the high end frills in terms of instruments etc

• where i can get the new 2009 m3 bodykit?????????

• where i can get m3 body kit?????

• Early adopter on Dec 17, 2009 at 9:48 pm

Unless u custom order one, then any bodykit shop can do it for you…if you are looking at "pre-made" kits, slim chance due to lack of demand at this point of time….

Bermaz is not acustomed to offer accessories, bodykits and etc. They just sell log stock barrel….

If you are daring enough, you can order directly from Japan but ready for a steep delivery charges. Simpler alternative is to probably check out S'pore. Believe there is a website dedicated to Mazda models. Migh hv something interesting…..

Cheers…

• David on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:42 am

Attention to Car Buyer

I agree Honda car is good in terms of look. Other than that, a car buyer must also pay close attention to service and warranty policy. I had shock of my life when I was told Honda cars must be serviced every 3 months or else the 3 years warranty will be void no matter you are using mineral or synthetic oil. Meaning to say, you have got to send your car for service every 3 months even though your car has traveled a short distance since the previous service.

For those who already bought a new Honda car, make sure that you get all the 3 free services promised done within 6 months no matter what your car mileage is or else it will be void.

Recently, I sent my car for the 3rd free service and was denied the privilege. My car at that time was only 8 months old, mileage at 10 100. The problem is that, I was unaware of this policy when I got the car. The sales person did not highlight this policy when delivering the car. To make things worse, it is not mentioned clearly in the service booklet. I called up to the Customer Relationship Department (CRD) but to no avail. They strictly hold on to their policy. They are not helpful at all. No leniency practiced. Customer is not given priority.

As I also own a Toyota, I can say that Toyota is way much better in the area of customer service. Customers are treated with care and concern. For Toyota, customers do not have to follow the service schedule strictly as long as they send their cars for service after the recommended distance. (10 000 Km for full synthetic oil and 5000 Km for mineral oil)

In summary, Toyota cars are cheaper to maintain even though Honda may claim that their charges per car service is lower. My next car would definitely be a TOYOTA, for sure. I regretted buying a Honda indeed. Think twice before buying a Honda!

Sincerely,

Malaysian

• mahalgila…….kena jackpot spot toto boleh beli la

• mr. car on Dec 29, 2009 at 2:40 am

mazda 3 2.0 2009 actually the smart and lovely car ever produced in its class

value for money compared to what the cars offer

• Jason on Jan 14, 2010 at 7:57 pm

Hi guys, the Mazda 3 Hatchback will be here in early Feb & the Mazda 2 both Sedan & Hatchback ( Std-spec & Hi-spec) will be here in early April!! ^^

Pls call me anytime 012-7660050 for further enquiries.

• hrrsdaniel on Jan 26, 2010 at 5:45 am

my concern is between mazda3, civic, altis, peugoet, sylphy… Which has greater resale value? anyone can clarify? I'm considering this all car due to budget..

• mb3300 on Jan 26, 2010 at 8:03 am

altis, civic and slyphy in order of value.

if you want to have something different (amazing specs, looks and ride), m3 awaits you.

• Early adopter on Jan 28, 2010 at 1:41 am

I agree…..m3 sport is meant for those with passion and knows how to appreciate it….Its definitely not your everday car and I will not say its the perfect thing but the driving experience is simply fantastic….

Just test drive one and make your own judgement…….

• I was wondering about the fuel consumption between the new civic 2.0 and this mazda3. anyone can enlighten me? Though the 2 cars have same capacity engine but civic's feels more responsive?

• Some said better get a Civic , get bigger space and better fuel efficiency..

I ‘m feeling sad on you that you’re having a very boring and robotic lifestyle..

I went for the test drive for twice, different places each.
    The space felt limited if only you’re a muscular man, like western ppl.. Malaysians?not a problem for me.. js a small different in rear space.. fuel efficiency? How do you know about it? Do you really compare Civic and Mazda 3 for a whole to empty the tank, driving in urban and rural place respectively? No u js talked c***k in this forum..

• M3test drive on May 05, 2010 at 6:24 pm

I own that car that Paul test drove. Engine feels fine to me. But I’m abt to sell it. Any takers?

• mb3300 on May 05, 2010 at 11:41 pm

What’s your mileage?Color?
    Hey M3test

2.0? When did you get it?
    Selling price?
    Leather seats?
    Reason for selling? What’s your next best choice?

To other M3 2.0 owners…how are the breaks? Is it smooth or does the break pedals grind against the discs?? I drove Pesona…then I drove a 2.0 Avante…I was shocked both had the same break grip, its like the discs are going to break if you press any harder….I hope the M3 doesnt have this shitty problem….

• M3test on May 12, 2010 at 5:15 pm

Naah, the breaks are great. Just what you’d expect from a japanese made car. Right now the mileage is at 33k. Just had it serviced at Mazda. If you’ve read the review you’d know what the car has. I really do own that car. Need I say more?

Am considering getting rid of it due to some personal problems.

• Brian Siva on May 18, 2010 at 2:47 pm

for a 2.0 litre not worth the money leg room for the rear looks really sad, plus the power output i feel the RS Lynx 2.0 was a better buy and had better looks.

• very expensive for a small car..better get honda civic..

• Early adopter on Jun 17, 2010 at 2:53 pm

Sigh…to Brian Siva, 2.0 not worth the money? then if you pay 168k for a entry level 1.6 cooper is worth it? Please get your facts solid dude..as paul has mentioned, this is a niche sports sedan…what do you understand by the term niche?

RS Lynx better look? Ok, as long as you are happy.

To adie, small car, please be specific bro…only the rear cabin space is smaller, the overall length and width is almost similar if not slightly bigger…

Please to all, dont simply condemn or drop a judgement on a car before you do sufficient research…..quite annoying la..

• mb3300 on Jun 17, 2010 at 10:56 pm

Lol…chill la early adopter.

Do you own a Mazda3 2.0?

• Early adopter on Jun 18, 2010 at 10:14 am

Yes I do. I’ve chilled enuff bro…since the launch, many ppl out there continue to condemn this car without facts…

What I mean to say as always is that, we owner/fans are not implying that Mazda 3 sport is the best of value nor the best C segment in the market place…however it takes passion and personal analysis to love the car…

H and T are good cars as well in my opinion…just so happen the mass market prefers it more than the smaller player, and that by itself doesnt mean ppl should continue making baseless assumption. This will be reputationally damaging to potential buyers.

The point of comparison should be concrete and ultimately, we are 1Malaysia ma, so lets be fair on ppl’s preferences and dun simply condemn lor…and sometimes choice of word is also equally important when ppl comment on things, so as not to paint the wrong picture.

So for you bro, if you have not decided on your ride, please take my advice and test drive all alternative and do some research…whatever decision you make at the end of the day is up to you but most importantly, you need to be satisfied with your purchase…

• mb3300 on Jun 18, 2010 at 11:30 am

Great that you have one…

If you realized, Ive been deeply in love with this car from the day of its launch to date. Every time I see one the road my jaw drops in awe. I am in all the Mazda sites commenting or reading bout it every week at least twice…Thats how much I love it.

Recently I went for a test drive. I have to be very honest here…I have to say for a CBU the build quality its rather flimsy/shaky. I am referring to the overall plastics, its moveable, its not tough. Have you felt the roof from the inside? My proton is tougher, LOL…..I guess its for sound insulation, but still why just foams? Why not have it solid? If something were to drop on the sky right onto your roof, gives me the image that it just might come through the roof easily. Even the body seems thin, apply the same force on a CKD T or H…and on this CBU Mazda, you could feel that the Mazda 3 could be dented with lesser force. I was rather disappointed, even the SAs failed miserably at convincing me otherwise haha…..

As for the ride, the speed alarm was set at 120kmph…I was only able to push the car to 140kmph…traffic was rather bad….my SA kept telling me to slow down which was rather annoying, ride was good, but I guess its mileage of 2000kmph ++ made the car still ‘new’, so the power isnt there….and yes it gives lotsa empty revs that doesn’t translate into power.

Despite all that, Im still in love with it, but my question here is, am I the only one who noticed these????

But not to worry, I have already booked it. I just hope my car changes my perception in all this.

Whats our non-biased opinion after owning it for a year? Also would like to know if you purchased the leather seats with Bermaz or you made it separately elsewhere?

• Early adopter on Jun 22, 2010 at 5:46 pm

Hey bro,

Sorry to hear about your predicament. I must say you are one hell of a perfectionist :) haha…which is a good thing, dun get me wrong.

Couldnt really respond to some of your question as it hasn’t really bothered me, hence did not invest time to research on it. But what i can attest is that there is indeed a slight power lag, but not too obvious when the rpm picks up. However you have to bear in mind that from a power perspective, M3 is never meant to have that kind of power. M3 is often and has always focussed on handling. Civic would champion the power aspect, that I must say.

On my non-biased opinion, it is still a fun car to drive especially on trunk roads or winding roads. I have driven a civic on the exact route, but the handling of M3 still stands out. Gadgets/accessories wise, its simply the best and it never fail to make my day :)

• Anonymouse on Jul 30, 2010 at 5:25 pm

The Mazda3 is a budget car in Japan and in Western countries. Small, cheap, fun to drive. It’s not intended to be anything else.

• Anonymouse on Jul 30, 2010 at 5:28 pm

Oh by the way, Fifth Gear felt that Mazda3 build quality is slightly better than the Ford Focus. Just for comparison’s sake.

• Early adopter on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:56 am

Noticed I left out the leather seat part, nope i did not have it installed as I kinda of prefer the default fabric. Probably at a later time when it gets seasoned.

But leather seat would give it a more premium look….your call again bro!

• heh38338 on Jun 25, 2010 at 3:16 pm

How much is the Mazda 3 now?

• pultat on Jul 02, 2010 at 1:45 pm

Aiyoh…civic,altis all over the place la, any where u turn can see them…at least lancer is not as common as these 2. Mazda 3 is definitely a head turner…and rare also…those of thinking to get the Mazda 3…i say go for it…

By the way, I dont own any mazda’s…just talking from a neutral point..

• Mr Bak on Jul 24, 2010 at 6:58 pm

me too…1 day i will go for this M3. civic&altis u can see everywhere.

• mb3300 on Jul 26, 2010 at 9:56 pm

I own this sexy beast….and its awesome!

• I’ve just booked mine here in singapore…Ready to deliver sometime next week. Notice from the specs here in sin the M3 2.0 comes with traction control. But from Paul’s review its says no traction control. And its keyless(smartkey) entry too. Anyway I test drove the 2.0L in KL(Old Klang Road-last year) and here in SG(Alexandra).
    I dun feel any performance issues. The pick up was smooth and I dun feel much drag. I also noticed the gear shifts nicely when stepping on the gas pedal. Very responsive. No issue with the car jerking when changing gears. And there isn’t any loud roaring during acceleration. Very quiet throughout my test drive session.
    Interior wise am ok with it. Not to say it looks fantastic but its indeed way above average. It doesn’t look and feel cheap. The 2.0L version comes with full sports leather seats. Pedal shifters are easy to use. Up/Down on both sides so it makes driving with 1 hand very easy.
    Exterior wise the 2.0L comes with full sports kit unlike the 1.6L. The design actually caught my attention to test drive it. Anyway can’t wait for my drive to be delivered. Very happy with my purchase. Had a tough time deciding on Graphite or Crystal pearl white…In the end there are too many Graphite and Silver on SG road so picked the white.

• I have the aluminum silver and it rocks! Still turns heads everywhere I go, even after owning it for a year. Very different from other silvers – mine looks like the type you find on much more expensive type of sports cars. White is ok but I find it too “Manga” and common in Malaysia…

• Received my M3 2.0L since Mon. Seriously…This car rocks!! Have been zooming ard the city to test for any faults…Verdict: Nil..Very glad its fault free. Fuel consumption avg at 8.6l/100km. (highway driving mostly). Performance: This car is very responsive. Tekan abit the car speeds effortless. And it does it very silently. Very impressive. At 90kmh the noise level in the cabin is still very low. No issues at all. Although the performance on paper is below Lancer 2.0 or Civic 2.0 I think the performance of the M3 is compensated by the lighter kerb weight it has. Its indeed a very powerful car and very fun to drive. Anyway it was fun reading all the postings here. Am glad I test drove this beauty.

• mb3300 on Aug 06, 2010 at 10:11 pm

Good review…I feel the same too…just that I havent had the proper opportunity to ride it to my hearts content. Its indeed powerful….consumption, I still feel its a bit on the high side…450km++ for a full tank…that doesnt sound very good….of course its still new…just reached the 1200m mark….i think actual consumption can be determined b4 its 5000km? I hope ? :)……

Please tell me yours isnt another white M3! Cus mine is and ive been seeing a handful lately….i really love the red…but white’s my lucky color…had to stick to it.

• lol…mine is white bro…But here in SG I see more graphite and silver than white compared to KL so its ok to drive a white here. Infact when I asked for the colours availability white has the most left in stock. SE says silver and graphite are very popular. Anyway I’ll just get whichever i feel comfortable and happy with lol. But am just afraid of the colour maintenance. Did you put any coating to protect the paint? Bro..my car now 430km an still have 2 squares available. The indicator shows 8.6l/100km which I think is very good for a 2.0l comparing to the 320i which is about 10l/100km. But guess thats the dif between jpn and conti cars.

• mb3300 on Aug 11, 2010 at 4:55 pm

In Msia, White ones sell like hot cakes….I really like the red though….Silver is good too….

Yup thats in fact the first thing I did, its called Sierra Glow…Im satisfied with it thus far, just one month shy…5 year warranty…..all you is rinse your car and wipe it dry…looks like new every time.

My FC is getting better but slowly….trying various methods to minimize FC….:P

• Road Thunder on Oct 17, 2010 at 9:25 pm

White ones sell like hot cakes cos the owners are openly admitting that their M3s are small. I am an interior designer and colours create impressions of space and mood. But I always wonder why buy white colour cars when you don’t maintain it? most white cars on the road, esp Mazdas are starting to yellow or grey from lazy owners who do not do any detailing (minimum – wash car 1x a week).

• Early adopter on Aug 13, 2010 at 8:55 am

Hey mb3300, mind telling us where you applied sierra glow and at what price?

• mb3300 on Aug 14, 2010 at 1:35 am

www.sierraglow.com…

The person in charge is Mr Choong…nice guy…he quoted me RM 650…..its in Subang, you have to drive by Mydin (on your left)….keep going str8 till you see a Chinese school on your left…small roundabout in front….take your 9 o’clock……go all the way straight….at the second last junction take your right….you’re at this Taman Perindustrian 1……drive around and look for the signboard….

Follow the website given, you may call the person in charge directly…….he’s helpful….but early booking is important, the process takes a good 5 hours….

• Hmm..cheaper than sg..maybe I’ll consider driving up to KL and get it done end of the month. Since its time to visit my parents anyways…Thx mb3300

• sanik on Aug 20, 2010 at 2:33 pm

http://www.bharian.com.my/bharian/articles/MazdapalinggilbalikMadza3_Mazda5meliputiAsia_Eropah/Article

im feel uneasy now. huwaa.. so what bermaz will do?

• encikiz on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:53 pm

No worry …it’s for the old mazda 3, not the 2010 models…
    ours is fault free…

Hi mb3300 !! What’s a sierra glow?what is it and what does it do? If nice i wanna do it oso… :D

Juucakap Mazda, Jeremy Barnes hari ini berkata, panggilan balik itu membabitkan model buatan 2007-2009 bagi Mazda3 dan Mazda5 yang dijual di Eropah dan beberapa negara di Asia, termasuk China dan Taiwan. – AP

• Needed a car mainly for city driving and to school. Wife and I tested both civic and Mazda 3 twice and we choose M3 as we both felt the drive and NVH was much better. Only thing it was a bid crampy but the seats were more comfy than civic. Both cars are not sports car and one should drive and test the car as what it was meant for. Of course if you need more space go for civic. If you want speed and handling consider golf gti. Two of my friends also have similar views and now happily driving Mazda 3. No regrets.

• Congrats on your new purchase…I owned mine for a month now. Without fail I look forward to putting my hands on the steering everytime. The zoom zoom experience never fails..cheers…and enjoy the ride…

• M3Lover on Aug 30, 2010 at 2:34 pm

Official price for mazda 3 sedan around 132k…
    To me that’s not cheap but considering the amount of technology this car has, its certainly worth it.

I had a first hand look at the steering wheel, and i felt like a pilot in a fighter jet, choke full of controls. Compare that to the likes of T and H and immediately they are put to shame.

That bought me over even without a test drive, the M3 is certainly at the top of my shopping list in the near future.

Ps- i am the least worried about resale value as I intend to use the car for as long as i can. With this much tech it will never be a boring drive!

• Bro…You’re right..resale value is probably the least concern if a person is into cars. I guess if anyone wants a good return then go for properties. Thats what I had in mind when I booked this beauty. I didn’t care abt the resale value nor did I care abt the cabin size coz to me this is what I wanted. And I do beg to differ from some ppl who think the M3 cabin is small. I have friends who are 6 footers and they said its actually very comfortable sitting at the back. Anyway guess for those who are into wider/longer cabin then M6/camry/accord would be the preffered choice. If wan bigger go for mpv’s.
      Bro I wish u able to own the M3 soon. Its indeed a much better car to drive than Civic(my sis ownes a 1.8) and an Altis(my partner’s previous car) therefore I can compare M3 with T and H.
      Happy National Day to all… folks

• I really love Mazda,just look at their new front grille,they’re not ugly or funny when u drive it u’ll fell in love with ur smiley Mazda!good handling,sporty and high quality!Mazda is not expensive coz it’s CBU 100% from Japan!Honda and Toyota is good too but they are too simple and getting boring!anyway i really love my Mazda 3 Hatchback!if u don’t like Mazda,Nissan sylphy is a good choice coz both of them are real Japan car!

• kingamok on Sep 26, 2010 at 8:55 pm

I am a proud owner of M3 2.0 pearl white. Anyone? :)

• Road Thunder on Oct 17, 2010 at 9:22 pm

The fact that you chose white for your M3 is an open admission that your car is small and therefore u had to select a colour that will make it look bigger. you have an inferiority complex, mate

• getbored on Sep 28, 2010 at 12:27 pm

hi, i am really get bored with the altis,civic,nissan car looks. i think the m3 will be the good choice and its CBU… from japan. not like honda or toyota from thailand

• lalala on Mar 01, 2011 at 8:57 pm

i still think 308THP will be my next car. faster, better interior, cooler, and only slightly bad in handling compared to ford focus ;)

its a chick magnet, a peugeot 308THP

turbo power. able to hit 190 in test drive on kesas, so u know how fast this car is.