More juicy details on the Lexus HS250h

Lexus HS250h

Lexus has recently launched the new HS250h hybrid car in Japan with a monthly sales target of 500 units per month. The Atkinson cycle 2.4 litre engine mated to an electric motor managed to achieve 23 km per litre based on the Japanese 10-15 life cycle, and on the new JC08 test cycle, it managed 19.8km per litre.

The central LCD screen system which was a main feature and attraction of the 2nd gen Prius cabin that went missing in the 3rd gen is now back in the HS250h and renamed the Harmonious Driving Navigator. It monitors and provides information on the car’s hybrid system, fuel consumption, and brake energy regeneration as well as awards “points” for environmentally (and wallet) considerate driving. These points can be used by a Lexus owner to make donations to charities registered with Project Mirai Isan, which is managed by the National Federation of UNESCO Associations in Japan.

Lexus HS250h

The 2AZ-FXE 2.4 litre engine makes 150 PS and 187Nm of torque, supplemented by a 143 PS electric motor with 270Nm of torque, backed by a NiMH battery. An e-CVT combines the two power sources up to a maximum of 190 PS at any one time.

Nothing really that interesting about the engine as its the same one found in the Camry Hybrid but as if to make up for it, there are a few interesting techy bits about the HS250h. The Lexus HS250h also has LED headlamps as well as tail lamps. It has a heads-up display system which can display various info such as speed, lane information and warnings.

Lexus HS250h

A Pre-crash Safety System using millimeter-wave radar detects whether driver’s eyes are properly open and also determining direction of driver’s face. If risk of accident is determined, system warns driver with buzzer and automatic braking. If there is a risk of a crash, the hazard lights flash, and if the risk is even higher, headrests are shifted to the appropriate positions to reduce strain on the neck and chances of whiplash injury.

There is also a telemetry system that reminds me of BMW Assist or BMW ConnectedDrive. The Lexus take on such services is called G-Link (called Lexus Enform with Safety Connect in the US). You will have access to a concierge that help you out in various ways. If you meet an accident, G-Link communicates with the remote Lexus center to contact the police and fire department. The call center will then call you to check if you are safe. If there is no answer, an ambulance will be called. The call centre operator can also help you with finding a location and can send GPS coordinates to your on-board GPS unit automatically. If there is an intrusion while the car is parked, the owner can be notified via phone and email.

Lexus HS250h

G-Link also monitors various car components such as the brakes and engine and can assist with booking a service appointment with your Lexus service center. Of course all of this costs money and G-Link is only free for the first 3 years if you buy the car new.

Look after the jump for a photo gallery with some new photos of the HS250h, some videos, as well as the previously published photo gallery of the HS250h dedicated hybrid.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=386]

[zenphotopress number=99 album=71]

VIDEO: Lexus HS250h – Concept

VIDEO: Lexus HS250h – Hybrid System

VIDEO: Lexus HS250h – Fuel Economy

VIDEO: Lexus HS250h – Change The World

VIDEO: Lexus HS250h – Eco Materials

VIDEO: Lexus HS250h – Innovation

VIDEO: Lexus HS250h – Sustainability

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ariff on Jul 20, 2009 at 2:08 pm

the rear looks like the Lexus IS and the front is a bit like Lexus LS.Kinda nice.

• azrai on Jul 20, 2009 at 4:05 pm

Since they took over Fiji Heavy industries, Toyota give this Lexus a Subaru grille. :-)

• pjoerashid2020@yahoo on Jul 20, 2009 at 4:46 pm

lawa lah…bila datang Malaysia ni??

• Honda City big brother..

• mozaks (Member) on Jul 20, 2009 at 5:56 pm

the interior is awesome! no more huge gear knob…

• Agree with Ariff, looks nice tho. Want one.. :P

• It's amazing that the hybrid technology

has progressed so rapidly + it shows

the seriousness of auto co's. esp the Japanese

leading in this field.

Looking forward to more hybrid models

being launched.

However in the near future, prices wld be

on the high side.

This Lexus wld be priced in the 5 series category

Its i-drive looks good/functional with its features but

doubt it'll function in our shores.

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 20, 2009 at 7:27 pm

Why Toyota-Lexus likes to make things uglier?

• azrai on Jul 20, 2009 at 7:37 pm

Dear Paul, is it Prius will be launch? This url lead us to something about prius event. What is it? http://offerstation.com/happenings-events/36841/g…

• teamlosi on Jul 20, 2009 at 9:29 pm

depan sikit mcm honda city jer

• nabil on Jul 20, 2009 at 9:35 pm

totally subaru face

• mohdjiman on Jul 20, 2009 at 9:41 pm

honda city?

• solarcar on Jul 20, 2009 at 10:08 pm

Lexus needs to work harder to get rid of the japanese feels to position itself into luxurious category. people still think it is just a more expensive toyota no matter how good it is.

• looks too much like a toyota.lexus should try to distance itself from the mainstream toyotas or else it will never be treated as an equal to the germans.

• kuan18 on Jul 21, 2009 at 4:45 am

Very nice, I want one…

• ugly

• revver on Jul 21, 2009 at 5:52 am

i'm one proud of toyota hybrid owner. i'm driving the hybrid harrier for the apst one year and hell nothing more satisfied me. with fuel consumption better then kancil probably, the luxury, handling( except those anoying vsc and traction control which make your speed slower on tight corner- but safer) and the most of all, the quiteness. i manage to get up to 16km/l on daily basis( from on board computer) but again if i calculate it manually it might reach up to 20km/l! ( filling up with rm100 of fuel and manage to clock 1100km++) that's about 60ltr for 1100 km! and that with speed. from the trip , the avarage was 88km/h( from lahad datu to kota kinabalu).those from sabah would know what kind of road am i talking about.

performance wise i would say it's more then adequate. it can get to 200km/h easily. that was for my big size harrier and for hs25h. i would say i don't have a doubt about it.

• wah, can earn points one! machiam playing game and then combine with RealRewards card to redeem price. HEBAT! lol.

• money_saver on Jul 21, 2009 at 7:06 am

Toyota/ Lexus is really doin such great jobs in saving de environment..i'll get 1 of tis if i hv de money..haha..btw, wil hybrid cars b launched in malaysia?..people out thr already buying de newest gen of Prius n yet we dun even get 2 chace 2 c 1 in malaysia..wat is UMW doin?..

• Gajen on Jul 21, 2009 at 7:30 am

awesome…the technology is stunning…the looks is not bad too

• what a nice car…wish i can afford to buy one.:D

• CocoBear on Jul 21, 2009 at 8:44 am

Very informative videos. Thanks for it.

You may say it is a US Hybrid 2.4L Camry with the body from Toyota Avensis, but this is an attractive package. Very nice interior layout. A knock-out from the conventional.

I can't wait for the future. Lol.

• Khalid on Jul 21, 2009 at 9:37 pm

KERETA PALIG HODOH DIDUNIA, CUMA BHG DALAMNYA AKU RESPECT SIKIT

• i’m one proud of toyota hybrid owner. i’m driving the hybrid harrier for the apst one year and hell nothing more satisfied me. with fuel consumption better then kancil probably, the luxury, handling( except those anoying vsc and traction control which make your speed slower on tight corner- but safer) and the most of all, the quiteness. i manage to get up to 16km/l on daily basis( from on board computer) but again if i calculate it manually it might reach up to 20km/l! ( filling up with rm100 of fuel and manage to clock 1100km++) that’s about 60ltr for 1100 km! and that with speed. from the trip , the avarage was 88km/h( from lahad datu to kota kinabalu).those from sabah would know what kind of road am i talking about.

performance wise i would say it’s more then adequate. it can get to 200km/h easily. that was for my big size harrier and for hs25h. i would say i don’t have a doubt about it.

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/07/20/more-juicy…

Couldn't agree more with revver regarding with the road (Kota Kinabalu – Lahad Datu ), it is very adventurous.

I think I have seen this car somewhere around KK. I think it might be yours or other owners. But I believe from your explanation the hybrid harrier is a good car.

• "i’m one proud of toyota hybrid owner. i’m driving the hybrid harrier for the apst one year and hell nothing more satisfied me. with fuel consumption better then kancil"

Why you didn't say the truth: You're a proud Toyota salesman.

1100km with 60l petrol ? Wow ! That's a lot less than the owner in the UK get: http://www.lexusownersclub.co.uk/forum/index.php?…

Maybe you should go over there and teach the Brits how to drive this car ? ;)

• nuajon on Jul 22, 2009 at 6:04 am

like new honda city….no luxurious look.

• Its just a Toyota Avensis with the Lexus badge in it and with Hybrid motor in it..Looks good actually and likely will be available in South East Asia..

• Ugly outside,

Preety inside.

• mohamad farid on Jul 25, 2009 at 5:04 pm

looks like altis to me…emm, an expensive version of altis..