The Humberside Police’s new IS-Force

Lexus IS-F

Specially trained offers of the Humberside Police spent a year evaluating a couple of fast cars to replace the Subarus that they’re currently using in their Roads Crime Section. They ended up picking this one – a Lexus IS-F with a 5.0 litre V8 engine that can take the car from 0 to 100km/h in just 4.8 seconds.

But of course this cop version won’t be able to do that as it’s got lots of extra weight from the £30,000 worth of on-board computers and communications equipment. Apparently one edge that the Lexus had over its competitors is that its driving dynamics and stability was not affected much by the extra weight.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=401]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• keliwon on Jul 29, 2009 at 10:45 am

Yuhooo…1st to comment ..nice shots wow!

• JackAss on Jul 29, 2009 at 10:59 am

Which country is using it as police car?

• CocoBear on Jul 29, 2009 at 11:14 am

The footnote can be interpreted as:

"LEXUS IS THE FORCE TO BE RECKONED WITH." – very cool…

• Paul Tan on Jul 29, 2009 at 11:37 am

Humberside is in the UK

• man..this is my dream car..same league as the bmw M3 and audi RS4..

• azrai on Jul 29, 2009 at 3:58 pm

UK's own helang lebuhraya. Did they call it highway eagle? :-) Here in Malaysia, maybe only Abu Juling can use this as his police car.

• madzda 3 mps on Jul 29, 2009 at 4:44 pm

a lexus as a police car? didn't james may use this in his top gear challenge?

• MycarMylife on Jul 29, 2009 at 5:02 pm

Wish I can apply to be in the UK police force , they are so lucky to have great choices for fine cars for their daily job ( occupational hazard !!!).

Please dont fall asleep in the superb comfort old chap.

• FEMLab on Jul 29, 2009 at 5:03 pm

Any job opening in Humberside police department??

I wanna join..

• ford_ton (Member) on Jul 29, 2009 at 5:03 pm

Envy those Humberside Boys In Blue. Must be a pleasant 8 hour motorway patrolling considering Lexus's excellent ride comfort as compared to our hard riding Mitsu. Bet the criminal that they cart from the crime scene to the police station will still manage to doze off in the backseat. It pays to commit crime in Humberside. Where else can a crook be chauffeured in a luxurious comfort short of a glass of wine to a police station.

• Yeah and that place isn't that big too. Once u land in their airport u'll notice that its small and empty haha. Note the quad exhaust!

• bobby lee on Jul 29, 2009 at 5:44 pm

this can probably smoke our local Helang.

• gattaca on Jul 29, 2009 at 5:57 pm

did they take EVO X into consideration also?? but is it comparable to this IS-F? i mean from the top speed..etc…

• gOnDoLa on Jul 29, 2009 at 6:10 pm

Much2 better than our Police's EVO

• wochomi on Jul 29, 2009 at 6:16 pm

Buang duit kerajaan….. rahsuah…… as if they're gonna chase and wreck the Lexus for a petty thief. Roadblocks will do.

• kremer on Jul 29, 2009 at 6:25 pm

wochomi : ayoyoy tambi…roadblock cannot being setup in every KM, junction or corner and cannot being set within second…ayoyoyoyo how u think aaa?

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC on Jul 29, 2009 at 6:34 pm

eh, as a police car, speed is very important, but the FC is much more important.

Police cars are patrolling most of the time, only speeding once saw any suspect or chase after bad guy's car.

why not police using hybrid car? with most of the time running electric motor only, can save petrol , environment friendly and quiet. Once need to speed up, the engine is started to have maximum performance.

Agree??

• apixz on Jul 29, 2009 at 6:36 pm

yeahhhh…malaysian police should hav this also…

• Maverick on Jul 29, 2009 at 6:52 pm

Meh, its kinds weird seeing the proud British using Japanese imports for their police cars. I thought they might go for something European, even if it's owned by a German company. They're still using Vauxhall Astras everywhere else, right?

• mitlanevo on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:08 pm

use this to chase M3 and RS4, lol~

• R0NaLD0 on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:22 pm

those police officer are being pampered with nice car……@#$%^#@!

• Humberside uses Proton Impian/Waja, Gen 2 and Wira as their normal Patrol cars too, all run on gas. They even have Satria GTi. They like Protons because it is cheap to run and has big booths to keep Police equipments.

• torque (Member) on Jul 29, 2009 at 8:33 pm

I read in the mag that the reason for they to get this IS-F is to replace their Subarus. Reason is that the Subarus may be quicker after the turbo spool but as the revs rise up, the Subarus doesn't make anymore power which they needed for high speed chase. That's why they end up getting the IS-F. 5 liter V8 is always better than any 2 liter turbo….u mostly get all the power in the enitre rev range, well…mostly!! Lucky Humberside cops…

• Nice ride…. Good to see Lexus put to good use….

• Yoezpo on Jul 29, 2009 at 10:57 pm

now everyone want to be a cops…

• lambov12 on Jul 29, 2009 at 11:22 pm

i think using a M3 is nicer la ..

maybe malaysia should organize police cars drag race between Commonwealth countries or SEA. See which countries police car is the fastest ??

• "use this to chase M3 and RS4, lol~"

Should be hard: 'For all its displacement, technology and furious bark, the Lexus 5.0-liter doesn't make the IS-F much quicker than a BMW 335i, which makes 116 hp less.'

Source: http://www.edmunds.com/insideline/do/Drives/Compa…

• mudtire on Jul 30, 2009 at 12:33 am

italian police force is using Lambo Gallardo LP-560-4…can eat IS-F for bfast…

• what happen to other UK proton police car, ( waja & iswara ) some county are using it ?

im malaysia, we shud use Proton & Perodua as police car. using other manufacturer will be resulted in condemnation & furious voices such as wasting my tax money ect ect ect… !!!

• mudtire on Jul 30, 2009 at 1:02 am

maybe waja w Evo engine or perodua w toyota turbo???

• rally_fan on Jul 30, 2009 at 1:24 am

mosh, in malaysia we DO use proton and perodua as police cars.. in fact, practically all police cars are proton and perodua.. The Evo's only make up less than 1 % of the entire police fleet. and only because they carry out a specific job.

i'm sure the humberside police chose these cars for a specific reason.. in australia, they use subarus..

i believe the humberside police also has a large fleet of proton wajas.

• driving dynamics and stability? Lexus IS-F has got no driving dynamics and stability to begin with. Hahaha

• MycarMylife on Jul 30, 2009 at 1:58 am

Lambov 12

I hv seen a drag comparo between a Swede Police Dept Volvo against an American Police Buick Banger in a series of tests like topspeed, brake distance, manuoverbilty, parking and a slalom . Guess who won??

The banger . ha

• mystvearn on Jul 30, 2009 at 4:40 am

I'll take some pics if I see it. Seen the subarus around

• Gajen on Jul 30, 2009 at 4:51 am

SWEET…wow…awesome man haha

• Michael on Jul 30, 2009 at 4:54 am

I went to university in that general area, and the humberside police force, while ranked right at the bottom of police satisfaction surveys, do tend to spend a lot of money on their cars for no good reason. They have the twins, which are a marked Evo 9 and a BMW 325, always seen together. They also have a fair few unmarked Subaru STi's, which can be identified by an antenna on the boot.

Another fast car isn't going to make a blind bit of difference, when the average police response time is like 2 hours…

• adoi lol sape yang kutuk- kutuk rasuah lah ape lah… biar lah polis nak beli evo ke ape ke ? Ok lah pakai evo 10 tu.. mesti yang cakap tu dengki kat polis.. kalau nak joint lah kalau lepas die nye exam memandu wakkaaaa !!! lol lol.. but that lexus patrol car damm nice… Dont condem our own nation guys, proud to our nation . if u dont like the goverment matter plss sayang kan negara kita..

ooo police hope u improve your kualiti perkhidmatan… pEace yo..

• wow, faster than our evos eh. lol.

should have special department, Police Pursuit Team, specialise in chasing down racers. the cops there all drive fast and nice cars chasing racers and rempits with crazy chase scene film through the cctv.

• solarcar on Jul 30, 2009 at 7:27 am

hmmm… i wonder this will bring negative results, as those bad guys will find it more fun to race with police…

• afhstingray on Jul 30, 2009 at 8:03 am

i think most of you guys forgot that i once submitted a letter to paul tan which he posted on the site…..

most of the cars humberside police use are proton waja's and wiras. no kidding.

http://paultan.org/archives/2007/06/08/letter-pro…

they are still using waja's, the even have the new facelifted ones.

on a side note, the Persona….over here is called the Gen2…..which is interesting because the Gen2 is still called the Gen2 lol. so you have fastback and sedan gen2's.

• @rally_fan

Dont know which part of australia you are talking about. Over here in Melbourne the police all use locally made Holdens. They are large (BMW 5series sized) cars with 4.0L engines. The highway patrol use 6.0L V8's.

• Engineer PE-ETM on Jul 31, 2009 at 1:45 am

why compare to our police's evo?

Is there any international racing championship for polices?

Team Police Malaysia vs Team Police UK?

• woo..bash more..bash more…tank god i tot no wan to bashing proton n gov…..thats malaysian maa….no one want to include tax, p.window, engine, malaysia, tun mahatir, ap etc so much maa…..bash la some more bash..hooray

hahahaha…,hehehe..hohohoho

my no cent

• LightningMcQueen on Jul 31, 2009 at 4:41 pm

Agreed with Syah…

If u dont like malaysia… go to other country laaa…

If u dont like malaysian police joint them… put urself in their shoes…

If u said police rasuah… prove it laa we have SPRM..

if SPRM u also said also rasuah… then suruhanjaya di raja…

if suruhanjaya di raja also corrupt… u hang urself la lets say what will happen in the next life…

there is no such a fair and equal life in this world …. come on grown up Malaysians….