New Grand Bentley unveiled: Bentley Mulsanne

Bentley Mulsanne

The new Bentley Mulsanne (pronounced mull-SAHN) will be the luxury carmaker’s star exhibit during the Frankfurt Show in September but they’ve already unveiled it to the public at the Pebble Beach Concourse, where it is likely that many of its potential owners are attending. After all, it is only the very rich who are able to restore rare classic cars to the pristine conditions that you can find at the Concourse.

The Bentley Mulsanne had been heralded as the “New Grand Bentley” in a teaser campaign leading up to this unveiling, and is inspired by the 1930s Bentley 8-litre. For now we only know what the Mulsanne looks like, but for whats under the hood as well as any other trickeries that Bentley have up their sleeves, we’ll have to wait for the Frankfurt show. Too bad they didn’t have anything up their sleeves with the design, as I feel it isn’t particularly interesting.

The Mulsanne will replace the Arnage as Bentley’s ultimate flagship. We have no photos of the interior yet thus far but Bentley says the interior is hand-crafted and takes a total of 40 labour hours to produce. They’re planning to sell about 700 units this year.

There is a circuit called the Circuit de la Sarthe in France used in the sports car endurance race 24 Hours of Le Mans. The road features the long straight Ligne Droite des Hunaudières leading to Mulsanne, making a tight right hand turn before the entrance of the village itself. The famous straightaway is often called the Mulsanne Straight, and the original Bentley Mulsanne that was launched in 1980 was named after this.

Look after the jump for more hi-res photos.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=434]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jerry Ooi on Aug 17, 2009 at 4:10 pm

Another big toy for Royal Family and super duper rich people in Malaysia. But i think China sure will put out another cheap version in the market.

• mitlanevo on Aug 17, 2009 at 4:36 pm

hehez, happy face!!!

btw, what's the tyre size? looks huge….

• Vbkcheng on Aug 17, 2009 at 5:10 pm

The LED look of head lamp cause the car loss the classical look…

• mkrafz on Aug 17, 2009 at 5:23 pm

the front LED lamp looks like it's came straight from some chinese car factory…

Ugly…

• nazri on Aug 17, 2009 at 5:46 pm

hey the headlamp looks like my rm10 torchlight i buy at uptown… hehe

• what is the price here in malaysia? thinking to get one..but looking at the pics, i guess it hard to park at ss2 or 14. nvr mind laa.. i ll just go for saga.

• Diablo on Aug 17, 2009 at 6:09 pm

Sick after being copied by Chinese car makers maybe Bentley decided to do the reverse. They even added a nice friendly 'smiley' at the front of the car

• fertittabro on Aug 17, 2009 at 6:35 pm

oh shyt this is mood killing.

it is so ugly

• alandelon on Aug 17, 2009 at 6:40 pm

this is gross.

• farid on Aug 17, 2009 at 6:46 pm

Alamak Bently what happen? Too much NatGeo Channel ka?…the face..no flow …just like Mitsuoka…sad…worst design from Bently ever…try again!

• Paul Tan on Aug 17, 2009 at 6:47 pm

Hey you're right, it reminds me of some kind of Mitsuoka.

• the front is soooo… ugly…. disappointed

• So, What is ASI-AS going to do with this?

• Thats one ugly Bentley!

I prefer the styling of the Rolls-Royce Ghost.
    http://paultan.org/2009/07/22/66l-v12-in-ghost-to…

• Ugly indeed! They should follow RR design; nobody will deny the fact that they're used to be Toyota-Lexus-Scion design theme.

• nabil on Aug 17, 2009 at 9:51 pm

looks like those copy cat china cars actually…too much bling bling for me…bt the rims look gorgeous !

• alfist168 on Aug 17, 2009 at 10:07 pm

The RR Ghost is still the winner!

• Shiang on Aug 17, 2009 at 10:56 pm

WTH is that!!!

• CocoBear on Aug 17, 2009 at 11:16 pm

What a shame to put that cheapo headlamp.

• Elvis on Aug 17, 2009 at 11:17 pm

One big smiley face car….why not design a custom Hello Kitty Bentley for Hellow Kitty crazy asian fans….

• CocoBear on Aug 17, 2009 at 11:17 pm

What a shame to put those cheapo headlamps on the beautifully contoured body.

• CocoBear on Aug 17, 2009 at 11:18 pm

What a shame to put on those cheapo headlamps on a masterpiece.

• it looks like a rolls with rounded headlamp .

somehow the curve of the front headlamp isn't that great or refined .

• pekan on Aug 17, 2009 at 11:46 pm

those eyes.. they're hypnotizing… (*_*)

• yes agreed… very fugly

• the grill is abit too much at the bumper side and the light arrangement doesn't make it look great or what so ever , the most critical problem is the headlamp where it looks too visible while it is too big . some of the innerpart should be treated well like how audi did to their A8 or A4s .

• acerman on Aug 18, 2009 at 1:29 am

Hey! Look, the car is smiling at me!….

Anyway, why is so weird?

• Diablo on Aug 18, 2009 at 2:10 am

The car really 'smiles' at you from the front. Imagine the smile of spongebob squarepants

• Elvis on Aug 18, 2009 at 3:36 am

And maybe they should make custom Spongebob Bentley also…

• Despite all the complains its getting from everyone, I still dun mind driving one if it was given to me =]

• In front looks like a duck. And also look like a Chinese copy. And i must say, those LEDs totally ruined it.

• sharviin on Aug 18, 2009 at 4:58 am

its looks like it had 1st Sex in its life!!!!!!!

• sharviin on Aug 18, 2009 at 5:00 am

and i realized dat the car looks awesome at diff angle…damn it spooks me…

• carcraze on Aug 18, 2009 at 5:12 am

This is one of the ugliest car even seen on earth. Who on earth would ruin their own reputation by owning one of this. My goodness.

• Leseid Obrut on Aug 18, 2009 at 5:35 am

haha it might not be the prettiest car around but the face is strangely charming! ooohhh…who lives in a pineapple under the sea?

• jai jai on Aug 19, 2009 at 7:43 pm

Kancil headlamp with Kenari RS spot light

• latpao on Aug 20, 2009 at 3:50 pm

Sean said,

August 17, 2009 @ 7:44 pm

Despite all the complains its getting from everyone, I still dun mind driving one if it was given to me =]

————————————————————-

Yeah you'll be the driver and I rather being chaffeured around

• yajiv on Aug 25, 2009 at 8:23 pm

If you look long enough and see it in its entirety I think it looks mysterious yet elegant. As compared to Phantom, I think Bentley has created a car which even the younger millionaires don't mind owning and driving. Rolls Phantom looks more like a Royalty or rich but much older guys type of vehicle/chariot.