Chevrolet Agile: previews the next gen Aveo?

Chevrolet Agile

This is the new Chevrolet Agile, a product that GM designed for the South American market. The Agile’s development was done by GM Mercosur located in Sao Paulo, Brazil at a cost of US$400 million. Target markets include Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay so I don’t think we can expect the Agile to reach our country anytime soon, at least not in this form. There’s some word that a variation of this car will end up launched as the new Aveo though. The Agile is based on the same platform as the Opel/Vauxhall Corsa D and has a wheelbase of 2,510mm, putting it in competition with cars such as the Fiesta and the Polo. A few engines will be available ranging from a 105hp 1.4 litre up to a 129hp 1.8 litre engine.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azrai on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:54 pm

Ugly! A crossover? With myvi SE rims.

• bmpower on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:54 pm

129hp only from 1.8 engine?

huh!.. our aged campro CPS 1.6 already 125hp

and.. putting US400million to build a small car?

wow!!! so hell cost uneffective.. hahahaha

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:38 pm

bmpower said,

August 24, 2009 @ 9:54 am

129hp only from 1.8 engine?

huh!.. our aged campro CPS 1.6 already 125hp

and.. putting US400million to build a small car?

wow!!! so hell cost uneffective.. hahahaha

If you know anything about engines, you'd know HP isn't everything. Its a somewhat passable engine, but not the best for every application (in fact, even Proton doesn't use the 125hp engine is all its 1.6L cars).

What makes you think US400mill is "cost uneffective" (sic). Perhaps that 400mil entails investments of new factory?

which if anything, seems a hell of better what Malaysia can get.

• Gajen on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:11 pm

i hate the new chevvy designs

• Black Dog on Aug 25, 2009 at 12:33 am

It looks like a Gecko…

• bmpower on Aug 25, 2009 at 1:35 am

4G63tDSM said,

August 24, 2009 @ 1:38 pm

Im not just talking about hp, and you don't have to repeat a basic thing like HP is not all about. But I'm pretty sure their torque also low. What ever it's , a good engine should be at least.. high hp and torque + good FC.

you hate it because i compare it with proton am I? because you hate proton?

and for the comparison.. usd500M is about RM1.8B .. and im not talking about money conversion here. Im talking about efficiency. No wonderthey are in a collapsed/bankrupt list! That's 1 of the reason.. They are not good enough is efficiency! costing, accounting bla bla bla!

and you're talking 'if that money to build a new factory?' huh! what a blind fact. Already stated above is… "development was done by GM Mercosur…at a cost of US$400 million"

So?

• LorenzooOOOoooOOO on Aug 25, 2009 at 5:41 am

helloew !!!!!

All gentleman here…..we are discussing right ? So keep in relax motion and always cheers ……………..=)

Torque is very important for acceleration issue. The more higher torque in low RPM mean the more faster a vehicle can achive from 0km/h to some what km/h while it will then depand on how much HP in what RPM..

Dont gad0-gad0 la u all da besa sume..always think positively..

But for the pic chevy design…nasib baik la diorang tak bawak masuk malaysia…Malaysian will think it….what kind is this..?? ( pelik )

But act they want to built the new modern vehicle design ( SUV + MPV + Compact car = ^%&^%$%% ???????????

BTW in my opinion chevrolet is ok but why they not sell their model that was sell in america in Asia market ???

Keep thinking…………………………………………………………………..

• it smell korean….run …its hideous

• Brazillians love Chevy's small cars so expect this one to be a big hit there..I think its Sedan counterpart which is the Sail is in China…

• Yoohoo on Sep 01, 2009 at 3:56 pm

The front looks nice. The back not so.

I dig C6 or Z06 or ZR1

but we'll never see any here, will we? =P

• Bruno Erberelli on Oct 15, 2009 at 9:02 am

Hi there!

I'm a regular costumer from Brazil, and all I have to say is:

We do not love small cars, our government taxes over 45% the real price of the car, so basically we are not able to buy any other car then small ones, for example, Honda Civic cost in USA something like U$20,000.00 and here you pay U$35,000.00 and we have a factory here… This sucks…

About Agile, it's perfect for our actual economy scenario, it's going to be a hit here. :-) But it's only available with 1.4L engine right now, I'll wait for a 1.8L engine, then maybe I'll think of buying that.

Here in Brazil, things are slow… but it's getting better… I hope it continues that way.

bye!

• Elton on Jan 17, 2010 at 8:28 am

I am Brazilian as Bruno and share with him the view that the cars in Brazil are highly taxed. To give you an example, Agile price here is like $ 22,000, compared with Aveo, as you did, it would cost $ 14,000 or less. What would you buy in the U.S. with $ 22,000?

Another important point is that compact cars in Brazil are very well equipped, technology is quickly inserted into low-cost cars to the market.

Aesthetically, the Agile is very polished and beautiful, I agree with some of you about its back, something that has happened since the Celta, I do not know if you know it.

What about the unfortunate Boo's comment about Brazilians loving small cars. I think you should learn once and for all that a Hummer is so unnecessary for your lives and for the environment.

Perhaps the economic crisis will once and for all change this stupid way of life.