BHPetrol RON95 Fuel Survey Results

BHPetrol Infiniti 95 2xIf you recall, there was a fuel grade survey posted up a few weeks ago on this blog. Respondents were asked a few questions about RON95 and RON97 as well as what they think the difference between the two fuel octane types are. At the end, you were asked whether you wanted to participate in a product test. The fuel company that commissioned the survey was actually BHPetrol and a number of participants were picked.

Read after the jump to check out the survey results as well as the results of the product test. Of course some of the questions called for an open-ended answer and it’s not feasible to include the thousands of replies here so we only hav the initial multiple-choice questions as well as the results of the product test.

Question 1
Question 2
Question 3
Question 4

Click icon on the top right of document below for enlarged view

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nabill on Sep 01, 2009 at 11:54 am

such a basic survey with such simple questions! nt sure wat r thy trying to achieve with those results

• Paul Tan on Sep 01, 2009 at 11:58 am

I think it was for their own internal usage, that was the impression I got when I was briefed. They wanted to gauge how many people actually knew what RON95 was… it helped them in their decisions of forecasting the split demand between 95 and 97 during the transitional period (before today) where the price gap was so narrow.

• azrai on Sep 01, 2009 at 3:49 pm

People still thinking those 92RON fuel are leaded (with plumbum) until now. pity malaysian.

• fadzly on Sep 01, 2009 at 4:02 pm

nice one paul

• obertan on Sep 01, 2009 at 8:11 pm

Paul, no news about primax95?

I read about it somewhere in Metro few weeks ago…

• primax95 already in some petrol station now.

MRR2 at kepong is one of it..

• Arvind on Sep 01, 2009 at 8:25 pm

i tried shell's RON 95 with my two month old pug 207cc,and to my suprise it gives better mileage and performance…….previously,as what most malaysians were thinking,i was skeptical about using RON 95,but after having a look at my pug's fuel cap sticker,which says "use RON 95 or RON 98",i tried it……..

the most annoying thing was,those petrol station staffs were literally "making noise and scolding" me after they saw me filling RON 95 for my car…they were telling me that RON 95 will "musnahkan enjin kereta encik….ooo,kereta encik mahal,tak boleh pakai petrol murah…blah blah blah…."…..

-_- " what a mentality…….

• kimi_ on Sep 01, 2009 at 8:58 pm

I tried and feels that the CALTEX 95 is best…not much different from Ron97

probably because of the good addictives it use…..not much caltex station in Malaysia thought :(

BUT Shell 95 SUCKS like HELL….BIG time

• MegaMoe on Sep 01, 2009 at 9:00 pm

PT,

I drive a Ford Focus 2.0S and hv not tried Ron95 as the stations i punped at did not carry it as of the last time I pump.

Do you know if RON95 will be usable on my car and if it gives betetr milage as claimed by Arvind?

• I dunno what the fuss all about, RON92 or RON95 is all acceptable to most cars dont think it makes much noticeable diferrence. I used RON 89 before in USA and the car run like normal, why pay more for RON97 ? Save your money for a better meal instead.

• kethon27 on Sep 01, 2009 at 9:40 pm

I doubted all the comments given in the document saying how good the petrol is or anyone gives comment on petrol. I tested all sorts of petrol brand and gave me the same feeling, no different..(my car is 6months old, 1.3cc)

Or I need to get a sport car only I can feel the different? i was wondering it is psychology mentality or what?

I mean it’s like BHP came out a new ingredient with brand new logo product and Ads just to influence ppl.

Sooner should I see Shell with their V-Power F1 or Petronas with their Primax-RacingEdition, maybe Caltex TripleOfYourCurrentMileage*** !

Marketing strategy…

Fuel efficiency or more power or good mileage is very subjective,

when you drive slow then you said fuel efficiency and gives good mileage.

When you do sudden acceleration and your car roar like a Lion King and reaches redline within few secs, you say “Got Power”

Some said this petrol that petrol quieter and smoother, it depends how you drive lah…

I have tried all brand of petrol even different brand of RON95, as long I don do any funny driving stunt, I got similar mileage travel figure for all brand even the V-Power..

***Only works if you don’t drive your car more than 1 hour, change new tire every 5K KM, drive not more than 90KM/H bla bla bla…

• Arvind and MegaMoe,

I think the improved mileage and performance is just due to your engine being better run-in compared to when new. To my understanding, a different RON grade does not provide any performance gain, and even if it does, it should be very minimal. A higher RON grade should only benefit high compression motors. This is as the performance of your motor is largely down to the tuning. So to get more power out of higher RON ratings, you'll need an ECU remap to benefit from it. Although it must be said that some European high-end vehicles have special equipment to detect fuel grade and can adjust the ECU map on the fly for more power.

However, if you use a lower RON rating than that recommended by the manufacturer, you will get poor performance and the inevitable engine damage as pinging would occur.

Hope that clears things up for you. Cheers.

• Owh, forgot to add that the reason you get more power from fuels such as Shell's V-power is due to the fuel additives, not the RON grade.

• bobdbilder on Sep 02, 2009 at 2:54 am

Dyno test it for goodness sake. In case we forget, its the 21st century. Why do people go on and on and on and on about which is relatively 'feels' better. There is a way to get the facts, its staring you people in the face, but nobody wants to admit it. Duh!

• i think from previous has already said about engine knocking sound.

simple can see the different is engine knocking

for those normal drive car. no problem at all for ron95, for those modify car yes will be knocking. but u can tune it til no knocking for sure but take times to fix. and sure is less power but only can found out from dyno but not ur mental to feel it.

but for mod car better stick to ron97 will not cause ur currect setting .

so i hope those gas dude try to ask for public comment. please look for those who play car and mod car. instead of looking for normal user with un mod car.

btw. here i can tell that. until today what car u using are fine using ron95.

cuz thailand they are using Ron95 and there have no ron97 until today and u think they dont have lambo and ferrari? their car still drinkin the ron95.

• xzibit on Sep 02, 2009 at 3:37 am

paul .. if u dont mind .. can u find the types of car than cannot use ron 95 …thanks paul

• shoryuken on Sep 02, 2009 at 5:05 am

It is not save some $$ for not pumping RON97, it is the way it is being used against consumer. The Ron95 should replace Ron95 with that price, but it is introduce to replace Ron97 and uplift the price of Ron97. When the petrol price is low at $40+ per barrel, introduce the tax to say when the price is up, it is used to subsidize, etc, but how about now? the Ron97 is increased! It is similar of introducing the Proton to the market by adding tax in all the imported car, and tell all the nation, why pay more for an imported car, you can pay less using local junk. It is the consumer rights being abolished by implementing policies that is unfair to the products there is no alternative, since sadly, I dont think this country's now how to survive in competition. 2010? ha ha ha.

• keluangman on Sep 02, 2009 at 5:28 pm

HAHAHA…. this survey looks like those survey done by FORM 1 secondary students. Funny they didn't ask, "Are you willing to pay RON 95 fuel at RON 97 price?"

• ong chin aun on Sep 02, 2009 at 6:11 pm

I tried used RON92 in my 1997 Iswara 1.3 cc. last year. Result the engine knock at the . More obvious when you arrived at a place stop the engine and parked there and after you come back the engine sometime does not seem to start. Need to start few time and knocking sound can be heard. Octane 92 i think is not suitable for my car. of course, once it start it run well.

For RON 95 iI think with higher octant number it should be no problem. I will try it again and save .

• Why can't these fuel companies do a real comparison, take 2 identical new cars, fill both tanks full with RON 95 and RON 97 and drive both cars around a track until empty, see which goes farther…that will please the man in the street. Stop asking questions just prove it to us.

• phew, the problem is our malaysia RON95 really same with RON 95 in other country. see the diesel quality in malaysia, u will know how "boleh" malaysia is…

Most japan car can use RON89, which provided very similar performance n efficiency while u use RON98. Dun curi makan petrol maker, just give us really RON 95 that is good enough.

we have no choice lah, boss said which one cheaper then we will use, because cheap in price, we r happy.

• 95 97 have the same energy. same mpg, if the engine design allowable.

higher ron will give a SAFER operation for extreme performance engine or highly tuned engine

energy wise per quantity of fuel is the same,

other than that is additive.

• siapa tahu daihatsu charade aura 1.3i boleh pakai RON95 ke tak boleh?

• daihatsu charade boleh pakai lah.

• there’s this new bhp infiniti advance available in kayu ara station, anyone know anything about it?

• izhar on May 13, 2011 at 6:59 pm

ride a brand new bike 150cc and above then you can feel difference between all avauilable fuel in Malaysia.. provided the ambient temperature and humidity is same…