Gordon Murray Design’s T.25 City Car: Seating Position Configurations

Gordon Murray iCentre
Click for enlarged image

Some say Gordon Murray Design’s T.25 City Car will change the way we look at small compact city cars, and also at how they’re designed and built. The T.25 is designed to be licensable to people who want to build them so we could even see a potential Apple iCar if they thought there was a market for it.

The latest bit of info is the car’s seating layout, which you can see in the newly released image found above (click it to view an enlarged view). The T.25’s driver sits in a central driving position which Gordon Murray calls ‘iCentre’. Very Apple-like isn’t it?

Murray is clearly a fan of the centre seating position as his McLaren F1 also featured a similiar position, with the driver in the middle and two passengers flanking him seated rearwards.

You can see the various seating positions allow a combination of three adults or have this varied with kids and storage space. In the full ‘shopping mode’ where all the non-driver space is used for goods, Gordon Murray Design claims a maximum of 750 litres of storage space. The car does not have a gear lever so you can forget about a stick shift, instead it has push buttons that say Forward, Reverse and Neutral.

GMD also says the iStream method of producing the T.25 and future models from the company will reduce the cost of a typical car factory by 80%. This is all quite interesting. Will the T.25 make obsolete the automobile we know today?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• l3ryan on Sep 04, 2009 at 9:09 am

Interesting.. BigMac reborn as MiniMac :)

Judging from the looks of it, it should be slightly longer than a Smart Fortwo and slightly shorter than a Toyota iQ?

• jimmee on Sep 04, 2009 at 2:07 pm

The 80% factory cost reduction is interesting. If it's happen, probably we could expect more brands to come in (minus China makes). And Mercedes would be interested to re-build their Smart brand.

• nabill on Sep 04, 2009 at 4:06 pm

getting into a proper seating position for the driver is the uncomfortable part…how much u need to stretch?

• Muzill on Sep 04, 2009 at 5:41 pm

It is already use on Mc Laren F1, one of my favourite car, so nothing so awe about the sitting position.

• initial R on Sep 04, 2009 at 6:04 pm

Same as Mc Laren F1, just on small city car only.

• alldisc on Sep 04, 2009 at 6:35 pm

Gordon designed the McLaren F1 back in 1994 such seating configuration is not surprising at all.

• chain on Sep 04, 2009 at 7:05 pm

jimmee said

The 80% factory cost reduction is interesting. If it’s happen, probably we could expect more brands to come in (minus China makes). And Mercedes would be interested to re-build their Smart brand.

as according to that dude,china cant have good brand?..how come other country like india those should come in but china brand cant..he is quite bias,china technology is far more advance than alot of country..

• Johnny Boy on Sep 04, 2009 at 7:47 pm

I'd once work in P1 and had proposed this concept to RnD Manager in P1. This can eliminate extra development cost due to variance in RH and LH car specs. P1 being P1, he just laughed and rubbished it away.

Moral of the story: P1 and its staff needs creative, innovative, daring to dare attitiude kind of people. With their current old/spiderweb mentality, for sure they are destined to doom. U can witness during every new P1 product launch etc., u can notice that all of the product designer/staff/head (Styling Dept etc.) and also their bosses dress up like "kampung" guy with no taste cuma syok sendiri. Some of them even pakai kasut koboi, mana ada orang this new millineum pakai kasut koboi anymore….!!!! People wear Gucci, Prada, Ferragamo or at least Hush Puppies or Clarks….

• chain said,

September 4, 2009 @ 11:05 am

"china technology is far more advance than alot of country.."

if this is true, y the endless blatant plagiarism? n have u seen the build quality of the chinese cars available in malaysia especially the A160, QQ n Tiggo? it's really a joke… i know there are better models around but the fact is they still have a long long way to go, even when it comes to going the luxury way they have to photocopy the RR Phantom….

• nabill on Sep 04, 2009 at 9:09 pm

'china technology is far more advance than alot of country'

hahaha….after so more than 20yrs of market libralisation , thy yet to have a proper brand other than copying this n that till human morals and decency have eroded….take out all foriegn factories and investments thr n basically yhe country collapses

• Some shoes Johnny boy says probably made in Asia or Malaysia..Serdang?

• chain on Sep 09, 2009 at 9:13 pm

'take out all foriegn factories and investments thr n basically yhe country collapses'

any country can survive that?…use ur brain..and u sure is 20 years?..have some research before u type it in the public..that will shame you…in the early time,the Japanese also copy europe product, u can ask ur dad when he was young is that japanese product is the product which is so-called no quality product?..and you can say wira,saga n perdua, naza, inokom product not take japanese outdated warehouse product and take it as treasure and sell to us?.. they have space craft,jets,nuclear weapon…is that not a prove of advance?..they hav rocket not tumpang ppl rocket n eat roti canai or nasi lemak in space to show m'sia boleh…