First shots of new McLaren MP4-12C

McLaren MP4-12c

Its name definitely doesn’t roll off your tongue as well as its predecessor the “F1”, and at first glance its looks doesn’t really spark any excitement at least in this car enthusiast, but I can’t wait to find out what this baby can do – apparently a 0 to 100km/h acceleration time of under 3.5 seconds is possible.

McLaren will build 1,000 units of the MP4-12C annually at a new factory at the same site the group builds its F1 cars. The factory is expected to have an initial peak capacity of 4,000 cars a year, four times more than the planned production for the new McLaren when it is launched in 2011 with a price tag of between US$200k to US$290k, higher than its Ferrari or Lamborghini rivals.

McLaren MP4-12c

What we know right now is that the MP4-12C’s chassis is constructed from a carbon fiber composite tub constructed in a single piece. They call this the Carbon MonoCell. Body panels are also carbon fiber. For McLaren, the MP4-12C is supposed to be value for money. Now how can this be at these prices?

Here’s why. When it comes to fast cars, there are a few ‘segments’. The McLaren F1 is priced in the ‘core’ segment which includes cars like the 458 Italia, the Gallardo, 911 Turbo, DB9, etc. There are higher segments where cars like the 612 Scaglietti sit, or the ‘ultimate’ group where you get cars like the McLaren SLR, McLaren F1, the Veyron, Paganis and Koenigseggs. McLaren says they are bringing technology from the ‘ultimate’ group into this new ‘core’ product.

McLaren MP4-12c

In the engine bay (mid-mounted) sits a new engine called the McLaren M838T which McLaren says it developed in-house – a 3.8 litre twin-turbocharged V8 mated to a 7-speed twin clutch system making 600 horsepower and 587Nm of torque (80% said to be available from 2,000rpm). The V8 uses a flat-plane crank so it’ll sound more shrieky Ferrari V8 and less burbly American V8. Its redline is pegged at 8,500 – forced induction and high revving in one engine!

Look after the jump for more pix of the new McLaren.

VIDEO: McLaren executives on the new MP4-12C

VIDEO: Jay Leno and the new McLaren MP4-12C

[zenphotopress number=99 album=477]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• buy 1 free 1 on Sep 09, 2009 at 9:33 pm

can mclaren gimme a test drive…plsss

• Ariff on Sep 09, 2009 at 9:51 pm

why does it look so much like the new Lotus Evora??

• Erm…i think it same like one of the Volkswagon concept car…oso in orange color…a little bit of Lotus Evora look-a-like…

• emailer on Sep 09, 2009 at 10:15 pm

not that special in term of styling

• The steering looks cheap

• 4G63tDSM on Sep 09, 2009 at 10:31 pm

I was thinking Evora as well when I first saw it.

• Hmmm…looks like a cross between Ascari and Evora.

Nothing special to look at which is dissapointing at that price level.

Bring back Gordon Murray!

• Hmmm…looks like a cross between Ascari and Evora.

Nothing special to look at which is disappointing at that price level.

Bring back Gordon Murray!

• Paul Tan on Sep 09, 2009 at 10:49 pm

I was also instantly reminded of the Evora. Maybe its a British design thing.

• rally_fan on Sep 09, 2009 at 11:11 pm

i'm most impressed by the fact that they use practically all bespoke items, and also the whole concept of building an efficient supercar.

• lambov12 on Sep 09, 2009 at 11:12 pm

it looks like Audi R8 to me ..

• l3ryan on Sep 09, 2009 at 11:18 pm

Without Gordon Murray's midas touch, I feel that something's missing from this Mclaren… :(

• between this and the Nissan GTR, who do u guys think will win?

• James on Sep 10, 2009 at 12:32 am

This car is small! unlike other supercars like Bugatti and Enzo, Mclaren still prefer weight savings over comfort. I'm kinda surprise that McLaren didn't stick with their unique 3 seat config.

The V8 with flat crank will feel like an italian revvy engine. With modern tuning, it is possible to get low rev torque but I expect this engine to be peaky still. It won't be as bad as the crazy CCX. but it will crave for high RPM.

Looks wise, it is good looking but not very unique, I'm guessing that it is competing at the same price level as the 458 or Gallardo. Rather than the MORE expensive price of Zonda or Bugatti. Which explains the looks… I guess.

• mystvearn on Sep 10, 2009 at 12:43 am

I think the new design is more about complying with safety regulations than what they really intended. The Mclaren F1 does not pass today's car regulation on safety I think

• sharviin on Sep 10, 2009 at 12:49 am

disappointing….

• Black Dog on Sep 10, 2009 at 1:07 am

If it can do 0 – 100km under 3.5secs, might as well name it McLaren 'Bolt"

• theanswer on Sep 10, 2009 at 1:36 am

nowhere near the old and legendary mclaren f1..but the design looks more 'luxury' than the the f1…mclaren f1 looks more like a racing car(unique driving position remember?)..especially the LM version.but this one can be considered luxury than can compete with beautiful ferrari and porsche.

• mingyuyu on Sep 10, 2009 at 1:42 am

WOOOOOOOOoooooooooooooooooooooooooow

• Head Hunter on Sep 10, 2009 at 2:49 am

the design looks a bit like ferrari 458 italia..

• it actually reminded me of a koenigsegg at the front and the side profile, especially the shape of the window frame is really lambo-like.. but the rear is pure mclaren f1 originality… overall look is quite cool though, especially the interior… miss the funky middle seating position though..

• MiniCar on Sep 10, 2009 at 4:16 am

not really fantastic with that price, why all expensive sports cars have that similar look?…. to me this McLaren guy is not even worth100k usd, i can buy 3 better looking Audi R8 for usd300k!

• Neo.S on Sep 10, 2009 at 4:20 am

hmmm abit disappointed i tot it still have 3 seater but now back to 2 seater. styling wise . yeah look like Evora…..

• Not impress

• wow, same displacement as GTR but uses a v8 instead.

so it develops 600hp.

so if i switch from a v6 to a v8 with the same displacement, power will go up?

(exclude agressive tuning)

• khimfoh on Sep 10, 2009 at 6:05 am

Doesn't look as menacing as the Mclaren F1 road car in my opinion. Looks kinda 'soft' and 'girlish'.

• Automotive Jury on Sep 10, 2009 at 6:28 am

i don't know..i more likely Ferrari..even they are not fast..Ferrari know how to make a real super car..passion, heritage, and soul of the design..also the feeling when you drive a car..my opinion (^_^)

• Ferruccio on Sep 10, 2009 at 6:30 am

Though styling is a little so-so, if you look closer and understand the tech that they are offering, the price point makes sense and they are indeed offering 'value' If you have actually read the article, you'll notice that this is going against 911 Turbo, Gallardo, 458 Italia etc.. Entry level, dare I say it, 'bread & butter ' supercars.

This is NOT and Enzo, Koenigsegg, Pagani. NEITHER is this a McLaren F1 successor! McLaren is planning a 3 model line up and this is not their most sophisticated, expensive model range. NONE of the cars that it is targeted at(Gallardo, 911 turbo, 458 Italia etc) feature a carbon tub. ENZO techhnology for 458 Italia price anyone?

Therefore it does represent 'value for money' and they are right to price it above its rivals. The McLaren branding also lends assurance that it will not dissapoint.. hopefully. We will know for certain when it starts to hit the road. I totally agree with their concept for the MP4-12C including their choice of powerplant. For now at least, this looks like a lesson for other builders on how to build proper supercars

• can't say astonishing looks design, probably due to the performance & market. Anyhow, it just looks too soft to me, nothing so significant or superb like the old Mclaren F1.

I wonder probably lamborghini Reventon was the only one that can really surprise me.

• frankly, i think this car did 'borrow' design cues from Ferrari 458 Italia, Audi R8 n Lotus Evora…

• mitlanevo on Sep 10, 2009 at 7:29 am

not much wow factors on the design, but its a good looking car!

• Annihilated on Sep 10, 2009 at 7:54 am

What I'm going to say next is strictly a joke people. So do not take it seriously..

.. remember? they have successfully planted a spy in Ferrari once. They might have have spies in every other manufacturer as well. So, in term of design, it's not suprising they have many resemblance with others a lil bit here and there. But the technology superiority is guaranteed as they have their own and others to refer to..

Again, do not take the bull. I've warn you. Peace.. :p

• CocoBear on Sep 10, 2009 at 10:42 am

I wish they stick to the original sketch that resembles Honda CRX cutie. Nothing to shout at.

• roti naan1 on Sep 10, 2009 at 11:56 am

Wah, all carbon fiber stuff? If crashed, the damaged parts gets replaced, not repaired. Kinda expensive affair. Anyway, super rich ppl wont even feel the pinch.

The car's performance is impressive, but the look of the car isn't.

• subhero on Sep 10, 2009 at 4:47 pm

wow, impresive..

tgk je lah…

• nighttrain on Sep 10, 2009 at 4:56 pm

Don't you get it, folks? This car is not the same level as Enzo or SLR or McL F1. This is lower level. Same level as 458 Italia or R8. But McL added some stuff that is almost same quality as Murcielago or Pagani Zonda or Enzo. This makes it 'value for money'. So compare within it's category only.

So, from it's position in the market, this car is pretty good. Rip off from Evora I know but faster. British engineering quality is questionable too. No gearshift, means paddle only, ok lah. Hopefully some importers will bring it in so we can go touch it at showrooms hehe.

• JULIAN_LEE on Sep 10, 2009 at 4:56 pm

BMW still better

• *sigh*

no V12? :(

• Gajen on Sep 10, 2009 at 6:42 pm

nth special….exterior from lotus and ascari….worst part is interior is from carrera gt…exactly the same…i still prefer the 1989 mclaren f1

• Ferruccio on Sep 10, 2009 at 7:00 pm

Are you sure the Mc F1 existed in 1989?

• amarjie on Sep 10, 2009 at 7:20 pm

Somehow it's looks like a combination of shrunken Saleen S7 (body design & color), front part like new design language of Mazda, looks like an evora too as well as arash farboud…

very 80s…

FUGLY…

• amarjie on Sep 10, 2009 at 7:25 pm

lupa pulak..

no wonder godon murray say this one is doom to fail & infact he already into another project to create another supercar…

• Han!h on Sep 10, 2009 at 7:45 pm

yes guys,i also think that it does look like the 458 Italia…

but,this one is prettier..

• Jayce on Sep 10, 2009 at 9:21 pm

Nice car. Wish that I have the money to own it. :P

• azrai on Sep 10, 2009 at 10:36 pm

Looks like it is a modified Evora.

• Jaybond on Sep 10, 2009 at 10:52 pm

The only thing that looks original & gives the real visual impact ,is the rear portion (taillights).

Side profile, more like a hybrid of Ascari and Lambo Gallardo though. Interior, could be better off with two tone colour.

Mclaren F1 was styled by Peter Stevens, Gordon Murray was mainly the chassis designer.

• amarjie on Sep 11, 2009 at 12:29 am

but it's still look too generic…

• 4G63tDSM on Sep 11, 2009 at 12:46 am

I would think LOTUS designers would be scrambling to redesign the Esprit….

The MP4 could have very easily passed as the new Esprit.

I had the Esprit replacement in mind and NOT the Evora…

And whatever happended to Noble and its M15……? They went bust?

• ahmad norman on Sep 11, 2009 at 3:14 am

design like fuct…price like fuct…

• LotusLover on Sep 12, 2009 at 3:53 am

look like Datsun 120Y!! huhuhuuuhuuuh!! design not attractive enough. Hope Mclaren do better for the look… like Mclaren F1

• no face…. i mean if we saw a new ferrari for the first time, we instantly know its a ferrari, but not to tis one

• Ford_GT on Sep 13, 2009 at 8:17 am

Glad to hear Mclaren back for good after these years of absent from motor industries except for Gordon Murray who responsible for famous Mclaren F1 car….pretty sad never heard from him again, period. Anyhow I could see new 2010 Mclaren concept design were derived from bit of Lotus Evora and Ferrari elements. Hopefully it can beat the odds when comes to racing with other rivals.

• farid on Sep 13, 2009 at 7:44 pm

everything is superb..except the brand logo..alamak macam pakai powerpoint and design it in like..10 minutes!! Why not just stick to the name McLarren with own font..

• bella italia on Sep 14, 2009 at 4:42 pm

guys…no worries…i thinks tis is the last mclaren production…because after this brawn will taking over mclaren n join with mercedes….hahaha….

• Sad to see people in this car. They really need the attention. How sad.

• Nincy on Mar 17, 2011 at 4:43 am

Mclaren deliberately used the new 458 to assess their new car on. That is why performance figures picked from the air were used. As soon as the 458 figures become public Mclaren shoved a bigger TC onto their engine marginally bettering the 458 performance – I know I used to work there. When it came to design they were gobsmacked at the sight of the new 458. Some of us were urging a completely new redesign. In the end it wasn’t to be so. I’m afraid this could be their achilles heal. Read JC’s comments in TOP GEAR magazine – he had nothing to with its design but his last line is very poignant.