Hyundai Sonata YF gets world unveiling in Korea!

Hyundai Sonata YF

The new Sonata YF has been unveiled in Korea and I must say the specs list looks very good indeed. The cost of development to Hyundai was 400 billion won (RM1.15 billion) over a timespan of 4 years, and I must say the results look pretty good so far.

Not sure how long it’ll take to recoup costs but the car will be priced in Korea at 21.3 million Won (RM61,350) to 25.95 million Won (RM74,800).

Hyundai Sonata YF

The Sonata has a particularly powerful 2.0 litre engine from the Theta II family, which is a development of the GEMA world engine. Variants of the GEMA world engine are also found in Chrysler cars and locally in the Mitsubishi Lancer and Kia Optima.

The difference is with this latest stage of tune, horsepower and torque figures have been increase and are now even more impressive. The engine can now make a peak power output of 165 PS at 6,200rpm and a peak torque of 198Nm at 4,600rpm, which is very close to the 100Nm per litre ratio.

Hyundai Sonata YF

It’s one of the highest torque outputs available in non-premium segment engines without direct injection. This engine is mated to a 6-speed automatic, which is also the best in class so far in its segment (both competitors have 4 or 5-speeders).

Although only one engine option has been unveiled now, Hyundai says a 2.4 litre version with direct injection will be unveiled in January next year when it presents the US market version. Small engines like a 2.0 will never sell over there.

Hyundai Sonata YF

The body has a four-door coupe-ish look to the roofline, and most people are instantly reminded of the Passat CC when a few shots were leaked in the past few weeks. Hyundai calls this new design language “fluidic sculpture”. It’s designed to project a more youthful image for the car, so Hyundai probably intends it to be more Mazda 6 than Toyota Camry.

Vehicle Dynamic Control is standard, and there are also other driver assist features such as Hill-Start Assist Control and Brake Assist. The car also has the Korean market Mozen telematics system. This is not really likely to make its way anywhere outside of South Korea for now but its pretty interesting. It’s basically like BMW ConnectedDrive – the car can access various information systems via the WCDMA mobile network. You get features such as SOS calls and Mozen Autocare anti-theft tracking.

Look after the jump for a video and more shots of the YF Sonata.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=502]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• scanzew on Sep 19, 2009 at 12:00 am

6 speeds?!?!?! rapid reducing fuel consumption hahha

• Mazda 3 MPS on Sep 19, 2009 at 12:03 am

the front looks bad…..its a copycat car…..volkswagen passat cc styling…the interior from a nissan (japan models)….but a nice car nonetheless

• ismail on Aug 01, 2010 at 2:12 pm

Just little bit of similarity. Sonata more fluid and organic while Passat is more geometric.

• Hasbullah on Sep 19, 2009 at 12:03 am

very impressive indeed…

• fandn on Sep 19, 2009 at 12:10 am

This will definitely sell well if it's sold at the region of 120K to 130K. The front end looks very fierce indeed.

• eshangar on Sep 19, 2009 at 12:14 am

wow…1.15 billion to develop a car?….

• common sensor on Sep 19, 2009 at 12:21 am

very garang image … unfortunately its a Hyundai (I still don't go with Korean cars .. sorry)

• George on Sep 19, 2009 at 12:25 am

Very nice.When will it arrive in Malaysia?Hope the price is right.

• i dont think its going to sell at 120-130k range.

• CARing on Sep 19, 2009 at 12:29 am

Interior good…like the gadgets…but exterior is a thumb down

• Vanquish on Sep 19, 2009 at 12:35 am

Why does the design cues of the car keep reminding me of the Mercedes CLS?

• Auto_talk on Sep 19, 2009 at 12:41 am

No doubts it is a nice car. Hope the interior is spacious and price reasonable for a Korean car.

• San Peng Road on Sep 19, 2009 at 12:54 am

Malaysia car update la cepat! don't delay and make any accuse nanti rakyat Malaysia say Malaysia cars copycat!

Aiyaa..

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri

Maaf In and Out

Paultan ur rocks!

• Black Dog on Sep 19, 2009 at 1:44 am

Looks classy and upmarket. Improves by leaps & bounds.

Just rm60 – rm70 for this baby in Korea? 2.0L? With their salary? Just compare with Persona lah!

• arian on Sep 19, 2009 at 2:01 am

nice interior, outlook can be more better, overall handsome than camry but lost for new accord.

• Rambo on Sep 19, 2009 at 2:05 am

Wowwwwww,nice man!!

• oricon666 on Sep 19, 2009 at 2:23 am

why get korean car if you getting the same build quality as proton?

they are just good in styling, even that involved a lot of copy here & there & make a "chap cheng@ ?? " car….

If plan to get the same headache.. why not chose P1?

• rodimus on Sep 19, 2009 at 2:25 am

Wow!!! This car is one of the most beautiful Korean car til now!!!! N just selling about RM60k to RM70k++ is very affordatable, but we Malaysian dun ever dream 2 have that kinda price….. T-T

• Alanore Chong on Sep 19, 2009 at 2:26 am

personally I think the front grille is a bit over-done, but the air-cond for rear passengers is indeed a ++

• Caddilac on Sep 19, 2009 at 2:27 am

Proton is so far behind Korean… I don't really think Proton can catch up with Korean within the future 10 years. Hyundai-Kia products are so competitive nowadays…

• seat-belt on Sep 19, 2009 at 2:27 am

4 me, it looks "biasa-biasa" only…it looks like honda+mercedes….btw, it is a nice car..

• Integra on Sep 19, 2009 at 2:40 am

Wow…very impressive…korean cars are getting better and better…very can't wait to test drive this…

• oricon666 on Sep 19, 2009 at 2:49 am

<>

Agreed… thatz true.. "Proton is so far behind Korean"… as long as proton still lead by bunch of ppl who dun have the world market as their target & set quota here & there in their business….. they will still left behind…

but i was talking about build quality… same-same lah… seldom heard Korean car owner praise Korean car also.. all broke down as the rate of proton… some model even worst…. i'm saying both proton & korean car share the same bad quality… so, why spend more for a "better looking" bad quality car?

Persona doing good nowadayz right? correct me if i'm wrong…

• mystvearn on Sep 19, 2009 at 2:53 am

Looks like almost near Accord. Maybe next generation will be on par with Honda

• PloTong on Sep 19, 2009 at 2:58 am

will this be re badge as Plotong Perdana ?

• peroempat on Sep 19, 2009 at 3:58 am

The angry crab crap camry.

• whiteeye on Sep 19, 2009 at 4:05 am

I don't think so it will rebadge it, this is thier own product, just remind you of Proton saga n wira, that's make mitsubishi can't sell hear.

• chain on Sep 19, 2009 at 4:19 am

omg..the side remind me of CLS class..the design of the door those..the front too..especially the headlight position and design..

• Maserati on Sep 19, 2009 at 4:20 am

Wow,for the FIRST time I am impressed by Hyundai!

Hope it drives as well as its looks!

• Say what you want to say but this car will turn heads and it's definitely better looking than the current bland and boring Sonata.

If only Proton can come up with a design like this then they have a winner…

Looks like Hyundai exceeding their own expectations…good job Hyundai!

• @oricon666

i have a hyundai accent 2005.4 years driving it no problems in it watsoever,no break downs etc.but interior quality is okok,the plastic start to peel off recently.fc no nd to say coz hyundai from those year u noe la

i blif they have imporved more recently

• and note tht those who complained bout issues with the quality are ckd models

• mycar on Sep 19, 2009 at 4:40 am

me too the first impressed by korean made. I will buy this car if it is priced at rm70k here

• BrakeFader on Sep 19, 2009 at 4:41 am

Compare proton quality with hyundai? Are you kidding here?

Do a google search on hyundai and awards on quality.

• libralcl on Sep 19, 2009 at 4:55 am

The price……ahh….for this car…..ahhh….

• tis cud b a poor man alternative to Passat CC / Merc CLS

• BrakeFader on Sep 19, 2009 at 5:17 am

Zen, those plastic peeling from your accent interior must be those cheap looking ah beng accessories from kah bintang. They really make the car looks cheap. Hopefully this new sonata doesn't get fitted with fake exhaust.

• MazdaAstina on Sep 19, 2009 at 5:20 am

Any other Hyundai Sonata owners out there whom want to give their 2 sens worth on the built quality, handling and maintenance of their cars is greatly appreciated. Like a woman, looks is one thing, quality, handling & maintenance is another… if u get my drift!

• well, i know i cant afford the passat cc which looks similar. but if i had the cash, i wont mind driving a korean made nice car.

shake that stereotype, we all make a better decision without it.

i'm willing to at least give it a try, evaluate for myself.

of course as for china cars, stay away from them with a 10 feet pole. owned an LMG before, regret forever.

• unimagine on Sep 19, 2009 at 6:27 am

I have been driving an elantra 1.8 end 2003 since new till now and did not spend one cent above RM550 at any of the scheduled maintenance trips at KahBintang. For your info I still drive pen-kl over 160 each time constant at a car close to 6 years old, touch wood, no abnormality and a fantastic cruiser. A passenger once commented the engine revs at 2.1k at 90kmh, it must be really fuels saving..which my comment would be it is normal for a 1.8 car. Touch wood again, it never let me down before at any of those *constant* high speed cruise which takes me 2hr 20 mins from kl-juru toll. i am looking for something that would give the same type of comfort, icy cold a/c and ultra decent sound system and first & foremost a reliable vehicle that never let down. will post more when i get the time. this yf needs to test driven. specs is impressing already

• that pic in red reminds me of the CLS350 promo shot when it was 1st launched… nice curves…

• Korean's car like this must face the reality of Malaysians or ASEAN (minus Singaporeans) preference (tendency to Teutonic and Japanese brands).

If they're really serious to give Malaysians' consideration; they must sell this D-segment car for not more than RM110k, with 6-speeds auto tranny, even better if equipped with ISG (idle stop and go to reduce FC) or DIESEL maybe will do for Sime Darby Hyundai. BTW SD pricing too unrealistic as the pricing aped the Japanese cars.

The fact they must admit: resale value of Koreans even worse than malaysian made cars. Kia Optima can be yours for merely sub-RM80k despite of initial price over RM110k a year ago. Sonata not very far from it cousin, Kia Optima. Never dream as Camry contender yet until a turbodiesel or FC-efficient equipment offered in their lineups.

• nice design overall..

somehow it reminds of different styling cues from various manufacturers :

front : combination of latest s-class + lexus + toyota camry + mitsuoka "snake"-looked sports car

side & roofline: merc cls

rear & taillight combination : jaguar

• zanggief on Sep 19, 2009 at 7:26 am

with price tag of around 70k to get such a nice piece of machine in korea…it is just good enough to obtain B segment car over here…

• so far, my 7 year old sonata is reliable, no major issues. Parts are available & maintenance is acceptable.

those older hyundais sold by kah bintang have lots of unneed accessories, eg emblems, a way for kah bintang to jack up the prices. go compare with hyundais overseas and you notice these 'add ons' .

just the japanese have toyota, honda & nissan & the germans BMW, Audi & Merc, the koreans have kia & hyundai, don't compare kias & hyundais, they are totally different in terms of quality & make & the local distributors are different too.

and when comparing cars, compare those launched in the same year but most jokers compare a 2009 honda civic & a 2001 kia spectra.

the sonata NF in malaysia is an old version, launched even before the current camry & accord versions. Outside malaysia, its been updated & facelifted.

same goes for the current naza ria, its a 1999 model.

to compare proton & hyundai, hyundai has genesis & equus and now sonata, proton still looking for a decent engine. LOL

• Rhys Miller on Sep 19, 2009 at 8:42 am

The car maker is moving light years faster than the market …

• Gajen on Sep 19, 2009 at 9:18 am

the steering is a copy of lexus LS…the gearbox is typical toyota style…the centre console is infiniti…the front is cls/camry…the back cls/jag…

i admit it looks good….but i hate it when i see its being copied from other makers…if u take a good look,u can see obvious hints…

• George on Sep 19, 2009 at 9:55 am

RM60K?Wulala. If selling this car for this kind of price in Malaysia,gurantee Proton and Perodua will close down.

• Marcellinus on Sep 19, 2009 at 10:09 am

The look like coupe CLS 350. I meant front part

• oricon666 said,

September 18, 2009 @ 6:23 pm

they are just good in styling, even that involved a lot of copy here & there & make a “chap cheng@ ?? ” car….

If plan to get the same headache.. why not chose P1

_____

you must be the biggest clown on earth…

if hyundai is same as proton how come they are no.4 in the world and proton is nowhere in the world?

pls use you brains b4 talking some load of crap

• oricon666 on Sep 19, 2009 at 12:31 pm

King…

U the clown… i doubt u have a brain for a start.. no.4 mean anything to you? u hold the number for what? but proton is….. your national car…

yes, the proton quality is bad… but not because our nation dunno how to make car, but they were lead by bunch of retards…. narrow minded, target the wrong ppl….

hyundai? they got a head start by being one of the large ship builder in the world… heavy industry as backup.. sure they have a better global view… thus, global strategy.. but, are they make good cars?

You wun find any sincerity in their car… mostly copy & paste…. & they use those head start & gorek other ppl in… (another copy paste strategy)… yes, everybody kind of doing the same thing… but, sure everyone can clearly see… Korean car copy like nobody business… (China's car put aside)…

King.. ask you mom where you brain goes k?

• Reuben How on Sep 19, 2009 at 2:02 pm

Yeah, they might have copied and pasted in the past but they are giving the established makes a run for their money, look, they even have success in the United States – one of the toughest markets in the world.

I am not sure what you mean about sincerity – If you are talking about safety, quite a lot of their latest models have EURONCAP 4+ or 5 star ratings. By next year, even the i10 will have Electronic Stability Program as standard.

As for design, they have design studios in both Europe and the United States. Anyway, Korea is also quite famous for good design. Seoul has won the world design capital of the world award for 2010.

Anyway, the latest proton models that you are driving have a heavy influence from LG CNS, a subsidiary of the LG Group.

On their own, Malaysians cannot survive in the car industry. They don't have the culture and ethics to succeed.

• painsama on Sep 19, 2009 at 3:09 pm

Very nice car. The most interesting thing for me is that it features 6 gears automatic, while H and T only give you 5/4 gears only. From the picture you can see that it has H-tronic manual transmission as well. But in Malaysian minds, there are only H & T, even though other competitors gave better car for less money, and even though Hyundai is doing very well in other countries/markets, they'll keep saying Hyundai = crap/low resale value. Malaysians are pre-programmed with mentality of H & T = great cars, even though H & T interiors nowadays are not that good. Just look at V car from company T, it's sad, and they say it's desirable? And that latest C car from company H, the centre console looks like some cheap plastic, and people praised it because it is H. You know what I mean.

• THIS TIME THEY ARE NOT COPYING HONDA ACCORD AND JAGUAR ANYMORE……I THINK IS TOYOTA CAMRY PLUS ????

• informalaysia on Sep 19, 2009 at 3:32 pm

TJ,

Hyundai acquired KIA in 1998, so they are actually one company, although Hyundai decided to keep the two as separate brands. They do share a lot of parts, so, in terms on quality, they should be roughly the same.

Reuben,

It's true KIA & Hyundai successfully penetrated the US market, but comparing them to proton is truly a joke. Probably you need to look at the backgrounds of the companies. Anyway, if you're comfortable with people copying and pasting, then when you talk about the ethics of others, I'd have to say "Look who's talking"

• karim on Sep 19, 2009 at 3:44 pm

ahh.. permikiran orang malaysia.. always like this.. if imported car produce, belum cuba naik/beli sudah sure said.. good la.. nice la.. better then local car la.. local car die la..

• BrakeFader on Sep 19, 2009 at 4:16 pm

Why you want to mention proton here? I bet even if they are ordered to copy, they still failed miserably if they don't change their mindset. Just look at how many countries that hyundai is selling. Even their genesis is highly rated in the US which is one of the most toughest place to penetrate. They have a lousy product 20 years ago but look at em now. But look at proton when it tried to enter US? No interest at all. Why you start insulting ppl's mom? Is that the proton way?

• Carssssssssss on Sep 19, 2009 at 5:07 pm

its a nice car but resale value frighten me. U all know la, buy then you will see your car market price drop.

• ismail on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:01 am

haha..this is the joke. The mentality of malaysian car buyer. Already thinking of selling it b4 even bought it. I just got my sonata yf last 2 weeks. The driving experience is great. FC is very..very good. I got 7.5L/100KM. (traveling from Puchong, using MEX to KL and KL to Puchong). I owned Jap car b4 (H). My perception about Hyundai is totally different now. B4, i just give it try base on how it’s good looking.

• Jumbsuck on Sep 19, 2009 at 5:16 pm

Ahoy Proton, learn anything new yet?? So Perdana selling at RM100K what would you think this new Sonata not a rip-off and short-changed your wallet at RM70K? Those buying Perdana at RM100K definately either buying some serious piece of museum RELIC or ANTIQUE hoping to appreciate in value for next 20 years.

infomalaysia:

It’s true KIA & Hyundai successfully penetrated the US market, but comparing them to proton is truly a joke. Probably you need to look at the backgrounds of the companies. Anyway, if you’re comfortable with people copying and pasting, then when you talk about the ethics of others, I’d have to say “Look who’s talking”

Hyundai KIA was a joke back then in US. But now with Hyundai Sonata, Genesis, Equus coming even Lexus, Acura, Infiniti all feeling the pinch. But it was such an automotive joke which made Hyundai Kia now and gave them economics of scale of big US market while fast expanding in Europe with more diesel engine models. Now look at Proton, how pathetic. Still want to brand-building, aiming headless for the perceived mass-market India and China market? Until today, Proton is the single biggest stumbling block not only for local auto market but the whole ASEAN pissed with Proton.

And it such a big crime and cardinal sin to buy some quality reliable fairly-priced cars other than the make-believe Proton. Can you believe that?

PT:

The cost of development to Hyundai was 400 billion won (RM1.15 billion) over a timespan of 4 years, and I must say the results look pretty good so far. Not sure how long it’ll take to recoup costs but the car will be priced in Korea at 21.3 million Won (RM61,350) to 25.95 million Won (RM74,800).

Surely not too long for Hyundai to recoup it back but still Proton at the same time stuck nowhere with Campro cost. Now that's just 1.3, 1.6 engines and looking at current Proton learning curve rate it would take say 50 years to venture and recoup anything beyond that, like 2.0 V6 or diesel engines but by that time everyone stacking down the battery li-ion cost. While the whole world riding on electric cars, Proton still selling internal-combustion relics. The last of antique automotive Mohicans, is Proton then.

Oh BTW just some tips for Proton. China actually hold the world's biggest mineral reserve for li-ion battery raw material lithium minerals, but for now China will not hold the world ransom for electric car market. Soon, maybe yes. So Proton better sell-out to Youngman, Chery or BYD etc. before Tesla-BMW-Toyota did it for the commies.

• ya…oricon…yo are damn mor*n…..

• Maserati on Sep 19, 2009 at 5:24 pm

oricon666,

You either left your brain with your mum or your not using urs at the moment.

Comparing Proton with Hyundai is a no brainer.Its not even close.Hyundai is so advanced while Proton is just still a crappy car manufacturer.(I know alot of Proton ppl here gonna comment about this).But who cares,Proton is still rubbish whethere you like it or not! Its a fact!

Proton still have their low quality crappy cars while Hyundai have advanced so much that it is just a matter of time before they catch up with the Japanese.

And your saying Hyundai has the same build quality with Proton ??!! I think you must be driving a Proton Saga or Waja or some other rubbish Proton like Savvy and you havent sat in a Hyundai before.

Dont know why,but all Proton supporters are like this.Feel so proud of driving that pile of rubbish.Low quality plastics and the dashboard has terrible ergonomics.Lousy engine which is prone to breakdown.

So pls go get ur facts right before commenting here,or you make yourself look like and idiot!

• overflow on Sep 19, 2009 at 5:41 pm

merc+honda+toyota=duplicate

em..korean formula nice though!

selamat hari raya adilfitri to all!!

• K Tan on Sep 19, 2009 at 6:00 pm

Why the are naysayers so pre-judgemental? The car has not been seen in flesh let alone test-driven yet lah.

I bet if Paul put on the same car with but photoshopped with a Toyota, Honda, Merc etc badge on, you ppl will sure praise the car to high heavens.

• 4G63tDSM on Sep 19, 2009 at 6:14 pm

Doesn't really matter nowadays who copies who. Everyone does it. The important thing is they give you a lot of value for your money.

The YF replaces the NF? nice!

its a nice looking car, and Hyundai has been doing well in quality and customer surveys. Look at the JD Edwards quality and Customer satisfaction reports and you'd get an idea just how far they have some in the past 10 years.

Its pointless to compare proton and the Malaysia market to the global market. both Proton and the malaysian automotive market is far from being mature enough after all these years of pampering. Ultimately the consumers suffer.

In a fair market, if this YF cost less than the 15 year old Perdana (and its Eterna Chassis sibling). How would you suppose Proton can survive without being protected? Now where is that guy that claims Proton isn't "protected"….

• Jumbsuck on Sep 19, 2009 at 6:37 pm

4G63tDSM:

In a fair market, if this YF cost less than the 15 year old Perdana (and its Eterna Chassis sibling). How would you suppose Proton can survive without being protected? Now where is that guy that claims Proton isn’t “protected”….

And yet some hobo would say that Hyundai also being protected by Korean govt as much as like Proton here. Which is true but given almost the same breastfeed period, Hyundai grown big and fast guy get the best chicks around but Proton remain retard timid low-esteem 30-years old boy still living with his mom.

• rally_fan on Sep 19, 2009 at 6:49 pm

the car looks great, and pretty fresh. and i dont believe there is really such a thing as copying nowadays with cars such as these. no one can truly claim to be original.

as for this proton vs hyundai debate, its also a real waste of time.. because hyundai will always be superior given their longer history as a company. just by googling it, anyone can find out that as a group of companies, they are a good 35 years older than proton, and as an automobile company, they are almost 20 years older than proton. They also built their first car based on their own technology in 1988, whereas proton built their first own car in 2000.

also, everyone forgets that hyundai as a car company also owes its early survival to massive protection in its domestic market.

The strange thing is, people expect a company like proton to achieve the same in less than half the time it took hyundai. i dont think its possible.

• Caddilac on Sep 19, 2009 at 7:10 pm

Yup. Although Korean car are protected, but the car they export is about 3 times of their domestic sales… Especially like Hyundai-Kia sell about 800k in Korea but their international sales are 3million… Whereas Proton sell 150k in Malaysia and only a few thousand outside…

Now the Gen2 change their name into Lotus L3 and assembled in China now.. Although the price is lower than a Hyundai Elantra(China no1 car), the feedback doesn't seems to be good and mostly are about the build quality and material…

• oricon666 on Sep 19, 2009 at 8:07 pm

Maserati,

I drive a honda… dun pre-judge ppl ok?

i'm not a "true" proton supporter here….

i'm just try to be neutral & open of discussion here..

this is paul's blog & is open for fair discussions & comments.

from the beginning i had many time agree with that proton having crappy car.

The only reason of "no brainer" to compare proton with hyundai is their start from different back group & lead by different ppl… the management who in proton is the reason why proton never move forward… just like our country overall…

Why you ppl wanna bash other ppl comment here? u either agree or disagree… politely comment… why call names of clown, no-brain, joker, etc etc etc….?? hah.. calm down lah… nobody a wanna hurt y'all here…

Have a nice holidays…!!!

• yippi33 on Sep 19, 2009 at 8:18 pm

i think most malaysian have a post traumatic stress diorder with proton. honestly, i used to look down on proton a couple years back. yes, they produced a car that is not what the consumer wants. qc is an issue and in a nutshell, the company's direction is haywire. due to this, a lot of malaysians were let down by proton thus resulting the PSTD.it is true to say that proton has wasted quite a few years of its age without much significant progress. however, imo, they have been given a cane on the back recently and had learnt their lesson.

i have faith in the new management. a lot of changes have been done by the company.they started trying to produce the ideal car for consumer and tried to improve their quality as much as possible and try to keep the per unit cost down. we need to understand that Malaysia is not that technologically advance in the manufacturing industry. a lot of the technologies are mostly taken from overseas and not homegrown. korea or japan or europe have these in their backyard. heck, hyundai even produce ship containers.building a car should be a piece of cake for them. we cant even produce our own zippers yet. thus cost and technology is an issue. i say theyve been doing a good job recently with all these handicaps..

it is a hard and long journey actually in gaining the people confidence back..from my point of view, i believe the honesty of new proton now and what they need to do is keep improving themselves to cover all the time wasted previously. if they manage to do this without fail, i believe that they will get back the precious customer's confidence sooner or later. everybody deserves a second,third or even fifth chance. it depends on them now to progress. good luck proton..

• Dont Assume on Sep 19, 2009 at 8:20 pm

For those never drove Koreans car, dont simply assume based on what you read. Just go to Korea and you can get 1st hand information. If you can go, just ask Paul Tan. Simple. Those says proton are better than Koreans in terms of quality, etc, get your facts right!

• Dont Assume on Sep 19, 2009 at 8:21 pm

Typo error – What I meant was 'for those can't go to Korea'

• stephenstreets on Sep 19, 2009 at 10:38 pm

Dont Assume said,

September 19, 2009 @ 12:20 pm

For those never drove Koreans car, dont simply assume based on what you read. Just go to Korea and you can get 1st hand information. If you can go, just ask Paul Tan. Simple. Those says proton are better than Koreans in terms of quality, etc, get your facts right!

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/09/18/hyundai-sonata-yf-g…

Proton better than Korean cars? LOL…. ROFLMAOF!!!!

Hahaha… My stomach oso cramp already huhuhu hahahah!!

• lili N lala on Sep 19, 2009 at 10:46 pm

this car is nice, nice design, engine power and gearbox too…

to those always said this copycat from where and where, toyota, honda, bmw, merc, and etc etc also copy around. maybe ur eye just look down on particular brand only, shame on those fella…

for proton supporters, pls, wake up before raya, proton is no where near to hyundai-kia, only proton can fight with, are those china new brand in manufacturing car.

there is so huge of different with the previous sonata and this 1… just for satria, old and new 1… lol… like facelift only… or maybe 2 step improvement, while others already 10 steps…

i still LOL gao gao when saw exora, truly copy cat from a nissan mpv, just do own research u will know. and that campro engine was "SO PRO", so proud of they always pride with the power, even till now, cant come out a 1.8 or 2.0 engine… LOL…

• lili N lala on Sep 19, 2009 at 10:47 pm

here's a little story,

a "budak nakal" which "kurang ajar" is having lots of protection from parent, what the budak nakal can produce? LOL…

• What ever makes you happy is worth it, no matter Proton, Perodua, Honda… Even a boat. But once Paul said, Korean Cars are much better these days. Please wait till Paul test drive it. For now, jus say its pretty or ugly.

• oh…….Korean Cars Hyundai and Kia was upgrade now but proton………Aiyah,Potong Saga Lah!

• I think the New Sonata is a nice car, Hyundai standard has raise a bar. Not bad to see another Asian car maker has achieved this standard.

• korean on Sep 20, 2009 at 12:27 am

Korean car — TAK NAK.

• wall street on Sep 20, 2009 at 12:46 am

oricon666 said,

September 18, 2009 @ 6:23 pm

they are just good in styling, even that involved a lot of copy here & there & make a “chap cheng@ ?? ” car….

If plan to get the same headache.. why not chose P1?

—————————————————-

Same build quality as proton??? Are you awake? Korean cars are now close to genuine contender of Japanese now and you are still comparing with our Potong?? Copy? While the Koreans are now moving away from copying, the Japs especially Honda are into copying now…Look how much cues Honda gets from BMW for their Accord and now City..Hope you can 'enjoy' Proton for the rest of your life…

• ax-baa on Sep 20, 2009 at 1:14 am

Kesian betul baca komen korang ni.. (sebahagian darinya..) Cakap takde fact langsung.. Blaja tinggi2, ngaji sampai dapat PhD, pastu baru minda korang terbukakkkkk.. Harap ke cakap dalam B.I..!!

• those who diss korean cars like orican666, go drive the lastest koreans, like the hyundai kia optima & hyundai starex & elantra before commenting, you really stand out like a dumb fool. as for the current sonata NF in malaysia is an outdated version. LOL.

• oricon666 on Sep 20, 2009 at 3:03 am

another fella calling names (dumb fool huh, this time?) & making assumption..

how you know i never test drive? how you know i never compare…??

If react like this here make you guys happy… be my guest….

i'm not here to fight… hope you happy like this for the rest of your life…

• stanleyivan on Sep 20, 2009 at 4:21 am

This car is not bad lookin' especially the grille..one big leap from its old model. Its looks like a foor door coupe, which ain't bad at all. I know you all must be scared that the resale value would be low, but with the improvement the seoul automakers have made it will definitely increase the brand value. i think if this car has no badge at all and if i slap a proton badge on it maybe all of you will start to like this car…and copying is also not a very bad thing, eh? everybody has to copy a little as now when you design a car , you cant thing of anything that is 'new' as there is so many variations in the world now I think i know why proton cannot design such cars because it has very little budget…if proton is willing to pay RM1.15 billion to develop a new car..it might have already been bankrupt…sorry if i offended anyone..im just a 12 years old commenting at adults stuff…

• ooooooo, I like this, the butt looks like its from a jaguar and front from a honda city, but fiercer.

I love this. Please price it correctly.

I am lining up now hahaha

• bashherebashthere on Sep 20, 2009 at 4:38 am

i own a 13 years old hyundai accent (1996 model), which i got from my mom 5 years ago, and its truely reliable, sure theres a little crack on the dashboard considering its not designed for extreme hot climate in malaysia, other than that, everthing works fine, from electrical, power windows (a lil bit slow, grease does the trick), side mirrors and so on, to parts

and my sister 5 years old wira? do i need to mention the power windows? gearbox?

so same build quality?

• comarezzi on Sep 20, 2009 at 4:50 am

i saw one today at gombak toll plaza… looks exactly like cls from the front… not sure on the number tho.. whether s'pore on m'sian plet… looks big n classy… but still korean made.. somebody own it already??

• Caddilac on Sep 20, 2009 at 4:51 am

By the way, 400 billion is not much considering the number of Sonata sold… Take the Sonata NF, in Korea they sell about 12,000 every month whereas US also sell about 10000 every month… With the new YF, i think it can start snatching the sales of Avensis/Camry and Accord in Europe and US…

• Elvis on Sep 20, 2009 at 6:52 am

Tat's it, once i got fedup wit my 2nd hand Nissan Fairlady(which look dated..but STILL attract chicks). I will settle down with HYUNDAI…..no more proton, perodua, naza watever….tis one LOOK VERY DELICOUS to me…..i am putting a very big bet……sure hit with Malayasians once hit the market…..good bye camry…

• Hariee on Sep 20, 2009 at 7:08 am

Sometthing tells me that this car could eat the hell out of camry!

lf it will go face to face, i wouldn't want to see cause this sonata is just soo fierce!!!

• nice…in my list, no doubt.

• Georgie on Sep 20, 2009 at 8:54 am

Maserati said,

And your saying Hyundai has the same build quality with Proton ??!! I think you must be driving a Proton Saga or Waja or some other rubbish Proton like Savvy and you havent sat in a Hyundai before.

Haha we got some dumbass faggots here. Just because you're driving such a good car, you dont have the rights to mock those who drive proton cars. Proton, mind you, is labeled as a budget brand. So you get it. No more than that.

Sure proton cars are still a bit crappy, but they're catching up. About the build quality, hyundai does offer good build quality for their premium lineups, but for those "cheap" base line models, they are not much difference from proton. Really. I deal with cars everyday and I've tried most of them (except ferraris & other luxury cars).

Now we don't go further into govt tax on cars, 'cos I know most of you here dont really support the economic development for the future of our children. But yes, I do feel that its unfair for the export proton models to have dual airbags (even more), and much more extras than those on our shore and its hell cheaper! Please proton, reconsider the price of your cars. TQ

Now back to this Hyundai Sonata.. Hmmm not bad.. Nice

• OpenMind on Sep 20, 2009 at 9:42 am

some of you might recall that in the earlier 2000-2001, Hyundai Sonata was the best selling 2L car in Malaysia, achieving better sales than Camry (2.2), Honda and Cefiro.

Secondly, if you have been to Korea and talk to those Korean who have been driving Hyundai car, you will realise that they all share one common comment: Hyundai Car has improved a lot in term of reliability and functionality.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 20, 2009 at 4:51 pm

Georgie said,

September 20, 2009 @ 12:54 am

Haha we got some dumbass faggots here. Just because you’re driving such a good car, you dont have the rights to mock those who drive proton cars. Proton, mind you, is labeled as a budget brand. So you get it. No more than that.

Now we don’t go further into govt tax on cars, ‘cos I know most of you here dont really support the economic development for the future of our children.

Hyundai is also a budget brand in case u forgot. So why is one budget brand better than the other? Why is a budget brand everywhere else a "luxury" brand here, if thats what u were implying….and no, I don't get it.

Development of "your" children's future? Now not knowing what demographic u come from, that could really mean something really bad……Thats because the government isn't doing much for MY children's future….maybe i'm reading too much into it. I hope so too.

• Indian Autos Blog on Sep 20, 2009 at 5:28 pm

This looks stunning – certainly the best Hyundai I've seen till date..

• Caddilac on Sep 20, 2009 at 6:14 pm

Skoda, Seat and Dacia are also budget brands… But look at how good they make the car… The build quality of Hyundai and Kia have also improve so much that are so well received in Europe and US… Just look at how they talk about the cheap i10 and i20 build quality, compare to the Persona and Neo's.

Feel free to go whatcar, topgear or autocar.

• chuan on Sep 20, 2009 at 6:37 pm

the caR is awesome!

• orico,

stop being a faggot and keep talking about your mum here….

you are a real moron that was never taught manners by your parents….

this is a car blog…why the hell you go and talk about ppl's mum.? you are even more stupid than my dog!!! your mum is even more stupid than my dog too!!

i bet you are just a teenager dying to get your driving license so you can drive your mum's kancil and race with mat rempits.

there you go….still like to talk about your mum?

• orico,

ok…back to topic..

you said the koreans like to copy and paste……wake up la orico ! the japs use to do that too earlier…oh i forgot…you were not born yet during that time.

no.4 in the world mean nothing to you? maybe no.99 means something to you?

what a funny guy.

• oricon666 said,

You wun find any sincerity in their car… mostly copy & paste

—–

ahahahah….making cars also need to be sincere? best joke of the year.

i think you meant "creativity". …..

• jokers here say koreans copy & paste, now tell us which car manufacturer don't copy & paste?

if wanna talk kok so much, i suggest you jokers go design a car.

one other thing, you should accept the fact hyundai at the moment produces cars on par with the the other top car companies, i doubt you in any position to dispute these facts as it info from auto industry experts and fact remain most of you jokers haven't driven the lastest hyundai models.

what a bunch of wankers LOL

• singh on Sep 20, 2009 at 8:35 pm

conclusion: if got money, u can have the best car in the world. if u r poor, get wat is best for urself. :) no point arguing and start bashing each other. We are living in a free world… Selamat Hari Raya.

• to oricon666, i suggest you take compare the built quality & fittings of a honda & a hyundai & see the difference.

for eg, look at the civic's boot cover, its bare, you see the metal frame, same goes for the altis, now go look at the hyundai.

hyundai tend to channel the old top model's highest spec to the new low – middle models range, meaning you see the ideas & concept in a 2002 sonata in a 2009 i30, meanwhile the 2009 sonata's ideas & concept would have moved forward.

as for proton, the perdana has remain the same for ages, while the newer models have made improvements but i doubt they are on par with the current car companies. sigh, they are even having trouble matching perodua's QC. LOL

• singh said,

September 20, 2009 @ 12:35 pm

conclusion: if got money, u can have the best car in the world. if u r poor, get wat is best for urself. no point arguing and start bashing each other. We are living in a free world… Selamat Hari Raya.

……………………………….

how true. but what irks us is how some jokers cannot accept car brand as it is.. a car brand but will find faults to bash it. Credit must be given where credit is due.

If proton comes out with a world beater, praise them.. why go around bashing them? If hyundai improves year in, year out why harp on past issues or older models?

Kinda stupid wankers. LOL

• oricon666 said,

September 18, 2009 @ 6:49 pm

Agreed… thatz true.. “Proton is so far behind Korean”… as long as proton still lead by bunch of ppl who dun have the world market as their target & set quota here & there in their business….. they will still left behind…

but i was talking about build quality… same-same lah… seldom heard Korean car owner praise Korean car also.. all broke down as the rate of proton… some model even worst…. i’m saying both proton & korean car share the same bad quality… so, why spend more for a “better looking” bad quality car?

Persona doing good nowadayz right? correct me if i’m wrong…

oricon666 said,

September 19, 2009 @ 7:03 pm

another fella calling names (dumb fool huh, this time?) & making assumption..

how you know i never test drive? how you know i never compare…??

If react like this here make you guys happy… be my guest….

i’m not here to fight… hope you happy like this for the rest of your life…

ok.. fine assume i misjudged you, mind sharing which korean car you driven for you to make the bad quality statement?

• Malaysian Car Lover on Sep 21, 2009 at 1:18 am

Please to start comparing between Hyundai and Proton. Just be honest if in fair market who will want to buy PROTON car in Malaysia. This New SONATA is a new car although I did see it copy cat here and there but who care if it look nice. I don't mind Proton start copying other company car. In fact I think there should for now then start concentrate only to improve engine performance and Build Quality then surely it wil be successful in another 10 to 20 years.

• acerman on Sep 21, 2009 at 2:21 am

How do i get the feeling it looks like the T Camry?….. the eyes…and the rear…hmmmm

• s.subramaniam on Sep 21, 2009 at 3:11 am

With superb look and performance by Hyundai Sonata, eventually it's going to lead Honda and Toyota.

• The new Sonata looks radical IMHO!!

• Rhys Miller on Sep 21, 2009 at 8:22 am

Resale value of Hyundai cars are set to go up and up ..

They launched their 5 year 300,000 km warranty program about 1 year ago .. as the car ages and as it reaches 2 – 3 years .. it will have an added advantage over other japanese makes who only offer 2 years 60,000 km warranty….. …

so a three year old jap car is out of warranty and you buy at your own risk .. Hytundai cars are still under warranty…

• fxxtheProton on Sep 21, 2009 at 12:51 pm

good job Korean!! you should go to F1 instead!!

the ONEKorea team ??

:))

• Squawk on Sep 21, 2009 at 8:16 pm

People in the US used to joke that the only ones who bought Hyundais were the homeless. But that perception is changing just like how they changed about Jap cars years ago. The local showrooms here will be more than glad to let you testdrive the current generation cars. I did and I can say that the quality and ride has improved tremendously. It's definitely leapfrogged Proton since the last generation. Btw, I drive a conti, so don't think I'm biased.

• shoryuken on Sep 21, 2009 at 10:23 pm

It all starts with a vision, but "practically" implement a vision with proud, humble, and learn from the failure. The Korean not only taking the US market, they are "competing" in the Australia fiercely as well.

The difference of Proton is, the company is comfortably enjoying the policies set in the Malaysia, where car buyers is having no choice, and most important, the management is just a bunch of people who only take care of their pockets than making Proton a proud national product to COMPETE in the world. It is the willingness to COMPETE in the world, since the quality of Proton, the Aussie says, are for the Pensions. By the way, Korean cars selling cheaper than Proton in OZ. Oops.

• In 2003, According to Consumer Reports, Hyundai’s reliability rankings tied Honda’s.

http://www.usatoday.com/money/autos/2003-03-11-cr…

Their reliability already same level with Hondas 6 years ago.

——————

In 2006 JD Power and associates quality ranking, overall the Hyundai brand ranked 3rd, just behind Porsche and Lexus, and beating long time rival Toyota.

http://www.autospectator.com/cars/hyundai/0024213…

Their build quality already surpass toyota 3 years ago.

——————

In 2009, 6 models of Hyundai/Kia cars earned Top Safety Award by IIHS, better than Nissan/Infiniti.

http://www.iihs.org/ratings/default.aspx

Their safety technology already surpass nissan.

——————

Hyundai engine listed as 2009 world 10 Best Engines.

http://wardsauto.com/reports/2009/tenbest/best_en…

Their engine technology is already high-end level.

——————

Comapring with Hyundai and Proton is downright silly. you just 'enjoy' your proton for enire of your life. but, don't scold hyundai as proton level.

Hyundai-Kia is already Asia Big3.(Toyota, Honda, Hyundai)

World ranking no.4 automaker.
    http://english.chosun.com/site/data/html_dir/2009…

• In 2003, According to Consumer Reports, Hyundai’s reliability rankings tied Honda’s.

http://www.usatoday.com/money/autos/2003-03-11-cr…

Their reliability already same level with Hondas 6 years ago.

——————

In 2006 JD Power and associates quality ranking, overall the Hyundai brand ranked 3rd, just behind Porsche and Lexus, and beating long time rival Toyota.

http://www.autospectator.com/cars/hyundai/0024213…

Their build quality already surpass toyota 3 years ago.

• Oops. double post.

sorry for that.

• transformer (Member) on Sep 22, 2009 at 2:42 am

it looks amazing! most lines are brought forward from its coupe "fluid lines" which has low CD..

end of the day, i'll take a 2010 Nissan Teana instead.. saw few SG plate around my area.. Nice!

paul: mind you to add a "Member Login button" just beside "Leave a Comment" instead need to scroll up to Meta section… (ps: i'm still using ie6.)

• Why is a car that’s made in Korea cheaper in the U.S.? 2sept2008

http://joongangdaily.joins.com/article/view.asp?a…

well well well….look not only malaysian having the same problem but also the korean….hehehehe

• pliz pliz…enuff said…dis car is just, pretty! fullstop! never mind copy-paste here n there,..so wat? do you prefer such "original, unique" design like savvy?? even worse if you copy something like juara, rite?? imagine you're a new student in class…a bit stupid, not-so-pandai…in an exam, do you want to copy d best student in class…or somebdy who sits next to you in class..or worse still, u dont take a damn and just hentam semua~!!! hahaha

anyway, dis is d column for the new sonata…lets focus okay…be fair, just limit your comment to the aesthetic aspect….for me,dis new sonata is damn sleek, cool n ultra sexy! nice curves, luxury-looking interior…woww…couldnt wait to sit n drive one~

• off topic

Japan Individual Income Tax

http://www.worldwide-tax.com/japan/japan_tax.asp

notes

Japan's individual income tax rates including local taxes are among the highest tax rates in the world. The effective top marginal tax rate is around 50%.

• another off topic

European and American Automakers Highlight Disparity in Korean …2000

http://www.docstoc.com/docs/4056014/European-and-…

note

BRUSSELS January 31, 2000 “Korea remains one of the world?s most closed markets for foreign motor vehicles, while simultaneously exporting record numbers of Korean cars to both the European Union and the United States,” said Mr. Camille Blum and Mr. Stephen J. Collins in a joint statement

• ? NO. one of the worlds most closed markets is "Japan".

GM,Ford are worst car in Japan only.

Xbox360 is worst game machine in Japan only.

Apple iPhone, Motorola phone are worst mobile phone in Japan only.

That is the Japanese problem.

Every Japanese have a fascist mentality. They are World most racist and nationalistic, xenophobia people in the earth.

"An independent investigator for the UN says racism in Japan is deep and profound, and the government does not recognise the depth of the problem."

news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/4671687.stm

Japanese is a best "Selfish protective trade" country in the world. Japan export their goods to U.S. but Japan never want import anythings.

Every Japanese have a fascist mentality. They are World most racist and nationalistic, xenophobia people in the earth.

Big3 crushed by Japanese car makers. It caused by Japanese selfish culture.

Japanese sell the cars for Japan and Japanese economy, they always put Nationalism in? when they consume the car(in Japan).

It's time to think about Japanese' Selfish mind and their trade and

plz think about this problem before you 'Sucking' up the Toyota and Honda.

I hate Japanese cars cuz i have right reasons.

• off topic again..sorry

The cost of owning a car in Japan

http://www.mgrv8.net/report4.html

car in japan generally cheap but………..

• Squawk on Sep 22, 2009 at 7:24 pm

Korea is a protected market and Koreans are nationalistic like the Japanese (Japs don't care whether it's a Sony, Pana, Sharp etc, they'll buy as long as it's Jap).

But it didn't stop Hyundai from looking at the global market and improving their cars. Doesn't Proton have some experienced Germans in management? Have they made any positive contributions yet?

• obertan on Sep 23, 2009 at 4:44 am

We as Malaysian need to increase our salary here in Malaysia if we dream want to have a superb nice car.

Malaysia is a 'Bolehland' remember, here its like heaven of business, u can start any kind of business but u must have good strategies. U can also use the internet power to increase your salary not only quarreling about not have money la or car too expensive la or whatever negative things.

We also need to help our economy to grow more by buying Malaysian made products, why? By increasing our economy, we also increase our RM. Our RM rate is still really low compare to US dollar, before economic recessions in the year 1997-98 one US dollar = RM 2.50 now its RM 3.80. So its depend to u guys to think about this…

Japanese people have done this long-long time ago, while we?

Btw this car is nice. I'm waiting Proton to come out with super saloon from Exora intelligent platform. :D

• Himalayan on Sep 24, 2009 at 10:43 am

Frankly, the apprearance is charming and looks up to date, to me, no matter they copy from others or not… at least hyundai really put efford on this.

Anyway, I'm driving Accord and tested drive my friend's 4 years old (same age with my car) Sonata recently, I would say it realy worth to pay more to own a Japanese car. In short, I really don't have condident with korean car now.

Anyway, I won judge for this new Sonata quality until it's on the road for another 4~5 years. But if this car costs more then 130k in m'sia, I'm just worry …

• Hyundai owners in North America placed the Sonata at the top of their classes in AutoPacific’s Vehicle Satisfaction Awards (VSA) research. The Sonata was the highest ranked Premium Mid-Size Car, beating out the segment-defining Honda Accord and Toyota Camry

http://www.theautochannel.com/news/2009/05/21/461…

• AMIR MAHMOOD RAZAK on Sep 24, 2009 at 11:06 pm

I admit that Korean cars were always on my shopping list whwnever I shopped ONLY because of price. Then, the new ELantra came about a year or more ago. I test-drove this car, and came away impressed. And for less than RM100k too.

As luck would have it, I got a new job and the rank came with a car. A Hyundai Santa Fe. Having owned.driven a Harrier before, this car was also a copy, right to the dash layout.

But I came away impressed with everything about the Santa Fe. An really efficient and powerful diesel engine, good comfort level, great build quality. I has totally changed my perception of Korean cars (which I admit was only developed based on readings, and not test drives or ownership).

So to read (unfair) comparisons between Hyundai and PROTON on these pages I must say I am shocked. Plus, in 2004 I was in the market for an upgrade from my Wira. On the list was a Jazz, an Alfadana :) a used C200 and a used S40. All in the region of RM100k.

In the end some patriotic shit came out and I decided to get the Alfadana. True story, I regretted it from the second I stepped into mime at the showroom.

There was a huge bulge on the front passenger floor carpet. It was too huge to have been missed;l imagine a deflated soccer ball. It was discovered that too much anti-rust ended up there, and it kind of enlarged itself. In the tidy up process, also discovered under the carpet was a plastic with a straw, apparently from the assembly lines I suppose.

It all came to a head about a year later when one fine morning I stepped into my car, only to find and inch of water on my floor! Yes it had rained the night before, but the water somehow managed to creep in.

It was discovered that the firewall (the space between the engine and dash) holes were not covered, perhaps from cost-cutting. So it was QC fault again (of course PROTON tried to blame me by saying I made mods to the car, to which I said sue me if I did).

And after a factory-fitted dash is removed, its never the same. I sold it a minimal loss, and got an imported Jap instead. 4 years down the road, the Jap has never failed me except when I ran out of gas. 5 times :)

So there. My new-found confidence in Hyundai, and my bad experience with PROTON, that carually prompted me to have an internet handle "neveraproton" of appropriately NAP for short! So for the debate about the quality of PROTON versus that of Hyundai, for me at least, its Malaysia 0 – Korea 1.

But I agree with opinions that PROTON is on the mend; I wrongly thought the Savvy would make waves in Europe, forgetting to quantify the poor dash plastics and the horrible powerplant into my analysis. But you have got to say their sedans seem to be the correct antidote at least for their Malaysian woes. I think the Persona is a handsome car and delivers good value for money. I may not think much of the looks of the Saga but it sells in droves and apart from the odd story here and there of an engine that won't start, it seems to have been accepted by Malaysians. I believe the quirks of the Gen2 too have in large parts been addressed.

The Exora? Good looking I thought, but let down by a 1.6 engine more suitable for sedans and a again, plastics. But I have in in good authority that the Turbo is well on the way to address the CAMPRO's shortcomings.

PROTON will eventually compete less on price and more on quality I hope. When it comes down to price (coupled with so-so quality and questionable perception of a brand), your battle plan becomes weak when rivals have offers that bring their proce closer to yours (coupled with better quality and better brand image).

I am as patriotic as the next guy, but I won't buy a PROTON just yet. Respect has to be earned, and in PROTON's case, earning that from Malaysians became a huge task when they delivered only a car, but a car with value.

Cheers.

neveraproton

• unbelievable…its so sporty & fierce looking… but unfortunately its KOREAN-HYUNDAI=THIRSTYYYYY

• AMIR MAHMOOD RAZAK on Sep 25, 2009 at 5:41 pm

Ooopps. Last para should read:

I am as patriotic as the next guy, but I won’t buy a PROTON just yet. Respect has to be earned, and in PROTON’s case, earning that from Malaysians became a huge task when they delivered only a car, but a car with POOR value.

• LOOK LIKE CITROEN

• EDDIE on Sep 26, 2009 at 12:27 am

wow! RM61 – 70k 4a 2.0L car in Korea … Proton/Perodua ..wake up !!!!!

1MALAYSIA

• Jungle on Sep 26, 2009 at 3:38 am

it look like my new 325i from the back…

• tokmoh on Sep 26, 2009 at 3:44 am

All over, the car looks like its design is inspired by Scrin (C&C 3), maybe the Korean designers hv been playing too much computer game, lol

• Grand Marquis on Sep 27, 2009 at 2:14 am

Ever since I owned an Elantra, Hyundai has become one of my favorite brand when it comes to car. Their cars come with excellent built quality, lots of stuff and value for money.

The only problem with hyundai is the resale value. That really put me off. Once you buy a hyundai, be prepared to use the car for its life.

• @Grand Marquis

Their resale value is improving.

IntelliChoice, which tracks automotive ownership data, has chosen Hyundai's Sonata sedan as one of its "2009 Best Overall Values of the Year."
    http://www.intellichoice.com/best_values/bovy/yea…

Hyundai was also ranked 'third' as having America's best certified pre-owned program.
    http://www.forbes.com/2008/10/22/best-CPO-cars-fo…

• AMIR MAHMOOD RAZAK on Sep 28, 2009 at 3:59 pm

I don't think those survey apply in Malaysia. The reality is yes, resale values are poor for Hyundais in Malaysia.

Still, I for one can see this improving, and HSDM is doing the right thing; by offering value for money cars, offering unmatched warranty periods, and (on the part of Hyundai Korea) designing good if not great cars, the demand for these cars will rise. With that, sub-sale values will move up.

For me, its a moot point as I have never looked as sub-sale values to determine my car purchases. I buy a car for enjoyment, exclusivity and uniqueness. Explains why my Nissan Cube3 is my favourite car :) . Today, it wont fetch anything close to what I paid for it 4 years after I bought it, but even if I do sell it, the intrinsic value of ownership more than compensates for the money loss!

Cheers.

NAP

• Did you say malaysian cars? what a joke bros!!

Say that to the rest of the world and see what they say.

Hyundai is the 4th largest companly in the world and around 10% of market share in the USA. Do you how know hard that is considering the fact that there are only around 6 countries' car companies surviving in the USA.

And those 6 are usa japan german korea sweden and england. Not even french made care couldn't make it through in the states.

And in that fierce competetion, cars from malaysia…..joke man..

The fact is no one in the world except your own know that malaysia has capability of producing cars…and I highly doubt that those techs used to bulid cars in your country is one of the lowest which would have probably based off of some japanese basic techs…

So face the reality, the reality goes "Malaysian cars are soon to be either owned by others or completely vanish"

• HGGLIAO on Sep 30, 2009 at 8:18 am

I own a proton perdana while my eldest brother own a Sonata.

Bought my perdana brand new, after 2 years of usage, I need to fully overhaul it as alot of smokes coming out. Ok thats fine, after a few months, my air-con prob. ok fine. I think its just normal, and on june this year, my interior were rip off especially the air-con cover. My radio now no light, so at night I can;'t tune and choose my channel cos its dark ( Standard Proton Radio ), my brake lights drop and It wont stick anymore unless I change the whole set, my rear mirror also felt down. Have to change the whole front windows according to the mechanic, and last but not least, gearbox problem. Always facing this problem when stopping at traffic light.

My Bro Hyundai Sonata so far, 0 problem. None actually even after 1.5 years of usage.

• azizuddin ayeop on Oct 01, 2009 at 9:37 pm

when will hit malaysia's shore?…sime darby please bring it in…

• This will be my next car when it has reached our shore… Previously driving a Myvi and now new gen of Honda Jazz… Im pretty sure our motherland national cars are seriously behind the competition…

• kjryth (Member) on Dec 10, 2009 at 12:02 am

bought my father a 2007 Accent ( the previous model)..

a very2 nice car to drive, (i owned 2 local cars, 1 each of P1 n P2 n 1 jap recon car n 1 brand new conti)

i just bought it just to experience a Korean car, first hand. my father lives down south, in Batu Pahat, travells to us, his childrens every month… i only hv praises for the car. currently it has done 50k++ in Km, and the services r of normal RM. my only grouse is tht one of the alarm beepers keeps on being misaligned in a few months time. hv to go to Hyundai Maluri to get it configured for free and of course the resale value…

The fc is good, ride comfort is good (for a sub RM60k car) every thing is perfect…. and my father is very2 happy too.. his rides b4 includes local, japs n conti cars too…

looks like my father will be using this Accent for a longer period..

btw my Hyundai dealer sez tht the YF will be coming to our shores around march 2010… till then regards…….

• hyundai owners on Dec 29, 2009 at 8:07 pm

Proton same quality with Hyundai? are u joking, due to NCAP and emission regulations, same of the national cars unable to export to US and Europe

New Hyundai models achieved good ranking in IQS survey in US

Please drop by any Hyundai showroom and test drive some of the latest Hyundai models, u will be surprise

• I think, why we cannot get that price is because of 'G' policy. They put Service Tax here, and Excise Duty there, making the company which imported the car to be hard to set up the price. For me, they are already push their effords to get best price for the county. Think if you are the co., will you increase the price if you know that people's matter is price..Hmm.. That's why I think la..

• alex wong on Jun 20, 2010 at 1:38 pm

Very huge improvement in term of design and overall for Sonata car……very impressive too…..I would say this is the first Korean car i really eye on it…….Kudos!

• raymond on Aug 03, 2010 at 11:42 am

I would like to know how much is the price to upgrade the leather seat to beige color