Hyundai Equus Stretch goes on sale in Korea

hyundai-equus-1

The most luxurious Hyundai ever has just been launched in South Korea. The long-wheelbase version of the Hyundai Equus callled the Equus Stretch is the largest and most expensive vehicle in the Hyundai line-up.

The vehicle is longer than major competitors by as much as 310 mm. Backseat legroom is longer by up to 376 mm. The new model is fitted with the most powerful engine ever built for a Hyundai production car – a 5.0-litre V8 producing 400PS and 500Nm of torque.

hyundai-equus-2

Rear passengers will find they have the world’s first power-driven footrest (I know for a fact that MAS first class gets a powered footrest), seat leg support, relax posture control and a massage system. It’s quite clear that an airplane’s first class seating is the inspiration for the Equus rear passenger room.

There is also a bulletproof version of the car and 3 units have been delivered to the Korean President. Hyundai is the first Korean company to develop a bulletproof car with its own technology.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=537]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Rhys Miller on Oct 04, 2009 at 2:42 am

Korean President will travel in the Hyundai Equus … anyone knows what the Malaysian Prime minister travels in ?

• carsut on Oct 04, 2009 at 2:57 am

dont like the woody things..

• mariappan on Oct 04, 2009 at 3:05 am

Look like it seats only 4. May be darker colored wood paneling would be better.

• tamaki on Oct 04, 2009 at 3:17 am

Hyundai automotive really learn what consumer need ,if this stuff own a benz logo i guess it call perfection.

• 8th Prime on Oct 04, 2009 at 3:17 am

Impressive

• awg1031 on Oct 04, 2009 at 3:51 am

wow..cool car..

• kingv6 on Oct 04, 2009 at 4:03 am

now, who says that proton cars are better that the korean…!

• Black Dog on Oct 04, 2009 at 4:10 am

Rhys,

Even malaysian councillors use Mercs, if our PM use Perdana, no face lah.

And P1 still don't do anything positive about Perdana….what's so difficult about changing gearbox suppliers, Paul?

• LOYAL on Oct 04, 2009 at 4:27 am

ME,ME,, I SAID THAT PROTON ARE BETTER THAN THE KOREAN,..BECAUSEEE,eventhough nearly most of malaysian are keep on kutok2ing proton,proton still work hard to improve itself…Proton will NEVER GIVE UP!,..,to proton-WE`LL ALWAYS BE WITH U-SPIRIT OF THE ACHIEVEMENT

• stephenstreets on Oct 04, 2009 at 4:32 am

damn nice !!

• painsama on Oct 04, 2009 at 4:34 am

Very nice. But how does it compare to Lexus, Merc and BMW (won't compare it to Rolls and Bentley though)? For me this one looks stunning it its own way.

• Budak IRB on Oct 04, 2009 at 4:36 am

price 59k or 300k…nice but that is hyundai …the compny same as proton

protection by government….

• budak proton on Oct 04, 2009 at 4:57 am

Hey Budak IRB Hyundai is one of the largest carmakers in the world… Proton no good la. just go to Australia ask people drive proton see how they think? My friends all think it's a joke…

But hyundai's cars are great to drive nowadays. at least people are keeping up with the market leaders… see proton, only know how to get protection from Malaysia govt but is not capable of improving the products just like others.

In the first few months of 2009, Kia-Hyundai sold more than 2 million cars already.

after 26 years, proton is still far from a decent carmaker. even perodua's products make much more sense.

bottom line, Hyundai and Kia produce good cars nowadays. don't say because it's koreans so it's not good. :D

• narrowband on Oct 04, 2009 at 5:14 am

It's a huge step forward for Hyundai automotive industry. It's this kind of yardstick that'll help the company (or the Hyundai makers in general) go the extra mile and keep improving, getting more powerful and better. At least they're moving forward. We're (our country) is still kinda slow.

We keep playing the same game. Creating 1.3l, 1.5l and 1.6l cars, facelift here and there (cosmetics), and re-sell them. For instance, the Iswara should really belong to the museum by now. They're still selling it. Thank goodness 1.8l (waja?) was phased out because it was a flop. The most we have done is 2.0l, the V6, but even so, how much of it was truly Malaysian technology?

Hyundai may be protected by the government but they're serious about making profit. How about our national car maker?

• narrowband on Oct 04, 2009 at 5:14 am

typo:

…(the *Korean makers in general)..

• oec88 on Oct 04, 2009 at 5:17 am

"Hyundai is the first Korean company to develop a bulletproof car with its own technology."

The Barrett M107 .50 Caliber sniper rifle will still shoot through the bullet proof body.

• those who still doubt hyundai quality these days go and buy or try 1 to experience it urself.

• Even if it is protected by its government like ours , but still in the fact that , they deserve the protection . When only Proton can develope their very own technology that can make us proud ? And now only they are claiming they self-engineer a " turbo " engine and say it like it is a big thing . Proudly announce it in TV3 .

70 freaking engineers spend 18 months to develop a "turbo" version of campro engine ? And I hope that engine can really run in 2011 or else it wont worth a tush in a old Nissan Sunny piston .

1985~ , we took mitsu engine and place it in our very own " national car " and we are proud of it . 24 years later , come out with our very own turbo engine , BUT , will collabration with Lotus . How ori can that be ?

Even the politician in Selangor wants a camry . What worth of proton ?

• chain on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:05 am

how come i found it abit looks like the new Mercedes S-class..especially the head light

• lambov12 on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:26 am

are they trying to do wad maybach did ?

• merrick on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:28 am

YAY!! another proton bashing post……XDD….congrats to Hyundai

• theanswer on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:52 am

Even malaysian councillors use Mercs, if our PM use Perdana, no face lah.

for official purpose, our pm still use stretch perdana v6. for his own use, of course not perdana v6.

• skyyarif on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:53 am

the truth is, proton's initial budget for developing a car will always be lesser and lesser as it goes down to many parties, thats why proton cars are generally horrible, not forgetting in many others from after sales service, to the technicians in service centres etc… until recently improvements can be seen after the appointment of new head who is in charged with quality measures, that German man, not sure about his name

• nice. sure hard to find parking for it in pasar malam.

pity proton, in post nothing to do with it also kena bash.

• skyyarif on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:58 am

another reason being, Im pretty sure the those who head the top management in proton dont even drive or be-driven with their own products, and so how on earth are they going to know about the quality measures etc.

• Caddilac on Oct 04, 2009 at 7:15 am

People in Korean are willing to support their national car but Malaysian do not… Twenty years ago Korean car are crap but their people don't give up on their car… Malaysian are more willing to spend more money on a smaller Toyota… If Malaysia is same as Korea, whereas 80% is national car, which translate to about 400k Proton a year, things maybe different…

But it still need to depends on the management though whether they wanna improve…

• timber on Oct 04, 2009 at 7:27 am

true beauty… superb and geared for perfection…

• Proton car is better….. same class comparison larr

• Celicazz on Oct 04, 2009 at 7:59 am

you sure? i used to hear that DSZ is driven in chancellor and exora prime…

• bmpower on Oct 04, 2009 at 8:05 am

hyundai = founded 1947 = 62 years already

kia = founded 1944 = 65 years already

proton of malaysia = founded 1983 = only 26 years already.

IS THAT THE BEST HYUNDAI (and kia or any other korean maker ) …

IS THAT THE BEST THEY CAN DO?

for more double period of time existence than proton???

they just making their own engine after 40 years of existence (hyundai)!!!!

40 yearsssssssssss..

but proton did it less than 20 years of existence.

SO WHAT? BLIND BASHER NO BRAINER AS ALWAYS!

What say you?

• Budak IRB on Oct 04, 2009 at 8:06 am

In korea if korean using imported cars tax enforcer will find and impose the higher tax because their using tax regime to punish people who using the imported cars.That why the korean willing to support their own company.

Instead in Malaysia if we bought BMW or other cars we can claim capital allowance to reduce tax especially for company.

So that why Hyundai developed than proton.What will happened if government implements tax regime like korea government.Our people of course can't accept right???

When tax regime using effectively ,the result is hyundai one step more than proton.That is reality.

• Celicazz on Oct 04, 2009 at 8:21 am

i tot hyundai-kia employs more foreigners in their company as GMs and Managers… employed cos they have experience from other car company…

its not 'national' anymore rite? FTA did good to the company, but, displace all the original korean who runs the company…

• mirsy on Oct 04, 2009 at 8:21 am

Yep……the korean supported then but are rewarded with an ever improving company which is now 5th largest auto maker. Not only the korean are buying but everyone else in the world, cos they listen to what customer one. Now they moving into the luxury market. One step a time. No need Turbo engine, F1 particpation and others. Just look at the "i" series and new KIA range says it all.

Here, what we get for supporting it …… same old story …. my friend brother Persona – 3 times change dashboard cos senget, rattling…. alamak come to think of it maybe the car is senget …Ha..ha..ha.. poor him. Car is a huge chunk of expenditure for a family so they will not mind spending a bit extra if they can on a small Toyota for the peace of mind – yeah translate to minimal worry and less stress.

• Littlefire on Oct 04, 2009 at 8:31 am

bmpower,

Things change fast, 60 years back what the world have? Besides that, They are on their own financial but with some G help on protecting… Japan condition also almost the same in the 80's.

But in Malaysia, we have our ppl & G protect Proton financially & sales… But in the end, we r Jaguh Kampung… How's the sales in China going? I think already quiet de… Over there even their China made cars sold in China more then our Proton sold world wide…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geely_Automobile

Geely started selling Automotive by 1998, and now how much car they sold compare to our beloved Proton… Yup, quality & safety might be a question mark. But still why cant our Proton penetrate China market so easy? Just think about it…

• mirsy on Oct 04, 2009 at 8:49 am

Look into more into Hyundai History.

The conglomerate started in 1946 but the commercial car started in 1968 assembling car for Ford till 1976. It first indiginous car was a Pony came out in 1975 was using previous generation Lancer engine & suspension. Read more here.

http://www.thehyway.com/Hyundai_History.htm

How ironic Hyundai & Proton had goverment help and uses Mitsubishi technology. How both companies panned out. One is allowed to grow and be commercially driven. The other is still a national agenda.

So stop quoting this 46 years versus 26 years.

So are we so shameful to learn from them, acccept the fact.

And yeah, I have owned a KIA before for a few years and am not surprised by their improvement.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 04, 2009 at 8:58 am

looks like accord

• government income not enough, so tax here tax there…that is Pak Ji said.

• Elvis on Oct 04, 2009 at 9:12 am

China has no automotive industry that they can call they own 20 years ago. Today China has several world class brand. BYD will be the leader in electric car in years to come. Koreans are very aware of this, thats why Kia and Hyundai trying hard to make they cars better not by the year but by the month! Looking at Hyundai, they are champion on latest innovation to attract buyers but i am doubtful about they competitiveness when it comes to EV evolution. Whether we like it or not EV will be the preferred mobility choice. WE ARE WELL AWARE OF GLOBAL WARMING….superthypoon will be the whether of the future if we doing do something…..

• Gajen on Oct 04, 2009 at 9:12 am

copy of lexus LS…exterior and interior…even their slogan is 'its time for someone to do to lexus what lexus did to mercedes' no originality…

• I support Proton, But iI will not buy a Proton. because i know very well how bad a Proton is. When it is good i will buy 1.

• budak proton on Oct 04, 2009 at 11:22 am

bmpower said,

October 4, 2009 @ 12:05 am

hyundai = founded 1947 = 62 years already

kia = founded 1944 = 65 years already

proton of malaysia = founded 1983 = only 26 years already.

IS THAT THE BEST HYUNDAI (and kia or any other korean maker ) …

IS THAT THE BEST THEY CAN DO?

for more double period of time existence than proton???

they just making their own engine after 40 years of existence (hyundai)!!!!

40 yearsssssssssss..

but proton did it less than 20 years of existence.

What say you?

————————————————————–

Hey dude, you got some of it wrong…

Do you own a proton? Do you like it?

The fact that hyundai and kia started about 40-60 years ago doesn't approve your point that proton is doing a good job making cars since it has only been in business for 23 years.

Take this as an example, thousands of years ago, architects would have to spent 50 years of their life just to plan and shape a blueprint. He'd probably never see the masterpiece he planned.

Then people took ten years to plan and design a building….

Then now it only takes a few weeks to months to do things quicker and better.

So let's say we are only building houses today, we should take thousands of years to build them since we are just new to building houses? even though there's way to research and obtain knowledge?

The thing I am trying to say is …. information technology allows information to be transferred quickly and easily… Platform sharing, joint ventures, talent trading, even inspections and research on competitors' cars would allow any car maker to gain much insight to how a car is built.

And there used to be so many barriers for the carmakers who were just starting out in the industrial age… Wars, politics, and the lack of a good information sharing platform slowed things down. Can't you see this?

The way you speak of things about proton…. you must be damn proud of Proton lol.. that's good… but being overconfident about something that's not good is nonsense. Everytime I hear malaysia boleh, it's good. but those who always say malaysia boleh will do much better if they put in the time and effort to improve themselves.

Just like Proton. They should have started taking the initiatives to start learning from others… For more than 10 years, it's been producing cars at a subpar level. And the GOVT obviously have had to protect this baby company – more taxes imposed…

It feared competition… but it never took the steps to improve its quality of the products. Now things are quite different for Proton and I feel a little bit relieved.

The bottom line is, if you think you are good enough, think again. The moment you think you are too good for anyone else, you are obviously taking things for granted…

=================================

So what if we have lousy cars that cause people to lose their loved ones in car accidents? So what? So what if Proton cars make us feel tired during mid-length and long journeys? So what? SO what if we pay three times more for cars than other people in other countries? So what if malaysians stay complacent?

Are the people bashing Proton blind? if proton is too good, then it's bashing… Positive criticism helps to reshape and improve things.

=========================================

:D

If others can do it, why can't proton?

If others can't do it, why should we think we can't do it as well?

Stop thinking about how good you are, because there is always things that you can improve upon.

• budak proton on Oct 04, 2009 at 11:28 am

To add to my point of argument, Proton owns Lotus… And don't forget, Lotus is the best when it comes to manufacturing cars with great aerodynamics and handling.

Lotus is not even using its own engines even though it's an established brand. It's using Toyota's 1.8 liters engines for its cars…

• Celicazz said,

October 3, 2009 @ 11:59 pm

you sure? i used to hear that DSZ is driven in chancellor and exora prime…

haiyya only drive proton 'luxury car'…why not drive 'rakyat' car like saga, then u will know proton still not improve at all in term of quality ..central lock easy spoil,noisy a/c compressor,rusted dot, door allignment not good,knocking sound from absorber and many more…they need to open their eye and google it,…to much problem that ppl comment

• worried malaysian on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:46 pm

budak proton, you are spot on.. there are so many aspects to consider when building a car, and you can't improve on all at once as it will be too costly in terms of time and resources. ( reference competitive strategy )

so we have got to be focussed on improving things, perhaps the top 3 things important to customers (which in this case we can safely say malaysians). now i know reliability is probably up there in the list along with quality and feel on interiors and external styling. there might be others but we won't know unless we do a market survey..( which i sincerely hope proton has bothered to conduct). Of course it will be a continuous learning process but with each step taken, we are ensuring we are keeping up and perhaps one day surpass and become the leader in one of the aspects of car manufacturing.. this is the approach that the japs and korean have used and i think it's a very wise way to compete in today's rapidly changing world..

the question is how important is engine development or even turbo for those engines when there are major manufacturers around the world is already producing with state of the art technology? this is an area we cannot compete in as it requires state of the art technology and a tremendous amount of resource. if only the guys at proton had the same sense as the lotus team to outsource and concentrate on the things they do well. we can even opt for th eoption of a JV engine design and manufacturing with other manufacturers which will surely persent a good learning opportunities for our malaysian engineers.

i think too much time and energy not to mention goodwill and damage to the company's reputation has been wasted on this little mis-adventure (of course there were other examples when proton has 1 billion in cash and those guys don't know what to do with it!) . i remember how proud my mom was when we bought our first saga in 1986. there was an excitement about owning a national car. perhaps 26 years of mis-management has cause so many malaysians to be disillusioned and i don't think any malaysians can be blamed for stating the obvious truth that our Proton has been left behind in the dust by the Koreans or anyone else for that matter.

end of the day, i am sure proton has inherent unique strengths which we can capitalise on. i don't think it's too late, but perhaps catching up is getting harder to do as time passes. it's akin to studying for an exam last-minute, so much time, resource and energy has been wasted and the malaysians working for Proton has to step up and show we can compete with anyone in the world. Although i hate to mix politics with business, proton is borne out of political agenda and i have faith in our PM Najib knows exactly what to do in order to coerce Proton to perform. Like he said.. People First (find out what the people wants) Performance Now ! ( Yes he's talking to you Proton!)

• Georgie on Oct 04, 2009 at 7:07 pm

budak proton said,

October 4, 2009 @ 3:28 am

Positive criticism helps to reshape and improve things.

Thanks for that lengthy comment, which I don't really have time to read the whole of it, but yes I do agree with your quote. We all know proton is still behind in its quality wise, but its improving. The Proton lousy years that had we all feared with Proton is that when the only new Proton Wira 'facelift' is basically a new front bumper and proton tiara was their idea for a cheap car. I really hated Proton those years.

My first car was a proton gen2 and I must say the whole interior and the backseat is ridiculous, but I just love the handling of the car, even raw and better than my baby toyota celica. And exterior wise is not that bad, now that I've modded it with some sic bodykits :D.

Now, that I own the Exora, I must say that I love every bit of it, except for some lousy plastics on the dashboard which keeps on popping out and the least comfy back seat, and the fact that only 2 airbags existed (**take my advice Proton engineers!). The 1.6 engine is not that bad, cos i'm not stupid enough to race people in that MPV. Each time someone new sat in the car, they kept quiet the whole journey… but once they went out.. WTF?! I sat in a proton?? They thought it was a honda or toyota. True story.

Keep on improving Proton, put your money (our money) into R&D and more collaboration with other manufacturers, just buy the new tech, damn it. Don't blow it out on stupid takeovers anymore.

• rodimus on Oct 04, 2009 at 9:09 pm

I'm quite agree with Budak proton said, there still room to improve.

• Hyundai Motor found in 1967. not 1947.

And to alI the idiots saying that the Koreans are protected marker…

Unlike malaysia, Korean car import tax is only 8%. and their no.1 and no.2 foreign best sellers are Lexus and Honda.

World most closed protected market is Japan.(not Korea)

• Hyundai construction company found in 1947.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyundai

Hyundai motor company found in 1967.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyundai_Motor_Compan…

• I'm 100% sure Proton must worry to China auto maker. (Like Geely, BYD)

Proton's actual competiotor is not Korean, It is a Chinese.

If malaysian see Korean as competiotor, you will fail. They already as good as Japanese top auto maker toyota/honda. (Other small Japanese auto maker, nissan, mazuda, mitsubishi, suzuki…etc… are already inferior than Hyundai/Kia)

I am 100% bet, if proton fall in bankrupt, it caused by 'Chinese' auto maker.

Chinese want Malaysia-China FTA, after that, 'Made in China' stuffs will dominate in Malaysia. Who buy a proton? Malysian will enjoy Chinese Geely who buy a Volvo technology.

• mystvearn on Oct 04, 2009 at 11:50 pm

This thing will sell well in China with all their elongated preference.

• Anonymous on Oct 04, 2009 at 11:59 pm

I'm using Proton Persona. You don't know how much I care my lovely car.

But, when I park beside Perdana, how much I feel my car is far far more high-tech than P. Just like you parked Wira beside Saga from 80's. Yeah I know P is an executive car and my car just an ordinary sedan. But that's what I feel in my heart.

The car already more than ten years in the market but Proton still didn't replace the car. Federal Gomen also want to buy Merc with 80mil contract per year. More and more state Gomen change their old Perdana. I feel sad about this.

Don't blame Korean for their new Hyundai Equus. Change our Perdana first then you can dance on the same floor.

• MADBOY on Oct 05, 2009 at 12:33 am

The problem for proton is it was created for a national agenda. To help Malaysia to become a developed nation. As such, it must "help' the local companies, hence most of the part came from local vendor. Once upon a time when Proton was strong, the vendors took advantage – low quality but higher price, Proton paid for the overprice part becouse it can & people still buying its cars. Then Proton having a lot of quality problems & people don't buy its cars as it used to.

Korean has no such agenda (at least not the way Malaysia has). The car industry was developed by private enterprise where the motive is simple – to max profit. The Korean has no restriction to get oversea vendor as long at the price & quality is right. They also can terminate any vendor service if quality is compromised.

Here, Proton is stuck with the same vendor who supplied sub-standard over and over again becouse of national policy to help local vendor.

• Prokia on Oct 05, 2009 at 12:40 am

bmpower = big sohai stupid ass-hole.

Hyundai engine is faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaar much much more sophisticated and advanced in terms of engineering. 5.0 & 4.6 V8, 3.8 & 3.3 V6, turbocharged 2.0L, 2.2L Diesel, 2.4L direct injection, et cetera just to name a few.

1.6L Campro TURBO? so what dude. workshop bawah pokok cherry also can do that la, in fact i was once in a team of bolt on campro project. This bloody engine is so not reliable, boost longer and the bearings gave away.

• http://wardsauto.com/reports/2009/tenbest/best_en…

The Ward’s 10 Best Engines for 2009

* Audi AG: 2.0L TFSI turbocharged DOHC I-4 (A4 Avant)

* BMW AG: 3.0L turbocharged DOHC I-6 (135i Coupe)

* BMW AG: 3.0L DOHC I-6 Turbodiesel (335d)

* Chrysler LLC: 5.7L Hemi OHV V-8 (Dodge Ram/Challenger R/T)

* Ford Motor Co.: 2.5L DOHC I-4 HEV (Escape Hybrid)

* General Motors Corp.: 3.6L DOHC V-6 (Cadillac CTS)

* Honda Motor Co. Ltd.: 3.5L SOHC V-6 (Accord Coupe)

* Hyundai Motor Co. Ltd.: 4.6L DOHC V-8 (Genesis)

* Toyota Motor Corp.: 3.5L DOHC V-6 (Lexus IS 350)

* Volkswagen AG: 2.0L SOHC I-4 Turbodiesel (Jetta TDI)

——————–

Hyundai engine listed as world 10 best engine.

• If malaysian see Korean as competiotor, you will fail. They already as good as Japanese top auto maker toyota/honda. (Other small Japanese auto makers, nissan, mazuda, mitsubishi, suzuki…etc… are already 'inferior' than Hyundai/Kia)

Proton's worry is a Chinese.

Chinese are comming!

"BYD has set its goal and intends to reach it. "It's our company's long-term target to be China's No. 1 automaker by 2015 and to be the world's leading car maker by 2025," said Jasmine Huang, a senior marketing representative for BYD."
    http://rumors.automobilemag.com/6558283/green/chi…

I 100% bet Proton crushed by Chinese.

Save this article in your CD-Rom media, and see my comment after 20 years.

• reuben how on Oct 05, 2009 at 4:15 am

I don't understand why there are Korean vs Malaysian Proton arguments. They are totally different. The workers are totally different. Hyundai is Hyundai because of a strong labour effort. Initially, by copying and using foreign technology, and then improving on design. In fact, Seoul is the World Design Capital of the year (for 2010). I don't think Malaysians have the same culture. Malaysian people do not have the same work ethic and cultural excellence as east asian societies such as Japanese and Koreans.They cannot make it on the global stage without these basic ingredients. Korean households can sort their household waste into six recycle bins. Can malaysians even be bothered to put their rubbish into rubbish bins? I think Proton is made by people a little bit more advanced than basic human beings. LG chose the wrong partner to build a car.

• informalaysia on Oct 05, 2009 at 7:56 am

don't be funny guys.. how do you know koreans are loyal to hyundai n kia?

i studied in the US and got three korean friends… two used honda and one more owns a subaru.. all three bought japanese brand la…

haiyo, why they don't buy japanese cars in korea? because it's damn expensive just like here in msia!

sigh….

and some still want to compare the young proton and the shipmaker hyundai? stop it already la ok…

• noname on Oct 05, 2009 at 9:32 am

Can the Perdana compare with this Hyundai Equus? Look at their TECHNOLOGY… this is wat we can called 'technology'… i boring to see those who saying that 'proton punya technology'…

• Gong Kia on Oct 05, 2009 at 11:06 am

Very nice, for a Hyundai. I'm so happy to see the progession/improvement that Hyundai made to its cars. Sad to see our beloved Proton stuck at the same spot for decades…….

• azrai on Oct 05, 2009 at 3:53 pm

Perdana V6.

• mitlanevo on Oct 05, 2009 at 8:24 pm

looks good!!!

• Pak Marah on Oct 05, 2009 at 9:00 pm

The automakers Proton & Perodua are protected by Malaysian government auto-policy thus no doubt the're still breathing in current bad economic situation. But for foreign's like Toyota, Honda, Hyundai ect. have made more competetive and global products for decades.

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Oct 05, 2009 at 9:32 pm

1,000 times better than any Perdana V6, but of course it's better.

1. Perdana V6 is how many years old?

2. It's a Proton!

3. The technology & looks of the Perdana V6 is… outdated? Old? Never re-engineered? Stagnant for 10 years?

I love Hyundai.

Go Korea!

• chyan on Oct 05, 2009 at 9:55 pm

The pillars looks damn thick. I like it. :)

• questionable_one on Oct 05, 2009 at 10:14 pm

Is it just me or does everyone else notice that every car the koreans make have some similar looks to another car? doesn't this remind you of the lexus ls460+the s-class (1 generation before the new one)?

• ? Lexus was originally "copycat".

hyundai have no fault.

———————–
    http://www.drive.com.au/Editorial/ArticleDetail.a…

When Toyota launched its Lexus luxury car brand a decade ago it made no secret that it had Mercedes in it sights.

Ten years later, the Japanese are sending in the clones with increasing frequency.

It's not just the expensive models which European makers accuse Japan of copying. Consider, for example, the headlights on the latest Toyota Tarago. Now picture those of the Peugeot 206. Look familiar? Looks as if they should share the same part number.

When Audi's TT coupe and convertible were unveiled, diminutive Japanese maker Daihatsu had a car with an amazing likeness displayed at the very next Tokyo Motor Show called the Kopen. The latest Lexus coupe, due here before the end of the year, looks like a larger interpretation of Audi's Bauhaus design.

Daihatsu has also built a miniature Hummer and, bizzarely, called it the Naked. And in 1999 at the same show, Mitsubishi took the wraps off a car that, if you squinted, you would swear blind was a new Mini.

What about the "teardrops" on the headlights on latest batch of Hondas, such as the HR-V, Odyssey and the new Integra? A hint of BMW 3 Series perhaps? The tailights on the HR-V have a remarkable resemblance to the Volvo 850 wagon's.

From a distance, Toyota's square-shaped MR2 looks like a Porsche Boxster.

The original Toyota Celica was so inspired by the Ford Mustang of the era that today's enthusiasts call it the "Mustang Celica".

Now, even after 10 years, Lexus still hasn't broken its clone-like mould. The latest Lexus LS430 has the sillouette of the superseded Mercedes S Class and a headlight theme borrowed from the new S Class.

When the covers came off the fourth generation Lexus at the Detroit Motor Show two years ago, Mercedes-Benz broke its corporate silence over what it called "Japanese copycat cars" but stopped short of calling it plagiarism.

"People explain to us it is really an honour to have someone copy our cars, but I don't think we see it that way any more," said Harald Leschke, the head of design at Mercedes-Benz. "I think it is quite obvious that they admire the design, then try to do it their way. I'm sure in some industries this sort of thing is not legal.

"What surprises us most is that [Lexus] are prepared to do it, in public, and that customers are prepared to buy their copycat cars."

"I think it's fair to say all their cars have been influenced by someone else's models," he said. "They don't have a history so they have to copy someone else's."

Industry experts argue that a flagship Lexus made sense when it was considerably cheaper than the German benchmarks. But now that it is priced the same, there's less incentive to drive an imitation. Nevertheless, Europe's car maker have now become so concerned about Japan's sincere forms of flattery that they are wary of showing concept cars of future models.

Porsche, for example, has deliberately not shown "design studies" of its Cayenne off-roader because it fears a Japanese maker will be able to release its interpretation just as Porsche unveils the real thing.

[…]

The lack of history is also an Achilles heel. "Japan had no horse-and-carriage era. True, the nobility were transported in carriages for a time, but these were import!!ed or the designs were copied.

"So the country skipped a critical phase in its maturation process as a car stylist. Too often, designers took the easy option and borrowed looks from around the world."

• When Jap and Korea companies go overseas, they will always give first preference of biz back to their own countrymen. That means, buying Jap / Korea cars, electrical appliances and even choosing contractors.

In Malaysia, the big companies in Malaysia don't even want to buy Malaysian products. Don't talk about M'sia companies overseas..

• juz like Genesis 4.6

• CatmaN on Oct 06, 2009 at 6:48 pm

too much bashing…way tooooo much, especially on PROTON! hey..this column is about hyundai equus. so logically..any comments posted/to be posted right here in this column are merely regarding hyundai (equus) or any car model with the same category (if in doing comparison). but from what i see here (and most previous topics), most readers/visitors are likely to bash PROTON. it's not that im a great supporter of PROTON but i think it's waaayyyy too much. mcm tak adil.

anyway, it's just my 2 cents only. baru setahun jagung je dalam arena permotoran ni. so Paul…any comments on this..? ur opinion(s), perhaps..?

• CatmaN on Oct 06, 2009 at 6:50 pm

dah jadi mcm medan berbalah/berdebat on who's wrong & who's right lak aku tgk Paul punya forum nih. kesian kat Paul..

• asran on Oct 06, 2009 at 11:53 pm

always wanna look lika a mercedes. headlights of a merc & rear of a lexus…boriiiinnngg!!!!!

• questionable_one on Oct 07, 2009 at 12:33 am

ahh, i see not said, thank you the very detailed explanation. It was really getting to me that the koreans are always looking for something original in design ALL THE TIME but always to no avail.

• Our PM and TPM rides in a Perdana Executive V6 as their official car. PM's personal car is a 2007 Merc. S-Class 300 with the plate number 11

• Impressive and fully captivised by Korean's engineerings and designs; hope it's as solid as it looks. Shame on our national brand….prices and safety unjustifiable.

• nuajon on Oct 14, 2009 at 4:32 am

wow bigger n handsome

• huhu..atoz alwayz got kong in gearbox…hyundai matrix got kong in gearbox..getz also..huhu…proton also got,perdana huhu..

if you not believe, u buy one atoz and try to drive from genting to kl..sure nangis loorr