Chevrolet Caprice police car returns to the US!

chevrolet-caprice-ppv-1

Chevrolet has developed a new Chevrolet Caprice PPV for the US market, and as indicated by its PPV suffix (Police Patrol Vehicle) it will be police-only. The new Caprice PPV is based on the GM Zeta platform which is shared between its large vehicles like the Camaro, and in long wheelbase form, the Holden Statesman. The Caprice has the same 3,010mm long wheelbase as the Statesman.

Under the hood is a massive 355 horsepower 6.0 litre V8 that can take the cop car from 0 to 100km/h in under 6 seconds. A smaller V6 engine will be offered later. The transmission used is a 6-speed automatic. The front seats are sculpted to “pocket” the officer’s equipment belt (worn on the waist), which greatly increases the comfort for a great range of police officer sizes. The foam density of the seatback and cushion insert surfaces are designed to conform to the shape of an equipment belt’s various items, too, allowing the officer’s back to rest properly on the seatback surface.

chevrolet-caprice-ppv-2

Feedback was obtained from the police force during the development process. “The new Chevrolet Caprice police car is the right tool at the right time for law enforcement. We asked for a lot of feedback from our police customers, which helped us develop a vehicle that is superior to the Crown Victoria in key areas,” said Jim Campbell, general manager for GM Fleet and Commercial Operations.

I’m not sure how hard exactly that can be considering how old the Crown Victoria is (over a decade)! Now I wonder what happened to the Carbon Motors E7

[zenphotopress number=99 album=538]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• akupunya on Oct 06, 2009 at 4:34 pm

nice..even our mitsu evo police car look like circus car..

• Chris Y on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:18 pm

A purpose-built vehicle unlike the type Proton supplies to the police force. The Evos they bought looks more like it's just for show. For promotional purposes. Don't think they will ever deploy it for real action.

• theanswer on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:45 pm

why should our police waste their time for real action? first they must remember that any 'chasing' activities will danger other road user. second, just use their walkie talkie, set up another road block in front. Plus if the evos are involve in an accident you ppl will blame them for using duit rakyat to repair. pakai kancil pon salah, evo pon salah. malaysian..malaysian..

• well, malaysian what..whatever the govt do be it good or bad is will always be bad in their eyes…

• Redzuan on Oct 06, 2009 at 6:09 pm

Chris Y,

I'm no advocate for the police (just a student at a local U), but I did see the police Evo's in action…several times AND at different places! Btw, they're not just cruising but also stopping cars etc. In short, doing police work. Shocking, right?

Now, considering that there's only ten of those Evo's in the force (if I'm not mistaken), that's a pretty frequent sighting, don't u think? Unless you think I'm the type that attracts police everywhere I go, then I guess you'd have to reconsider before making statement/assumption like that, and saying it like it's the truth. Just because YOU don't see something, doesn't mean it's not there. No hard feelings, eh Chris? :)

• akupunya on Oct 06, 2009 at 6:27 pm

the malaysian police EVO elok masuk parade jer…

pastu join exhibition kat motorshow, convocation, or lepak depan istana..

pastu masuk highway racing n cucuk kereta orang..

kita malaysia suka kosmetik saja ooo..

• mitlanevo on Oct 06, 2009 at 7:11 pm

hmmm…. PDRM should really take a look at those equipments in the car…

not copy, but a reference perhaps…

• It was reported (i think in MT) that if the Evos get damaged other than during a police chase, it comes out of the officers own pocket. Hence, the officers who drive it have to be extra careful not to trash the car too much.

• 6.0 V8 punch out 355 only ??

so so little leh …..and…. it need 6 second to reach 100km/h ?

a bmw 5 or a benz e class can easily smoke them !!!

• Lightning McQueen on Oct 06, 2009 at 9:39 pm

cfa said,

October 6, 2009 @ 11:46 am

It was reported (i think in MT) that if the Evos get damaged other than during a police chase, it comes out of the officers own pocket. Hence, the officers who drive it have to be extra careful not to trash the car too much.

=============================================

Now I get the idea, chase the criminal car, the co driver shoot the tyre. and arrest the bad guy laa… so the evo is safe, policemen pocket is safe, and bad guy caught…..

• George on Oct 06, 2009 at 9:50 pm

Wah,if malaysia police use this car it will be like wow.

• questionable_one on Oct 06, 2009 at 10:01 pm

wow, the holden caprice is actually a luxury vehicle in australia, but its a police car in the us?

• JasJos on Oct 06, 2009 at 10:33 pm

caprice is too slow for the aussies. They have the HSV for chase car.

• khax19a on Oct 06, 2009 at 11:14 pm

i hope malaysian police force change their paint job on the current evos

they look funny…

by the way i proud msian police use evos as police car and i dream to beat one of them in drag race in ford mustang haha…

• scottloeb on Oct 06, 2009 at 11:16 pm

I dont want to see the Evo in action here. That means we are not safe and some lunatics is not on the leash! I rather have them in the parades or parked at the state HQ or just patrolling safely in the highway. If I saw one in action I'll hide for sure!

• Amarjie on Oct 06, 2009 at 11:51 pm

I second what Redzuan said, kalau you tak nampak tak mesetinta benda tu tak de kat situ…

• MADBOY on Oct 07, 2009 at 1:39 am

They make sure that the police officers are comfortable, make me wonder about the back seat for the criminal. Will they customise the seat to restrict the movement of the person like Seat will sink really deep to make it difficult to jump from car.

• actually we dont even ned the evos…our thieves and robbers cannot even get away from the current waja petrol units…plus our roads are not that good for them to runway…waja is the bestttttttttttt

• xatomic on Oct 07, 2009 at 3:18 am

should take a look at this

http://failblog.org/2009/09/23/police-chase-fail/

• This is a pretty bog standard car in Australia. The 4 litre version is a common taxi car. The government here buys plenty of them (to protect the local Holden brand) and sells them off after two years at reasonable prices.

A 6.0 six costs about AUD55k OTR, or about RM160k.

A souped up version, made by holden special vehicles (like R3), costs upwards of AUD80k (RM240k).

www.hsv.com.au

• hmmm, looks like the carbon motors e7 not materialising soon.

maybe will be deployed as special use vehicle?

• is it true that U.S. police car are finely tune and souped up, even that an evo7 cannot out run it? example in the fast & furious 2..

• onli rim besi mah?? shame on Gov onli.

• scottloeb on Oct 07, 2009 at 8:53 pm

Max,

Remember few years back at Shah Alam Sek 7. They rob safeguard ATM money distribution centre (including some shoot out) with few white harriers and estima plus a rexton as their getaway car. They outrun the hilux and hiace that being used as the escort and transport vehicle. Waja dont have the power that harrier have even if its 2.4 zz series engine, + the harrier is a 4 wheeler and have high ground clearance. Polis's XC can do the job. The robbers are getting smarter nowadays and that frightens me! Maybe watching too many Oceans series kot, who knows!

• bmpower on Oct 08, 2009 at 2:37 am

6.0 liter only got 355hp?

what a rubbish..

from 6.0l engine they should get it 700hp at least!

this surely gas guzler.