Special Chinese-themed limited Ferrari 599

599gtbchina-0

What exactly is a Ferrari 599 GTB Fiorano HGTE China Limited Edition? For some xenophobes, anything that’s associated with the word China is likely to be scorned upon. But maybe this car will change their mind. It just shows us how important China is becoming in our world economy. More and more people are interested in Chinese culture now and need to learn the language to conduct trade.

599gtbchina-1

The 599 China Limited Edition was developed together with Chinese artist Lu Hao. The car comes in a two-tone paint that I think looks pretty good actually, maybe some Ferrari owners could like to emulate it on their existing cars. The body is red as usual (this shade is called Rosso Fuoco, or fire red) but the pillars and roof is done in a shade of medium grey.

599gtbchina-2

There is more to remind you that this is a special edition car on the inside. Just look at the rev counter! I took some Mandarin classes when I was very young and that’s all gone to waste now but I can still recognise the numbers one to four.

599gtbchina-4

And of course like its very long name suggests, the car also gets the HGTE package. Less than 12 will be made and there is one one-off car that will be sold in an auction. For this one, the “cracked glaze” pattern of the paintjob was inspired by the Ge Liln porcelain of the Song Dynasty. Er, I’d rather stick with the red and grey paintjob. A vase, no matter how expensive or precious it is, doesn’t exactly tie in with the qualities that one would associate with a Ferrari.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=539]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• dejavu on Oct 06, 2009 at 4:06 pm

Tat rev counter is really an 'OMG'!!! N tat 'cracked glaze' makes d car look really sick…

• kimi_ on Oct 06, 2009 at 4:21 pm

The cracked glaze makes the Ferrari looks like LIZARD !!!!!

The rev counter is OMFG COOL…

• it should have a small print of "MADE FOR CHINA" on the rev counter to show off where usually we mostly shy away from things "MADE IN CHINA"!!

• _xXx_ on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:10 pm

shy away from things “MADE IN CHINA”!!?? You?

Then you can't live on earth anymore. Everything will be made in China soon

• annihilated on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:11 pm

on kimi_

yeah.. the more i look at the green-vase ferrari.. the more smiling platipus it becomes to my eyes..but, it's ferrari mah.

.. and oh when oh when are we going to have 'ferrari-replica' from china? or is it there oredi?

• nick chan on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:17 pm

that cracked glaze looks like hard boiled egg

• theanswer on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:39 pm

even branded shoes like nike and adidas most of them was made in china. hahahaha

• Cyberkayu on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:55 pm

the artist uses chinese character in oracle form

words in rev counter and this badge http://paultan.org/photo/599-GTB-China/9452841.jp… which written CHINA, are oracle character…

• akupunya on Oct 06, 2009 at 6:31 pm

macam Windows OS..ada version2 ek..

tok arab tk suka ker ferrari..

pasni bubuh tulisan arab plak..

• korean on Oct 06, 2009 at 6:31 pm

Chinese market is important to all big company, Ferrari is no exceptional.

Remember the long version or 5 series and A6? All these big companys will provide what ever Chinese people want.

• mitlanevo on Oct 06, 2009 at 6:50 pm

wow!!! China really pow weird fool, lololol~

but i think those chinese words can give some ideas to other countries, can replace with japanese, korean, thai, arab etc etc, haha

• wow, prehistoric chinese words. CoooL!!!

• 1 Malaysia on Oct 06, 2009 at 7:55 pm

if u r strong, u r king!

like it or not, the ferarri is custom-made his product to win chinese's heart. we malaysia is just a kacang, diam-diam tengok la….

• Black Dog on Oct 06, 2009 at 8:26 pm

Looks like Ferrari now catering designs for regional taste; California for US, this one for China, coming up next might be for Middle East & India.

Bolehland might have to wait a thousand years before they even notice us!

Unless of course Jean Todt can do a special one for Michelle Yeoh!

• china sucks on Oct 06, 2009 at 9:35 pm

china is stupid…i hate china malaysia rocks

• err…the cracked glaze spoilt the whole car !

• MycarMylife on Oct 06, 2009 at 10:49 pm

Looks like all the big boys are looking east (this time it's China not Jap),

Well done China from a place of swamps , rice fields and fishing villages it has made the west to go east again.just like Marco Polo did.

One thing for sure that the Chinese did right was to focus on nation building and improving the economy unlike us in My ,your guess is as good as mine when will we ever start to learn and catch up before our oil runs out?

• lambov12 on Oct 06, 2009 at 11:09 pm

nothing special about the chinese edition ..

wad they did is change the rev counter to chinese word ..

and respray it ..

wad so special ?

• Looks like the 599XX

• Anonymous on Oct 06, 2009 at 11:37 pm

Pirated Ferrari ka? Just Kidding.

So Mr Lu Hao, any news about Proton China Limited Edition after this? Haha.

Wonder if u can put Egyptian Hieroglyphs?

Anyway, nice job!

• Chinese are comming!

Proton and Malaysia economy will crushed by Chinese cheap products.

• Wang Jing on Oct 06, 2009 at 11:40 pm

???that's so cool!

• amirzaim on Oct 07, 2009 at 12:10 am

This model looks ugly when they appied the lizard-scheme paint. Also the tachometer is ugly. Then, this car would be has its own tag : MADE IN CHINA!!!

Crush you all, italians and the world if this model is made in china!!!!!

• fredo on Oct 07, 2009 at 12:21 am

Ferrari is mocking the chinese, dont you get it?

• mystvearn on Oct 07, 2009 at 12:36 am

That porcelin lizard whatever is ugly. Wait few years than people will think "how come your ferrari paint already peeling?"

• zaff1984 on Oct 07, 2009 at 12:43 am

dont like it… rather buy the original spec than this special edition.

• BlackMamba on Oct 07, 2009 at 2:14 am

i hope the gear stick is not made of chop stick den

• that is one cool rev counter man.

• hehehe…next time…when launch in malaysia…will put malay rev counter

satu dua tiga empat lima enam tujuh lapan sembilan sepuluh…alamak…x cukup ruang…hahaha

• Not a Xenophobe on Oct 11, 2009 at 6:37 pm

People who associate the word CHINA with poor quality and lack of human rights are definitely XENOPHOBES. I mean come on just look at the economy.

BTW, remember not to buy pickled plums from China cause of excessive lead in them. Also careful about milk products with melamine. Oh and also dont say anything about human rights in China cause you will probably disappear. And lastly the internet there might be censored and highly monitored so be careful.

But other than that China is no 1. I mean come on.