Nissan Navara getting 6-speed manual transmission variant in Malaysia soon

Nissan Navara

Nissan will be adding two more variants to its Nissan Navara line-up soon, and both of them will be manual. The two manual models will be called the Standard and the SE.

Instead of the 5-speed auto, you’ll get a 6-speed manual gearbox, which is a first in the pick-up segment in Malaysia. The engine is the same 2.5 litre YD25DDTi engine which is the most powerful engine in its segment, producing 174 PS and 403Nm of torque. The engine is intercooled and has VGT.

The list of equipment will also be a downgrade from the current LE Automatic. The xenon headlamps will be replaced by halogens, the seats will be fabric, the rearview mirrors will lose its auto-dimming function, the CD changer will be replaced with a single CD, and the 6 speaker system will be downgraded to 4 speakers.

Some plastic bits in the interior which used to have a silver finish will also be replaced by the beige interior colour. On the outside, the door mirrors will have their chrome finish replaced by body colour paint.

What the SE has over the Standard are ABS brakes and the dual front SRS airbags, which the Standard version lacks. So far no prices of the new manual Standard and SE have been released yet, but expect them to of course be lower than the RM105,800 that you have to pay for the automatic Navara LE in Peninsular Malaysia. With the equipment deleted off the Standard compared to the top of the range LE, it’d better be significantly lower!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• muharifz on Oct 27, 2009 at 11:54 pm

Would love to have one…

• classical on Oct 28, 2009 at 12:28 am

6 Speed?? wow…

• hi. Navara 6 speed manual? ya, already saw one in Tawau town last Friday, as the manual gearknob is very recognise with 6 speed indicator.

• 403nm torque!!

• 4G63tDSM on Oct 28, 2009 at 1:35 am

It would be something if there was a 6speed Navara SE with 2WD only.

The Triton got it partially right, just that Mitsu in all its wisdom decided to put that weasy motor inside.

• Anonymous on Oct 28, 2009 at 2:00 am

This truck is huge.

• 6 speed manual 2wd navara shud be lighter…..its a drift machine…hehe

• NutzeyWagen on Oct 28, 2009 at 2:42 am

The Navara IS a right-looking 4WD pickup as opposed to the wrong-looking Triton (Triton was a big flop in Europe, and rightly so too). The Navara is big and powerful, front looks tough and imposing, all the traits of a 4WD pickup. And now mated to a 6-speed manual transmission makes it even more desirable (4WD pickups should be MT in the first place). If it is priced below RM100K, it'll blow all its competitors away, come rain or shine!

• hotwheeler on Oct 28, 2009 at 2:49 am

6 speed! amazing

http://www.flickr.com/photos/thinkstudio/

• redfueler on Oct 28, 2009 at 3:00 am

haha..put dis engine under exora hood…

• i have driven a 6 speed with the 2.5TD engine before…it's faster and more economical at the same time, good acceleration for a pickup as well

• sx trail on Oct 28, 2009 at 4:45 am

with vector,210hp,490n

• ETCM should offer lower torque/BHP variants too as the current one too powerful for those not looking for power. Unless ETCM can reduce the price, seemingly RM105k little premium for most.

By the way, Navara is the king of SUT.

• I own both Navara and Triton and what can i say is that … there are different class…. it really depends on the criteria that you're looking from a pickup truck.

• fantastic. somehow i knew this was coming, a manual version with lower level trim.

pretty certain this will cost under 100k. and will kill all the competition with that monster of an engine. euro 2 will also be friendlier on the engine.

• mitlanevo on Oct 28, 2009 at 5:20 am

too powerful?

lmao~

• budin on Oct 28, 2009 at 5:35 am

Happy bday PaulTan!

• infinity on Oct 28, 2009 at 5:51 am

it is your birthday Paul??

• nissan fan on Oct 28, 2009 at 6:08 am

ETCM should also bring in the Nissan Pathfinder/Armada to compete with the Pajero sport and Chevrolet Captiva.

• Pathfinder with this engine, though little big will make Pajero Triton Sport and unFortuner seemed irrelevant.

Triton much better than more popular SUT if you not really for extra bed for your cargo. Its dynamic suit certain markets requirement though l'd love to have Navara more than the diamond brand. One need to drive Triton before comment as the passenger cabin more ergonomic than Ford, Mazda, Frontier, Tata and more carlike position.

• budin on Oct 28, 2009 at 6:55 am

infinity said,

October 27, 2009 @ 9:51 pm

it is your birthday Paul??

Yes…, u can refer to Theophilus Chin blog…

http://www.theophiluschin.com/

he is Paul's friend

• i will defnitely buying this when i start working oredy. i could do a drag race on the slopes to kundahsang in sabah.

• stevewy on Oct 28, 2009 at 7:46 am

definitely king of mother fuc…ehem..sorry..mother trucker :D

• some info…. Navara Standard and Navara SE both are 4WD, price (KK) rm90,800 for Standard and rm95,800 for SE.

• Tuni, 95k? wow..thats a competitive price to hilux given the extra power!

• 90-96k really decent price for such competent truck.

• clone on Oct 28, 2009 at 10:27 am

@M3 said,

October 27, 2009 @ 11:05 pm

i will defnitely buying this when i start working oredy. i could do a drag race on the slopes to kundahsang in sabah.

It's not "kundahsang" its Kundasang…..are you Sabahan? I think you are not Sabahan.

• My navara has had major problems at 20,000k's replaced clutch, at 30,000K;s replaced injector pump, at 50,000K's replaced timing gear & chain, at 68,000k's replaced injectors, at 70,000K's had engine oil leak, at 74,000K's engine running roughly and blowing smoke, engine needs to be bored out to 020" oversize with new pistons & rings.This engine has not had a hard time it has been serviced at the proper times….WHAT A HEAP OF SHIT

• dzat said,

October 27, 2009 @ 4:40 pm

'403nm torque!!'

It also came into my mind: Why only 403Nm ?

The antique VW 2.5TDI, which dates back to 1989 and which is only manufactured for the 'VW Transporter' nowadays, has 174hp and 400Nm.

1989 was 20 yrs ago…

On the other hand: The price of the Navara is okay and YD25DDTi with VGT sounds good. ;)

• Lightning McQueen on Oct 28, 2009 at 4:07 pm

I wonder pick up has fixed their airbag issue… last time it was granted with 1 and half star only by EuroNCAP…

• big-ass mother trucker.

• ckengyo on Oct 28, 2009 at 5:58 pm

would any 1 crazy enough 2 swap in entire gtr vr38dett drivetrain?

• kinesthe on Oct 28, 2009 at 6:27 pm

depends on the year.

the most powerful 2.5 TDI in the 1989-2003 transporter was a straight-5 putting out 151 PS@ 4000 rpm and 295 Nm@1900 rpm.

the 2004 2.5TDI in the VW transporter and toureg put out 174PS@3500 rpm and 400Nm@2000 rpm.

according to wikipedia, the nissan YD25DDTI high power, which has been in production since 1998, is a 4 pot producing 174PS@4000 and 403@2000 rpm.

• clone, i live nearby the signboard. why dont u go down here n cek it out u fool.

• mitlanevo on Oct 29, 2009 at 3:59 am

karl said,

October 27, 2009 @ 10:55 pm

Pathfinder with this engine, though little big will make Pajero Triton Sport and unFortuner seemed irrelevant.

Triton much better than more popular SUT if you not really for extra bed for your cargo. Its dynamic suit certain markets requirement though l’d love to have Navara more than the diamond brand. One need to drive Triton before comment as the passenger cabin more ergonomic than Ford, Mazda, Frontier, Tata and more carlike position.

bro, if u want something which has carlike position, carlike interior, carlike handling, just go get yourself a CAR, simple as that…

• Littlefire on Oct 29, 2009 at 4:06 am

Yeap, buying a pick-up is normally for business or heavy load. If you want car-like comfort, why not buy a proper car.. lolz

That why, from my Point of View, a pick-up should have a lot of torque to push more load and better pick-up. That how pick-up name came by..

• PaH said,

October 28, 2009 @ 5:44 am

My navara has had major problems at 20,000k’s replaced clutch, at 30,000K;s replaced injector pump, at 50,000K’s replaced timing gear & chain, at 68,000k’s replaced injectors, at 70,000K’s had engine oil leak, at 74,000K’s engine running roughly and blowing smoke, engine needs to be bored out to 020? oversize with new pistons & rings.This engine has not had a hard time it has been serviced at the proper times….WHAT A HEAP OF SHIT

you wanna sabotage, please try harder. any person with a brain can tell you're just trying to make yourself feel better because Nissan is bringing in something more value.

don't pee on a man's leg and tell him it's raining.

• The Loner on Oct 29, 2009 at 6:08 am

Bring it on. Let Toyota and Isuzu have huge pressure from the mother of trucker. Hehehe.

Btw, extra info, next year Cergazam brings in Chevrolet Colorado pickup. Like the saying, business just got picked up.

• clone on Oct 29, 2009 at 10:55 am

@M3 said,

October 28, 2009 @ 11:37 am

clone, i live nearby the signboard. why dont u go down here n cek it out u fool.

There is no such thing places in Sabah called "kundahsang". Why you are so rude? Why you called people "fool"? don't you have manner? if you are not Sabahan no wonder you make mistake. If you are Sabahan then you will know what is right….don't you think you live for a few years here in Sabah you can say that you know a lot about this state….learn history please…..

• Hey, CSV if i wanted to piss on your leg i would have used a fire hose, sounds like you need cooling down !!!!! I was just making a comment hoping someone out there has had similar problems, or is it that Nissan is paying your wages , if there not well adios mother F#@#ER

• Car-like?

I used my '07 Triton mainly for work. The cargo bed is smaller than my Frontier but with a proper boot lid, the truck can carry more.

Comfort-wise, the truck is comfortable but it is still a truck and many people will spend a lot of money to make it really comfortable which is pointless.

However, Triton is a sport truck and with proper mods, it is faster in straight line acceleration. I have done 175kph from Jln Duta to Sg Buloh via NKVE a few days back. Mind you, this is a stock truck with no performance mods. I reckon the 3.2L would be faster.

• old timers on Oct 30, 2009 at 12:44 am

haha, mother trucker…

if sell below 80k (yeah, i wish), sure others bungkus….

• Navara 2.5, 174hp?? boleh tahan ka engine dia?? look the frontier, banyak gantung engine hahahaha.. go d-max!

• mitlanevo on Oct 31, 2009 at 5:33 am

AC, trying to promote ur UK-rejected Triton?

u ain't changing the fact that triton = sissy…

• anyway, still wait for Toyota to put higher cc engine as Isuzu, Mitsubishi and Nissan do to their double-cab, and like or not, double-cabs are still 'good looking' with boxy body design instead soft-curved design like Hilux and Triton… both these trucks are 'weird' looking!

• NutzeyWagen on Oct 31, 2009 at 10:32 pm

WJ said,

October 27, 2009 @ 8:56 pm

I own both Navara and Triton and what can i say is that … there are different class…. it really depends on the criteria that you’re looking from a pickup truck.

Navara, Triton, Ranger, Fighter, D-Max, Hilux are all in the same class.

• KIA FORTE open for b on Nov 12, 2009 at 11:30 am

:)Kami adalah syarikat NAZA KIA dari cawangan KLANG & cawangan KEPONG yang buka 365 hari 9am-9pm setiap hari.

Senang untuk anda melawat KIA pada bila-bila masa selepas waktu kerja mahupun pada hari Ahad & public holiday! Kami adalah SPECIAL OUTLET!

Informasi:…………..:)

NAZA FORTE ini akan launch pada 24 November 2009.:) TENGOK & PERCAYA!

1.6cc AUTOMATIC SHIFTRONIC GEAR!(teknologi 2 dalam 1…boleh pakai auto ataupun manual digital)

SUPER Fuel Efficient…tested 1litre/11km iaitu 0.16sen untuk 1 km.

Harga OTR rm75,xxx.

Open for booking now! We are the only SPECIAL OUTLET in Malaysia which…

OPEN 365 days 9am-9pm daily!

Pls come & visit us at:

No.48 & 50, Lorong Batu Nilam 4B,

Bandar Bukit Tinggi,

41200 Klang.

Hotline:03-3323 9948 (3 lines)

No.69 & 71, Jalan Rimbunan Raya 1,

Laman Rimbunan, Kepong,

52100 Kuala Lumpur

Hotline: 03-6252 9868 (2 lines)

ANY ENQUIRY pls call us. Happy to serve u. tq

or view at YOUTUBE :) searching "KIA CERATO FORTE" :)

• NutzeyWagen on Nov 13, 2009 at 6:39 am

Informasi:…………..:)

NAZA FORTE ini akan launch pada 24 November 2009.:) TENGOK & PERCAYA!

1.6cc AUTOMATIC SHIFTRONIC GEAR!(teknologi 2 dalam 1…boleh pakai auto ataupun manual digital)

SUPER Fuel Efficient…tested 1litre/11km iaitu 0.16sen untuk 1 km.

Harga OTR rm75,xxx.

Memang kena tengok & percaya!

Patutlah jimat petrol. Ada Automatic Shiftronic Gear pula. Whooosh! Teknologi 2 dalam 1 dari mana?

Road tax berapakah? Sebab aku tak tahulah. 1.6cc SAHAJA! 1.6cc! 1.6cc???

Sungguh tak percaya. MEMANG KENA TENGOK & PERCAYA!

If this is the kind of info you people at Naza Kia gives, I wonder what other infos you people will get "right"! :D:D:D

• now navara hv 3 star in euroNcap test…safety cabin…actualy it not broke in to 2 piece…

• jimmy page on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:59 am

apa la siapa origin sabah pun mau kecoh ke clone. pi laaaaaaaaaaaaa

• steven on May 18, 2011 at 9:46 pm

i do not understand the specifications of your latest Navara. Does it have two speeds, 5 speed automatic transmission and can also run in manual with 6 speed manual transmission on same vehile. please advise.