All-new F10 BMW 5-Series Sedan: full details!

P90053746

The BMW F10 is perhaps one of the most anticipated reveals by BMW and somehow it feels like it is ahead of schedule – but here it is, the new F10 BMW 5-Series Sedan. We’ve already seen one new model in the new 5-Series range a while back – the GT. But Malaysia is a sedan market, and given that the local W212 E-Class launch is only days away the timing of this F10 unveiling seems perfect.

Look after the jump for the full scoop on the new F10 5-er.

P90053745

The new 5-Series is larger than ever and it features pretty much the longest wheelbase in its segment – a total of 2,968mm. That’s shorter than the 5-Series GT, which shares the same wheelbase as the short wheelbase F01. I actually found that quite interesting, the fact that what is essentially a long wheelbase 5 could potentially be sharing the same platform as the short wheelbase 7.

As it turns out, the new F10 does in fact share a common vehicle platform with the F01. The F10 and the F01 was a joint development and both models share the same components extensively. Even the seats share the same structure but differ from one another through stitching and leather.

P90053739

The mean body stiffness of the F10 is up by 55% as compared to the E60. This means that if you think the E60 handled like a dream then you’ll have to try this one! I’m thankful that BMW still pays so much attention to weight distribution and chassis dynamics even though they’ve started using technologies like on-the-fly adjustable dampers.

Alot of manufacturers will be going down the road of just giving the car a comfort and a hard sports setting to make up for lame chassis balance, but not BMW so far. But nevertheless, the optional adjustable damper system is called Dynamic Damper Control and is part of a system called Dynamic Drive Control which also varies throttle response, steering response and automatic gearbox shift pattern according to modes – COMFORT (only when the dynamic dampers are equipped), NORMAL, SPORT and SPORT+.

P90053748

BMW has increased the use of aluminium so extensively in the new 5 that even the doors, engine lid, and front side panels are now made of aluminium. Wonder if the local mudguard guy knows how to handle aluminium – is it any much different when it comes to repairing accident damage? Does anyone know? BMW had to invest a total of 50 million Euros in Plant Dingolfing just to handle the new use of aluminium in the F10 5-Series, such as creating the “character lines” in the aluminium door sheets.

BMW is the world’s first car maker to use hard-pressing technology at its Plant Dingolfing. Hot-galvanised steel plates are first moulded cold then subsequently heated to a temperature of 900 degrees C. Then the components are cooled down in a pressing tool with integrated water-cooling to approximately 70 degrees C within a few seconds, being hardened in the process with maximum efficiency. This gives the components a stiffness of 3 to 4 times that of a conventional steel plate.

P90053762

The interior is pretty much derived from the interior of the F01 7-Series and the 5-Series Gran Turismo. This is not a bad thing as it is a very nice place to be (if it is anything similiar to the F10). Definitely miles ahead from the drab and plain ‘hammerhead’ look of the E60’s interior. The instrumentation panel’s multi-info display uses BMW’s Black Panel technology which is basically a big LCD screen which occupies the bottom of the instrumentation panel. There is no parking brake in sight – instead you get a button.

The F10 also debuts a new feature, introduced for the first time in a BMW although other car manufacturers have already implemented it. The F10 can park itself thanks to the optional BMW Parking Assistant feature, which uses ultrasound sensors in the side indicator surrounds to look for a parking space for parallel parking. The parking space only needs to exceed the length of the car by 1.2 meters. Parking assistant is able to help park the car by controlling the steering wheel while the drive only presses the gas and the brake pedals. It’s very much like Volkswagen and Mercedes-Benz’s.

P90053781

Other than the Parking Assistant, there are a few other driver assist features (most of them optional), most of which we have already seen in the F01. The best of all is probably the rear wheel steering feature (Integral Active Steeering) which is optional, and works invisibly. It turns the opposite way from the front wheels by up to 2.5 degrees at low speeds (up to 60km/h) and turns the same way at high speeds. In the F01 7-Series, it enables the large ‘boat’ to make U-turns with unbelievably and almost laughable ease, so it should have the same effort on the F10 5-er as well, if you have it equipped.

Brake Energy Regeneration is something that BMW has already implemented on the previous generation of non-hybrid BMW cars but there’s just one thing about it – you don’t know when it’s working! To address this and satisfy the buyer with an inner geek, they’ve added a real time display next to the fuel consumption meter to show you what the Brake Energy Regeneration system is doing.

f10-gear-lever

Pedestrian safety is taken care of thanks to an active engine lid. In the event of a pedestrian collision (20km/h to 55km/h and various other sensor data), the engine lid will pop out a little (3cm at the front and 5cm at the rear edge of the engine lid) via pyrotechnics so there’s a little more ‘crumple zone’ to break the pedestrian’s fall.

A ‘surround view’ system takes images from various cameras scattered around the car and stitches them together to show you a bird’s eye view of the car. The intention is to help you maneuver around parking spots. The F10 also has a reverse camera. Part of the surround view set of cameras are the Side View cameras, which are positioned on the front fenders and allow you to peek out of a traffic crossing in situations where you are not able to inch out sufficiently to take a look without putting the front end of your car in danger.

P90053758

The optional Lane Change Warning system uses two radar sensors at the rear of the car to monitor traffic in the lanes behind the car. It can warn the driver via a triangular yellow light symbol in the wing mirror housing if the system thinks a lane change is dangerous. Another lane-related driver assist system is the Lane Departure Warning system, which uses a camera mounted on the interior’s rear view mirror to monitor the lane markings on the road ahead. The steering wheel will vibrate to alert the driver if he accidentally drifts into another lane. I believe many many idiot Malaysian drivers need this feature so I hope Proton R&D is working on this!

The power steering system in the F10 has been upgraded to an EPS system. This is apparently a standard feature on the new 5-Series, so it should be making its way into Malaysia next year. Right now BMW EPS is only available on the BMW Z4 in Malaysia, which limits the amount of exposure it gets.

When EPS first appeared in Malaysia the early versions were reputed to be void of steering feel, so it should be interesting to see if BMW has managed to pull it off.

P90053744

At launch time, a few models have been announced – the 523i, 528i, 535i, 550i, 520d, 525d, and 530d, with the last one having an optional BMW BluePerformance pack for Euro 6 emissions compliance. And here in Malaysia we’re still at Euro 2 for diesel. The 520d has been enhanced by having its power upped from 177 horses to 184 horses. Torque is rated at 380Nm from 1,900rpm.

0 to 100km/h acceleration has improved to 8.1 seconds because of this, and the mad amount of ratios in the 8-speed ZF automatic also ensures that the diesel is always in its peak powerband. The 520d uses magnetic valve injectors instead of the piezo injectors in the 525d and 520d.

P90053756

Two transmissions are available – the new 8-speed ZF automatic or two different 6-speed manual transmissions. The manual on the 535i, 525d and 530d with dry sump lubrication to reduce drag power loss and oil splash power loss. The 530d, 528i and 523i come with a manual transmission with a conventional oil supply.

We probably won’t see this in Malaysia, but in Europe both the F10 523i and the 528i are powered by 3.0 litre engines, just in different states of tune. Peak power for the 523i is just 204hp at 6,100rpm but peak torque of 270Nm is achieved as low at 1,500rpm up to 4,250rpm. The 528i makes 258hp at 6,600rpm and 310Nm of torque between 2,600rpm to 5,000rpm.

P90053721

These very nice and wide powerbands (particularly for normally aspirated engines) are thanks to BMW’s excellent engine tuning and the availability of High Precision Injection (direct injection), as these 3.0 litre engines are from the N53 family (our market uses the N52).

The F10 BMW 535i uses the new TwinPower Turbo 3.0 litre N56 engine with Valvetronic and direct injection. This is the new engine which replaces the award winning N54. Peak output is 306 horses at 5,800rpm and 400Nm of torque between 1,200rpm to 5,000rpm.

f10-550i-badge

The top of the range petrol engine so far (before the F10 M5 comes out) is the 550i powered by a 4.4 litre twin-turbocharged V8 making 407 horses between 5,500-6,400rpm and a massive 600Nm of torque between 1,750 to 4,500rpm. This is really one cracker of the engine in the F01/F02 and the X6 xDrive50i but now we’ll be able to taste it in a smaller car, if the 5 could ever be called small. It’s all relative.

The turbocharged V8 engine requires massive cooling, which is why the entire F10 range has active cooling flaps which open or close according to cooling needs (to reduce aerodynamic drag when it is not needed), but the 550i does not have these flaps as it probably requires loads of cooling all the time!

P90053735

Interestingly the 525d continues to be powered by an inline-6 engine, this time a 3.0 litre, shared with the 530d. In 525d tune it makes 204 horses and 450Nm of torque while in the 530d you get 245 horses and 540Nm of torque. It should take no more than a simple remap for the 525d to achieve 530d figures. What I’m wondering is why the 123d’s nice twin-turbodiesel inline-4 engine was not used in the 525d. It makes the same output of 204 horses compared to the 3.0 litre in 525d tune but 50Nm less torque.

The F10 BMW 5-Series is only expected to arrive in Malaysia sometime next year, and word is that the initial launch will exclude the 520d, but it will definitely join the range later as BMW is quite serious about its diesel push in Malaysia.

GALLERY: BMW 5-Series – Exterior

GALLERY: BMW 5-Series – Interior

GALLERY: BMW 5-Series – Production

GALLERY: BMW 5-Series – Design

GALLERY: BMW 5-Series – Technology

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• shawal on Nov 24, 2009 at 7:58 am

BMW is slim and sleek again , all for the better

• ambush on Nov 24, 2009 at 11:18 am

wow…awesome!

• chain on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:41 pm

i prefer the mercedez..haha..i dun like the pig nose in front..personal view

• Ey_3AT (Member) on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:43 pm

wow.. what a nice car..!! but in my opinion, the headlamps looks juz like the 3 series headlamps.. :-( btw, it is really a nice car..

• ambush on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:48 pm

BMW 5-er will continue to lead the pack!!! crammed with class leading technologies!! and guaranteed to handle the best among its peers. AWESOME job BMW..and finally,,a "soulful" looking dash and interior in a 5-er! suddenly the new E-class looks old..prepare to be blown away by the stupendous M5!!!

• ambush on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:01 pm

the grills look menacing…fierce like a shark…i dont see any resemblance to a "pig's nose"..maybe the 7-er but not this 5-er..this new 5 looks like a mash up between the e60 and the e39! and look at that rear end! GORGEOUS!!!

• siege on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:02 pm

bmw has done it again, now to wait for top gear's preview

• ambush on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:30 pm

dont really like the cream/black color combo..black on black interior with dark wood paneling will look dashing..

• ambush on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:49 pm

but i still think the radical design of the E60 is most legendary because it reeks attention like no other!

• Much better than the E60! I may even consider the 550i for my next car. Lucky for me I'm in a country where I don't have to be a government crony or filthy businessman to afford one.

• the inside is good but the outside is nowhere near the previous E60. was anticipating an even more canggih design!

• mystvearn on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:16 pm

Nice looking compared to current 5 series.

Which I think now makes the current 5 series devalue a lot after this car goes on sale?

• Jarum on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:21 pm

BMW have again outdid themselves.

Now I need to have one. :)

• tishaban on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:30 pm

It's a safe design, quite a departure from the E60 design. I suppose this will entice more conservative people to buy one.

Still the technology in the car is amazing, combining performance, safety and efficiency all in one. Good job BMW

• umarss on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:54 pm

nothing better than waking up int the morning to see such wonderful news. bmw showroom here i come…

• mouse on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:55 pm

nice.. i like it!!

• fariq on Nov 24, 2009 at 3:06 pm

As a long time fan of BMW .. i would say that its an alright looking design.. but quite conservative compared to the E60 bangle design.. Im not a big fan of the front end but i do like the back end especially the lights which looks like an evolution of the E34 rear end… but im not gonna say much until i see the car in person.. as i personally feel that new beemers are not photogenic.. but when u see the car in the showrooms or on the road.. then u you see how good looking it is.. for example the X6.. so i'll reserve my judgment till then

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 24, 2009 at 3:29 pm

I suggest Azlano team to incorporate some desgin cues from this car to future P1 sedan styling. Common P1 wake up your styling department.

• design is too conservative. there ought to be a m-sport version isn it?

• Lightning McQueen on Nov 24, 2009 at 3:54 pm

Azlano should thinks further, try to avoid dashboard grains like Exora… scratchful design. better thinks wayyyyyyy further than the looks itself, such as how people react in the car… what effect to your panel when people used rough cloth during cleaning etc…

• mitlanevo on Nov 24, 2009 at 4:01 pm

wah lau eh…. no more hawk eyes, no more sporty looks…

current 5-series is still better………

• Sturdy and muscular looking body.Awesome..

• I can't blame if someone said current eagle-eye front end looks better as the new 5-er too much of 3=series face, especially with the standard bumper. Maybe new M-sports bumper look better.

Standard bumper just too plain BUT overall awesome.

• Maverick on Nov 24, 2009 at 4:27 pm

Not good enuf. I just confirmed my MB W212 order !

• scottloeb on Nov 24, 2009 at 4:29 pm

this sucks man. E60 is wayyyyy much better. Bimmer being pawned by Merc this time around. I'll choose E class before this, any time. The lacklustre of plain E dynamics can be matched by AMG variant, but for a RWD, how bad can it be isnt it?

• Kington on Nov 24, 2009 at 4:53 pm

Another gloriously specced car by Munich's finest. How will it fare against its bitter rival?

I think the current E60 will always be remembered for its aggressive styling, one that will live in our momeries for many years to come. It was perhaps the only model in this modern production era that did not require a facelift just to keep it fresh and interesting for buyers.

While the new W212 E-Class has reverted to its boxier styling to re-live its glorios days of the old W124, i guess BMW has somewhat taken a similar approach in releasing a 5 that is more elegant and sublime approach.

• Andy Lim on Nov 24, 2009 at 4:57 pm

The car is impressive!

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 24, 2009 at 5:11 pm

i was worried at first…but it's awesome…i'm in love with a bmw….

• actually if u compare this 5 series to current 3 series,u can some similarities..the side profile,rear design look quite the same..for me this 5 series is the bigger version of current 3 series..

i think it looks good..

• Fantastic 5 ! The design is way much better than E60. Just take a look at both the same time to understand it better. If i could grow into loving E60, for this new Beemer .. i dont think so… love at first sight!. I hope BMW malaysia keeps 523i as the entry level and not a turbo unit like MB's E.

• King Samurai on Nov 24, 2009 at 5:31 pm

Tecnologically the new F10 is far more advanced as time goes on…but the Bangle's E60 will still remain as best ever 5 series design…

• swiftmatrix on Nov 24, 2009 at 5:32 pm

I think the old one much better looking and more "garang"….

Just for me…. :)

• CatmaN on Nov 24, 2009 at 5:33 pm

still prefer the current 5-er..eventho d front end looks like dat yellow eye-browed penguin (referring to the yellow indicator light) LOL.

• The back looks like persona from certain angle.

• stephenstreets on Nov 24, 2009 at 5:42 pm

I think I know what i want for Christmas this year! Finally the return of the ultimate driving machine. Way way stylish,balance, and better looking rear end then eclass.

Bangle’s E60 design for me just doesn't impressed, in fact i felt the older previous 3 series before bangles design looked much more muscular and handsome than the earlier 5 series. It just looked to much like art with less car design.

Anyway Beemer looks to be right back on track. I m drooling over this , i cant imagine how to react when the new M5 is out…..sluuuurrp!

• Bob_B78 on Nov 24, 2009 at 5:51 pm

Looks more like the latest 7 series than the 3 series, which is a bit ugly. I still prefer the current 'Bangled' style 5 series though.

• somebody on Nov 24, 2009 at 5:58 pm

please dont bash me…i'm not putting proton into the picture

just my thought..

cause the 9th picture,which the side profile is identical with persona's side profile..

• the car look really cool ..pack of latest features and technology . but for the design wise i still prefer current 5 series… looks more muscular huh…

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 24, 2009 at 6:16 pm

i think it looks way way better than the current 5 series which is a bit ah beng like

• fred9987 on Nov 24, 2009 at 6:18 pm

I smell an auto bavaria cheapsale…

• BMW. I love them to bits. However for this 5 series, the back of the car looks awkward for me. Doesn't look cohesive at all. Seemingly like a cut and paste job gone wrong. The only nice angle to view the back is at a 90 degrees angle. If we view it from any other angle, it seems a tad off. Well, maybe its just me. Hopefully this design will grow on me. Love BMW forever! :)

• sudha on Nov 24, 2009 at 6:34 pm

Its an overall Guava package.

I think its a design that will slowly grow onto all those critics out there. Personally, albeit the weird headlamp angle, the new 5 looks more like a bigger and stout E90 3 series.

Nice.

• illumiricon on Nov 24, 2009 at 6:41 pm

wow…it's refreshing…

i never thought that BMW will came up for a better beauty for the 5 series, but this surely looks even more stunning …

• Linker on Nov 24, 2009 at 7:03 pm

I agree with fadz.

• cordoba1 on Nov 24, 2009 at 7:09 pm

Now the big question mark is what will be the selling prices in malaysia? Agreed with other forumers this new design looks too safe and conservative-finally this is the car the towkays here would buy rather than the E class.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 24, 2009 at 7:26 pm

Why only 207bhp in the 3 litre engine? Shouldnt Bimmer be considering more efficient enigines like those use in the Benz W212 e-class or VW groups TSI engines? Not good for people like us here who gets taxed for engine capacity and not efficiency. They should at least have a 520i with a 1.8 or 2L turbo or supercharged enigine producing somewhere between 200 to 220 bhp and 350Nm torque.

• Benney on Nov 24, 2009 at 7:32 pm

"Pedestrian safety is taken care of thanks to an active engine lid. In the event of a pedestrian collision (20km/h to 55km/h and various other sensor data), the engine lid will pop out a little (3cm at the front and 5cm at the rear edge of the engine lid) via pyrotechnics so there’s a little more ‘crumple zone’ to break the pedestrian’s fall."

this thing will make u headache to repair when u just had a small bump.happen to GTR R35 recently.

• Gajen on Nov 24, 2009 at 7:36 pm

e60 is way better looking than this…more aggresive

• Wonder if any ActiveHybrid models available for the 5-er in the future?

• i would say, the design of E60 is way better than this.. i dont mean this is really fugly, but i prefer the aggressive look compared to elegance.. but the offered technology is woahhh…

• Motorist on Nov 24, 2009 at 8:45 pm

Looks more like an evolution from the E39, which is a pre-Bangle design.

BMW is finally going in the right direction. Ditching the Bangle design that is universally hated by BMW purist.

• Alanore Chong on Nov 24, 2009 at 9:03 pm

The outside looks too much in common with the currect 3 series, the front, the back…. simply lack of "wow" factor. Interior looks good

• carcoon on Nov 24, 2009 at 9:04 pm

the body design flow is similar to the E39 than the last E60.

narrow frame looks instead of thick looks of the E60.

• KInter on Nov 24, 2009 at 9:08 pm

Agree with gajen

• Mpower on Nov 24, 2009 at 9:24 pm

well…this is it….the benchmark ;)

• Mpower on Nov 24, 2009 at 9:28 pm

just wished the front grille was a little smaller but in a overall scale this machine is the benchmark =)

• droll on Nov 24, 2009 at 9:40 pm

nice!

• antnagir on Nov 24, 2009 at 9:42 pm

Dunno about the rest of you but the front hasn't changed one bit since ???

• Great, now the rear passengers get so much gadget to play with… a natural change to replace the edgy E60. Looking at the size now, amaze that is as big as E34's size.

535 will be the hot cakes here in Malaysia. 550 will be for corporate directors. not sure what 523i and 520 d for… absolute nonsense to please poor rich men.

• kodok on Nov 24, 2009 at 10:03 pm

the e class looks milessss better!

• chelsea~ on Nov 24, 2009 at 10:07 pm

way better than the e-class…..

• cactus7778 (Member) on Nov 24, 2009 at 10:59 pm

My dream car.. When can i drive my own??

• arian on Nov 24, 2009 at 11:00 pm

I don't think the new 5 has better looking than current one, especially the taillamp design, really ulgy….however overall is still a classic good, but not impressive!

• ktas09 on Nov 24, 2009 at 11:07 pm

Just like current 3 series. BORED!!! BANYAK MASUK WORKSHOP (bmw)

• keluangman on Nov 24, 2009 at 11:28 pm

wow! Cant wait for it to arrive in Malaysia! Time to upgrade my current 5er I guess, just hope the current interest will go down abit!

With the advant of diesel quality in Malaysia, possibly Euro4 in 2010, I'm stuck whether to get petrol 535i or the 530d! Decision, decision!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 24, 2009 at 11:35 pm

much better than a sohai lexus or proton

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 24, 2009 at 11:37 pm

i love this

• The problem with this car is design….. lacks character. BMW 3, 5 and 7 all look the same!!!!. Even the inside dashboard looks like 3 series. BMW finally out of imagination…….

• zooey on Nov 24, 2009 at 11:51 pm

typical van Hooydonk tail light & engine lid. the same he did for the 3-Series facelift, new Z4 and 6- Series.

• gavin on Nov 25, 2009 at 12:00 am

still prefer the old or current 5 series, looks better, instead of bastardizing the 7 series look to all models. Even the 3 looks better. and somehow the longer the list of electronics and technologies the less interested i get with it. Sure it's cool initially to have all that but there is a limit and after that limit the charm wears off really really quickly.

• Jarum on Nov 25, 2009 at 12:12 am

Hey Paul,

Any idea about the prices here in Malaysia for the different models?

• i think the currenr version of 5 series much more nicer…

the tail lamp looks like toyota camry latest version tail lamp

but technology wise wowwwwwwww beemer rocks

acl

• the tail lamp looks a lot like nissan FUGA (the previous version)

just at a glance from side, it's loosing the BMW look …

anyway nice upgrade interm of tech

• a good contender for E class, but the interior is not nice as always.. no class… hate the steering very much.. ugly…

• NoNoP2 on Nov 25, 2009 at 12:48 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

November 24, 2009 @ 3:37 pm

DUH!!!!!

• stfodude on Nov 25, 2009 at 1:12 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

November 24, 2009 @ 3:37 pm

————————————–

back look like shit , lexus or proton better

• 'Wonder if the local mudguard guy knows how to handle aluminium – is it any much different when it comes to repairing accident damage? Does anyone know?'

Should'nt be a problem for the local guy, because only some parts of the 5 series are made of Aluminium, not the complete body.

The Audi A8 is entirely made of Aluminium, in this case repair is a problem. In Europe only some qualified Audi workshops are allowed (!) to repair a A8 after an accident.

If you bring your A8 to a official service center in Europe for body repair, it will be put on a trailer and brought to the next certified workshop. In Europe no problem, as you will get a car free of charge during the repair.

• amiran on Nov 25, 2009 at 2:25 am

E60 owners can now take deep breath… theirs value won't drop much!

F10 has 3.0l smallest engine. Maybe more than 50% of current owner would shy away! (they should bring 520d in very fast). Roadtax.. haiyya!

Other factor is behemoth size. E60 is already bigfoot in parking lot!

Then, design wise, E60 shall be class of its own compared to this, uncomparable!

• kimi_ on Nov 25, 2009 at 2:27 am

from side view, the front end looks like "FLOWER HORN" in the 11th pic !!!!!!!!

I must say this time Merc E-class looks better than this 5 series especially the front part !!!!!!

• keluangman said,

November 24, 2009 @ 3:28 pm

'wow! Cant wait for it to arrive in Malaysia! Time to upgrade my current 5er I guess, just hope the current interest will go down abit!

With the advant of diesel quality in Malaysia, possibly Euro4 in 2010, I’m stuck whether to get petrol 535i or the 530d! Decision, decision!'

If you ever have the chance to test-drive a 530d, do it !

At engine idling speed you can hear a lttle Diesel rattle, but only outside.

As soon as you push the accelerator, there's no difference to the gasoline engine: Typical BMW 6cylinder sound.

But the Diesel has 500Nm of torque, which is nearly as much as the M5 has (520Nm). Up to 160km/h, the 530d has the same acceleration as the M5, over 160km/h the M5 is faster and more responsive of course.

BTW: I'm neither a BMW salesman, nor I will ever have the money to own one. But I was so lucky to drive a E60 530d for one day on the Autobahn… ;) Diesel consumption was 9 l/100km or 11 km /l at Autobahn speed (>200km/h) and 7 l/100km or 14,3 km/l at 130km/h btw.

• albagmane on Nov 25, 2009 at 2:53 am

technology wise is definitely remarkable… as for the design, i think BMW has gone back a step… would definitely prefer the previous gen since it looks sleeker and meaner…

i would be looking forward for the facelifted version of this model to see if BMW gonna improve its look, juz like how they improve the current 3 series look…

• iskett on Nov 25, 2009 at 3:25 am

Prefer headlamp to be a bit chunkier, seems to be too slim..

and the front bumper could have been modified for better proportion, looks a bit hollow from the front..

otherwise, very nice.

• keluangman on Nov 25, 2009 at 3:37 am

Mohd said,

November 24, 2009 @ 6:32 pm

If you ever have the chance to test-drive a 530d, do it !

At engine idling speed you can hear a lttle Diesel rattle, but only outside.

As soon as you push the accelerator, there’s no difference to the gasoline engine: Typical BMW 6cylinder sound.

But the Diesel has 500Nm of torque, which is nearly as much as the M5 has (520Nm). Up to 160km/h, the 530d has the same acceleration as the M5, over 160km/h the M5 is faster and more responsive of course.

BTW: I’m neither a BMW salesman, nor I will ever have the money to own one. But I was so lucky to drive a E60 530d for one day on the Autobahn… Diesel consumption was 9 l/100km or 11 km /l at Autobahn speed (>200km/h) and 7 l/100km or 14,3 km/l at 130km/h btw.

————————————————————-

Actually, I've driven friend's of mine 525d, have to say very refined diesel car! I know diesel are economical, but I'm not sure whether BMW SC ready for this type of technology yet! However, most of the issue of diesel car in Malaysia, particularly wrt BMW or Mercedes model are due to very low quality high sulphur diesel.

Plus I'm not sure if the "finance minister" approve of the diesel engine sound.

• sudha, guava huh? not jambu? hahaha.. the rear lamp is ok but somehow E60's got more ferocious look.. overall is ok.. considering the size and shape as i said, almost like 7 series

• fuyiopo on Nov 25, 2009 at 4:26 am

Agree with drac though. I still prefer the E60's looks. But heck, maybe the f10's looks will grow on us just like how the e60 did. Cheers BMW, another man made marvel!

• Head Hunter on Nov 25, 2009 at 4:29 am

I'm disappointed with the new design. Just too subtle.

• ambush on Nov 25, 2009 at 4:44 am

im sure they will beef up the bodyworks on the M5 and it will look menacing! or at least the more affordable M-sport variants.

• meteoraniac on Nov 25, 2009 at 5:50 am

looks way softer than the current 5 series on road..

• Maserati on Nov 25, 2009 at 5:57 am

OMG! WHy oh why BMW have to ruin a nice 5 series?!! IT looks hedious!!

The current 5-series looks so much more menacing and nicer..

The latest one looks like a pig from the front,and it just seems weirdly designed..

By comparison,the new merc E-class with all its sharp edges just looks stunning.

Bye bye 5-series ! Just gimme my new MERC E-class!!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:06 am

this is much better than the merc e-class, the merc e-class is just awkward while the e60 5 series(this is no longer current, you dumb nitwits) is just too ah beng

• apixz on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:42 am

F10?..mm…e60 most stunning car..

• Maestro on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:50 am

The current 5-series looks much better in my opinion.. much more dynamic and stylish. This new one looks like a "safer" design by comparison.. and would probably appeal to a larger crowd. I don't like the front grill which looks like a big snout.. and the back is just like a larger version of the 3-series, which doesn't look that great.

• i hope it can be good looking on the road..

the photos didnt give me any confidence

good luck !

• How much will it be?

• orbit on Nov 25, 2009 at 8:05 am

the best combination is change this front end with E60's. perfect!

and of course with a little facelift. =p

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 25, 2009 at 8:08 am

Maestro said,

November 24, 2009 @ 10:50 pm

The current 5-series looks much better in my opinion.. much more dynamic and stylish. This new one looks like a “safer” design by comparison.. and would probably appeal to a larger crowd. I don’t like the front grill which looks like a big snout.. and the back is just like a larger version of the 3-series, which doesn’t look that great.

———————————–

current ? new? can u please designate the model properly. the CURRENT BMW 5 SERIES IS THE NEW ONE…….

• WilsonLy on Nov 25, 2009 at 8:18 am

i want the new E class, i want the new 5 series even more!!

• now that i seen it, i prefer the e60 one, though the tech in this version really whets my appetite.

• keluangman on Nov 25, 2009 at 9:07 am

Mazda 3 MPS,

bro…. dun have to be sarcastic one. When people here refer "current", what they mean are the E60 you can see on the road everyday. Of course technically the correct "current" is this newly launched F10 5 series.

No need to harp about every few times… chill bro!

• skiborne on Nov 25, 2009 at 10:52 am

this is something that our drooling proton blokes cn only dream of. haha ok my 2 cents,

cool car indeed, as for its interior hope the malaysian market will be having the colour "auburn" as one of the leather options!

• Analyzer on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:14 am

Looks BMW got lazy with their design and just scaled down the 7 series. The F10 is a miniaturized F1.

Nevertheless I like the huge nostrils of the 7 series. The F10 looks nice on its own, but the fact it looks like the 7 series, doesn't make it stand out.

• the tail lights looks like infiniti GX37, i wonder who came out that design first hmm…

• pennstater on Nov 25, 2009 at 3:12 pm

bmw should start making aircrafts! BMW320 – 200!

• Maestro on Nov 25, 2009 at 3:50 pm

Mazda 3 MPS.. you must be somewhat thick not to understand what I was trying to say.. sure, this "new" 5-series is technically the current one but it's still not available on Malaysian shores is it? So E60 is still the current one as far as Malaysia is concerned. I hope that clears things up for u.

• CatmaN on Nov 25, 2009 at 4:58 pm

keluangman said,

November 25, 2009 @ 1:07 am

Mazda 3 MPS,

bro…. dun have to be sarcastic one. When people here refer “current”, what they mean are the E60 you can see on the road everyday. Of course technically the correct “current” is this newly launched F10 5 series.

org emo lebih…mcm tu la bro keluangman. mcm bg mslh kat dia lak. ape pny org daa…sesuka hati calling ppl 'dumb nitwits'. rase dah bijak pandai sgt ke…? lalalalaaa…

• swiftmatrix on Nov 25, 2009 at 5:00 pm

For now… Still can't afford… :)

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 25, 2009 at 5:31 pm

its only available in a 3.0 litre engine?

• something intrigues me;

E60 M5: 5.0 V10, 507hp, 520nm

F10 550i: 4.4 V8 twin turbo, 407hp, 600nm

i wonder what BMW is planning for F10 M5…600hp twin turbo V8?

• al pacino on Nov 25, 2009 at 8:12 pm

the tail lamp not so diff with 2009 3series..

but, still can't wait 4 M model..

• toffeeman on Nov 25, 2009 at 9:47 pm

The back looks like the E90, the E60 is still the benchmark for 'stand out' styling. The F10 seems elegant, but not the type of car that make heads turn.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 25, 2009 at 10:34 pm

CatmaN said,

November 25, 2009 @ 8:58 am

keluangman said,

November 25, 2009 @ 1:07 am

Mazda 3 MPS,

bro…. dun have to be sarcastic one. When people here refer “current”, what they mean are the E60 you can see on the road everyday. Of course technically the correct “current” is this newly launched F10 5 series.

org emo lebih…mcm tu la bro keluangman. mcm bg mslh kat dia lak. ape pny org daa…sesuka hati calling ppl ‘dumb nitwits’. rase dah bijak pandai sgt ke…? lalalalaaa…

—————————-

lol well it is very misleading….

• Comes to think of it, this Beemer seems to be moving into the direction of what Merc was doing, keeping cars classy and elegant. If you look at the new E class, it is everything what you wouldn't expect from a Mercedes, edgy, hip, young, modern, and very might I say 'Transformers-esque'. I sort of liked the rugged look the 5 series had. But this doesn't mean I don't like the car, I still like it but if only it had looked a little more 'sportier'. :)

• tokmoh on Nov 26, 2009 at 7:41 am

Technologically, mmm…… nice.

Design-wise, err…… somehow, I still feel E39 is acquired taste. Call me outdated or whatever, the thing is, E39 to me is like Beethoven to classic music lovers. Beethoven may be from the 18th century, but has anyone ever called his symphonies "outdated"?

Lo aka somebody : Just maybe, it's becuz persona also has hoffmeister kink…

• rasta on Nov 27, 2009 at 1:34 am

this is not real f10 the real wan is wider , more nicer than this

this is not bmw f10 for sure

• Wow..its like buy 1 free 3. You buy yourself a 5 series and you're getting a car that looks like a 3 series in front, and 7 series at the back….and not to mention the lenght of the car which could possibly outsize an X3……guess I'm gonna go with the Benz E>>>>1 vote for the benz

• ok very nice but we dont forget transmision from zf company its very bad product i dont no why that ???

( bmw -mercedice- audi >>>> )