F10 BMW 5-Series: German pricing revealed

BMW has officially unveiled the all new 5-Series that is set to take on Mercedes-Benz’s E-Class mid-sized sedan. Several models have been announced along with the launch including the 523i, 528i, 535i and the 550i from the petrol family and the 520d, 525d as well as the 530d from the diesel family. Pricing has been released and in Germany, one can own this new 5-Series for 39,950 Euros. That amount of money will get you the 520d.

Both the 525d and 530d go for 44,700 Euros and 49,300 Euros repectively. For the petrol front, pricing starts from 41,900 Euros for the 523i model. The 528i goes for 45,400 Euros while the 535i version breaks the 50,000 Euros mark with its 50,300 Euros price tag. The most powerful model of all, the 550i that outputs 407hp and 600Nm of torque thanks to its 4.4 litre twin turbo V8 carries a 70,500 Euros price tag.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Imran on Nov 28, 2009 at 1:43 am

Wonder what it'll look like with the Schnitzer kit on…

• check out new m-sports body kit for F10..search paul tan web site..awesome

• Head Hunter on Nov 28, 2009 at 1:51 am

i miss the bangle design.. oversized 3 series with 7 series snout..

• bmw is finally back to sausage in different length design, which is bad .

• mitlanevo on Nov 28, 2009 at 2:08 am

new 5-series and 7-series are totally uncool…

• chuakz on Nov 28, 2009 at 2:11 am

damn it really looks like the current 3 series at the front before the facelift…

• that price even if you convert it to MYR it still very cheap

• tokmoh on Nov 28, 2009 at 3:05 am

Err… Paul, u dah fikir masak2 before u post this?

Oh dear, here we go again. Another very, very messy post bashing the govt n proton. *facepalm*

• shawal on Nov 28, 2009 at 3:12 am

mmm….. , is this price including VAT?

we have to get the base price without VAT and any other european taxes whutsoever , theeennnn…. multiply by 3 ….then only u'll get Malaysian prices ,…. besides… Right Hand Models only coming in march if im not mistaken…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 28, 2009 at 3:48 am

stupid malaysia government, so bloody high taxes, cars are so cheap overseas

• valandil on Nov 28, 2009 at 4:12 am

i think its better here cos they toned down the design and make it more subtle like earlier batches.

how does it compare in pricing with mercs?

• Anak Malaysia on Nov 28, 2009 at 4:14 am

If euro =rm,

the prize is more cheaper then persona….huhuhuhu.

• iskett on Nov 28, 2009 at 4:35 am

Anak Malaysia said,

November 27, 2009 @ 8:14 pm

If euro =rm,

—————————————————–

kikikikiki! That would be super nice!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 28, 2009 at 4:53 am

iskett said,

November 27, 2009 @ 8:35 pm

Anak Malaysia said,

November 27, 2009 @ 8:14 pm

If euro =rm,

—————————————————–

kikikikiki! That would be super nice!

—————–

lets hope europe suffer some crisis….

• charles chia on Nov 28, 2009 at 5:26 am

Why oh why must you quote all prices for the various models of the 5 series in euro currency. It really gets into my nerves how our malaysian govt managed by UMNO price these cars after all the taxes. Our real monkey govt. here in Malaysia it is beyond our reach unless if you start stealing the govt. money.

• Tiadaid on Nov 28, 2009 at 6:37 am

Sorry to be off topic, but since this post's about car prices overseas, and surely there'll be people bemoaning the fact that our car price is hideously expensive, I was wondering whether Paul Tan or any one else who have some knowledge on the matter could write up about the costs of owning a car overseas, not just the purchase price, but including fuel, maintenance and insurance costs. Because I just don't feel that price alone is a good barometer on the true cost of owning a car. I've been looking at Top Gear and their cheap car challenge, and what interested me is that the insurance cost in Britain is different than here in Malaysia. When they did the cheap car for a teenager challenge last series, it was surprising that the insurance could cost more than the car itself! Really hope there's an article that can truly educate us on that.

• Used non-national ca on Nov 28, 2009 at 7:31 am

I earn six figures a year and still can't afford this car or any decent continental car in Malaysia.

Thanks to the great tax system that we have.

:-(

• Mazda 3 MPS said,

November 27, 2009 @ 7:48 pm

stupid malaysia government, so bloody high taxes, cars are so cheap overseas

——————————————————

ha??? malaysian G related to germany bmw prize

• to Mazda 3 MPS

from my view la kan seem u r not very gud giving opinion la based wat i read from your comment from other previous articles before..like just bash mindlessly, without any fact..be rational la a bit…i think other people here also agree wit me.don angry maa…

• Enrico on Nov 28, 2009 at 2:31 pm

Tiadaid said,

November 27, 2009 @ 10:37 pm

Sorry to be off topic, but since this post’s about car prices overseas, and surely there’ll be people bemoaning the fact that our car price is hideously expensive, I was wondering whether Paul Tan or any one else who have some knowledge on the matter could write up about the costs of owning a car overseas, not just the purchase price, but including fuel, maintenance and insurance costs. Because I just don’t feel that price alone is a good barometer on the true cost of owning a car. I’ve been looking at Top Gear and their cheap car challenge, and what interested me is that the insurance cost in Britain is different than here in Malaysia. When they did the cheap car for a teenager challenge last series, it was surprising that the insurance could cost more than the car itself! Really hope there’s an article that can truly educate us on that.

i bought a 2009 Audi A4 in Australia for $58,800. Unleaded petrol is about $1.20 per litre. Insurance for the first year is about $2,000. Normal service about $600, major service about $1,400.

There you go, compare that to Malaysia.

• hello,

some ppl earn 4 figure also can own new 3 series laa. its not just about tax la.. its how u manage your money and your life style laa. ofcoz you cannot have everything under the sky. if u wanna own expensive car, then u have to cut down on other things. if u wanna have more on other things, u need to cut down on other things else. dont belittle your own self claiming to earn 5 figure but still blaming others for this and that.

• old man on Nov 28, 2009 at 4:42 pm

For those national car protector/AP holders, your argument of owning a car including petrol, insurance, why not include the income per household calculation, that it will be more pity to realize how low income earning of the country is paying so high for a car. Well, u don't mind since u don't drive any proton.

I will always said i will trade the oil subsi to write off import car tax. Since we are paying like 10years of pre-paid for oil-filling in the car tax.

• Littlefire on Nov 28, 2009 at 4:46 pm

How many ppl can earn 4 figure? Just a few ppl which earn more doenst mean that this country ppl overall income is high…

Look at other country like Korea… In 80's their salary income is on par with us, but now over 3 times… Yup, we are underpaid and taxed heavily. Does this fair to us? You judge it after 50 years and now AP still going on n on and promised tax reduce never been done.. Besides that, next year fuel subsidy will be reduce and how this market balance? Other country fuel expensive, car cheaper, insurance expensive.

Now in Malaysia, fuel middle range, car expensive, insurance also expensive now… Does this balance up? Somemore AP need extra RM10k bloodyhell importers…

• cordoba1 on Nov 28, 2009 at 5:01 pm

I reckon prices for entry level BMWs will be above 400K far far beyond the reaches of upper middle class Malaysians. You are looking at easily 5-6K instalment per month for 5 years with a downpayment of 100K. Even someone making 200K a year after minusing income tax and EPF, he will end up only with a disposable income of approx 10-11K per month so half his salary will go to paying for his car. In reality, most of the continental cars are company cars as not many individuals will commit such high expenses only for the car.

• yippi33 on Nov 28, 2009 at 6:09 pm

here we go again..

• yippi33 on Nov 28, 2009 at 6:16 pm

this site is starting to bore me with all these repetitive comments…yawn..

• Georgie on Nov 28, 2009 at 6:58 pm

Used non-national car owner said,

November 27, 2009 @ 11:31 pm

I earn six figures a year and still can’t afford this car or any decent continental car in Malaysia.

————————————————————–

You must be kidding me. Hey I know internet is a great place for anonymity but i just don't believe you. I bet you're just kid/student who's being paid to make these kind of stupid statements, or you're just a plain medium income guy who's just go around and rant around on the net on how you can't afford to buy things here, bla..bla bla.

I'm a an automotive fan and I can afford to buy some nice cars due to my hard work and diligence, and I'm proud of it. If you earn that kind of money but still cant make it, you must have some serious debt issue.

• droll on Nov 28, 2009 at 9:51 pm

quite a handsome looking car!

• ranter on Nov 28, 2009 at 10:04 pm

personal income tax in malaysia is very low compared to abroad. Fuel is cheap as well. But, its true cars are expensive as hell, same goes with booze. But then again food is cheap as hell, so tradeoffs…….if u find a perfect country where everything is cheap let me know.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 28, 2009 at 11:14 pm

Georgie said,

November 28, 2009 @ 10:58 am

November 27, 2009 @ 11:31 pm

I earn six figures a year and still can’t afford this car or any decent continental car in Malaysia.

————————————————————–

You must be kidding me. Hey I know internet is a great place for anonymity but i just don’t believe you. I bet you’re just kid/student who’s being paid to make these kind of stupid statements, or you’re just a plain medium income guy who’s just go around and rant around on the net on how you can’t afford to buy things here, bla..bla bla.

I’m a an automotive fan and I can afford to buy some nice cars due to my hard work and diligence, and I’m proud of it. If you earn that kind of money but still cant make it, you must have some serious debt issue.

————————————

even if he is a fake. not everybody can afford to drive a continental car if he or she has a six figure salary. Remember, there is a house loan to pay and education……what if he owns his own company? He has to pay more taxes, salaries etc. Then maybe his parents? relatives they might need help too. Other than that, not everybody is as willing to spent their money on cars like you, ask anybody from England, they vomited when they hear how much money we spent on cars and how we have became slave to our cars.

• Used non-national ca on Nov 29, 2009 at 12:38 am

I would like to thank cordoba1 and Mazda 3 MPS for saying most of the things I wanted to say.

To epol, I was voicing out my personal opinion. Our car prices are indeed ridiculous due to our tax structure.

To zman, I think Mazda 3 MPS do bash things, probably he is angry and frustrated but he do have a point.

To Georgie, I am not a fake. Personally I would not pay for a car that cost more than a terrace house. (Again, this is my personal opinion)

If my previous posting offended or slighted anyone, my sincere apologies as that was never my intention.

• mu_77 on Nov 29, 2009 at 1:23 am

Wow i think this car is amazing and refreshing.. Pls unveil the new M5 monster…Muahahah

• celicazz on Nov 29, 2009 at 1:49 am

lack of inspiration… looks like a bigger 3 series… nothing new

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 29, 2009 at 3:51 am

November 28, 2009 @ 4:38 pm

I would like to thank cordoba1 and Mazda 3 MPS for saying most of the things I wanted to say.

To epol, I was voicing out my personal opinion. Our car prices are indeed ridiculous due to our tax structure.

To zman, I think Mazda 3 MPS do bash things, probably he is angry and frustrated but he do have a point.

To Georgie, I am not a fake. Personally I would not pay for a car that cost more than a terrace house. (Again, this is my personal opinion)

If my previous posting offended or slighted anyone, my sincere apologies as that was never my intention.

————————————————-

lol, thinking of which, Malaysia must be the only country in the world where their cars are more expensive than their houses.

• to sum things up:

Boring bloated 3-series design with 5-series badge frm lazy Beemer designer……And fc'k, fu*k,f(@k, the big-G….and that pretty much sum up everything below this post. Happy reading:)

• Littlefire on Nov 29, 2009 at 8:00 am

In reality, cars should be cheap as car will depreciate and also cost a lot in maintenance.

But in Boleh land, imported cars cost more than normal house.. The worst thing depreciate even more worst and faster compare other country also…

Yup food and tax is cheap in malaysia for those working under RM2500 monthly. But thinking of getting a better life, owning a better car and going oversea for holiday.. Yup, u have to earn 2X more than what other people earning… Is that fair? Just compare Singapore… If Singapore sucks, why a lot of people rather migrate to there and buy cars over there even the car converted to rm expensive? I can proudly said that Singapore pawn us long time… What we know as earning power is better. If your earning power is higher than spending, why not paying higher tax and better food? This is simple taxation and economics…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 29, 2009 at 8:27 am

Littlefire said,

November 29, 2009 @ 12:00 am

In reality, cars should be cheap as car will depreciate and also cost a lot in maintenance.

But in Boleh land, imported cars cost more than normal house.. The worst thing depreciate even more worst and faster compare other country also…

Yup food and tax is cheap in malaysia for those working under RM2500 monthly. But thinking of getting a better life, owning a better car and going oversea for holiday.. Yup, u have to earn 2X more than what other people earning… Is that fair? Just compare Singapore… If Singapore sucks, why a lot of people rather migrate to there and buy cars over there even the car converted to rm expensive? I can proudly said that Singapore pawn us long time… What we know as earning power is better. If your earning power is higher than spending, why not paying higher tax and better food? This is simple taxation and economics…

—————————————

yeap, and it must surely suck for you guys to see the kiasus parading KL in their nice cars

• JJJ 3388 on Nov 30, 2009 at 8:38 pm

Booze is expensive.petrol is significantly cheaper than in the uk where it goes at 1.20 a pound per liter.cheers!!!!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 30, 2009 at 10:10 pm

JJJ 3388 said,

November 30, 2009 @ 12:38 pm

Booze is expensive.petrol is significantly cheaper than in the uk where it goes at 1.20 a pound per liter.cheers!!!!

————————–

it is actually cheaper to drink booze than to buy mineral water or fruit juices….i love england…

• rookie on Nov 30, 2009 at 10:49 pm

i think jjj3388 were trying to say that in malaysia, booze in expensive but the petrol is slightly cheaper than uk..

but if 1.20 pound if direct convert to rm of course we would feel its damn expensive..

but if u were to live in uk n staying/earning there..

dont u think that ur salary lets say 2500 pound buying a petrol at 1.20 pound per litre is cheap already?

(and pls dont even mention about their income tax is much higher than us cuz all their taxes goes at sumtin worthy..education free, medical free etc ok?)

we're in malaysia with salary rm2500 paying for ron95 also rm1.80/litre…

so, who says we pay cheap for petrol compared to our income here?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 01, 2009 at 4:51 am

rookie said,

November 30, 2009 @ 2:49 pm

i think jjj3388 were trying to say that in malaysia, booze in expensive but the petrol is slightly cheaper than uk..

but if 1.20 pound if direct convert to rm of course we would feel its damn expensive..

but if u were to live in uk n staying/earning there..

dont u think that ur salary lets say 2500 pound buying a petrol at 1.20 pound per litre is cheap already?

(and pls dont even mention about their income tax is much higher than us cuz all their taxes goes at sumtin worthy..education free, medical free etc ok?)

we’re in malaysia with salary rm2500 paying for ron95 also rm1.80/litre…

so, who says we pay cheap for petrol compared to our income here?

—————————————————-

2500 pound, if you're earning that kind of salary. you gotta suck already lol. but yea don;t forget, to them buy bmw like rm 30k only

• "the 550i that outputs 407hp and 600Nm of torque thanks to its 4.4 liter twin turbo V8 carries a 70,500 Euros price tag."

wow…the 550i thrashes the E39 M5 in performance…can't wait to see the F10 M5 ..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 01, 2009 at 9:10 pm

king said,

December 1, 2009 @ 10:19 am

“the 550i that outputs 407hp and 600Nm of torque thanks to its 4.4 liter twin turbo V8 carries a 70,500 Euros price tag.”

wow…the 550i thrashes the E39 M5 in performance…can’t wait to see the F10 M5 ..

—————————-

don;t forget…the next G-POWER HURRICANE….