CPT’s RegEnBoost system – how it works?

VTESRemember CPT’s VTES electric supercharger? It was installed onto a 1.2 litre turbo engine to complement the turbo and results were pretty impressive. The VTES has been positioned as a motor assist system similar to the Honda IMA system.

In the Honda IMA system, an electric motor positioned between the combustion engine and the gearbox provides a boost of power when needed. The VTES electric supercharger is presumably lighter than an electric motor and can provide a similar boost of torque at low engine RPMs as it is able to kick in really fast – 0 to 700,000rpm in less than a third of a second. Like the electric motor, VTES is also powered by battery.

The VTES component is already being trialed as a piece of the puzzle in various systems currently being designed by automotive parts companies. Ricardo is currently using the VTES in a project they’ve christened HyBoost. But CPT has a little project of its own and VTES works as part of a system called RegEnBoost.

RegEnBoost combines three devices developed by CPT – the VTES electric supercharger, a liquid-cooled integrated starter generator (start-stop system) called SpeedStart, and a turbo-generator called TIGERS. TIGERS is somewhat like a turbocharger except it isn’t. It uses exhaust gas to generate electricity instead of providing boost, so it’s more of a dynamo in a way.

The three devices are integrated into a system which also incorporates a DC to DC converter and a lead acid battery optimised for fast energy storage and release. This same system also provides the regular 12V needed by the car’s electrical systems, but also delivers short bursts of power to the 2kW VTES supercharger when extra acceleration is needed. It also powers the SpeedStart starter when the engine is needed to restart. Conversely, SpeedStart can recharge the battery during deceleration. So the battery can be charged by two sources – SpeedStart and the TIGERS exhaust generator.

CPT claims that a 1.0 litre car with RegEnBoost can emit less than 100g/km of CO2 on average yet offer the same performance and in-gear acceleration of a 2.0 litre normally aspirated engine when needed – translated into horsepower and torque that’s about 130 to 150 horses and about 200Nm of torque, pretty decent from a 1.0 litre engine. CPT says RegEnBoost can easily be scaled up to support engines of up to 3.5 litres.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• patiniox on Dec 11, 2009 at 5:47 am

i thought this is a cps.. cpt.. haiz.. it will be a long time for me to see proton lancer..

• ariff on Dec 11, 2009 at 6:01 am

i'm not very smart in engine thing..but gasoline will auto combust under heat/pressure..higher RON number meaning it will require higher heat/pressure to auto combust. That's why turbo engine (higher combustion chamber/cylinder pressure/heat) will require higher RON number. N/A engine should be OK with unleaded 92-95 without engine knocking.

anything that increase pressure in combustion chamber/cylinder should be tested thoroughly for signs of knocking. i think N/A is OK for everyday use, but if you really wants turbo then you should be happy to spend more on RON 97-98

• WhiteFox on Dec 11, 2009 at 6:44 am

Not really turbo engine mean for higher ron fuel.

U can check the 308 turbo manual it stat it can use RON 95 w/o problem.

• shawal.ali on Dec 11, 2009 at 7:44 am

Can I install the system in my Proton Savvy?…sounds awesome

Even if 1 day ill buy a bigger car, i'll keep the savvy cuz its nippy, and frugal… not to mention easy to park

• nice, i really look forward to seeing it in action. being electrical, it will cut weight, less maintenence needed. although when it goes haywire, good luck.

• rexis on Dec 11, 2009 at 8:44 am

Now with this your car will really sucks.

And I don't think this technology will stay on small CC car.

Opting for twin-VTES perdana…

ariff, that is where intercooler came in. Now… imagine an intercooler with compressor coolant..

• Vezeroth on Dec 11, 2009 at 9:19 am

would be nice to have this in my cam-tak-pro to make it a bit more pro

• waiting for twin-VTES rules in msia..

• pulge on Dec 11, 2009 at 6:49 pm

Sounds complicated, but it is nice to hear something new on improving engine efficiency. A green alternative to force induction, maybe?

• Accent Driver on Dec 11, 2009 at 7:36 pm

WhiteFox said,

December 10, 2009 @ 10:44 pm

Not really turbo engine mean for higher ron fuel.

U can check the 308 turbo manual it stat it can use RON 95 w/o problem.

My Audi A4 1.8 Turbo also states that it only needs RON95 and so far no knocking noticed.

• Andy Lim on Dec 11, 2009 at 8:50 pm

Hai, Everyone, can some body tell me where can i get this stuff . i want install my kelisa lah. then can ta pau VTEC liao.

thanks

• Hadi1975 on Dec 13, 2009 at 11:41 pm

Can use with toyota unser ka????

• lizam on Jun 29, 2010 at 9:20 am

hai ..how i can get this thing ,i also want to install at my kelisa..i want to feel it how good it is..