Brabus GLK V12 – world’s fastest SUV at 322.3 km/h

brabus glk v12

We can always depend on Brabus to come up with speed record breaking machines, and now is the turn of the SUV. The famed Mercedes-Benz tuner has dumped a bi-turbo V12 into the not very pretty GLK to achieve a top speed of 322.3 km/h, a new speed record for street-legal SUVs. 0-100 km/h takes 4.2 seconds and 0-200 km/h takes 12.8 seconds.

Based on Merc’s V12, the Brabus SV12 R Biturbo 750 engine produces 740 bhp at 5,500 rpm and peak torque of 1,350 Nm at 2,100 rpm, but electronically limited to “just 1,100 Nm”. Displacement is increased to 6.3 litres (from 5.5) and the valve heads are precision-machined and fitted with special camshafts. There are also two larger turbos and more efficient intercoolers, while a free-flow catalyst and full stainless-steel exhaust improves breathing. Power is transferred to the rear wheels via a reinforced five-speed auto ‘box and LSD with locking rate of 40 per cent.

Brabus’s coilover sport suspension is height-adjustable on both axles and features ten selectable settings each for bound and rebound. Brakes? 12-piston aluminum fixed calipers with vented and 380mm grooved steel discs up front and a six-piston fist grabbing 360mm discs for the rear are tasked with stopping this fast SUV.

Crazy car, crazy price. The Brabus GLK V12 starts at 397,000 euros!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• pulge on Dec 15, 2009 at 4:09 am

Perhaps this is what SUV is supposed to be in the first place. Hence the name SUV (sport utility vehicle).

Btw, am I first? Haha!

• initial R on Dec 15, 2009 at 4:18 am

Hope the driver survive in crash (if they disable the electronic limited)….

• JULIAN_LEE on Dec 15, 2009 at 4:38 am

what is the point here? its like putting a sumo wrestler on a sprint, stupid germans……

• hebat keta ni… n lawa spotrim…

• xptmsb07_09 (Member) on Dec 15, 2009 at 5:00 am

perhh.. walauwae.. but no need to rushing la.. 2012 lambat lg.. hahah..

• DirkTooth on Dec 15, 2009 at 5:20 am

i like it..

pretty 2 me..

btw what size are the rims??

their massive!!

• raybrig on Dec 15, 2009 at 5:26 am

sesuai buat kereta polis ni, easy to catch mat rempit..

• 397,000.00 EUR = 1,978,334.78 MYR

1 EUR = 4.98321 MYR 1 MYR = 0.200674 EUR

This price excludes the tax. I wonder how much will it cost.

Well, it's Brabus.

• Gajen on Dec 15, 2009 at 5:57 am

i rather have a cayenne gts

• just me on Dec 15, 2009 at 5:58 am

ugly…

can the bmw X5M beat this merc?

• JULIAN_LEE on Dec 15, 2009 at 6:02 am

LANGGAR MAT REMPIT

• shawal.ali on Dec 15, 2009 at 6:42 am

The reicht is long gone… but the power-crazed germans are still there!

if they can make the 7-seater GL go that fast also, then i'll be impressed …

or an R-class…., or any other fat merc

y not an a-class?…..it'll prolly be rolling forward on its roof like an egg

• shawal.ali on Dec 15, 2009 at 6:45 am

I think with this much power, an armored version makes more sense…, will be very popular with the russian mafia…

• YA, Crash all those stupid mat rempit and kill them!

( This must fitted with bullbar )

• an SUV faster than a lambo..

• shawal.ali said,

December 14, 2009 @ 10:42 pm

'The reicht is long gone… but the power-crazed germans are still there!

if they can make the 7-seater GL go that fast also, then i’ll be impressed …

or an R-class…., or any other fat merc

y not an a-class?…..it’ll prolly be rolling forward on its roof like an egg'

You need a car with more space ?

How about this VW Caravelle T5 with 780hp and a topspeed of 311km/h ?
    http://www.bild.de/BILD/auto/2009/12/vw-bulli-von…

• tokmoh on Dec 15, 2009 at 7:44 am

JULIAN_LEE said,

December 14, 2009 @ 8:38 pm

what is the point here? its like putting a sumo wrestler on a sprint, stupid germans……

>>> JULIAN_LEE : I like ur comment :)

Imagine the engine n gearbox n stuffs put inside a small, light saloon or hatchback…

anyway, fast SUVs are sooooo politically wrong. With this brabus, all that climate talk in copenhagen are poured down the drain…

konon nak stop climate change… even hv balls to blame china, india, our country n some other poor, bully-able countries, asking us to 'change our lifestyle' blabla…

Yet, look at what the developed countries are doing!! V12 SUV?! How exemplary!!

• nebula87 on Dec 15, 2009 at 7:49 am

wat so special about the price? it is normal for a brabus to set its car to the price like dat..last time i went 2 its show room at autocity 2 visit their cars, wat surprise me is, brabus 22/24inch rims x 4, cost RM49k….wahahaha…who going 2 buy dat car?? i jus can afford 2 buy its wheels nuts…XD

• Alpha on Dec 15, 2009 at 7:55 am

i'd prefer Gemballa's Cayenne than ths~

• droll on Dec 15, 2009 at 8:05 am

is this an experiment just to prove a point?! insane!!

• Yeah really Crazy car, crazy price!!

Salute how do they manage to invent new superb machine..

• tamaki on Dec 15, 2009 at 9:44 am

crazy price come with v12biturbo and haul 6.3cc! worth it. By the way what we expect to get what equal price.

• Err….yeah very powerful..whatever..crazy Germans LoL

I think I prefer Audi's Q7 V12 TDI

• ford_ton on Dec 15, 2009 at 5:03 pm

Just how much will the road be?? Can anyone calculate?

• ford_ton on Dec 15, 2009 at 5:12 pm

Just how much will the road be?? Can anyone calculate?

Sorry typo error. Should be road tax.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 15, 2009 at 5:44 pm

rubbish. not available in RHD markets…plus 4matic sucks compared to quattro or Subaru 4WD system

• Aprimalheart on Dec 15, 2009 at 7:11 pm

Wow, I want one in every color! Does CT have a brabus shop???

• grille looks like the one on the impul latio… lol..

• OOOh….Merc Rempit!!! I bet for 2 cents….I wont be surprised to see it in Malaysian road…cos some mighty msian Pol*tic-ans are definately can afford to get few onto PLUS … Another 2 cents betting….What if msian corruption ranking dropped for another 9 places …more supercars on the road??…haha!! Oopps…

• Shaun on Dec 16, 2009 at 3:01 am

It's time for BMW to fight back with their MX5 :D

• Annihilated on Dec 16, 2009 at 5:38 am

..and crazy miles per galon too!

• shawal on Dec 16, 2009 at 3:17 pm

Mohd said,

December 14, 2009 @ 11:24 pm

You need a car with more space ?

How about this VW Caravelle T5 with 780hp and a topspeed of 311km/h ?
    http://www.bild.de/BILD/auto/2009/12/vw-bulli-von…

hahahahaha, awesome! , pizza hut could use 1 of this since their losing to dominoes….

I think Malaysia should increase the lanes of north south highways…and make it into a freeway… ala Autobahn….hahaha

• Cilisa on Dec 16, 2009 at 4:56 pm

The looks so masculine, small n tough.. The design also impress me much..

• ktas09 on Jan 15, 2010 at 6:04 am

Macam keleta olang mati!! Lo!!