Mahindra to launch pick-ups in US next year

Indian company Mahindra & Mahindra is set to export its 4X4s to the US, but the brand launch is delayed once again after an earlier postponement in August by Global Vehicles USA, its distributor. With this, M&M should launch its diesel-powered TR Series small trucks in April 2010.

Mahindra has completed all the testing needed to ensure the Indian-built pickups meet US federal standards, assured Global Vehicles USA. Certification paperwork will be submitted for approval to the government in January and approved by February.

Mahindra TR pickups will be offered in two-door regular form and as a four-door crew cab. Both will use Mahindra’s 2.2-litre four-cylinder diesel engine that’s modified to meet US emissions rules. To start from USD 22,000, it’s expected to have fuel economy ratings of 10.6 km/l and a 1.3-tonne hauling ability.

Remember the Mahindra Scorpio 4X4 sold by USF-Hicom? Looks like there are still some that lie around, as USF took up an ad in Tuesday’s The Star promoting the petrol version of the SUV with the headline “Let’s Talk Price!” and the RM55,000 figure. At that price, the Scorpio is surely Malaysia’s cheapest SUV/4X4.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• leaveacomment on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:37 pm

im 1st?

• leaveacomment on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:38 pm

im 1st?

wah..

• stephenstreets on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:43 pm

LOL the headlights looks like going expressing wtf! i feel lighter all of a sudden!

• 2.2 ?? For picking 1.3 ton cargo ?? enough power ?? TATA 2.0 have turbo … this one have turbo or not … hehe still my vigo even it is used …

• still pefer my used vigo …

• the look of the truck looks dated…

• 20v_ke35 on Dec 24, 2009 at 9:53 pm

the looks remind me of proton's looks……. the style of the past….

• Elvis on Dec 24, 2009 at 11:03 pm

Half ton pickup is very much neglected in Malaysia. In the 80's its the most productive vehicle around but not we have so many 'bling2' cars..MPV, SUV, 4WD, doublecabs….most of the time with only drivers and no passengers and loads. This is a waste of oil…if only we Malaysians can reduce our huge egos and start to be realistic about our deleting oil resources many we can be high income country. But it is just too late….two more years we will be net importer and USD200 perbarrel is in sight…i be laughing hard…but then again…should i sell my used fairlady now?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 24, 2009 at 11:20 pm

yes this car good. india best.

• acbc (Member) on Dec 24, 2009 at 11:59 pm

Hey, if it is cheap and reliable, why not? Seen many TATA still driven around.

• initial R on Dec 25, 2009 at 1:12 am

Look like old land rover 2 seater…..

• littleboy on Dec 25, 2009 at 4:09 am

still prefer Vigo…..there were some on the road but dissappear….and also some lie in teh showroom stock yard for many years until all teh tyre puncture and the paint fade……

• satrian on Dec 25, 2009 at 4:40 am

See….indian cars can enter US mkt……Whens our Malaysia cars….2020? by that time sure Burma or Cambodia will have their nationals cars and sell around the world and we even that time banging ballsssssss……ahahahhahaaha Malaysia boleh

• Gajen on Dec 25, 2009 at 4:40 am

oo this is a single cab mahindra scorpio getaway….i dont fancy this truck,looks old…tata telcoline is even worst,very old….tata should bring in the xenon pick up…way better

• Elvis on Dec 25, 2009 at 5:51 am

Mahindra is theft proof….you leave you Mahindra unlock…few days later…you find it in good condition….coz no theft want to be seen driving in one….

• blackdog on Dec 25, 2009 at 6:16 am

Another crap from slumdog land. Boring looks cut and paste. !!

• Leonardo on Dec 25, 2009 at 8:27 pm

Sorry, it's ugly. exported to US is one thing, but can you make a profit? Will people buy it when there are so many options? Best to keep it on Indian roads.

• JACK HAMMER on Dec 26, 2009 at 12:22 am

yuck..

this crap suit "mazda 3 WTF" very well..

• Elvis on Dec 27, 2009 at 3:38 am

Another great vehicle for Bollywood chase, hit, shot…10 minutes later dead films…Hollywood material too?

• hey.. am looking forward to get a triton. Just wondering whether i should purchase now with the current promo or should i wait till jan 2010? is new year promo better than year end promo from past xp?

• Mohan on Dec 27, 2009 at 6:20 pm

To all those naysayers,  Mahindra has been selling its tractors in the United States and is infact #2 after John Deere in the segment of small tractors.  They even sponsor a Nascar team. 

The fact that Mahindra had the guts to get into the most competitive truck market in the world deserves kudos.    They are positioning their truck which has just one competitor which is the dated Ford ranger and no one else sells a diesel version.

This truck is aimed at small businesses and trades people who currently do not have anything compact in size with the kind of towing capactiy.  They have signed up over 300 dealers all over the US, mostly the former GM/Chrylser dealers. 

The dealer in Dallas/Fort Worth area has even a website up and running. 

http://www.dfwmahindra.com/

Does  Proton have any similar plans like Mahindra to the enter the US market?

• Not my cup of tea.

• Elvis on Dec 27, 2009 at 7:37 pm

I heard that Arnold will do another terminator movie using solely Mahindra vehicles…..Indian producer will pay of 2 million …he should check the contract…they pay him in rupees…