Fiat 500 to get 900cc two-cylinder engine in 2010

Downsizing seems to be the trend these days, and why not? Coupled with direct injection and forced induction, carmakers are coming out with smaller capacity engines that can outpoint their bigger siblings in performance and economy. Volkswagen was among the early promoters of downsizing with their 1.4-litre TSI engines, but Fiat is taking the concept to extremes with its upcoming 900cc two-cylinder engine.

The “New Small Gasoline Engine” will make its premiere in the Fiat 500 next year and will be used in the firm’s A and B-segment cars. The Euro5 powerplant combines turbocharging and Fiat’s Multiair technology that controls the intake valves to match horsepower needs. Two variants will be launched – 80 bhp and 105 bhp – followed by a 65 bhp naturally aspirated unit and a version propelled by compressed natural gas, CNG.

Fiat says that its two potter is 20 per cent lighter and more compact than a 4-cylinder with the same output. Naturally, fuel economy and CO2 emissions are significantly reduced, with the latter dropping “well below 100 g/km”.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ken Lam on Dec 28, 2009 at 9:48 pm

wifey car ! 2 door sexy !

• But will it be fun to drive, 2 cylinder makes u feel like driving a bike and it will be interesting to see how Top Gear finds the car as JC called the P2, 3'cylinder "Gutless"

• mouse on Dec 28, 2009 at 10:07 pm

not my cup of tea..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 28, 2009 at 10:49 pm

awesome car…but…the price of it here

• alpha0201 on Dec 28, 2009 at 11:09 pm

Its now more faithful to the old Fiat 500 but twice the capacity. Old one 480cc 2 cyl.

• azrai on Dec 28, 2009 at 11:12 pm

2 cylinder engine? look like visionary Tun Dr. M previously decision took MV Augusta for this use. Pity the MV Augusta debt drag along proton with it and we sold it for 1 EURO.

• drMpower on Dec 29, 2009 at 12:00 am

ah..we proton also can do what. 2 cylinder 1300hp summore. we will use that in small car project undertaken with help from Augusta motor company we acquired some time ago.

oh wait. we sold it edi.

oh cxock.

• richard on Dec 29, 2009 at 1:02 am

my car if only it did not cost 150k! wtf!

• fiat 500… such a nice looking small car… even schumacher drives one(abarth)

• adioss on Dec 29, 2009 at 1:07 am

LOL… this car is really uglier than golf gti… lol

• aksMs on Dec 29, 2009 at 1:11 am

Hahahaha. Who's having the last laugh now?

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 29, 2009 at 1:17 am

This engine looks very interesting

• Good for fuel consumption and environment!

• armandd on Dec 29, 2009 at 4:22 am

i'm sure it will sound not much different than a yamaha 125z kapchai.

• afhstingray on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:26 am

this is pretty cool considering the proton waja's old 1.6 only had 101 horses. should be pretty zippy! wonder what the torque is like

• cfa said,

December 28, 2009 @ 1:49 pm

But will it be fun to drive, 2 cylinder makes u feel like driving a bike and it will be interesting to see how Top Gear finds the car as JC called the P2, 3?cylinder “Gutless”

—————————————————————–

it will.coupled to massive flywheel 2-cyl will drive just like 4-cyl, at the expense of engine response.but the multiair tech is there to compensate the effect.

• Leonardo on Dec 29, 2009 at 8:07 am

Cool! Powerful yet friendly to the environment. I want one!

• minto on Dec 29, 2009 at 4:25 pm

Its beautiful city car suitable drive in my city.

• shawal on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:40 pm

AMAZING STUFF!!!, Y P1 n P2 dont hire the people who came up with this stuff!?!?!?…y dont we buy european technology…!???!?!? , after all , p1 n p2 is draining the Rakyats money…y not put the money into good use..!? sign an agreement saying we wont export any cars that uses this tech…bla bla bla

since the national carmaker is built to serve the people.., if they win back malaysian market , everyone becomes happy..their CEO, shareholders ,workers and most importanly…their choice-limited-forced-loyalty customers…

all P1 have to do is just come out with 1 good car , 1 good car…1 fakin good car , . it took them god knows…around 7 years? to perfected the WAJA , remeber when they roll it out back in 2001 , 'Asia's answer to a 3-series??? , bloody hell…they embarassed all of us! My family had a waja , the glovebox didnt fit properly , n the sterring buttons came in few months…

if VW took over proton , all malaysians will be getting proper cars…and all the board members and suppliers…for obvious reasons…their contracts….terminated!

• Naz@Ford on Dec 29, 2009 at 6:38 pm

900cc for two cylinder engine?? waaaa… it must be equipped with a turbocharger..

• Georgie on Dec 29, 2009 at 6:48 pm

This is nice.. proton should redesign its campro line. Honestly the campro's technology is very old, compared to VW's Tsi and yet it costs proton so much to develop the campro. I know its not fair to compare NA engine with turbo but still, 1.6 can churn only 100bhp and with11+L/100km mileage? Come on, you guys can do better than this..

• ong chin aun on Dec 29, 2009 at 7:03 pm

Wah ! 2 stroke engine for car! Well, bike go to 4-stroke to reduce emision.

2- stroke engine needs to add 2-T engine oil for lubrication as 2-strokes complete a full cycle. immense heat is generated. It is faster and better pick up. How does this 2-cylinder engine works ? New technology ? no need to add 2-T to petrol tank?

• azrai said,

December 28, 2009 @ 3:12 pm

2 cylinder engine? look like visionary Tun Dr. M previously decision took MV Augusta for this use. Pity the MV Augusta debt drag along proton with it and we sold it for 1 EURO.

—————————————————————–

Correct me if i'm wrong…but MV Agusta's bikes are 4 cyclinders four strokes…

• ong chin aun said,

December 29, 2009 @ 11:03 am

Wah ! 2 stroke engine for car! Well, bike go to 4-stroke to reduce emision.

2- stroke engine needs to add 2-T engine oil for lubrication as 2-strokes complete a full cycle. immense heat is generated. It is faster and better pick up. How does this 2-cylinder engine works ? New technology ? no need to add 2-T to petrol tank?

—————————————————————-

Bro,….its 2 cyclinders but four strokes…narrow pwrband of 2 strokes not suitable for daily use, but for tracks…diff story

• Carletto on Dec 30, 2009 at 6:23 am

It's possible put this motor in the old 500???????????

• gtmaniac on Dec 30, 2009 at 8:39 pm

Carletto said,

December 29, 2009 @ 10:23 pm

It’s possible put this motor in the old 500???????????

Possible, of course. Might take some work – putting the new car's front engine to the old car's rear engine configuration, FWD vs RWD, etc..

Malaysia always boleh.