Hofele Design’s R8-inspired Audi A5 styling kit

What’s a successful halo car? In our opinion, a halo car has fulfilled its purpose if models below it start to ape big brother. The Lancer Evo is a classic example, and Audi seems to have executed a similar masterstroke with its R8 supercar. The mid-engined beauty that Tony Stark drives is so cool that it’s inspiring “R8 style” kits for cars like the Audi A5 and TT.

German tuner Hofele Design takes a shot at this direction with kits for the A5 Coupe, Convertible and Sportback. It comes with an R8-look front bumper with the air vents below the headlamps. Coupe and Convertible owners can even match it with the R8’s signature side blades and a rear bumper with faux air-outlets and integrated diffuser. Four exhaust tips complete the “transformation”.

Style is subjective – some might like it, but we think that these add-ons contaminate the sleek, classy design of the A5. Not to mention proclaiming to the whole world that “I can’t afford an R8”. I have seen an Audi TT with similar looks in the Klang Valley and was nearly fooled, from a distance I must add.

More pictures after the jump!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• austin_cipan on Jan 04, 2010 at 11:55 pm

fugly…

• wanfumi on Jan 04, 2010 at 11:57 pm

FUGLY BOTTOM

• Front… sweet….

Back… Over doing it.. No No

• theanswer on Jan 05, 2010 at 12:04 am

agree..ugly rear.

• chinaman on Jan 05, 2010 at 12:16 am

its like china made car =D

• Captain Cook on Jan 05, 2010 at 12:22 am

Wasted… Fugly

• Audi, yeah

• adioss on Jan 05, 2010 at 12:27 am

Rubbish

• spoil a perfectly good looking car….

• techboy_88 on Jan 05, 2010 at 12:29 am

Ah Beng car, German/Deutschland version.

• what a waste. the original A5 is already a beauty to behold. the only bodykit that should fit on the a5 is either the s-line bodykit, or those by caractere. nothing else.

• eadgez on Jan 05, 2010 at 12:37 am

looks ugly. everything is pfect except with the black. :(

• wAzYz on Jan 05, 2010 at 12:49 am

too much makeup lorrrr..

ruin the originality….huhu

• mr_3m on Jan 05, 2010 at 1:17 am

the R8 look may work on the TT becos of similar silhoutte/shape between the the two… but on the A5??? It's eff-ing UGLY… it will never work on a sedan-shape coupe like the A5…

• farghmee on Jan 05, 2010 at 1:19 am

was ist das?

• mitlanevo on Jan 05, 2010 at 1:51 am

gotta agree with eadgez, i think all-white should be better…

• Alex Toh on Jan 05, 2010 at 1:53 am

no way……rear side problem

• kodok on Jan 05, 2010 at 1:55 am

too much bling-bling

• pathetic.. i always been audi's fan.. but the color combination's really sick esp at the side…. don't ruin audi.. plss

• fiz17 on Jan 05, 2010 at 2:18 am

very beuty car!!i love it

• i wonder which fool will buy this car…its so damn ugly….

• c14man on Jan 05, 2010 at 3:08 am

spoils the whole point of A5 being a subtly sexy car.

it was a car that stands out without even trying hard.

this "sporty" body kit just doesnt match A5's characteristics.

gotta vote against it.

• Gajen on Jan 05, 2010 at 3:10 am

ugly like shit…prefer the stock a5 or s5

• kuku stim on Jan 05, 2010 at 3:25 am

It's beautiful… in the way a mushroom stuck up your ars* looks beautiful. :-D

• shawal on Jan 05, 2010 at 3:27 am

this bodykit makes you look poor , an A5 is a svelt , elegant coupe , this kind of bodykit shud go on the RS4/RS6

• xshiro on Jan 05, 2010 at 3:42 am

front looks ok..

• paparazi (Member) on Jan 05, 2010 at 3:54 am

later will sell it at Why Pay More Store…. i rather without this so call styling kit

• What the shit……..whatever it is! LOL!

You shouldn't do it Hofele!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 05, 2010 at 6:44 am

i think…no….

• skinky on Jan 05, 2010 at 6:46 am

lol, i have been seeing that fake TT around jln imbi alot whenever i head up to kl. it's so….. bleah

• Ah Beng Ko on Jan 05, 2010 at 7:08 am

too less done. should add F1 A380 spoiler, Twin Giant Airscope, Super Tuber Alum. Intercooler Double Super "Chass", big & small stickers "too fast, ultra fast", " turned by Ah beng & ah lian" couple, Nismo, TRD, Mugen all Zhap Ba Lang….eh?? how come look like our proton wira EVO VVXXll ?

• toycar on Jan 05, 2010 at 7:09 am

sorry folks… my car just kena bang by someone, under repaint :), so bumper color is different..

• I-HATE-GG889933000-G on Jan 05, 2010 at 7:15 am

Stupid make over.. I guess the workshop is consider 'ah beng' category in their region…

Audi A5 should has his own styling…

• coolguru on Jan 05, 2010 at 7:19 am

What a disgrace to an otherwise great looking automobile… sigh!

• I hope this is just a 3D rendering…

Please Hofele do NOT make this crap into productions…please..

You are lowering the A5 status symbol.

• khaix19a on Jan 05, 2010 at 8:57 am

rear is ugly…..front is ok…..i think better leave a5 alone rather than turn it to hideous car…..

• Hahaha, I just had a look at their webpage. There you can find even more ugly 'designs'…

I'm just wondering in which part of the world they sell their 'design creations' ?

• beyond fugly.

god help the tuners who came up with that bkit.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 05, 2010 at 10:34 am

My Eyes!

Blinded by the back

• 4ringfan on Jan 05, 2010 at 11:30 am

Pathetic. Terrible.

• droll on Jan 05, 2010 at 1:33 pm

i have seen that audi TT too, around bkt bintang area. what a poser! it's proportions looked really weird from a distance even though the styling seemed to point towards an R8. the proportions was a give-away.

• meteoraniac on Jan 05, 2010 at 5:13 pm

the back just doesnt makes sense .. kind of reminds me of wannabe Evo on Waja rear …

• Patrick on Jan 05, 2010 at 5:32 pm

the front bumper seems nice (if the black part above the side vents are white)… the sides and rear are terrible tho…..

• CatmaN on Jan 05, 2010 at 5:51 pm

front look…ok, can consider flawless. backside..overdone, summore with the 2 tone paintjob. wud prefer Caracter's bodykit over this Hofele thingy..

• Boink on Jan 05, 2010 at 5:55 pm

this is like a sick joke

• Pelik.

• Saifful on Jan 05, 2010 at 7:07 pm

It may look ugly in pictures, but in real life up close, I might think differently.

• narrowband on Jan 05, 2010 at 8:15 pm

fugly.

the stock S5 is already a beautiful ride.

• no eye see on Jan 05, 2010 at 11:35 pm

like a puzzle that out of fixes, simply taruh…. hehe…

will give some respect to those future buyers with a kind of taste

• Ugly like hell.

Yeah I 've seen the R8 wannabe near Imbi area as well…I 'm a firm believer that you should stay true to yourself, pity buggers who paste RS4, M3 etc badges on their car when it's nothing more than a standard model…

• mu_77 on Jan 06, 2010 at 8:31 am

One of the figliest audi seen… I prefer the standard one..

• Jozain on Jan 06, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Audi???Oh yeah…

• wochomi on Jan 06, 2010 at 10:23 pm

Audi @ performance luxury —->transform—–> Ah Tee @ Ah beng class

• Desparate looking. make-believe vents? Hofelle could do better.

• solidxtate on Jan 07, 2010 at 4:02 pm

A perfect way to tell the whole world….look guys, i am desperate for the R8 but i can't aford one

• LOL

look like another ah beng copycat car

ugly

• Friqo on Feb 06, 2010 at 2:15 pm

i saw the TT which i tot it ws a r8 hahaha..i saw it at pavi yesterday…dang the kit looks good..

• nice styling bodykit,cheers

• TERBAIK!!!!