New petrol subsidy system to factor in engine displacement size?

Fuel Wallet GaugeNew details have been released on the new petrol pricing system that’s set to be implemented on the 1st of May this year. Apparently the different pricing systems will be applied based on “engine capacity” and “socio-economic” factors, though there was no specific numbers unveiled on what the thresholds are.

While we have no details yet as of now on what the threshold of an increase petrol price will be but past government measures might give us a hint. When the price of petrol hit the roof back in 2008, the government announced that a RM625 one-time petrol subsidy would be given to cars with engine displacements of up to 2,000cc, trucks with engine displacements of up to 2,500cc and bikes of engine sizes up to 250cc. We might see these numbers used again for the new subsidy system.

Cars with large engines are already being ‘punished’ with exponentially higher road tax charges but now owners of such cars will have to deal with the fuel prices as well.

Make no mistake about it – with the trend of how things are going, the middle class are just going to be squeezed tighter and tighter. We’ve got to deal with pricier petrol, GST, and many others. You had better plan your finances and monthly budgets for the worse this year, as I don’t think we are going to get any indication of what we are going to face until the last minute. The same report unveiled that details would only be announced on the very day of implementation.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• infinity on Jan 08, 2010 at 10:01 am

what are the "socio-economic" factors??maybe according to income-tax??or car insurance sum-insured??or simply age and the cc of the car combined??

• Cpt Shopalot on Jan 08, 2010 at 10:17 am

Crazy!

• Great move for the imminent collapse of the present administration.

Even Mahathir The Great dare not touch this at the worst of times.

This is like sticking a worm up your own behind.

• owtaman on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:02 am

I will drive a kancil to fill-up and go back to transfer it to the BMW via a hose.

• this government has never fail to invent new system .

• anti-boros on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:41 am

9166 said,

Great move for the imminent collapse of the present administration.

Even Mahathir The Great dare not touch this at the worst of times.

This is like sticking a worm up your own behind.

———————————————————

hahaha….

mahathir look too great because highly subsidized on everything as 'Gula-Gula Pilihanraya' in his era, but still government today still burden with 'mahathir' debt…haha

maybe this fact is adapt by Barry Wain's Book 'Malaysian maverick-mahathir mohamad in turbulent times'….hahahaha… his almost collapse the malaysia's economy in '98 because his RM100bil or maybe more….and Soros as economic genius is correctly labelled mahathir 'menace his own country'….huhu

still your anak-cucu have to pay for your 'glory' and 'luxury' time in Tun Mahathir era….

what a pity………..

• nabill on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:41 am

i hope this is the begining of their end….time to vote them out…

• asgard on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:59 am

people should find alternative to improve their income not just complain,try forex, people made fortune from this,stuff will get expensive each year

• anti-boros on Jan 08, 2010 at 1:05 pm

asgard said,

people should find alternative to improve their income not just complain,try forex, people made fortune from this,stuff will get expensive each year

—————————————————

BNM melarang semua aktiviti forex dan perdagangan matawang di malaysia…tgk berita…..malaysia dah sekat matawang dr tahun 1998 lagi dah 12thn dah tak tau ke???

if u know what the hell about hedge-fund,offshore ringgit, currency pegging, currency manipulator just not entering this scheme….or ur money just fly away….don't be so excited in something u don't…..only BIG manipulator company with multi-billion capital can invest…

u can start increase ur income by selling burger ke jual kuih ke….

BE REALISTIC MAN!!!!!!!!!

• anti-boros on Jan 08, 2010 at 1:10 pm

i think G start to Synergize MyKad with LHDN for sure….hehehe

• I better think twice to buy car at the moment , better wait until May when things becomes clearer.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 08, 2010 at 2:55 pm

Well, if take the 15 bil from the PKFZ scandal, then there is no need for normal Malaysians to suffer. Those who driver exotic cars are not that worried about petrol prices anyway.

What happens to the RX-8, That new Honda CR-Z? 1.3l and 1.5l engines. Small engine, huge power. A system based on emmissions would be better, then people will be forced to buy the greenest car. I have a very strong suspicion that the Mitsu, Campro, and Renault engines used in Proton cars are not that efficient so this kind of tax structure could not be implemented. If not, everyone would be using BlueMotion VW cars by now.

Anyway, GST, Fuel increase will only be implemented AFTER next general election. Any unpopular tax rise now is disasterous for the government. That said, if an alternative government is in power, where are they going to find the money to run the country? Maybe a "national witch-hunt" will be done using MACC to claw back all those money.

Then again, this is Malaysia. You cannot put anyone too long in power or they will be power crazy.

• joni (Member) on Jan 08, 2010 at 3:23 pm

I think they should leave the front grille alone. The new one makes the car looks "old". Minor facelifting is a common practice among car manufactures, so please don't make an issue out of it if P1 does the same.

• gov prefer the people to be SPM holders.

• Hadi1975 on Jan 08, 2010 at 3:52 pm

Petrol prices base on engine cc???? So if you bought a vw with 1.4 engine or a mazda rx8 with a 1.3 rotary engine but cost more than 100k you still get a subsidies price…????? whose idea is this?????

• techboy_88 on Jan 08, 2010 at 3:53 pm

what i afraid is the percentage/number of middle class Malaysian will shrink. :(

• hiruma kecil on Jan 08, 2010 at 3:56 pm

kembalikan mahathir!!!

• Paul u better sell ur beemer and get one below 2000cc. huhuhuhuhu!

• azrai on Jan 08, 2010 at 4:03 pm

I was thinking of the exploitation of MyKAD after this. Imagine if the system went down (just like those post office, RTD, and NRD system offline) can we pour the petrol? It seem like the G have no money left.

• littlefire on Jan 08, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Yup, for automotive lovers. Please vote carefully next time.. Dont repeat ur mistaken.. I have woken up, are u? Why must punish us, while those people handling our country is fXXk up?!? Are we the boss or they are?

• wasaqu (Member) on Jan 08, 2010 at 4:17 pm

I strongly believe that whatever system/invention established by the Government will never satisfies us as we have already adopted ourselves in the "comfort zone of cheap".

Secondly, these peoples are genius. Whenever a new policy is established, there is always a loop to abuse it.

Your call.

• BrakeFader on Jan 08, 2010 at 4:21 pm

They are segregating living class of car owners by the size of their engine. This is a very short sighted way of gauging whether one is well off or not.

So this means, a person with a Mazda RX Rotary 1.3 engine is more deserving fuel subsidies compared to a guy with a big family using Naza Citra 2.0.

In Sabah/Sarawak, people drive pick ups of 2.5L and above because the road conditions are bad especially in rural areas. So are they considered well off because of driving 2.5L?

I believe this system is not full proof yet just like the neighboring border towns where Singaporeans use their credit card at the pump and still enjoy subsidised fuel.

• neveraproton on Jan 08, 2010 at 4:30 pm

Its a rather short-sighted view if you ask me.

The engine capacity of a car is no indication of the "wealth" of the owner. The 320i is a 1.8 liter engine; there's the 116i as well. So you could be wealthy and still get subsidized fuel.

If I suggest here that subsidies be removed and only given to industries I may get slaughtered. But in reality, that's what we must face. I think Tony Fernandes got it right a few years ago when he said MAlaysians should start treating fuel as a commodity and not take it for granted.

Ok, I'm a sitting duck now Paul…

• This is what I know:

1.5L and below: Full fuel subsidy.

1.6L – 1.9L: Half fuel subsidy.

2.0L and above: No fuel subsidy.

• Leonardo on Jan 08, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Reduce the tax on diesel cars, and i will be happy to buy one. They are more efficient and environtmentally friendly. Why do our G discriminate against diesel engine for cars? To protect Petronas income who sells our good quality diesel and buy inferior ones?

• NiceCar (Member) on Jan 08, 2010 at 4:33 pm

If G can manage the PKFZ scandal..

If G servant not using RM300 to buy a pendrive that only cost RM25

If G not do the investment that 99.99% loss one…

If G servant can work effictive a bit but not keep hiring..

If G……….. never ending story

Then this petrol sudsidy actually is not a burden, even nothing..

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 08, 2010 at 4:33 pm

Idea behind it is sound, but I'm thinking how on earth they are going to implement this?

Start barcoding/RFID road tax stickers? So big brother knows exacly how much fuel you pump in your car? ….hahahahahaha

Talk no sense at all.

• Fontaine on Jan 08, 2010 at 4:39 pm

I've heard tht only 1.5cc cars a qualify for rebate nd below will be eligible for the rebate. They will use the e-petrol system (Paul posted on this previously) where your MyKad is used to check on whether you qualify.

Better to use engine displacement as measure for eligibility rather than tax structure – encourage people to use lower cc cars that use less fuel.

Perhaps it's time to get a diesel vehicle. Paul, yr top ten diesel choices?

• masing-masing mula melatah… opocot!

• Jarum on Jan 08, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Not fair to implement petrol price with accordance to engine displacement size!

I am from Penang and so many very rich people here drive old and small cars. Does this mean these rich people will enjoy the subsidy too?

• Iskandar on Jan 08, 2010 at 4:58 pm

@mystvearn – you said, "Fuel increase will only be implemented AFTER next general election".

No. It's supposed to be in June this year.

• opaque on Jan 08, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Hmm..then those who bought second-hand cars 2L and above will have problem. It's not practical to base it on car engine.

Better buy savvy. myvi. saga, viva, chana etc

• Kevin on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:00 pm

Crazy bastards!

• If it is fair any square to all the citizens, then I am okay. But again, I said if and only if.

• It encourage smuggling and theft… what kinda plp do this GoV employ… they should learn a lot about policy implimentation..

• Headache on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:04 pm

gee now my 30K 328i consider my self as – RICH ?

• leaveacomment on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:11 pm

i want to ask u?.. as u Are the commentator for this blog.

IF GOV DO THEIR DECISION ?.. DOES WE HAVE A CHOICE NOT FOLLOW THE DECISION? EXPECIALLY ABOUT FUEL PRICE?

———————————————————-

I GAVE MY OWN ANSWER.

1. NOT FOLLOW WE SUSAH.

2. TO DO SOME DEMONSTRATE – FRU SIRAM US, POLICE JAIL US – ISA 3 YEARS

3. COMMENT ON BLOG – ALSO JAIL WAITING FOR US..

SO?.. WHAT SHOULD WE DO?.. PLEASE BRING UR ANSWER..

• leaveacomment on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:13 pm

ONE THING.. IF GOV GOES TO PRU KALAH?.. SOMEBODY WILL TURN IT MENANG.. IM VERY SURE..

SO?…

• Kambing Gurun on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:14 pm

I sold off my 2nd car already, now riding motorcycle despite being a middle income earner, thanks to G.

• pelams on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:16 pm

looking forward for the next general election! my 1st vote….

• are the Gohmen going to put a cap on the max amount of fuel to be sub per month? what about those restaurant owners be it Malay, Chinese / Indians? they earn a lot but they do not declare it for tax. Quite true about those ppl who punt on forex & shares day in day out and earn quite a hansome profit, what about these ppl if they do not declare it and drives a secondhand RX8, for example? What about if someone were to drive my car and helps me to fill in petrol? do i give him/her my Mycard? what if your boss ask you to fill in for him? what if i drive eco-friendlier car like Prius? does that mean i can get subsidy? But this Prius cost wooping RM179k, certainly not a car poor person like me can afford? So if no one buy eco-friendly car, how does the G then achieve the other objective of greening Malaysia?

soooo many questions, like always, but no discussion / forum…apamacam??

• Ramses on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:22 pm

Arghh!! just change the G.

• yellow turtle on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:26 pm

then, how about somebody borrow the middle class's MYKAD to fuel their luxury car?maybe the big boss can borrow their driver's MYKAD….anyway…the middle class can generate extra income by rent their MyKAD to the high class….

just my 2 cents opinion…

• I'm going to be made redundant this year. Luckily I don't use petrol so much….. maximum RM180 per month. I suppose during my "non-working" period, my petrol bill will be less than RM100 per month… phew.. I think I can survive :o)

• How can the Malaysian Government maintain its credibility on the international scene , when everybody is talking climate change , pollution and emissions , and in Malaysia there a subsidies for cheap petrol

• alpha999 on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:40 pm

arggghhhhh…..are 'they' lacking ideas to generate more revenue….come on……

• xenogearz on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:52 pm

find additional sources of income, live frugally and delay gratifications!

• Angelina on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:52 pm

Damn! stupid right, doesnt rich ppl can affort to drive higher cc car.. like those old car from grandpa, father for the kids to college etc? Its really not fair at all… but wut to here is so called 1MALAYSIA.. if we send proposal, complain, suggestion letter, no one will give a damn bout it coz our government decission is FINAL! if you protest kena tangkap. NO HUMAN RIGHTS at all..AGREE?

• Boink on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:55 pm

don't wait no more, start planning to move/migrate away already… simple said you might say, well you have to start somehow; if not for ur self, for ur future generations…

• anti-moronslikeantib on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:59 pm

anti-boros said,

January 8, 2010 @ 3:41 am

————————————————————-

the dumbest factual attempts in PaulTan.org I've ever seen. the economic effects all over Asia… (which most economic forums the world agree one of the caused is Soros.. which you labeled as genius.. moron!) not only Malaysia, you moron.. no need to say much.. you'll not understand..caused you're a moron.. check the actual facts again.. and.. again.. and again… Furthermore "highly subsidized on everything"… isn't that good for us? moron!… I'm not pro anyone but seeing arrogant and dumb comments like this make me sick!..

• One G on Jan 08, 2010 at 6:14 pm

Again, it is a very unpopular move by Government. I don't think engine displacement was a right way to determine the targeted group. Car type and brand should be to judging factor in my opinion.

People by proton because it's the brand most of lower-middle income could afford. Even though, exora cost for RM75k, it does not mean it's luxurious car. You buy Accord, or other "high quality" brands because you can afford one, meaning you can afford for escalating fuel price.

It's the factor the government should consider.

• whiteeye on Jan 08, 2010 at 6:18 pm

This might seems to do woth Proton and Perdua, so nobody will buy luxury car's and all people buy local car, instead this might getting worst luxury car's will get less on the road in the future becoz of this kind petrol implent.

At the end the rakyak us will suffer, might think that is time to think of migrate or buy low cc car, life getting worst here, especially the medium class.

• another way to protect proton..

• jeremy0 on Jan 08, 2010 at 6:32 pm

It is totally ridiculous to implement this fuel subsidy system. How are they going to determine the socio economical factors and how are they going to determine who is the rich and who is the poor.

Those who declare no income and not paying any taxes in Malaysia could be remitting money from overseas and do they qualify for subsidy? What about the middle class people who are working with a salary of RM3k, paying taxes annually but driving an old 2000cc vehicle? The people in the ministry simply doesn't have brains to make a system based on this things.

Rather than having this, I propose that the govt should give every Malaysian a limit of 100 litres of subsidized fuel per Mykad. If you gas up more than 100 litres, then pay the non-subsidized figure. This will not only ensure that the subsidy is reduced but if you can afford to travel more, then you have to pay more. Long-distance and frequent travellers are urged to take public transportation. Money saved from fuel subsidy should be used to improve public transportation in the city and outskirts.

This would reduce leakages from possible scams like owners of lesser CC vehicles syphoning out their fuel to be sold to foreigners and such.

• toycar on Jan 08, 2010 at 6:46 pm

i heard some luxury cars like BMW and Mercedes models are having 1.6 or 1.8 liter engines….some Mazda has 1.3 liter and some Volkswagen has 1.4…. hmmmm i think my next car would be from these models. (trade in my cefiro 3.0 and forget about drifting )

• Chris on Jan 08, 2010 at 6:47 pm

This is totally stupid…. I drive a 13 year old 3.0cc Cefiro which now in the market cost less than RM25,000 and I'm expected to pay a higher price for petrol while some fella who could afford a 2008 BMW116i will be paying for cheaper petrol?

Where is the logic of this? Petrol price should be based on income-tax where the government would be able to know who is getting how much income per year & not based on the engine cc. Which means everyone will be buying smaller cc cars in the future then to get cheaper petrol?

Way to go for Proton & Perodua I would say & buy buy to continental cars with big Cc.

This is what we call BolehLand!

• ktas09 on Jan 08, 2010 at 6:50 pm

Gov lift sugar price 20sen….reason diabetes?%$#

Gov keep mum when oil price below US40 per barrel.

When the price currently US80 per barrel, they make noise again.

Malaysia boleh!!!

• It is getting harder and harder to live in KL…

Man, it is tough, especially we the middle class…

• kelvin on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:00 pm

Shame on the gov if this piece of news is true. I feel it would be more appropriate to use the emission standard of cars, instead of the cc. Using cc as the measurement is stone age!

Well, maybe the main reason is Proton & perodua cars will score badly in the emission test. Poor efficiency engines!

Introduce Euro 4 or 5 diesel, it's ridiculous we are a oil producer nation with good quality oil, yet we are given only sub-standard oil!

• Pay cut, no increment, no bonus…plus the market is tough to get job too…

After found the new job, maybe there will be new cost like increase petrol, increase toll, increase tax, food price increase, cloth increase, etc, etc….

The expense is increasing faster than the salary we can earn…how…

• bujal on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:04 pm

1Malaysia …1Petrol price la…cakap xserupa bikin….

• So, what is the root cause???

• xu wen chao on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:09 pm

this is the time to use force induction engines. hmm….. small displacement, bigger power and torque, maintenance cost?????

• m'sian on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:16 pm

agreed with samm, initially thought of purchasing a 1.8 car this month. I guess it is best to wait till have being made before I proceed with purchase

• Those VW's type 1.4TSI/1.4TDI/audi 1.8TSI engined will be advantageous….expensive cars but still get fuel subsidy!

• Based on this new ingenious system, a person that drives a 20 year old high capacity engine will also have to suffer the at the pump. Second hand owners of "HUGE CAPACITY" engines will also be punished since they are now classed as "WELL OFF"….

As usual no one thinks of a longer term purpose. If we are pushing for greener cars then incentives should be given by the government for greener vehicles.

This… oh well… enough said.

• Satu lagi project (soon gonna be flip flop) from the Malaysia Govt.

"Rakyat disusahkan, Cronies diuntungkan"

• Cruze on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:39 pm

1.5cc car and below will get rebate.

• LipasD on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:40 pm

teruk la cam ni

kalau orang anak ramai sampai 6 orang

pakai Naza ria 2.5 second

dah la bayar road tax n insurance mahal

isteri plak tak keje

macamana….

Petrol tu keperluan asas

Lepas ni patut buat cam ni

Bil Elektrik ikut jenis Rumah

Bil Air ikut jenis Rumah

Yuran Sekolah / Pengajian ikut keje mak bapak

Beli Beras pun ikut Gaji lu berapa

LU PIKIR LA SENDIRI.

• amirzaim on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:43 pm

malaysia is always magnetic with stupid politic activities and say blah blah blah to the rakyat for giving the deals for making them easier. But the rakyats had been fooooled by the f***ing s**t goverment!!!!!! It's time to make a revolution of the goverment so we need to make sure that the rakyats are gonna live better!

• Butt Oh BeeN on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:45 pm

Different prices even for Malaysians with MYKAds , you've got to be kidding me ! May be it's better to remain poor forever in this BolehLand , the rich walloped right left centre …

What about different prices at PasarMalam as well for the rich & poor …asshole plan !

• White Jack on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:47 pm

Best Idiot Idea world record :) LOL

• patmr on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:06 pm

rakyat didahulukan, pencapaian diutamakan???? ..so what is this?..vote them out!!!!!!!!!!!!!…

• mustafa on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:14 pm

what I don't understand is why is it that why must the details be reveal on the same day of the implementation. This is totally crazy…they should reveal the details at least 2 weeks before the implementation.

• Alpha on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:27 pm

aiyo!!stupid G la!!if they use the stupid 2000cc and above cars wun get subsidy then the G r really stupid!u see,a middle class ppl will drive,let say a Camry 2.4 or an Accord 2.4.which is over the 2000cc max.so he will not get the subsidy.buy an upper-class man,drive let say,a Merc E200/C200/SLK200/CLK200.their cc is only 1.8.so the merc owner get subsidy and the Camry owner won't.BAH!!Full of stupidity!!

• How on earth is the government going to implement the subsidy based on engine size? I can have 3 cars at home; 1.6 litre 308 Turbo, 2.5 litre Mazda 6 and a 3.0 litre Lexus.

How?

• PUG LION-PUG LION-PU on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:36 pm

duck it lah.. GST then Fuel increase…. CCB…

• Government never fails to introduce fail flip-flop halfcooked system though many already predicted; not working. one reason, we got too many petrol stations and they`ll complaint about their sales drop significantly. for me the program is good.

• Mazda… quickly put ur new RX7 twin turbo 16X in malaysia! it will sure out sell any sport car there ever is! hmm… STi will lose to evo… BMW and merc will only sell their next gen turbo 4… so it makes no difference really… the riches will find ways… mayb a mazda6 rotatry special for malaysia?

• first they say only malaysians are eligible for fuel subsidy, foreigners would have to pay unsubsidized price.

now, they add another clause, subsidy will be given to malaysians only, but based on socio-economic factor, engine capacity, etc, etc…

in my bluntly honest opinion, let's just stick to the original plan; malaysians get fuel subsidy, non-malaysians don't get it.

why do they want to penalise people with performance cars? it's a common knowledge that more power means a heavier fuel consumption, RM50 petrol for a kelisa can get 350-400km (based on my experience), but for a civic type R (example), you won't get 400km with RM50 petrol, right?

therefore, for a journey of 400km, you spend more money on fuel with a performance car compared to a normal non performance car, and that for me is enough of a penalty. there is no need for different fuel price for different car.

• for sure perodua sales will sky rocket… how much lower can you go? for sure those with 1.0 engine will benefit. anything 1.3 and above doesn't make any sense when it comes to removing the subsidy coz most Malaysian drives 1.3L car.

• once again malaysian boleh! ready carefully! is MALAYSIAN not malaysia ok! eat roti again this time or walk to work. ubah gaya hidup anda UBAH, UBAH tahu! is time to change(not change telco service) change our current "G"

• Rizal_shah on Jan 08, 2010 at 9:32 pm

Anti_Boros =well said

• life in the slow lan on Jan 08, 2010 at 9:48 pm

i think the idea using mykad for petrol is just down right silly. cant they know via credit card? or when pouring cant the petrol kiosk guy peep at the number plate of the car to justify the petrol price?

like if SWYxxxx, obviously its a singaporean car? if they say that they are malaysian then only one shall produce their ICs.

the subsidies shouldnt be based on salary. because it would mean that why get paid so high when taxes, and petrol would bring you down.

based on cc is much much better. because this would mean that guzzlers will less on the road hence less subsidy.

please do not politicise every single thing. malaysia is running out of petrol so the government is trying to lower their expenditure, because tomorrow, we may not have anymore petrol and you guys would still be thirsty for subsidy..

• not_ah_beng on Jan 08, 2010 at 9:55 pm

What do you expect voting Parti Barang Naik to the gomen?

Naik Naik Naik only, thats all they know! Petrol up, Sugar up, Flour up. Oh, but salary down.

Pls "Ubah Gaya Hidup" ok! Can't afford petrol for your Civic, drive a Kancil. Can't afford petrol for Kancil, swithc to HondaCub. Kapcai oso can't afford, walk loh………Gomen thinking of your Health you know! So good our Gomen.

• since when have our welfare being looked into by the BN government. Its all about them, them & them as well as their cronies.

for those who vote for the BN, pls wake up. dont fall asleep & coma urself.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 08, 2010 at 10:24 pm

stupid rule

• rickyll on Jan 08, 2010 at 10:28 pm

Let's wait and see. I don't think with the think-tank of our present government, there are going to a fool proof system. It doomed before they even formulate it.

• just sad…. i wonder who is the G's think tank advisors who could come up with such corny ideas.. Bigger CC required more petrol thus making it more expensive for bigger CC doesnt make sense..anyone now could drive a big CC cars..doesnt have to be only high income ppl drive big CC cars..there are so many second hand Big CC cars costing below 30k..so if my income is 2k per month and i prefer to buy a used yr 1998 2.2cc Camry which cost below 30k rather than a kancil or saga..does that mean i have to pay more for fuel?

G should study on how to reduce other wastage that costing the taxpayers and channel the ringgit to help make live easier for citizens.Fuel is an essential product and increasing it is not at all a popular move..

• whatever it is, proton, general election, loopholes etc.

there is one UNDENIABLE and INEVITABLE FACT.

the middle class is gonna take the brunt of the hit, and will suffer most from the new policies. life is gonna get much much harder for us all.

get our asses ready for an ass raping this year, cause it's gonna get a whole lot worse as the year passes.

• Headache on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:33 pm

based on cc is much much better. because this would mean that guzzlers will less on the road hence less subsidy. – life in the slow lane said.

Another baseless claim. Everyone knows that 2.4 Accord use less fuel compare to 2.0 Accord.

• squawk on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:43 pm

Does the gov think people who drive used 15 year old Mercs are super rich?

Also, on the GST, does it apply every time 1 item is sold from the importer to wholesaler to distributor to retailer to consumer and they're all taxed for that same 1 item sold to the subsequent party? If it is, I think we're screwed.

• The govt is run by stupid idiots. Even my hamster can think better than them….hahahahaha!!

• malaysia memang bole on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:15 am

STUPID malaysians always with their stupid and typical brain

if you rich and can afford a bmw,then you also can afford to pay higher fuel price

coz gov have been help you too many times

soo this is the time too start using public transportation,use smaller car,

reduce amount of co2,then our beloved earth will remain longer

• malaysia memang bole on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:18 am

to zain,

your hamster is smarter than the gov,

which mean your hamster is smarter than you.

so did your hamster get straight A's in SPM….

• droll on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:30 am

actually, income tax or salary alone is also not accurate. if i earn rm100k a month but i choose to be frugal and drive a kancil, i get to enjoy subsidized fuel?

i think salary should be the first bracket then car capacity the second. afterall, the objective of this is to redistribute wealth to the poorer people.

• Yes… Better Eco Friendly.. I support.. No point driving a 2.4L car just to buy a char kuey tiao just across the street… this can eliminate wastage… The rich should pay "more" for causing larger Carbon Footprint..

In a way, perodua sales might be good… kekekke~

But how does the mechanism looks like when you purchasing petrol leh? got camera can recognize your car berapa CC keh??

• It might make more sense to drive a honda civic hybrid.. 1.3L vs 2.0L :p

• nonengko (Member) on Jan 09, 2010 at 1:26 am

I think I have made up my mind about the G……………….

• dejavu on Jan 09, 2010 at 1:38 am

Seriously, cant the G just decide the amount of subsidies based on the d market value of d vehicle? Its just a simple check from insurance n financial institutions.

Its quite obvious tat some ppl who drive older cars (eg made in d 90s which r mostly 1.6 -Sentra, Corolla, Wiras, Lynx, Lantis etc), r not exactly better off than owners of mroe modern but lower cc vehicles like Vios, City, Smarts.

• squawk on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:02 am

If the pakcik bought a RM40k used Camry for family use because he needed something safer and bigger than a brand new Myvi, then good luck to him.

• Gajen on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:12 am

rapid is the answer?even the transportation is lousy

• Tiadaid on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:16 am

Rather than giving subsidies to the deserving and seeing the system manipulated by the undeserving, why don't they just remove subsidies all together. When the price of oil goes down, everybody gains. When the price of oil goes up, everybody loses. Fair and square!

• generalhoho on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:20 am

They should determine by the car price ler.. i.e:

if range below 100K get susidized.. 100K – 149K.. half subsidized.. 150K above no subsidized. as simple as that.

• generalhoho on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:24 am

but to me.. what the hell.. just give subsidy to everyone laaa.. like gula garam beras.. what the fcuk..bodoh..

y punish the 'Rich' / middle class? and creating more poor ppl???

i'm working in brunei.. the fuel for RON97 is 53cents BND!!!

• generalhoho on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:33 am

malaysia memang boleh!!! said,

January 8, 2010 @ 4:15 pm

STUPID malaysians always with their stupid and typical brain

if you rich and can afford a bmw,then you also can afford to pay higher fuel price

coz gov have been help you too many times

soo this is the time too start using public transportation,use smaller car,

reduce amount of co2,then our beloved earth will remain longer

—————————————————————-

hm.. ur brain is a pea? if u only afford to buy a cherry alado eastar 2.4L for 80K.. bcoz big family, then u been punish bcoz ur engine big capacity???

then some snotty anak dato' just grown pubic hair going to U has a civic hybrid 1.3L bought by papa for 130K.. gets to enjoy this yummy life with fully subsidized fuel????!!!

wow.. so unfair.. this implementation are made by some dumb G official..

• initial R on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:41 am

zain said,

January 8, 2010 @ 3:52 pm

The govt is run by stupid idiots. Even my hamster can think better than them….hahahahaha!!

——————————————————-

So next GE u can sellect your Hamster as next PM. I know for sure you will replace your hamster place in cage & your hamster (oppss… wrong that time you belong to your hamster) will entertain see you running in hamster running wheel. LOL.

• Hmm.. when is the next general election..??

• BeemerFreak on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:54 am

Why can't this Bastards in the government sector just learn from USA, factor in the road tax into the fuel price. That would punish heavy fuel users. Idiots at work produces idiotic plans. Without road tax, the people's burden will be lessen.

• Elvis on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:56 am

All new car sales will surely drop. Why buy new car if no more oil subsidy? Luxury cars owners will laugh like hell, coz for them peanut only….oh, wait….business operation cost will jump by May…meaning no more subsidy for their businesses…OMG…better sell my Fairlady NOW….

• oomph on Jan 09, 2010 at 3:09 am

We are the unluckiest in the world.

Our own government screwed us.

• cordoba1 on Jan 09, 2010 at 3:09 am

What is upsetting is that the owners of high CC cars are already paying HIGH road tax and now even higher fuel charges. This is pure discrimination and uneven tax treatment. Can someone in government give us an intellectual analysis why someone driving a large CC car should pay more taxes, despite the fact the person could be driving a second hand high CC car which is even cheaper than a brand new Proton??? Really this is stupidity at its highest level!!

• Ramses on Jan 09, 2010 at 3:47 am

Change the G for the better future.. say NO to BN..please.

• eposuer on Jan 09, 2010 at 3:55 am

integrated public transport is not in place..so m'sian had no choice other than driving their own vehicles..so by hook or by crook have to fill up the tank..

damn..i can't believed we live in the nation of no choice..thanks BolehLand..!!!!

• haha..do you think we can judge a person's financial state by looking at his or her car??hmm..a Brabus B class for example is about 200-300k..and its only have an engine capacity of 1.7litres or 1700cc approximately..

now..we take a second hand car..a honda accord 97' with the engine capacity of 2.2 litres..it only cost about 30k!!

what can u guys say bout that??

should a rich guy,or a less fortunate man who deserve the subsidy??

• Kambing Gurun on Jan 09, 2010 at 4:40 am

>> generalhoho said,

then some snotty anak dato’ just grown pubic hair going to U has a civic hybrid 1.3L bought by papa for 130K.. gets to enjoy this yummy life with fully subsidized fuel????!!!

—————————————————————

I wish that I had that kind of papa. Unfortunately most of us are not that lucky. We build our own life, no subsidies from filthy rich papa. If we want to buy cars, we set aside our own money for just enough down payment, then after end up paying monthly installment that last forever. Then car insurance which cause us headache every year. Now G are treating us like their money making machines.

• rageaccel2 on Jan 09, 2010 at 4:44 am

getting sick of the current 'kera jahat'. nothing good they give us. am sure not voting them.

• BUY A ROTARY ENGINE CAR ~~~~~~~~ !

• mr_3m on Jan 09, 2010 at 4:59 am

here we go again…

Malaysian policymakers at its best!!!!! WHo on this planet Earth would come up with a policy like this???

Based on the assumption that lower income people would drive lower CC cars??? The assumption is too simplistic, as is always the case with the Govt before this. Using CC is really a "stone-age" method. Thats the best brain we have in our Govt, most of them are still stuck in stone-age. Lets assume that everybody in Malaysia (rich & poor) dump all their big CC cars and buy Vivas & Savvys… will everyone still be entitled to the fuel subsidies???? G, pls answer my 'stupid' question……

People elsewhere on this planet are using CO2 emission to calculate their roadtax, their cars are taxed sensibly but their petrol are not subsidised but TAXED.

I'm OK if our salaries are increased to International Standards, car prices brought down in line with the rest of the world and just bl00dy TAX our fuel lah… but then again remove the tolls for all roads too…

In short, the implementation of this new scheme by Govt will only make:

– whoever propose the MyKad systems for subsidy distribution purposes, (if they are cronies, as usual then…) will benefit from this (aka "I hit the jackpot")

– the system is so easy to bypass or manipulated, if I'm rich, I just buy a Viva, fill it with petrol and transfer them at home to my 5.0liter M5 V10, it looks stupid but then again this is Malaysia, someone will always feel good if they can beat the system…..

to sum up, WTF is the Govt thinking by doing it this way?

• mr_3m on Jan 09, 2010 at 5:02 am

just to digress from the topic a bit…

I hv a feeling this will be the longest thread ever in Paul Tan's history… hahhahahha :)

• RM4.00p/litre on Jan 09, 2010 at 6:39 am

I welcome govt new petrol ruling hope it will implemented as soon possible, only P1 P2 car can pump subsidy price, non national pay as per market price.

For sure ah beng toyota and honda super car 2nd value will drop drasticly.

I recemonded the fuel price at RM4.00 p/litre , and for sure half cook rich will die faster. Waka ka ka…….

Toyota vvt and honda vtech jimat minyak as you all claimed. So why wurry????

• SY0H (Member) on Jan 09, 2010 at 6:50 am

Dear All,

We need to see things in a bigger picture, that the present government is preparing for the 13th General election onslaught. They are gathering as much wealth as possible before the predicted fall of the mighty BN empire. Call it the final "gold rush" as they will be no more gold chasing after this.

We have witness since the new PM taken over the country, a lot of attempts has been made to squeeze more money from the "rakyat". Issues ranging from the overprice 2 Scorpion subs, 2 missing fighter jet engines, MITI's reviews on NAP and AP policies, controversy money-spending-spree on F1 Lotus team, Proton excessive protection which ruins the entire car industry and et-cetera.

Nevertheless, the worst one is during the Badawi, family and friends reign. RM270 Billion tax paid by Petronas is gone just like that in 5 years. A lot of empty Corridors launched (East, West, North and South) but no real physical projects to be seen. Our leaders have swore to protect its "rakyat" and uphold the Constitution but in the same time they're cannibalizing every inch of the nation wealth.

The poor is getting poorer. The richer is getting richer. The Bumiputeras are the ones hit hard. The Umnoputeras claimed that they're the custodian of their countrymen, while in fact they're all hypocrites. We are told by the previous PM to "ubah gaya hidup, naik basikal pergi kerja". The only way for Malaysians to end this 50 years cyclic suffering is vote them out for good. This will serve them as a good lesson. Give way to the chosen one to lead the country as damage has been done beyond repair. It's like getting your computer infected with viruses such as Trojans, Hijackers, Adware and Spybots all in one-go. Solution; reformat the hardisk!

• 1Malaysia on Jan 09, 2010 at 6:51 am

more CC less subsidized! where are the 1Malaysia slogan thrown away???!!!

1Malaysia = 1Price

• skiborne on Jan 09, 2010 at 6:53 am

stupid. this is plain-flat discrimination.

while people who drive big cars bring more money to the country, pay more taxes, making economy better, yet they are the ones will not be getting the benefits in this case. G should instead focus on the immense amount of illegal immigrants in malaysia, that result in crime etc.. i oppose!

• squawk on Jan 09, 2010 at 6:56 am

So those pensioners still driving their Galants, W123, W124, Bluebirds, 2.2GX etc etc because they don't have enough to buy a Viva… can bang balls.

But wait, they want to review toll rates later this year. :-)

• vote them out!

• Woo, we surely got screw again. The more they screw us, the poorer we are and the poorer the country get, until then, there will be no more resource left…

So left us suffer here and they already long gone…

• RoBiN on Jan 09, 2010 at 7:59 am

kalau mcm tu, proton pun bungkus la..tak lama lagi kan nk launch model baru (baru la konon) Waja Lancer 1.8 L @ 1800 cc..ada ke org nk beli?? dah la myk mhl..keta plak kualiti hampeh..asbestos btol..huhh..

• chanel on Jan 09, 2010 at 8:08 am

if only 1.5L & below get full subsidy, then all proton owner can decide a new gov next GE…cz all proton cars are 1.6L…….& those 1.6L owners only get half subsidy???? is this make sense???

i think the idea is to give all malaysian eg. 100L subsidy petrol per month very much a good idea….further usage at non-subsidy price….but then again the loop hole is i can sell my un-used petrol to others…..

seriously, why not take all away the subsidy of all items, make it actual cost, cars without massive taxs…..the gov don't need to decide everything for the people….just concentrate on building nation, create high pay jobs, etc, STOP WASTING TAX PAYERS MONEY$$$$$$ PKFZ???? only take care those really need the social wellfare supports……

• Premium on Jan 09, 2010 at 8:31 am

Wow!!! Most comments blaming goverment, great… but where are your suggestions. Put yourselves in Gov shoes:

1. We dont have money to continue petrol subsidies

2. subsidised petrol obtain by undeserved people i.e foreigners etc

3. we want to increase usage of public transportation

4. we need to get more tax.. we need Free Trade Agreement to survive as all other countries force us (no more import, export tax), thus need to do GST.

Now, any suggestions for the government???? you can always blame government, and you think DAP, PKR or PAS are better??, let find better solutions and propose it to them. You see public sectors workers are not that great thinkers like some of you guys here.

So, how we do it?

• anakramai on Jan 09, 2010 at 8:35 am

What about family with 6 kids that only can affort big 2nd hand car worth under 30k? (pajero 3.0L year 1996) still consider rich? BODO….

• Premium said,

January 9, 2010 @ 12:31 am

Wow!!! Most comments blaming goverment, great… but where are your suggestions. Put yourselves in Gov shoes:

4. we need to get more tax.. we need Free Trade Agreement to survive as all other countries force us (no more import, export tax), thus need to do GST.

Now, any suggestions for the government???? you can always blame government, and you think DAP, PKR or PAS are better??, let find better solutions and propose it to them. You see public sectors workers are not that great thinkers like some of you guys here.

—————————————————————

Premium,

Since you understanding so much about the whole situation…..why don't you find out ways to deal with this problem?

I'm keen to hear from you.

• Just off topic abit…..

If the petrol price does increase, I bet there will be plenty of salesman selling "wonder gadgets" that claims to save petrol in your engine, etc. (eg: Surbo, Mini Surbo, power charger, fuel magnitizer, tornado air swirler, etc)

So, beware to these salemen and their claims of their product……

• sudha on Jan 09, 2010 at 9:29 am

There goes the 2500cc MPV to ferry the 7 family members.

Ubah Gaya hidup!

beli proton 1.6, muat 7 tujuh orang.

Kalau Proton Mahal, beli Alza 1.5, Muat 7 orang.

Semput lah engkau pabila balik kampung…

• LotusLover on Jan 09, 2010 at 9:30 am

bigger engine capacity = higher fuel consumption???? dari sekolah mana dia orang belajar??? Idiot G!!?

• SY0H (Member) on Jan 09, 2010 at 10:16 am

Dear Mr. Premium,

Allow me to try on your government "shoes";

"1. We dont have money to continue petrol subsidies"

This is very true indeed. But that's only half of the question. One would ask you the other half of the question, where did the subsidy money spent?

We are actually two sides of a coin. Each event has its own side of the story.

"2. subsidised petrol obtain by undeserved people i.e foreigners etc"

That was the original idea, to curb fuel supply to the foreigners without disturbing the subsidized flow to the locals. Unfortunately, now the flip-flop government has a better idea; how about killing two birds with one stone? Why I need to charged the foreigners (which so few of them), might as well I charged the other 27 Million Malaysians! Can you see the picture? Or you're still awe by that Mahathirism or Badwi's Hadharism?

"3. we want to increase usage of public transportation"

Are you kidding me brother? Have you actually taken a bus ride in Rapid-KL? Try bus no. U82 Bandar Utama-KL Sentral during morning rush hour and evening rush hour. Once you're there, try to get a ride in the KTM bound to Shah Alam with 11 multiple stops. Then share with us your "pleasant" experience riding it.

To answer your question (1) and (2), item (3) will need to be fulfilled first. In other words, you can't effectively implement this system when our public transport is still in a big mess!

"4. we need to get more tax.. we need Free Trade Agreement to survive as all other countries force us (no more import, export tax), thus need to do GST".

Yes, its true that we need money. In fact, "semua orang perlu duit". There's no argument on that. Again, you'll be delighted to know that your item (4) is already answered by item (1). Where did the money went? RM270 Billion Petronas money during Badwi's 5 year reign?

It has been more than one decade since AFTA was implemented. When the rakyat wants tax and tariff barriers to be lifted for import cars (even amongst the South East Asia agreement), Proton still demands that they need further protection ("macam bayi susah nak lepaskan susu mak"). Proton still say they're not ready. Iran and North Korea develop nuclear technology less than 25 years, Proton still struggling to develop a car? Why they need to reinvent the wheel, people are asking for rationale pricing versus quality? Again, it has been 25 years.

• SY0H (Member) on Jan 09, 2010 at 10:34 am

Furthermore, our problems is definitely NOT about money.

Our problem is WHO is managing our money!

I hope my humble "explicit" explanation would at least deserve some of your attention.

Regards,

SY0H

• generic on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:26 pm

Crazy Ideas… If you're rich, have big car and got a driver, would you pass your MyKAD to your driver to refuel? Better use the driver's MyKAD, and get subsidies for the fuel.

• kehafizan on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:31 pm

in NZ, they give subsidy in the form of cash to the needy..so the cash is spent within, and welath cycles continues.. but cant implement in malaysia, coz graft still high..

• paparadzi (Member) on Jan 09, 2010 at 4:14 pm

I am neither in the poor class nor being rich. I am squeezed in the middle. I drive a 2.4 Camry.

I paid a lot of tax to buy the above 2-liter car. Not that I like it, but it is a once-off.

I paid a higher annual road tax for the car. Not that I agree, but it is an annual affair.

But now I have to pay more PER LITER of fuel for driving the car? Not because it is an expensive car, but because it has a higher engine capacity! Too bad I can't afford a RX-8 or C200 Kompressor with much higher price but cheaper fuel. Sell off the Camry 2.4? The value will drop faster than Titanic. Who in the right mind will want to by a car with higher fuel price per liter?

What we all need is a Kancil with modified, enlarged fuel tank, and siphoning equipment.

I am not political but if this proposal get through, I will have to actively campaign for the downfall of such a stupid government.

• muharifz on Jan 09, 2010 at 4:35 pm

walk to work? improve public transportation system? bicycle? come on….be realistic. Just wait and see what's going to happen.

But one thing about bolehland, irregardless of whatever happens, people still move forward…e.g. ekonomi meleset, u see damn a lot people shopping in SOGO etc…, cukai kereta naik….more and more Tom, Dick and Harry driving luxury cars….

People are now flexible enough to adapt to situational changes…

• muharifz on Jan 09, 2010 at 5:27 pm

everything is taxable…even a set of KFC. Very soon a trip to the public toilet will be taxable. If the country improves, I don't mind paying. But most of the time we see same shit but presented in a different way.

• _xXx_ on Jan 09, 2010 at 5:40 pm

YAWN…..zzzzzzzzzzzz

• _xXx_ on Jan 09, 2010 at 5:45 pm

I won't buy the space-occupying junk just because of the 30sen subsidy…it simply takes too long to reach the breakeven point…lolx

Just wait and see. Nothing is going to happen.

paparadzi said,

January 9, 2010 @ 8:14 am

I am neither in the poor class nor being rich. I am squeezed in the middle. I drive a 2.4 Camry.

I paid a lot of tax to buy the above 2-liter car. Not that I like it, but it is a once-off.

I paid a higher annual road tax for the car. Not that I agree, but it is an annual affair.

But now I have to pay more PER LITER of fuel for driving the car? Not because it is an expensive car, but because it has a higher engine capacity! Too bad I can’t afford a RX-8 or C200 Kompressor with much higher price but cheaper fuel. Sell off the Camry 2.4? The value will drop faster than Titanic. Who in the right mind will want to by a car with higher fuel price per liter?

What we all need is a Kancil with modified, enlarged fuel tank, and siphoning equipment.

I am not political but if this proposal get through, I will have to actively campaign for the downfall of such a stupid government.

• dejavu on Jan 09, 2010 at 6:11 pm

Dear Premium, here's some some thoughts for urself regarding ur questions

True. But neither is announcing subsidy-free fuel during high time but implementing taxes on it when market value is low wit reason to gain back earlier expenses correct either. It basically paints a picture of a cash starved n unethical government. U either totally remove it without additional conditions or continue d subsidy structure.

True. But tis could hv long ago be solved if our MyCards were used. In fact it was 1 of d main purposes of launching d MyCard usage years ago. Furthermore, almost all vehicle owners pay taxes (pre-sales, sales, Custom, income n rd taxes) in accordance to our income n vehicle value. D issue of charging those higher cc car owners would be illogical for those to plan n divert more of their financial priorities to d car but trim off in other areas. Also d matter of depriving fuel subsidies for d 'more-well-off' would b kinda unjust when all r paying taxes, dun u think?

Again, this seem to b a never ending issue. Wit recent events involving taxi n airport limo charges, express bus crashes, regular off-scheduled KTM trains, limited public transport coverage n time etc. how many r willing to let go private cars? Funniest part is seeing local manufacturers providing rediculously long term loan periods, n d most recent 5k rebate for scrapping ol-bangers when we r supposed to b encouraged 2use public transport.

10 yrs ago, we would bluntly accept when G spokesperson say d G's not raking in enuf money. But since Mac 8, more eyes r on wasted public funds. Furthermore, wit more private/privatised organizations n growing tax-contributing Rakyat, shouldn't d G be making more $$$ each yr? Also, it there really a need to 'rescue' loss making companies when d business structure n unnecessary external involvement makes it rediculously off course?

N speaking of others, there has not been a single constructive statement from u 2suggest d G on how to solve this in a better way. D whole pupose of a ppl-elected-Gov is to contatantly put ppl's interest 1st n keep it in check. Even BN dare not guarantee to protect d ppl's needs all d time. No 1 ever said d oposition has a better solution.

• Engkau punya mak on Jan 09, 2010 at 6:11 pm

Yalah, memang orang pandai berubah, Ada apa pun boleh settle, tapi buat apo buta buta terima hakikat bahawa ini perlu bayar itu keno bayar. Nilah problemnya. Stail Malaysia, apa pun boleh. Tak le maju cam ni.

Pasal kawe kawe tom dick dan harry ni, Ada yang dah kerjo banyak tahun, dah masanya enjoy rezeki, ok la tu, tapi kalo yang beli keta pakai cash tu, pahamla mana datangnya duit tu. Pilihanraya.. Cepat!!

• Joker The Great on Jan 09, 2010 at 6:57 pm

Based on the vehicle cubic capacity as the measurement of petrol price is something unfair to the end user..

Gov should judge it based on their income.. This system should link of inland revenue department for furthur action…

For example, we are driving an old Nissan Bluebird with the engine displacement 1.8CC…E200K also have the similar CC as well…. Why bluebird user have to pay the same $$$@ liter for the petrol right..?

WV TSI and FSI engine cubic capacity is smaller than Persona, 1.4 FSI…. Same as Volvo S40 also use the smaller CC engine(2.0) from 2.4….

Paul, i think yourself also agree with what i mean at here…. Only in this way, those low income really enjoy the benefit….

For those who being caught for report less income, Gov should punish them as well for the petrol subsidies too…..

How about the Supporter at here………….? Do you all agree or not…??????

• anak dato' kk on Jan 09, 2010 at 7:35 pm

THE BEST PROPOSAL IN THIS DECADE!!!!……hmmm……hampeh!! Tak sabo rasanya nak ngundi kali ni….

• noname on Jan 09, 2010 at 8:09 pm

lowest cc poorest, highest cc richest. no car owner, they are not belongs to this earth. This is the way u indicate a person wealth…..@#$%

• pedobear on Jan 09, 2010 at 8:38 pm

I only got honda C70, so I can get petrol RM 0.02 per liter?

1500cc = RM 1.80 = 1.80 / 1500 = RM 0.0015 per CC

so 70cc I only pay RM 0.02 per liter? lolz

PS: malaysia government always come out with something and very fast this system will be replacing again. 1malaysia rules : lama tak pergi, baru tak mari

• tokmoh on Jan 09, 2010 at 9:55 pm

RM4.00p/litre said,

January 8, 2010 @ 10:39 pm

I welcome govt new petrol ruling hope it will implemented as soon possible, only P1 P2 car can pump subsidy price, non national pay as per market price.

For sure ah beng toyota and honda super car 2nd value will drop drasticly.

I recemonded the fuel price at RM4.00 p/litre , and for sure half cook rich will die faster. Waka ka ka…….

Toyota vvt and honda vtech jimat minyak as you all claimed. So why wurry????

>>> Half cook rich, lol. Like those that own old merc n bmw? I mean what happened, how come many yrs ago they rich enough to buy merc, bmw, but now that they say they're poor? lolwut?

• Kamu pembunuh! on Jan 09, 2010 at 10:15 pm

Itu sohai minsiter cakap bodoh lagi, satu demi satu lanjaio idea. macam tak ada sekolah! otak sudah roask betul!

This Gov akan digulingkan!

• Kamu pembunuh! on Jan 09, 2010 at 10:16 pm

Premium lu pergi mampus sekali! lu masih vote BN, kamu adalah pembantu naik harga ! bodoh lu. otak brurung! tak tukar mana tahu.

• Jumbsuck on Jan 09, 2010 at 10:51 pm

Very stupid idea. Anyone can pump a Kancil and put back to a BMW. If using Mykad for sure some smuggle syndicate towkey will collect all the poor kampong folks ICs to pump petrol.

Why not use/revise existing system like new format of road tax?

Road tax based on:

1) fuel efficiency (KM per liter fuel),

2) carbon dioxide emission from exhaust (CO2 gram per KM)

3) the engine capacity too.

Fuel effiency and carbon emission tested on each sample car model from car manufacturer by Puspakom/JPJ to determine how much road tax (or call it as petrol tax too?) you pay.

This way it's more fair to all and promote cars with better economy (petrol or diesel) and clean environment.

• Jumbsuck on Jan 09, 2010 at 10:56 pm

If Road tax based on:

1) fuel efficiency (KM per liter fuel),

2) carbon dioxide emission from exhaust (CO2 gram per KM)

3) the engine capacity too.

then, Perodua will sell more cars lah. Proton therefore must sell more small cars like Tata Nano.

• Saidi on Jan 10, 2010 at 12:21 am

If G cannot subsidise the fuel for their people, then why still want to pour our hard earned money in F1?

• squawk on Jan 10, 2010 at 12:28 am

This shows how out of touch, archaic and irrelevant our policy planners and administrators are. Effectively the Mazda RX-8 owner will be laughing and the Naza Citra owner will be crying.

Is this the type of incompetent people we want to manage our nation and resources?

• squawk on Jan 10, 2010 at 12:43 am

It shows how out of touch, archaic and irrelevant our policy planners and administrators are. Effectively the Mazda RX-8 owner will be laughing and the Naza Citra owner will be crying.

Is this they type of incompetent people we want managing our nation and resources?

Seems they've run out of ideas where to find money that's been leaked out and now we have to pay for it. This country should've been a lot wealthier. After all, we have some of the world's sought-after commodities (crude oil, palm oil, rubber & tin).

Put it another way – when Selangor wanted to raise water tariffs due to loss of revenue from leaky old pipes, what did we do? We protested that move right? We told them to plug the leakages before charging us (because the revenue loss wasn't our fault), right? Same thing is happening to our economy – leakages. Shouldn't they plug that first before making us pay for anything? Otherwise we'll keep paying and the system will keep leaking. We won't go anywhere.

• Apart from using mykad, the system will also need to verify the fingerprint. That's what I was told by a station dealer whose station was visited by a group of gomen ppl. So no such thing as rich towkays using other people's mykad.

my personal suggestion, they should also integrate the system with JPJ to give only subsidy to valid driving license holders only. So, the ideal criterias will be

1) must have a valid driving license

2) must be an owner of a car of current value less than 75K

3) limit to a certain amount of litre of petrol per person (e.g 200L) irregardless how many cars he/she has.

• life in the slow lan on Jan 10, 2010 at 3:38 am

for those who think bigger cc cars are more fuel efficient then smaller cc cars, you can then afford petrol isnt it? dollar to dollar, malaysia is THE country with THE cheapest petrol. our taxes in malaysia are low (in comparison with many countries) and the cost of living is relatively low. dont just ask for a pay rise just because prices of goods are higher..

if you guys hate the country so much go somewhere else.. no government is perfect, that's because no one is.

singapore has lower taxes,so they're a better country? but their fuel prices are high so they're not so good again?

does england having high taxes and high petrol prices constitute they're a lousy country? but their cars are horrendously cheap, then i guess that makes them a good country right?

i rest my case.

• generic on Jan 10, 2010 at 6:30 am

life in the slow lane said..

"for those who think bigger cc cars are more fuel efficient then smaller cc cars, you can then afford petrol isnt it? dollar to dollar, malaysia is THE country with THE cheapest petrol. our taxes in malaysia are low (in comparison with many countries) and the cost of living is relatively low. dont just ask for a pay rise just because prices of goods are higher.."

generic said…

Don't you think their pay (other countries) are higher,their cars are cheaper. Try to compare dollar to dollar. They earned USD 2000, we earn RM 2000..

• 1.5 cc cars and below will be eligible for rebate.

Here is how it will work, tentatively. (my theory)

1. ALL Malaysians over the age of 17 will get petrol rebate.

2. Car owners (with registered cars of at least one) will get 100 litres at subsidy price, above and beyond will be @regular rate

3. Motorbike riders (those with bike registration) will get 50 litres, so those with both car and bike can choose either car or bike registration.

4. For those who say BMW 1 series more expensive than a Camry, sorry, this affects too few a people. On the whole, the system willl tax based on cc, rather than income. For those who argue they use a 2.0 older car, this is a move for the future – to encourage the right behaviour in the future.

I feel bad for those who have big families in & MPVs. Also, those with older cars more than 1.5 cc since price will plummet from May 1.

Still, i support that subsidies should be removed – right people should get them. Some commentators here have stated this already, but they have been attacked by other forumners for stating the truth.

Those who don't drive will benefit – perhaps they can sell their allocation so effectively, those who drive sponsor those who do not.

• pening lalat on Jan 10, 2010 at 5:26 pm

another great approach from our bastad gov…

i think all the smart boys in gov are become dumber..since all the decision is being made by our lead..only using his mouth..no need to think..no need to "turun padang"…

what will happen to those who buy 2nd perdana..displacement is 2.0 but the price is below 20k..even person that earn 2k and lower than that can afford to buy it..if they dont have cash to pay..they can used personal loan.why dont those people who create this idea..go to "ceruk kampung" and see with their own eyes how many people using an old 2.0 cc car..that the price is below 10k..do they also need to buy petrol without subsidy?? pls la..dont let people see that u are stupid…did our leader pay the university to get thier degree???

please used your demm brain first…god give u brain to think..not to make people suffer.

gov want us..to "ubah gaya hidup" but our leader keep spending the money..they want people to used public transportation..hahahaha..those bastad people in gov make me smile all the time…pls,come to my place..the is no such proper public transportation…and since mahathir step down..we have been forced to "ubah cara hidup"..those people in gov should joint raja lawak astro la..because they have a lot of rubbish idea…that make people laugh..

• learner on Jan 10, 2010 at 5:58 pm

i support gov moves to remove fuel subsidy because i believe if they cannot remove the fuel subsidy because so many people "living in the car" against this action, they will look for other alternative to reduce subsidy burden. at the end, you will be happy when fuel subsidy is still there and still can "live in the car" but other important subsidy have been taken away by gov such as health benefits, water & electricity, rice, bla bla….. those low income will fall below poverty level because they have to pay all the basic need without subsidy. those low income maybe afford kapcai or kancil only but now cannot buy food and paying monthly installment for their ride. you people who "living in the car" feel happy with the fuel subsidy but still need to pay the rest of the thing without subsidy.

if fuel subsidy is taken away by gov, you "living in the car" people maybe have to pay more for fuel price, but those low income people will not fall under poverty level and still can pay monthly installment for their kapcai or kancil. at the same time you people "lining in the car" also enjoy other benefits such as health benefits and education.

gov spending is like most of us here spending too. if you cannot reduce expenses of one thing, you will simply reduce other expenses to compensate the deficit you face. so instead of letting the gov reduce other more important subsidy that currently enjoyed by you people "living in the car" and those low income people, i with no willing still can live without fuel subsidy.

BUT IF THE GOV ALSO REDUCE OTHER SUBSIDY MASSIVELY (example sugar, the rest maybe will comes) AFTER REDUCING FUEL SUBSIDY, then ALL of USE no where to go!!!!

blame me if you want, i am speaking not at any political parties side but for the overall benefits of people.

• mazda6mps (Member) on Jan 10, 2010 at 7:58 pm

Happy Labour Day 2010 ???

• some1 on Jan 10, 2010 at 9:00 pm

time to vote! GREAT 2010 plan by goverment this year.

• some1 on Jan 10, 2010 at 9:01 pm

to Generic, u say

generic said…

Don’t you think their pay (other countries) are higher,their cars are cheaper. Try to compare dollar to dollar. They earned USD 2000, we earn RM 2000..

they spend in USD, we spend in RM. don compare lar.

• some1 on Jan 10, 2010 at 9:19 pm

100L subsidy petrol per month…..

pity those ppl who work in the city but cant afford houses in the city. travel everyday with high petrol prices, low salary, higher car taxes. nw seems like every1 should dump their high cc car, get a super FC low cc car

• ricaza (Member) on Jan 10, 2010 at 9:22 pm

Premium said,

So, how we do it?

——————

for the point no.1

why our country has no money right now??

it is they are lots of money wasting?? or it is the effect of the world economy??

mega project can still do..but no money?? ish2..then where the hell they get the money?? owh..i know..because when they are mega project, they also will people who project the money into their own pockets..and SPRM will shut their eyes..when country has no money..the rakyat kan ade..

"rakyat didahulukan kesusahan, pencapaian di utamakan!"

bravo!!

• some1 on Jan 10, 2010 at 9:32 pm

Premium said,

—————————-

1. we really don have money? u sure?

2. so does that mean we malaysian have to suffer together with those foreigners ?

3. public transportation easy to get? come penang, or other states, u will know how public transportation is so "useful".

4. we need to get more tax? hmmm, can we learn from other countries if G wan to remove subsidy for petrol? example reduce car tax? so that we can afford a T or H at 50k? im so so so willing to pay for rm2.1 petrol price if i can get a T or H at 50k juz like in other countries

no offence, juz a middle-low class opinion

• ricaza (Member) on Jan 10, 2010 at 9:43 pm

for point no.3

i'am so sick when this issue like this come out..use public transport..use public transport..it is all bullshit!! if the G really want us to use public transport..then improve it 1st..

people in kl can talk la..because they have a "world class public transport".

but think about other people in other state and city or even kampung..do they get the efficient public transport?????

for example..

in kuantan pahang..let's say u work in kuantan city, but u live at gambang which is about 37km.. bus?? don't want ever to talk about it..it is very2 suck.. taxi?? rm36 to go..and another to go back..if kongsi2 taxi pon still rm18 per day..it is better to use ur own car or motorcycle..can reach the office much faster and in comfort..so how's that?? u'r call..

we r not japan, uk, and elsewhere where public transport is efficient..that's why they dont't have fuel subsidies..this is malaysia, see the reality 1st..not just making that damm suggestion..

• squawk on Jan 10, 2010 at 10:09 pm

For those who said those who hate the gov can leave… please, many of us love this country. But it doesn't mean that we have to love, by default, those who are supposed to represent us and help us manage the country. Would you love a staff who is incompetent and inefficient just because you hired him after he gave you a good impression but couldn't deliver when he started work?

If you don't sack him, wouldn't you give feedback and criticism? And wouldn't you appreciate if he actually listened and found ways to improve himself rather than give excuses?

Subsidies DO need to go. But not before you have a proper long term plan to negate the ill effects on the common folk. Public transportation is still a joke. If I take the komuter from KL to Shah Alam, how do I get around in Shah Alam? Duties on cars are still high meaning gov is making double income (cut subsidies, maintain duties). Should we all be riding bikes like China 20 years ago? Or do we aspire to be like Vietnam?

And I've done a rough comparison – cost of living in KL is slightly higher than Singapore. But Singapore has a higher STANDARD (don't confuse with COST) of living.

• ahmad on Jan 10, 2010 at 10:47 pm

after this cancil could be mpv for big families, more tembikai on the road

• anti-boros on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:48 am

————————————————————-

the dumbest factual attempts in PaulTan.org I’ve ever seen. the economic effects all over Asia… (which most economic forums the world agree one of the caused is Soros.. which you labeled as genius.. moron!) not only Malaysia, you moron.. no need to say much.. you’ll not understand..caused you’re a moron.. check the actual facts again.. and.. again.. and again… Furthermore “highly subsidized on everything”… isn’t that good for us? moron!… I’m not pro anyone but seeing arrogant and dumb comments like this make me sick!..

——————————————————–

voice from some1 that know nothing about economy….his economic knowledge is Zero….NIL……NADA….

• anti-boros on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:52 am

i think someone eager to own MPV maybe just hoping mpv below 1.8liter…u try at the higher displacement is a disaster…haha..balik kampung kena naik bas la…kena tiru Pengerusi Petronas kot Tan sri Hassan Merican…kena jadikan dia idola lepas nie….hahah

• Perhaps e should be like Vietnam. Let's all ride Vespas!

Seriously, the only reason i drive instead of ride is because it's not safe, with the number of bad-mannered motorists in KL.

If bikers were the majority, it'd be safer to ride in KL.

• pening lalat on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:53 am

if the gov pull out the subsidy..what will happen to people?? maybe to whom earn more than 100k++ per year will not concern about this…but what will happen to middle class ??

just look what happen lately la..if there is increasing in petrol price,automatically everything will increase also..then the gov still talking about "ubah cara hidup"…how many times that our gov want us to changes our life style??

please look around u la..there is so many people that living in middle class that choose 2nd hand car that have high displacement car as family car..what will happen to those people??

we choose the gov..hoping that the gov will help in anyway they can to at least reduce our burden..but lately..our gov keep coming with brilliant idea to make people suffer..more and more..thank u gov…

• Boink on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:45 pm

this one guy in the world by the name of Soros has to be God's right hand man, 'one man' changed the entire asian country… anyone got his personal number???

• anti-boros said,

January 10, 2010 @ 5:48 pm

————————————————————-

the dumbest factual attempts in PaulTan.org I’ve ever seen. the economic effects all over Asia… (which most economic forums the world agree one of the caused is Soros.. which you labeled as genius.. moron!) not only Malaysia, you moron.. no need to say much.. you’ll not understand..caused you’re a moron.. check the actual facts again.. and.. again.. and again… Furthermore “highly subsidized on everything”… isn’t that good for us? moron!… I’m not pro anyone but seeing arrogant and dumb comments like this make me sick!..

——————————————————–

voice from some1 that know nothing about economy….his economic knowledge is Zero….NIL……NADA….

dear anti boros,

and i suppose you know better than Paul Krugman, 2008 Economics Nobel Prize Winner? The effects of Soros and speculators are documented in his book The Return of Depression Economics. Please don't condemn someone without first knowing what you're talking about. Leave your biases aside and use your brains.

• some1 on Jan 12, 2010 at 6:08 am

thumps up for jdx

• asgard on Jan 12, 2010 at 7:28 am

anti-boros said,

January 10, 2010 @ 5:48 pm

————————————————————-

——————————————————–

dear anti boros,

and i suppose you know better than Paul Krugman, 2008 Economics Nobel Prize Winner? The effects of Soros and speculators are documented in his book The Return of Depression Economics. Please don’t condemn someone without first knowing what you’re talking about. Leave your biases aside and use your brains.

soros is the biggest speculator in the world,he got the money to change the flow of economy,so when he decide to enter market,be careful,this guy can change the market trend

• squawk on Jan 12, 2010 at 9:25 am

We have a large middle class. Imagine what happens when part of this group have to be reclassified as lower class.

• asgard on Jan 12, 2010 at 10:30 pm

What about family with 6 kids that only can affort big 2nd hand car worth under 30k? (pajero 3.0L year 1996) still consider rich? BODO….

these people are minority,should not buy pajero in the first place,

monthly installment for cars should not more than 30% of monthly salary

• Harri on Jan 13, 2010 at 3:57 am

Let's look at the long time view – long term, it'll be too expensive to have large families, so lower income will stick with two kids. Not a bad idea, really.

They can invest more in each child rather than having soo many & expecting gomen to help

• The Government should just remove all the fuel subsidies and probably jz reduce road tax, it cost the government RM9 bil for the subsidies which is approximately 13% of the 2009 stimulus package. invest in industry with higher multiplier value, build infrastructure and developments would definitely make the country better off, with Rm9 bil, alot can be done

• learner on Jan 13, 2010 at 6:04 pm

ivan said,

January 12, 2010 @ 10:23 pm

The Government should just remove all the fuel subsidies and probably jz reduce road tax, it cost the government RM9 bil for the subsidies which is approximately 13% of the 2009 stimulus package. invest in industry with higher multiplier value, build infrastructure and developments would definitely make the country better off, with Rm9 bil, alot can be done

this what i mean in my previous post. remove the fuel subside AND don't ever try to tough other subsidies such as basic necessity (sugar), health, education, etc. if you notice, school budgets is really little for most of public schools, there is no more grand events. this affect directly to the education. same goes with sugar, reducing the sugar subsidy affect directly to the price of drinks and foods. while removing fuel subsidy is relatively creating indirect domino effect to the price of sugar (example). by removing fuel subsidy can save many subsidies because fuel subsidy alone already contribute huge number of government expenses compare to other subsidies. if you know 80-20 rules than you know what i mean.

• life in the slow lan on Jan 14, 2010 at 5:48 pm

this is such a cool debate topic… haha

• life in the slow lan on Jan 14, 2010 at 5:51 pm

ppl whom advocate buying old cars with large cc, are actually killing the planet. these cars are usually guzzlers.

i think there are no fool proof ideas. some one somewhere will find it flawed. so something better than nothing?

philosopher Jagger once said "you cant always get what you want"

• DownwithBN on Jan 14, 2010 at 7:01 pm

This is nuts. Based on CC engine? I know an uncle who open a stall fixing keys in front of Digital Mall drive a battered old high cc Volvo, most likely > 2.0cc…so must be rich?? Then some young anak kaya driving what RX8, Smart for Two, small cc…they're poor??

And if less than 1.5cc subsidize? < 2.0 cc half subsidize?? Hello, Honda City/Toyota VIOS…90k…1,5cc, all the new Proton cars(except Savvy)…1.6cc engine….People driving Persona and Gen-2 richer than people driving VIOS/City??? What about MPV? Some people needs an MPV becoz of big MPV. Like Exora, most value for money MPV with the biggest space, in short, the cheapest MPV you can get if you're running on budget.(Alza don't count…that's a Myvi with bigger car boot). So are they rich too? If they're rich, i'm sure they'll buy Estima instead of Exora!!!

It's all crazyy…..

• PremiumOtakBurung on Jan 14, 2010 at 7:17 pm

remium said,

So, how we do it?

=================

Either you are UMNO punya orang, or seriously…otak burung. Where have you been the last 50 years??

1) Exactly, and where did all the money go? Who is responsible for taking all our oil money??? The BN gov must be held responsible and none other.

2) No arguments here, but now the Gov wanna squeeze Malaysians, not Singaporeans.

3) Hahahahaha…i dunno whether to laugh or cry….when the last time you take a public transport? Do you know why our public transport is such an utter failure? It is done so that Proton can flourish. If we have a world class transport system like Singapore, u think people want to buy cars??? You are SO-HAI.

4) Again, where's the money gone? Instead of looking at who has makan all the money, you let the sharks squeeze some more out of the rakyat again?? If a company is not making money for a few years, the CEO head would have roll already. But BN captain Malaysia for 50 years, yet you simply accept the reason 'tadak duit'??? You sir, are an A++++class moron!

Lastly, yeah, DAP, PKR, PAS maybe cannot do better coz all the money already been sucked dry. But they certainly can do NO WORSE. From what i know, Penang and Selangor are doing pretty okay. So there. You have the answer.

• zaeidos on Jan 16, 2010 at 11:02 am

squawk,

And I’ve done a rough comparison – cost of living in KL is slightly higher than Singapore. But Singapore has a higher STANDARD (don’t confuse with COST) of living.

———————-

lol, and comfort? do u compare comfort? my friend lives in a flat that costs $190k in spore..and it is just 8++sq!!

my single storey home in cheras only MYR200k freehold!!

and in spore they got taxes on everything,tv,internet and even for radio!!! imagine u got a radio in ur house and in ur car then u need to pay for 2 radio taxes!! if u like spore so damn much then be my guest..get!!!

• Lamsburg on Feb 04, 2010 at 11:26 pm

If petrol subsidy quota by each car per car owner, what happen to those family sharing the only car at home. People do not affort to buy more than a car in the family.

Cost of living and inflation increase days by days but Malaysia's private sector salary schemes DID NOT rise all these years. People pay income tax, road tax, GST, service tax, quit rent, Indah Water, TNB, Telekom, water bill, etc….

Other countries achieve better than Malaysia with significant and undeniable results. Till now still have not learn and realize from mistakes and correct from frauds. No a single sense self judgement, people EQ getting poorer and poorer, self-fishness, jealousy and conflict seen everywhere. Is this the civilization people have learn for the pass 50 years.

Rich getting rich days by days. Poor getting poorer days by days. People suffer from living poorer and poorer days by days. Is this the results and fruits achieve from a countries and people who has been independence for 50 years?