New Volvo dealership opens in Sabah

Volvo now has a dealership in Sabah, operated by Angkatan Hebat Sdn Bhd. The new showroom is located at the 1 Borneo Lifestyle Hypermall on Jalan Sulaman and will serve the entire Sabah market, since it is the only dealership there. The Angkatan Hebat dealership is in fact the only Volvo dealership in the whole of East Malaysia. Now the people of Sabah will be able to enjoy the Volvo XC90 with a dealership to support the repairs and maintenance.

This was bound to happen. Early last year we got news of the Sabah government replacing their fleet of executive Perdanas to 2.5 litre Volvos through Angkatan Hebat, a majority state-owned company. Angkatan Hebat manages the state’s fleet and last I checked, they are 70% owned by the state government’s investment arm.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jacob on Jan 18, 2010 at 9:33 pm

That's good news for the east Malaysians!

• gey2718 on Jan 18, 2010 at 9:33 pm

land below the wind!!! now volvo is officially below the wind!!

• state gomen shd consider X60 !!!!

• Eric G on Jan 18, 2010 at 9:56 pm

yea, went there the other day. cool looking s40 and xc90!

• xmizanx on Jan 18, 2010 at 10:28 pm

wow sabah people too rich to use VOLVO…

gud=]

• Littlefire on Jan 18, 2010 at 10:31 pm

LOL~! When Perak previos G bought Camry, they all bash…

But when Sabah buy Volvo, no one complain? LOL~! Double standard…

Even Terengganu buy Merc E200K…

• V70T5 on Jan 18, 2010 at 10:57 pm

Volvo for life!

• punisher on Jan 18, 2010 at 11:16 pm

this proves yet again..PROTON sucks..

• we have quite a lot of Volvos here but have no service centre..lol..now it's better..

• dickybird on Jan 19, 2010 at 12:51 am

this is how all our sabah money get sucked out!

• The Who.. on Jan 19, 2010 at 12:56 am

Why proton involved in this story?

Anyway, love volvo.. Saw it many time in miri.. Especially the xc90..

• funny on Jan 19, 2010 at 1:01 am

and gomen trying to tell us they need money, so they need GST, need to cancel petrol subsidy, need to increase income, but why dont they try to decrease wastage??????????????

u ask more money from me, and can you do something else from your end too? like tighten the budget a bit???

• whatever on Jan 19, 2010 at 3:52 am

talking about having volvo…..most of the sabah people cant even afford a proton..almost died paying their proton and perodua loan off…buying power is still too weak..thanks to sabah gov….

• Elvis on Jan 19, 2010 at 4:41 am

Of course with 30% budget allocations goes into their pocket….Sabah CM and cronies would be ashamed to be seen in Proton Perdana. What Sabah friends told me is that majority of rakyat there are very poor. With only Kota Kinabalu developed and the rest fo the state looking like third world country. I think you guys should come to Sabah and see the road there…..the worst of the worst and the politicians there have the guts to be driven in Volvo.

• rulered on Jan 19, 2010 at 4:48 am

The question is, when will Volvo arrive in Sarawak? East Malaysia is much bigger then the whole of West Malaysia dude, 1 showroom in Sabah won't cut for being in the whole of East Malaysia.

• Money Sucker on Jan 19, 2010 at 5:51 am

Sabah rich private sector will not go for Volvo after this official as claimed Government serven's car. & yes thanks to State government spent the money on that. or else Volvo still very rare & weak in Sabah. In fact i have to say Sabah second hand car dealers (recon from japan) sold more cars than new car launched at the brands official showroom. Those ppl from Sabah, have u observed the second hand car dealers showroom r getting more & bigger? nicer than Toytota or BMW showroom ?? Branded showrooms r getting tiny & closed. too bad theres no "new land cruiser" at toyota showroom. No "new WRX" not even Subaru showroom here. Not to mention Posche, Ferari, Audi, Lexus etc etc…Of course everyone holding hundreds of thousands loan to second hand dealers…would u?

• punisher said,

January 18, 2010 @ 3:16 pm

that is TRUE…

• pelams on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:27 am

true…..d showroom of those who sell recond cars are very big n better

• Eric G on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:38 am

true Elvis. just recently the downpour has been going on for 3 days, there are a lot of potholes. 1 particular road in kk has a big pothole has "owned" 12 Kancils tyres. it tear off the tyre instantly!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 19, 2010 at 7:24 am

volvo is going to be chinese…haiz

• The Loner on Jan 19, 2010 at 8:00 am

For Proton's case, maintenance cost is the killing factor.

For Volvo, it's a hard road to earn the market share there, as most people prefer SUV & pickup trucks from Toyota (Isuzu for pickups), regardless of new or recon.

• rexis on Jan 19, 2010 at 8:05 am

Its about time… getting bored with all the merc running everywhere there.

• Proton Bashers Unite on Jan 19, 2010 at 5:55 pm

zack said,

January 18, 2010 @ 10:01 pm

punisher said,

January 18, 2010 @ 3:16 pm

that is TRUE…

————————

same here,

• at least there are other 'type' of cars running around sabah… especially when there is so many toyota, honda cars…. the facelift S80 is nice….. cant wait for new S60 replacement this year….Sabah boleh…..

hehehehe

• gey2718 on Jan 20, 2010 at 6:34 am

whatever said,

January 18, 2010 @ 7:52 pm

talking about having volvo…..most of the sabah people cant even afford a proton..almost died paying their proton and perodua loan off…buying power is still too weak..thanks to sabah gov….

KATAK BAWAH PERIGI – WHATEVER!

U SURE ONOT? MOST OF THE PEOPLE I KNOW THERE DRIVING IMPORTED CARS OK! THEIR 1 LANCRUISER 100 CAN BUY 15 VIVA! PEOPLE DON'T USE NISSAN VANETTE THERE BUT USING ALPHARD! NOT AVANZA BUT PRADO!

• Elvis on Jan 20, 2010 at 6:38 am

Eric, those politicians in Sabah days are numbered. Sure no more BeeEnd in Sabah and Sarawak by next general election. They cant brainwash rakyat for a long time. If 80% of the rakyat in Sabah and Sarawak are below poverty, the only way to fix it is to change the federal government. Here in Sarawak, the indigenous community are 3rd class citizen. I dont know about things in Sabah. I am half Iban and half chinese, so i am very much sad about things in Sarawak. This cronies in government should stop. No more inferior cars for us, no more BeeEnd talking about Proton and why we must protect Proton. If the politicians support VOLVO, then why must we ordinary rakyat bare the shit…

• No Name on Jan 20, 2010 at 11:43 am

But still Toyota Land Cruisers 200 Series aka "Super King" here among Sabahan will be sought after by the big bosses and businessmen in Sabah, while Isuzu D-Max, Toyota Hilux, Mits Triton and Nissan Navara still affordable by middle income family in Sabah. I dare to admit in my neighborhood (suburb) there's are more 4WD's and SUV's compare to sedan or compact (and there are even more 4WD's and SUV's in rural area). I'm not trying to showing off but that is the reality. I have friend working as a clerk in school but that person owned 1 SUV's and sedans and 2 compact. Now it's obvious that Sabahan are able to stretch their Ringgit more futher until the peoples still able to own at least one SUV's or 4WD's.

• kancilrider on Jan 20, 2010 at 10:20 pm

For proton case, SC here is really phatetic…