VIDEO: BMW’s development process explained!

Last week we carried a feature that gave you an insight into how a new BMW such as the new F10 5-Series came to be. Even the deciding on the aesthetic design alone is a long process which involves multiple rounds of ‘competition’ and then refinement.

Today we have the same but the car featured here is the new BMW 5-Series GT, which made its appearance before the sedan. I personally think the new 5 GT isn’t even a 5 at all, its more of a 7 Hatchback with a lower price tag. It’s an odd little thing, like a low rider X6 of sorts. I’m sure we are all still wondering what BMW was smoking when they came up with the 5 GT. But wonder no more. BMW actually reveals how the 5 GT came to be in a 3-part series of videos, again showcasing their development process.

Check out the videos after the jump in sequence.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• new skoda superb is much cheaper and value for money…..

• bobdbilder on Jan 18, 2010 at 8:39 pm

Why do they need to explain to the general public that they took a lot of expensive design manhours to come out with a non desirable car? Seems counter productive to me. They could just divide their products; For Drivers and Non Drivers. And they can market this as the Ultimate Non Driving Machine. Oh wait, that's the X6 ainit?

• peYno F**K on Jan 18, 2010 at 11:08 pm

i still can't figure out why bmw came out such an ugly car like 5 GT..i don't see any purpose of this vehicle..we already have touring and sedan..and we already have a SUV…so..what the hell this thing to do in our world??even after seen all the video i still can't figure out why this creature exist…i still can't accept this car even though already saw it in flesh..it such an ugly car plus it's huge..

• mystvearn on Jan 19, 2010 at 12:41 am

Its marketing strategy. Even though it looks ugly, if you keep saying it looks great, people will think its great. In Psychology, its called Cognitive Dissonance. Its like those Hitler propaganda done during WW2, to rally people behined him.

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 19, 2010 at 12:47 am

Why the 5 GT? Could it because the X6 isn't selling?

To me the X6 is an even more pointless vehicle.

• Questionable design….. some may like it and some not…..

for me no thanks….looks awful….

Lucky it has a BMW badge otherwise kena bash kau kau….

• i dont think this would match up with A3

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 19, 2010 at 7:25 am

bmw is brilliant