Prodrive Impreza N2010 rally car – Super 2000 performance at half the price

Prodrive has launched the Impreza N2010, its latest FIA spec group N rally car. The N2010 uses a new 33mm air restrictor, introduced by FIA to help balance the performance of Group N and the unrestricted Super 2000 rally cars. Enlarging the restrictor diameter from 32 to 33mm, fitting high flow fuel injectors and recalibrating the ECU increases peak power by 20 bhp, but more significantly, improves torque and responsiveness throughout the rev range.

Performance upgrade to the 1,994cc boxer engine have been matched by enhancements to the car’s dynamics. The Ohlins dampers have been revised with extra travel, while the suspension bushes have been strengthened.

“On gravel the Impreza is certainly a match for any Super 2000, but it is on tarmac, that the additional engine performance will really come into its own and make the N2010 a competitive alternative to a Super 2000, but at about half the price and with significantly lower running costs,” said Graham Prew, Prodrive sales manager.

Prices start at £120,000 and for the first time Prodrive has introduced a financing option to enable the car to be leased over two years with an option to buy the car at the end of the term. The package includes insurance and system rebuilds.

More pictures after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=783]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Farhan Omar on Jan 21, 2010 at 10:34 pm

damn….is it legal to lease this car to be used on the road

• i tot all S2000 cars are suppose to be all NA (naturally aspirated)?

• littlefire on Jan 21, 2010 at 11:09 pm

If Subaru N2010 price is half of any Super 2000 cars…

Hmm… GBP120,000.. with turbo boxer & 4wd

Proton S2000 GBP240,000!!! Wah so expensive~! Somemore only 2.0L NA..

Dear Proton, can we know how much to sponsor the S2000 rally? And why Subaru can be so cheap and lower running cost? Does they use China made parts? LoLz..

But still they manage to down the cost, and got improvement.. Nice move Subaru~!

• Neo.S on Jan 21, 2010 at 11:30 pm

i guess this Subaru didnt use any Turbo as Paul said "The N2010 uses a new 33mm air restrictor, introduced by FIA to help balance the performance of Group N and the unrestricted Super 2000 rally cars. Enlarging the restrictor diameter from 32 to 33mm, fitting high flow fuel injectors and recalibrating the ECU increases peak power by 20 bhp, but more significantly, improves torque and responsiveness throughout the rev range.

Performance upgrade to the 1,994cc boxer engine have been matched by enhancements to the car’s dynamics."

didnt mention any Turbo here and i guess is a Boxer NA

Proton can be that expensive is due to 1.8 Renault upgrade to 2.0, so 3rd "piece of the cake need to be share loh", i guess.

• MADBOY on Jan 22, 2010 at 1:07 am

Neo.S said,

January 21, 2010 @ 3:30 pm

i guess this Subaru didnt use any Turbo as Paul said “The N2010 uses a new 33mm air restrictor, introduced by FIA to help balance the performance of Group N and the unrestricted Super 2000 rally cars. Enlarging the restrictor diameter from 32 to 33mm, fitting high flow fuel injectors and recalibrating the ECU increases peak power by 20 bhp, but more significantly, improves torque and responsiveness throughout the rev range.

Performance upgrade to the 1,994cc boxer engine have been matched by enhancements to the car’s dynamics.”

Proton can be that expensive is due to 1.8 Renault upgrade to 2.0, so 3rd “piece of the cake need to be share loh”, i guess.

—————

or they do use turbo but the 33mm air restrictor is used to restrict the power of the car to make it within the same level of S2000 car? As you know, putting a turbo is the cheaper way of getting maximum power.

As they are using turbo, the cost to extract the power is much cheaper, hence, the overall cost is cheaper?

This is the reason S2000 has no restriction.

emmm, really need someone to clarify it here!!!!

• MADBOY on Jan 22, 2010 at 1:37 am

ok, now I understand.

This is Group N car with turbo, will not race with S2000 car which is suppose to be a cheaper altenative to race a rally compare with Group N.

What they are doing here is to show that they have developed a Group N car that is much cheaper than S2000 car when S2000 should be the cheaper car.

Confused?

• half the price still cost arms and legs.

• confirm got turbo la wei.only the neo is n/a.

see? on the picture,the radiator-like is the intercooler

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 22, 2010 at 6:43 am

Proton Satria Neo GG die when meet this

• SY0H (Member) on Jan 22, 2010 at 8:30 pm

Dear friends,

Please do not glorify the famous Tin Milo Proton in these noble Subaru thread. Proton is not in par with the other car manufacturer. It's like downgrading Subaru to mere Proton Saga line just by comparing it! Please, let this thread belongs to Subaru and not those gay boys. Thank you.

• littlefire on Jan 22, 2010 at 9:26 pm

Well, the only thing which most of us not satisfied is why Subaru can cut a lot of cost while having some extra component (turbo) in it's car? While our glorify Proton with a NA Renault engine cost more than it? I think this is why our country money goes waste like that..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 22, 2010 at 9:46 pm

SY0H said,

January 22, 2010 @ 12:30 pm

Dear friends,

Please do not glorify the famous Tin Milo Proton in these noble Subaru thread. Proton is not in par with the other car manufacturer. It’s like downgrading Subaru to mere Proton Saga line just by comparing it! Please, let this thread belongs to Subaru and not those gay boys. Thank you.

———————————————–

agree. next thing we know they are probably going to say their ah beng wira is faster than impreza s204

• bmpower on Jan 22, 2010 at 9:59 pm

this subaru look fugly in white

• CatmaN on Jan 22, 2010 at 10:31 pm

Neo.S said,

January 21, 2010 @ 3:30 pm

i guess this Subaru didnt use any Turbo as Paul said “The N2010 uses a new 33mm air restrictor, introduced by FIA to help balance the performance of Group N and the unrestricted Super 2000 rally cars. Enlarging the restrictor diameter from 32 to 33mm, fitting high flow fuel injectors and recalibrating the ECU increases peak power by 20 bhp, but more significantly, improves torque and responsiveness throughout the rev range.

Performance upgrade to the 1,994cc boxer engine have been matched by enhancements to the car’s dynamics.”

Proton can be that expensive is due to 1.8 Renault upgrade to 2.0, so 3rd “piece of the cake need to be share loh”, i guess.

This Impreza N2010 is using a turbo engine. See there..on top of the engine..top-mount intercooler.

• kentut berapi on Jan 22, 2010 at 10:50 pm

bodo la ampa ni…kete ni turbo..intercooler die top mount la…

• MADBOY on Jan 23, 2010 at 12:11 am

littlefire said,

January 22, 2010 @ 1:26 pm

Well, the only thing which most of us not satisfied is why Subaru can cut a lot of cost while having some extra component (turbo) in it’s car? While our glorify Proton with a NA Renault engine cost more than it? I think this is why our country money goes waste like that..

——-

The car cost less than S2000 cars not just proton satria.

• littlefire on Jan 23, 2010 at 12:34 am

Yes, not only our car. But also others..

It just that, why they can do it? But not us?

• MADBOY on Jan 23, 2010 at 1:07 am

littlefire said,

January 22, 2010 @ 4:34 pm

Yes, not only our car. But also others..

It just that, why they can do it? But not us?

————-

When you said "us" are you refering to Proton S2000 Satria Neo prepared by Mellors Motorsport only or all S2000 team?

As I recall, this car is about half the price of S2000 car, hence if S2000 Neo is on the same price bracket with other S2000 cars, then I see no issue.

The topic here is that Prodrive managed to prepared a Group N car which cost less than a super S2000 cars. That it, nothing to do with Proton.

• littlefire said,

January 22, 2010 @ 1:26 pm

Well, the only thing which most of us not satisfied is why Subaru can cut a lot of cost while having some extra component (turbo) in it’s car? While our glorify Proton with a NA Renault engine cost more than it? I think this is why our country money goes waste like that..

———————————————

since when proton used money for S2000 neo…i tot mellor motorsport build it using neo from proton n sold to other s2000 racing team eg. felda rally team….proton

• littlefire@littlebrain

• The Royal Academy of on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:48 pm

littlefire @ sensible man

• pomen_gtr on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:55 pm

all talk but empty inside…like tin kosong…

-even subaru in WRC spec. cost more than your beloved neo S2000 or any other s200 spec. rally car….

-this impreza is group N spec. do you know what is group N spec. means???this is where production car like your stock satria neo maCAMPRO rolling off from factory and with minimum mods to be registered as rally car….only need to install rollcage+safety harness+fire extinguisher+race brake pads+race suspension and not to mention your favorite loud a.k.a free flow exhaust pipe….other than that must kept to original factory parts (cooling and electronic parts can be changed to suits race condition)….

to compare it with your expensive neo s2000…apart from the chasis and windscreen,everything else is custom pre-built parts from many racing parts manufacturer,engine mods only can fecth more than 1k pound sterling…suspension,chasis mods to fit 4wd system,carbon ceramic brakes,full custom eletcronic system…to make it simple….s2000 cars is WRC car minus the turbocharger system..

get it?

• rally_fan on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:42 am

you are exactly right pomen_gtr.

also, there is a marketing aspect to this which we need to read between the lines.. firstly, subaru has no S2000 car, and selling grp n rally cars is a business to them. so of course they will position their grp n car as a better alternative for prospective rally teams over s2000.

secondly, proton cannot have a group n car like subaru, because proton, like more than 50% of the car manufacturers out there, do not sell a 2ltr, 4wd production car so do not qualify to run a car like this subaru in world rallying.

also, because the s2000 cars can have seq. gearbox, lighter weight..etc. FIA allows grp n. cars to have more power(hp and torque), plus they also have higher top speed because of their gearbox ratios.