Lotus F1 officially reveals the Lotus Cosworth T127!

Lotus F1 has officially launched its 2010 challenger at the Royal Horticultural Hall in London. The Lotus Cosworth T127 Formula 1 car is finished in Lotus’ yellow-green colour scheme and I must say that it looks pretty good! Apart from the “Lotus Racing” logo on the engine cover the car also has familiar terms and logos such as “Tune Group”, “1 Malaysia”, “Naza Group” and last but not least “Proton”.

Team principal Tony Fernandes said during the launch, “I am extremely proud to be here today and to be able to show the world the fruits of the team’s hard work over the last five months. It’s humbling for me and my fellow shareholders, Kamarudin Meranun and SM Nasarudin to see how a team that five months ago didn’t even exist is now a thriving workforce, full of enthusiasm and passion for Lotus Racing and the challenges ahead and capable of producing such a beautiful machine in such a short time.”

“Now we’ve achieved two major milestones; confirming our entry and unveiling our car, but now the real work starts. Next we move on to testing and the season ahead and I’m confident that the team will exceed expectations wherever we go, and will do so on a wave of support around the world that has been growing daily since we first unleashed Lotus Racing back in September ’09,” he added.

“The last few months have been some of the most challenging of my career, but it’s been a challenge the whole team and I have thrived on since we first started work on the car up in Norfolk. I’m delighted that we’ve reached this point, and now we have a beautiful car that gives us a great base to work from for the season ahead and a fighting chance of going racing in the right way, with a winning mentality. The hard part starts now, and I know everyone in the team and I are up for whatever lies ahead,” said the team’s technical chief Mike Gascoyne.

The Lotus Cosworth T127 which made its track debut on Tuesday will be raced by former Toyota driver Jarno Trulli and ex-McLaren man Heikki Kovalainen. Malaysia’s Fairuz Fauzy has been appointed as the team’s third and reserve driver. Continue reading to view a high-res image gallery as well as to watch a video of the T127 in action on track.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=836]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express excitement and pride over Lotus F1’s return, highlighting its traditional British racing green livery and nostalgic design that evoke Lotus’s legendary heritage. Many fans appreciate the classic colors, viewing them as symbols of legacy and heritage, though some criticize the car's basic and outdated design. There’s optimism about their potential performance, with hopes they can score points and improve over the season. Several mention Proton's current limited involvement and question sponsor visibility, while some express support for Malaysian identity, wishing for more local branding. Overall, sentiments are mixed but mostly positive, celebrating the team's historic comeback and traditional aesthetic, with hopes for progress, better aerodynamics, and successful racing results.

• Wowwwwwwwwwwwwwwww….. well done !!!!!

• neokid on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:03 am

gluck team 1malaysia lotus F1!!

• scanzew on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:04 am

finay…no bendera m'sia eh??

• B33MER on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:04 am

SWEET!!!!!!!! … British racing green colour :D

• scanzew on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:04 am

finally not finay..my 'L' in probem

• scanzew on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:08 am

early edition this livery in malaysian flag, but still in Lotus Legendary livery and outfit…so where is previous design?

• lencongan on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:10 am

the future is green :)

• raybrig on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:12 am

good move to retain the heritage racing colors

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:13 am

it looks terrible. when compared to the red bull f1 team and mclaren f1 team car….it is like rembrandt against a celefe artist

• Someonewhoknows bett on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:14 am

The design seems very basic and a bit dated. Reminds me of the minardis of age. Their aero seems like it could be a hinderance, Virgin might actually give Lotus a good lesson. They seem to be more prepared.

But best of luck to these guys. hopefully they will prove me wrong.

Lets see the times they get for the test laps.

• xenith (Member) on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:23 am

That's really nice…

• nabill on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:23 am

im worried about the lack of sponsers…those familiar names on the car are not exactly gaints in their industries…i jus hope thy have enough funding for the entire season…best of luck ! superb paint job !

• finally :)

• ben moktar on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:28 am

1st..hehe pretty guud

• Love Malaysia on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:29 am

1st!

• f1 fanatic on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:37 am

1st!! beautiful car, lets see if its fast as it looks..

• Internity on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:40 am

WAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

• wow… beautiful… and green

• Jarum on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:43 am

Love the British Racing Green!

• hitman on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:43 am

great color scheme for the car, suit and team shirt.

very classy.

however, why are the following logos/names missing from the driver racing suit:

1. proton

2. naza group

3. tune group

4. 1 malaysia

by the way, a visit to the new website will see the team name stated as Lotus Racing and not Lotus F1 Racing. I guess Bernie Ecclestone said no.

Congratulations and best of luck to the team.

• Jason Yep on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:44 am

Wonder how it will performs against the big guns…

• Someonewhoknows bett on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:47 am

Hello harvinder,

Can we get a high res shot of the side profile please. been searching high and low for that picture.

• tak da warna bendera malaysia pun

• singh on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:53 am

good luck lotus n proton

• 1st!

• Very brits….tat legendary racing green. epic…luv it. What is Malaysia racing color, izzit orange with black lion stripe

• iverson on Feb 13, 2010 at 11:18 am

wow….this car absolute good…..nice design…pretty colour…also a nice intro video….man…i like it..wish malaysia team can be successfull in this season of rookie race…and someday can become a championship contender on f1 racing….GAMBATE..!!!

• hahah on Feb 13, 2010 at 11:27 am

Cool..!

• wow, looks pretty cool. hopefully the performance is good too. don't want to see this team end up 7-10 sec off the pace like 'some' team there in the test. 1-2 sec off will be good enough for me

• sowhat (Member) on Feb 13, 2010 at 11:52 am

Go go go lotussss…..

• Ariff Ahmad on Feb 13, 2010 at 12:02 pm

Good looking car, nice colour scheme.

• septzz on Feb 13, 2010 at 12:14 pm

green???!!!

not my favourite colour..

• gunblade on Feb 13, 2010 at 1:11 pm

Proud to be Malaysian

• Classic!

• seancorr on Feb 13, 2010 at 1:48 pm

Oh boy this year's F1 is gonna b full of hope to c them coming close to the other Malaysian 'team'

• hope the team can make decent time in the circuit…

• Amril on Feb 13, 2010 at 2:52 pm

oookay. what is 1malaysia by the way?

• Matchy on Feb 13, 2010 at 3:11 pm

Seems like not much sponsor… hope they wont have any financial problem and survive till end of season!

• harry_croft84 on Feb 13, 2010 at 3:24 pm

1st

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 13, 2010 at 3:34 pm

classic and cool colour scheme.

• abdul qayyum on Feb 13, 2010 at 3:37 pm

I'm first!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• cam.shaft on Feb 13, 2010 at 3:39 pm

team 1Malaysia..but using British Racing Green.

IMHO…i see nothing "Malaysia" bout it except the sponsors.

jus my 2cents

cam.shaft

• ford_ton on Feb 13, 2010 at 3:40 pm

Congratulations!

Wish you all good luck. Another team for me to cheer.

• Arashikage on Feb 13, 2010 at 3:48 pm

Good day for Malaysian automotive industry, first a Proton Hybrid then an F1 car…..hope it's good…..it's gonna be exciting this year with 'The Return of The King'…..

• Can pass la

• Wak Kordi on Feb 13, 2010 at 4:06 pm

omg this is such an ugly car. and why does it looks like a 90s F1 car? look kinda boxy i suppose. anyway, best of luck to our 1malaysia F1 team or lotus team or whateva the name is. jangan dapat tempat corot dah le. perabih beras je.

• T4VR-Ralph on Feb 13, 2010 at 4:13 pm

Nice!

..except one.. can somebody remove the "1 Malaysia" thing?

• nudin on Feb 13, 2010 at 4:32 pm

really lotus car

• fuyiopo on Feb 13, 2010 at 4:34 pm

Just hope they'll do their best in the race~

• OMG! so UGLY to compare with virgin…. =.="

**sigh**

• dukeKTM on Feb 13, 2010 at 4:39 pm

Am I first??

I must admit…the car looks great with the Lotus Racing color scheme instead of annoying red of air asia…. hope they do well..

• Naz@Ford on Feb 13, 2010 at 4:40 pm

yelow and green.. suits for the lotus team colour..

• glacius_25150 on Feb 13, 2010 at 4:41 pm

First to comment here and i'd say, this is truly a fabulous car!!!

• EricG on Feb 13, 2010 at 4:42 pm

wow..they choose the perferct colour. The british racing green!

• luke cage on Feb 13, 2010 at 4:52 pm

first!!..nice ….

• FIREPOLICY on Feb 13, 2010 at 4:53 pm

nice colour…different from the rest

• hiruma kecil (Member) on Feb 13, 2010 at 5:10 pm

don't compare with virgin lol.. they used updated design and colour. Lotus team can do better if they want but they don't… they used that color because that is LOTUS COLOUR… can u imagine if FERRARI use a very beautiful design like virgin.. It cannot be accepted.. FERRARI IS RED…. FERRARI IS RED & LOTUS IS GREEN.. that's all.. the thing is very simple.. yes they are new team.. but they are LOTUS LEGACY… lotus is always lotus…

• hiruma kecil (Member) on Feb 13, 2010 at 5:12 pm

extremely superb retro colour… i like it very much…

• tayar kitar semula on Feb 13, 2010 at 5:19 pm

warna yang boring tu boleh diserikan dengan illustrasi corak batik..

• RH PumpkinKing on Feb 13, 2010 at 5:19 pm

Good color, british racing green is the best color for the car.

For those who think the color is outdated, eventhought f1 is the most modern sport on earth, the. people and fans is quite particular about a team traditional.

Virgin racing can go for any color since they have no heritage to sucess.

but for team like the pracing horse, silver arrows, the former jaguar,

they have some iconamd color scheme needed to be retained.

if any of you remember, when Ferrari changed their red color from the Ferrari rooso to the Malboro red, they got condemed upside down.

Good move anyway.

• theanswer on Feb 13, 2010 at 5:20 pm

"it looks terrible. when compared to the red bull f1 team and mclaren f1 team car….it is like rembrandt against a celefe artist"

this is on of the nicest colur and design for f1 car i ever seen..british racing green..looks legendary. it's like nba game with throwback jersey. it's not abt the design..but it's abt legacy..the lotus legacy..the heritage..why wanna do funky colour and out of their real image huh.

• Nasib baik the car doesn't have power-window. If not, sure fail during driving…whenever the is a "proton" name on it

hahahahhaha…

Jokes aside, good luck LotusF1. You needed it

• Lancermania on Feb 13, 2010 at 5:41 pm

well, color & livery dosent effect yur winning chance rig??

all d best to thm

• kancil elite on Feb 13, 2010 at 5:47 pm

yeah…naza and proton are such multinational companies that they need to do their marketing on international platform…or are they simply helping out to instill pride among rakyat to win govt support?

• Gajen on Feb 13, 2010 at 6:06 pm

british racing greeen…reminds me of jaguar…nice design…good luck lotus f1!!

• medertos on Feb 13, 2010 at 6:08 pm

wallaweiii,classic!!!

• sixtythree on Feb 13, 2010 at 6:15 pm

Cool retro Lotus livery…

Will the KERS stays on this season cars?

• Steven on Feb 13, 2010 at 6:29 pm

Not too bad at all. Only wished there was more potrayal of Malaysia on the car besides "1Malaysia".

• ktas09 on Feb 13, 2010 at 6:29 pm

Better put Najib and Rosmah photo infront of the machine. Kahkah!!

• Anonymous on Feb 13, 2010 at 6:43 pm

This colour is legendary!! Hope they will bring glory as there were in older days.

Thanks Tony Fernandez! Legendary Lotus are coming back.

• ezudine on Feb 13, 2010 at 7:01 pm

yg nie xjd isu ker.. mcm warne dero pas jer

kuikuikui

• why is everyone comparing this car with virgin racing? i think that virgin racing is not a threat. just check their test lap times. around 17 sec difference from the lead car. that is like from pole position to last place. hahaha

well it just shows that when you design a car WITHOUT the aid of wind tunnel and just rely on computer simulation you are bound to have an unbalanced and problematic car…and not to mention the car looks terrible.

anyway thats a nice liveries for the lotus team. very retro and really convey the spirit of lotus racing.

here is the result of the testing at Jerez day 3

1. Jaime Alguersuari, Toro Rosso, 1:19.919, 76 Laps

2. Pedro de la Rosa, BMW Sauber, 1:20.736, 58 Laps

3. Adrian Sutil, Force India, 1:21.428, 48 Laps

4. Felipe Massa, Ferrari, 1:21.603, 72 Laps

5. Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, 1:21.783, 59 Laps

6. Vitaly Petrov, Renault, 1:22.000, 68 Laps

7. Nico Rosberg, Mercedes GP, 1:22.820, 53 Laps

8. Rubens Barrichello, Williams, 1:23.217, 120 Laps

9. Lewis Hamilton, McLaren, 1:23.985, 68 Laps

10. Lucas di Grassi, Virgin, 1:37.107, 8 Laps

• First my A** on Feb 13, 2010 at 7:04 pm

Wow… so many idiots thinking they are 1st to comment…

stop it fools… only makes you look stupid

• Fangalica on Feb 13, 2010 at 7:13 pm

the car look pretty…especially the rims black faced with yellow lips COOL!!!

• kodok on Feb 13, 2010 at 7:18 pm

love the color scheme!..gud luck tony!

• where is the AirAsia logo? Dayyummnns should replace TuneGroup with AirAsia logo. Anyway, I am so loving it.. Go Go Go Lotus Team!

• Ahmad on Feb 13, 2010 at 7:45 pm

Wow!! Good color scheme…but the rear spoiler is too boxy. But the front spoiler is very complex in design..better aerodynamics perhaps?

• klaka seram on Feb 13, 2010 at 8:01 pm

green color?? what a choice

Anyway gud luck. I think Tony is more interested to beat Virgin than anything else. Let see…

• initial R on Feb 13, 2010 at 8:01 pm

If we see back when the time lotus still in the race most of they car are in green with yellow strip or yellow with green strip. However the last car with JPS in Black & goldish yellow…. Congrat & welcome back the one of F1 icon in modern race track… With good driver they have, must be they get best position on list…

• lotuspetronasteam on Feb 13, 2010 at 8:16 pm

actually the engine is campro…..but to avoid all malaysian condemn it..the just re-word the engine to cosworth…lol

• Now I'm really proud to be a Malaysian

• hakimi on Feb 13, 2010 at 8:53 pm

I thought its a 1-Malaysia team????

Hardly see the 1-malaysia logo…. TUNE's logo overshadows it.

ermm… no wonder PETRONAS chose mercedes.

my 3cents

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 13, 2010 at 9:08 pm

this website seems totally biased towards lotus f1

• taboogen on Feb 13, 2010 at 9:50 pm

There is no color of our flag because G did not sponsor this lor.. Even Air Asia white and red theme is not there. U must understand englishman still proud of their heritage even the company owned by Malaysian not like malaysian ppl proud of imported goods. Now asking where is MY flag even we as Malaysian are not so proud of own product… what lah

• Lambori on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:06 pm

thank goodness they didn't decide to put it in malaysian flag livery or else i would have puked blood.

• mechanical (Member) on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:22 pm

First my A** said,

February 13, 2010 @ 11:04 am

Wow… so many idiots thinking they are 1st to comment…

stop it fools… only makes you look stupid

——————————————————————

ARE YOU GOOD ENOUGH Mr. First my A**???

• jaybonds on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:27 pm

As I had suspected, it could be either the historical black & gold colours or the british racing green. Anyway, good luck for the Lotus F1 team!!

• mechanical (Member) on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:28 pm

BRAVO F1 Lotus team (1 Malaysia, Naza, Tune & PROTON)..Keep it up..At least you try it..

The theme color is Green, "Greening the world", good start up..hehehehehehehe

• korokoro on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:34 pm

Weiiiiiii….yellow and green quite perfect color like kedah….Hijau kuning lambang negeri depa…ha..ha..ha..Like more the Mercedes GP Petronas color….Well done both of you all…=D

• Should put Anwar face at "back" of the car… ha ha ha ha… :)

• lambov12 on Feb 13, 2010 at 11:19 pm

oh great ..

Malaysia 1st and 1st GREEN F1 car in the history

• Head Hunter on Feb 14, 2010 at 12:14 am

Hopefully the front wings don't come off like the virgins! Hahaha.. I'm just waiting for the new season to start, then we can hear some driver will say: I passed a Red Bull before banging a …….!!! Hahahaha!!!

• Naz@Ford on Feb 14, 2010 at 12:24 am

Lotus are coming back!!! i don't know which team i will support.. but i will definitely support for the schumi team.. hahahaha..

• Tarmiziali on Feb 14, 2010 at 12:46 am

The Virgin lap times was because they went out in the rain where else everybody manage to do a dry run. If you follow closely. So it is not a good indicator.

The livery reminds of Jim Clark's Lotus. But the design is very basic. compare to virgin's design, it look less aero and very boxy. pay particular attention to the rear diffuser and sidepods as that the area of focus all the teams this year.

I have yet to see what is groundbreaking with this car as mentioned by Alex Yoong.

• Tarmiziali on Feb 14, 2010 at 12:58 am

I think the sidepods too big

• bashbash on Feb 14, 2010 at 1:55 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

February 13, 2010 @ 1:08 pm

this website seems totally biased towards lotus f1

meaning?? i think this website has included mercedes petronas gp, mclaren and other f1 team..or maybe u missed it…

• Diablo on Feb 14, 2010 at 2:07 am

jaybonds said,

February 13, 2010 @ 2:27 pm

As I had suspected, it could be either the historical black & gold colours or the british racing green. Anyway, good luck for the Lotus F1 team!!

It would have made no sense to have it in 'historical black & gold' as that was the 'historical colours' of tobacco company John Player Special(JPS), the major sponsor for Team Lotus.

JPS is not a sponsor of the new team. The historical colours of Lotus is indeed green with yellow, just like on Lotus cars company logo.

• guanerrr (Member) on Feb 14, 2010 at 2:13 am

Another wasting and stupid project. Good luck Malaysian.

• race fan on Feb 14, 2010 at 2:19 am

add said,

February 13, 2010 @ 11:25 am

where is the AirAsia logo? Dayyummnns should replace TuneGroup with AirAsia logo. Anyway, I am so loving it.. Go Go Go Lotus Team!

____________________________________________________________________________

AirAsia logo is not on it because:

1.Fernandes involvement in the team is not on behalf of Air Asia. It never was and he made it clear from day one that this is his initiative, not Air Asia.

2.The reason for point 1 above is Air Asia would be in breach of their current contract with WilliamsF1 if they appeared on another F1 team. Air Asia has another year to go with WilliamsF1.

• Noname on Feb 14, 2010 at 2:33 am

It looks nice indeed. The brand name 'Proton' should be place at Naza Group. So everyone can notice it. So small… hardly can see the Proton brand hahaha. Apart from that, all brand name painted there bigger than Proton lol… 1Malaysia itself also bigger than the Proton name

• donno on Feb 14, 2010 at 3:55 am

Proton involement in this is only giving the consent to use the Lotus name. No money pumped in. Thats why the naza group, TuneGroup and 1Malaysia logo is bigger than the Proton logo. Need any clues of our tax money aka malaysian goverment sponsorship? Look no further than the big 1Malaysia logo (as is the visit malaysia on Steward GP, and Go KL on Minardi's last time round).

As for the colour scheme, it is very classic British Racing Green theme (although the jaguar GP green is more modernish- the one i like). I really hope that the green background with yellow stripes would be changed to yellow background with black stripes (malaysian racing colours) during the Malaysian GP in Sepang, just as a little nod to the Malaysian fans and sponsors that backs the team return to F1.

• kurikuri on Feb 14, 2010 at 4:21 am

yuckssss…….

totally out…

• BASHING king on Feb 14, 2010 at 4:33 am

GOD BLESS YOU LOTUS F1…

• yippi33 on Feb 14, 2010 at 5:46 am

koko said,

February 13, 2010 @ 2:46 pm

Should put Anwar face at “back” of the car… ha ha ha ha… :)

_______________________________–

priceless..

• zul82 on Feb 14, 2010 at 7:11 am

Damn the livery is beautiful and spot on, praise to the designer of how they retain the traditional lotus colour…………but design wise, it looks basic. No evolutionary details that gives me confident for them to challenge their rivals…….more aero design please…

• Noname on Feb 14, 2010 at 7:31 am

hmm… dont you guys think the uniform looks like last time BP petrol (BHP) color theme?

• race fan on Feb 14, 2010 at 7:47 am

donno said,

February 13, 2010 @ 7:55 pm

Proton involement in this is only giving the consent to use the Lotus name. No money pumped in. Thats why the naza group, TuneGroup and 1Malaysia logo is bigger than the Proton logo.

I really hope that the green background with yellow stripes would be changed to yellow background with black stripes (malaysian racing colours) during the Malaysian GP in Sepang, just as a little nod to the Malaysian fans and sponsors that backs the team return to F1.

No, it has now been revealed that Proton is indeed spending money on the team for the car branding

http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/81477

As for the 'nod' for Sepang.. doing well would be what fans want to see while sponsors would appreciate brand visibility/ROI. They wouldn't care about the yellow with black. Anyway that colour is already synonymous with A1Team Malaysia

http://tinyurl.com/y9an3jo

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 14, 2010 at 7:48 am

I saw the word "PROTON" at the rear wing of the F1 car.

Does this means, Proton designed the rear wing?

I suggest this component to be checked thoroughly by Lotus F1 team workshop before each race.

Make sure it is covered by warranty. But spare part may come as late as 1 month.

Harharhar!

• why there is no actual LOTUS badge.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 14, 2010 at 9:26 am

BN f1 team, PKR f1 team

• F1 2010 season

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_Formula_One_sea…

• business is business on Feb 14, 2010 at 11:53 am

Why can't we see something like this from our proton?

Proton simply not seriously doing the business like korean, and many malaysian still feel sympathy to believe in PROTON, not becos we we like proton of what it did for the past years or achievements (any good one?) but becos it is our home grown brand ! am i rite?

just imagine if Proton is from Thai, and for the past 20 years they feed us with all the cars models with cheap quality and too without proper replacement model in schedule, and many many others craps, wat would you all say about it??

now i wanna buy a new 2.0 local make car, should I get the Perdana which appear on the road almost 10 years d??

I hope proton don;t use up our quota, we all know with the money we pay on ur craps, we actually can get a better pieceof metal from japs, now even korean..

don't take us for granted.. a govt company doesn't mean you have the absolute ACE card in your hand, business is business, no matter how, you have to fight for yourself in the market, if not you gonna be eaten up by market..

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 14, 2010 at 6:25 pm

to awak:

there is the actual lotus badge

you can see small lotus badge at the front nose section

• tayar kitar semula on Feb 14, 2010 at 6:30 pm

Mazda f1 team? ada tak? hehehehe

• all the best ! don't forget to earn some points.

• Tarmiziali on Feb 14, 2010 at 8:41 pm

We are seriously lacking testing millage….dont anybody see that? Not much people here understand the business of F1 here is there? While everybody perfecting their car at Valencia and Jerez, we just barely come out a car with 2009 design?Out of the new teams (Virgin, Campos, USF1 and of course Lotus), Virgin seem to manage to come-out with sort of cotemporary design. So far the effort put by other teams(minus Campos and USF1) is more compare to Lotus. For SURE LOTUS WILL BE THE MINARDIs OF 2010.

• glacius_25150 on Feb 14, 2010 at 9:15 pm

quite nice diffuser.. i just hope it has proper aerodynamics to challenge other cars.. it's the thing that separate most team last season…

• tokmoh on Feb 14, 2010 at 11:01 pm

business is business, no matter how, you have to fight for yourself in the market, if not you gonna be eaten up by market. business is business, no matter how, you have to fight for yourself in the market, if not you gonna be eaten up by market.. said,

February 14, 2010 @ 3:53 am

Why can’t we see something like this from our proton?

Proton simply not seriously doing the business like korean, and many malaysian still feel sympathy to believe in PROTON, not becos we we like proton of what it did for the past years or achievements (any good one?) but becos it is our home grown brand ! am i rite?

just imagine if Proton is from Thai, and for the past 20 years they feed us with all the cars models with cheap quality and too without proper replacement model in schedule, and many many others craps, wat would you all say about it??

now i wanna buy a new 2.0 local make car, should I get the Perdana which appear on the road almost 10 years d??

I hope proton don;t use up our quota, we all know with the money we pay on ur craps, we actually can get a better pieceof metal from japs, now even korean..

don’t take us for granted.. a govt company doesn’t mean you have the absolute ACE card in your hand, business is business, no matter how, you have to fight for yourself in the market, if not you gonna be eaten up by market..

>>> FFS, CAN YOU USE A PROPER NAME RATHER THAN A FUCKING LONG QUOTE REPEATED OVER AND OVER AGAIN?!?!?!?

U want 2.0L local car, u can either get Naza Forte or wait for Waja replacement ie lancer rebadge. Coming soon, ard 4th quarter this year.

Proton not serious in biz? Lu pandai sangat lu jadi Proton MD la… I'll be Proton's no.1 basher if you do.

• Ferruccio on Feb 15, 2010 at 12:29 am

Tarmiziali said,

February 14, 2010 @ 12:41 pm

We are seriously lacking testing millage….dont anybody see that? Not much people here understand the business of F1 here is there? While everybody perfecting their car at Valencia and Jerez, we just barely come out a car with 2009 design?Out of the new teams (Virgin, Campos, USF1 and of course Lotus), Virgin seem to manage to come-out with sort of cotemporary design. So far the effort put by other teams(minus Campos and USF1) is more compare to Lotus. For SURE LOTUS WILL BE THE MINARDIs OF 2010.

But of course they will be the 'Minardis' of 2010. In fact ALL FOUR of the new teams will be the 'Minardis' of 2010.

But if you put things in perspective, ie:

1. They were the last of the new teams to be granted a slot and to commit to their new car. Sept to now is really not a whole lot of time to have a team and car ready

2. Two (Campos and USF1) out of the four new teams are seriously in trouble this season. Campos is an experienced single seater race team while USF1 initiated their programme the earliest.

Given these circumstances it's highly commendable that they have produced a running car in such a short period so lets cut Lotus some slack. The signing of Jarno and Heiki is also not to be scoffed at.

Although the 2009 aero regs is mostly unchanged for 2009. The no refuel regs ensures that you cannot use a 2009 car but you can evolve it to fit the new big tank but will still involve major changes in the car's fundamentals which Lotus cannot avoid, if we assume they plagiarized Force India's 2009 car. Even Red Bull's car is just an evolution of the RB5.

On Virgin, they're taking a huge gamble with their design approach. NO ONE in the F1 paddock think an all CFD approach is possible just yet.

Lotus took the PROVEN design approach like everyone else: CFD + Windtunnel.

No one is under any illusions about Lotus. They are expected to be near the back. Anyone else in their shoes would also produce that would run near the back. What is important is to see how they progress through the season. How they develop the car and team to improve their results. If they can make progress then it possible for them to move up the grid, all the way to No 1 possibly someday in the future. That's the whole point. Progress.

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 15, 2010 at 1:22 am

to tarmiziali:

are you talking about the aerodynamics

haha.lol.don't just simply talk.a beautiful or curvy design will not ensure good aerodynamics

actually, a simple design works well

please,don't talk rubbish here.those engineer know what they are doing

• kimi_ on Feb 15, 2010 at 3:33 am

The car chasis design is OUTDATED for sure and it would be lucky if they manage to finish the race !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Force India accuse Lotus F1copy their car chasis…..

But Lotus F1 also COPY their driver suit, looks at the colour white, green and

yellow which are colours of india flag…….SO FUNNY that i nearly mistaken the

driver represent force INDIA !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Tarmiziali on Feb 15, 2010 at 3:53 am

I dont talk rubbish. Looking at the Brawn BGP001 vs others, you can see they have small sidepod that promotes better airflow management to the floor of the car and toward the double deck diffuser. And this is what all the trends the teams this year are heading. And with that have done some testing millage. and Lotus have yet to do that. So how can evolve the design? Just 8 days out of 15 days left for testing since there is no in-season testing.better hope no reliability issues and clear weather.

I still think it is better to have bought the BMW Sauber team when it was up for sale and secure Petronas money. Then at least we will be a midfielder judging the current laptimes. I do hope no malaysian tax payer money is spent.

Lotus used to pioneer aerodynamics in F1. They were dominating when they were the first to introduce ground effect cars.

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 15, 2010 at 4:09 am

who is this dumbass kimi underscore

simply talk rubbish

lotus used this colour since 1960's

and i can't see any similarities between lotus t127 and force india vjm03

and also their suit

what a blind basher

to kimi_,don't talk crap or rubbish here

man,just shut your bloody mouth.

• Ahmad on Feb 15, 2010 at 5:45 am

to tarmiziali:

please shut-up, don't talk nonsense pls.

What with " Not much people here understand the business of F1 here is there? "

Do you have any experience in F1? If not, just shut-up.

You think you watch F1 racing from start to finish so you know better than other ppl ka?

Fernandes is not that stupid. He already repeat lots of time that he know our team has a very limited time, chill out la… this ppl know la what to do.

• some people are plain stupid…just ignore them…

• race fan on Feb 15, 2010 at 7:00 am

kimi_ said,

February 14, 2010 @ 7:33 pm

The car chasis design is OUTDATED for sure and it would be lucky if they manage to finish the race !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Force India accuse Lotus F1copy their car chasis…..

But Lotus F1 also COPY their driver suit, looks at the colour white, green and

yellow which are colours of india flag…….SO FUNNY that i nearly mistaken the

driver represent force INDIA !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Car design being outdated or not would have no bearing on the cars ability to finish a race or not. I think reliability is what gets you to the line. Anyway if the design is so 'outdated' it would be outside the 2010 regs and the car won't even be allowed to start.

FI can accuse Lotus or anyone of anything and since F1 is so sensitive with secrets, any copying would be met with severe penalty. Remember Mclaren-Ferrari 'spygate' scandal? Yet it seems FI blew nothing but hot air. Nothing happened. Ironically it was FI that got sued instead by Fondtech/Aerolab, the people that did the aero work for Lotus. You have to also remember that Gascoyne worked for FI so no surprise there were similarities. Thats not copying.

If you had trouble telling the difference between Lotus and FI racing suits then I think it's time again for that visit to the optometrist :)

• Tarmiziali on Feb 15, 2010 at 8:16 am

sigh……

i am throwing valid points and am not talking nonsense. I am not bashing individuals instead expressing my views on the car design and the way that the Lotus F1 team conducting itself. I've got nothing against Tony Fernandes but saying that he will only be the principal for only one season says A LOT about his commitment to the project isnt it?If in that sense yes I agree he does KNOW what he is doing.

I have never worked in an F1 team before. just an avid hardcore fan of F1 and nothing more. I dont think that many of us have experience in designing road cars but that has never stopped us from expressing our opinions in car designs in other of Paul's post.

So as long as my post does not contained any that can touch the sensitivity of race, religion or any particular person's character, nobody has the right to ask me to SHUT UP.

There are many F1 forums that discussed abt car design and the sport itself. There are heated arguments but usually are backed by facts. Just nothing more than enthusiast sharing ideas. How can we improve if you just telling people to shut up if their opinion is just different than you?

That said, I fail to see any nonsense in my post.

• Tarmiziali on Feb 15, 2010 at 8:33 am

I got nothing against copying. Its just who you copy from. Wished they had copy Brawn's.

Well they have a month till bahrain. A decent target for them would be to score points in each race. and maybe a podium when it is raining. That is the best realistic scenario. The worst would be dead last every race.

• to tarmiziali:

so you're asking lotus to improve their design,right

the problem with you is of course you can't see the structure beneath the car

so,you can't judge anything right now until you see it in your real life

you only see pictures,you can't judge anything.actually you know what is lotus good at

HANDLING.their design may not be as aerodynamics as others but who knows handling can help them to win the race

as i said.they know what they are doing

• f1maniac on Feb 15, 2010 at 12:26 pm

lets see in jerez on wenesday.. the pace of the car, before making any assumption ok?

• nudin on Feb 15, 2010 at 2:33 pm

hope they score well like brown gp last year

• errr….suddenly everyone is F1 engineer…bravo!!hehe

• Ha Ha Ha want to see M'sia flag and color…wait until they race at sepang!

• race fan on Feb 15, 2010 at 9:56 pm

[email protected] said,

February 15, 2010 @ 12:55 am

… you know what is lotus good at

HANDLING.their design may not be as aerodynamics as others but who knows handling can help them to win the race as i said.

You cant really use that as a point of argument for the following reasons:

1. You're talking about the reputation the precedes Lotus Cars, the car company. Yes they're renowned for good handling because of their focus on light weight and vehicle dynamics. However, Lotus Racing (F1) and Lotus Cars are independent of each other. There is no technical link.

2. F1 and single seater vehicle dynamics is very different to road car dynamics. Even if Lotus Cars were indeed technically involved in the F1 team their road car experience cannot be applied to the F1 car. Apples and oranges. Furthermore, F1 car design is driven heavily by aerodynamics unlike a Lotus road car.

• Ferruccio on Feb 15, 2010 at 10:21 pm

Tarmiziali said,

February 15, 2010 @ 12:33 am

I got nothing against copying. Its just who you copy from. Wished they had copy Brawn’s.

Well they have a month till bahrain. A decent target for them would be to score points in each race. and maybe a podium when it is raining. That is the best realistic scenario. The worst would be dead last every race.

Designers like Newey and others have said. There is no point copying an element from another car if they don't understand fully the philosophy behind that element. It's not easy to figure that out without understanding the whole package. Thus you see similarities to the FI car because Gascoyne was involved in that team and understood the philospohies of their aero elements.

On our expectations of Lotus Racing. I think we need to be more realistic. Given the circumstances on the back of this team, it would be too much to expect them to score points at every race. It would be more realistic to expect them to finish races this season with some championship points, hopefully. I consider that a success if they can do that.

We must remember the points system. The last points scoring position is 10th (1pt). If we assume Campos and USF1 make it, we will have 26 cars on the grid. Even without the 2 teams present there will be 22 cars. Given the very short number months this new start up team has had to prepare, it would not be realistic to expect them to finish even one car in the top 10 at every race.

I would be happy to see them consistently finishing all races and scoring the occasional point in some of them. This a learning year for them. I expect them to learn as much as they can. My expectations of course will be higher for 2011. It doesn't matter where they start the season. I want to see PROGRESS by the end of it in one way or another.

I don't even care if they give up in-season developments of their current car in order to prepare for 2011 on a more sounder footing as in a few months from now they need to start thinking about their 2011 car. I will forgive them for underperforming in their first season but it's important they show real progress after that. It's fair expectation for a team starting from scratch. This should not be a '1 season only' team. Any team with that short of a focus should not even be allowed in F1. What I want to see is steady progress up the grid in the next 5 years. There are no shortcuts in F1.

• Squawk on Feb 15, 2010 at 11:55 pm

In terms of current design language, this looks like a Spyker F1 standard. Hope it goes fast though.

Was reading an article in local newspaper which said this team had the financial backing of the govt and Tony was tasked with getting the team started. Waitaminit…. I thought the govt and Tony said the govt has absolutely no financial interest in this team and it's strictly a privately funded team. So what's what now?

Btw, it might be Naza's official typeface but I think their name/logo looks very amateur on the rear wing. Like something a primary school student would put on.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 16, 2010 at 12:14 am

this is "so" malaysian

• donno on Feb 16, 2010 at 2:30 am

Squawk said,

February 15, 2010 @ 3:55 pm

Was reading an article in local newspaper which said this team had the financial backing of the govt and Tony was tasked with getting the team started. Waitaminit…. I thought the govt and Tony said the govt has absolutely no financial interest in this team and it’s strictly a privately funded team. So what’s what now?

Why are you surprised by this? God knows what else our goverment lied to us Rakyats.

• ktas09 on Feb 16, 2010 at 2:31 am

Nothing to be proud off. It's not Proton engine and Malaysians just get to pay more taxes and no more subsidy in the future to support this stupid project. Even Koreans not bother about F1 technology but Hyundai and KIA are getting more independent in motoring technology.

• bila tak kaler bendera malaysia lu orang memekak

tapi

bila ada kaler bendera malaysia lu orang kata macam kek lapis..

suddenly semua pakar pasal F1 engineering.. but only in paultan website laaa

wakakakakakakakakaka

• kopi-man on Feb 16, 2010 at 3:01 am

Please at least finish the race :P

• Tarmiziali on Feb 16, 2010 at 5:42 am

If it has govt backing then this team is finance by our tax money. Then we would have every reason for it to be competitive. Support is support but the management has to be done the right way to ensure our interest is safeguarded. If there is no taxpayer money involved then by all means run it as you please.

Dear Ferrucio Lamboghini,

Some good points there. What i am trying to say is if all goes well that is finishing tenth is the best case scenario. But you are right that not finishing is far worse than finishing last. Forgot to factor the reliability variable. Indeed it is a fair expectation for a team starting from SCRATCH. Totally agree. The question i'm throwing is why do we have to start from SCRATCH? Force India and Toro Rosso doesnt start from scratch but you do see progress in them. Toyota tried to start an F1 team from scratch with 1 year of testing prior to entering. And last they become the white elephant of F1.

Abandoning in-season development has its pros and cons. It worked for Honda that eventually become Brawn BGP001 but a disaster for BMWSauber. And for a new team maybe damaging the confidence of sponsors. Unless there is a radical change of rules again that Mike Gascoyne think can be exploited to full effects. Plus, Tony Fernandes will have to wear skirts for Virgin Airlines!!!!!hahahaha…but seriously I TOTALLY AGREE that Lotus should not be 1-Malaysia-1-season team. I want the Brits to thank us for bringing back their heritage and legacy. Some of them already do actually. But the team principal saying that he is only for one season. If Tony Fernandes is good (i have a good feeling he is….may be on par with Vijay Mallya) then I want him to stay on untill Lotus becomes competitive. Even if he has to wear skirts!

• Tarmiziali on Feb 16, 2010 at 5:47 am

race fan, spot on. Although i do hope there is a chance of merging Lotus Racing and Lotus Cars then maybe as MRI RIM pointed out the Lotus Handling DNA can be imbedded.

• race fan on Feb 16, 2010 at 7:33 am

ktas09 said,

February 15, 2010 @ 6:31 pm

Even Koreans not bother about F1 technology but Hyundai and KIA are getting more independent in motoring technology.

Do take note that Korea is hosting their first F1 event this year.

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 16, 2010 at 8:12 am

to ktas 09

the koreans not bother about f1,but they really focus on FIFA

maybe football skill can help them to design better car.haha

• paxter on Feb 16, 2010 at 11:55 pm

SY0H said,

February 13, 2010 @ 11:48 pm

I saw the word “PROTON” at the rear wing of the F1 car.

Does this means, Proton designed the rear wing?

Harharhar!

SY0H, you must be one real dumbass moron

man people like you are the reason i wish they brought back the guillotine… So like ferraris rear sponsor is santander and marlboro… so they design the rear la right? people like u should be thrown into a sink hole to be recycled

• designer on Feb 17, 2010 at 5:46 am

My goodness, the design looks way too basic & dull, i believe even students from design school can do a better job. No budget to hire designer?

• xavier lert on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:57 pm

good let see how fast it can move.

• Arcane (Member) on Feb 17, 2010 at 11:38 pm

designer said,

February 16, 2010 @ 9:46 pm

My goodness, the design looks way too basic & dull, i believe even students from design school can do a better job. No budget to hire designer?

=========================

it's their traditional racing livery.

• Annihilated on Feb 18, 2010 at 6:41 am

no infamous 'abc' logo on the car? at least one tiny sticker? ;)

lotus cars really wants to distinct themselves from lotus racing seriously. :p

• agak berkotak tapi senonoh, bagus2..