Fairuz Fauzy qualifies for Superlicense!

Formula 1 is the pinnacle of motorsport. Its the most expensive and technical of them all. Only few are lucky enough to race in Formula 1 and most of the time these drivers are the crème de la crème, although some circumstances have proved us otherwise. Now what is Formula 1 without a strict license requirement that is the ‘king’ of motor racing licenses? The answer is: Superlicense.

Anyone who wishes to race in Formula 1 needs a Superlicense from the FIA. To qualify for the license one needs a ‘decorated’ experience in motor sport. On top of that one has to cover 300 kilometers with a current Formula 1 car. Following yesterday’s official test session in Jerez, Fairuz Fauzy has qualified for a Superlicense as he clocked in about 334 kilometers.

This means that if Kovalainen or Trulli is unable to race anytime during the season, Fauzy can step in. The test session in Jerez continues later today with Heikki Kovalainen behind the wheel of the Lotus Cosworth T127. Force India’s Paul di Resta also qualified for the license as well.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• I want one superlicense please!

• me0wster on Feb 18, 2010 at 8:28 pm

Anyone has his best times compared with the rest?

• madimat1 on Feb 18, 2010 at 8:31 pm

wow! interesting 2010 season ahead! Now we have 2 home teams participating in this year's calendar. Good start for Fairus Fauzy as he proved that we can do it. Hope to hear more good news and good results from both Mercedes-Petronas GP and Lotus F1!

Can't wait for the race day. :)

• Abzaja on Feb 18, 2010 at 8:34 pm

Quote: "these drivers are the crème de la crème, although some circumstances have proved us otherwise."

I think I know that 'otherwise' person..lol

Neway…congrats to FF

• nipponsucks on Feb 18, 2010 at 8:34 pm

Congrats

• congratulation! all the best in your career

• azrie on Feb 18, 2010 at 8:39 pm

1st!!haha

• whatever on Feb 18, 2010 at 8:39 pm

well way to go Fairuz and keep it up, don't just waste it like some people we know…

• Rocky-Deen on Feb 18, 2010 at 8:41 pm

Good for you Fairuz!

• want to see more picture or vids or lotus in action !!!

• all the best to Fauzy..! don't be like Alex Yong.. just want to compelete the race only!

• donno on Feb 18, 2010 at 10:37 pm

congrats and keep up the good work!

• MyBoy on Feb 18, 2010 at 10:39 pm

me0wster said,

February 18, 2010 @ 12:28 pm

Anyone has his best times compared with the rest?

Will be one of our latest backmarkers. The best after Alek Yong.

• viva9934 on Feb 18, 2010 at 10:46 pm

Way to go FF…Prove it, Malaysia Boleh!

• syahman on Feb 18, 2010 at 11:33 pm

well….i am playstation2 granturismo4 superlicense holder.

lol

• Hameed Koyakuti on Feb 18, 2010 at 11:46 pm

F4F1 finally materialised…..keep on buying Ala Fonte mineral water to show support….hehehe…….Free promo to Hj. Fauzy la ini macam….

Proud since i'm one of the sponsor of Fairuz…hehehe (RM 1.00 X 10,000 bottles)

• You can get your super license if u play PS's Gran Turismo..

• Ferruccio on Feb 19, 2010 at 12:14 am

Nice. Second time that Fairuz got himself a superlicense. So far only 2 malaysians have earned this license. Who will be next?

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 19, 2010 at 12:24 am

Why waste money to get another "superlicense" for Mr. Fairuz?

I thought Alex Yoong can act as backup team considering he had a superlicense too?

Worst Case Scenario: Both driver (Kovalainen and Trulli) can't participate the race so all hopes lies on the backup team (Fairuz and Alex Yoong).

Hahaha.

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 19, 2010 at 12:42 am

can i get this license throught wii f1 game.haha

• elite on Feb 19, 2010 at 12:59 am

does this mean he is god of the mat rempits?

• tanasi on Feb 19, 2010 at 1:24 am

He was 11th fastest in Jerez, last time I read. Apparently due to the nonexistant power steering – the part was yet to be shipped! So obviously the steering effort was heavier, and according to Fairuz it could have cost him 3-4 seconds in the wet, and more in the dry.

• Diablo on Feb 19, 2010 at 1:41 am

I don't think he can 'rempit' because I don't think he has ever ridden a 'kapchai' He lives in Silverstone most of the time and I don't there is a happening 'rempit' scene there.

• albagmane on Feb 19, 2010 at 1:57 am

despite the superlicense… i doubt his capability in racing… i wasnt so impressed when he drove in A1GP last time…

• Alfarabi on Feb 19, 2010 at 2:26 am

One step at a time. Congrats fellow malaysian!

• staff on Feb 19, 2010 at 2:30 am

Still got ppl who keep belittle our malaysian driver…

What a waste of brain la this ppl… I bet, if there is happen that malaysia involve in war, these ppl will first to commit suicide or become "tali barut" or cabut lari…

Go Fairuz!!!

• fazron80 on Feb 19, 2010 at 2:55 am

At least his name was on podium a few times in A1GP. Let's see if he can do more test session. This time with the power steering of course! Even my father 18 year old Iswara has power steering. What were you thinking Freddie?

• nazri on Feb 19, 2010 at 3:30 am

so what.. tgk bangsa sendiri berjaya punn nk jatuhkan moral ke?? inilah 3rd world mind yang membelenggu rakyat malaysia… kne bebaskan diri anda..

• Lol Formula 1 wasn't the pinnacle of motorsports the minute they allowed some malaysian rats in.

• Go Fairuz GO!!

• Diablo on Feb 19, 2010 at 6:04 am

There were of course criticisms on him on some of the A1GP races last season. The Sepang radio blunder was entirely not his fault but there were incidents in other races that didn't win him any favours but the fact remained that in the season opening race in Holland he CREAMED the field in horrendous downpour conditions to WIN the race while many other drivers skated off the track.

Credit due where credit is due. Fairuz has always been very good in the wet.

• Arcane (Member) on Feb 19, 2010 at 6:09 am

superlicense or no, he'll probably be awarded a Dato' title soon.

• hekki crush the car.. muahaha http://images.gpupdate.net/large/146053.jpg

• bohpee on Feb 19, 2010 at 6:46 am

all the best to lotus f1

• Fairuz's mom on Feb 19, 2010 at 6:54 am

albagmane said,

February 18, 2010 @ 5:57 pm

despite the superlicense… i doubt his capability in racing… i wasnt so impressed when he drove in A1GP last time…

————————-

yeah…. he got his "duit kopi" license mah….. MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!

• paxter on Feb 19, 2010 at 7:01 am

its not about jatuh maruah its just taking a step back and look before we jump into the pool…….

if you do follow F1 i pitty him as a driver… A test driver in F1 sucks bad. Now he has his super license great…. but whats the point?

when he wont get to drive the car during a race? On top of that F1 format Testing is very limited and although he is the official test driver.. he wont get much time in the car… Another driver i piety at the moment is heidfeld who is in the same shoe… Anyone who has seen fairuz drive in A1 knows he is pretty good and at times out do his more senior partner.

Imagine how demoralizing it is to be the bench warmer for every race… if you dun really care about racing and go for the lifestyle of being an f1 driver then ok la… but i bet he would trade all that for a real drive. From a F1 practical team pov they have pick some good drivers in hekki and trulli but from his point and those who think "malaysian team = Malaysian driver" ur set for let down…

not to mention although the chances of this IS RARE but if Lotus wins a race… it wont be negara ku it will be god save the queen…. the team is British….

• lu punya emak on Feb 19, 2010 at 7:25 am

I think Fairuz is a better driver as compared to Alex. Both did A1GP and Fairuz were clearly the better one. Dato's title is nothing nowadays. Fairuz will choose to have a single first team race as compared to the Dato title for sure.

• Heiki on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:34 am

Heiki crash in Jerez…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:47 am

congrats.

• jgn jadi macam Alex Yong sudah. qualifying pun tak layak, shame to all of us in malaysia. hope next time they use malaysian car co name, proton instade lotus, and use any engine that provide F1 ENGINE.

• formulaone on Feb 19, 2010 at 4:23 pm

albagmane said,

February 18, 2010 @ 5:57 pm

have u watched A1GP racing last season? i think u just missed it up. Fairuz Fauzy proved that he the one of shining star driver. He got a couple of podium and take malaysian team at 5th placed in A1GP championship standing. He aslo took 2nd place overall in 3.5 world series of renault behind Bertrand Baguette (WSR 2009 champ). See?

• why so worked up, guys? Why so serious?

It just a super licence. Not the one and only superlicence in the world….

pffftt….

• Heiki on Feb 19, 2010 at 4:47 pm

Bad luck for Heiki…

• Heiki on Feb 19, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Latest test result…

Unofficial Thursday times from Jerez:

1. Rubens Barrichello, Williams, 1:27.145, 98 Laps

2. Vitaly Petrov, Renault, 1:27.828, 56 Laps

3. Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, 1:28.162, 70 Laps

4. Nico Rosberg, Mercedes GP, 1:28.515, 71 Laps

5. Felipe Massa, Ferrari, 1:28.879, 92 Laps

6. Pedro de la Rosa, BMW Sauber, 1:29.691, 8 Laps

7. Paul di Resta, Force India, 1:30.344, 33 Laps

8. Timo Glock, Virgin, 1:30.476, 72 Laps

9. Vitantonio Liuzzi, Force India, 1:30.666, 24 Laps

10. Lewis Hamilton, McLaren, 1:30.979, 57 Laps

11. Sebastien Buemi, Toro Rosso, 1:32.678, 57 Laps

12. Heikki Kovalainen, Lotus, 1:33.554, 30 Laps

• mr_3m on Feb 19, 2010 at 6:26 pm

1Malaysia will go down history just like another Force India…. developing countries love wasting money like nobody's business… well… all our money grow on trees, right? Thats why we like to waste… it will keep on growing…

btw, Mike Gascoyne is no Adrian Newey… what another waste to hire the guy as your tech director… if you really hv money to blow in F1, at least get some decent technical guys that can REALLY win you races…

• ktas09 on Feb 19, 2010 at 6:54 pm

Alex Yoong also qualified in getting Super License but see how he faired in F1. Now he talk like 'F1 pro' at Astro. What to do!!! MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!

• ninicokolatcelup on Feb 19, 2010 at 7:32 pm

Jangan jadi mcm Alex.Y ..dah dpt peluang tak reti nak guna. memalukan & menghabiskan duit rakyat je. F.Fauzy, ko jangan jadi mcm Alex.Y yang menghabiskan duit tu..

• Ferruccio on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:29 pm

lu punya emak said,

February 18, 2010 @ 11:25 pm

I think Fairuz is a better driver as compared to Alex. Both did A1GP and Fairuz were clearly the better one.

I disagree that Fairuz was better than Alex. It is not easy to make that comparision. Alex looked strong in seasons 1 and 2 and actually made races interesting with his hard charging usually into the first turn. His aggression was more noticeable than Fairuz.

In terms of A1GP stats Alex did record a few 'fastest laps', impressively qualified on pole in Mexico season 2 and he did won a few races including the double win in Czech Rep in season 2.

Fairuz generally was more consistent with good qualifying especially in the newer car. He seems like a more stable, consistent racer overall which helped him collect points at every race but when he showed aggression sometimes they looked misplaced and did end in tears. He also had some wins, a fastest lap by way of powerboost button and a pole I think. He did show moments of brilliance but it was also marred by mistakes and lost good opportunities in other races.

Both drivers show different driving styles and different approaches to racing. It seems on race day, Alex is the one that showed more confidence and aggression but he seems to very inconsistent in qualifying.

Fairuz is better at qualifying but seems more steady on race day but with less aggression.

Seems Alex seems to be not so good in qualifying but fights tooth and nail on race day and works his way up the grid. Very entertaining.

Fairuz qualifies better but sometimes chokes during the race and blows whatever advantage he had. Very painful to watch.

• race fan on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:34 pm

mr_3m said,

February 19, 2010 @ 10:26 am

btw, Mike Gascoyne is no Adrian Newey… what another waste to hire the guy as your tech director… if you really hv money to blow in F1, at least get some decent technical guys that can REALLY win you races…

Err buddy, how do you compare the two together? I thought Newey is a designer (aerodynamicist) at Red Bull, while Gascoyne is Technical Director at Lotus. So far there is no indication that Gascoyne hasn't been right for the job.

Do you know what you are writing about?

• Wak-Lu on Feb 20, 2010 at 1:29 pm

race fan said,

February 19, 2010 @ 12:34 pm

mr_3m said,

February 19, 2010 @ 10:26 am

Err buddy, how do you compare the two together? I thought Newey is a designer (aerodynamicist) at Red Bull, while Gascoyne is Technical Director at Lotus. So far there is no indication that Gascoyne hasn’t been right for the job.

Do you know what you are writing about?

—————————————————————

Do Y.O.U know what Y.O.U are writing about?

YOU Thought Wrong!! Go To Wikipedia, Get Schooled!!! -A-

• Wak-Lu on Feb 20, 2010 at 1:30 pm

race fan……… Race Fan Abah Ko……….