Details on May 1st new fuel subsidy system to be revealed in March 2010

Fuel Wallet GaugeThis is the silver lining in a dark cloud. According to Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob, we will know the details of the new fuel subsidy mechanism in March 2010, ahead of the system’s expected implementation date in May 2010.

Although most of us dread the thought of having to pay more for fuel soon (and with more hassle as well), at least now we will have a one to two month head start to planning our finances instead of only knowing at the very last minute.

Datuk Seri Ismail declined to provide any details (in an interview with NST), but he did say that it would make people happy. I am hoping that this could indicate a fair system that would not trouble the low to middle class income earners. Let’s hope the government has not been out of touch with the reality of things on the streets in formulating this new subsidy system, otherwise it will indeed be a bitter year of the tiger for us.

What we know so far is that foreigners (even those who consider Malaysia their home and work here with local and not typical expat level of salary) would definitely not get any subsidies because they will not hold the MyKad, which is said to be a key element in how the system works. Your MyKad will identify you (a newspaper report has even cited you need a thumbprint scan like at the airport with your passport or with your MyKad at the bank) and how much of subsidies you are eligible to get.

The system is said to be managed by Maybank, the first time this has been revealed in the newspapers, though I’ve heard rumors of this for months. A pilot project to test out the system will go live sometime in end March or perhaps April – a rather short test time for a large scale nationwide roll-out of a new system!

You could get between 200 to 300 litres of subsidies per month depending on various factors such as socio-economic and the dreaded engine capacity factor. The threshold is said to be 2,000cc – and I would be able to get pass this number if not for the 2.5 litre old E30 which I purchased for just over RM10k recently. This probably means zero subsidy for me. Company cars are said to be not eligible for the subsidy. Once you run out of subsidised litres per month, you will have to pay full price, which is expected to be RM2.10 per litre for RON95.

Even for those who qualify for the litre amount of subsidies that they need every month, they will not likely to continue paying the RM1.80 per litre for RON95 and RM2.05 per litre for RON97 we are paying right now. Sin Chew Daily reports that the government is expected to announce a new subsidized price of RM1.90 per litre for RON95 and RM1.80 per litre for Euro 2M diesel. Nothing was said about RON97, so that can either be a very good thing or a very bad thing! But I have a feeling there will not be any ‘subsidised’ option for RON97. If unsubsidised RON95 is RM2.10 per litre, unsubsidised RON97 might touch RM2.50 per litre!

Whatever it is, we’ll know the full details next month, if the minister keeps true to his word, and hopefully we’ll be happy. The March announcement date may coincide with a ‘registration exercise’ as mentioned in newspaper reports previously.

[polldaddy poll=2737103]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• meane on Feb 22, 2010 at 3:44 pm

what.. increase some more for ron95?.. rm1.90..?

ok, 1st.

• Sakit Sakit Sedap on Feb 22, 2010 at 3:49 pm

thats why Hishamuddin want to sent Mycard directly to its owner, even they must sent it face to face to them at their house..

• Hope to hear good things than bad things..

• mr_h8 on Feb 22, 2010 at 4:07 pm

you guys better check your mykad chip whether its working or not..

• Why is diesel increasing also? Though previously mention by some minister is that diesel price will be maintain as an increase will create a chain of increase on other products.

• Day deSIANG on Feb 22, 2010 at 4:10 pm

This system definitely wont work!!! I know some of it's detail and as far as i concern, there are many holes in this project!!!

• I am wondering how much is the total cost impact to Malaysia economy by doing this project? Wouldn't it be nice if the fuel price is reducing rather than increase. :)

• littlefire on Feb 22, 2010 at 4:21 pm

Why not use mycard during purchase of fuel? Even better right? Why have to me so troublesome going to bank again to get subsidy?

Oh yeah, the more process it takes. The more lubang ppl can earn money.. Welcome to Bolehland! Just like the RM600++ subsidy last time, you know who earn the most..

I think the most simple way is to open up the fuel market and also the automotive & transportation industry. When new cars, lorries & bus are cheap and fuel is expensive, this will balance up the market and ppl wont raise their price higher! Besides that, we may even benefited from fuel market as they may bring in better fuel quality faster & car manufacturer getting in newer & better technology cars/lorries like those Euro4/5 turbo diesel engine which prove to be better fuel efficient compare to those sophisticated & expensive hybrid..

Think of it! If ppl raise transportation fee, you can shoot back saying that new car & lorry are cheaper now and you don't have a reason to raise higher.

• Paul Tan on Feb 22, 2010 at 4:23 pm

What do you mean go to the bank to get the subsidy? Maybank is managing/operating the system's backend, it's got nothing to do with going to Maybank to claim the money. You will get the subsidized price immediately at the pump.

• cylib (Member) on Feb 22, 2010 at 4:31 pm

if need thumbprint scan, then expect long Q for all station….another bad move for the gov if this is implemented….wondering have they gone thru thorough study ?

• p2pun on Feb 22, 2010 at 4:32 pm

shut-up littlefire…

as always .. you just bash anything except P2 & Toyota…

get your fact right.. can you understand simple English by Paul, that he have to explain again.. BASHER!!!!!

• acerman on Feb 22, 2010 at 4:33 pm

littlefire said,

February 22, 2010 @ 8:21 am

Why not use mycard during purchase of fuel? Even better right? Why have to me so troublesome going to bank again to get subsidy?

Oh yeah, the more process it takes. The more lubang ppl can earn money.. Welcome to Bolehland! Just like the RM600++ subsidy last time, you know who earn the most..

I think the most simple way is to open up the fuel market and also the automotive & transportation industry. When new cars, lorries & bus are cheap and fuel is expensive, this will balance up the market and ppl wont raise their price higher! Besides that, we may even benefited from fuel market as they may bring in better fuel quality faster & car manufacturer getting in newer & better technology cars/lorries like those Euro4/5 turbo diesel engine which prove to be better fuel efficient compare to those sophisticated & expensive hybrid..

Think of it! If ppl raise transportation fee, you can shoot back saying that new car & lorry are cheaper now and you don’t have a reason to raise higher.

—————————————————————

I think this guy haven't read the news lately….

• shaycoat on Feb 22, 2010 at 4:35 pm

My MyCard chip is not working. Should request for new one. The chip is so easy to damage, and may be also so easy to be duplicated..we shall see…

• bmpower on Feb 22, 2010 at 4:46 pm

I never thought little fire as stupid as it is. and blind some more.. I thought he was smarter but im wrong! . hahaha

Ahhhhh… what new new system? a headache system?

what ever it is, it is simple:

Increase Fuel price = Bad System

Decrease Fuel Price = Good System!

It's as easy as that just like what 'simple rakyat' think.

else.. lets the politics story flown.

In the other view, it's good thing for MyCard, it make it more valuable.

• puteripapunika on Feb 22, 2010 at 4:50 pm

shaycoat brings up a good point: security. It's one thing to have your credit card cloned by unscrupulous people at the gas station because you can at least cancel the card and theoretically get a waiver/refund on any fraudulent purchases done using your card. It'd be worse if our ICs are cloned with all the personal information and nonesuch – identity theft is a nightmare. It doesn't matter what security features our MyKad chips may have because the rule of thumb in security is that if you encrypt it, it *will* be broken sooner or later.

Maybe the government should relook into how to implement the scheme to avoid the use of the MyKad at the pumps. Use it at the JPJ office to issue a fleet card with the appropriate subsidy information instead.

• gen2lama on Feb 22, 2010 at 4:55 pm

will the cost to install NGV increase again after this?……let c…

• kepada kerajaan – diharapkan ianya berjalan dengan lancar… dan diharapkan pengumuman nanti akan lebih memihak kebaikannya kepada rakyat malaysia umumnya dan mereka yang berpendapatan rendah khususnya…

kepada paultan – tk for early warning. then i've to look into deatil my monthly budget…

• NiceCar (Member) on Feb 22, 2010 at 5:02 pm

To implement this, a full proof system is a must.

The cost to maintain it (sytem & and the security) must be very high too.

So, is the maybank get this project assigned by G?

How about the MyCard reader, must compulsory buy from certain manufacturer that assigned G?

If ones MyCard malfuction, have to renew with RM10 each?

Emm… this implemntation really make some1 happy, but not you & me!!!

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 22, 2010 at 5:10 pm

I am still waiting to see just how the government is going to know which car is eligible, CC wise.

I'm just wondering if you have 2 cars under your name, and if they are still under a HPL, can you transfer the car to your wife? hmmm…Lucky me, I only buy old cars for cash…..

Make people happy? Who?

Give a little subsidy to make people happy which then they rape you dry on other things.

Well, 6 days to next month….

• 300 litre max for subsidized price….hmmm…travel from KL to KB and return already consume around 100 litres…so balance 200 litres for daily usage…

• Anyone can name other country that use diff fuel price for their people? For me as long as ppl can afford to buy a car than they should prepare to pay for the fuel as well!. If you dont want to waste money on fuel that than just buy 660 cc car where it still can move you to anywhere in m'sia even if you got to hold lorries and other traffic on highway and climbing hill.

• LoLx, littlefire can't even understand simple English, so why're u guys so upset with him? another peyno?

Btw, the purpose of implementing this system is to ensure foreigner doesn't pump our petrol on subsidized amount right? Then they should decrease the price instead, coz more petrol entitled to Malaysian. It's already a big save after the foreigner quit pumping our petrol. (Money secured in the pocket). Yet they increase the current RM1.80 to RM1.90. (Money increase in the pocket). A year of prosperous tiger for the government, woo hoo..(Remember there're 2 tigers on National icon?

• Green Fuel on Feb 22, 2010 at 5:41 pm

Let see how the system handle the massive traffic of data when people are using mycard to pump petrol nationwide. System hang, system failure, network down, system congested are very common.

• donno on Feb 22, 2010 at 5:41 pm

I'm just wondering how the heck this thing can work in the "perdalaman" aka rural parts of the country where the mini petrol kiosks are using analog mechanical pumps…

What will happen to alot of ppl with faulty/unreadable chips on their Mykad? Or what happens if on an unlucky day your Mykad happens to be unreadable at the petrol pump?

• khali-FaH !! on Feb 22, 2010 at 5:42 pm

1 MORE PROJECT FROM THE CORR*PTED *MNO GOBEMEN…GLAD GLAD

AND AS USSUALLY THEY WILL USE THE MONEY TO PUT AS THEY SAID TO THE PROJECT OR MEGA PROJECT BUT HOW STUPID THEY ARE TO USE THE MONEY SUCH TO THAT THING AND THEN AS USUAL AS R*SUAH****

Singapore goverment just make import export industry and they are more rich and riches than our GOBEMEN ??? AND they are in lower and almost have none of politik R*SUAH ? ? ? ?

Just change Malaysian gobemen laa…give it to the most qualified person.

SO ashame….! ! ! !

• khali-FaH !! on Feb 22, 2010 at 5:46 pm

GT 4====

Hey make sure u buy and use the 660cc first la. dont make bang bung noisy sound. People have money then they will afford to buy any car/ suv/ mpv or whatsoever they want. what a B*LLSH*T u …

• RedLine on Feb 22, 2010 at 6:05 pm

Hmm, I hope the government will use the contactless smart card in our MyKad for the subsidy instead of the chip/contact chip. The chip will wear out very quickly if used everytime we refuel. The contactless smart card chip in our MyKad is very good. I've been using it as my backup touch and go for many years already, and works perfectly. Plus it doesn't produce physical wear and tear to the card (as opposed to swiping the MyKad everytime we refuel).

• The Royal Academy of on Feb 22, 2010 at 6:24 pm

idiotic government

• noAP4u (Member) on Feb 22, 2010 at 6:37 pm

More uncertainty here, on the issue of company cars not eligible for subsidies. Does this include commercial vehicles? If CVs are not subsidised, then cost of transportation will surely go up for all businesses, with the well-known consequence of price increases.

Yea commercial vehicles comprise mostly of diesel lorries which ain't so bad, but let's not neglect the plight of the small business owners who operate with their Nissan Vanettes, Daihatsu Hijet small pickups etc. Who's looking after THEIR interests?

Then there is the case of non-commercial fleet vehicles for sales teams. These clock up significant mileage (and fuel costs) for their respective employers. Let's not deny that they are an insignificant item in the business of the companies that run them.

This whole subsidy reengineering thing is doomed to fail because it doesn't seem have any guiding principles or a stated objective. The govt is trying to achieve the impossible by becoming all things to everybody. It will end up pleasing nobody.

• malaysian on Feb 22, 2010 at 6:39 pm

"the Royal Academy of Proton Bashers" lol…nice name

(BN) Barbarian Numbskull got nothing else to do but trouble the people ……increase petrol price & create a moron system to pay it…. Malaysian will still accept it with open heart…What a lucky government….

• Eric G on Feb 22, 2010 at 6:48 pm

COME MIGRATE TO SABAH AND SARAWAK!

• 1penang on Feb 22, 2010 at 6:48 pm

peace. 1 malaysia. lol

• i'm wondering these mycard/thumb scan needs to b done online, if yes then

what happens when its offline?

1st this definately would increase goods price coz theres no subsidy for

company car which transport d goods.

2nd comes d GST that would b applied next year then goods price would

increase again. whats next? how bout increasing our average income?

harga barang naik boleh, gaji rakyat naik tak boleh.

welcome to bolehland.

• lanwm on Feb 22, 2010 at 6:53 pm

time to change lifestyle or change G?

• learner on Feb 22, 2010 at 6:59 pm

i do accept the systems, BUT the part i dislike is one owner one subsidy! this is utterly unjust for those that have to buy another car for the poor wife or kids. they suppose to get the subsidies too because your subside is for the car driven by you only and another car that is driven by your poor wife or kids also deserve subsidy because they are poor enough to buy car but need transportation at the same time but they are categorized as rich man who don't deserve subsidy. same case if you have to buy car for the parents! even if G insist the system, at least give some special condition for those who own more than one car but not more than two car.

• Nerddy on Feb 22, 2010 at 7:07 pm

time to go errr… "electric.."

• The best way is to do what other countries have done right. Remove all subsidy! If required, implement a system with foreign car plates to be charged 1.5x or 2x the price. That way, everyone will learn how to control on fuel consumptions and use that subsidy to fund the public transport more efficient with better access.

• Anak Malaysia on Feb 22, 2010 at 7:13 pm

to make it fair for 2.0 cc owner gov have to reduce road tax fee for them because they have to pay higher full price. And also how about people that dont have car and they use their father or fren car? how they going to refuel? and if they can use their my kad so people that have 2.0 cc above car will use their wife or children my kad to refuel… so it still not get the objective….. and also who will supply the device to detect my kad? only their knows..hehehehhe

• Anak Malaysia on Feb 22, 2010 at 7:17 pm

is it true maybank managing the system. or it is najib brother bank. CIMB. Lately CIMB already increase it share in touch n go co. maybe it one of the reason CIMB buy touch n go…… 1 malaysia maaaaaa

• mykad chip keep broken lor..

• This is one bloody sickennnnnnnning thing to deal! Our salary isnt adjusted fast enough to deal will alll of this BSSSSS!

DAMN FRUSTRATED!

• Mike Litoris on Feb 22, 2010 at 7:27 pm

Paul how about us foreigners leaving here? can we use our iKads as well?

• mokkf82 on Feb 22, 2010 at 7:29 pm

Implement new system and make this excuses to increase the petrol price again….!~

This doesn't bring any benifit on subsidizing fuel at all. What will happen if the fuel hike again? Reducing fuel litre per car usage and increase the fuel price per litre?

Double holes to our pocket and double extra from them.

Not to say the next major happening will be stolen IC.

• malaysian on Feb 22, 2010 at 7:38 pm

This might lead to drop of BN in next election… Why we are being limited for our usage? after the limit, we have to pay full price?? Wat the heck is this??

• Sakit Sakit Sedap on Feb 22, 2010 at 7:46 pm

for those got broken Mycard chip.. u can change it at Putrajaya.. 1 day only, but if u use any branch, take longer time.. maybe 1 month.. need to pay RM10 oso..

i have done last year.. mostly, 1st batch Mycard got problem due to low quality materials..

• tepung cap rumah api on Feb 22, 2010 at 7:50 pm

bli petrol gune kad kredit, de je kad yang kene klon.. pasni ramai komplen mykad kne klon..kuota petrol subsidi bulanan someone dah sapu dulu..

nti ramai student2 kat u wat illigal bisnes jual petrol ngn org luar klo beza petrol subsidi ngn x byk..

• kenny_lim on Feb 22, 2010 at 8:00 pm

agree, consumers should stop relying on government incentives/subsidies but government should also stop relying on those crazy taxes as well. then we can have a win-win situations!

• gen2lama on Feb 22, 2010 at 8:08 pm

student u dapat subsidi kalau ada kete je lar….yg takde kete mana dapat…ada kete tu pun kekadang mak bapak punya….

• for heavy petrol users, with everyday swipe Mycard (with lousy quality chip)….the card will rosak even faster….

Good luck guys….but anticipate a major headache when this stupid, half baked subsidy system is being implemented by the G. Almost all implementation from the G have major hiccups. Just see their websites, payment counter, enquiries/help counter, various G department, etc. You get the picture……

Satu lagi projek (flip flop) oleh BN….

• littlefire on Feb 22, 2010 at 8:34 pm

Opps, sorry i wrong. But still the subsidy system seems complicated and have a lot of lubang.

If i am driving mini cooper S or C200 kompressor (CGi), i still enjoy the subsidy also?

• chinz on Feb 22, 2010 at 8:41 pm

yeah! once again malaysian boleh!

• biggie on Feb 22, 2010 at 8:43 pm

suggestion no 1:

Remove all subsidies

Are we prepared to pay RM2.70 per litre (non-subsidised price).

If Singapore then it will not be a problem as you can reach anywhere that you want to go without using much fuel.

Moreover we are oil producing nation so there must be some subsidy.

suggestion no 2:

Flat rate subsidy

As taxpayer are we happy to donate our tax monies to Singaporean/Thais who are more then happy to pump.

suggestion no 3:

Only P2 and T owners get the subsidy

Then of course many ppl will rejoice because again the rakyat has shown to all that we pay T to give us high speed car.

• xtrovert on Feb 22, 2010 at 8:44 pm

well, this system will crosscheck your name in UMNO or MCA or MIC database, if got then you get the best price.. haha.. just kidding..

I hope it gonna bring good news to the people.. otherwise it would only bring nightmare..

• chinz on Feb 22, 2010 at 8:48 pm

to eric G

why go sabah and sarawak? there not use this system mar? i'm stupid just asking!

• karim on Feb 22, 2010 at 8:56 pm

the best system in the world is to allow the price to float freely.

germany does it after world war 2, look where it is now. producing the best cars in the world which it sips fuel instead of gulping it…

japan does it after world war 2, look where it is now. their people is more energy conscious and their car sometimes product electricities…

of course, i would agree a transition period to free-market fuel system (real time prices minus x sens of gov. subsidies) , coupled by lowering of insane car taxes that is for protecting local market than improving the roads/public transport system…

• Jumbsuck on Feb 22, 2010 at 9:06 pm

Sooner or later fuel subsidy will let go for open market price. It's hard reality but simple self-regulating way to buy fuel (pay as you use).

But govt also must compromise on car prices to offset open market fuel price. It's time to close Proton down, let people choose the best efficient car in the market at fair price. From cheap petrol, expensive car era to expensive fuel but fairly cheap car.

Next up is where the hell is that hydrofuel thing, just add water to your car engine thing? All gone bluffing? So clean biodiesel cost even more than normal diesel huh? Govt must move to bring more hybrids, all-battery cars as 10-20 years from now petrol engine car is irrelevant. Do more R&D, tech on new car battery that go further, recharge quickly, longer lifespan at least for 10 years and inexpensive to replace.

Actually it is great that everybody pay same fuel market price. Serve you all right Ha! Ha! Hopefully it'll open up your brain wide: vote monkeys of course get peanuts and bananas!

• simplified on Feb 22, 2010 at 9:20 pm

Why don't the govt use the Road Tax (on your windscreen) instead of MyKad. Put additional barcode that the pump can read (install barcode reader – like those in supermarket).

This way, the subsidy follow the car, not the owner. Reduce the headache of malfunction, stolen and cloned MyKad. Will enforce people to renew Road Tax, else they wont get the subsidy. And I guess, more efficient.

• In future u will see whole bunch of ppl asking u "Sir, u wan subsidy from G? We split half half." (Take out his MyCard and slot it into the pump.

• harap semua cc tak kira tinggi atau rendah layak utk subsidi…sebagaimana mereka semua layak untuk mengUNDI….harap tiada kasta dalam soal subsidy minyak….. jangan lupa slogan 1Malaysia….i followwwwwwwwww.

• g-mey on Feb 22, 2010 at 9:40 pm

If I have 2 cars under my name, which (2500cc and 1500cc).. do I still get the subsidy?

• Squawk on Feb 22, 2010 at 9:46 pm

If you've to go to Putrajaya to replace your spoiled mykad… that's more petrol wasted. :-)

So in the future if I help my parents fill up their car, I've to bring their mykad and cut off one thumb to bring along? I definitely won't want to use my quota; I need it.

And why should diesel be priced higher? It's not even to current Euro standards. Then again, our petrol isn't Euro standards either.

Good thing that could come from this is small neighbourhood malls will see better business, companies will move out of city center and people will prefer to work close to home (decentralization is never a bad thing). The bad – a dead-er city center, 'central' malls lose a few shoppers, cuti-cuti Malaysia by car…. well, PLUS could possibly record lower revenue. :-)

• The threshold is at 2.0 liter because p1 has a car with such a capacity engine.

This isn't protecting consumer interest but rather p1 interest.

• No way on Feb 22, 2010 at 9:54 pm

Dear MR prime minister, pls remove all the subsidy. Our people are so greedy and not appreciate everything you have done. I wouldnt mind paying the petrol with subsidy. Let all those *typical mindset* pay the consequences. Thanks

• Mastermind on Feb 22, 2010 at 9:59 pm

emmm….

ok what…at least burden to imported car brand than Malaysia brand due…

from low installment……

advantage:

malaysia brand lower installment+petrol=breakeven point

no lost n profit

imported brand car installment+petrol=sure lost…..more lost.. n lost heheh n than bash gomen bash potong n bash others….but actually the mistook from themself…huhuhu pity…to lazy Malaysian…..

So work with ur brain…….

• rexis on Feb 22, 2010 at 10:36 pm

As the minister said, all shall be happy once the system is announced.

As usual, anyone who are unhappy, are always the minority.

I am skeptical that they will even use any mykad, its chip won't even survive oxygen.

• Louis X on Feb 22, 2010 at 10:37 pm

1malaysia? but this subsidy system already separate the higher cc car and lower cc car… is not equal to all the nation. Previously said RON97 is subsidy but when launch RON95, the subsidy should be less or gone, but now still need increase the price. WTF

• xavier lert on Feb 22, 2010 at 10:47 pm

wow who got the tender for this system (software). must be hundred2 of mil……licensed per pump……

• Eric G on Feb 22, 2010 at 10:49 pm

this system will not be apply in Sabah n Sarawak because many cars here are pick up trucks which most of it has at least 2.5 liter engine. So, it would be difficult to implement here then.

http://paultan.org/2010/01/19/fuel-price-may-1-20…

• dodgeviper88 on Feb 22, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Theoritically, the implementation of the mykad subsidy system would save the government money as foreigners would pay market price. Then why the hell are they still increasing the price of fuel another 10 cents? They should decrease the price or at least keep the same price. This whole thing of mykad crap is really pointless. It is to save the government money but the way I see it, it's gonna cost more and also waste our time. All I can say someone is gonna be rich from this implementation.

• nudin on Feb 22, 2010 at 11:22 pm

littlefire is littlefire..dont expect too much

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Feb 22, 2010 at 11:30 pm

The MyKad will be registered to 1 particular car meaning 1 owner per car. So if i have 2 cars registered under my name, i can only enjoy subsidised fuel for 1 car while the other will pay the full amount.

So only car owners will get subsidised fuel. So if u borrow your friend's car and have to fill up you will be doing so at the full rates.

• p2pun on Feb 22, 2010 at 11:32 pm

This system was implement in Iran, but they have special card for it, since they don't have chip IC. The Iranian only get 120 liters per person (with car registered under their name, and valid driving license) per month.

If we Malaysian get 300 liter, so we will get better than Iranian, yet both of us a Oil Producing Country, and Iran have more oil than us.

——————————————————

littlefire said,

If i am driving mini cooper S or C200 kompressor (CGi), i still enjoy the subsidy also?

As what reported here, yes! you will, as long as you are citizen of Malaysia, with usable My Card, valid driving license and poses a car…

—————————————————–

just think about it properly, why we must subsidies all people in Malaysia, regardless their nationality, regardless how wealthy they are, everyday, that end-up millions of Rakyat Money!..

Just imagine Robert Quok come fill-up his Phanthom Ghost full tank, and still Malaysian has to subsidize him??

—————————————————–

This will help make Malaysian realize how important is planning, so we will plan our journey, remember when oil price is rm2.40?.. everybody was driving slowly to safe petrol, and automatically reduce accident.

This will not affect low income people, if the only poses kancil, saga, or motorcycle, 300 liter should be enough.. low income people will not drive Jaguar or Hilux and works 300 kilometer from their house… Wira only have 30 liter tank, 300L/month means 10 time full tank.. average joe will fill-up full tank about 5-6 time per month… so?.. cukupp maaaa, siap boleh jual lagik balance tu..

Some of the lower income Malaysian not event have internet to know about this issues, and of course will not complain here…

Only those who not benefit from this will melalak & bising2.. huhu

• meteoraniac on Feb 22, 2010 at 11:55 pm

dont forget about the GST !! price is gonna be closer to RM2.00 than RM1.90 for RON 95 .. Syabas BN !

• alpha999 on Feb 22, 2010 at 11:59 pm

before let's off blind tantrums, let's wait and see what the fuel subsidy system has to offer

it may be good news for some while bad for others……let's hope it will be in the best interest of many

• bro…. subsidi kena ada…tu yang bezakan rakyat malaysia or other's….tapi kerja tetap kena rajin…..

• puteripapunika on Feb 23, 2010 at 12:20 am

@simplified:

"Why don’t the govt use the Road Tax (on your windscreen) instead of MyKad. Put additional barcode that the pump can read (install barcode reader – like those in supermarket)."

I like your idea.

• Sempoi on Feb 23, 2010 at 12:29 am

To plug the leakages will be a major problem

and what about enforcement. So far no one has been charged

for smuggling petrol to Thailand.

If we can do this then i don't see the need to even introduce

this subsidy thingy in the first place.

• ninicokolatcelup on Feb 23, 2010 at 12:33 am

dah la bagi mykad lowya punya.. pakai tak sampai setahun dah terkopek, cip rosak. buat lagi kena bayar denda. punya la senang cekau duit orang…mcm haram

• odi862 on Feb 23, 2010 at 12:48 am

The G already started to cut subsidies here and there since economic crisis and the national coffer currently in critical. Fuel subsidy sure is one of them. Later they will increase the toll.

Hopefully this system will work and if not, someone already will be making the profit selling stupid idea and devices to the stupid G.

IMHO, I think this system will fail and the rakyat will sure have to pay the non-subsidies price like during Pak Lah time. At that time we will hear the infamous standard clause "Our fuel price is still the cheapest in the region".

They keep selling the rakyat the BS and the rakyat keep voting them. That is how Satuland is…….

• VanillaVixen on Feb 23, 2010 at 1:03 am

Again the government is going to implement some stupid rules.

So how next time i want to refuel my car i have to ask everytime for my parents mykad??? What happen if i study outstation and i need to pump my car? Call my parents call them to give their mykad to me when i am in perak they are in KL?? The car can't be in my name.

Again the fu**ing government rules is so annoying

• lkf0512 on Feb 23, 2010 at 1:09 am

Really hard to imagine that we have to go thru all these hassle, just for us to pump petrol.

If I pump RM5 for my motorcycle, do I need to go through all these hassle?

Or there will be some OTHER system for motor users?

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 23, 2010 at 1:11 am

p2pun said,

February 22, 2010 @ 3:32 pm

Only those who not benefit from this will melalak & bising2.. huhu

Wow , how conveniently said. Work for the company that is implementing this? So you tak bising bising = you benefit from this? Cybertrooper? LOL Wira 30L fuel tank? proof you don't drive one.

Sure, what you said isn't untrue, but it hints on over-rationalising something un-rationizable.

This wont affect most motorist directly since most of us don't really drive that much. But ALL motorist will be affected by the fallout eventually. If you read carefully, really not many are actually complaining that they run out of quota, but most wisely see that this system is doomed for failure if not be a complete PITA to use. Lets see mr.low income complain when the card reader wont read his MyKard.

Actually float the price of fuel for all I care. Float the price of cars as well, after 25 years of high taxes, where is the money for public transportation?

Let people choose.

• budleee on Feb 23, 2010 at 1:15 am

this is the time where having many siblings, cousins, or children work for you..

you can use their ic to fill up..

i guess we have to let go of the older big capacities cars can get the saga or viva..

sigh.. so sad..

putting engine capacity as one of the limits is very moronic..

but then, it only affects a few of us..

so a few of us are screwed..

• xtend2damax on Feb 23, 2010 at 1:31 am

gt4,

You think 660cc car like kancil very low fuel consumption!? Just because its a low CC car doesn't mean the fuel consumption is low. If want cheap and low consumption car, then i suggest looking at a used Savvy.

BTW I don't think its a good idea to use the mykad, as constant usage might spoil the flimsy chip.

• prolover on Feb 23, 2010 at 1:33 am

Do you guys think that the G ppl pay for the fuel of their carssss… ( mean more than one car la)

even the electrical bill is free……

i mean, yala they have lots of money and plus…

seriusly they dont use our NATIONAL CAR like P2 and P1…..

BMW and Merc.. Of cause…

oh i forgot……

THEY GOT the $$$ from the Rakyat..

Ho Ho SATULAND

• capone on Feb 23, 2010 at 1:54 am

thats mean our money going dry… everything will rise.. good etc..

• kimi_ on Feb 23, 2010 at 2:13 am

The GOMEN sure will said change your lifestyle blah blah blah….and

themselves will continue live and spend lavishly. WTH

BUT We the middle class people already spend wisely and save money as much as we can, but still the GOMEN cont to suck our blood and add more burden

Perhaps the G themselves need to be changed in next G.E !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1111

• chris on Feb 23, 2010 at 2:26 am

In due time, insurance companies will be receiving a lot of total loss claims for vehicles above 2,000cc. Repairers will be helping out in pushing the car into the monsoon drain, burning the damn car, etc…

I for one drives a 3,000cc 1997 Nissan Cefiro which I bought 3rd hand 5 years ago. The market value for the car right now? RM17,000 or less for trade in … RM22,000 if I sell it direct (that is if I am lucky).. oh yeah & i still have 2 years more to pay up my loan which at the current outstanding amount of RM25,000.

So tell me what am I going to do with it???? Petrol price increase .. my car's resell value depreciate like hell. Damn… I guess its time for the to think how am I going to file a total loss claim.

Then get a chapcai so I ferry my family of 4 (wife, 2 kids, mom) on our holiday! YAHOO!!!!

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 23, 2010 at 2:30 am

*FUEL PRICE IN RELATION TO PROTON*

The entire car industry is held back by Proton for the past 25 years. No import cars shall exceed Proton (and Perodua) except with taxing, NAP, AP and duty import.

But the worst just gotten worst. The entire local car industry has been "revolutionized" (thanks to Proton) and now that the fuel price has been affected too by this "short-minded" policy. They wanted to remove the subsidy system (bit by bit) but in the same time, having that "dilemma" whether to remove (or not) the magical "tongkat ali" that protects Proton for the past 25 years. Not to mention uneven car quality by Proton.

*SOLUTION*

I say, the only way to save Malaysian Car Industry is to totally remove the fuel subsidy system (let the world market decide) and with this, remove the protection wand of Proton (and Perodua) will have to compete in the global market. The only mechanism that the Government could use to protect Proton (and Perodua) is to waive them from taxes (as Proton and Perodua is our local company).

Government needs to think about its priority? To keep on supplying unnecessary resources to 10,000 Proton workers (including staff, vendors, dealers and suppliers) or to save the entire nation's car industry of population 27,000,000 (millions) Malaysians? I believe, this drastic move will save Malaysia's economy and will surely, ensure that Barisan Nasional will be voted (and trusted) once more by Malaysians. Time to cut-off that 25 years old cancerous cells.

• p2pun on Feb 23, 2010 at 2:45 am

4G63tDSM said,

Wira 30L fuel tank? proof you don’t drive one.

———————————————-

Bro, Wira SE Aeroback 1.5 – full tank rm65-67.. (ron95) about 35 liter la..

sikit typo pun bising ker? So sorry la… okkay 300L/month = 8 kali isi… still more than 5-6 time refill per month!!

but I do agree with you, the quality of My Card is questionable.. everytime has to use pencil eraser to clean the chip..

but floating the fuel price?? GILA ka lu?.. willing to pay rm3/L kaa dey?.. this rm1.80 sen pun dah bising!! pffftttt

• bongok_la_weh on Feb 23, 2010 at 2:58 am

pe susah, tampal emblem 660cc kat kereta mewah korang hahaha…

• mb3300 on Feb 23, 2010 at 3:03 am

Shouldnt they, the democratically elected government have a forum with the people, who placed them there, on this matter before forcefully implementing it?

At least they can listen to all quarters and potentially come up with a solution that answers most of the queries given above.

I hope someone forwards all these to Najib on his blog or something.

Students are seriously affected by this…same goes to a sole breadwinner who owns 2 cars for himself and his wife/maybe kids.

Such implementation also screws the whole idea of cuti cuti malaysia, now who is gonna drive his family around the country?? He would rather use his monthly subsidized fuel for work and daily activities. 300 liter is just too less, 500 liter fuel is more appropriate.

Flimsy chip on Mycard, hassle of replacement which is all the way in Putrajaya is even worse. Not forgetting, inefficiency in ALL government implemented plans. Longer queues in petrol stations, more rooms for mistakes, and corruption.

BN can say goodbye to their voters if this effort ends up increasing the cost of goods and living after May.

This really sucks, so does 1 Malaysia, BN and everything else.

• d3niel on Feb 23, 2010 at 3:06 am

How much increase also never mind la.. This is what we call 1Malaysia. The Govt is out of fund already, they are dry so need to suck more money from the people.

• ezralimm on Feb 23, 2010 at 3:17 am

Pretty much all of the negative things that could be said has already been said, so im gonna say something positive.

As much as i hate to say this, I think it's actually a step towards a more egalitarian society…

• chris…too bad..filing a total lost will gain you the current value only…like you said around 17K?still you have to pay the bank the balance…

• Mastermind on Feb 23, 2010 at 3:24 am

emmm…quite interesting…Wow….why people here still worried by the policy…

1st policy not affecting if we using proton n other local car…

I think for people using imported car either CKD or CBU may be faceing the big challenge…either save the money or screammmmmmm……..because frustated by the policy….

300 litres 4 cancil,viva or proton more than enough…if policy put on cc user must know what to do …dont ask n blaming other….??? ur got own brain….!!!!

So don be so stupid…..if ur know income not enough be part timer workers…

if think ur education low took any course to improve ur life…

If ur employer paid little salary resign n finding the new job…..

If ur think fuel policy focus on horsepower change to the lower CC ma….

If ur still using the high cc keep on garage n bought motorcycle….

if ur still using imprted car buy the local one..

if ur still single go to married

if ur no child pray to god….

if u need the lower fuel price….open ur own oil station…

if u need people help u ….u need to help people first…

if u need change G wait until election…

if u need opposition join PR…

if u need BN join BN…

If ur money not enough don buy a CAR LA……kecoh betul….

Work with ur brain..

I

• ……………….doesn't know how to control the prices.

if next round the …………… increase again. who will known where is increasing until what situation? cause, now the 95 is RM1.80 and 97 is RM2.05. so after implement the so call system, he will increase for 95 from rm 1.8-1.9/2.10 and for 97 from RM 2.05 to 2.50. so later will it increase again.? i think the ……………….. just simple want to have more money from us by simply implementing the saying new system. who known?

to me, i prefer to those who have my kad have to follow back the old rated with the new system. then for those who are outsider should apply for mycard when the purchase the car and follow the market rates no to us as a malaysian.

cause by simply say no subsidiary of petrol, will make the marketing thing (items) more and more expensive.

then how we survive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• singh on Feb 23, 2010 at 4:08 am

apa mau melalak now? do u think GOVT will care for what we feel? We should be thankful to live in Malaysia now lah. We must ubah cara hidup to follow GOVT deccission. Hehe. :)

• Alban on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:01 am

Power producers pay US$3.21 (RM10.98) per million metric British thermal units compared to manufacturers who pay US$4.49-4.60 per mmbtu. The tariffs represent a subsidy of up to 40 per cent when compared to the March gas contract on the New York Mercantile Exchange which closed yesterday at US$5.419 per mmbtu.

-Consumer getting 9.52% subsidy after March

-IPP still getting 40%

and on top of that, who benefited more from this subsidies? Consumer…. Tenaga…. no is IPP.

Well, let's see what going to happen with CPI and chain effect of this increment. Definately the lower income will be much affected.

• howitzer on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:25 am

yeah gov gonna take everything back from us…

every subsidy is revised.. but what did we get in return?

give us back something in return.. lower the car tax price maybe?

don;t just take something from people.. if like this we malaysians

get the worst road with lowest spec of car with hell price and not to forget

also the fuel after this… please be considerate…

we people in malaysia get the worst of all…

just my 1 cent.. peace

• WTF 911 on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:39 am

singh~! I second you definately! yes!

Go singh! Go!!!

• 4thclasscitizen on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:43 am

soon we will experience of being a 4th class citizen when using mykad ar petrol pump.

all the foreigner working in petrol pump have the right to check our mykad.

• 1malaysia 1malaysia on Feb 23, 2010 at 6:15 am

Hope pupil with japanese and other makes pay higher fuel price. Owner of P1 and P2 can enjoy subsidy. I love to see those drive non national to be punish, to those who less patriotics you pay the price. Waka ka ka………

• oldman on Feb 23, 2010 at 6:19 am

Biasaklah Barisan Najis….the sure thing is gov need more money, and unfortunately, they need to start with "people first", performance later…

They u go, 1Mesia Barang Naik…padan muka sume…

• 2-Sen Opinion.com on Feb 23, 2010 at 6:38 am

With the introduction of the KPIs, it is interesting to watch how the Ministers are scrambling & cracking their heads in finding the solutions to the various issues affecting their portpolios, hoping to score a good rating for their performance.For some, this is the first time they hear about KPIs. Good luck to them.So, now they really are "thinking" ,which is the reason we see all these funny, flip-flop half-baked policies.But now, a little smart though, instead of bull-dozing the policy , they would start with a teaser & then see the reaction from the people . If too serious a reaction, it wld cold store for awhile or just make it fade away , like the recent 15-year old car scrap policy

The previous RM 625 per car subsidy payment policy was really interesting. I had 4 cars & I got RM 625 x 4. Thanks so much.I remember kissing the notes everytime I left the Pos Office . It's like money falling down from the sky . But till now I still do not understand what really was the benefits of the policy to both parties.Surely, it had cost hundred of millions of tax-payers money.SO MORAL OF THE STORY IS , IF IT IS JUST A MATTER OF SAVING 10 TO 30 SENS OF SUBSIDY MONEY IT IS JUST NOT WORTH IT BECAUSE THE COST OF IMPLEMENTION – enforcement cost, technical cost, not to mention people negative reaction & loss of votes -would really cost the government heavily.

For all we know the Thai & local diesel smugglers will be as always become more creative.Because that is their living career . The Singapore drivers really don't need it , they just come to eat seafood & just get some trill of pumping cheaper petrol along the way.Next target is the poor expatriates working in the country , a very small group & most of them are driving company cars anyway but the story they tell the world is that Malaysia are really desperate people as to resort to rationing policy in peace time. Next ,after subsidized petrol ,the foreigners wld also not enjoy subsidized sugar, rice & whatever because subsidy is for poor Malaysian citizens.

So, who else are the target groups not to get the subsidised petrol ? the local " RICH " -defined as owners of 2000 cc & above cars. Is this a foolproof & exhaustive definition? Now most fancy branded cars are below 2000cc. That means an RM 30k Kancil and an RM 240K Mini Cooper J Works or RM 350 K Merz E 200 K can all enjoy the subsidy but a late-developer 50-yr old guy just starting to enjoy life in a used Merz E 230 or Cefiro 3.0 or early 2000s BMW 5 series will be branded overnight as filty rich guy & hence ,sorry no subsidy for you.

Well , for now , lets us be open minded and see what wld be the teaser policy looks like & later everyone can comment intelligently .

• helpless on Feb 23, 2010 at 6:46 am

i well let the bank reposes my car and use mcycle instead, i can't afford any fuel price hike.

• in the afterlife, i will ask back each dime and sweat and blood that the G squeeze out of me in this life. period.

another 10sen hike will not make people happy. as companies are not getting any subsidies, do you expect this will not lead to inflation? foods, fares, everything will go up. and then your minister will do a 5 minute in the news to say that prices are under control. bah!

yes i am powerless. even if i exercise my power as a citizen, you cheat your way out. so just do whatever you want to do. i do not concur in this life or the other and i will surely ask back what you owe me as you chose not to be fair and just in this world but God will in the hereafter.

• japanese car user on Feb 23, 2010 at 6:53 am

hi 1Malaysia 1Malaysia

I am using a Japanese make but i really find your idea very interesting.

Patriotic by using P1 and P2 ? I really speechless.

wait see how other readers belasah you wa kakaka

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 23, 2010 at 6:53 am

the litre displacement system doesn't make sense. cars like Mazda RX-8 which uses a lot of fuel get to escape the tax.

• karpal singking on Feb 23, 2010 at 6:54 am

yeah! I support floating the price of the fuel!

after that, we can get rm3 per litre fuel! I'm sure everyone like that! *sarcasm)

• 6oLsh0i_6o0z3 on Feb 23, 2010 at 7:28 am

Yea, I totally agree with this move. You guys had no idea how this move means alot to me. By using MyKad, the stingy Singaporean would think twice to travel here and steal our subsidies fuel that meant for Malaysians only. I really hate to see they come to JB not more than 30 minutes just to fuel up their big car tank then go back to Singapore without feel shame at all. Lets give them the real fuel price they deserved, they already got so many advantages by cheap shopping here and many more. Serve them right.

So this is a thumbs-up move I must say.

And I think this move should apply to those Malaysian who are using Singaporean registered cars as well. They bring nothing to the country except to Singapore. They pay tax to Singapore, then want subsidies fuel somemore? Pathetic

• oldman on Feb 23, 2010 at 8:15 am

alban,

See who's own IPP, then u get the answer…Off course 'kengkawan' will get better price…as the motto of 1Mesia shit says "Rakyat didahulukan derita, pencapaian kroni diutamakan"

Courtesy of biased agreement between TNB n IPP, thanks to stupido Dr MamakTahik

• rezcreep on Feb 23, 2010 at 8:46 am

nonses….y now nak buat benatang nie…sbb pembaziran wang rakyat yg dibazirkan utk beli kapal selam yg tak leh pakai n support lotus f1 team(how mush bilion the spent to the team no ones know rite)….hahaha…pastu kate lah nak elakkan rakyat negra luar suke2 menggunakan subsidi miyak kiter yg diungit mase miyak tgh mahal dulu…remember if the price of petrol either 95 or 97 even the vpower reach unexpected price, i think many people in this country will be mad n what will be happen next….so better for the goverment think n rethink about the petrol subsidies……1 more thing the ron 95 is suck……u get moe fuel but u dunt get more distance…so rugi..

• tokmoh on Feb 23, 2010 at 9:02 am

fufufufu… the 'wise' govt that you all voted… makes me wonder why you all still doubt the alternative govt… just cuz it's led by a faggot?

Paul, Paul… kesian xleh dpt harga minyak subsidy, but do you seriously think a guy with not one, but TWO beemers in your garage can appeal to the govt to get both pumped with subsidised fuel? It doesn't matter about how much of a bargain you got your cars for, heck, even if you got them both for free, anyone with the right mind will already consider a guy with two cars of such brand a high income individual. Sorry, I do not wish to single you out only, so I'll say it for others who consider themselves poor despite driving old mercs, Nissan Cefiro, blabla: you want to pamper yourself, you gotta pay the price. Including the perceptions you will get from others (like govt) for driving such cars. Can't blame them, can you? It's your money after all, and it's their freedom to believe what kinda person are you for driving such imports. Cheesy if I were to ask you guys to still be grateful, but think of others who are worse of. Like Haitian earthquake victims. Or relatives and frens of Toyota's pedal-of-death victims.

Unfair? When did you all get disillusioned thinking upholding equality and fairness is the current govt's raison d'etre? Even Donald Trump, already a billionaire, once said the world's never fair.

In the mean time, aim to change d govt u despise so much for bullying u people especially, while allowing lucky bastards driving RX8 and Mini Cooper to continue benefit from fuel subsidy.

Another thing, I wonder… why do people claim they are poor today, but 10 or more years ago, rich enough to buy a Merc/BMW/etc? I aim this question to those who buy them brand new years ago, not get it 2nd hand for 9000th of its original selling price… Like The Star Bizweek's editor, who claimed his old 5-er is now worth RM25k or something… so? That means by today's market value, he thinks people who drive a brand new Myvi is richer than him? How ironic, I'd expect someone like him who writes lots of biz world happenings to be more knowledgeable about managing his wealth. I'm wrong I guess.

• Only God can help our country back to people first..

• SEXYZ MAN on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:16 am

Modern countries such as Japan and South Korea dont even dare to try this project because fear of cyber network jam due to many people around Msia using Mycard at the same time.

• boleh on Feb 23, 2010 at 1:14 pm

malaysia boleh.

our petrol is too cheap, compare to hongkong and japan!!! cannot let those camry/ ferrari owner benefit from our cheap petrol!!!

( but our car is very expensive compare to hongkong and japan, and camry/ferrari owner is actually paying more tax/contribute more to country, than those cheapo motorcyclist and pisang goreng seller)

our gomen seems like hate those rich fella, trying to kill them with heavy tax, but they themselves are rich man too, oh, btw they dont pay tax, so wth.

• boleh on Feb 23, 2010 at 1:23 pm

actually the really rich would not be affected. only small business will kena. come on, only cheap p1 and p2 owner will be affected.

my petrol monthly rm500, even if now its 1000, it makes no diff.

• azrai on Feb 23, 2010 at 3:50 pm

Whatever the measures taken, the inflation will skyrocketing after that. the domino effect will take place. All goods and services price will go up. + next election BN will go down. Sure this.

• Mastermind on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:49 pm

Hello brother ::::boleh

Yeah dont pay tax…..easy solution…….simple but dangerouussssssss….

Ur know if ur catching by evaded tax what happened………….

ur will bankrupt……..or suffer the super highest penalties….n then may got jailllll…wow free food inside there………..

Fact correction:Car Price in Hong Kong is more expensive than Malaysia……

work with ur brain….

l

• learner on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:53 pm

boleh said,

February 23, 2010 @ 5:23 am

actually the really rich would not be affected. only small business will kena. come on, only cheap p1 and p2 owner will be affected.

my petrol monthly rm500, even if now its 1000, it makes no diff.

don't be so greedy, once the poor p1 and p2 owners have to shrinkage their spending, who know you rice bow will be affected. who you think make you rich? the poor right.

• The Royal Academy of on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:58 pm

tokmoh said,

February 23, 2010 @ 1:02 am

fufufufu… the ‘wise’ govt that you all voted… makes me wonder why you all still doubt the alternative govt… just cuz it’s led by a faggot?

Paul, Paul… kesian xleh dpt harga minyak subsidy, but do you seriously think a guy with not one, but TWO beemers in your garage can appeal to the govt to get both pumped with subsidised fuel? It doesn’t matter about how much of a bargain you got your cars for, heck, even if you got them both for free, anyone with the right mind will already consider a guy with two cars of such brand a high income individual. Sorry, I do not wish to single you out only, so I’ll say it for others who consider themselves poor despite driving old mercs, Nissan Cefiro, blabla: you want to pamper yourself, you gotta pay the price. Including the perceptions you will get from others (like govt) for driving such cars. Can’t blame them, can you? It’s your money after all, and it’s their freedom to believe what kinda person are you for driving such imports. Cheesy if I were to ask you guys to still be grateful, but think of others who are worse of. Like Haitian earthquake victims. Or relatives and frens of Toyota’s pedal-of-death victims.

Unfair? When did you all get disillusioned thinking upholding equality and fairness is the current govt’s raison d’etre? Even Donald Trump, already a billionaire, once said the world’s never fair.

In the mean time, aim to change d govt u despise so much for bullying u people especially, while allowing lucky bastards driving RX8 and Mini Cooper to continue benefit from fuel subsidy.

Another thing, I wonder… why do people claim they are poor today, but 10 or more years ago, rich enough to buy a Merc/BMW/etc? I aim this question to those who buy them brand new years ago, not get it 2nd hand for 9000th of its original selling price… Like The Star Bizweek’s editor, who claimed his old 5-er is now worth RM25k or something… so? That means by today’s market value, he thinks people who drive a brand new Myvi is richer than him? How ironic, I’d expect someone like him who writes lots of biz world happenings to be more knowledgeable about managing his wealth. I’m wrong I guess.

————————————–

it depends. sometimes ppl choose to buy 2nd hand continental cars because they value their safety and frankly its more reliable than most new cars.

• pening lalat on Feb 23, 2010 at 6:44 pm

our gov start to show their brilliant idea..the price for RON 95 will be increase to RM 1.90 and will be based on 200-300 liters / month..no subsidy for company car..for 2.0cc and above..no subsidy.if we exceed from limits..pay the unsubsidized price..

it is the best way to make sure that " it would make people happy. I am hoping that this could indicate a fair system that would not trouble the low to middle class income earners"

hehehe..are the gov think people are dumber to sniff what are happening?? for sure the gov can generate more money..but how about rakyat??

• boleh said,

February 23, 2010 @ 5:14 am

( but our car is very expensive compare to hongkong and japan, and camry/ferrari owner is actually paying more tax/contribute more to country, than those cheapo motorcyclist and pisang goreng seller)

———————————–

r u insulting low income people..from wat u wrote..they r people too y r u do that…mind wat u wrote it might hurt other people who r not so fortunate like u…

• Wohaa on Feb 23, 2010 at 8:18 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

February 22, 2010 @ 10:53 pm

the litre displacement system doesn’t make sense. cars like Mazda RX-8 which uses a lot of fuel get to escape the tax.

————-

thats why Proton trying to make 1.6 engine that works like 2.0 engine..rite?

• y all of u here so scare???? especially those buying xpensive car..i tot xpensive car very fuel efficient so less fuel use..so wat is claim by some of u…

• SY0H said,

February 22, 2010 @ 6:30 pm

*FUEL PRICE IN RELATION TO PROTON*

The entire car industry is held back by Proton for the past 25 years. No import cars shall exceed Proton (and Perodua) except with taxing, NAP, AP and duty import.

But the worst just gotten worst. The entire local car industry has been “revolutionized” (thanks to Proton) and now that the fuel price has been affected too by this “short-minded” policy. They wanted to remove the subsidy system (bit by bit) but in the same time, having that “dilemma” whether to remove (or not) the magical “tongkat ali” that protects Proton for the past 25 years. Not to mention uneven car quality by Proton.

*SOLUTION*

I say, the only way to save Malaysian Car Industry is to totally remove the fuel subsidy system (let the world market decide) and with this, remove the protection wand of Proton (and Perodua) will have to compete in the global market. The only mechanism that the Government could use to protect Proton (and Perodua) is to waive them from taxes (as Proton and Perodua is our local company).

Government needs to think about its priority? To keep on supplying unnecessary resources to 10,000 Proton workers (including staff, vendors, dealers and suppliers) or to save the entire nation’s car industry of population 27,000,000 (millions) Malaysians? I believe, this drastic move will save Malaysia’s economy and will surely, ensure that Barisan Nasional will be voted (and trusted) once more by Malaysians. Time to cut-off that 25 years old cancerous cells.

——————————–

so easy like u said easily implemented..it take many economist, brain, research, time, ministry to implement or to stop something…u should be an economist heck prime minister as well….

ps: u want to make G follow ur policy..but u unwilling to follow the G policy.wat is this??

• PLEASE READ THIS

Average gasoline prices around the world

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gasoline_and_diesel_…

• the irony of this many country in this world use ron95 as standard but here malaysia malaysian whining all the time..sori out of topic

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gasoline_and_diesel_…

• rushie on Feb 23, 2010 at 9:36 pm

Wat a bloddy waste of time.

• chinz on Feb 23, 2010 at 9:38 pm

Eric G

yah sabah and sarawak many double cab and bunch oh super ninja king running here and there! hahahahahha

• gen2lama on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:15 pm

y all of u here so scare???? especially those buying xpensive car..i tot xpensive car very fuel efficient so less fuel use..so wat is claim by some of u…

—————————————————————-

ya la…when speak about car spec…waaa…i drive T & H only..very fuel efficient…P1 so damm fuel guzzler….dammm

but when talk about fuel subsidy…..hmmmmm..seems like all are driving P1..

khahahahha….

– go NGV la….

• satria_Neo on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:29 pm

nice move by the goverment..the most brilliant move ever..do what ever your barisan kabinet wanted to..its OK..mind those people that huhahuhahuha..2 month after that they will stop and forget la..for sure !..

dont worry about they saying to vote the opposition..u know your game..and your know how to handle such things in the General Election..

go ahead…let those rich people pay more..or act like rich people ..

hey..if u kenot afford it..then by many alternative small "cheap" car la..

hahahahahah

me ..i dun care..i own a P2 and my wife a non national car..

i go to work – ride motorbike ..once or twice drive my car…its feel heaven living out from the city ..

• satria_Neo on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:31 pm

I URGED the Goverment to remove all the fuel subsidies !..

let the fuel price decided by the actual market price …habis cerita..

hehehe

• Squawk on Feb 23, 2010 at 11:02 pm

I think the govt should know that not everyone driving a Merc is rich. If you bought a 2nd hand Merc W124, you'd have paid less than buying a brand new Vios 1.5 and you would've gotten a much safer ride with lower parts cost.

• Remove fuel subsidies, end of story. Then channel the money saved to those who needs it.

• Malaysia Boleh!!! huahuahua

• Koko ,

If u want to remove the subsidies, u will kill other low salary ppl in this country.. remember our perkapita salary is pretty low even with Singapore…

• tokmoh on Feb 24, 2010 at 5:20 am

The Royal Academy of Proton Bashers : I get the part about safety, but MORE RELIABLE THAN MOST NEW CARS?!?!

You mad?

• willpower on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:31 am

1. Remove Fuel Subsidy

2. Liberalise On AFTA especially to lower the New Car Price

3. Increase OUR SALARY (Whether Goverment Sector or Private Sector)

4. Then we are heading to high income nations with reasonable car price

5. Promote diesel power vehicle or hybrid vehicle

After all, who is the Boss? Rakyat is the Boss. Please remember that, G.

• ganz (Member) on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:59 am

after all we still asking foer more and more without having a single of feel graceful..

u know what.. from insider of my good friend over his good friend keekekek.. only p1 and p2 car eligible for subsidy.. :D

• No need to worry anymore

Latest confirm news said that government cancel this new fuel subsidy system

Eventhough all system needed almost completed

So we can buy a petrol as usual this May onward

• AEM,

That's a misconception, don't believe scare tactics. There was an article recently in the Star I think that identifies the reason why our salary is lower than others is because of all the subsidies we have. Removing such checks will balance out everything.

However there's no way it could be removed all at once. However steps have to be taken to stop being dependent on handouts.

• willpower on Feb 26, 2010 at 4:45 am

Koko, you are Correct!! Removing all subsidy wont change anything if our salary is darn low.

Imagine…

People will not spend because they want to save for rainy days. If not consumer to buy all the goods, the manufacturer will have no extra order, in return, no OT for their worker, no profit, no return on investment, money not rolling…so how to give high salary to their employees?

Sigh…

• maams on Mar 01, 2010 at 5:14 pm

If the above 2 000 cc car is over than 10 years should be considered to provide the subsidy. Government, please consider. This kind of car is more cheaper than kancil.

• good idea… so lepas ni

kaw kampung x payah pakai generator…

kalu ada motor n kereta jual jer motor… coz just dapat 1 jer

org sabah n sarawak… pakai kancil tok naik gunung/dll

org mst ramai kat jpn coz nak tukar ic yang selalu rosak..

kalu x der keta x payah sibuk pijam/ sewa keta org.coz myak mahal.

jgn belikan anak keta/ motor ex bli secara ansuran bulanan coz

x bleh ltak nama dia nanti

kurangkan makan coz hge barang makan akan melambung tinggi…

so i will sell all my petrol equip. and buy kuda…..hahaha

• conan on Mar 02, 2010 at 8:55 pm

Proceed the fuel – no subsidy but please remove all toll at our country. then it fair for every one ..

• koko jumbo on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:25 pm

why must we use our Mykad each time to fill fuel.It can damaged Mykad.Let say 1 month you fill your tank 20times.It's mean 20 times you punch your Mykad and the chip may spoil.If true the price up just cents,we still can happy about it.But i'm very afraid the price up twice from what we paid now like what I hears few weekend.

• cybermaster98 on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:29 pm

koko jumbo said,

March 3, 2010 @ 9:25 am

why must we use our Mykad each time to fill fuel.It can damaged Mykad.Let say 1 month you fill your tank 20times.It’s mean 20 times you punch your Mykad and the chip may spoil.If true the price up just cents,we still can happy about it.But i’m very afraid the price up twice from what we paid now like what I hears few weekend.

The scheme has been scrapped. But there will be a price increase of 10 cents sometime this month.

• Saya blacklisted, beli kereta guna nama brother… so macam mana? tak dapat subsidi ke macam mana

• cicak on Mar 04, 2010 at 12:13 am

Salam 1Malaysia…

Rasanya x munasabah jika pemberian subsidi minyak dilihat dari segi cc kereta kerana :

1. kereta mahal seperti MINI CHOOPER, BMW, Lotus, RX8…dll mempunyai cc yg rendah ttp hanya yg mampu + kaya sahaja boleh memiliki… perlukah kenderaan sebegini diberikan subsidi? Fikir-Fikirkan…

2. Kenapa tidak dibandingkan kenderaan yg perlu mendapat subsidi dari segi INSURAN COVERnya…di mana kepada kenderaan berharga rm150,000.00 keatas dan mempunyai INSURANS COVERnya juga rm150,000.00 keatas tidak perlu diberikan subsidi walaupun kenderaanya bawah 2.0cc. Fikir-Fikirkan…

3. Ketidakpuashati ini adalah kerana aku pengguna naza citra yg mempunyai kenderaan 2.0cc…mpv yang paling murah sebelum adanya proton exora…

Kenapa aku membeli naza citra adalah kerana ianya agak murah dan mampu membawa ramai penumpang untuk pulang kekampung, berhari raya dll… tp jika dibandingkan dgn kereta seperti MINI CHOOPER, BMW, Lotus, RX8 dll…

PERSOALANNYA :

Wajarkah pemberian subsidi hanya berpandukan cc kenderaan itu sahaja…

Fikir-Fikirkan…

• cicak on Mar 04, 2010 at 12:34 am

Pendek Kata;

lepas ni pakat ramai2 beli KUDA…

xde minyak..

xde cukai jalan..

lagi banyak kuda lagi banyak kuasa (1 horse = 1 horse power)

Fikir-Fikirkan…

• HappyGuyz on Mar 04, 2010 at 2:58 am

I think the best is just follow current Brunei rule. Which is Brunei plate can pump Brunei price (B$ 0.53/ RM1.27) and Malaysia plate will be pump at unsubsidized price (B$ 1.18 / RM2.83) for their Shell Premium (RON97).

• gondoruo on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:22 pm

nak pakai minyak masak pon mahal gak…….kenaikkan harga minyak!!!?????