How much fuel do you consume a month?

Fuel Wallet GaugeThe 1st May new fuel subsidy system expected to be announced in March this year will likely involve those who qualify for subsidies only having a certain amount of litres of subsidised fuel a month. If you use beyond that allocated amount, you will have to pay the full price for your fuel.

The amount of litres to be given is said to be between 200 to 300 litres per vehicle and if you have multiple vehicles, you will only get 1 car’s worth of subsidised fuel. I think it would be interesting to set up a poll and see how much of fuel you use every month.

I easily refill my car about 6 to 7 times a month or more because I travel alot, and each refill is about 65 litres. That would peg my usage at about 400 to 450 litres per month, which means if I qualify for the full 300 litres of subsidy (hypothetically), I would have to pay the full price for my remaining 150 litres of fuel.

Assuming a subsidy of 50 sen per litre – that’s about RM75 extra a month. But then of course, since there is word that engine capacity is going to be taken into consideration, even though my daily driver’s engine capacity is of less than 2,000cc, because I own an old E30 with a 2.5 litre engine that I want to restore, I will probably not qualify for any subsidies.

What’s your story? Share your petrol/diesel consumption pattern with all of us here, and perhaps with luck some relevant people in the ministry can observe your comments and it can be taken into consideration. Let’s try to be constructive as well as keep to the topic for this particular post’s comments.

So – how much fuel in terms of litres do you consume a month? Do you expect that you’ll qualify for subsidies? Vote in the poll below and share your story in the comments section.

[polldaddy poll=2739607]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jarum on Feb 23, 2010 at 7:26 am

Around 120 litres per month

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 23, 2010 at 7:27 am

500 +++

• CAR 1: 1 tank = 70L

Full Tanks / Month = 15.

15x70L = 1050L

CAR 2 : 1 tank = 80L

Full Tanks / Month = 7

8 x 80L = 640L

CAR 3 : 1 tank = 100L

Full Tanks / Month = 10

10 x 100 = 1000L

1000L + 640L + 1050 = 2689 L / Month!

WONDERFUL! Lets burn some fuel!

• bigger cc mean drink more petrol than small cc..i think below 300 liter is suitable figure.. since lower group income own small cc car and only travel go to work place not more than 50km from home …for bisnessman ,sure they will travel alot.. everybody know bisnessman are rich and used bigger cc car…

• my household owns 5 cars, due to nature of business. so how the heck am i going to afford fuel from now on?

• i use about 400-500 liter of petrol a month for my 1500cc 10 yrs old national car due to long distance daily commute to workplace. Hoping that the new subsidy system will be fair enough for me and the rest of middle income rakyat.

• staff on Feb 23, 2010 at 7:44 am

i think it is some sort of weird to apply subsidies in this way…

How do they track this consumption? this is something to be clearly outlined…

dont be halfway introduction… then saying… ok, we take need to take it back coz it confusing ppl… like what happen to rear seat belt inforcement…

maybe they should try with the Govt fleet first… any govt fleet.. see what maybe the setback…

or, try it like what they apply for the fisherman… subsidy card… but still, try it within the govt agency first…

• klguy on Feb 23, 2010 at 7:51 am

typically i fuel up once a week (approx 30L x 4 =120L). once in two months i drive back to KL (my hometown) from penang (additional 60L for 2way). adding like 10L buffer (go shopping, makan makan with frens once a while), my worst is will be 120+60+10 = 190, round it up to 200L. still cukup. FYI, my car in only 1000CC.

• untill now, i still confused…sure got trouble if petrol station offline…or mycard cannot read…hehehe

• chanel (Member) on Feb 23, 2010 at 7:53 am

my work sometime require me to drive outstation which the company will pay for all the petrol usage. given the current situation, say each person is entitled to 250litres of petrol, when u travel long distance it's basically going to take about 100litres per trip easily…..so if the company pay based on the amount from the bill, which indirectly the comp also enjoying the subsidy….thus afterward I will only have about 150litres of petrol for my own use….complicated situation ahead….

• klguy on Feb 23, 2010 at 7:54 am

btw, some petrol station in ulu/kampung places doesnt even have credit card slot at the pump. i wander how this guys goin to cover the whole malaysia. firther more this is a govt project, it may take years/decades to get 100% of the petrol stations to be compliant. i'd say, its impossible. Malaysia Tak Bole :P

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 23, 2010 at 7:54 am

Dear Paul,

I have an anonymous "insider" from the fuel retailer team, it turns out the rumoured 200~300 litres is not true. It's half of that actually. You can fill up your standard sedan twice full tank only, about 100+ litres only. So it ain't looking good for all of us.

• osh_kosh on Feb 23, 2010 at 8:05 am

>500L per month…. whatever the system is I will surely take it into consideration when voting in the next GE… so be carefull dear Gov :)

• nazri on Feb 23, 2010 at 8:08 am

funny govment..

letsay mine 40L

40L x 10 = 400L.. that baru sikit.. not balik kg and lepak2 with my friend..

• I really wonder how much more effort now we would need to do just to get petrol. 1) Insert MyKad, 2) Thumb print 3) wait for verification 4) pay for fuel 5) pump petrol.

• huahuahua on Feb 23, 2010 at 8:12 am

ermm…

apa kata buat logbook mcm kereta govt

beli minyak, record mileage

kalau ada yg xbtol mcm beli minyak fulltank before, tp mileage jalan xjauh, bleh la amik tindakan

entah2 org tu jual minyak kat siam

• nationalcar lover on Feb 23, 2010 at 8:41 am

urghh…govt should sensitve with current sitution..all education facilities pulled back..sugar subsidy gone…now oil turn..this new rule absolutely not fair for those travel far away for their job….

• For those who live in KL and PJ area, we used more fuel as we travel far to our work place. For me, I travel 40km one trip, total 90km to 100km if included the trip go home and go for lunch…

• qwerty on Feb 23, 2010 at 9:04 am

My car consumes only 75 litres of petrol a month.

This doesn't really bother me. Extra litres I'll try and pump other cars.

• karpal singking on Feb 23, 2010 at 9:07 am

around 150-200 liters a month,

the rich pay more, the middle & poor pay less. I like it!

• Luckily I only use small car right now..thinking of bigger car and cc..but now..got to think twice..hmm

• mr brightside on Feb 23, 2010 at 12:01 pm

I drive a 1997 4.6L hse Range Rover. Upwards of 1000 litres of fuel every month. This subsidy is not going to be of much use to me.

• all of this because of foreign ppl pump our petrol…better go catch those corrupt official….most goverment money r gone in corruption…

• i'm having a RX8 and myvi at the same time, both are 1.3 liter. but i guess the fuel consumption is like 1 week rx8 = 1 month myvi. so i dont know how much petrol i need to pay extra a month, i use about 300 liter a month, hope it wont impact me.

• droll on Feb 23, 2010 at 2:17 pm

i don't think this will be a halfway introduction because money is being spent right now on hardware, software and infrastructure to support this crazy subsidy system (so damn complicated!).

• If the gov had bothered to upgrade and improve our public transport system I wouldn't mind as much them removing subsidies and all. But what do they do with all the savings? Apparently nothing.

1hr (or more) to wait for a stupid bus that doesn't come on time and takes an hour to reach city center is impossible. And lets not forget "If-the-bus-ain't-full-I'm-not-moving" syndrome from privatised bus companies.

Solve one bloody problem first before introducing another dammit.

• u mean the rear seat belt usage is not compulsory anymore, staff?

• jimmy on Feb 23, 2010 at 3:16 pm

My father gave me an old Volvo 740 to drive over to KL for study.

Since I'm a student, and Volvo 740 is a drinker, I have been trying hard to keep my petrol usage low, but it still uses averagely 200liters a month.

I pay for my own petrol, from my loan.

What would it be without the subsidy?

• alxand@mitsubishi@ss on Feb 23, 2010 at 3:18 pm

no cap is better then just divert the subs to other tat will benefits every1, as for seat belt… it's unclear, does it mean no need wear at back? tat's BS… a step backward for safety

• Mazda 3 MPS is a sto on Feb 23, 2010 at 4:17 pm

on my 1000cc car …I'm using up to 250 litters monthly for WORK ONLY…if include leisure gonna exceed over 300 litters depending on the traveling distance

• dejavu on Feb 23, 2010 at 4:35 pm

Though my avg monthly amount of fuel is <300 L (daily Pg island n mainland between car or bike), I just cant see d justice n fairness for owners of ol cars wit 1.8cc n up n those ppl who own multiple vehicles for their kids, wife or parents. U do not nd to b a rocket scientist to figure out if a '91 2.0cc N.Bluebird or Corona is better of than a current Vios owner, rite?

After all, we r all mostly already tax payers wit rates accordin to income n engine cc.

• As recently news, the nightmare has come…

Why when fuel price increase, everything also increase?

Fuel price down, everything still remain the same.

When fuel price increase again, everything also increase.

Why gov never force everything to decrease when fuel price?

Somemore car's inport tax has caused the car prices so expensive.

Now, plus fuel prices also going to increase..

Salary no increase… even yes, also not enough to cover for all these…

Really cannot "tahan"… no wonder crime case increase surrounding us.

Disappointing…

• gen2lama on Feb 23, 2010 at 4:41 pm

i use about 400-500 liter of petrol a month for my 1500cc 10 yrs old national car due to long distance daily commute to workplace. Hoping that the new subsidy system will be fair enough for me and the rest of middle income rakyat.

—————————————————————-

i used to pump more than 500lt per month 2 years ago…with 1.80/ltr…cost around RM900…if choose RON97 @ 2.05 ?…RM1025…..

but now i only spent 20% of that amount + higher RON than RON 97….

…..go green on natural gas…proven 80% more on yr wallet…6 month balik modal…..

• I refill 3-4 times per month, with 32-35L each time. Luckily I took LRT to work and only drive on weekends or whenever I had too. Plus my car has a good fuel consumption.

• minyak masak on Feb 23, 2010 at 4:41 pm

for ppl who live in Seremban/Nilai/Bangi/Klang/Bukit Jelutong who drives to work in KL, i think they will consume more petrol..

Lower and middle income people with family could not afford afford to stay within the Golden Triangle Areas because of the price of the houses are insanely high…

If the new subsidy plan to be imposed, perhaps there should be a home subsidy so that ppl can afford to live at the place near to their office. I believe many ppl working in KL now are opting to stay far away from their office due to the housing price in KL. If the subsidy being imposed, it will burden them.

Else, improve the public transport and the traffic jam. So that ppl can take the public transport. To my experience taking the Putra LRT from wangsa maju to KLCC in the morning during weekedays, the LRT will be full when it arrives at Wangsa Maju (the 3rd Station from Terminal Putra). So ppl in Setiawangsa until Damai Station have to wait since they cannot get in at its 'Sardine Full'.

Maybe our PM or other VIPs should drive to work without being escorted by the Kuda Putih so that they will experience how pack and jam is the traffic nowadays. By doing so they will feel how pressurize their Rakyat when it comes to traffic jam.

Remember Rakyat didahulukan Pencapaian diutamakan.

Jgnla dahulukan rakyat dengan cukai, extra chrages etc and hoping the pencapaian will be raised.

Just my 2cents!!!

• Shaycoat on Feb 23, 2010 at 4:45 pm

The G should bare in mind that most of the lower income families used second hand Proton which is carburetor based engine. Think about 10 years old car with this inefficient engine, they consumed more than 300 liter per month

• lutfi on Feb 23, 2010 at 4:45 pm

To staff,

This is possible to happen.

Lets see the education sector.

Few years back, English teaching is superb.

Now, they said Malay teaching more suitable.

They spent and wasted how much of our money to send the teachers for training and setup for all courses.

Now they want to revert back to the previous one.

So, lets see what will happen next.

Really an interesting show in our country.

• acerman on Feb 23, 2010 at 4:46 pm

What about people who have cars like Kancil and Viva from the same owners?

"….if you have multiple vehicles, you will only get 1 car’s worth of subsidised fuel…"

Must they scarifies one car for the other 'cause both are under 2,000 cc…

• vee-dub on Feb 23, 2010 at 4:56 pm

300 Litres, lucky wifey has no car eeh

• Chrisytc on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:04 pm

I owned a 1984 BMW E30 323i, similar case with u Paul, and this car is a big drinker. i only drive to work and back home everyday still cost me about 200Liters per month. If G decide only to subsidy for those below 2000cc then probably i have to force to sell my Baby E30.

• i have no car or bike registered under me….so , i must buy a car/bike to let me entitled for subsidy ?

• mitsublover on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:19 pm

Not sure how the gov implemented it. last time for the diesel subsidy, they had forced all the oilco to produce the subsidy card and distribute (via registration) to the eligible applicant. Think they maybe doing the same. It may cause havoc at first but then it'll slow down. as for rural areas, they may reinforce those ppl to keep a log on their own and for travellers they may charge at a higher price regardless if their litres have not bursed the quota given.

Lucky me, I only hv 1 2.0L car. pooling with wifey to work. about 400L per month. :( sigh…

p/s: lets wait and see how gov decide heh…

• quottro on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:21 pm

refill my car like 8 to 10 full tanks a month…

so this is no good news… at least to me

• bongok_la_weh on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:21 pm

dulu pasal rebate touch n go tu kecoh2 jugak pastu senyap…

same jugakla dgn isu ni nanti…

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:22 pm

I'm personally using 130L per month with my 1.8 Satria. Benefits of living in a small town with no traffic jam.

My wife has her own car..yep the notoriously fuel mad Wira 1.5 Auto (even its FInjected)..and that one uses about 150L a month just to get to work and back….too bad she doesn't like to drive the smaller 3rd car, a Tiara, which will only use up 1/2 that amount.

I do sympatise with the people that have to commute into and out of KL on a daily basis. We all know how much property is in KL. The fuel cost will seriously eat into their PDI.

if you use an old carburetted wira 1.5L auto AND commute. Die standing already. Last time I had one for a week….beh tahan…1 full tank 250km run dry already.

We Malaysians are denied, good, safe and fuel efficient cars. And for people who think small cars save fuel, don't think a Kancil auto is fuel sippy.

• Redyoyo on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:30 pm

In my opinion, I think our gov should just forget about fuel subsidy and channel the money to subsidised other consumer product eg: rice, flour, milk. Why? The implementation of the new system already cost how much? The maintenance of software, hardware, human power how much? This two in the end may price more than fuel subsidy value& don't forget they are financed by taxpayer aka you& me. So, float the fuel, the money channel to other less complicated controlled products.

• opaque on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:35 pm

dear lutfi,

think who want to revert back to bm. we get what we ask for. the G just follow. this fuel sell to foreigners also from the rakyat. jb folks will win coz sporean will less commute to jb and things in jb will be cheaper. win for jbeans and a loss for business

• DieselIsBest on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:38 pm

People, with today's technology, larger engine capacity doesn't always equate to higher fuel consumption. Have been using a relatively high cc diesel and can vouch that my total fuel bill per month is very much lower than a person using the smallest Kancil travelling the same km.

IMHO this 'costly' mechanism to manage the subsidy is really foolish. If you feel that your fuel bill is too high, then do the thing which people around the world is doing, GO DIESEL and save at least 50% in your fuel bill.

• cokelat on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:38 pm

normal mode:

1 honda wave -rm30/month

1 kelisa (wife) -rm160/month

balik kampung mode:

1 kelisa -rm150

total about rm350/month@ 200 liter+/-.

I use ron97 for balik kampung since ron95 give me the itchy ride.

this subsidy stuff surely affect my decision for upgrading my fleet this year…

• G should enhance the public transport FIRST, then talking about reducing sub petrol which encourage ppl taking public transport instead.

• kodok on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:44 pm

this will make or break my vote in the next GE..good for people & u'll get my vote!

• JudgeDread on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:49 pm

I like this plan. It is fair. Rich people pay more

• The Royal Academy of on Feb 23, 2010 at 5:53 pm

more than 500 easily

• 2.3L Lover on Feb 23, 2010 at 6:04 pm

I seriously thought of buying a sub – 2.5L car 2 months ago (Mazda 6, Ford Mondeo, Accord 2.4, etc) but pulled back my plan due to this uncertain policy. 2 of my friends also pulled their brakes.

It's not entirely about the fuel subsidy, since we already planned to buy big cc cars. We all know if G makes some losses from a place, they will sure go to other places to gain it back. What if they implement much higher road tax or insurance to cars over 2000cc? What if they jack up duties in CBU parts? More ridiculously, what if they implement COE (like Singapore) to cars over 2000cc??!!

Like my Mat Salleh friend (that has lived in Malaysia for years) said, ANYTHING CAN HAPPEN IN THIS COUNTRY!

• mr_3m on Feb 23, 2010 at 6:04 pm

with mykad and fingerprint system… i can imagine petrol pump queues will be like at the EPF/KWSP e-kiosk when you want to print a statement… it will be sooooo long espcially during lunchtime…

i commute around 80-90km per day… fill up about 33liters every 4 days… driving a 1.5ltr car… all in all about 240-250liters per month of fuel..

good thing that my spouse work less than 2km from our house… so the other car don't consume so much fuel…

• imantulen on Feb 23, 2010 at 6:34 pm

this subsidy thingy gonna penalise those

1. who stays far from their place of work…

2. families who can only afford to own one car & sends wife to work, children to baby sitters, to school, etc…..

3. govt servants who works in PutraJaya, but stays in KL, PJ & Seremban….

solution: vote the current govt out in the next election…..

• If Rakyat didahulukan, will our gov:

Reduce income tax, import tax, sales tax, fuel price, gst, sugar price, rice price, other sundry goods prices……

Cancel toll price, credit card tax……

Ya, during dreaming……zzzz……

• Let say i use less 300liter of petrol, can the remaining balance be carry forward to the next month?

• saga_ngv on Feb 23, 2010 at 6:43 pm

urm, luckily both my car use ngv system.but i still not agree with the G on the subsidy system.

• Mufasa on Feb 23, 2010 at 6:53 pm

1. i suggest gov charge (city toll) every vehicle(including motocycle) that communite to the city in peak hour…

2. so each vehicke have to use something like next generation smart tag aa….. all vehicle(including motocycle) MUST have this equipment.

3.kamon aa,,we have to reduce number of vehicle in the city…so only people who have money can use car in city….

4. less car in city mean, traffic flow better,,,traffic flow better,then bus will be faster….. currently bus trip take too much time…due to not a good traffic flow….

5. this 'city toll' should be increase slow ly….very slow…start from rm0.01…why?

6. coz from that charged, gov can use it to buy more bus + people also start slowly to swap their transportation mode.

7.if all people use bus at same time, i dont think current bus capacity is enough…

8. there will be side effect…for sure,,,but we have target to improve public trasnport…

9. requirement: a DICTATOR ….. ISA also can be use

• azlan on Feb 23, 2010 at 7:14 pm

em as far as i concern, only 1st 100 liter to be subsidized! (just met people from petronas yesterday). Is time for sale of NGV boost again!! (now price to install NGV reach 7k for injection engine)

increase gas price? of course taxi fare will increase as well…

is that true gov will revise the price of car? persona for only 20k? if so, i do believe that interest for car loan will boost for 5-10%.

TQ our lovely gov..it is true that rakyat didahulukan!

• aksMs on Feb 23, 2010 at 7:15 pm

jimmy said,

February 23, 2010 @ 7:16 am

My father gave me an old Volvo 740 to drive over to KL for study.

Since I’m a student, and Volvo 740 is a drinker, I have been trying hard to keep my petrol usage low, but it still uses averagely 200liters a month.

——————————————————————

jimmy, is your dad the famous Jeremy Clarkson? LOL! Just teasing you, alright?

Anyway, I still could not figure out how are the G going to do this. If sY0H was right, 100-150 litres per month is peanut! My only question is, where is the money saved from the previous fuel price increase? Ask Pak Lah. Where did it go? What happen to the promise to upgrade the public transport system? We as the rakyat has the right to ask for our money back. But this, only to be taken some more! Ini mendatangkan marah!

• nizarif on Feb 23, 2010 at 7:18 pm

I drive a 1.4 TSI and this car does not consume much gas. Monthly i would spend bout 350L.

;-)

• Mufasa on Feb 23, 2010 at 7:47 pm

is that true gov will revise the price of car? persona for only 20k? if so, i do believe that interest for car loan will boost for 5-10%.

TQ our lovely gov..it is true that rakyat didahulukan!

——————————————

in india,,,interrest is 10% for 3 years… and car price is about 25% cheaper…i10 case

what about other country? share please

• how can u all use so much fuel…i hav manage only 168ltr per month that 6 times (actually 4 times only 111.5ltr) a month for rm50 (27.888ltr)..everyday 70km(go and back) shah alam – pulau indah..thats saga 1.3 auto…it show all other car <1.6 r not fuel efficient..if im not forget people here claim other car maker very fuel efficient..eg 1ltr for 100km la..blabla la..

• xavier lert on Feb 23, 2010 at 8:20 pm

more then 300L surely…..live at rawang and drive 2L car…..mister G …u need to think something to get more money …from other source of cos….and please stop digging our pocket….

• chanlman (Member) on Feb 23, 2010 at 8:21 pm

I'm a weekend parent. So I travel every weekend on PLUS highway.

My latest consumption for Jan 2010 is about RM435 on RON97 only.

That's RM435 / RM2.05 = 212 Liters

* do we post comment in this post or in the poll?

• wuttaheck on Feb 23, 2010 at 8:24 pm

Chrisytc said,

February 23, 2010 @ 9:04 am

I owned a 1984 BMW E30 323i, similar case with u Paul, and this car is a big drinker. i only drive to work and back home everyday still cost me about 200Liters per month. If G decide only to subsidy for those below 2000cc then probably i have to force to sell my Baby E30.

i'll be more than happy to buy it :)

when can i see it?hehe

• xavier lert on Feb 23, 2010 at 8:31 pm

KZM said,

February 23, 2010 @ 11:50 am

how can u all use so much fuel…i hav manage only 168ltr per month that 6 times (actually 4 times only 111.5ltr) a month for rm50 (27.888ltr)..everyday 70km(go and back) shah alam – pulau indah..thats saga 1.3 auto…it show all other car <1.6 r not fuel efficient..if im not forget people here claim other car maker very fuel efficient..eg 1ltr for 100km la..blabla la..

————————————————–

how u drive and hows ur traffic….?? and its ron97 (coz 95 is not advisable)….i travel abt 100km perday….wit 2.0 car 1 fulltank(40L; my tank is small) can last abt 3.5 days….drive at NS hiway…u cant drive 110!!!? when u speedup lil bit then came stupid ppl sudenly changing lane……hard braking cause more fuel consumption!!…inside KL u can go like 1 hour witout moving….idling thats fuel consumption tooo…..lota lota reason why people consum alot of gas…if ur not thats good for u….

+ i use Vpower…thts my problem anyway… :p

• haizzz i might have to use motor to work la lepas ni despite the risk (choyyy touch wood) and danger. then treat my car as weekend car onli.

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 23, 2010 at 8:40 pm

LOL…if Persona was indeed 20K, I would care less if the loan was 5-10%. I'll just buy cash.

The problem is, even when the old Wira was 55K, interest not that long ago was mind numbingly almost 5%

A few years back, you can buy a Mitsu Lancer for under USD20K and pay 0 percent interest and on top of theat something like a 10 year warranty.

Of course you live there, work there, you don't convert the currency back.

• Anak Malaysia on Feb 23, 2010 at 9:12 pm

G said that their objective are:

1) Rich people pay more

2) Foreigner cannot get subsidies

Easy to full fill it

For 1st obj: a) LHDN will tax them with special tax.

b) 2.0 cc car paid higher road tax (average their fuel consumption)

For 2nd objective a) Tax the foreigner with tax with how long they stay in our country when ever they enter our country

So we already full fill the obj & no need to waste money to install device at petrol pump that they will give to their croni….

But from my view their real obj are

1) They dont have money to subsidize the fuel any more that why which ever your are low income but u only get around 150 L per mothh

2) They want to give to their croni to install the device…. hahahahhaa

For me the real thinks is to make sure no corruption in our gov servant that we can get more money to our country either than only to individual that corrupt… if no corruption i thinks our G can give 50% subsidies to oil price

• what about students/wife using cars that have been registered under their parents/spouse name? if u need to queue 2 use mykad, does that mean u have to have the parents'/spouse's mykad just to buy fuel at subsidy price? if d registered car owner does not present at that time, holding others mykad is illegal rite? so how then?

• clone on Feb 23, 2010 at 9:16 pm

DieselIsBest said,

February 23, 2010 @ 9:38 am

People, with today’s technology, larger engine capacity doesn’t always equate to higher fuel consumption. Have been using a relatively high cc diesel and can vouch that my total fuel bill per month is very much lower than a person using the smallest Kancil travelling the same km.

IMHO this ‘costly’ mechanism to manage the subsidy is really foolish. If you feel that your fuel bill is too high, then do the thing which people around the world is doing, GO DIESEL and save at least 50% in your fuel bill.

It's true indeed, have been comparing my sister's Kancil 660cc with Toyota Land Cruiser 3000cc, the come out is diesel car used less fuel compared with the smallest engine displacement which is Kancil 660cc. Some people might wont believe it, but I already tested it.

• simple subsidy like before, float the price to market.

everybody with income less RM 2500, anak dia orang free education until form 5

everybody with car/van/mpv less than/equal 1600 cc,

option 1 :rebate RM 625 like before(valid up to 2 cars under same name.) per year.company car included too.

Option 2:rebate 20% from the annual fuel bill(difficult to control due too many people can manipulate receipt)

try this with goverment staff and see the result.

just an idea

• mohgui (Member) on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:03 pm

i wonder if the MyKad system can cope with high usage traffic. just look at the Autogate machines at the Immigration checkpoints… half the time, they are not working. i suspect that this new fuel subsidy system will be half-baked too. initially, it will work like magic. after a while when things start to break down, tempers will start to fly.

• mohgui (Member) on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:05 pm

erm… do owners of bike subjected to this ruling too? i've been reading posts by dudes here but don't think anyone mentioned about bikes.

• mrromeo on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:07 pm

Dear READERs,

The next General election is not far away from now.

Only tycoons are earning and doing day light robbery by privatising TV, Cellular, Sugar, Rice etc. They earn at the cost of our living.

Well rakyat has been fooled all the time and if govt they increase the fuel price now, they just give a foolish comparison with other countries . The affect will be another hike in prices for food and groceries item in the stores.

Lets compare, My recent visit to Bangaluru, India.

Satellite Dish TV(BIG TV) 100channels, pay <Rs 2000/year. Here(??)

Hand Phone, 1paise(.007cens) per second i.e 60paise(less than 1mysen).

1500 Rps/month in the form of cupons for all private employees given by karnataka govt, to buy groceries,dining, lunch food etc.

And of course their fuel price is higher than us, but look into the cost of living, which is really competitive than ours here.

Here, our cost of liviing is high, and it is difficult to save money for middle class people here.

• p1basher on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:16 pm

my work place too near my house, actually i consume around 60 liter a month, i hope gov come up with rebate again so extra cash earn he he he :)

• hadi1975 on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:18 pm

before if u want to fill up it's bayar…angkat…tolak…masuk…picit…

now….ic@thumb print….bayar…angkat…tolak…masuk…picit….crazeee…

an idea for our policymakers….why not reduce the taxes on cars and float the prices of fuel…cars become cheaper so the rakyat don't have to make car loan up to 9 years….less money pay to the along ( bank) more money to spend….just my 2 cents guys….

• goldfries on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:19 pm

in which other country do you see car loans that go to 9 years?

:) funny it seems, how fresh grads in AUS or UK could just settle the cost of their new car within a year.

c'mon la M'sia! we're a country blessed with land area, natural resources, talented individuals, great food, having peace and relatively little natural disasters and we still have to pay through our noses for transportation.

• p1basher on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:28 pm

jimmy, is your dad the famous Jeremy Clarkson? LOL! Just teasing you, alright?

Anyway, I still could not figure out how are the G going to do this. If sY0H was right, 100-150 litres per month is peanut! My only question is, where is the money saved from the previous fuel price increase? Ask Pak Lah. Where did it go? What happen to the promise to upgrade the public transport system? We as the rakyat has the right to ask for our money back. But this, only to be taken some more! Ini mendatangkan marah!

———————————–

totally agreed man. the tolls are everywhere in kl now, if u are not careful or unfamiliar, u can end up paying too much for a trip. useless, totally useless gov.

if we have to pay more for fuel, drop the car price. where is the previous money when price drop and our price still stay at rm2.70? rubbish, totally rubbish gov.

is not like we want to drive, most of the place in klang valley no public transport. what a failure government. even in penang suppose shud have lrt everywhere so ppl can save fuel save the earth, but still not even 1 lrt built.

• redwings on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:35 pm

Aiyo..everyone looking at the daily monthly consumption, and our government never study in details on all aspects.

The next time festival or Raya/Deepavali/Chirstmas/CNY back kampung trip will be on unsubsidy fuel?

• Squawk on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:49 pm

NGV to make a comeback soon?

Paul, you mentioned you will not be eligible for subsidies because of your E30…. are they going to pick the car with higher capacity to register for you?

Those who stay in Rawang, Seremban, Bangi, Kemuning but work in KL… oops.

Those who work jobs that "must have own transport" and "willing to travel"… good luck.

100liters a month… I think I'll spend most of my time either near office or near home (walking distance preferred). The other places that I used to jalan jalan cari makan, sorry, you'll lose 1 customer. I also used to drive outstation to makan angin and makan makan. I think that's just going to happen maybe once or twice a year only.

But before you retards in the government do this, please IMPROVE THE PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION! Not just KL but in Klang Valley AND other states!!!

• Squawk on Feb 23, 2010 at 11:03 pm

Ok another thing, will GST be applicable to petrol?

• Azizi on Feb 24, 2010 at 12:16 am

How about me, have 1 car and 1 motorcycle. Can I get the subsidy for my motor? Motor if don't have subsidy susah gak. Have to pay more.

• KaiXan on Feb 24, 2010 at 12:18 am

I used around 350 liter per month.

But there's no vehicle register under my name? Do I still qualify for the subsidies?

• dukenborg on Feb 24, 2010 at 12:20 am

I think to prevent people selling off their access liters of petrol, the system should be able to keep track of the access amount of a user, then forward the access liters of fuel to the next month, just like how the pre-paid cell phone systems do with unused credit. Over time, your fuel account builds up as it accumulates & you can spend this by going "balik-kampung", traditionally when the heaviest usage of fuel occurs.

• nigttrain on Feb 24, 2010 at 12:21 am

Economic Planning Unit, somehow I think they didn't plan this through. Something's gotta give. But what? To make this kind of decision will need at least 6 months worth of research(all levels of socio-economic-politic-geographic) and normally costs 7 figures to get done. Then only you can table a proper proposal, without anyone getting angry and you have a logical answer to any question.

• nightmaire on Feb 24, 2010 at 12:35 am

Cabinet to decide on new power tariff tomorrow:

Electric also will rise tomorrow… wat next?

• wochomi on Feb 24, 2010 at 12:55 am

We pay toll more or petrol more?

My money, how much petrol I want to buy also can. Why govt wanna restrict and put 2-tier system in 1Malaysia? Are we becoming Communist Country? Look around you and see the monopoly.

• intermilan on Feb 24, 2010 at 1:06 am

my side of story:

petrol consumption, monthly average:

160L of RON97.

I believe i'm in the 'below average' group when it come to monthly fuel consumption.

And that's if no travelling out of town. Just to and back from workplace and the occasional weekend trips around town. My car real-world fuel efficiency rate is quite okay, usually achieved 12km/L.

Car with better fuel efficient engine and driver should benefit more than petrol guzzler, either car with big or small cc. Give owners more mileage, that is.

The amount of petrol the G might want to consider subsidising should be pegged at minimum 200L per month. Most city dwellers use more fuel, no thanks to the inefficient road & transport networks (hitting traffic jam is a must) and the fact that work place is far from home.

If G want to subside only 100L per month, please passed a legislation that will leads to reduction of vehicle and its parts price first!

Lower the tax on all vehicles on sale, abolish the exhorbitant import and excise duties (especially on European CBU unit). And definitely reduce the inner city highways toll rates too. its just killing.

Shouldn't limit eligibility for the fuel subsidy to vehicle with less than 2,000cc engine (assuming). Raise it to, let say 3,000cc for privately-owned vehicle. They are your rakyat too. Don't ignore old car with big engine. Most of their owners just couldn't afford to switch car anymore. Most new big engine cars (Merc, BMW) are registered under company, they shouldn't be allow or able to enjoy the subsidy as it is use for 'commercial purposes'.

The G should also subsidise ron97 petrol too (the subsidise liter might be less than ron95 as the subsidised quantum per liter for ron97 might be bigger than ron95). Some car need ron97 to run properly (no knocking or pinging). G will be subsidising for the same amount of money. G won't rugi. Vehicle owners will just get less subsidise petrol (if buy RON97).

• intermilan on Feb 24, 2010 at 1:10 am

nightmaire said,

February 23, 2010 @ 4:35 pm

=====================================

Based on my latest electricity bill, I believe power tariff already naik. Checkout your newest bill and compared it with last month bill.

And the raise seem to be very obvious! Syabas TNB!

• not applicable to east msia where we have more pickup here bcos of our wonderful road condition

• goldfries said,

February 23, 2010 @ 2:19 pm

in which other country do you see car loans that go to 9 years?

:) funny it seems, how fresh grads in AUS or UK could just settle the cost of their new car within a year.

c’mon la M’sia! we’re a country blessed with land area, natural resources, talented individuals, great food, having peace and relatively little natural disasters and we still have to pay through our noses for transportation.

——————–

singapore(10yrs)..do u wan me to add some more..n there r some country require at least 20% downpayment, high interest rates for up to 5yrs..wan to add oso ka?…do u hav a proof fresh grad in aus and uk can settle so fast…or just pop up in ur head..eg Aus interest rate start at 13% bet 1-7 yrs n uk rate start from 8%-24% 1-5yrs..the grad might be very rich

• wochomi said,

February 23, 2010 @ 4:55 pm

We pay toll more or petrol more?

My money, how much petrol I want to buy also can. Why govt wanna restrict and put 2-tier system in 1Malaysia? Are we becoming Communist Country? Look around you and see the monopoly.

———————-

does anyone restrict how much petrol u buy..the restrict only on subs fuel not fuel itself

• Malacca on Feb 24, 2010 at 1:24 am

For me.. if G want to increase.. better synchronize all… here in Malaysia even you rich.. still need to pay xtra income tax.. esspecially right now… we have to pay more tax than ever..

If you think back.. not fair to the rich people and company.. because the pay more for the tax.. and G use their money for the system's installation.. G spend which I believe more than a million for the system… and the contract given to the cronies..

Finally some people (Those datuk2 become richer and richer), while the burden will be on us…

• Malacca on Feb 24, 2010 at 1:28 am

It's not Rakyat Didahulukan.. it is Rakyat Dahulukan "Money"..

• nigttrain said,

February 23, 2010 @ 4:21 pm

Economic Planning Unit, somehow I think they didn’t plan this through. Something’s gotta give. But what? To make this kind of decision will need at least 6 months worth of research(all levels of socio-economic-politic-geographic) and normally costs 7 figures to get done. Then only you can table a proper proposal, without anyone getting angry and you have a logical answer to any question.

—————————

don u remember since last year they bolehland start the research…n we all start to whining at that time don u remember..all the article bout that is here in paultan.org

• Malacca said,

February 23, 2010 @ 5:24 pm

For me.. if G want to increase.. better synchronize all… here in Malaysia even you rich.. still need to pay xtra income tax.. esspecially right now… we have to pay more tax than ever..

If you think back.. not fair to the rich people and company.. because the pay more for the tax.. and G use their money for the system’s installation.. G spend which I believe more than a million for the system… and the contract given to the cronies..

Finally some people (Those datuk2 become richer and richer), while the burden will be on us…

————————–

i tot in last bajet it was reduce 1%…+ cheaper broadband due to rm500 rebat..how can u pay more..GST make KFC,pizza hut, etc cheaper, rite now service tax is 5% after GST 4% rite….if u said u pay more thats puzzling..r u in malaysia by the way…I HOPE U READ THIS

In year 2010, Malaysia income tax range is from 0 to 26%.

For those who are not able to enjoy the 1% income tax reduction due to not being taxed at the maximum income tax rate, you still will enjoy the benefit from the

– Increase in the personal relief from RM8,000 to RM9,000

– Tax relief for EPF contribution and life insurance that was increased from RM6,000 to RM7,00. This increase of RM1,000 is for relief on annuity premium paid from 1 January 2010 for retirement scheme offered by insurance companies.

– A new tax relief of up to RM500 per year for Internet broadband subscription fee from 2010 to 2012

• realistic on Feb 24, 2010 at 2:07 am

I think we need to be realistic here… we have to face reality that soon MY will be running out of petrol and become nett importer. I rather take the medicine now and "train" the acceptance that subsidy will go away in 3-5 years time. Gradually reduce subsidy and one day totally none. This is better than the "cold turkey" treatment.

Just imagine today you can smoke… tomorrow they tell you no more ciggies sold in MY. Going cold turkey will bring shock to the system and "paralyse" a person due to shock to the body. Imagine what would happen to our country and economy if Petronas says.. sorry sir no more petrol. we get the cold turkey treatment… petrol goes from $1.90 to $3.00 (this is the real price in the market). Our bowl of noodle / rice will increase dramatically.

The effect was seen in Indonesia… best bite the bullet now before we end up with street protest like in Indo and riots.

• rexis on Feb 24, 2010 at 2:09 am

Another 1001Malaysia plan. Everybody has different requirement and needs. So now you give 300 litres to everybody that has the targetted car.

Now people would store subsidy fuel 3 months prior their balik kampung trip in their kitchen, occasionally you would see huge fireballs mushroom cloud appear in housing area.

My situation same as KaiXan, there’s no vehicle register under my name, do I still qualify for the subsidies?

• DunnoWatToSay on Feb 24, 2010 at 2:10 am

I'm sure there'll b more MyKad stealing cases after the implementation…Pls upgrade transportation in KL b4 implementing any ridiculous system tht'll burden rakyat…

• tikus on Feb 24, 2010 at 2:18 am

How about salesman which traval alot ??

• dinesh on Feb 24, 2010 at 5:19 am

giving subsidy for fuel according to the number of litres per month is a good step…but if it is according to the engine capacity,than it will be the worst idea.can the goverment say that a owner of a chery eastar is a rich individual as it is using 2.4cc engine..or a mini cooper jcw owner can be proved that he/she is a poor individual as it is using a 1.6cc engine..

• scanzew on Feb 24, 2010 at 5:21 am

realistic said,

I think we need to be realistic here… we have to face reality that soon MY will be running out of petrol and become nett importer. I rather take the medicine now and “train” the acceptance that subsidy will go away in 3-5 years time. Gradually reduce subsidy and one day totally none. This is better than the “cold turkey” treatment.

Just imagine today you can smoke… tomorrow they tell you no more ciggies sold in MY. Going cold turkey will bring shock to the system and “paralyse” a person due to shock to the body. Imagine what would happen to our country and economy if Petronas says.. sorry sir no more petrol. we get the cold turkey treatment… petrol goes from $1.90 to $3.00 (this is the real price in the market). Our bowl of noodle / rice will increase dramatically.

The effect was seen in Indonesia… best bite the bullet now before we end up with street protest like in Indo and riots.

———————————————————

yeah, totally agree with ur point..maybe this year oil price skyrocketing again and maybe 'peak oil' phenomena cause oil worth $180-200 per barrell..haha..

we become net importer on 2013 and we didn't hav even a drop of petrol anymore at 2023…so be prepareed…when 2023 or early, opposition can't say they can make promise they can make petrol at RM1.80 again meanwhile the market price at RM6/litre and malaysia in end of oil..

haha…

TAKDAK MODAL DAH….haha..pakai air liur boleh la

• singh on Feb 24, 2010 at 5:24 am

Whatever govt implement, its always RAKYAT DIDAHULUKAN. thats wat BN will say. Govt already subsidize the rakyat sp long and we must be THANKFUL with govt. Mark my words that this govt gonna say. SAD BUT TRUE. we can cry and protest but nothing will happen. :)

• think on Feb 24, 2010 at 5:24 am

is it tue that ,the tax on cars is going to be reduced in may2010 inline with the new fuel subsidy system..i heard this from many inividuals including sales executives…?????????

• rhizopora on Feb 24, 2010 at 5:42 am

Govt action cover the whole nation. not only cars that cause city center jam pack. So what will happen to village folk. further more bus fare,.. taxi fare etc will go up sooner or later. i dont think it will solve traffic jam.

• Azizi said,

How about me, have 1 car and 1 motorcycle. Can I get the subsidy for my motor? Motor if don’t have subsidy susah gak. Have to pay more.

————————————————————–

just suck petrol from your car tank…or you can put petrol into bottle when you pump petrol for yor car. after you get back home, just fill into motor la..

• homeboy on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:01 am

me : 4-5 x 52liter = 208-260 liter

-home to college

-2500cc

my dad : 4 x 60 liter = 240 liter

-home to office

-3000cc t

my mom : 4 x 30 liter = 120 liter

-send kids to school, go to pasar, etc

-1500cc

my sis : 4 x 30 liter = 120 liter

-1300cc

• fookyuan on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:47 am

Common living expenses in Klang Valley:

========================

Accomodation: 350

Cellphone: 100

Broadband: 100

Car Loan: 600

Parking: 100

Toll: 100

Petrol: 250

Education Loan: 200 (working class hero need to be grateful & service PTPN loan, else new generations will suffer)

Food: 450 (working class hero only have 5.00 budget per meal * 3 times * 30 days)

=======================

Total Expenses: 2250

=======================

Average fresh grad. earn RM2500.00 (best case scenario, i bet most of us earns even lesser than that when we came out back then)

Computation: 2500 – 2250 = 250 balance

===========================

This excludes all the mandatory stuff such as EPF, SOCSO, INCOME TAX etc.

Working class hero doesn't even have Personal/Health Insurance

Is this the direction our working class heroes are heading for ??

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:23 am

Just change the government. No point we argue, we are wasting our time and energy complaining (including myself). I can list down a lot of "sources" for these "haywire" mess we are in; Tax, Duty, AP, NAP, Proton and the list goes on till kingdom comes. Just format the government as what any IT guy would do to a corrupted computer, just reformat the hardisk. Nevermind, if we have to start all over again, its way better being tricked and cheated again for the next 50 years. Let's vote them out, as 1Malaysia!

• mohgui (Member) on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:02 am

seriously, the starting pay for the common people is very low. there is hardly no savings to be made.

• blaster on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:04 am

me

Working only 25L x 4 week = 100L

Other activity including balik kampung almost 300KM

60L

Total around 160L for me

Not affected for me at all :)

I think 300L is can consider okay as most will not exceed that range especially the low income ppl

If your working need to travel and you can claim back for the petrol. Why you need to pum for subsidise petroll. Just pum the normal rate, you company will pay what if you company pay base on the receipt for the petrol.

• RedLine on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:09 am

========================

Education Loan: 200 (working class hero need to be grateful & service PTPN loan, else new generations will suffer)

This is an example of a typical young person / fresh grad who is living beyond their means!

Firstly, if your salary is low, then buy a 1-3 year old second hand car. You can get it for around RM400 monthly only. Save RM200. I see far too many young people with small salaries want to drive Vios and City, and ended taking 9 year loan with high monthly installment. Not smart at all.

Next, broadband, get the 512k only which is around RM60 only. Save RM40.

Cellphone – control your hp usage. Take the RM50 monthly plan or better still, use prepaid. Save RM50.

Education Loan – not all people have this. Save RM200.

Total saving – RM490. There you go, by spending within your means, you can "earn" extra money of almost RM500 per month.

• Maserati on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:30 am

I have got 3 cars under my name.

They each have 3 different CCs.

1.5l

2.0l

1.3l

So meaning I can only get 300litres for 3 cars??!!!!!!

That means 100 litres /month for each car?! That bulllshit!

And one more question,can I fill up petrol for a car that is registered under my bro's name?

Wow,so many unanswered questions.Wonder how the hell they gonna implement this crap.

• Maserati on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:40 am

DieselIsBest said,

February 23, 2010 @ 9:38 am

People, with today’s technology, larger engine capacity doesn’t always equate to higher fuel consumption. Have been using a relatively high cc diesel and can vouch that my total fuel bill per month is very much lower than a person using the smallest Kancil travelling the same km.

IMHO this ‘costly’ mechanism to manage the subsidy is really foolish. If you feel that your fuel bill is too high, then do the thing which people around the world is doing, GO DIESEL and save at least 50% in your fuel bill.

It’s true indeed, have been comparing my sister’s Kancil 660cc with Toyota Land Cruiser 3000cc, the come out is diesel car used less fuel compared with the smallest engine displacement which is Kancil 660cc. Some people might wont believe it, but I already tested it.

That's utter bullcrap.

I think your LAND CRUISER travelled less kms .

How can u say a 3000cc car has same FC compared to a Kancil 660cc?

Do you know how economical is Kancil 660cc?

Its either ur test is not accurate or ur just over exxagerating the facts..

• Darius on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:44 am

I hate hearing this bullshit about higher income people should pay more. Those who earn their money fairly already pay top band taxes, so I think are equally entitled to any subsidy.

You can target those rich cronies/ corrupt officials for sure, but there is a lot of people who earn their money through their own genuine brains, sweat and blood. So dont generalise and take out it on those who achieve. Maybe the subsidy system should segregate between crony and non crony, better.

These genuine high income earners are not responsible to subsidise so called "poor or middle" income, aint their problem if these people got a 9 year car loan, house loan, and 5 kids. Plan your life in proportion to what you earn. You cant have everything. Simple as that. No public transport in your area? Then be more aware and get your MP to do something or protest to the Govt. Not willing to do that? Then just STFU and dont talk crap here and complain you should get this and that. For 50 years we could have changed things but oh no, no one seems to be willing to do anything but b**ch. The people will get the government they deserve I say and this is the situation we have now.

Why should genuine high earners be penalised in the name of so-called social justice??

Utter rubbish, lets have a level playing field and earn it on merit. Kill all subsidies and then we can separate the wheat from the chaff.

• ganz (Member) on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:47 am

1st.. company will definately increase or have to increase their milage claims. currently stand at rm0.50/km is totally out of mind..

2nd boses who received car subsidy allownace such petrol/ tng will definately will ask for more..

3rd.. lower earner definately suffer more…

• budlee on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:05 am

it depends on what car I get to use in the house to get to and from the lab..

naza ria with the 2.5 v6 engine 200 litre

mercedes benz 190e 2.6 230 litre

perodua viva 1.0cc 90 litre

perodua myvi 1.3 120 litre

honda accord 2.4 180 litre

honda jazz 1.5 120 litre

since there is 6 people with a license in the house i guess with all could register the car, but then 4 of the car is registered to my dad, while the myvi and viva is registered to the adult children.

i get if they limit around 200 litre for each citizen with a driver license but having this limit to one car registered per person? that would suck a lot..

since we are limitted with fuel, i am guessing more people would switch to NGV or buy a wira diesel or drive a kangoo diesel..

this is so lame, the person who came out with this idea should work at one of the petrol station and deal with the angry mob

• budlee on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:10 am

i really really hope they review against using engine capacity as a rule for giving fuel subsidies..

naza ria and cherry easter are "luxury cars"?

1980 mercedes with 3.0 litre engines??

1.4 TSFI Golf

1.6 Cooper Turbo/Supercharge (depending on which generation)

Mercedes Kompressor and CGI engine with 1.8 engine

honda civic hybrid with 1.3 engine

i do really wonder if they actually pick up a local car magazine to find out about this

• Maserati said,

February 24, 2010 @ 12:30 am

I have got 3 cars under my name.

They each have 3 different CCs.

1.5l

2.0l

1.3l

So meaning I can only get 300litres for 3 cars??!!!!!!

That means 100 litres /month for each car?! That bulllshit!

And one more question,can I fill up petrol for a car that is registered under my bro’s name?

Wow,so many unanswered questions.Wonder how the hell they gonna implement this crap.

——————————-

actually u can get as much petrol u wan..1000ltr, 2000ltr but without subs la bro…..its ur money after all

• RedLine said,

February 24, 2010 @ 12:09 am

========================

This is an example of a typical young person / fresh grad who is living beyond their means!

Firstly, if your salary is low, then buy a 1-3 year old second hand car. You can get it for around RM400 monthly only. Save RM200. I see far too many young people with small salaries want to drive Vios and City, and ended taking 9 year loan with high monthly installment. Not smart at all.

Next, broadband, get the 512k only which is around RM60 only. Save RM40.

Cellphone – control your hp usage. Take the RM50 monthly plan or better still, use prepaid. Save RM50.

Education Loan – not all people have this. Save RM200.

Total saving – RM490. There you go, by spending within your means, you can “earn” extra money of almost RM500 per month.

————————————-

for me

house rent = rm130

car loan = rm484 (full loan 10yrs)(new ma)

phone maxis postpaid = rm30 (first value)

broadband maxis + p1 = rm88(power advance)+rm120(20gb) wan to phase out maxis later this year to take another bb(amax or e-ytl bband)

toll = rm40

parking = rm0

petrol = rm200 saga auto

ptptn =~rm350(dip n deg)

• + rm200 to my mum

• SY0H said,

February 23, 2010 @ 11:23 pm

Just change the government. No point we argue, we are wasting our time and energy complaining (including myself). I can list down a lot of “sources” for these “haywire” mess we are in; Tax, Duty, AP, NAP, Proton and the list goes on till kingdom comes. Just format the government as what any IT guy would do to a corrupted computer, just reformat the hardisk. Nevermind, if we have to start all over again, its way better being tricked and cheated again for the next 50 years. Let’s vote them out, as 1Malaysia!

————————–

i hope wat u plan succeed….im too eager to know where the nex new G income is………eg attack brunei for oil, indon oil n natural resource, sing for advan eco, loan from Uncle sam, sell island, sell u and me

• singh said,

February 23, 2010 @ 9:24 pm

Whatever govt implement, its always RAKYAT DIDAHULUKAN. thats wat BN will say. Govt already subsidize the rakyat sp long and we must be THANKFUL with govt. Mark my words that this govt gonna say. SAD BUT TRUE. we can cry and protest but nothing will happen. :)

———————————

i will mark ur word….wat protest we do tell me one of it….the one i hear protest for someone b**t n *SA..not for rakyat but for rakyat politician

• DunnoWatToSay said,

February 23, 2010 @ 6:10 pm

I’m sure there’ll b more MyKad stealing cases after the implementation…Pls upgrade transportation in KL b4 implementing any ridiculous system tht’ll burden rakyat…

—————————

and i know who is the culprit..no need for the hint..my obvious answer people who act rich, that buy very fuel efficient car whom don want to pay market price…low income people will not steal mykad, y they wan to steal when they hav plenty liter fuel of subs fuel using motocycle n low cc national car rite

• CITIZEN on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:54 am

this sounds like our gov acting like robin hood story? charge more to ppl earning more??? come on,, im nt supporting rich ppl bt juz imagine, mostly rich ppl work so hard to get the money bt gov juz take like tat huh??? sound nonsence rite??? isnt rich ppl get the money simply huh???

CHANGE THE GOV. hw long they wanna act?????

• littlefire on Feb 24, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Paul,

I think the current plan already scrap!

read this: http://themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia…

• nightmaire said,

February 23, 2010 @ 4:35 pm

intermilan said,

February 23, 2010 @ 5:10 pm

Based on my latest electricity bill, I believe power tariff already naik. Checkout your newest bill and compared it with last month bill.

And the raise seem to be very obvious! Syabas TNB!

1) Sugar price increase

2) Bread price increase

3) Fuel price increase

4) Existing Government Tax 5%

5) Electrical bill increase (water bill when?)

6) Income tax

7) Import tax

8) Sales tax

9) Toll price increase

10) Credit card Tax (RM50 = Prinsiple, RM25 =Sub-card)

11) Coming soon Goods and Services Tax 4% coming soon

12) Other sundry price increase…

What more?

Do we have enough blood to let them suck?

• Hi littlefire, thanks for your sharing.

Well done!

Don't know how much money our gov has wasted again for the fuel subsidized plan, plus the scrap progress.

See the previous news during Dec 2009:

The indelible ink bought for use in the 12th general election for RM2.9 million has been disposed of by a burning process in accordance with the procedure set by government regulations.

I believe there are more cases that hidden to us…

Really disappointing…

• p2pun on Feb 24, 2010 at 5:44 pm

Wira SE 1.5

6 x 35litter = 210liter/month

if 300litter is given, so I don't need to pay any cent/month.. cantek!!

TQ

• rulered on Feb 24, 2010 at 5:59 pm

The more I think about it, the more I'm convinced how short sighted our administrators are, always acting on 'knee jerk reflex' attitude. Those guys who goes to their office sitting in their comfortable chair and air conditioned room everyday should have seen this coming light years away. Then probably rather than having numerous meetings on how to implement the new subsidy system, they should have thought of other means and alternatives of energy source. The new fuel subsidy is not an energy alternative, it's merely a new way of distributing energy. In the end who pays for it? The Rakyat. Kudos guys, keep on having meetings with kuih and coffee on the side.

• kodok on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:26 pm

KZM said,

February 24, 2010 @ 2:36 am

singh said,

February 23, 2010 @ 9:24 pm

———————————

i will mark ur word….wat protest we do tell me one of it….the one i hear protest for someone b**t n *SA..not for rakyat but for rakyat politician

——————————————————

u must be at oversea when there were protest about petrol rise not long ago!

• Malacca on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:16 pm

KZM said,

February 23, 2010 @ 5:43 pm

Malacca said,

February 23, 2010 @ 5:24 pm

If you think back.. not fair to the rich people and company.. because the pay more for the tax.. and G use their money for the system’s installation.. G spend which I believe more than a million for the system… and the contract given to the cronies..

————————–

i tot in last bajet it was reduce 1%…+ cheaper broadband due to rm500 rebat..how can u pay more..GST make KFC,pizza hut, etc cheaper, rite now service tax is 5% after GST 4% rite….if u said u pay more thats puzzling..r u in malaysia by the way…I HOPE U READ THIS

In year 2010, Malaysia income tax range is from 0 to 26%.

For those who are not able to enjoy the 1% income tax reduction due to not being taxed at the maximum income tax rate, you still will enjoy the benefit from the

– Increase in the personal relief from RM8,000 to RM9,000

– Tax relief for EPF contribution and life insurance that was increased from RM6,000 to RM7,00. This increase of RM1,000 is for relief on annuity premium paid from 1 January 2010 for retirement scheme offered by insurance companies.

– A new tax relief of up to RM500 per year for Internet broadband subscription fee from 2010 to 2012

————————————————————-

Hye bro.. are sure or not.??? Roughtly Malaysian only enjoy RM 500 mil. Tax relief which equal to your 1% but somehow G charge you RM50 for the fees of your main credit card and RM25 for the suplimentary card which is believe G will get RM 400 mil from people… this is not include 5% tax on the properties Tax. From this two major Tax G will get far over than the RM500 mil for Malaysian. This is what you call Rakyat Didahulukan??

In the same time The Tax relief which Malysian received far smaller than what G subsidized to IPP, PLUS (Tol), AP and more.

In the current Petronas Financial Report, IPP companies received Gas Subsidy 20 Billion from G in 2008 and keep increasing in 2009 and become 22 Billion. So now who DIDAHULUKAN?? People or Cronies?? Just think if this subsidy were given to Malaysian. At least Malaysian will get RM 815 per person!

• intermilan on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:21 pm

A lot of people seem to have this perception that 300 liters is the given amount of subsudise fuel.

That is WRONG. SYOH has already mentioned earlier that the amount is very much LESS than 300 liters.

G is looking at 100+ liters only. I believe its only 150 liters max.

Nevertheless, latest news that pop up seem to say that the G are not going to implement two-tier petrol price system (i.e. subsidise fuel and non-subsidise fuel price at pump), as it is too complex and troublesome to implement.

The G will still want to remove current subsidy system but may want to implement simpler system instead.

We all understand the need of minimising G spending like subsidy but are also worries that the saved subsidy (G fuel subsidy cost up to RM50billion a year!) might end up in cronies bank accounts instead of development projects (like better public transport system).

Perhaps it is better if the G implement the previous distribution system, i.e. give cash subsidy / rebate to all that are qualified to receive them. Remember the cash rebate / subsidy distributed through Pos Malaysia a few years ago?

The G could just use that system (but please don't limit rebate/subsidy distribution centre to just the Post office, use other institutions e.g. banks or an online system, if possible ).

Then G could impose full price for fuel, no subside at all.

But price of petrol once fixed should not be allow to change. Only revised once a year and any changes should be reflected on the amount of cash subsidy / rebate accordingly.

And the moment when the qualified rakyat are able to collect the subsidy shouldn't be limited to when they re-new their vehicle insurance/road tax.

Just based on presentation of their MyKad + thumprints + original vehicle registration card. Once they have collect it, they can't collect it anymore.

The back-end system obviously have to be an online, real-time system to prevent multiple or false claims of the cash rebate / subsidy.

This is still a hassle, but I reckon much less 'hassle' and expensive than the two-tier system.

The drawback is that this system is less efficient in 'saving' and spreading out the cash out flow, as fixed and full subsidy amount have to be handed out, in advance, as opposed to the two-tier system where subsidy is given only when fuel were bought (the G save even more if one doesn't utilise all of the allocated subsidy).

Nevertheless, the rakyat would be more acceptable to such 'primitive' distribution scheme. Why? perhaps because its easier to understand and they could have a lot of money in hands. Its like receiving ang pow! Semua orang suka even if its a misguided happiness.

Unfurtunately, this is a short-term avoidance action plan. The G must act faster and with diligent in mapping out and executing a holistic transportation plan and that means they shouds face up with the reality of (crooked) NAP, import duty, excise duty, AP, fuel-efficient vehicle, fuel quality, altenative energy vehicle, P1 realistic direction, automotive industry direction (as a whole and not just about P1 & P2), public transportation system, roads, etc etc.

The G must achieved success, a success that augur well with the voice and desire of the people.

We all know how bad this country has been performing / side-tracked in the past 10-15 years.

• japanese car user on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:42 am

Hi Paul can tell me more about your E30 ?? planning to get a used continental car

• candu on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:20 am

hi
    i wanna buy a honda accord inspire 16 years old car. will it be good as i dont want to spend much money for fuel

• Kent Lau on Oct 02, 2014 at 7:56 pm

I own a Waja and Kelisa. As for Waja, my monthly consumption is about 200 litres and Kelisa is 90 litres, that comes to a total spending of RM 741.

I even created a tool to help myself to calculate, including the scenario should GST implemented.

Those who interested, can download here:
    http://www.ugrowit.net/ron95-petrol-and-diesel-subsidy-reduced-scenario-tool/