More on the Proton Concept Car’s hybrid drivetrain

The Proton Concept Car, which will be unveiled at next week’s Geneva Motor Show, will showcase a series hybrid drivetrain designed and developed by Lotus Engineering.

Integrated into the Italdesign penned concept is the Lotus Range Extender engine, which uses a 1.2-litre three-cylinder engine to replenish charge in the battery and provide electrical power for the drive motors when battery levels are low. This method is much like GM’s E-REV system in the Chevrolet Volt, where the internal combustion engine does not power the wheels, and only acts as a “generator”. The battery can also be recharged via household sockets to achieve initial electric-only operation. No range is given for the pure electric mode, just a mention that it’s “acceptable”. Click here for more technical info on the Lotus Range Extender engine.

Dr Robert Hentschel, Director of Lotus Engineering said: “The hybrid drivetrain of the Proton Concept is another example of Lotus Engineering’s expertise in electrical and electronic systems and efficient performance engines. The high efficiency Lotus Range Extender engine, which we unveiled to great acclaim at the Frankfurt Motor Show last year is perfectly suited for the advanced series hybrid we have created for the Proton Concept city car. It is an exciting example of the diverse range of highly efficient total propulsion systems that Lotus Engineering continues to develop for its partners and clients.”

A hi-res copy of the image above is available after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=860]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• xavier lert on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:13 pm

hmmm…..

• kedaikopi on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:15 pm

Congratulation Proton & Lotus..!!

• kraprz on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:24 pm

concept is always concept, never 100% went into production. sigh…hope that proton "Dare to Change" on this one….

• littlefire on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:29 pm

"Acceptable" range?

Around 100~200km? Or less than that? If like this, is more like a city car what Mitsubishi i electric doing.

• Tiadaid on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:31 pm

kraprz said,

February 23, 2010 @ 2:24 pm

concept is always concept, never 100% went into production. sigh…hope that proton “Dare to Change” on this one….

——————-

Some concepts do make it to the consumers, but it depends on how radical is the concept and whether it's feasible to produce it at a reasonable price.

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:43 pm

nothing impressive

• Nerddy on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:49 pm

well… technology is still technology… which is things that we not get only by talking and mumbling…

• Persatuan Kereta dan on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:54 pm

Welldone Proton! Finally you got something out from the Lotus Engineering.

• The Unicons (Member) on Feb 23, 2010 at 11:02 pm

Yalah, whatever Proton does will not impress you, Mazda 3 MPS. So, I think no need to spend your valueable time posting here. Better spend time with your 'Mazda 3 MPS' around….. Jalan-jalan makan angin.

Just wait and see….

• Squawk on Feb 23, 2010 at 11:07 pm

Since this is a tropical country, why not add solar cells to the roof and bonnet? If safety is a worry, just limit it to the roof. The car can be charged when we're stuck in a jam since there aren't many trees in KL anyway (compared to Singapore la).

• Premium on Feb 23, 2010 at 11:08 pm

proton should produce a small version of the Lotus extender engine as generator for pasar malam trader… they could package that with arena or exora commercial

• wonder man on Feb 23, 2010 at 11:10 pm

nice job proton & lotus…

i still wonder what can Malaysia get from f1 lotus team???

is wasting or profitable??or is a contract???

praying and then start thinking….

• Georgie on Feb 23, 2010 at 11:11 pm

Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI PROTON ULTRAS said,

February 23, 2010 @ 2:43 pm

nothing impressive

Nor do anything impressive came out from that thick skull of yours either.

The Range Extender serves its purpose as a range extender, not the main engine. With the fuel prices escalating, people will look forward for this kind of tech to move our cars in the future.

• "Dr Robert Hentschel, Director of Lotus Engineering said: “The hybrid drivetrain of the Proton Concept is another example of Lotus Engineering’s expertise in electrical and electronic systems"

I'm sorry to say that: This "range extender" is neither a development of Lotus nor of GM. This technology is well know for decades in marine and railway applications.

The claim of Dr. Hentschel is simply Nonsense. Maybe he's worried that Proton will cut down development funds at Lotus?

• Nakal on Feb 23, 2010 at 11:22 pm

————-

haha…lawak gila nama kau..

• prolover on Feb 23, 2010 at 11:24 pm

only idiot people say that…..

Seriously your not from the automotive world..

get a life..

• nigttrain on Feb 23, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Time to figure out taxes for EVs. And then dedicated city lanes. Dedicated parking. Plugging infrastructure in the urban areas. And how to safekeep the system from PATI stealing electricity.

• JULIAN_LEE on Feb 23, 2010 at 11:36 pm

BMW Better!

• p4k4bu on Feb 23, 2010 at 11:40 pm

I've stumbled upon a blog where there's a "discussion" about the use of SERIES hybrid in this Proton concept car instead of MILD hybrid.

Both types, I knew nothing of :(

You guys can read it at: http://www.hybridcars.com/types-systems/hybrid-te… … which I am trying to grasp (slowly).

• paul, y dont u put the rim & brake disc also?..

• dzulx on Feb 23, 2010 at 11:42 pm

RWD????

• Chaku on Feb 23, 2010 at 11:43 pm

Acceptable range?but still ok,if it is running low on batt, the range extender will recharge the batt. As long u have fuel on ur tank.

• Wohaa on Feb 23, 2010 at 11:46 pm

WOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW…

i like the battery.. Ni-Cd or Lithium?

• vbkcheng on Feb 23, 2010 at 11:59 pm

Pls make it right this time….It is the chance that this B segment car can export to AEAN country…Gap the chance of T & H kena boombak by US, make it right and push it to the mind of ASEAN…

Proton ah Proton, you are just like our son… we marah you kaut kaut, but dalam hati, you are still Malaysia make car, anak kita…

• mohsin on Feb 24, 2010 at 12:01 am

nothing impressive

——————————-

Very impressive!

• Double-77 on Feb 24, 2010 at 12:02 am

F**K la Mazda 3….DAMN la!!!

• elite on Feb 24, 2010 at 12:04 am

so which part in it is designed by malaysians? power window?

i foresee proton's future is just product integration and selling to their protected local market.

• Mufasa on Feb 24, 2010 at 12:14 am

elite said,

February 23, 2010 @ 4:04 pm

——————————————————

first power window statement….next please

• madimat on Feb 24, 2010 at 12:43 am

dear Mazda 3 MPS,

I saw a new Mazda 3 with one of its rear brake light not working.

And I am very, very impressed with that one ! :)

• nigttrain on Feb 24, 2010 at 12:43 am

hey, I was waiting for that power window remark… took almost two hours from posting time. Well, we'll wait for the next post and see how long it takes to make a power window remark.

• moha3774 on Feb 24, 2010 at 12:45 am

Mohd said,

February 23, 2010 @ 3:18 pm

“Dr Robert Hentschel, Director of Lotus Engineering said: “The hybrid drivetrain of the Proton Concept is another example of Lotus Engineering’s expertise in electrical and electronic systems”

I’m sorry to say that: This “range extender” is neither a development of Lotus nor of GM. This technology is well know for decades in marine and railway applications.

The claim of Dr. Hentschel is simply Nonsense. Maybe he’s worried that Proton will cut down development funds at Lotus?

Prove your claim…prove that this "Range Extender" is as the same design concept as used in Marine and railway…dont just talk nonsense..

• perkasa on Feb 24, 2010 at 12:59 am

hope P1 can bring the best 4 M'sian

biasalah dalam setandan pisang mesti ada yang busuk, orang yang duk kutuk@mengata nanti akan balik kat diri sendiri gak.

• Wohaa on Feb 24, 2010 at 1:00 am

elite said,

i foresee proton’s future is just product integration and selling to their protected local market.

———–

ASK PERODUA..

• Proton, please don't just show us with fancy pictures and fancy spec. but no action from Proton. Just talk and no action, most of the time…

So, prove that I'm wrong, if you dare.

…and another thing, fancy pictures wont do any good if your QC sucks big time.

• redfueler on Feb 24, 2010 at 1:15 am

heard that, there is another proton car will show in geneva beside proton concept cars..???

• shawal on Feb 24, 2010 at 1:24 am

woohoo , exciting stuff~!, i want to change my savvy in 3 years time~!

• relax..lor

Proton involve in the motor show to introduce the concept car…..this is action too maa…

if not involve you say why not involve….bla..bla..bla…

:)

• Jimmy Dean on Feb 24, 2010 at 1:43 am

Mohd said,

I’m sorry to say that: This “range extender” is neither a development of Lotus nor of GM. This technology is well know for decades in marine and railway applications.

The claim of Dr. Hentschel is simply Nonsense. Maybe he’s worried that Proton will cut down development funds at Lotus?

—————————————————————-

This is a Plug-in Series Hybrid Electric Vehicle. Of course, the system architecture is well known but the subsystems; highly efficient and optimized interal cmbustion engine, generator, electric motor(s), energy storage system and the overall control strategy (power follower, series thermostat, etc) are the new innovations. If you're stuck with the 1980's technologies, you can also build plug-in series hybrid using heavy lead acid batteries, using fuel guzzling carburator engine, and motors with ferrite magnets. If you're imaginative enough, you can even go several decades back and try to create 6 switches type 3 phase electric drive using vacuum tubes (maybe tens of those arranged in parallel per phase) to drive the motors. What's your point again?

• Oh I don't understand all the techie or grease monkey stuff here. I just hope the technology from Lotus is good and the price is right.

• kereta on Feb 24, 2010 at 2:00 am

very interested to see how our national car develops. don't matter how they do it, as long as us rakyat benefit, i don't see why not

• moha3774 said,

February 23, 2010 @ 4:45 pm

'Prove your claim…prove that this “Range Extender” is as the same design concept as used in Marine and railway…dont just talk nonsense..'

Well, here you are: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diesel-electric_tran…

The first diesel-electric motorship was launched 1903, the first diesel-electric locomotive in the 1920s.

So what is so extraordinary about the Lotus design from an engineers point of view? The three cylinder engine? The electric drive?

Come on, now it's your turn: 'dont just talk nonsense..' ;)

• linear_system on Feb 24, 2010 at 2:02 am

elite said,

i foresee proton’s future is just product integration and selling to their protected local market

why need to be designed by malaysian?lotus is proton's…do u think T n H designed by japanese?kia designed by korean?..as long as it is technological,i luv it..

• rexis on Feb 24, 2010 at 2:11 am

To be frank i am starting to feel impressed.

• boleh on Feb 24, 2010 at 2:27 am

malaysia boleh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

kita buat semua motosikal, pakai kereta elektrik!!!

jangan naik harga elektrik cukup!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• initial R on Feb 24, 2010 at 2:30 am

Think if this concept ready for production, much batter P1 start selling at overseas first & then after 2 weeks or 2 month the concept can enter Asian market & after that Malaysia market since malaysian market very look high at the car that lunching outside country first rather than Malaysia…. Correct that the tech have used by Marin & railway but they do produce for small nichie only & most of it are almost finish unit or unrefind unit…. this we talk about normal ppl used daily & not for army used….

• perotiga on Feb 24, 2010 at 2:54 am

woww so surprised to see a lot of 'car experts' here..

• Mufasa on Feb 24, 2010 at 3:00 am

initial R said,

February 23, 2010 @ 6:30 pm

Think if this concept ready for production, much batter P1 start selling at overseas first & then after 2 weeks or 2 month the concept can enter Asian

———————————

ya initial R …. make sense …. ermm… if that concept boom oversea…i wonder how malaysian react

• staff on Feb 24, 2010 at 3:09 am

to change from one application to another is indeed a difficult thing…

try to change your car technology into go-kart… imean by have all the function, but different size… then you see the complexity… if u are an engineer… then you'll understand it…

And, Lotus never mention about inventing new technology…

this is a problem with malaysian mind i think… evrything introduced should be totally new thing… they cant see the improvement behind it…

• initial R on Feb 24, 2010 at 3:17 am

Mohd said,

February 23, 2010 @ 6:01 pm

————————————–

Why ask proton ?… ask le your beloved Toyolta, GM, or VW NCC…. why most car manifacturer want produce hybrid or electric ?… the fact is to safe more fuel energy by produce more clean power…. face the fact that combustion engine are on end of evolving…. electric, solar, hybrid still have lots time to evolve….. yes, The first diesel-electric motorship was launched 1903, the first diesel-electric locomotive in the 1920s. but u see the size of it…

• will the second row passengers feel the heat from the engine?

• Peter on Feb 24, 2010 at 3:28 am

Good effort by Proton……..But still reliability and Quality check are the main problems which prevented me to continue thinking about getting this car…..

• Y dont use fuel cell tech?

I think its more eco frenly and more practical then using a batt powered..

maybe the tech is too new for other car maker~

hmmm

• ezralimm on Feb 24, 2010 at 4:03 am

This hybrid drivetrail will work in temperate climates…but is simply not practical for Malaysia for one very simple reason:

AIR CONDITIONING

Unless some miracle cooling method is discovered that uses less energy, cars like this simply arent practical for places where air cooling is required…or heating in really cold places.

• Prismo on Feb 24, 2010 at 4:03 am

Would you like this to be the future of Proton?

http://www.protonconcepts.com/

mari vote!!

• come on….whats you got to loose?if they succeed you can drive cheaper what…

• Dear Mohd,

I think you missed the point.

the point is that Lotus range extender is an improved version of the previous extenders or generators available in the market or prototypes. they are not telling the world that they had invented the range extender. certainly not.

new technology are introduced as time goes by. and they had shown the latest tech that they got. probably in the near future, another manufacturer would introduce better engines.

for example (you could refer wiki), electric vehicle has been invented since 1830s, but the technology limitations did not make them desirable or affordable even until now.

another simple example are the wheels. nobody dared to say that they had "invented the wheel", they just claim that they had made it better than previous wheels.

hopefully, the Lotus introduced would make the extended EV desirable, and affordable.

• Dear Mohd,

you might want to read this: http://autospeed.com/cms/title_The-Lotus-Range-Ex…

• acerman on Feb 24, 2010 at 4:28 am

elite said,

i foresee proton’s future is just product integration and selling to their protected local market.

————————————————————–

Sudah tarak model lain mau cakp ka?

I'd been driven the Proton Waja for 5 years until I have to let go the beloved car away to buy a bigger car…NO POWER WINDOW PROBLEM…I REPEAT NO POWER WINDOW PROBLEM. If u care of ur car, eventually everything will be fine…

Anyway, It's a good move by Proton cause not all car company in the world can produce THEIR OWN hvbrids.

• fazron80 on Feb 24, 2010 at 4:29 am

Unless price low enough I don't think Malaysians are ready to jump to the hybrid bandwagon.

• chaku on Feb 24, 2010 at 4:35 am

Mohd said,

Well, here you are: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diesel-electric_tran…

The first diesel-electric motorship was launched 1903, the first diesel-electric locomotive in the 1920s.

So what is so extraordinary about the Lotus design from an engineers point of view? The three cylinder engine? The electric drive?

Come on, now it’s your turn: ‘dont just talk nonsense..’ ;)

so can u plonk that enourmous gigantic transmission into a car? i dont think so..with new tech, engineer develop smaller, more efficirnt transmission.

i think youare kinda guy who still use handphone from 1980, coz u think it's appropriate to compare 1980 tech with latest tech.

p/s: im not a supporting proton here, im just saying an old tech can be re-invented.

• carsut on Feb 24, 2010 at 4:45 am

jz read this http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20100223/ap_on_bi_ge/t…

• carsut on Feb 24, 2010 at 4:46 am

roll this vid also http://news.yahoo.com/video/politics-15749652/182…

• hope this car will come with good Q since proton had bad reputation on Q since 2 decade.

• concept on Feb 24, 2010 at 5:29 am

EV projects are still in its infancy stages.

Even big maufacturers are taking a wait & see attitude

due to the limited range and battery capacity+size.

Mitsubishi i-MiEV & the Peugeot i-ON so far are the

only production cars in the market.

A good move but just hope we have the momentum and the staying power $$$ to push this concept car all the way. !!!

Wishing P1 & Lotus all the best!!!

• tokmoh on Feb 24, 2010 at 5:33 am

Apahal la dgn Mohd ni… whyyyy soooooo seeeeeriiiiiooouuuuussss??

Marah pasal kerajaan Penang tak kasi orang berarak nak celebrate birthday ko Jumaat ni ke?

• msian on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:12 am

good job!keep it up!:)

• BASHERking on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:17 am

wow….hope will become reality….go PROTON

• peYno on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:24 am

Peter said,

February 23, 2010 @ 7:28 pm

Good effort by Proton……..But still reliability and Quality check are the main problems which prevented me to continue thinking about getting this car…..

===========

what proton car do u own now??? if new saga or persona.. i don't think quality and reliability are an issue

• Annihilated on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:52 am

Mohd said,

Just read what Jimmy Dean said, February 23, 2010 @ 5:43 pm.

There are degrees of dynamics and efficiencies between these technologies.

‘dont just WIKI and TYPE nonsense..’ ;)

• good luck malaysian on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:57 am

if you know more about NASA…. u will know that alot NASA engineers are not american.

So who care who design? As long as it is malaysian company and make money for the country (hopefully). I hate protected NAP but proton car design by capable persons is good move.

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:15 am

peYno said,

February 23, 2010 @ 10:24 pm

Peter said,

February 23, 2010 @ 7:28 pm

===========

what proton car do u own now??? if new saga or persona.. i don’t think quality and reliability are an issue

——————————

yesterday i saw 5 new proton saga and 18 persona broke down on north-south expressway

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:19 am

tokmoh said,

February 23, 2010 @ 9:33 pm

Apahal la dgn Mohd ni… whyyyy soooooo seeeeeriiiiiooouuuuussss??

Marah pasal kerajaan Penang tak kasi orang berarak nak celebrate birthday ko Jumaat ni ke?

————–

semacam je comment yang kau post

ni yang problem ni

tiba2 keluar isu lain dalam topic ni

ish2

• Ah Chye on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:30 am

The Lotus Range Extender engine features an innovative architecture comprising an aluminium monoblock construction, integrating the cylinder block, cylinder head and exhaust manifold in one casting. This results in reduced engine mass, assembly costs, package size and improved emissions and engine durability.

Its low mass of 56 kg makes it ideal for the series hybrid drivetrain configurations for which it is designed. The engine uses an optimised two-valve port-fuel injection combustion system to reduce cost and mass and, in line with Lotus Engineering’s extensive research into renewable fuels, can be operated on alcohol-based fuels or gasoline. (ULG RON 95, ethanol and methanol)

For successful market uptake of series hybrid vehicles with acceptable driving range, vehicle manufacturers must overcome the challenges of high vehicle cost. The Lotus Range Extender engine not only offers the advantage of a cost effective design, but also its high efficiency and low mass will enable the downsizing of expensive batteries whilst maintaining vehicle efficiency and range. The engine has been designed using production methodologies and the parts procured from low volume potential production suppliers, offering a fast route to market for original equipment manufacturers (OEM) wanting to source a dedicated range extender for series hybrid vehicles.

Monoblock

The Range Extender features a novel engine architecture incorporating a monoblock construction that blends the cylinder head and block together eliminating the need for a cylinder head gasket, improving durability and reducing weight. Approximately 17 parts are eliminated using this approach and the water jacket is better optimised.

Integrated Exhaust Manifold

Lotus Engineering designed and developed a new advanced cylinder head design featuring an integrated exhaust manifold. The production-ready technology can significantly reduce manufacturing costs, emissions and weight. An integrated exhaust manifold has potential to:

– Reduce parts count: 18 fewer components resulting in lower inventory, production, logistics and aftermarket costs

– Weight reduction: total system mass reduction resulting from elimination of separate exhaust manifold

– Improved engine durability

The Lotus Range Extender engine generates a reduction in emissions through faster light-off of the close-coupled catalytic converter with a reduction in heat loss between the exhaust port and catalyst inlet. Engine operating range is optimised to deliver more efficient running, which also aids underhood thermal management.

Utilisation of the monoblock construction results in an assembly cost reduction, while there is also a reduced catalyst loading requirement because less heat is lost on engine start-up between the exhaust port and catalyst inlet.

Increased vehicle integration flexibility is achieved because of the reduction in mass and the reduced package size leads to reduced space requirements.

—————————————————————-

Diesels are more efficient because they run at a higher compression so it's theoretically better. However in a serial hybrid the engine is only used a small portion of the time (for example when the car has already traveled 60 miles that day) With my driving this would probably average about 5 -10 miles a week (or a litre of fuel or so)

Because of this the extra cost of manufacturing a diesel engine will probably never be paid for by a slight gain in efficiency. Also as the torque no longer matters the benefits of the diesel falls further away from the petrol.

Diesels could be practical for parallel hybrids for say taxis / buses or other vehicles where they will exceed this range on a daily basis.

Well done to smart partnership!!!

• Mohd said,

“Dr Robert Hentschel, Director of Lotus Engineering said: “The hybrid drivetrain of the Proton Concept is another example of Lotus Engineering’s expertise in electrical and electronic systems”

———————————————-

lepak aa mat. lu tak pernah buat engine sendiri tapi mau cakap org lain nonsense. kapal laut or keretapi mane boleh park kat porch laa mat. ni org cakap pasal kete. kalu nak cakap pasal range extender yg lain, memang aa byk lagi range extender lain. dlm bentuk pill pun ade, biasa setengah jam main boleh extender lebih sejam! byk round pun boleh.

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI PROTON ULTRAS said,

—————————————–

what mean a MPS? MPS =Mampus Pi Sana

wawawawa…………..

• ELi said,

February 23, 2010 @ 8:02 pm

Y dont use fuel cell tech?

hmmm

———————————

this is y

– too many step to produce power from hydrogen to electric

battery to electric

– energy transfer not efficient enough compared to pure electric.

– high cost eg.Honda Clarity at $300,000 per car

– the tech is not there yet not practical for the next 10-20 yrs – (May 2009 the U.S. Secretary of Energy Stephen Chu)

The Washington Post asked in November 2009, "But why would you want to store energy in the form of hydrogen and then use that hydrogen to produce electricity for a motor, when electrical energy is already waiting to be sucked out of sockets all over America and stored in auto batteries…?"

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:30 am

tira said,

February 24, 2010 @ 12:03 am

—————————————–

what mean a MPS? MPS =Mampus Pi Sana

wawawawa…………..

——————-

er….lame?

• ELi said,

February 23, 2010 @ 8:02 pm

Y dont use fuel cell tech?

hmmm

———————————

this is y

– still emit CO2 to produce pure hydrogen (production site)

– too many chemical step to produce power from hydrogen to electric

– the tech is not there yet not practical for the next 10-20 yrs – (May 2009 the U.S. Secretary of Energy Stephen Chu)

The Washington Post asked in November 2009, "But why would you want to store energy in the form of hydrogen and then use that hydrogen to produce electricity for a motor, when electrical energy is already waiting to be sucked out of sockets all over America and stored in auto batteries…?"

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI PROTON ULTRAS said,

February 23, 2010 @ 11:15 pm

yesterday i saw 5 new proton saga and 18 persona broke down on north-south expressway

———————————

i think this guy desperate for lies….do anyone believe wat he or she or shemale or tom said..that was just plain lie..this is not bashing this is spamming

• katak on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:14 am

tingkap pun tak tau buat mau buat hybi

• katak said,

February 24, 2010 @ 1:14 am

tingkap pun tak tau buat mau buat hybi

——————————-

bleh tolong check kan my saga blm punye tingkap x….maner tau la rosak

• bmpower on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:39 am

proton should make this car into production asap.

then sell it 1st in UK and US. The market there are better for hybrid and EV car. Foreigner are accepting well ev car. Not like many of Malaysian. they are skeptical in everything!

Even for a something great as this!

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:51 am

KZM said,

February 24, 2010 @ 12:56 am

———————————

i think this guy desperate for lies….do anyone believe wat he or she or shemale or tom said..that was just plain lie..this is not bashing this is spamming

————————

just accept the truth. proton cars suck.

• droll on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:56 am

proton is getting ready for fuel price increase!

• Lotus produces quite impressing sports cars, but apparently they are not able to produce their own engines. They use Toyota engines.

Dr Robert Hentschel, Director of Lotus Engineering said: “The hybrid drivetrain of the Proton Concept is another example of Lotus Engineering’s expertise in electrical and electronic systems and efficient performance engines.

Okay, if the hybrid drivetrain is ANOTHER example of Lotus Engineering's expertise, where are the other examples? Why didn't engineering genius Dr Hentschel designed an own Lotus engine? :D

• Wohaa on Feb 24, 2010 at 3:42 pm

Prismo said,

February 23, 2010 @ 8:03 pm

Would you like this to be the future of Proton?

http://www.protonconcepts.com/

mari vote!!

——–

1% say no.. i confidently think they are basher or P2 salesman, because it will kill Myvi..hhahaha

• gen2lama on Feb 24, 2010 at 4:29 pm

KZM said,

February 24, 2010 @ 12:56 am

———————————

————————

just accept the truth. proton cars suck.

————————————————————–

khahah kesian…yea proton suck…but i like driving suck car….

soooo….

• nazri on Feb 24, 2010 at 5:29 pm

———————————–

yelah u saw it because u not driving.. but u just sit beside your father's car rite? nice one :)

• fasgen on Feb 24, 2010 at 5:58 pm

alah… setka kete proton rosak tepi jalan… aku pun pernah tengok BMW, merc, volvo toyota, honda rosak tepi jalan… tak sibuk pun…

• catchcart on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:06 pm

Dear Mohd.

Lotus is a big name in automotive industry.

They use Toyota engine in their car now. They have their own reason for this.

Lotus is a legend. They design and manufacture engine long before you being born.

Here is an example http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lotus_900_series .

A quote from the link above

The 900 series engine was introduced in production form as the Lotus 907 in the 1972 Jensen-Healey, and went on to power Lotus into the late 1990s. It is regarded as the first modern DOHC, 16-valve production engine made. The Jensen-Healey was released for sale to the general public with the first 907 engine shortly before the Cosworth Vega which also had a DOHC, 16-valve engine. Pre-war DOHC 4 valve per cylinder production engines included the Duesenberg and the Stutz DV-32 straight-8 engines

Dig the history deeper my brother, Mohd. Open your mind. Everytime you post an immature comment, it will just show the world who you really are.

My advice, read more and do research more.

• MADBOY on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:09 pm

Mohd said,

February 24, 2010 @ 6:37 am

Lotus produces quite impressing sports cars, but apparently they are not able to produce their own engines. They use Toyota engines.

Dr Robert Hentschel, Director of Lotus Engineering said: “The hybrid drivetrain of the Proton Concept is another example of Lotus Engineering’s expertise in electrical and electronic systems and efficient performance engines.

Okay, if the hybrid drivetrain is ANOTHER example of Lotus Engineering’s expertise, where are the other examples? Why didn’t engineering genius Dr Hentschel designed an own Lotus engine?

————

Lotus can design and built it own engine, but being a small manufacturer, it will not be cost effective. Better get the engine from other people.

• dzulx on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:48 pm

If it ever went to production, how can proton market this??

It surely wouldnt be a sub 40k car…naturally due to the drive train…

But how many can afford small car as expensive as premium sedan.. I wonder…

Dont you think it is interesting to see how proton's marketing strategy would be? Will it be successful or disastrous??

Proton should have already been busy scouting marketing geniuses to do brainstorm on the strategy….

But 1 think make me curious… if Proton only pay Italdesign to do the design, then why Italdesign is so proudly present this as 1 of their milestone…just wonder what does "smart collaboration" means financially..

• Mysticmind on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:51 pm

I wonder, why days by days… now basher are more stupid than before.

Bashers and japanese wannabe organisation… you all need a more intelect and less stupid members now.

+++

Oh btw, toyota, honda, mazda, mitsu etc ect still using old tech combustion engine, and ferrari too!.. because their engine just the same as Ford model T. ie… Fuel + Oxygen + Ignite bla bla bla. So What?

• fasgen on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:20 pm

agree with Mysticmind

• cap ayam on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:04 pm

kudos proton..

• nigttrain on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:08 pm

Will you guys be nicer if bashers become smarter? I'm visualising that duct tape on your mouth right now..

Anyway… dzlux has a point there. What will be Proton's pricing policy and marketing strategy for this car? I wonder.

• learner on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:10 pm

saw many broken cars at PLUS expressway only in one day? you must be driving ferrari or something very fast than mazda 3 to see all the broken cars along PLUS expressway from JB tol to bukit kayu hitam tol because i believe to see so many broken car at one section of PLUS expressway is near to impossible except that was an accident.

but how about a dozen of toyota camry towed by the trailer along PLUS expressway? so, they are broken to right? and how about so many car at the PLUS R&R, broken too? lesson, don't simply jump into conclusion.

• KZM said,

February 24, 2010 @ 12:20 am

this is y

battery to electric

The Washington Post asked in November 2009, “But why would you want to store energy in the form of hydrogen and then use that hydrogen to produce electricity for a motor, when electrical energy is already waiting to be sucked out of sockets all over America and stored in auto batteries…?”

maybe if more company can participate more on this tech, then the tech can move foward more faster.. n yeah I admit that this tech are more expensive now but thats because of no rapid developement form the industries. no rival on its turf.. example.. if intel 1st sell quad core CPU its price is damn high.. after AMD introduce with their quadcore CPU.. all price drop to normal.. (same solution as above)

amout sucking electric from the socket.. hehe~ (how long do u charge ur small phone?) range from 30mins – 2 hours i think.. soo what do you think the duration with such a large capacities of wattage in the car need to be filled? even 30 mins of charge also I think its not inconvient.. too much time.. with hydrogen fuel cell.. its just like ur filling a petrol again.. since were using compressed liquid hydrogen.. fast n can been done anytime..

n batt only have a short span of life.. maybe in 2 years time need to change them completely already.. large constant investment needed..

nyway Im just a student.. all my point up there not all entirely correct.. hehe if there any false/incorrect information.. then Im not researching the material to well..

this is my 2cent only~

• oldwira on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:55 pm

———————————–

Yeah, i saw that too, but they were all on the trailers moving north, guess they would be delivered to buyers that probably couldnt wait any longer. Haha, what a loser!

• Squawk on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:19 pm

Some university or institute somewhere has managed to create paper-thin batteries. If more money is pumped into further R&D I'm sure there won't be a need for heavy batteries anymore.

Furthermore, I believe most of us park our cars in open spaces at work. Imagine how beneficial a solar roof would be to power our aircond, lights and other electronics.

Like the German (diplomat?) said on BFM this morning, Germany has adopted green technologies, including solar, but he wondered why Malaysia, with so much more intense sunlight than them, haven't caught on. And he sounded frustrated with our govt. :-)

• ELi said,

February 24, 2010 @ 12:43 pm

KZM said,

February 24, 2010 @ 12:20 am

this is y

battery to electric

The Washington Post asked in November 2009, “But why would you want to store energy in the form of hydrogen and then use that hydrogen to produce electricity for a motor, when electrical energy is already waiting to be sucked out of sockets all over America and stored in auto batteries…?”

maybe if more company can participate more on this tech, then the tech can move foward more faster.. n yeah I admit that this tech are more expensive now but thats because of no rapid developement form the industries. no rival on its turf.. example.. if intel 1st sell quad core CPU its price is damn high.. after AMD introduce with their quadcore CPU.. all price drop to normal.. (same solution as above)

amout sucking electric from the socket.. hehe~ (how long do u charge ur small phone?) range from 30mins – 2 hours i think.. soo what do you think the duration with such a large capacities of wattage in the car need to be filled? even 30 mins of charge also I think its not inconvient.. too much time.. with hydrogen fuel cell.. its just like ur filling a petrol again.. since were using compressed liquid hydrogen.. fast n can been done anytime..

n batt only have a short span of life.. maybe in 2 years time need to change them completely already.. large constant investment needed..

nyway Im just a student.. all my point up there not all entirely correct.. hehe if there any false/incorrect information.. then Im not researching the material to well..

this is my 2cent only~

—————————————-

that not entirely true..eg electric vehicle , it was there since 19century still not that cheap till now..one thing to ponder y we need hydrogen to produce electric since electric is already produce abundance. one more hydrogen does not come as naturally hydrogen liquid but must be produce to get the hydrogen n the byproduct is still CO2..u can googled bout it (hydrogen n fuel cell)….u an correct me if im wrong cause im read to much info n sometime confuse a bit

• maymay on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:40 pm

any recalls yet? :-)

• dzulx on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:05 pm

Squawk said,

February 24, 2010 @ 1:19 pm

Like the German (diplomat?) said on BFM this morning, Germany has adopted green technologies, including solar, but he wondered why Malaysia, with so much more intense sunlight than them, haven’t caught on. And he sounded frustrated with our govt. :-)

——————————–

One word… cost….

• Jacky Yong on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:07 pm

I really hope this goes well. EV is the way to go with the inevitable spiraling prices of fuel. Even if I know Proton has some quality issues, if Proton manages to produce this car and sell it cheap enough so that it reaches critical mass. Then other car manufacturers will follow suit, then we'll really have a clean city.

One thing though, I notice that it can be charged at home. How about those staying in condos? The building management will have to rewire the parking bays to include electrical outlets! Think about that!

• Jacky Yong on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:10 pm

oldwira said,

February 24, 2010 @ 12:55 pm

Yeah, i saw that too, but they were all on the trailers moving north, guess they would be delivered to buyers that probably couldnt wait any longer. Haha, what a loser!

Cars on a trailer? But broke down? What the f*** are you talking about?

• Prismo on Feb 25, 2010 at 12:09 am

————————————–

duh!! why dont take a pic and share it with us.. at least it can support ur statement rahter than just giving a "BUKTI AIR LIUR" je… haiz…!! sooo… deperate!!!

• Tiadaid on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:30 am

Jacky Yong said,

February 24, 2010 @ 3:10 pm

oldwira said,

February 24, 2010 @ 12:55 pm

Cars on a trailer? But broke down? What the f*** are you talking about?

—————-

He's being sarcastic, replying to the ludicrous comment by that Mazda moron.

• peYno on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:30 am

guys

don't be cheated by those proton bashers..

they act like REAL toyota, honda JDM car owner.. but actually they are just ASEAN made 2nd class japs car and perodua car owner…

prrrrfthhh

• Ah Chye on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:35 am

dzulx said,

February 24, 2010 @ 10:48 am

If it ever went to production, how can proton market this??

It surely wouldnt be a sub 40k car…naturally due to the drive train…

But how many can afford small car as expensive as premium sedan.. I wonder…

Dont you think it is interesting to see how proton’s marketing strategy would be? Will it be successful or disastrous??

Proton should have already been busy scouting marketing geniuses to do brainstorm on the strategy….

But 1 think make me curious… if Proton only pay Italdesign to do the design, then why Italdesign is so proudly present this as 1 of their milestone…just wonder what does “smart collaboration” means financially..

—————————————————————-

Well… Sales & Marketing it's another strategic policy. You may ask DSZ. Call him or e-mail him.. or be an CEO

i reckon u just think and type what ever you want it whether it's true or false. that's come later. Now hoover it….

"http://www.italdesign.it/img/italdesigngiugiaro_pressrelease_100212_eng.pdf"

All our statement and curious depends on your spontaneous brain clicker..

• KZM..

if u using pure liquid hydrogen, no carbon will be produce as by product, its juz hydrogen and oxygen (H2O = water) no burning required here, juz chem reaction.. but if ur use liquid hydrocarbon, then yes the cell will produce CO.. batt also need to be produce to be use.. act the basic mechanism of this 2 tech nearly the same.. batt using chem reaction too but with constant mass.. but fuel cell using a "flowing" mass to make that chem reaction.. as there is an infinite source of reaction that can be done..

hahahaha I sorry but Im just too facinated with this fuel cell tech then battery type tech..

1 more thing..

bout the solar panel.. what I heard.. the effcientcy of this panel only about 35% (max) of the initial energy they receive.. not quite effective as energy source.. n its effcientcy will drop vs. life span of the device.. so.. another cost to be consicer if u want an effective eco car..

• Ah Chye on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:18 am

Mohd said,

February 24, 2010 @ 6:37 am

Lotus produces quite impressing sports cars, but apparently they are not able to produce their own engines. They use Toyota engines.

Okay, if the hybrid drivetrain is ANOTHER example of Lotus Engineering’s expertise, where are the other examples? Why didn’t engineering genius Dr Hentschel designed an own Lotus engine? :D

————————————————————–

Haaaaa….i like this one….

do you know what lotus expertise?

did you know Bugatti Veyron clocks 7:40 sec at Nurburgring? and who is clocking 7:38sec?

did you know CAMPRO technology is inside one of Porsche car?

• Jimmy Dean on Feb 25, 2010 at 9:14 am

Some people might still want to argue that since caveman invented the first wheel, it is a waste of time and waste of brain cells trying to reinvent the wheel since it is already invented by the caveman. Might as well go to a malay bomoh and ask him to build a time machine, and when you're in the future figure out how to create a teleportation device and an FTL warp drive.

Regarding fuel cell technology, there is still a long way to go due to:

1. Refueling infrastructure is not ready.

2. Cost of of fuel cell catalyst on teh electrodes, if I am not mistaken it is made of platinum.

3. Hydrogen is just an energy carrier and you've to get hydrogen through some other processes. Either using renewable sources to create it or by thermal cracking from hydrocarbon sources.

4. Due to point no 3 above, even though theoretically certain type of fuel cell has the efficiency of 70% (Gibb's free energy est.) but with addition of other processes the efficiency will go down to about 55%. By comparison, the best diesel engine can get nearly 42% (VW TDI) thermal efficiency and the gas turbine can get to about 60% thermal efficiency (Abrams tank is a series hybrid using gas turbine).

• Jimmy Dean on Feb 25, 2010 at 9:19 am

It's 1:18 am and I think I am mistaken about the Abrams tank… it is not a series hybrid. I was thinking about some other tanks or armoured vehicle and it could be a prototype with silent mode (EV mode running on electric motor only) with gas turbine turning a generator. Can't quiet remember which one… or perhaps it's just a prototype that will never see production.

• RunnerUp on Feb 27, 2010 at 7:41 am

Wondering which is better, GM's E-REV (as used in Chevy Volt) or Lotus Range Extender engine? Both are range extenders all right, but in terms of efficiency, weight, size, performance, simplicity, etc etc, which one has the upper hand?

Has this been discussed? Is it a fair comparison at all? Hehe.

BTW, are there any other similar range extenders (for cars) out there?

• waimak on Feb 27, 2010 at 2:55 pm

this is a concept, so hope you guys know the true meaning of concept car first. And for those who kutuk2 proton and those who defend it gila2, hope you guys are tarninshing any of your company's name…

• Jimmy Dean said,

February 25, 2010 @ 1:14 am

Some people might still want to argue that since caveman invented the first wheel, it is a waste of time and waste of brain cells trying to reinvent the wheel since it is already invented by the caveman. Might as well go to a malay bomoh and ask him to build a time machine, and when you’re in the future figure out how to create a teleportation device and an FTL warp drive.

Regarding fuel cell technology, there is still a long way to go due to:

1. Refueling infrastructure is not ready.

2. Cost of of fuel cell catalyst on teh electrodes, if I am not mistaken it is made of platinum.

3. Hydrogen is just an energy carrier and you’ve to get hydrogen through some other processes. Either using renewable sources to create it or by thermal cracking from hydrocarbon sources.

4. Due to point no 3 above, even though theoretically certain type of fuel cell has the efficiency of 70% (Gibb’s free energy est.) but with addition of other processes the efficiency will go down to about 55%. By comparison, the best diesel engine can get nearly 42% (VW TDI) thermal efficiency and the gas turbine can get to about 60% thermal efficiency (Abrams tank is a series hybrid using gas turbine).

woah heavy stuff here~ salute to U all!!!

1. the refueling yes dont have much now.. since its a new tech.. there only shell hydrogen station only at california?

2.I cant agree more that the rod for the fuel cell must be made by corrosive resist material such as platinum @ gold @ plumbum.. I cant deny that :D

3.same as petrol and diesel.. they need to be filtered from raw petroleum so that it can be use for normal cars..

4.well its a good acheivment for new develeop tech dont u think?

p/s:damn! I cant counter anything u have said to since I dont know that to read/search hahaha tq KMZ n Jimmy Dean. good education I have here..

p/s2: y do I think this range extender stuff like that TG eco car? Geoof? @ hammer hear mk.2? hahaha use diesel gen to power up motor?