Campro Turbo by end 2010 or early 2011

Proton MD Datuk Syed Zainal had a few things to say at a dinner in Hethel today. He and Tun Dr Mahathir are actually in the UK. The ex-premiere had previously visited the Lotus Racing factory and now they are at Group Lotus, where Tun Dr M was briefed on various Lotus projects including the Lotus Range Extender Engine that will make its showcar debut in the Proton Hybrid Concept set to appear in Geneva.

Here are a few details that DSZ revealed:

• The Proton Campro Turbo engine will be available by year-end or latest by early next year, and will be a feature in all Proton’s cars (likely only the larger ones). Looks like it’s on schedule!
  • The Lotus Evora will likely be launched in Malaysia by the end of March. Price is unknown yet but it’s still a question mark whether we can expect Malaysia’s tax structure to show mercy to a sports car made by a company owned by Proton. DSZ says Proton is still working with the government on this.
  • He declined to reveal any details on a new global strategic partner, but mentioned that discussions not only involved Volkswagen but with Mitsubishi and Renault as well. Proton have worked with both Mitsubishi and Renault before.

Actually if you drop by the COE next to Kesas you can already see an Evora there in the parking lot and it looks pretty good in real life. It’s not pure sex on wheels like a Ferrari but it looks more like a weapon, or at least that’s the impression I got in metal.

Source: Bernama

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sirimusa on Feb 24, 2010 at 4:42 pm

I truly hope Proton will be able to deliver the promising engine with a solid transmission and drivetrain.
    I do congratulate the company for the vision and being more ambitious than before.

However, does anyone out here know about any plans in improving crash test results? Two airbags, by world standards now… is not the standard anymore. Any chance we can see a 6 airbag Proton soon?

Thanks all!

• syahman on Feb 24, 2010 at 4:43 pm

“The price reductions were made possible after Lotus was successfully registered as a Malaysian product and able to secure a government-issued import duty waiver.”

Source:
    http://lotusenthusiast.net/2009/07/proton-revs-up-lotus-in-malaysia.html

• scottloeb on Feb 24, 2010 at 4:52 pm

immabastard said,
    February 24, 2010 @ 2:05 pm

It’s not sex on wheels, but you’ll definitely have sex if you drive one…

p/s: I pity the fools in expensive cars but can’t get laid for shits while mat rempits are banging girls left,right,center and sometimes in parks too:P

ROTFLMAO hahaha
    Moral of the story? Be a mat rempit, still can bang girls haha

Back to the issue: Maintenance – how easy that will be?

• henryee on Feb 24, 2010 at 4:57 pm

immabastard said,

p/s: I pity the fools in expensive cars but can’t get laid for shits while mat rempits are banging girls left,right,center and sometimes in parks too:P

Those mat rempit are banging the ‘Cheap stuff’ girls lah~
    C’mon, those expensive cars driver are banging those 1st class girls, how to compare~~~????

• serd best on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:27 pm

turbo for proton???? its already common nowday thanks to our creative racing boy..

• DavidB on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:28 pm

This is great! This is called good money spent on R&D!

• carsut on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:29 pm

Neo CPS turbo!! waw, my next car will be..

• mduan on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:30 pm

wow.. great

• dukeKTM on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:30 pm

Can't wait for the turbo engine…

I've been saving for a turbo Proton…imagine Satria Neo GTi turbo..

err..am I first??

• _Zephyre_ on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:31 pm

Great, now they need to stick it in the Neo.

• dukeKTM on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:32 pm

no im third…hehehe…

Im a Proton supporter….but not the Aftersales quality…

• almostthere on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:34 pm

"and will be a feature in all Proton’s cars." – Paul you better clarify this since does it mean Saga BLM too?

• dzulx on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:36 pm

"Dr Mahathir, also present at the press conference, said a lot of changes have been made since his last visit to Lotus about six years ago."

Hahaha why dont you defend TM as you always does ?? (^b^)…

Proton now really squeeze its milk cow… gud for them..

• bryan.jones on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:36 pm

well, we're expecting better models with better engine.. good engine is not sufficient for survival.

• theanswer on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:40 pm

yeap..i already saw the car at coe..even snap my pic beside the car..

• Patriot on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:43 pm

Im eagerly waiting for this.woohoo

• Paul Tan on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:43 pm

Thats what he told bernama reporters, tho it doesn't sound realistic. He was probably simplifying it for the business reporters?

• androndraco on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:44 pm

Sounds great! This is the kind of news I'm waiting for when I woke up in the morning. Congratulations Proton, Tun Dr M and DSZ. DSZ, we still need you in Proton. You have done great job so far!

• I think when he says all Proton cars he means all future models (esp HL) not just for the Exora which is what most ppl want at the moment. But I suppose, it only makes sense for the Turbo to further complement the CPS range of engines.

• hopefully can get a evora for 200+k ha3

• Mr5zal on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:49 pm

I have seen DSZ drove the evora on weekend. Probably, the evora is his "company car".

• moha3774 on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:50 pm

How I WISH I could wait that long…

• noName on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:53 pm

haha…gr8…i'm getting new persona next year…yeah…now we can fart at perodua on highway..

• istvan on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:57 pm

yeah, turbo in Neo would be great but i dont think it can fit Neo engine bay. maybe for next generation of Neo..Neo 2. hahah

• Persatuan Anti Toyot on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:58 pm

It is good that Proton has got a 1.6-liter turbo with a power of a 2.0-liter and a torque of a 2.4-liter, just like the 1.6-liter engine found on the 308 Turbo. They have a headstart being one of the few Asian car makers that has this kind of engine besides Kia and Hyundai's new 1.6-liter turbo. Question is Proton's new turbo engine is all new? Or just an update of its CPS or will they upgrade its cylinder heads to Variable Valve Timing? More importantly the engine has to be economical – which is something Proton is struggling with its main competitors that has a VVT. Good news noneoftheless.

• armandd on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:02 pm

if they put the campro turbo in neo, i'm sure it'll be much better than satria GTi and will definitely smoke all those civic vtec, huhh!

• staff on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Yes indeed… the evora look much better and sexy in real…

• Arashikage on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:05 pm

W/o turbo also persona can fart at P2….

• immabastard on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:05 pm

It's not sex on wheels, but you'll definitely have sex if you drive one…

p/s: I pity the fools in expensive cars but can't get laid for shits while mat rempits are banging girls left,right,center and sometimes in parks too:P

• gen2lama on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:06 pm

waiting for………. 'power window' thing………..

• lanwm on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:10 pm

DSZ is the man!

• xavier lert on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:11 pm

evora basic listed at GBP47.5k !!! and hi line is abt GBP59 k!!!!…this is UK price btw…..

• intermilan on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:12 pm

Good to have turbo-petrol in their line-up.

Expect it will only be given to certain models.

Saga isn't the 'proper' choice but could be very popular one if they did.

Exora is an ideal choice, so does Neo GTi.

Wish they didn't stop the R&D there.

they need to develop a turbo diesel engine (with particulate filter) too, which is to me, more 'important' than a turbo-petrol due to the better fuel efficiency rate often achieved by turbo diesel. Of course, the G need to fulfill it 'promise' in providing M'sia with improved diesel fuel quality (Euro 4 or 5) on timely basis.

I hope they won't over stress the turbo-petrol. An engine with 140bhp is adequate. 150 bhp would be lovely. What more pressing is to provide good spread of torque across the rpm range, particularly at low and usable rpm.

And dont' disappoint by giving the turbo engine a weak or poorly-tuned gearbox.

Proton will be ahead of the korean (in passenger-vehicle turbo engine) if they managed to pull this off.

• audio on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:16 pm

Wow!…Proton Turbo!.. man.. can't wait to see its arrival XD

• ihatekiasu on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:24 pm

I hope the OTR price for Lotus Evora is below RM150K.

• hope our gov will release the Lotus from their OVER-tax..Evora at 200k?..i reckon 150K..hehe..that's what i call affordable sports car..good news in the horizon..finger crossed.. (^o^)

• littlefire on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:25 pm

I agree what sert best said, they are a lot of Campro turbo running around Malaysia..

The problem is how much have been spend on R&D of a Campro turbo and how long it can produce the engine? I think last time they send almost 70?!? engineer to Lotus UK just to produce this engine? Why not R&D locally?

Besides that, i think it took almost 1 year ++ just to finish R&D this engine?

Well, what i forsee the turbo engine most probably will use back the normal Campro added with a low boost turbo just to improve the torque for Exora to move more smoothly. This is the most cost efficient way for Proton to go. If the engine are tuned high performance, use back the CPS head and plunk in the turbo. This setup will most probably cost much more..

• Nerdy on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:26 pm

Evora will kill Fairlady Z…

• littlefire on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:28 pm

Still someone here use P1 to compare to P2.. Hello, different category.. If a 1.6L engine performance is worst than 1.3L i can say bye bye to Proton even earlier..

If Proton can bring in turbo Campro, why not P2? Bring in Boon X4 or YRV Turbo?

• maymay on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:33 pm

whatever its still a proton :-(

• Mohd Nazri on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:37 pm

Seriously?????? is that all you can think off…

• vbkcheng on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:40 pm

Great lar, Proton should open their eye and brain now.

Even if proton put their campro turbo to the MK1 lotus elise, and sell it around RM 100K, sure will sell more unit than Perdana. Develop new Perdana, a read ocean segment is a stupig move.

• vbkcheng on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:41 pm

Btw, they should make Elise, cause it use manual window, no power window and no failer…

hahaaha

• Mysticmind on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:46 pm

demnnnnn…

I think I must work harder and smarter to get one of evora.

• farghmee on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:47 pm

campro-turbo, not campro-cps-turbo, right guys?

• nigttrain on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:50 pm

Well, you wrote power window.. that's half hour hahaha. Probably Evora will be about 50% more expensive than current Elise price kot.

• MADBOY on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:52 pm

The Lotus Evora will likely be launched in Malaysia by the end of March. Price is unknown yet but it’s still a question mark whether we can expect Malaysia’s tax structure to show mercy to a sports car made by a company owned by Proton. DSZ says Proton is still working with the government on this.

——-

just do what NAZA did, change the external logo into Proton logo & walaaa, it it a national car and less tax is impose. No need to change other thing even Lotus logo inside the car.

• techtitan on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:53 pm

campro turbo? been waiting for this piece for quite sometimes now…

i'd probably trade-in my cps with campro turbo powered cars next year…that is if they have already factored in the reliability and economical aspect into the engine…

it would be really embarassing for them if the new turbocharged campro only have performance but lack of other critical things required by malaysian drivers..

• azrai on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:55 pm

There are some units of Evora at COE Kesas. One also got trade plate for test drive. it's been there for about a month.

• azrai on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:56 pm

Campro Turbo based on IAFM type one, not CPS. CPS work more likely to VTEC and yes it is natural aspirated one.

• wan_knox on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:56 pm

Can upgrade my gen2 to turbo version later.. hehehehe

• endre on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:58 pm

Is the picture shown with Mr. M & DSZ the Lotus Evora ?

• neokid on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:59 pm

i would love to see middle class people can afford the evora.heheh

• lchan on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:02 pm

Evora…:)~.

• phahmeen on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:12 pm

DR M..please come back…N ruining the country….

• initial R on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:15 pm

gen2lama said,

February 24, 2010 @ 2:06 pm

waiting for………. ‘power window’ thing………..

———————————–

hahaha…. bro, don't pinch the bashier with 'PW' thing…. they will excite with out notice…. hahaha but so kelakar….

• tokmoh on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Awww… I was about to say inb4 power window problems… gen2lama beat me to it hehe…

Well, hopefully Campro turbo will be ready by end of this yr, as said in few earlier reports on it.

But thinking biz-wise, sales always drop at end of the yr cuz people rather wait to buy/register their car the following yr. So I guess it's not too bad if it's launched early nxt yr too.

• wuttaheck on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:23 pm

immabastard said,

—-

LOL!

guess u still have to have RXZ instead of RX7, dont u?

• anita on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:27 pm

turbo? somehow proton target consumer is the new generation boy racer / first time car buyer and not the older generations or ppl who had proton cars previously. IMHO, proton should develop a more fuel efficient engine with great torque capability rather than developing a turbo engine. other car makers are moving towards a greener engine, unlike our "beloved" proton.

• bobdbilder on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:28 pm

This always happens to me everytime I want to buy a Neo. When I wanted to buy it, some friends told me a better model is coming. I've even put deposit at Glenmarie. I was planning to get the Neo CPS after I finish my Waja's installment. Now waiting again…

• droll on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:28 pm

wow, affordable turbocharging for the masses! looks like they may beat Naza to it.

but i'm curious to see the fuel consumption figures though.

• bongok_la_weh on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:37 pm

peduli hape power window..saw many turbo ah beng cars need to open door to pay toll

• Stale news. I don't know why you all are so excited about.

Generally, almost any workshop or kedai potong can slap on a turbo on a proton engine. It is pretty common stuff these day. Kancil car can slap on a turbo oso, from Mira stuff

4×4 off roaders have been adding on turbo since 10 years ago.

Tuner shops in KL have BOT (bolt on turbo) for sale long time ago.

Heck, even mat rempit's kapchai oso got turbo.

So, what so great??

• sayapdewa on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:42 pm

yet an0ther brilliant m0ve by pr0t0n and DSZ. Cant wait the for the m0del JDM killer so0n. c0ngrats!

• almostthere on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:46 pm

now's lets see what it'll do with an open pod, better aftermarket intercoolers and a 2.0-2.5" exhaust job

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:50 pm

Good news on Turbo! BUT…

What about the after sales service and QUALITY?

What about the marvelous 25 years old Power Window technology (and other parts as well)?

I hope the new engine won't explode on the road. That would be disastrous.

Maintenance for turbo will be different from ordinary fuel injection engine? Maintenance cost will increase anyways, due to faster wear and tear?

The current Campro Engine is already a fuel guzzler, wonder how much is the fuel consumption when turbo is added?

Not to forget, the new fuel subsidy tier system to be implemented on 1st May 2010, until now still no official news from the government, more theory and assumption made from several websites and newspaper.

• gen2lama said,

————————————————-

pemikiran seperti org kampung yang tak habis belajar.nie la org kampung yg duduk kat hulu atau oraang asli yang tak tahu apa2.

• lupa dah nick name l on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:55 pm

great car..

tapi yang tak best nya kenyataan DSZ " Price is unknown yet but it’s still a question mark whether we can expect Malaysia’s tax structure to show mercy to a sports car made by a company owned by Proton. DSZ says Proton is still working with the government on this."

Inilah sebenarnya masalah utama rakyat untuk memiliki kereta berkualiti oleh kerana ia dijual pada harga keterlaluan.. negara2 mundur spt Malaysia, Indonesia suka menyiksa rakyat dengan kadar cukai melampau. Harap AFTA akan memulihkan keadaan. Kenyataan ini juga buktikan Proton dan Produa hidup hanya kerana dasar perlindungan kerajaan thdp kereta buatan tempatan. Apapun syabas untuk Proton atas kecemerlangan di bawah kepimpinan DSZ. Nampaknya Proton kembali untung dengan model2 baru spt Exora, Saga BLM dan Persona. Apapun teknologi2 spt enjin turbo, hybrid dan EV car harus dipercepat dan jangan ditangguh2 hingga tahun 2011 kerana industri sebenarnya telah jauh bergerak ke hdapan. Kita seperti terlampau jauh tertinggal di belakang

• mr_3m on Feb 25, 2010 at 12:15 am

Lotus cars are cool… be it the Elise, Exige and now the Evora…. i just hope Govt can allow the cars to be sold at least at similar price as they are in UK, their domestic market… so if Evora is GBP50k… then mathematically it should be around RM300-360k in Malaysia… it will be nice to compete with 350Z or Cayman… and hopefully get more cult following in the 'owner' homeland… y not…

• littleboy on Feb 25, 2010 at 12:16 am

wait for the fuel subsidi things to come back…..will c many2 car stop at the road side….cause can't afford to buy "minyak"!!!!

• elite on Feb 25, 2010 at 12:19 am

proton…need foreigners to feed them the technology…n govt to feed them the customers

• alamak.. what's wrong with you 'Gen2lama'..? Old issue also want to post here.. wake up man!

• ROBERT on Feb 25, 2010 at 12:23 am

berani bersaing jangan jadi jaguh kampung…

• Prismo on Feb 25, 2010 at 12:23 am

my old wira had a power window problem.. when i'm winding down bla.. bla.. bla…

there u go gen2lama.. basher's power windows issues :D

• oldwira on Feb 25, 2010 at 12:25 am

Turbo!!!!…. thats great news. Any comment from the losers… hahaha

• ezmil75 on Feb 25, 2010 at 12:43 am

waiting for Exora Hybrid ;-)

• theanswer on Feb 25, 2010 at 12:57 am

dont expect p1 going to beat p2 in terms of fc..power n bla3. some of us here must grow up..evry car got its own characteristic..not all cars going to act or behave the same..or else there's no fun in driving or testing different car. p1 and p2 each got their own fans. the main point is..both company must deliver and try to please the customers..it's us who goin got enjoy our own local product. and yes..p1 must look far ahead..not just compete with p2 locally but worldwide.

• staff on Feb 25, 2010 at 1:03 am

"MY FAILED POWER WINDOW: A TRUE STORY"

"THE LEGEND OF FAILING POWER WINDOW"

"25 YEARS LIVING WITH FAILED POWER WINDOW"

Those are some title of books i suggest to "ANYWHO" that keep bash about power windows for his WAJA and PERSONA… You know who that is…

• Jarum on Feb 25, 2010 at 1:15 am

Many of you here make me laugh!

You people are all so excited about this Turbo engine and yet again you don't want to pay extra for fuel! Go and get this Turbo and once the fuel prices go up then we'll see what happens!

• proton boleh on Feb 25, 2010 at 1:32 am

its is really sad when many people just talk what they think is right. always with the negativity . proton is not stupid, they have made mistakes and even though they were late in rectifying them they have taken the first steps towards a better proton. the new persona, neo ,exora and saga blm have seen much improvement which you people don't understand. all you want is an ideal world. great car but dirt cheap, lots of power but sips fuel like a camel. i suggest you go take up a mechanical engineering or automotive engineering course and see if you can do better or else stop sprouting nonsense. the neo cps was t just and update where they plonked in a new cps module. it was re-tweaked from every aspect engine, suspension even transmission. ask any neo owners cps and non cps they tell u the difference. so just imagine a Satria Neo CPS Turbo fully tweaked out.i say keep up the good work proton.

• proton boleh on Feb 25, 2010 at 1:34 am

and just for your information i drive a 15 year old proton wira which has never let me down. you people treat your proton like a bullock cart and expect it to act like a beemer. i wonder if you would treat a bmw the same way u treat a proton?

• nudin on Feb 25, 2010 at 1:38 am

tira said,

February 24, 2010 @ 3:53 pm

gen2lama said,

————————————————-

pemikiran seperti org kampung yang tak habis belajar.nie la org kampung yg duduk kat hulu atau oraang asli yang tak tahu apa2.

…………………..

i know what gen2lama wanna say

• Squawk on Feb 25, 2010 at 1:41 am

The question here is… how much did Proton spend on preparing for Dr M's trip there?

• Eyesore on Feb 25, 2010 at 1:44 am

LOL…. dun misunderstand Gen2Lama… that was a sarcasm… what he meant is he's waiting for those blind basher to bring on the Power window issue….

Well… SY0H already brought it up…. like he always did in any Proton thread… hehehe Lets the power window saga begins……. LMAO

Btw.. i dun think there will be neo turbo… if i'm not mistaken I heard somewhere that Neo CPS is the last evolution of Satria Neo… no more after that… And its CamPro Turbo not CamPro CPS Turbo…. Will be used in Exora and The all new model in 2012… =)

aiyoh.. dun compare the current CamPro to Turbo ones… of coz la they gonna upgrade the Engine Parts to suit the turbo power…. It's a suicide to use current design of campro and just slap on turbo… it won't last long…

• kimi_ on Feb 25, 2010 at 1:44 am

anita said,

turbo? somehow proton target consumer is the new generation boy racer / first time car buyer and not the older generations or ppl who had proton cars previously. IMHO, proton should develop a more fuel efficient engine with great torque capability rather than developing a turbo engine. other car makers are moving towards a greener engine, unlike our “beloved” proton.

——————————————————————

MADLY AGREE !!!!!!!!!!!1

the main concern now for most car buyer is FUEL CONSUMPTION…..

Why didnt Proton put its effort in design a efficient engine like VVT in p2/toyota or IDSI in Honda ???????????

why we rather choose P2 viva that is smaller in size and expensive rather than SAGA. Because of good fuel consumption especially in city driving!!!

It makes a big difference by saving 3/4 liter per KM.

For EXORA, why dont just use the MIVEC engine from MITSUBISHI, the cherry EASTAR also use it but sells cheap oso , rather than develop own turbo engine !!!!!!

Why proton always lag behind the trend as most car maker trying DITCH their big cc engine to greener, efficient engine or hybrid car ????/ SHAME

• nazri on Feb 25, 2010 at 1:53 am

yeah other car maker and bumper maker can 'mintak simpati' from their boss to hv turbo model soon.. that just great :) more choices

• kerelbort on Feb 25, 2010 at 1:53 am

I just hope that Malaysian can get their mentality out from Turbo for performance to Turbo for better fuel consumption.

• evora is a very pretty car to see and stand beside and feel it

i met one of the designer of the evora

• mygsr on Feb 25, 2010 at 2:04 am

“MY FAILED POWER WINDOW: A TRUE STORY”

“THE LEGEND OF FAILING POWER WINDOW”

“25 YEARS LIVING WITH FAILED POWER WINDOW”

Those are some title of books i suggest to “ANYWHO” that keep bash about power windows for his WAJA and PERSONA… You know who that is…<————TOYOTA also got problem.kill people

• almostthere on Feb 25, 2010 at 2:07 am

power window problem? Campro makan minyak? Still stuck in the early 21st century huh?

• evora should be price between waja and exora since it is sporty than waja, but only can seat 4 instead of 7. RM69K should be just fine. muhahahaha.

* it helps invite britons to the malaysian second home programme.

• Paul's sex on wheels comment led to an interesting debate about "1st class girls" and "cheap whores".

nice….

• frossonice (Member) on Feb 25, 2010 at 2:17 am

gen2lama was being cynical towards the basher la…

Anita, Proton IS moving towards greener energy and fuel efficiency. I bet you haven't heard about Proton Hybrid Concept and plonking a turbo inside a car doesn't always reduce fuel efficiency. Modern automakers are using turbo to produce more efficient engine. This is not Ah Beng mods.

• to proton boleh;

i admire your optimism. i too would love to see the day when Proton can compete equally with the likes of Honda and Kia. but the thing about the car industry is that there's stiff competition out there and the gruesome fact still remains; Proton is not up to snuff.

take the Honda City for example. strip off the tax imposed on the Honda and compare it to the Persona or the Gen2. it would be blind optimism to say that the Persona/Gen2 is as good as the City. mind you, without the tax, the City would be MUCH cheaper than either models.

and finally, i agree that we can't demand for great cars for the price of nuts. i'd like to quote and modify a famous line to suit my context; with great power, comes great price.

• iziit campro turbo or CPS turbo?? i think better put CPS turbo…like mitsibishi got mivec turbo…coz if proton combine both tech together itz can produce better torque at low end eg. start at 3000rpm finish at 4000rpm than start from 4000rpm turbo kick in until redline…walauwehhhh….syokk oooo…yep turbo engine fit easyly in neo engine bay…u know y?? coz my fren already plunk mivec 1.6, GSR 1.8Turbo even Evo 4 engine in Neo engine bay…all masuk ngan and cun mahhh…

• Prismo on Feb 25, 2010 at 2:24 am

zino said,

February 24, 2010 @ 3:41 pm

Stale news. I don’t know why you all are so excited about.

Generally, almost any workshop or kedai potong can slap on a turbo on a proton engine. It is pretty common stuff these day. Kancil car can slap on a turbo oso, from Mira stuff

Tuner shops in KL have BOT (bolt on turbo) for sale long time ago.

So, what so great??

———————————————-

BOT at kedai abang (aftermarket) will VOID the warranty and stock CamPro Turbo will be covered a warranty by Proton.. that is the "great" …

tira said,

February 24, 2010 @ 3:53 pm

gen2lama said,

————————————————-

——————————

aku tatau lah ko baru turun dari gunung mana… point gen2lama ialah, dia tunggu bila basher nak bercerita ttg isu PW yg dah lapuk tu.. apa point ko pulak?

• which one proton put?? hi compression type engine only can low boost like peugeot, or low compression which can go hi boost and modified kaw-kaw like GSR engine??

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Feb 25, 2010 at 2:29 am

some people here love their proton here more than their wives. my only guess it that their wives are pretty ugly.

• btw next year for sure perodua will bring viva 660 turbo, myvi 1000cc x4 Turbo or any model with daihatsu super dupa engine K3VET 1.3 DVVT Turbo which produce 140Bhp….fuyooooo

• Black Dog on Feb 25, 2010 at 2:32 am

Yeah, probably my vision will come through….lower the tax and treat it as local car…then many ppl will have opportunity to enjoy M'sian-owned "affordable sports car".

But there will still be 'otakless' and 'water-fish who like to be slash by the G' who still insist sports car must be expensive then only can call sports car LOL!

• taboogen on Feb 25, 2010 at 2:34 am

cant wait for the part to come out.. hoping the turbo use the old campro block……

• adijb on Feb 25, 2010 at 2:35 am

This is good news. Will wait for Exora with Turbo Engine before finally deciding on whether to get Exora or somthing else. Not in a hurry. My Avanza is still reliable and dependable.

As for power window, my iswara's original power window is still working. The alignment is a bit off, though. I have to 'assist' it with my hand if I want the window to go up properly in one go. Else, it will normally take me 4 to 5 tries before the window is properly up. Not bad for a 11 years old this coming may.

• sayapdewa on Feb 25, 2010 at 2:36 am

agreed with SIRIMUSA. the main thing to sh0w us is crash test result. an0ther thing will pr0t0n pr0duce a car wit standard eur0pe spec which is 6 air bags? c'm0n pr0t0n put safety at highest pri0rity rather than p0werful engine kuat makan minyak. anyway, pr0t0n really did a g0od j0b…tahniah!

• what Proton needs most for the moment is a new 5-speed or 6-speed gearbox..4-speed gearbox isnt adequate and not competitive…

• Prismo on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:00 am

u r right Mazda 3 MPS, but atleast our ugly wives still prettier than ur mom and ur (future) wive. The uglies woman ever born ahakz….

• tamaki on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:08 am

Campro turbo, recently proton really startle me of exaggerate break news. I didn't mean to be nitpick, but turbo is antique. Focus on elaborately quality should be top priority to stand on world stage. personally i looking forward concept of proton cuz it hybrid tat what of latest technology. good luck proton

• peYno on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:22 am

ittlefire said,

February 24, 2010 @ 2:28 pm

Still someone here use P1 to compare to P2.. Hello, different category.. If a 1.6L engine performance is worst than 1.3L i can say bye bye to Proton even earlier..

If Proton can bring in turbo Campro, why not P2? Bring in Boon X4 or YRV Turbo?================

hahahah sorry, Big Boss Daihatsu doesnt allow it.. end up change bumper n headlamp only

prrrrtfhjhhh

• ezralimm on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:24 am

The turbo is a lil late dont ya think?

WOnder if a Neo GTI would live up to it's predecessor…

• peYno on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:26 am

elite said,

February 24, 2010 @ 4:19 pm

proton…need foreigners to feed them the technology…n govt to feed them the customers

=======

prrrfthhh p2 salesman in trouble..

• karpal sinking on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:26 am

lol, I want turbo in my BLM

• peYno on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:37 am

theanswer said,

February 24, 2010 @ 4:57 pm

dont expect p1 going to beat p2 in terms of fc..power n bla3. some of us here must grow up..evry car got its own characteristic..not all cars going to act or behave the same..or else there’s no fun in driving or testing different car. p1 and p2 each got their own fans. the main point is..both company must deliver and try to please the customers..it’s us who goin got enjoy our own local product. and yes..p1 must look far ahead..not just compete with p2 locally but worldwide.

==========

i think ur statement is opposite…as JUARA KAMPUNG for 4 tahun..p2 must look far ahead..not just compete with p1 locally but worldwide.

prrrfthhh

• cetakrompak on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:50 am

who felt the power windows thing , ?

perodua?

who is previous proton supporter?

who paid hard earn money who got cheated?

who hv to fork out money to repair it?

perodua driver?

• my saga lmst 3 years old also got power window problem until now.. every two month need to open and scratch contact point…its design problem la… so hoping this turbo engine free design problem? dream on la….even saga blm also got IAFM problem… good luck proton turbo buyer…

• Source:
    http://lotusenthusiast.net/2009/07/proton-revs-up…

seems like we do have a chance of having elise of 150+k n evora of 200+k ha3..

jom ramai2 menabung :D

• RON97MinyakGamat on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:06 am

To reduce car price and r&d cost for this new campro turbo engine , should use current campro engine block, just chg internal part to withstand boost, and minor chg to non cps dohc cam. Also stronger gear box and stiffer chassis due to much higher torque. Stiffer spring with front double wishbone suspension for faster cornering speed hehehe.

For first gen campro turbo engine, minimum 160hp at 6000rpm and 220nm at 3000rpm is already good with price max rm80k. Just my opinion……

• RedLine on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:13 am

Evora and Exora sounds too close. One is a sports car, the other is an MPV. Should've picked a different name.

• think on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:33 am

proton owns one of the best brand in the world which is lotus..but is there any use on it,if an ordinary person in malaysia can't own it…everything caused by high taxes..think…….

• jong84 (Member) on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:33 am

Come on wake up Pero2. Please don't make us down! bring it on! turbo myvi.. turbo alza.. turbo viva..what else?… just do it baby.. don't smoke by proton!

• Bathory on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:38 am

Ha ha! Lepas ni keluar Waja replacement in the shape of Mitsubishi Lancer, all the Evo wannabe boys will kasi taruh Proton punya turbo kasi asap all those Lancers la. Haha, trust lagi Mitsubishi to sell in Malaysia. Tak sampai 3 tahun sudah bagi design sama Proton, resell value then jatuh gila-gila. Banyak kasian sama Lancer owners after this. Alamak, lupa! Aku pun Lancer owner jugak! Daaaaamn!

• driving a 140hp-viva = committing suicide!

• Ah Chye on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:59 am

Turbo SUCKS!!!! It's old fashion victims.

Why dun R&D twin charger (supercharger + turbocharger)????

• or even myvi…no….absolutely not..i think it's suicide driving any perodua cars..

• bmpower on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:24 am

sayapdewa. you better ask p2 where is their crash test. 6 airbag? oh. p2 car had 10 airbag ah? And somemore p2 and t must have Stuck Acceleration Paddle . So proton must have that too aa?

Proton is doing so many good thing laterly. Far beyond certain brand. Exora example, their high tensile steel + injected foam tube frame tech are far hard and safety than toyota camry. You wont believe it right? BEcause its2 not you toyota. Am I?

Go to hell blind basher. You don't deserved chance to live in this world.

• i think r3 division should sell turbo kit in the future

• Premium on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:54 am

TT said,

February 24, 2010 @ 6:21 pm

to proton boleh;

i admire your optimism. i too would love to see the day when Proton can compete equally with the likes of Honda and Kia. but the thing about the car industry is that there’s stiff competition out there and the gruesome fact still remains; Proton is not up to snuff.

take the Honda City for example. strip off the tax imposed on the Honda and compare it to the Persona or the Gen2. it would be blind optimism to say that the Persona/Gen2 is as good as the City. mind you, without the tax, the City would be MUCH cheaper than either models.

and finally, i agree that we can’t demand for great cars for the price of nuts. i’d like to quote and modify a famous line to suit my context; with great power, comes great price.

—————————

TT,

have you check what honda do in Thailand for their cars? They positioned it as middle to upper products, thus the price are not much lower. Do you think Honda Malaysia will not do the same? If Malaysian willing to pay 90k for city currently, why should they let go their margin if tax are lowered?

You price your products based on what people willing to pay. If 90k is high, lower it a bit, and with more accessories. Branding is the part of the game. People will still buy it.

• Prismo said,

February 24, 2010 @ 6:24 pm

BOT at kedai abang (aftermarket) will VOID the warranty and stock CamPro Turbo will be covered a warranty by Proton.. that is the “great” …

—————————————————————

Bro Prismo,

Great? Do be silly la. the turbo will not be waranttied forever by PROTON. After warranty, turbo kong. how? Bikin sendiri ka?

After warranty period over, even when power window kong (classic case la) you have to buy new or find it from kedai potong. That is troublesome but fixable. becoz its mainly mechanical.

If turbo kong, the repair is not DIY bro, and wont be cheap.

You pandai-pandai pikir sendiri, bro….from the sound of it, you don't seem to know about turbo. I own turbo cars before and it's headache when problem arises. Will oso burn a big hole in the pocket if have to fix a problematic turbo.

• koozold on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:25 am

new Waja Lancer with Campro Turbo perhaps?

• "70 Plymouth Ba on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:33 am

btw next year for sure perodua will bring viva 660 turbo, myvi 1000cc x4 Turbo or any model with daihatsu super dupa engine K3VET 1.3 DVVT Turbo which produce 140Bhp….fuyooooo

angan-angan la pulak!

• ahbengrider on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:41 am

sure many of my ah beng fren wanna psst psst here and there… turbo here and there.. haha beng rulz !

• Smallfish (Member) on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:50 am

With persona turbo, vroomm and bye-bye to Civic and Altis

• I think Proton Exora deserve this turbo engine, btw, is turbo engine good and easy to maintain???

• turbo rulez on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:08 am

well, turbo means the engine need to overhaul/replace, like power window la.

anyway,i support turbo. let see what will happen to our road, really rempit??

MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!

wait, not yet release? PR will replace BN by the end of 2010 or early 2011 also.

just give us the thing, dun bs.

• peyno's mom on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:12 am

peYno said,

February 24, 2010 @ 7:26 pm

elite said,

February 24, 2010 @ 4:19 pm

=======

prrrfthhh p2 salesman in trouble..

—————————————-

yeah!!! peyno, this time your sales will boom!!! end of 2010 or early 2011 everyone will find you buy proton car, this time, p2 salesman will be job less and become begger, lol. lets spit on them kao kao.

before end of 2010 , pls promote kao kao your persona and exora first.

GIve free power window life time warranty la, guarantee with your bank account ( if zero, dun show lo) !!!

• turbo on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:16 am

27 said,

February 24, 2010 @ 11:00 pm

I think Proton Exora deserve this turbo engine, btw, is turbo engine good and easy to maintain???

—————–

yesd turbo is good, but lotus never use turbo, lotus use TOYOTA Engine, go figure. and lotus so stupid help Msia make turbo engine, when they DO NOT HAVE NA/Turbo engine in their current product line up.

• Prismo on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:19 am

zino said,

February 24, 2010 @ 10:01 pm

Bro Prismo,

Great? Do be silly la. the turbo will not be waranttied forever by PROTON. After warranty, turbo kong. how? Bikin sendiri ka?

After warranty period over, even when power window kong (classic case la) you have to buy new or find it from kedai potong. That is troublesome but fixable. becoz its mainly mechanical.

If turbo kong, the repair is not DIY bro, and wont be cheap.

You pandai-pandai pikir sendiri, bro….from the sound of it, you don’t seem to know about turbo. I own turbo cars before and it’s headache when problem arises. Will oso burn a big hole in the pocket if have to fix a problematic turbo.

———————————————

Am i silly or u r just a plain stupid… yes, it is not forever covered by a warranty by Proton, atleast u still have 3 years warranty period (did toyota covered their turbo engine by warranty forever eh?). If u BOT ur vehicle (i.e Persona), "SERTA MERTA" warranty will void.. after warranty turbo kong? of course repair with ur own pocket money la… why, toyota will give u a money to repair a "turbo kong" after warranty period is over?

another Power-window-stone-age-story (that i already kept the case inside my refrigerator). Ya lor, same case if another brand vehicle PW's fail, go get it at kedai potong for a cheap spareparts lor.. That is troublesome but fixable.

oklah, u've driven a turbo car before.. u noe everything about turbo's engine…. turbo cant DIY repair and it will not cheap to repair and u already spend alots money and u will headaches when problem arrises.. so, u sound like u already noe Proton stock turbo's will be problematic as ur turbo's engine? Proton Turbo engine still not hit the road yet and u already have the conclusion… lu pikirlah sendiri…

• turbo on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:21 am

proton boleh said,

February 24, 2010 @ 5:32 pm

its is really sad when many people just talk what they think is right. always with the negativity . proton is not stupid, they have made mistakes and even though they were late in rectifying them they have taken the first steps towards a better proton. the new persona, neo ,exora and saga blm have seen much improvement which you people don’t understand. all you want is an ideal world. great car but dirt cheap, lots of power but sips fuel like a camel. i suggest you go take up a mechanical engineering or automotive engineering course and see if you can do better or else stop sprouting nonsense. the neo cps was t just and update where they plonked in a new cps module. it was re-tweaked from every aspect engine, suspension even transmission. ask any neo owners cps and non cps they tell u the difference. so just imagine a Satria Neo CPS Turbo fully tweaked out.i say keep up the good work proton.

——————————–

proton is not stupid, car buyer are stupid.

see how they treated consumer? power window issue, quality issue, fuel consumption issue. My fren complain 1.6 persona eat more fuel than her old wira lama with engine dari half cut, yang ppl taruk kuat kuat. Maybe she stupid.

See how stupid is toyota? keep on recalling cars.

IN malaysia, you accident, you die because you drive fast, you no ettique, you dunno how to drive, you rempit, you b0d0, you mabuk, you brek tak makan. but no one will blame the car maker. why blame car maker? you choose the stupid car right??

Malaysia boleh.

You kill ppl, you no need to go to jail.

but if you choose the wrong car, you die, padan muka. lol.

• Prismo on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:22 am

Hate Turbo, buy N/A… problem settled…

• odi862 on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:23 am

If Proton do introduce Campro Turbo in their product line and with the right pricing, it will sure sells well as it always does. The sales may continue to rise until some problems arise as they always do.

TM is there to monitor his brainchild project to make some 'progress'. The existing of Proton is a double-edged sword. One thing it is good for the country as a show of having own brand car and creating jobs. The other thing is most people HAVE to buy the car whatever the quality issue may be as the local brand cars are priced just nicely for most people can afford.

Hopefully Proton will succeed……..whatever the success may be either they continue to survive or die out.

• turbo on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:23 am

Smallfish said,

February 24, 2010 @ 10:50 pm

With persona turbo, vroomm and bye-bye to Civic and Altis

—————————–

bye bye civic. AH BENG foreman, here i come.

turbo pecah, bearing rosak. ribu ribu kena habih.

setiap 3000km kena tukar minyak hitam. you orang tau kan?

tarak duit, bawak motor, turbo proton kita simpan kat rumah.

• Jarum on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:53 am

They can add Turbo, Twin Turbo, Supercharger or Superturbo but the simple fact remains P2 sales will always be tops!

P1 should learn to beat that first!

• Now you know why they want to banned half-cut (kedai potong kereta) shops by 2011..

• This Evora will start the price in U.S with $73,500….can someone convert this value into RM???…anybody??..

• Peter on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:33 am

kimi_ said,

February 24, 2010 @ 5:44 pm

anita said,

turbo? somehow proton target consumer is the new generation boy racer / first time car buyer and not the older generations or ppl who had proton cars previously. IMHO, proton should develop a more fuel efficient engine with great torque capability rather than developing a turbo engine. other car makers are moving towards a greener engine, unlike our “beloved” proton.

——————————————————————

MADLY AGREE !!!!!!!!!!!1

the main concern now for most car buyer is FUEL CONSUMPTION…..

Why didnt Proton put its effort in design a efficient engine like VVT in p2/toyota or IDSI in Honda ???????????

why we rather choose P2 viva that is smaller in size and expensive rather than SAGA. Because of good fuel consumption especially in city driving!!!

It makes a big difference by saving 3/4 liter per KM.

For EXORA, why dont just use the MIVEC engine from MITSUBISHI, the cherry EASTAR also use it but sells cheap oso , rather than develop own turbo engine !!!!!!

Why proton always lag behind the trend as most car maker trying DITCH their big cc engine to greener, efficient engine or hybrid car ????/ SHAME

—————————————————————-

Bro, Cherry Eastar does not use MIVEC Engine from Mitsubishi……It only uses another variant of engine from Mitsubishi which is lacked of power than the MIVEC engine………And also, Proton has their own Campro engine which took more than 10 years to develop . So why do Proton will still use Mitsubishi engine when Proton has their own? Lastly ….i use to think Proton is Malaysian Mitsubishi and Perodua as Malaysian Daihatsu. But i think Proton is doing a good efforts in having the turbo and hybrid engine…………Bro………wait for another 10 years before Proton developed something like VVT-I engine……

• I mean frankly, P1 is just trying to improve and it takes a little more time.

• tokmoh on Feb 25, 2010 at 9:51 am

lol, gen2lama misunderstood by many. To those that thinks he's bashing proton, search the meaning of "inb4…" or "in before…" at urbandictionary.com

THIS. IS. INTERNEEEEEEEEETTTTZZZZZZ!!!!!!!

~~~

Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI PROTON ULTRAS said,

February 24, 2010 @ 6:29 pm

some people here love their proton here more than their wives. my only guess it that their wives are pretty ugly.

>>> According to a great thinker, all proton fans are gay boys.

• C-rappBandung on Feb 25, 2010 at 9:55 am

" He declined to reveal any details on a new global strategic partner, but mentioned that discussions not only involved Volkswagen but with Mitsubishi and Renault as well. Proton have worked with both Mitsubishi and Renault before."

We already have p2 as a direct strategic partner with toyota, a VW is the best for p1. At least we have 2 top manufacturer in the world on bolehland. A kind of fusion like east meet west, like conti vs jap. Both has enormous part bin which can mix n match or worst case a rebadge. So who prefer conti choose p1 n die hard jap wannabe choose p2. Simple right.

• You have to give credit where it's due. Syabas Proton. Well done. Paul, how about some detail, did new engine or just bolted on aftermarket solution.

Anyway, this move is pretty much in line with all auto Cos, lowering emission, more power and better fuel economy. Small engine + turbo = answer to your prayers. Check out Fiat's MultiAir at http://www.fiat.co.uk/content/?id=10857. Brilliant.

• ** Abg Am ** on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:41 pm

btw….. most of u people is expecting turbo engine from proton, what kind of turbo engine u expected? i dont think proton will go for performance turbo, i think they will go for "soft turbo" like what volvo have. proton will target for general customer, not only the one who love powerful car. for me i really hope proton will produce car which can produce around 130-140HP with FC better than my waja campro….

• seman on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:43 pm

banyak org yg komen disini takda ilmu pasal turbo..diaorang cuma teruja…teruja gila-gila sebab enjin campro tak power sampai lupa turbo tu apa benda! tak kira apa jenis turbo siap la korang kalau minyak jadi mcm hari tu RM 2.70 seliter…jgn sampi terpaksa beli savy,kelisa….hahahahhahahaa

• Tiadaid on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:49 pm

turbo said,

February 24, 2010 @ 11:21 pm

proton boleh said,

February 24, 2010 @ 5:32 pm

its is really sad when many people just talk what they think is right. always with the negativity . proton is not stupid, they have made mistakes and even though they were late in rectifying them they have taken the first steps towards a better proton. the new persona, neo ,exora and saga blm have seen much improvement which you people don’t understand. all you want is an ideal world. great car but dirt cheap, lots of power but sips fuel like a camel. i suggest you go take up a mechanical engineering or automotive engineering course and see if you can do better or else stop sprouting nonsense. the neo cps was t just and update where they plonked in a new cps module. it was re-tweaked from every aspect engine, suspension even transmission. ask any neo owners cps and non cps they tell u the difference. so just imagine a Satria Neo CPS Turbo fully tweaked out.i say keep up the good work proton.

——————————–

proton is not stupid, car buyer are stupid.

see how they treated consumer? power window issue, quality issue, fuel consumption issue. My fren complain 1.6 persona eat more fuel than her old wira lama with engine dari half cut, yang ppl taruk kuat kuat. Maybe she stupid.

See how stupid is toyota? keep on recalling cars.

IN malaysia, you accident, you die because you drive fast, you no ettique, you dunno how to drive, you rempit, you b0d0, you mabuk, you brek tak makan. but no one will blame the car maker. why blame car maker? you choose the stupid car right??

Malaysia boleh.

You kill ppl, you no need to go to jail.

but if you choose the wrong car, you die, padan muka. lol.

——————

1. Toyota recall – yes they're stupid, because they were FORCED to recall. Instead of voluntarily recalling their cars without fuss, they delay here, delay there until become big issue only they start to recall.

2. Accident – yes, many of the accidents in Malaysia should be blamed on the DRIVER. Drive like hell, how can help save you in an accident? Even BMW with all the safety gizmos would not help you if you crash at high speed, as we've seen recently.

• Nakal on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:22 pm

seman said,

February 25, 2010 @ 7:43 am

banyak org yg komen disini takda ilmu pasal turbo..diaorang cuma teruja…teruja gila-gila sebab enjin campro tak power sampai lupa turbo tu apa benda! tak kira apa jenis turbo siap la korang kalau minyak jadi mcm hari tu RM 2.70 seliter…jgn sampi terpaksa beli savy,kelisa….hahahahhahahaa

————————–

kau pun WAJIB update knowledge kau tentang turbo…turbo sekarang bukan turbo yang guna pada kereta racing tu. Banyakan membaca, cari kat google..beli megazine kereta. Jangan terkejut kalau kau terbaca yang fuel consumption turbo sekarang hampir sama dengan standard enjin tapi dengan performance yang lebih bagus.. jangan teruja sangat bagi komen kalau ilmu tak sampai mana.

• gen2lama on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:33 pm

syaz said.

alamak.. what’s wrong with you ‘Gen2lama’..? Old issue also want to post here.. wake up man!

————————————————————-

another freshie ke ni…hmmmm just look at my nickname…

i'm not dreaming anymore…..3 protons in my garage now…

• Eyesore on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:39 pm

LOL… most of the time I'm at lost on how to reason / response to these blind and baseless bashers… it so stupid that you can't find any response to it….

• dzulx on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:14 pm

Ejal said,

February 25, 2010 @ 12:26 am

This Evora will start the price in U.S with $73,500….can someone convert this value into RM???…anybody??..

—————————-

And yet they blame Govt and high tax for not able to buy Evora under RM150k…Am I missing something??

• theking on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:02 pm

joe said,

February 24, 2010 @ 6:49 pm

what Proton needs most for the moment is a new 5-speed or 6-speed gearbox..4-speed gearbox isnt adequate and not competitive…

To joe,

Proton is developing new gearbox such as 6MT, 5AT and CVT.

• mechanical (Member) on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:08 pm

Yeah!!!! Something good to hear..If my persona campro engine "jahanam", I can easily find another Standard Campro Turbo without "penin-penin kepala" for installation & performance lah..hahahahahaha

• kopi-man on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:17 pm

i will sure it will bought by all the politicians to show the support. However, how many normal public will buy a Lotus by even at RM150K vs a Honda Accord/Toyota Camry at the same range of price.

I read many readers saying those car boring la, ah-bek car la, but still end of the day, the annual car sales reports show those car top the sales, and not those people claim like they like those Peugeot 308, Alfa, Kia Forte etc. So for those who claimed support, please buy some cars and let it show in the car sales report ok? No speak only, but some action please.

For those who support Proton and don't look at the real fact, and ask others to get a life? You are living in a joker's life.

• fasgen on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:25 pm

Dont ask la afer sale service. Do ah beng BOT give after sale service. nothing. Ah beng give kentut pishh pishh lor… I want Exora with Turbo…

• Tiadaid on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:33 pm

dzulx said,

February 25, 2010 @ 9:14 am

Ejal said,

February 25, 2010 @ 12:26 am

This Evora will start the price in U.S with $73,500….can someone convert this value into RM???…anybody??..

—————————-

And yet they blame Govt and high tax for not able to buy Evora under RM150k…Am I missing something??

————————-

I wonder why Malaysians think they deserve an Evora below 150K when everybody else in the world is paying more for the car? Plus it's a niche product, price it too low and you're not going to make money.

• mu_77 on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:03 pm

I feel Campro turbo not sustainable engine..Looks at campro kosong & cps also, the FC is quite high. It will be very complicated for proton to develop this engine because of reliability issues in long term. Eg., proton tested the campro cps until 100,000 km. Then they put it into production. So many questions to be answered after that.

• ezralimm on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:17 pm

THe evora is a completely different type of car compared to the RM150k accord.

It's like comparing apples and oranges.

One's effectively a track car that's been made a bit more comfortable and road worthy / practical. The other is an old man's mid life crisis sedan…or a "compensating" young hippie gen Y car used to impress chicks (this works in malaysia where many people are into badge worship) with mama's and papa's money.

One thing's for sure. Not many people will like shelling the road tax for the massive 3.5L engine.

Also note that OTR prices will never be so low… I'd expect it to be around RM220 – RM250k OTR for the average thirty something person who can afford it. Insurance for younger drives (under 25's) is going to be phenomenal as it's a high powered sports car.

• ezralimm on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:21 pm

It's gonna be about RM600k in Australia.

RRP AUD159k + luxury car tax* + registration/plates + insurance.

http://www.carsguide.com.au/search/?N=4294962119+…

*extra tax on all cars with an RRP over AUD57k. Internet prices are not final as different states have different luxury car tax and road tax brackets.

• lotus elise on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:13 pm

the 10 years old lotus elise is still selling more than RM100k in malaysia.

a brand new lotus elise is about rm400,000.

Evora? is priced as more expensive than the base line elise/exige.

hey,we're talking turbo right??

Lotus no turbo ,after esprit turbo.

they all using toyota engine.

proton should use toyota engine too

• so the cps turbo will replace or neo cps into 2010 satria neo gti?…..i guess the gti can rreally use now…….worthy of that extra alphaberts……. it will be a hit, if the price wont hit our wallets hard…..and i assume it wont…

i hope to see a head on against 308 turbo, polo gti.. clio rs….

cant wait man…..but dont keep it tooooo long P1….. more are coming in..

• mahatir on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:28 pm

dont condemn my child(proton).

it will grow whahaha.

• Slayer on Feb 25, 2010 at 9:19 pm

I heard somebody want to fart at Perodua on highway….potttttttt…ciritttt….hahahaha

• if satria neo a turbo. definitely its a malaysian own hot hatch, seriously HOT.

17 inch is mandatory, bigger brakes, ABS all around, recaros and airbaged MOMO, 6 speed,

• Fraz006 on Feb 25, 2010 at 10:06 pm

turbo is not necessarily for sport purpose. turbo development for campro i believe, they focus on the reliability, other than squeezing the power of campro to suit the vehicle weight demand. i think most of campro vehicles need this, saga BLM need this, persona need this, exora very much need this.

now P1 basher, (lots of them are owners of P2) trying hard to find points to continue bashing. well, thats not really deserve any respect. i know u people are threatened to see this news of P1 big leap. so, why dont u guys keep an open mind, and do not rush to blindly bashing. thats not smart, it sounds so dumb, till nobody cannot even respond to ur scam comments.

honestly, i am very glad to see those improvements from p1. hey, they are doing the jobs well, dont they?

FYI: power window problem is history , duhhhhhhh.

saga BLM 09 onwards no problem with IAFM. persona too.

proton 09 onwards so far so good. reliability has improved tremendously.

now p1 with the F1 involvement, electric vehicle development, turbo development. what did P2 do so far, again? viva elite? hmmmmmmm…… soalan cepumas to p1 bashers (from p2).

• dzulx on Feb 25, 2010 at 10:09 pm

awak said,

February 25, 2010 @ 1:23 pm

if satria neo a turbo. definitely its a malaysian own hot hatch, seriously HOT.

17 inch is mandatory, bigger brakes, ABS all around, recaros and airbaged MOMO, 6 speed,

—————-

And…. typical Malaysian will say price must be less then 50k.. ahaha

• glacius_25150 on Feb 26, 2010 at 12:12 am

awak said,

17 inch is mandatory, bigger brakes, ABS all around, recaros and airbaged MOMO, 6 speed, etc.

I don mind paying 60-70 k if the hp and torque is at the rite note. Probably 140-150 hp, enough to blow even civic around the track (not sure will beat them at straights). gti should have a race version of exhaust system coz the one they are using doesn't juice out enough power from the engine. ABS and ESC is a big welcome as well as a 6 airbag(will be a BIG BIG feature on a proton).

• tokmoh on Feb 26, 2010 at 1:33 am

dzulx said,

February 25, 2010 @ 2:09 pm

awak said,

—————-

>>> No la, typical msian will say power window rosak, tax, campro terbakar, tax, kuat makan minyak, tax, croni, tax, corruption, tax, mahathir, tax, AP king, tax, Toyota responsible company, tax, tax, tax and tax. Ahahaha

• nudin on Feb 26, 2010 at 2:49 am

mahatir said,

February 25, 2010 @ 12:28 pm

dont condemn my child(proton).

it will grow whahaha.

because he is a briliant leader..shy on u

• yup i agreed got so many type of turbo tech. nowdays. if use std spec turbo from factory sure ok and safe oil..but if u up boost like no tomorrow than change the turbine, injector and fuelpump for sure la makan minyak…if ur turbine kong just buy 2nd turbine from half cut…cheaper..i think poton will put low boost turbo like peugeot, and hi boost version for Racing spec maybe for R3 version or GTI, Putra replacement…

• Prismo on Feb 26, 2010 at 3:20 am

tokmoh said,

February 25, 2010 @ 5:33 pm

dzulx said,

February 25, 2010 @ 2:09 pm

awak said,

—————-

>>> No la, typical msian will say power window rosak, tax, campro terbakar, tax, kuat makan minyak, tax, croni, tax, corruption, tax, mahathir, tax, AP king, tax, Toyota responsible company, tax, tax, tax and tax. Ahahaha

—————–

HA HA!! (loud laugh)…

U r damn right!!

• RON97MinyakGamat on Feb 26, 2010 at 3:23 am

Other alternative of high performance engine is to go naturally aspirated high revving such as honda B16vtec, mitsu 4G92mivec n toyota 4AGE levin.

All 1.6L and horsepower more than 160hp.

Compare to turbo, naturally aspirated engine has less parts, less costly maintenance n less fuel consumption.

It will behave as normal 1.6L below 5000rpm, rev pass that n it will show its true character, plus the exhaust sound at 8000rpm is so sweeeeetttttt….

• david teoh on Feb 26, 2010 at 7:58 am

peugeot 308 1.4 produce 140hp, proton campro 1.6 turbo 160hp maybe latest CPS 1.6 Turbo can go 170hp…..walauwehhhhh…

• mariam jenab on Feb 26, 2010 at 9:00 am

can't wait for this terbo..balik raya next year sure race at lpt highway uhu

• umno juara tipu raky on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:05 pm

as long as its reliable as N/A i'm all for the turbo..dont want the engine went kaput after only 150k of mileage!..make it a reality proton!!

• Cheap Evora please!!! Turbo Proton? Who cares?!! It's been on the road for ages~

• seman on Feb 27, 2010 at 7:23 am

Nakal said,

kau pun WAJIB update knowledge kau tentang turbo…turbo sekarang bukan turbo yang guna pada kereta racing tu. Banyakan membaca, cari kat google..beli megazine kereta. Jangan terkejut kalau kau terbaca yang fuel consumption turbo sekarang hampir sama dengan standard enjin tapi dengan performance yang lebih bagus.. jangan teruja sangat bagi komen kalau ilmu tak sampai mana.

—————————————————————-

ni sorang lagi penggila proton…kalau setakat baca majalah saja tak jadi bro……aku tak kisah pun kau nak pakai proton ke turbo ker, aku peduli apa itu duit korang kan…tapi cuba kau bawa kreta enjin campro (apa saja kreta asal cmpro) kau tengok rpm dia kalau bwa 100km/j berapa…lpas tu kau bwa kereta yg lain yg tak berenjin tak campro, kau tengok berapa rpm dia plak…dari sini kau dah boleh dapat tahu yg mana jimat minyak!….boleh kau imagine kalau tambah turbo plak kat campro tu?….bagus la kalau proton dpt jimat minyak kalau dah tambah turbo…jimat mcm yg kau kata(aku pun nak beli sebiji lagi kereta proton).. kalau tak percaya menatang campro mmg mkn minyak kuat kau try la bwa kereta campro seminggu lpas tu try plak bawa kereta jenama lain seminggu…cari yg cc sama bro..jgn lupa!….dan kalau kau tak caya jugak lantak kau laaaaa!

apapun aku lebih berharap proton dpt terus maju dgn rnd enjin yg lebih baik ! (bangun la proton…jgn bermimpi dg pujian, terima kritikan jadikan cabaran)

• recall on Feb 27, 2010 at 8:49 am

what happend to Satria Neo S2000 rally car who crash and caught fire? anyone know the strory?

• seman said

ni sorang lagi penggila proton…kalau setakat baca majalah saja tak jadi bro……aku tak kisah pun kau nak pakai proton ke turbo ker, aku peduli apa itu duit korang kan…tapi cuba kau bawa kreta enjin campro (apa saja kreta asal cmpro) kau tengok rpm dia kalau bwa 100km/j berapa…lpas tu kau bwa kereta yg lain yg tak berenjin tak campro, kau tengok berapa rpm dia plak…dari sini kau dah boleh dapat tahu yg mana jimat minyak!….boleh kau imagine kalau tambah turbo plak kat campro tu?….bagus la kalau proton dpt jimat minyak kalau dah tambah turbo…jimat mcm yg kau kata(aku pun nak beli sebiji lagi kereta proton).. kalau tak percaya menatang campro mmg mkn minyak kuat kau try la bwa kereta campro seminggu lpas tu try plak bawa kereta jenama lain seminggu…cari yg cc sama bro..jgn lupa!….dan kalau kau tak caya jugak lantak kau laaaaa!

apapun aku lebih berharap proton dpt terus maju dgn rnd enjin yg lebih baik ! (bangun la proton…jgn bermimpi dg pujian, terima kritikan jadikan cabaran

Seman awak nie mmg kelakar la..banyak lagi yang awak x tahu..awak ingat PROTON buat Engine Turbo mcm kedai Ah Beng yer?Kenapa Proton Buat Engine Turbo + 6MT..Kenapa Engine Campro Yang Awak Cakap bila Drive 100Km/J tue rpm terlebih…awak tahu X…Bukan masalah Sokong Proton Ker x..Tapi klau kita x tahu dengen tech yang proton tengah develop x yah comment…baik senyap..baca comments…pas tue Gelak kuat kuat tengok ramainya komen org2 Kelakar dalam nie…..klau tak tahu baik diam dari tunjukkan diri kita tiada ilmu…

• mr_3m on Feb 27, 2010 at 6:09 pm

panjang giler thread ni…. biasa la topic Proton…. takkan abis sampai bila2 kalau discuss projek nationalisme era 80an ni…

senang je nk benchmark success Proton ni…. Proton mula 1985… kita assume juga around 80an ni kedudukan Hyundai dan Kia pun lebih kurang Proton pada 80an…. kereta kodok je yg dia org produce, lebih kurang Saga…

but where are Hyundai & Kia now? Any Proton ultra-right supporter nak bagi "hujah-hujah" ker kenapa Proton sekurang2nya takleh at least on a par dengan kereta Korea, kalau pun takleh match kereta Jepun atau European…

Kia ada Forte baru, design pun bagus… Hyundai pun ok dgn i10, i20, i30…. Proton ada apa?…. balik2 dok pusing dgn Persona, Exora…. yg lain mcm Savvy dah kira write-off la…. baru kluar dah out-of-date compare dgn competition…

in any case, Proton do have many good engineers, tp kalau work 'in-silos' dan bukan in-synergy… mmg la Proton jadi mcm skrg… sama je dgn politik M'sia…. semua ada agenda sendiri… dan bukan kerja "genuinely" untuk agenda rakyat….. hahahahahahhaha…. no wonder semua tak ke mana….

*tahniah*

• Prismo on Feb 27, 2010 at 9:39 pm

seman said,

February 26, 2010 @ 11:23 pm

apapun aku lebih berharap proton dpt terus maju dgn rnd enjin yg lebih baik ! (bangun la proton…jgn bermimpi dg pujian, terima kritikan jadikan cabaran)

———————————————————

Kenapa lak Waja enjin 4G18 jalan 100km/j sama dgn jln 100km/j enjin campro? kalo ko ada teori lain tolong jawab..

nak tahu apa sebabnya? itu bukan masalah enjin laa… dah setting gear ratio dia dah mcm tu nak wat camna… kalo proton sekarang tgh develop gearbox baru apa kata ko? aku dah test dah pakai gen2 selama sebulan… mmg minyak lebih sikit dari waja.. nak tahu kenapa? sebab low end dia kurang, so org akan lenjan atas 4000rpm untuk carik power.. kan org2 malaysia mcm ko ni suka drive keta laju2 dan lepas tu komplen, kemudian salahkan org lain atas kesilapan diri sendiri…

• pakya on Apr 29, 2010 at 4:39 pm

kalau betul mcm kau kata… mcm tu proton takyah susah2 buat enjin baru…takyah susah2 pasang turbo…buat apa proton nak bina enjin baru untuk selesai masalah? buat jelah gearbox baru….kan kan kan kan.

• Prismo on Feb 27, 2010 at 9:51 pm

Encik mr_3m, KIA founded in 1944 dan Hyundai pada tahun 1967 dan baru sekarang mereka keluarkan keta mcm Forte, i10,i20,i30 setelah ambik masa lebih dari 25 tahun jika dikira dari tahun 80an… sekarang ni KIA dah berumur 66 tahun dan Hyundai 43 tahun… aku percaya proton boleh maju dalam 10 tahun lagi…

• carbontech (Member) on Mar 02, 2010 at 9:38 pm

Put the Evora production back to Malaysia larr…like Europa S…I'm sure the price must be very-very cheaper..again you will get the same quality build at UK…some more put the new turbo engine…Now everybody malaysian can buy Sports cars…

• seman on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:03 am

Chor said,

Kenapa lak Waja enjin 4G18 jalan 100km/j sama dgn jln 100km/j enjin campro? kalo ko ada teori lain tolong jawab..

nak tahu apa sebabnya? itu bukan masalah enjin laa… dah setting gear ratio dia dah mcm tu nak wat camna… kalo proton sekarang tgh develop gearbox baru apa kata ko? aku dah test dah pakai gen2 selama sebulan… mmg minyak lebih sikit dari waja.. nak tahu kenapa? sebab low end dia kurang, so org akan lenjan atas 4000rpm untuk carik power.. kan org2 malaysia mcm ko ni suka drive keta laju2 dan lepas tu komplen, kemudian salahkan org lain atas kesilapan diri sendiri…

—————————————————

kau jgn main tuduh aku bawa kreta laju2….Kalau dah duduk kwsan tanah rata mmg tak payah lenjan…tp kalau kau duduk kwsan berbukit mcm kat sabah nie baru kau tahu apa makna lenjan yg sebenarnya!….yup kalau proton dpt develop gearbox yg baru mcm kau kata dan dpt jimat minyak mcm kereta lain aku akan beli sebiji lg proton mungkin (exora) pulak kut!

• seman on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:09 am

Prismo said,

—————————————————

kau jgn main tuduh aku bawa kreta laju2….Kalau dah duduk kwsan tanah rata mmg tak payah lenjan…tp kalau kau duduk kwsan berbukit mcm kat sabah nie baru kau tahu apa makna lenjan yg sebenarnya!….yup kalau proton dpt develop gearbox yg baru mcm kau kata dan dpt jimat minyak mcm kereta lain aku akan beli sebiji lg proton mungkin (exora) pulak kut!

• ….sapa suruh korang beli proton? ….jadi mcm aku…baru jer beli proton ngam2 habis waranty dah kena baiki p.window (dua pulak tu) Padan muka aku. Bab nie sapa nak jawab….tak kira topik lama ker baru ker mslh nie mesti proton kena selesaikan! Nak sokong biarlah berpada-pada jgn sokong sampai membelakangkan fakta dah la. Walaupun aku pengguna proton…nyesal aku beli proton…aku anti proton…(lantak korang la nak kata apa)

• Seman on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:23 am

Prismo…bukan Chor…kesilapan (Sory)

• Fraz006 on Mar 03, 2010 at 11:50 pm

kalo cakap psl fuel consumption, sebenarnye comparison paling wise ialah FC/weight. FC cam lahanat, psl car weight berat, so u lose something, in return u get some comfort la, bile berat, lagi stable and tak gegar. kalo weight sama, cc engine berbeza giler pon, FC akan jadi tak beze sgt, FC paling dipengaruhi oleh weight. tapi lagik sedap kalo engine kuat, lagi fun to drive, tuh la proton tgh develop turbo, fc takkan lari sgt punyer, unless ko belasah habis2 bajet ko tgh drive imprezza sti, laen citer lah.

• mai vees! on Mar 05, 2010 at 1:22 am

nak enjin power2, bawa laju2..pastu accident, call polis,ambulans,,last2 jalan jem..ni ke yang kita nak?

• Fraz006 on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:26 am

if this turbo get serious lag, haih, it solves nothing man. the aim is to improve low end torque. probly a turbo tuning to improve low end is a costly RnD, that may explains the high cost for this RnD. from what i observe, proton improvement is steep. thats very good to hear

• Mivectrb on Apr 10, 2010 at 3:50 pm

How much is the price now?
    Bath tub seating is not suitable for old folk, make it cheaper Proton.
    I am the one who improve its gear shift feeling.
    BTW, can’t simply check oil engine, what a shame