May 1st Tiered Fuel Subsidy System Scrapped?

Fuel Wallet GaugeIt looks like we might not need to worry about May 1st after all. Apparently the complicated (and likely expensive) tiered subsidy structure that we’ve been scratching our heads over has just been scrapped. The Malaysian Insider cites sources within Putrajaya in reporting this good news, and apparently the decision was only made ‘recently’.

It must have been very recent as just less than a week ago, the Domestic Trade Minister said he would be revealing the system’s details in March and that we would be very happy about it – perhaps what he means it that it was scrapped in favor for a simpler system!

But according to the report we still might see a small price hike of 10 sen before the first half of this year. The current price structure of RM1.80 per litre for RON95 and RM2.05 per litre for RON97 was introduced on the 1st of September 2009 and at that time crude oil was US$72.75 a barrel. Crude oil now goes for US$79.11 per barrel – which represents about an 8% hike. It had previously breached US$84 per barrel in January. A proportionate 8% hike in RON95 prices would be about 15 sen – so a hike of 10 sen would be actually less than the 8% hike in crude oil prices.

The thing is, I’m not sure if we have more time now or if there is another simpler and more cost effective subsidy system in the works to be implemented by May 1st. OR worse case scenario, the government reverses its decision again and decides to go ahead with the tiered system. Unless something comes out from the relevant ministry of the Prime Minister’s Office, we’re never going to know for sure. Seriously – it seems that most of the time we just don’t know for sure whenever it comes to policies. Either way, it would still be wise to take a look at our fuel expenditure and the kind of vehicles we use to ones that are more efficient and frugal.

We should be prepared for the day when the government eventually pulls the plug on subsidies here in Malaysia. Hopefully by then the economy would have progressed to a point where we can actually afford the unsubsidized prices without issues.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Shaycoat on Feb 24, 2010 at 4:37 pm

littlefire said,
    February 24, 2010 @ 12:54 pm

Malaysia is not a rich country?!? Are u sure? We got oil, gas, minerals, lands & lots of oil palm.. But where all the money goes?

Even Singapore dont have all these natural resources but can do better than us… Shame on us!
    —————————————
    Singapore got money from trading business. It is a lot of money plus their money value is higher than us. They can buy products from outside with less money compared to us.

• Malacca on Feb 24, 2010 at 4:44 pm

KZM said,
    February 24, 2010 @ 1:25 pm

do u all read bajet actually..all ur money goes where..eg, education, medical, rebat rm500 bb, transportation, military, poor people,……even it was not enough…defisit bajet for 2010

……………………………………………………………………………………………….

Hey Bro.. still talking nonsense?? Come on… open up your mind…
    Every Year G Keep promise to improve the public transportation with the subsidize money.. but at the end… it remains the same…

Roughtly Malaysian only enjoy RM 500 mil. Tax relief which equal to your 1% but somehow G charge you RM50 for the fees of your main credit card and RM25 for the suplimentary card which is believe G will get RM 400 mil from people… this is not include 5% tax on the properties Tax. From this two major Tax G will get far over than the RM500 mil for Malaysian. This is what you call Rakyat Didahulukan??

In the same time The Tax relief which Malysian received far smaller than what G subsidized to IPP, PLUS (Tol), AP and more.

In the current Petronas Financial Report, IPP companies received Gas Subsidy 20 Billion from G in 2008 and keep increasing in 2009 and become 22 Billion. So now who DIDAHULUKAN?? People or Cronies?? Just think if this subsidy were given to Malaysian. At least Malaysian will get RM 815 per person!

• Malacca on Feb 24, 2010 at 4:47 pm

kh said,
    February 24, 2010 @ 2:04 pm

Malaysia people have many good idea…..our problem is we do not have people to develop system which could make the good idea to reality.

just see other asean countries are picking up……even the low economy country are committed to beat Malaysia by next 10 years…..so do we want to keep on being a loser…..

even football also we lose to them….

think, strategies, plan, do, improve & continue benchmarking to be better!!
    ————————————————————–

Malaysian got the ideas but do G listen to us???

• lchan on Feb 24, 2010 at 5:46 pm

the government can pull the plug on the subsidy. They make sure they remove some other taxes they are imposing like the farking excise tax on vehicles.

• ho ho

• azlan on Feb 24, 2010 at 5:48 pm

1st haha

rakyat didahulukan!!!!!!!!

• TheFonz on Feb 24, 2010 at 5:48 pm

Whatever they decide, hope that people comes first, especially the average income person like me

• hope received good's new from govt…. hope cc not limited up to 2000cc only…

• xavier lert on Feb 24, 2010 at 5:52 pm

decision can be make in one night….

• 1 malaysia ….. bukan slogan sahaja…buktikan!

• Yes. Heard from reliable sources that the banks had been instructed yesterday to detroy all technical documentation pertaining to this.

• lanwm on Feb 24, 2010 at 5:55 pm

flip floper

• mercury on Feb 24, 2010 at 5:58 pm

Want us to pay unsubsidized fuel??? Then remove the car tax first.

• i think the implementation of the new system will be costly to both government & fuel operators, & and the failure will backfired them too…..

• seancorr on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:10 pm

Huh all this for show. The gov will then say ohhhh we think that the rakyat is important so we scrap it. BN was always doing this for publicity. Half assed government

• BrakeFader on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:11 pm

They have been saying that developed countries don't subsidize their fuel. If Malaysia wants to be on par, they must do the same on vehicle tax as well.

• Jong88 on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:12 pm

'We should be prepared for the day when the government eventually pulls the plug on subsidies here in Malaysia. Hopefully by then the economy would have progressed to a point where we can actually afford the unsubsidized prices without issues.'

Hi, Paul. Malaysian can afford market value fuel. But instead we paid our fuel subsidy up front with 50% excise duty on local car and 300% on import. My NEO nominal value is 30K but I paid 50K. 20K is my fuel subsidy. I use 400L of fuel a month, if subsidy is 50cent per liter. My 20K can susidies me for 40,000L which is 100 months or 8.3 YEARS! I Can my Can'tPro engined car last for 8.3 years without problem?

We all paid our fuel subsidies up fornt. If our stupid govement want to pull the plug refund our excise duty or reduce excise duty so taht I can pay for my fuel the then money I save from interest payment and lower car price and more fuel efficient engine.

• Gadssen on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:13 pm

i think we are the one who subsidizing them, instead of they subsidizing us. :D

• fort minor on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:18 pm

I kinda agree with Jong88…remove the car tax and duties and float the fuel price. at least those who are prudent can at least pay less for cars and keep their spendings checked by controlling their fuel consumption. Kinda promotes prudence among the rakyat,isn't it?

• fort minor said,

February 24, 2010 @ 10:18 am

I kinda agree with Jong88…remove the car tax and duties and float the fuel price. at least those who are prudent can at least pay less for cars and keep their spendings checked by controlling their fuel consumption. Kinda promotes prudence among the rakyat,isn’t it?

—————————————————————–

Agreed, how about a poll on this

• barca on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:30 pm

fort minor,

care to share what sort of prudence has the G actually been showing/promoting to its beloved rakyat?

exactly. there's none.

and they ain't gonna start now even with the FDI going elsewhere in the world but here. :)

• yoyo

• yea..pull the fuel subsidy and also remove the vehicle tax..that will make everyone happy..

• wanna remove car taxes?haha…then we will be having garage tax at our home as the replacement…like japan…you jap wannabe…

• USDfan on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:40 pm

i agreed wit Jong88..its true mannn!

• dont b so naive guys, prepare for d rise of fuel price like 10-20sen /l then

prices of goods will rise eventually. For those who wants d cars tax reduce,

dream on coz aint gonna happen unless proton disappear.

ppl dont like proton not bcoz of its lack of quality, its bcoz of it existence

that made all cars expensive.

• Mysticmind on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:53 pm

ya ya ya.. scrap this.. scrap that..

later we just have to prepare for some more 10, 20, 40 cent increment aaa?

• kopi-man on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:53 pm

so when is the last statement that charge us more during low price, but when price going up, subsidize back? This is a BS crap story all the while in the petrol. When the oil is at 140 per barrel, we are being charged RM2.4/Liter. Now with half the price, what are we talking about?

The simple fact, when G need money for purposes like election, etc, those commodity products like Sugar, Oil, etc will raise price since there is no other way that the G knows how to earn money. Period.

• Jerry Ng on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:56 pm

Pull the plug on the subsidies as well as the taxes on car, improve current licensing and car insurance scheme…

No point talking bullshits what cocked up rationing system when we don't even have proper ministers helming the post.

With all the politics instability flying around, getting even of abit of any form of FDI is truly a wonder…

• nigttrain on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:57 pm

Pull the plug on subsidy = pull the plug on excise duty. Fair?

• laburit on Feb 24, 2010 at 6:58 pm

when the tax remove, and the petrol increase, i bet still rakyat not happy…. of course we want more after that…… there's no limitation on what we want….. 'HAPPY' is a subjective matter…..

• Nerdy on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:00 pm

f1 said,

February 24, 2010 @ 10:51 am

dont b so naive guys, prepare for d rise of fuel price like 10-20sen /l then

—–

Proton dissapear??

you should include Perodua and Naza & Inokom too.. they were protected more than proton, still got National car status even they do nothing.. summore their car price quiet high even they provide low grade, underpower car..

• Keith Duckworth on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:01 pm

I really don't think that the Govt will give up taxes and duties on cars. If you are expecting that cars will be tax-free and a Vios sells for RM36K, I don't think that will happen because the Govt will lose a lot of revenue. Even Thailand has taxes on cars, but lower than here (Vios sells for 500,000 to 700,000 baht in Thailand). Not many countries where cars are tax free except Middle East, Brunei etc

What we can hope for is for the taxes on cars to be REDUCED, not removed.

• Wah… then how much money they had spent?

Now scrapt it, how much money had wasted?

Why they never plan and evaluate properly before doing something?

Corruption again?

• Tiadaid on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:09 pm

f1 said,

——————–

Why not take the businesses to task for profiteering! Their products are transported on trucks and vans that run on diesel, why should they raise prices when PETROL price goes up? Two different fuel but still price goes up?

BTW, I'm hearing rumours that in fact the dreams of so many Malaysian could come true. They're scrapping the fuel subsidy but at the same time they'll scrap all the car taxes as well. May not happen, but we'll see.

• Andrew on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:11 pm

I agreed with Jong88. G should scrap off the 50% excise duty for local & 300% for import. then they can implement the non fuel subsidy price.

All the smart G guy always like to implement the most stupid idea…. Good for rakyat.

• xenogearz on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:16 pm

If the Govt don't want to remove car tax, at least lower down the tax for hybrid cars significantly…

• Mufasa on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:20 pm

i aggred with Jong88 ,,but u know what? take example of his neo….. that mean after remove car tax, his neo will have no value,,, since new neo will only cost RM30k…. so still Jong88 will complain about his neo resale value,,,

so some how body have to 'berkorban utk negara'…..

• boleh on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:20 pm

MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!!!!!!!!

• littlefire on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:30 pm

Maybe they will reduce the tax on cars, but raise price in AP! The money is still in their hands! Just charge the tax on another way!

• I think the main reason for G to have Fuel Subsidy System is to avoid people smuggling fuel. But to get the best solution for it is seems to difficult to get. G should look for better solution which is cheap, effective and not to burden us all.

• 2fast on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:38 pm

Implementing the tiered system is very complicated. The extra revenue from the removal of some of the subsidies may not cover paying for the system. If they still want to remove the subsidy and keep some of the population happy, then the gov should use the petrol subsidy cash back program they had earlier.

• Darius on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:40 pm

Flippety flop yet again it seems. Gutless decision making by incompetent ministers who are more interested in keeping power.

The whole subsidy thing was wrong from day one – simple economics will tell you that. Everything should be floated from 20-30 years ago, so now all costs/salaries/prices will have adjusted.

Look at other developed economies, they dont spend time discussing rubbish like this – cost of living and salaries are proportionate. Instead, our economy is so twisted and distorted now, an options are running out fast. This is why we have all this half baked nonsense schemes, made worse by an incompetent government.

And because they want money both ways (and under pressure to protect so-called national car (incidentally, another farked up project), they will cut the subsidy AND still maintain ridiculous road and car taxes.

The road is getting narrower by the day it seems…..

• wallstreet on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:45 pm

f1 said,

——————————————

Even if Proton, Perodua, Naza disappeared, government will NEVER reduce the tax EVER…Do you think they will give up all these FAT profits from this ridiculous tax after so many years of enjoying it? Its like some one willingly give away his bungalow and live in a squatter.

• keretakura on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:46 pm

Fuel High Price = Low Car Price = Super High Car loan Interest = So everything same maaa …

• budleee on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:47 pm

thank god.. it will ridiculous and insane to nit pick who can have subsidized fuel..

but its true.. fuel price will rise indefinitely and we need to find way to reduce it.

soo..

bring on the small turbo diesels :D

• wallstreet on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:56 pm

Jong88 said,

February 24, 2010 @ 10:12 am

‘We should be prepared for the day when the government eventually pulls the plug on subsidies here in Malaysia. Hopefully by then the economy would have progressed to a point where we can actually afford the unsubsidized prices without issues.’

Hi, Paul. Malaysian can afford market value fuel. But instead we paid our fuel subsidy up front with 50% excise duty on local car and 300% on import. My NEO nominal value is 30K but I paid 50K. 20K is my fuel subsidy. I use 400L of fuel a month, if subsidy is 50cent per liter. My 20K can susidies me for 40,000L which is 100 months or 8.3 YEARS! I Can my Can’tPro engined car last for 8.3 years without problem?

We all paid our fuel subsidies up fornt. If our stupid govement want to pull the plug refund our excise duty or reduce excise duty so taht I can pay for my fuel the then money I save from interest payment and lower car price and more fuel efficient engine.

————————————-

You are only giving example on a national car. On other non national cars the subsidies are much much higher!! An 3.5 Accord only sold for USD30K but sold at 240K here. That is more than 140K extra!!. So base on ur calculation, this car paid subsidies enough for more than 50 years. What about X6, S class, etc???? Anyway, do you really think all this money goes to our rakyat? Malaysia know where it goes…..

• S.Roma on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:01 pm

We should be prepared for the day when the government eventually pulls the plug on subsidies here in Malaysia. Hopefully by then the economy would have progressed to a point where we can actually afford the unsubsidized prices without issues.

——————————————————-

Totally agree with u man ! anytime they can pull the plug !

• S.Roma on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:02 pm

mercury said,

February 24, 2010 @ 9:58 am

Want us to pay unsubsidized fuel??? Then remove the car tax first.

——————————————————–

AGREE !

• _xXx_ on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:10 pm

Darius is right. Never meddle with this supply & demand / free market thingy.

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:13 pm

This is what happens when they try to implement some grand project then realise its un-implementable…….

Probably all a charade anyway, to raise the petrol price YET again. How many times has this happened already?

• Shaycoat on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:16 pm

I almost agreed on vanishing the car duty tax. However, the national economy is not as simple as what we thought. The G needs money to govern the country and pay salary for the public workers. Where the G got the money, surely from the tax! Other countries such as GB has no tax put into the car, but bare in mind that the insurance is quite high. Plus, they have congested traffic fee in London. Also GB is already a rich country (thanxs to its legendry empire) and has a lot reserve. Malaysia is not a rich country. Based on these, Malaysia is still ok..

• kimi_ on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:29 pm

wallstreet said,

——————————————

Even if Proton, Perodua, Naza disappeared, government will NEVER reduce the tax EVER…Do you think they will give up all these FAT profits from this ridiculous tax after so many years of enjoying it? Its like some one willingly give away his bungalow and live in a squatter.

——————————————————————

A simple solution: Just change the G in next G.E, why cant we give

opposition a chance for 5 years AS we have given current GOMEN 50 years

but things keeps worse……….Vision 2020 is a REAL JOKE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• subsidise?

not subsidies?

subsidies?

not subsidies?

I supposed the nincompoop Govt talk so much cock but couldn't find a solution as the dateline creep closer. Die lor…. So, they decided to sweep this matter under carpet until they found a solution. Expected from this flip-flop govt…

Fed up with the BN govt! Just remove the damn subsidies and stop parroting "Our govt are loosing billion of Rm from subsibizing…, yada-yada….."

When the fuel subsidizing is removed, make sure new car taxes are removed as well.

SO, BN govt, Ada berani??

• Varia on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:43 pm

just lower import tax and unsubsidized the fuel.

done.

• Arashikage on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:46 pm

I agree…if cut subsidies then must cut taxes…. lesser we earn should meant lesser they earn. That's only fair. Why we earn less but government earn more?? Where goes the money???

• nabill on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:49 pm

thy have no frekin' clue wat thy r doing , ….idiotic have a new meaning..

• littlefire on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:54 pm

Malaysia is not a rich country?!? Are u sure? We got oil, gas, minerals, lands & lots of oil palm.. But where all the money goes?

Even Singapore dont have all these natural resources but can do better than us… Shame on us!

• biggie on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:57 pm

so will i get back the tax money that I pay for my car? NOPE dont think so … Therefore I the excise duty gone I will not get my money and paying the high fuel cost for another 2 yrs (minimum) before I buy my new car.

No increase in pay… so still have to cover the cost on my own.

• anita on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:58 pm

hurmmm frankly, najib & his merry men are not very appealing among the new voters. he looks very lembek & looks like always bow to other nations. so najib, please exit putrajaya next poll. we do not need a lembek leader like you.

• laburit on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:02 pm

wah, so many thinkers around here, so I pangkah Mazda MPS

• Squawk on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:09 pm

So how much have they spent so far to 'study' and 'implement' this soon-to-be-extinct system?

Fixed the darn public transport system first. When it doesn't take a whole day to travel from Klang to Ampang or from Nibong Tebal to Bayan Lepas by bus, then only talk!!!

I never believed in super big bus hubs. They create more traffic and passenger chaos than anything else. Decentralize everything. Think mini hubs! And with adequate parking!! Now finish your teh tarik and get back to work!

• tamaki on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:13 pm

It is a farce,totally waste off money and time.

• than which tax u wan to increase to cover car tax that has been reduce..eg personal tax, business tax, cukai pintu, service tax or GST

• nigttrain on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:18 pm

Even if they've planned this and started to make announcements and hints for such a long time, this decision proves no proper research went into the implementation process, not even public feedback.

Flip flop has been the order since the last election. How long will this continue? Seems everytime they announce something, they run to their laptops and start viewing certain 'blogs' to see the public's reaction. Then, they scrap the plan. hehe.. Well at least 'a' blogger seems to do a good job. Congrats!

• Actually, if they plan to scrap the exise duty and import duty, have u ever tot of the implication. It is a great idea to scrap it, but now it is too late a time. Damage done. If u scrap now, what about the second hand cars dealers, and the most important, the current car owners. They will lose out a lot. Can Government think of a way to compensate them. If nt those taking loan can just stop paying up and give the car to bank and buy a new one. This exise duty n shit like that should have been scrapped in the ver beginning, now, to crap it wll be a disaster if u cannot think of a way to compensate the curent owners. At a certain time frame, there will be more car owners than expected buyers, so it is again a political nightmare to do so

• littlefire said,

February 24, 2010 @ 12:54 pm

———————————

we can be like singapore.. if u wan oppisition being suppress, no media freedom, dinasty leading, people cannot protest etc..so the country can run without interference

• do u all read bajet actually..all ur money goes where..eg, education, medical, rebat rm500 bb, transportation, military, poor people,……even it was not enough…defisit bajet for 2010

• shakerz on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:28 pm

Maybe najib is worse but i think the opposition even worse…maybe u should running for YB for next election…because it seems that u are brainy person

• wuttaheck on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:28 pm

laburit said,

February 24, 2010 @ 10:58 am

when the tax remove, and the petrol increase, i bet still rakyat not happy…. of course we want more after that…… there’s no limitation on what we want….. ‘HAPPY’ is a subjective matter…

—-

totally agree with u.2nd hand car value will decrease like hell if the G decided to scrap the car tax.this will affect almost every single rakyat since i believe most of us have at least one car…u stuck with your car for life!

my suggestions:

1) remove the subsidy once and for all…yes, we will be hit with absurd price increase, but HOPEFULLY this will be one time thing. contrary with if the G keep on reducing the subsidy by the number of 'n' times, the price will also increase by the number of 'n' times.

2) give each rakyat one AP each, and dont limit the usage of it (ie:sell, use etc).at least we can get something out of it :)

all in all,all this chaos caused by one thing:we are too dependent on the subsidy!

• stephen on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:37 pm

I feel sad and frustrated…this is another typical flip flop example of our gov.

To meet the 1st May deadline….they might have engaged with some software development and hardware/ infrastructure developer to work on it. These company cannot offer FOC service…so tax payer money will be spent. it definitely going to be expensive since the system need to hook up MyKad to all the system in different petrol kiosk nation wide etc etc.

now if they scrapped it….this is not the developer fault since gov is changing their scope…meaning the developer will still get paid else they can sue gov.

….so now Revision 2 need to be up….money need to be spent again!!!!

I don't feel happy over this at first place and I guess many Malaysian too…we are not dumb…we don't just feel happy when it get scrapped…because at the first place they never think carefully or evaluate carefully how to remove the subsidies……..in the end.

This is not the first time….especially after Tun Dr M time…. he too introduce problematic system but when there's decision which was made with firm and clear vision…unlike now…one day teach science/math in english…then scrapped…then planning to put more afford on malay language.

Its time they really need to pull up their socks and be brave and innovative.

Pembaziran didahulukan…Rakyat diabaikan!!!!!

• droll on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:43 pm

don't be too happy yet.

i think the *bank* in question has already started spending to build a system for the fuel subsidy program.

• Tak berani removed or reduced car tax.

Tax at other areas.

Sama juga…

• Squawk on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:47 pm

When car prices went up in the 80s due to Proton, a lot of people and car dealers made money. Imagine selling a used car at a price higher than when it was bought a few years ago.

If duties are reduced or abolished, yes, a lot of people will be affected by the used car value. But that's only if you plan to sell it in the short term. But more importantly it's a one time loss for the consumer. Your next car purchase won't cost you as much.

As for the 2nd hand dealers… I've met a few and none of them were honest. They tried to rip me off (and some of my friends had the same experience with dealers), so I consider it karma.

KZM, I know all Petronas revenue, taxes and Customs duties are allocated in the annual budget for development and maintenance activities. But I question the value of such activities. Did the school's computers really cost that much? Did re-tarring the road really cost that much? Every year the AG audits and warns of over-paying. That's where all the money's wasted. ANd that's why we're not as rich as Korea or Taiwan.

• rickyll on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Going throught all those comments, one gets the impression that there are many unhappy people out there. BN better takes note, 2012 isn't too far off. Coming back to the topic, scrapping the proposed system is a wise move as the present government's think tank doesn't have the "talent" to devise a fool proof system. Something ought to be done, the rakyat have been short changed for too long.

• wochomi on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:02 pm

For all you people defending the Tiered Fuel Subsidy System……jangan bodek buta… I think you should know who I mean here.

Anyway, petrol price hike 8% is expected. Afterall our country's ….eh.. cannot talk bout our country or our present govt… nanti org sensitif… hehe….

Moral of the story is.. if they're stuffing it down your throat with vague propaganda (like RON95 vs RON JEREMY)… it just might be a lie…just might….

• Malaysia people have many good idea…..our problem is we do not have people to develop system which could make the good idea to reality.

just see other asean countries are picking up……even the low economy country are committed to beat Malaysia by next 10 years…..so do we want to keep on being a loser…..

even football also we lose to them….

think, strategies, plan, do, improve & continue benchmarking to be better!!

• yasir on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:05 pm

Well, if BN really listen to the citizens.

How about all the taxes and increase prices tat being done previously?

Credit card tax, income tax, car tax, import tax, sales tax, gstax, sugar, rice, bread, fuel, power tariff, toll, water,…… bla bla bla……

Hope… it really means Rakyat didahulukan……

• kemosabe on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:17 pm

This is a classic case of Good Cop Bad Cop.

Announce an unpopular move and then later remove it, an then claim credit for it.

Look at the Education Ministry, first they want to cut spending by removing certain sports program, and then later put it back on and spend even more.

Its a scheme to scam public money.

Today its the day the gov decide whether to raise your electricity bill or not.

Let see what sort of farce they'll put the citizens through.

• nigttrain on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:39 pm

if you want to increase taxes, then company tax for public listed companies is where you tapaw kaw kaw. wonder what the ramifications will be.

• maymay on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:39 pm

ho humm… :-o

• Jumbsuck on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:43 pm

"Hopefully by then the economy would have progressed to a point where we can actually afford the unsubsidized prices without issues."

Actually much better economic progress without Proton and high car taxes duties.

It's all about compromise, govt cannot sell expensive petrol and high car prices at same time without a choice given to the people. If both at cheap price it's impossible except brunei and arab countries lah. Either one must let go:

1. Expensive petrol but cheap car price? (and Proton close down) or,

2. Cheap petrol but high car price?

The savings here almost offsets each other. Govt subsidy saved can be used elsewhere while car buyers' savings from cheaper car prices actually to pay off some petrol prices. At least the reduced car prices not factored in long repayment period coupled by higher, discriminate loan rates.

If govt still crazy about Proton then no choice but limit open market for cars up to 2000cc models. If possible only local CKD foreign cars are eligible thus more factories hiring locals here being set up. Above that instead govt must hike the car import taxes duties as to target correctly those can afford it but below 2000cc petrol, diesel, or hybrid battery cars let the people choose freely openly the best, cheapest, most efficient fuel saving cars Proton or foreign cars.

At current rate, car buyers cheated many times: overpriced cars and double standard car loan rate for national car against non-national car making it even more ridiculous total car price upon final payment only lucky to get 10 percent scrap value in the end while non-national at least lucky to hold 50 percent resale value.

Now what is being patriotic here? The millions of car buyers losing RM billions of their hard earned money in return they keep getting crappy national cars?

The people is the heroic patriot, not Proton and will never be. The most patriotic thing to do is to close down Proton hence open up car market to give back the choice rightfully belong to the people. Stop killing own people.

• just talk only la all of you…walk the talk la…

• azrai on Feb 24, 2010 at 10:58 pm

Afraid of BN will lost. Full stop.

• JacKal on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:03 pm

Simple solution….

Reduce the tax on vehicles while reducing the subsidy on fuel corespondingly within a period of 5 years. In that way, the resale value of cars will have time to adjust and enough time for there to be finalised a minimum wage and for the average Malaysian income to rise, to be able to cope with the rise of goods and services which is sure to happen once fuel increases.

Vote for me in the next GE!!!!

Jokes aside, those fools in the G need to get better advisers on how to run the country. At the current rate give 10-15 years and BN will run Malaysia and Malaysians to the drain.

• Rx-ate on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:08 pm

Yes well said… our country's football standard actually reflects our country in many ways. 20-30 years ago we used to have the ability to beat anyone in Asia. But nowadays, we seem to get beaten by anyone, including Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia and our tiny neighbours Singapore.

Back to our topic, i really support the idea of floating the price of fuel but reduce the car tax as well.

• gtmaniac on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:14 pm

Agree with Paul. Should remove the subsidy. Can use the money for other things.

But it should be done gradually or otherwise it will make quite an impact to middle-and- lower income earner.

• RedLine on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:22 pm

Is this news "official" yet? I think we better wait for the official announcment, just to be sure….BN is known to flip flop on their decision….

• Jong88 on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:36 pm

Do you know that:

People buried their car. Then claim insurance write off.

If true, when floating fuel price then remove high excise duty. Then I would barried own car when our car resale value felt. :)

• Sorry i cannot pleas on Feb 25, 2010 at 12:10 am

Bank Negara should instruct Banks stop subsidised low interest for non national, they should charge between 10% per annum, consider fair because most of motorcycle dealer (credit) charge same amount.

Actually all motorbike dealer a real cons, they charge so much and nobody make noise.

Out of 29million malaysian only a few monkey always make noise about high tax imposed. But when G want to open up law firm and Clinics , doctor, lawyer and monkey cry for protections.

Even Lokam seller afraid with hypermarket and look for ministry help.

http://www.malaxi.com/population_size_age_structu…

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 25, 2010 at 12:30 am

KZM said,

February 24, 2010 @ 1:20 pm

if u wan oppisition being suppress, no media freedom, dinasty leading, people cannot protest etc..so the country can run without interference

I though we already are? No?

:p

• DunnoWatToSay on Feb 25, 2010 at 12:57 am

wayang again…zzz…

• senzu beans on Feb 25, 2010 at 12:58 am

Our UBN G got debts about 3## Billions…(info from Belanjawan 2010)

That's why they want to remove the subsidies, implement this and that.

They fails to manage the money because each year got deficit and also got lots of corruptions some more, PKFZ issue suddenly become quiet WHY?

Better remember the year of 2012, its not the of the world but THE END OF UMNOPUTERA and BE END(BN).

• Cross Polo on Feb 25, 2010 at 1:01 am

Hari pertama Subsidi minyak & tax kenderaan dihapuskan, akan ada segelintir rakyat akan merungut terutama sekali mereka yang berpendapatan kecil…. Pastinya dalam tempoh kurang 3 hari, semua barangan keperluan akan naik mendadak sehingga akan membebankan banyak rakyat malaysia… yang pasti ada yang akan menyalahkan kerajaan kerana menghapuskan subsidi minyak & tax kenderaan kerana dengan sebab ini, harga makanan naik, kos sara hidup tinggi, pembelanjaan harian meningkat, jenayah menjadi-jadi, tak kurang juga kesesakkan lalu lintas yang akan menyumbang salah satu masalah negara… itu dinamakan "chain reaction". Boleh dihapuskan, tapi perlu ada penyelarasan yang menyeluruh terutamanya jurang pendapatan gaji penduduk malaysia, kawalan harga untuk barangan keperluan, pengangkutan awam yang efisyen, tahap keselamatan yang menyakinkan, rakyat yang berkerja kuat bersama membangunkan negara & paling penting tiada orang yang ambil kesempatan dari krisis ini…. Selain itu perbelanjaan untuk pengurusan sesuatu tempat atau projek juga perlu dipantau oleh badan kewangan untuk mencegah penyelewengan dari segi kontrak serta pembayaran, tak mungkin tiada orang yang boleh membuat kaji selidik untuk kos sesuatu barang yang dibekalkan dalam projek mega sedangkan Pasaraya pun beradu membuat pemantauan siapa yang jual harga mahal supaya mereka dapat menawarkan harga murah. Kalau pekara ini diberi perhatian, mungkin banyak pekara dapat diselesaikan dengan mudah kalau kurangankan birokrasi…. yang penting aku nak hidup aman damai serta harmoni bersama jiran2 yang berlainan kaum & agama….

• senzu beans on Feb 25, 2010 at 1:02 am

(sorry, 1 word left, LOL) …its not the END of the world. …

• Kuah Kari on Feb 25, 2010 at 1:10 am

Jumbsuck said,

February 24, 2010 @ 2:43 pm

—————————————–

you killing your own ppl…..

• Redline on Feb 25, 2010 at 1:30 am

I see a lot of people suggesting that the Government should totally remove the subsidy on petrol. Are you sure about this…? Are we really ready and prepared to have the prices of EVERYTHING go up?

Some suggest the government should remove the petrol subsidy together with the import duty tax. What is the point of being able to buy a Vious at RM40k, but can't afford everything else because the price of everything has gone up and the cost of living is so high? Right now petrol price increase 15sen also people scream and cry.

My point is, be careful what you wish for, you might actually get it.

• Squawk on Feb 25, 2010 at 1:49 am

Redline, people scream and cry now over 15sen increase in petrol because they paid RM90+k for a Vios. Large part of our income goes to servicing car loan, if petrol price goes up, of course everyone scream and cry. Would you do that if only a small part of your income goes to a car?

• Darius on Feb 25, 2010 at 1:52 am

YES! Very sure. Bring it on. Remove it. Finish the story. Cut the Road and car Tax. The solution is obvious. The longer we delay, the worse it will become.

Let supply and demand find its correct balance. If you had sorted your finances properly, you'd be ready for this. If you are living beyond your means, too bad!

• nick chan on Feb 25, 2010 at 2:03 am

I wish the government would raise the petrol price to RM3 per litre, so that there'll be less traffic jams. Evil me !

• wholly agree with Redline. removing the subsidy altogether would prove to be a huge shock to our economy. you people can't think below the surface can you? keep up your superficial mindset and we'll see what happens when you really get what you wish for.

however, i still think that the subsidy and import tax should be ditched altogether. although i would support a slow and progressive change instead of a sudden shot-at-the-back-of-your-head move. one of the many reasons behind my preference is that i can't stand the idea of the government's AP crap (despite it's looming doom @ 2015). this is a highly contentious matter so i'll stop here and let you be your own judge.

• Kaki kereta on Feb 25, 2010 at 2:39 am

I think that fuel subsidies should be abolished. Instead, we should lower our taxes and increase public spending on public transport. If someone could afford to buy a car then he or she should also afford to pay for fuel. I think the gomen is more worried of Proton sales than anything else.

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 25, 2010 at 2:41 am

rakyat didahulukan,kerajaan pula yang sengsara

• Darius on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:05 am

Totally agree with kaki kereta. There is no gentle "superficial" treatment at this point. . Its been tried before, it doesnt work. Either subsidise everyone, or subsidise none. No middle ground. And since subsidising everyone is fast bankrupting the country, its time for all of it to go. Bite the bitter pill.

• karpal sinking on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:11 am

lol change government to what? even worst govt? look at kelantan, penang n selangor for god's sake! what a havoc

• Ahmad on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:41 am

Redline said,

February 24, 2010 @ 5:30 pm

————————————

110% agreed with U. And don't forget the GST to be implemented soon.

• think on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:28 am

if the goverment suddenly rethinks to apply the fuel subsidy system in may,they must be sure to abolish the taxes on cars inline with the subsidy system.i do not understand what the goverment is trying to do.at first,they said cars above 10years should go for a puspakom inspection.in just a week time they pull back their words,after seeing peoples angger.nw,fuel subsidy system.what i personlly feel is that the decissions are made without further research by the goverment.pls have ministers who are really have the particular knowledge in the post that he/she is in.ex:a road transport minister with a masters in engineering field.this could help the goverment to implement good ideas as it comes from the person who have the knowledge on it.

• wochomi on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:34 am

What's so patriotic about a car manufacturer? Service to the people is more patriotic.

Proton saga is a good car (old model and new model). Proton iswara is a good car coz I carried a 8-step ladder in it. Many malaysians use proton. Why? Because it is the cheapest car to size ratio. Why cheap? hah…… u know i know lah…. Nevermind that lah… but our business modal is eliminate competition through licensing or tax, then claim jaguh kampung trophy. Yahoo! To keep its crown, semua benda naik harga….. itu dacing pun sudah senget sebelah…

• Littlefire on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:18 am

Hello~! Dont u all know what is economy? Market need to be balance~! You all tot if rise fuel price everything will go up if cars, lorries & bus are cheap to buy?!? For sure no~! If you are the customer, you will shoot back the seller as tax on transportation have been reduce and you dont have any excuse on charging more as previos everything is expensive.

Besides that, dont u all know that even transportation companies also have subsidized diesel? The real power is in our hands, not those bloody G or seller~! If they want to raise the price, we can go other place to buy. I dont see other place like Hong Kong, Taiwan, Singapore or Japan always raise their price even their fuel price is floating? Have u been to overseas? Still trap in local Coconut?

The only thing the G wont reduce the car tax as they still need a lot of money especially those bloody AP re-con seller. Do you know that a second-hand car from japan have no value at all? Some already selling at scrap metal price and at our beloved chop shop for how much? 07's Estima selling for RM20k whole car. Over here selling RM200k on the road.. Bloody hell tax & AP, do you think those AP holders will let go the tax? They will rugi like hell~!

• pollop on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:59 am

Enough talk, GE is in 2 years. Lets all do our part.

• This system is a failure from the word go!

Think about it guys, its suppose to lessen the burden of the lower & middle range rakyat. For an example, i am poor, all i can afford is a RM3k 240 volvo, an old 123 7k or what so ever, i dont get any subsidised fuel, OR i buy a viva, myvi, or saga ( under50k), which the car in actual cost lot less than what it does, qualify for the subsidy, people from higher income, buys a 320i, E200, C200, 520i, A4, camry & accord 2.0, perdana V6, volvo s80&60, 407, evoX, Subaru Impreza (cars ranging from 110k to 400k) also qualify for the subsidised fuel.

HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE? the rich will take advantage. RICH GETS RICHER, POOR GET POORER!

• Amiran on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:26 pm

Shit! this word s.u.b.s.i.d.y is niggling again.

What a subsidy minded!

This is about a country/nation:

If you think subsidy is just a mean for the poor, than its yours.

(Take a look on various subsidies in G6) If you think subsidy is for the competancy of a nation as a whole… please tell your friends about it!

End of the day, we are to compete with international nations. From a position on par with countries like Korea and Taiwan, and above countries like Thailand in 70s, NOW we are left far behind them! You're not regret?

• Amiran on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:38 pm

Shit! this word s.u.b.s.i.d.y is niggling again.

What a subsidy minded!

This is about a country/nation:

If you think subsidy is just a mean for the poor, than its yours.

(Take a look on various subsidies in G6) If you think subsidy is for the competancy of a nation as a whole… please tell your friends about it!

End of the day, we are to compete with international nations. From a position on par with countries like Korea and Taiwan, and above countries like Thailand in 70s, NOW we are left far behind them! You’re not regret?

Or you think this is what we're deserved for being lazy ot whatsoever…

Even FLATTENED countries of Soviet commonwealth in 80s to early 90s now leaps and bound compared to us.

• deGonggok on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:57 pm

Why is so much comment on car tax?

Remove the subsidy and improve public transport as Singapore/HK. Hell just follow what Singapore and HK with what they are doing well. It is the wrong thing to equate this to pride.

• Rooney on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:57 pm

At one point, I agree with MI16 too. For those that said local car (P1, P2 etc) low class car, not everyone rich like you…more worst, some "kais pagi makan pagi" & "kais petang makan petang"…

• i am cool ice cool on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:13 pm

They want us to pay unsubsidized fuel like other country ,its not relevant cause our country produce oil n as a malaysian we r entitiled for the oil which source from ourland but now how is the 1malaysia concept apply here hmmm.

• Tiadaid on Feb 25, 2010 at 9:04 pm

Littlefire said,

February 24, 2010 @ 10:18 pm

The only thing the G wont reduce the car tax as they still need a lot of money especially those bloody AP re-con seller. Do you know that a second-hand car from japan have no value at all? Some already selling at scrap metal price and at our beloved chop shop for how much? 07’s Estima selling for RM20k whole car. Over here selling RM200k on the road.. Bloody hell tax & AP, do you think those AP holders will let go the tax? They will rugi like hell~!

———————–

Second hand cars from Japan have no value since their government policy that makes compulsory checks on cars that are between 3-5 years old. Those checks are prohibitively expensive, so the demand for used cars in Japan is very low to non-existent. Cheaper to buy new car than to send for checks. When demand is low, price goes down.

In Malaysia however, the demand for JDM cars are very, very high whereas the supply is not that high. Again, the supply curve means that the car prices would be much more expensive. The distributor have you by the balls. What you do? Don't buy it then. Why moan about AP & tax when you know that it's the seller who sets the price, its the seller who's gouging you. If EVERY Malaysian who wants to buy those JDM cars go buy other cars, then the demand won't be very high thus reducing the price of the car. Simple

• Tiadaid on Feb 25, 2010 at 10:31 pm

i am cool ice cool said,

February 25, 2010 @ 12:13 pm

They want us to pay unsubsidized fuel like other country ,its not relevant cause our country produce oil n as a malaysian we r entitiled for the oil which source from ourland but now how is the 1malaysia concept apply here hmmm

——————

Yes we produce oil, but do you know how much we USE oil? The demand for oil usage in our country is close to exceeding our output, which means sooner or later we're going to be and oil IMPORTING country. How long are we going to stand on the crutch of oil when it's rapidly dwindling?

• Centurio-Cohors Prim on Feb 25, 2010 at 11:08 pm

instead of taxing an altis 1.8 for 40k,y not tax it 20k.this is realistic.the fuel?x pyh la subsidy.enuff bull!!!!!

x tax lgsg keta impossible.but i can live with that fact, tax keta half.x pyh mahal2.kalu xda tax mana lak dtg duit Gomen,tp musti mau implementla!!!!!!!!!!!n i want my refund!!!!!!!!

• Just improve the public service, subsidise car with green tech as in low fuel consumption and emission like britian. finish.

• eldie on Feb 25, 2010 at 11:43 pm

I agree with the comments made by Jong88. Well said on the tax payment that we have to come up to pay extra. That is why people always says, if you want to buy the most expensive car in the world, come to Malaysia.

• Mr Tiadaid, with due respect, i agree with you on our dwindling resources, but hey, hwy did this happen? have we ever thought of that? Cheap fuel? NO! Cheap cars, HELL NO!

Badly managed or nil public transportation system. Last week my car broke down, i work in kota damansara i live in Desa Prk, Kpg. If i drive usually it takes bout 20/30 mins depending on traffic and cost me rm1.60(ldp) excluding fuel but that day it took 1hr 25 mins and rm 4.6 just to go home by bus. had to take 3 diff busses to reach there. Why? if the p.trans is efficiant like in SQ, HK , India and Arab Emirates, think we would have saved a lot of our reserves. And on top of that i would want to risk my life going on board reckless public bus drivers like metrobus, SJ bus and express busses. Its just fundamentally wrong. What we need is some1 like Obama(change)

• nigttrain on Feb 26, 2010 at 12:58 am

can someone apply for that in the book of world records?

• nigttrain on Feb 26, 2010 at 1:02 am

I just want to piont out that we DEFINITELY not the most expensive country to live in. Or are we…..

• harharhar on Feb 26, 2010 at 3:16 am

harharhar harga naik lagiii harharhar

• harharhar on Feb 26, 2010 at 3:17 am

first minyak

others price hike yet to come

harharhar

and never decrease again

harharhar

• Tiadaid on Feb 26, 2010 at 3:28 am

MI16 said,

February 25, 2010 @ 4:12 pm

Mr Tiadaid, with due respect, i agree with you on our dwindling resources, but hey, hwy did this happen? have we ever thought of that? Cheap fuel? NO! Cheap cars, HELL NO!

Badly managed or nil public transportation system. Last week my car broke down, i work in kota damansara i live in Desa Prk, Kpg. If i drive usually it takes bout 20/30 mins depending on traffic and cost me rm1.60(ldp) excluding fuel but that day it took 1hr 25 mins and rm 4.6 just to go home by bus. had to take 3 diff busses to reach there. Why? if the p.trans is efficiant like in SQ, HK , India and Arab Emirates, think we would have saved a lot of our reserves. And on top of that i would want to risk my life going on board reckless public bus drivers like metrobus, SJ bus and express busses. Its just fundamentally wrong. What we need is some1 like Obama(change)

—————-

You do know fuel is used for other things than just vehicle fuel right? Factory use lubricants and fuel for their generators and machines too. And that's where your fuel problems are. Industrialized nations and newly industrialized nations guzzle fuel primarily in the factories. So, more efficient public transports system can help reduce consumption, but not by much.

Besides, how can public buses be more efficient if they have to share the same road with all those cars? Have you ever seen all the cars on the road during a traffic jam? All occupied by only one person! There's just too many cars on the road that it simply could not cope with it. If you want a more efficient public transport system, why not do it yourself and remove all those cars on the road by encouraging carpooling? Why wait for the G when we can do it ourselves? That's the main problem with Malaysians. They can do it themselves but they don't want to.

(Oh, BTW Obama? Change? What change? He's sending more troops into Afghanistan! Where's the change eh?)

• mamak on Feb 28, 2010 at 1:01 pm

just wait and see what the G's decision will be. if we dont like it, we can go for mogok. show the G who has the power. but are we dare for it? hmmm?.. all we can do is just talk and nod, but this is really a good discussion though.. and please do ban mamaks' if they increase their food prices. let show some actions… " tambi, ini hari tepung sudah naik"..damn it!

• TESTDRIVER on Mar 02, 2010 at 5:33 am

It is not the pride being the first to test such systems but it need to be fair to all. The cc volume factor is still in smoke zone as it have too many flaws and best it to driven by compensation in the tax and car price reductions !

• asrimja on Mar 02, 2010 at 8:29 am

Tax tu semua pasal AFTA la, dulu G ckp nak hapus slow2 tp senyap pulak.

Tp kalau diorang hapus, P1, P2 & Naza bungkus la.

G mana ada duit dah skg, mana nak bg mkn kroni lg, nak jaga ati rakyat lg, nak survive next election diorg terpaksa la buat mcm2 tp baling batu sembunyi tgn la pastu tuduh org lain buat, dah berak tgh jln mana nak ngaku. Sblom buat x pk dulu, ni duit tax payer dah abis byk dah bleh pulak kansel last minit. Patut mintak pendapat kita dulu, biar kita bagi idea yg bernas pastu collect idea kita semua pastu buat brainstorming n pilih jln keluar terbaik, lps tu buat vote pulak tgk yg mana kita paling suka sbb kita ni rakyat yg didahulukan. Tp aku suka tengok korang semua yg gaduh2 bash P1, P2 berbaik semula bila ada isu ceni. Tu la patriotik bertempat, sapa x syg negara & duit sendiri kan? Yg bash isu ni org G yg x byr tax le tu.