Spoon and Mugen toy with the Honda CR-Z

The Honda CR-Z has all the basics to look like a hot compact coupe, but seeing the production car for the first time in Geneva, I thought that it looked very tame. The hi-tech feel, driver centered dashboard gets our thumbs up, though. But there’s nothing a good tuner can’t fix, especially for a brand like Honda with top notch outfits like Mugen and Spoon in the wings.

The picture above is of a lowered, kitted and mildly modded CR-Z by Spoon. The more purposeful stance comes from a front coilover kit and rear spring/shock kit that lowers ride height by a substantial 50 mm. Other parts being tested are the N1 exhaust, ECU, and “twin-block” calliper and slit rotor brake upgrade. There’s also an attention grabbing set of Spoon CR93 alloys in blue. Working on the ECU and brakes will have to take into account that these are vital components in the CR-Z’s hybrid drivetrain, though.

And this is Mugen’s idea of how the CR-Z should look like. Full bodykit (lower front bumper reminds us of the Modulo kit for the Honda Accord), dramatic rear spoiler and diffuser, Mugen GP wheels in bronze and LEDs on the front grille are added. The suspension, exhaust system and air filter have been uprated too, while the cabin gets a unique gear knob, extra gauges and floor mats with logos.

View live images from Geneva of the CR-Z and Spoon/Mugen versions after the jump.

Honda CR-Z live images from Geneva
[zenphotopress number=999 album=950]
Spoon modified Honda CR-Z images
[zenphotopress number=999 album=949]
Mugen modified Honda CR-Z images
[zenphotopress number=999 album=951]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• M0isty on Mar 10, 2010 at 11:31 pm

1st!

nice to hear from SPOON again :P

• why blue color rim?.

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 10, 2010 at 11:43 pm

A very long wait for me,get bored with my old crx already,when will this unit reach our shore?

• ago87 on Mar 10, 2010 at 11:44 pm

The rims are so so so ugly…

• ago87 on Mar 10, 2010 at 11:45 pm

At least the car design is still ok…

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 10, 2010 at 11:46 pm

i know this unit comes with a 1.5 v tech

• shacz on Mar 10, 2010 at 11:46 pm

i like the car colour and the sport rim….really match! =)

• barca96 on Mar 10, 2010 at 11:55 pm

nice..aggressive but still safe for the environment! we get the best of both worlds.perfect!

• Come on… how come my gen2 never be like this???????????

• LightsStar on Mar 11, 2010 at 12:10 am

Nice….. :)

• korok on Mar 11, 2010 at 12:26 am

awesome…daaaaa

• sweet! i want one :D

• zimmer on Mar 11, 2010 at 12:38 am

mcm crx lama je

• csbong on Mar 11, 2010 at 12:46 am

wao..yet another beast.

• exlive3 on Mar 11, 2010 at 12:56 am

a neat car that been tuned for the better….

• Spoon's is way more nicer.

• how much will this car cost in RM?

• beanMaeko on Mar 11, 2010 at 1:09 am

haaa? another dugong species? wat wit dugong's appearance nowadays…too much NATgeo in their tv sets i guess.

• please gov decrease on Mar 11, 2010 at 1:15 am

CUN WEI

• MetalHeadS on Mar 11, 2010 at 1:17 am

NICE RIDE! 1st =p

• when honda malaysia wants to bring this?

• Alpha on Mar 11, 2010 at 1:24 am

i want the Mugen version!!!

• Alpha on Mar 11, 2010 at 1:26 am

sorry 4 double posting…but seriously the Mugen is enough to kill the Roc!!

• Black Dog on Mar 11, 2010 at 1:52 am

What happened to Honda CRX, my old beloved car?

• not bad…

• 4G63tDSM on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:19 am

So why arn't they ditching the hybrid powertrain and putting in a REAL engine?

• orang_terbang on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:21 am

Uiii ganaz giles!

• Annoynimal on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:23 am

Cool… I think the Spoon look better

• Annoynimal on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:24 am

Spoon looks better, but whats with the blue wheels? maybe better in the meat…

• seelan on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:26 am

awesome…. :D

• San Peng Road on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:53 am

Besh! Im 1st ke?

• wow.. thatz kewl… Newayz am i the 1st person to comments on this?

• wow. . . . nice

• linear on Mar 11, 2010 at 3:09 am

nice car.

• Gajen on Mar 11, 2010 at 3:29 am

oo nice!

• i hope one day Honda will come out with turbo diesel for our market..

• hikari on Mar 11, 2010 at 3:40 am

please come 2 mareeshia!!

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK on Mar 11, 2010 at 3:42 am

i think currently honda just got 2.2 i-Dtec engine, soon will come to malaysia market, maybe next year.

btw, i think ford focus tdci is better than honda's diesel car, and focus tdci heard that will come in at Q2 tis year

• proton on Mar 11, 2010 at 4:33 am

this looks like baby prius.

satria neo looks better

• donadoni on Mar 11, 2010 at 4:50 am

i prefer spoon aside from mugen bcoz mugen always do some touch up on the exterior.which is the result will cost ur car look like a space battleships.lol.

• bohpee on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:26 am

i want it so much!! when it will arrived in malaysia??

• mitlanevo on Mar 11, 2010 at 6:05 am

SMOKING HOTTT !!!

• michelle on Mar 11, 2010 at 6:28 am

maybe tamiya shud starts mod / tuning biz on hybrid / electric cars.

• Maverick on Mar 11, 2010 at 6:30 am

kyosho RC ?

• thinking when this car will arrive here?..wait till next 5 years when japanese already produce a 3rd generation CR-Z..haha..hot hatch are worst in term of sale in Malaysia..if you really want it..go to Singapore..

• auzirul on Mar 11, 2010 at 11:08 am

honda…

combination with spoon n mugen…

its perfomance will be awesome..

based on old crx design with new look..

cant wait to see it in here…

• xavier lert on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:32 pm

bru…..why not make it black…

• droll on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:45 pm

why bother?!

• King Samurai on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:55 pm

Gen2 said,

March 10, 2010 @ 4:09 pm

Come on… how come my gen2 never be like this???????????

coz your car is a gen2 lor….same like mine..

• Michael Ammot on Mar 11, 2010 at 6:33 pm

to all '89 CRX owners/enthusiast…accept the fact that this CRZ was exclusively built n designed to youngsters for next 20 years from now…it's the same case as what happened to '89 CRX where now, after 20 years the youngsters still say that the '89 CRX indeed a good looking car..

• double helices on Mar 11, 2010 at 8:06 pm

Very nice, with blue rims on makes it look playful.

• kopi-man on Mar 12, 2010 at 3:08 am

I was driving a CRX in the 1990s! the back got the very same feel! will sure look for it if the price is right :)

• torque (Member) on Mar 12, 2010 at 8:12 pm

Love the Mugen appearance but like the performance set up done by Spoon…will be great to combined those two…excellent job to Honda and both Mugen, Spoon too!

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 13, 2010 at 5:45 am

@Michael Ammot,,,agree with u bro,,,my current crx is very appreciated by my son right

now,he upgraded it to next level man,,always crictisized my old school carsolophy.

• so so so ugly!but nice interior :)

• gt-apex on Sep 06, 2010 at 8:51 pm

good job for spoon and mugen….
    because make it a powerful street tuner car ….. everything is done greatly…

• Dear Honda Malaysia,

we are waiting for Honda CR-Z that price around RM65k to rm75k outside of Malaysia. thus, the price in here would be +- da same.

Please launch it in Malaysia ASAP

TQR