Hyundai overtakes Japanese in brand loyalty chart

According to the latest Kelley Blue Book Market Intelligence data, Hyundai in the US recently surpassed Honda and Toyota when it comes to making customers happy and retaining them. In addition, Hyundai resale values have been outperforming the car segment average, which is something reserved only for Toyota and Honda in our market. The new Sonata YF was also the fifth most researched car in kbb.com’s Top 10 Most-Researched New Vehicles list.

Comparing February 2010 data to Q4 2009, Hyundai owners looking at new models within the brand increased by 10.4% to 56.3%, good enough for it to top the chart for the first time, up from third place in Q4 2009. In the same timeframe, Toyota fell from top to third spot while Honda held steady at second place. Toyota owners considering a repeat purchase fell by 4.4% to 53.3%. Honda’s score is 55.8%.

At the same time, Kelley Blue Book Values data for Feb 2010 showed that Hyundai outperformed the overall car segment average by a healthy margin, increasing 2% month-over-month, relative to a 0.3% increase for the entire car segment.

“Hyundai is clearly benefiting from ‘a perfect storm’ – a result of introducing passionate new products like the 2011 Sonata and 2010 Tucson, while Honda’s mainstream vehicles like the CR-V and Accord are a bit stale in the marketplace and Toyota is experiencing a huge consumer perception crisis,” said James Bell, executive market analyst for Kelley Blue Book’s kbb.com.

This should be another warning sign for the Japanese carmakers, whose models like the Accord and Camry have deep roots in the US top ten best sellers list. Hyundai, along with sister brand Kia and Subaru, were the only carmakers to have increased market share in a troubled 2009.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Pro-Deutsch on Mar 16, 2010 at 6:44 pm

Now, eat that japanzee.

• Jimmy on Mar 16, 2010 at 6:56 pm

it is time to change.. no more domination of japs car..

• the reader on Mar 16, 2010 at 7:06 pm

way to go Koreans!! now go buy Forte everyone

• staff on Mar 16, 2010 at 7:12 pm

they are really a fighter…

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 16, 2010 at 7:22 pm

How do the values work? Maybe im not looking in the right place? The report states 79% of those considering a Toyota before the recall are still going ahead with their purchase. Huh?? 60% of Toyota owners are not concerned about a drop in resale values too.

Could someone clarify? Anyway the report also state the drop coincides with the recalls in February. Not really a natural increase or decrease. Lets see wht the report says for March 2010.

• MoFaz on Mar 16, 2010 at 7:25 pm

Lotus F1 is now setting new target, to chase the leaders. Proton should do the same.

Hyundai was known as cheap cars with a lot of problems during their initial US market penetration. Resale value drop so much until they became the least preferred brand. But look at them now. 4th largest in the world.

Why can’t Proton do the same? I believe we should be able to stand tall among the leaders.

• marsaila on Mar 16, 2010 at 7:31 pm

I think hyundai owners are retaining the car because they can't sell it off due to the low resale value. That's what happened to me at least. Honda has such a high resale value, that's why the owners can change cars very often.

• corolla_KE70 on Mar 16, 2010 at 7:37 pm

koreans are catching up with the japs, something they should be worrying and not to stay in their comfort zone. i hope proton will follow how the koreans can make it up to this level, so that the nation can be proud of them!!

• xu wen chao on Mar 16, 2010 at 7:43 pm

2010 is the korean year

• lazyf on Mar 16, 2010 at 7:45 pm

Congrats Hyundai…keep it up!!!

• MyCarMyLife on Mar 16, 2010 at 7:45 pm

The old saying goes 'when you don't look after your customers well, some other people would' that goes well for arrogance, pride and profiteering as well.

• Rondowner on Mar 16, 2010 at 7:52 pm

Is time for them to suffer…

• wallstreet on Mar 16, 2010 at 7:52 pm

This is not surprising at all..same as what is going to happen in Singapore and many countries around the world. Based on all their recent model launches, brace for more Korean waves….Sadly, in Malaysia…..uncles, aunties, ah chai, ah beng, they will still go for Honda and Toyota……

• go Kia!!

• anak dato' kk on Mar 16, 2010 at 8:08 pm

Japanese??? they are still humans…..

• Mysticmind on Mar 16, 2010 at 8:17 pm

so.. in malaysia…

the problem's Naza lah!

• l3ryan on Mar 16, 2010 at 8:17 pm

would this ever happen in msia?

• Korean on Mar 16, 2010 at 8:30 pm

Korean car never been and will not in the some par with the Japanese car. It sells because it is cheap, that's all.

• yea it can’t be the same par as japanese cars because it’s one step ahead of them so what the par they are using for japanese. korean say they can break the so call japanese par…. hahahahaaaa…….

• sayapdewa on Mar 16, 2010 at 8:35 pm

in US yes but in Malaysia errr…still doubtful…anyone intend to buy korean car, please be noted…pikir masak2…malaysia's not the same as US…

• Saw one singapore black tucson at JB. Real car look much better than pic. really tak boleh tahan ohhh… There are many SG avante & forte in JB road… just can't wait to see more malaysian avante & forte on the road…

• VIOSuser on Mar 16, 2010 at 8:54 pm

hahaha very funny,

NEVER TRUST RESEARCH COMPANY DATA !

Why ? Because I have worked in one before !!!!

1. Sample collection methodology problem ! This is the major contribution to bias. Will elaborate if I am requested to….

2. Sample size problem. How large is the sample size? Believe it or not when Coca-cola conducted a research on 100plus lemon flovour in Malaysia. The sample size is only 200 !!!! Why ? Because it is expensive.!

3. 4. 5. 6 will post later because I expect a lot of protest from hard core Forte supporter such as Dugong Go Hell

Cheers,

ViosUser cum engineer

• MyBaBi on Mar 16, 2010 at 9:03 pm

got japanese car salesmen suffering here

• VIOSuser on Mar 16, 2010 at 9:03 pm

hahaha never believe in marker research company data !!! Why ? Because I have worked in one b4 !!!!! Terrible experience.

1. Data collection methodology problemS. Will elaborate if u really wanna know.

2. Sample size problem. Imagine how big is the sample size when cocacola did the 100 plus lemon flavour test research ? It's only 200 samples.

3,4,5,6 will post later since i expect forte lover is going to response to this :)

vios user cum engineer

• Anyone plan to buy used Hyundai car and later sell it at higher value??

HaHa

• MoFaz on Mar 16, 2010 at 9:25 pm

CK76 said,

March 16, 2010 @ 1:12 pm

Anyone plan to buy used Hyundai car and later sell it at higher value??

HaHa

——————————

Nobody. why…?

car is never an investment, never consider car as an asset. It’s liability.

• it is not aplicable in malaysia because people here trusted more on Toyota and Honda cars rather than Kia and Hyundai… See even Proton and Perodua cars outnumbered Kia and Hyundai cars even their i10 and their Picanto is rahter the same price…

• endre on Mar 16, 2010 at 9:50 pm

CK76 said,

HaHa

———————————-

So have you found any Toyota or Honda or BMW or Merc or any brand get higher value? Prove it!

• DenFire on Mar 16, 2010 at 9:55 pm

CK76 said,

HaHa

——————————

Nobody. why…?

car is never an investment, never consider car as an asset. It’s liability.

AGREED, cars is just a form of transportation, as long as it is reliable, quality good and reasonable price. It should be a good car, no matter that is a hyundai or other brand. But mindset of people in Malaysia is quite interesting, they like to classify the cars's grade based on its brand rather then the size of the car. Some people even says that IF CHANGE FROM CAMRY TO SONATA, IT IS CONSIDER DOWNGRADE HIS CAR. Just because korean cars is cheaper it doesn't mean the technology is lousy, things will always change and improve.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 16, 2010 at 11:10 pm

a bad year…….

• sayapdewa said,

March 16, 2010 @ 12:35 pm

in US yes but in Malaysia errr…still doubtful…anyone intend to buy korean car, please be noted…pikir masak2…malaysia’s not the same as US…

—–

yeah…my aunty said malaysia's toyota cars are the best and safest in the world, not low grade like in the US that cause many deaths.

use your brains la…!!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 16, 2010 at 11:46 pm

Hyundai/Kia can work better in malaysia, if Naza gives better service at their SC. On par with honda would be nice.

• pomen_gtr on Mar 16, 2010 at 11:55 pm

agreed to denfire…

resale value wasn't a problem at all especially when you were already signed a long term loans…7year++….

so choose wisely to buy a car..that fits your budget and fits your need….if those two criteria filled well then why u need to think the resale value of a car????

the problem is people now buy cars for show…after show to girlfriend,to grandpa grandma later sell it to buy another new car…show-off again….sell again….people will say wah this person was very rich…change car every year…got buy every new model…(but actually full of bank loans) :lol:

-used car dealer also plays a big role in this…since the logo was from HONDA,MITSUBISHI even 2ndhand car price will go up shooting the sky…why??because people want to poser v-tec and turbo..can't afford original typeR and evolution,buy sohc honda and 1.5lancer later convert into typeaRse and ebolotong…so everyone want's some of this cheap car to be converted…later…dealer knew people want this car so badly,of course the price increased to gain a better margin of profit……

sparepart and servicing????korean car's engineering was from japan..since when your under the tree workshop cannot repair/service/maintain a japaneese vehicle??even BMW,volvo also they know how to repair….(or pretend to know how)

• Hisham on Mar 17, 2010 at 12:21 am

When Malaysian will start to open their EYES? At the moment they cannot look beyond Toyota and Honda…

• Black Dog on Mar 17, 2010 at 12:21 am

I think the 2 car brands that are to watch out and with the most potential is………..

KIA & AUDI

What you guys think?

• tikus on Mar 17, 2010 at 12:51 am

What ever happend to the world is difference in Bolehland. T&H brand still the world best brand. Too many die hard fans here.

• bobby on Mar 17, 2010 at 12:55 am

To be general, car is a liability because it will depreciate.

Most of Malaysian need to wake up from this Japanese car "brain wash".

Japanese car sold here is always much expensive and much "low-tech" from other country. Camry, vios out there are mostly equipped with GPS etc, but how about the model they sell here ? Facelift dugong, had more airbags and safety feature, should it not be sell with all those equipment at the first place ? Those are considered standards nowaday ( regardless of mentioning proton here ).

• Alex Yoong on Mar 17, 2010 at 12:58 am

SUBARU ?

• lkf0512 on Mar 17, 2010 at 1:00 am

How about the spare parts availability in Msia for Forte or other Korean cars?

One of my friend is holding his horses though Forte looks "seducing" to him…

• parts you need not worry too much as you can find it….. some silly peoples will say no you can’t find… that’s nonsense

• shawal on Mar 17, 2010 at 1:34 am

Japanese tries desperately to be 'european' that they forgot why ppl buy their cars in the first place….(except MAzda…still zoomz zoomz)

Koreans just do their own theng…..and sthtick to it…

• Elvis on Mar 17, 2010 at 2:47 am

We see that Hyundai learning curve is very steep indeed. Within only few years, from average brand into the leader of the pack. I dont think we should try and believe Proton can do the same here. Just accept it, Proton will be close shop in few years time due to sudden rise of oil price and material cost plus already bad quality of its products. Proton should have listen to voices of its customers which is better quality even only a copypaste company. Confuse said that it is better to have pride than a huge ego with empty pockets. Proton should be realistic, 90% of its customers are US, MALAYSIANS, not some future projection of sales…

• paparazi (Member) on Mar 17, 2010 at 3:21 am

…think both Jap & Korean cars so dam good? all same la

if could effort i will go for European car, who care H or T or K or M badge.

hate myself to talk nonsense here

• littlefire85 on Mar 17, 2010 at 4:36 am

Eh.. I tot Subaru is consider Japanese right? Subaru is one of the best 4wd + Boxer engine around… But in Malaysia… Yeah, Thanks to Tax.. The scooby is one of the most expensive to own.. Look at Singaporean, a lot of Subaru running around..

• Tiadaid on Mar 17, 2010 at 5:40 am

Elvis said,

March 16, 2010 @ 6:47 pm

We see that Hyundai learning curve is very steep indeed. Within only few years, from average brand into the leader of the pack. I dont think we should try and believe Proton can do the same here. Just accept it, Proton will be close shop in few years time due to sudden rise of oil price and material cost plus already bad quality of its products. Proton should have listen to voices of its customers which is better quality even only a copypaste company. Confuse said that it is better to have pride than a huge ego with empty pockets. Proton should be realistic, 90% of its customers are US, MALAYSIANS, not some future projection of sales…

———–

What do you mean steep learning curve? Hyundai's been around for 40-odd years and entered the American market back in 1986. It took them 24 years to get from crap car in America to where they are now, and another 20-odd year to get from zero to the crap car stage!

• yippi33 on Mar 17, 2010 at 6:57 am

well..that is basic in business what..even the kids learn it in their kemahiran hidup ..consumer will always find alternatives..its like the butter and margarine case..when the price of one good is high or plagued with problems, people will always switch to cheaper alternatives with similar features..in US case, when the economy is down and people had less cash to spend, they will choose kia/hyundai over H/T..its as simple as that..

• Bagero on Mar 17, 2010 at 12:55 pm

hyundai n Kia much better than plotong ..so screw plotong lorrr

• longo on Mar 17, 2010 at 2:26 pm

WTF.

btw, we must agree 'new world order'.

• d24-rally blogspot on Mar 17, 2010 at 5:37 pm

I hope to see this happening here. Toyota & Honda are just too overrated here

• the reader said,

March 16, 2010 @ 11:06 am

~ yeah ur r right after i sell my used vigo , planning for this 3 model …

new vios or forte or alza or myvi SE ?? … any suggestion ?

• my suggestion to you is new avante 2011… check it out baby!!!

• marsaila said,

March 16, 2010 @ 11:31 am

I think hyundai owners are retaining the car because they can’t sell it off due to the low resale value. That’s what happened to me at least. Honda has such a high resale value, that’s why the owners can change cars very often.

—————————————————————–

I'm a current 2005 trajet owner, and will definitely buy another hyundai….infact is looking fwd for the new Tucson. Most Hyundai's owner are well satisfied wt their wheels. The 5 yrs/500,000km warranty ensure peace of mind

: )

• wallstreet on Mar 18, 2010 at 12:11 am

stv said,

March 17, 2010 @ 9:50 am

the reader said,

March 16, 2010 @ 11:06 am

~ yeah ur r right after i sell my used vigo , planning for this 3 model …

new vios or forte or alza or myvi SE ?? … any suggestion ?

——————————–

Go for Mazda 2. Fantastic build quality and handling.

• David on Mar 18, 2010 at 4:06 am

With that much kudos Hyundai is receiving in the 'States, it had solidified my confidence with the carmaker. Which explains why i am now the proud owner of a MC Accent. Not a very common car, but it definitely beats the socks out of Vioses, City, and even the odd Latio.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 27, 2010 at 4:34 pm

Your Accent beats the socks out of Vios, City and Latio? In what way may i ask?

• Go Hyundai. Give a lesson to the overprice car manufacturer T & H..

• kelvin on Mar 19, 2010 at 1:31 am

saw at least 5 truck load of the tucson arriving at their storeyard in bkt jelutong. pretty nice looking i must say..

• yazid on Apr 27, 2010 at 3:39 pm

tucson wl soft launching this thursday…

• Now Hyundai is really one step ahead of japanese cars, they really work something out and show it’s really kick……… if they offer better price i would say…. the other two famous brand will kick A$$…………..