Vettel and Webber make it a Red Bull front row in Melbourne

Sebastian Vettel claimed his second pole position in as many races after beating home favourite and team mate Mark Webber to P1 in qualifying for tomorrow’s Australian Grand Prix. Red Bull totally dominated qualifying under Melbourne’s dark clouds and topped the time sheets in all three sessions. Webber tried hard to challenge his German team mate but the Aussie’s Q3 lap time of 1:24.035 wasn’t enough to beat Vettel’s 1:23.919.

Behind the Red Bull front row is Fernando Alonso for Ferrari alongside reigning world champion Jenson Button in fourth. Felipe Massa in the other scarlet car qualified fifth, ahead of the Mercedes GP Petronas duo of Nico Rosberg in sixth and seven-time champion Michael Schumacher in seventh. Completing the top-10 are Rubens Barrichello for Williams-Cosworth in eighth, Robert Kubica for Renault in ninth and Adrian Sutil for Force India in tenth.

Did we miss anyone? No, because Lewis Hamilton was the only big gun to miss out on Q3. We did not see the Brit make any mistake on TV and there wasn’t any news about mechanical problems, so it looks like just a bad day in the office for the 2008 champion. He’s starting in 11th place beside Sebastien Buemi’s Toro Rosso.

The first two qualifying sessions told pretty much the same story as in Bahrain. Lotus Racing’s Heikki Kovalainen was the best of the “new boys” in 19th, followed by team mate Jarno Trulli in 20th place. The Virgins of Timo Glock and Lucas di Grassi were 21st and 22nd, respectively.

Bruno Senna and Karun Chandok of HRT will occupy the last row on the grid. Joining these teams to go out in Q1 was Renault’s Russian driver Vitaly Petrov. However, his 18th place time of 1:26.471 was more than two seconds faster than Heikki’s, highlighting the gulf in pace between established and new teams.

Click here to view the complete results.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• vwaja on Mar 28, 2010 at 3:38 am

well done LOTUS!

• Jefflau on Mar 28, 2010 at 3:49 am

GOOO TEAM LOTUSSSSSSSSSS SSSS SSS SSS!!!!

• firos on Mar 28, 2010 at 4:37 am

I am not interested in f1 now, very boring

• DariusDrake on Mar 28, 2010 at 4:52 am

Once again, Lotus Racing emerges tops among the newcomers. No worries about Virgin or HRT posing a serious threat. Heikki and Trulli seemed to be more busy competing with each other rather than with the new teams.

• 1kereta on Mar 28, 2010 at 5:41 am

the lousiest F1 season ever… the only excitements now only come from crashes…no more from pit stops…

• JULIAN_LEE on Mar 28, 2010 at 5:58 am

BMW sure win!

• bigfish on Mar 28, 2010 at 6:00 am

f1 driver or not, please repect the law…

http://www.nowpublic.com/sports/aussie-police-imp…

• scanzew on Mar 28, 2010 at 6:51 am

haiiyoo…bad again!!

• red bull looking strong this weekend… anyhow Forza Ferrari and good luck Lotus…=)

• perkasa on Mar 28, 2010 at 7:03 am

Pity that we still believe we can improve further.

Not withstanding any wet weather ,

there is not way Lotus can improve unless they

move away from the miserable Cosworth.

Being 5-6 seconds behind the leaders, they will be

lapped in lap 15 !!

• Scuddie on Mar 28, 2010 at 6:13 pm

Lolz..take it easy mate..we are still an "extremely" "proud" "winner" no matter if they are lapped 5 or 6 more,after all finishing the race itself is the most dazzling ever in f-1 history by far, supported by the greatest reason that We are still New,and we are from boleh land!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Balloon on Mar 28, 2010 at 7:41 am

can someone tell this kimi to get lost .. dont know facts and simply giving stupid comments !

i guess he must be past of the useless GOV !

Anyway back to the real F1. Lotus congratulations but you guys are still way behind the established teams .. faster get upgrades and at least be nearer to them if not faster !

• Brahams on Mar 28, 2010 at 8:38 am

No compliments to Lotus Racing if it can't even score points in race!!!

• i think u need to wait for the team to use their new package….wait for Barcelona….im not sure whether they can collect points but they will move upwards in the table…

• nodurian on Mar 28, 2010 at 8:40 am

Vettel was just superb in qualifying. Congrats to him.

Rosberg outpaced Schumi again, but by a much smaller margin. Hopefully Scumi can turn things around in the race.

Well done to Lotus for being the best among the newcomers again. Keep it up! With the hard work they are putting in, I have a strong feeling Lotus will be able to challenge the midfielders before long.

• Hamitton too busy doing his HOON driving, stupid lad

• http://www.justin.tv/chrishello2010#r=xlw4aJ0~

live f1 coverage

• Jarum on Mar 28, 2010 at 9:04 pm

I believe Lotus won't be so lucky this weekend in Melbourne. May even end it by the first corner.

• your are right..trulli did not even start..but look at kovalainen!!!!!

• Jarum on Mar 29, 2010 at 1:00 am

Sorry! Lotus couldn't get one of their cars to start the race. 1Malaysia really tak boleh!