Ford Focus RS500 – a parting gift for the current Focus

Ford Focus RS500

A limited edition 500 unit run of the Focus RS called the Focus RS500 will be unveiled to the public for the first time at the 2010 Leipzig Motor Show in Germany on April 9 next month. Each car will have its own serial number and only 101 of them will be available in UK, with the rest scattered around the car’s other markets.

No, the RS500 name doesn’t mean the car makes 500 horsepower, but as you can already guess from the first paragraph it denotes the production run. The 350 PS that the Focus RS500 makes is about 45 PS higher than what the normal Focus RS produces. This is accompanied by 460Nm of torque between 2,500rpm to 4,500rpm, which is up from the 440Nm of the normal Focus RS.

Ford Focus RS500

The engine is the same 2.5 litre Duratec RS but has had some massaging including a larger air-to-air intercooler to deliver a cooler, denser charge; a larger air filter box for increased airflow; larger diameter exhaust downpipe; and an uprated fuel pump, along with an updated software calibration to optimise the performance of the revised engine. 0 to 100km/h takes 5.6 seconds.

“The engine’s improved breathing has allowed us to increase power without having to raise turbo boost pressure significantly. This has made it possible to enhance peak performance while maintaining the excellent driveability, fuel consumption and emissions of the standard Focus RS,” said Gunnar Hermann, Ford’s global C-car vehicle line director. The modifications from the engine have been done by a team of engineers from Ford TeamRS in partnership with Revolve Technologies, the automotive engineering firm which develops Ford approved performance upgrades through its Mountune brand.

Ford Focus RS500

And of course as you can see from the photos, the RS500 has a special matte black finish combined with matching metallic black alloy wheels, glossy black finish on the trapezoidal lower front grille and splitter, twin-blade rear spoiler and the rear venture. But the thing is, the matte black is NOT paint.

The RS500 cars are painted in a standard Panther Black metallic colour, before being shipped to a dedicated 3M facility near Frankfurt, Germany, where a special foil film will be applied to the bodywork to create the matt black effect. In the event of damage to the bodywork, Ford dealers will be fully supported by a Europe-wide network of 3M agents who can replace the film on the affected panels. The film is designed to be resistant to superficial marks and scratches.

So it’s basically a regular Focus RS tuned up a little by Mountune with a matte black “stickerjob”. We’ll soon say goodbye to both the Focus RS and the current generation Focus as various regions around the world make way for the all-new Focus that was unveiled unusually early at the Detroit show this year. That’s only going to hit Malaysia in 2012.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1001]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kerosen on Mar 30, 2010 at 7:48 am

bold and beautiful

• any chance we can see this in malaysia?

• nice

• coming to malaysia?

• the rear look ugly….don lyk it

but the whole design buat gua telingat itu neo..

• Eric G on Mar 30, 2010 at 7:56 am

HOLY MOTHER OF GOD. THIS IS BY FAR THE COOLEST LOOKING CAR EVER. IT LOOKS LIKE A STEALTH FIGHTER!

• brossprocps on Mar 30, 2010 at 8:04 am

wow! very good.

• Ben X5 on Mar 30, 2010 at 8:07 am

wuhu.. buy one.. and keep .. perfect.. :D

• wow… if satria neo is like this..4 sure it will be a big hit!

• its darth vader….i am ur father…..noooo

• Azuma on Mar 30, 2010 at 8:54 am

damn…really like a neo but this one more fierce

i like!!!!

• jimbet on Mar 30, 2010 at 10:29 am

Still FWD? haih

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 30, 2010 at 10:48 am

Can the differential tahan that amount of power?

• dukenborg on Mar 30, 2010 at 1:49 pm

By far the most powerful Ford Focus available to the average joe – but I'll wait for the 2012 Ford Focus :)

• Rassan on Mar 30, 2010 at 4:24 pm

Nice body color… more power pls.

• GT27 (Member) on Mar 30, 2010 at 4:43 pm

If the Ford Focus price is price reasonable like in US, we probably will buy this car for a try, it seems really nice…

• Ordinary Joe on Mar 30, 2010 at 5:16 pm

Lovely. Very desirable. Only one minor thing… it should sit lower. If its lowered a bit more (especially the front), it would be much nicer…

• guest on Mar 30, 2010 at 5:52 pm

mcm satria neo pun ade..haha..

• FaredSYGPROTON on Mar 30, 2010 at 8:27 pm

its look more fierce and matured compared to neo cps…but neo is cheaper and Malaysian made so go for neO CPS WOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOO

• AE86 (Member) on Mar 30, 2010 at 6:09 pm

I love matt black paint~~ hope they do remember to produce some right hand drive RS500 for those potential customer in sg or msia.

Wish i could bought it…. T_T

• Steven on Mar 30, 2010 at 6:11 pm

Simplistically fabulous!!

• mytouch on Mar 30, 2010 at 7:22 pm

Wow,nice car!!! Love the front design so much!!

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Mar 30, 2010 at 7:42 pm

hurry if u can afford it then grab it fast…

because ford usually create something softer on their new models…

remember mk2 ford escort??? after that? what ford?

remember ford escort RS corsworth??fire breathing 4wd WR monster…after that ford what??

later then its a loooong way to wait until 1st gen year99 focus RS to be fast again…but if not mistaken it was N/A tweaked 2,0 engine form….until this focus RS recieve 2.5T engine…

so i bet ford sure going round and round again with lame model generation for the next 5years…..until then to get a fast ford again….

BTW…muscle car for FWD category….wild and raw power…only real man dare to drive it….nice trick with matte black finish…..

• lchan on Mar 30, 2010 at 8:16 pm

hardcore just got harder.

• mitlanevo on Mar 30, 2010 at 9:38 pm

impressive!!

• OMG….its the most beautiful thing i've seen this year!

• I hate matt black ..but it look so nice on it.. y..?

• DiVo D27 (Member) on Apr 01, 2010 at 5:29 am

de moment u c tis on ur rearview mirror… u jst wana flick de signal n move to de side…!!

• myxenium on Apr 01, 2010 at 1:03 pm

where in malaysia can I get this special 3M foil film that will be applied to the bodywork to create the matt black effect? is it a translucent matte plastic sticker?

i need to matte my redcar.