Hyundai Tucson test drive report from Oman

Take a look at the new Hyundai Tucson. The boldness in design seen here is a reflection of the newfound confidence resting within Hyundai and sister company Kia. No longer content to follow the shadows of the Japanese, the Koreans are now daring enough to chart their own course, both in engineering and design, and are aiming at the top of the class no less. But where do these new generation Hyundais really stand in the overall scheme?

Those thoughts were in our minds as we flew to Oman in the Middle East for the launch of the new Hyundai Tucson and Sonata back in February (an embargo is the reason why you’re only reading this now). Here, we’ll focus on the Tucson SUV with our impressions on the Sonata coming next.

Continue reading the report after the jump.

Debuting in 2005, the first generation Tucson was Hyundai’s answer to the mid-sized SUV segment led by the Toyota RAV4 and Honda CR-V. While it wasn’t a bad product per se, it shone in no particular area and was very forgettable, both in looks and drive. With this new Tucson (codenamed LM), Hyundai wants to banish all memories of the old car – this car looks as exciting as its predecessor was boring.

Every bit as dramatic as it appears in pictures, the Tucson LM’s sheetmetal is a faithful reproduction of the ix-onic concept car shown at the 2009 Geneva show (blue car pictured below). More often than not, show stand creativity loses the internal battle against the people in charge of cost and practicality, resulting in watered down production cars that look like half hearted efforts. Not this time, because the Tucson was earmarked as the car to debut Hyundai’s “Fluidic Sculpture” design language.

In the short one year transition from concept car to production car, the Tucson lost none of the ix-onic’s trademarks – the heavily sculpted front end dominated by the hexagonal grille, accent lines that flow from the light clusters on both ends, and the strip of black that rises just after the front wheels – they’re all here. An exception is in the rear design, where the number plate has shifted up to the tailgate. Personally, I think it looks better this way.

It took some lengths to snap the profile picture of the white car, but it’s worth the while, as the sun highlights every line imagined by the designers, which as you can see here is almost identical to the ix-onic concept’s. The previously mentioned accent lines that sprout from both ends interplay with another line that strikes through both door handles – like Zorro’s signature!

Responsible for the Tucson’s sleek looks are the steeply raked A-pillar and a roofline that gently slopes to the rear. What’s the point of that black piece of plastic below the doors, you may ask? It makes the sides look not as thick as they really are, so the car won’t appear bottom heavy. Our test unit in Oman came with 18-inch wheels, but Hyundai Sime-Darby will opt for 17-inch rubber to lower replacement costs.

If the exterior is concept car like, the cabin of the production Tucson is 95% identical to the Geneva show star, down to the details. There seems to be an “opposing curves” theme going on, which can be seen on the steering wheel spokes and also the way the main dashboard moulding meets in the middle (Hyundai calls it X-design). The latter is accentuated by two “blades” that house air vents and an engine Start/Stop button in the high-spec models. The twin pod instruments peer at you, and the dial design is recognisably Hyundai with its blue theme and easy-to-read markings.

I found my ideal driving position with ease, although the steering should ideally also adjust for reach, not just rake. All switches and buttons fall into place though, and there wasn’t anything that needed finding or learning, so top marks for ergonomics. But although the typical SUV high perch is useful for anticipating traffic, visibility is not the best for its kind, especially when viewing off the shoulder. The Tucson’s glass area is relatively small, and that should be the reason behind this.

Hyundai Tucson test drive report from OmanAlthough the cabin features no soft plastics, the pieces are put together very well and appears solidly built. That, and the stylish presentation, makes up for the lack of padded material. Speaking of stylish, Hyundai has peppered the dash with aluminium style trim and piano-black tops for the rotary dials. The two climate control switches are also knurled, Mercedes style. Those with portable music players will be happy with the clearly marked and conveniently located AUX/iPod/USB jacks – your device’s wires won’t have to dangle a long way.

Personally, I don’t like the sight of blanked out buttons, which reminds me that the car I’m driving isn’t “full-spec” but you won’t see many of those things in Malaysia-bound Tucsons. As previously posted, the Tucson will arrive with two engine options – a 2.0-litre and a 2.4-litre 4WD. The smaller engine comes in regular and high-spec form, with the better specced car having most of the 2.4’s equipment.

For instance, all Tucsons except for the base 2.0 get a full length sunroof (with blinds, of course), keyless entry with start/stop button, driver’s powered seat, semi-leather seats and ESP with Downhill Brake Control and Hill Start Assist. The only equipment the 2.4 has over the high-spec 2.0 is climate control with ionizer (as opposed to manual air con) and a luggage net.

I did not spend a lot of time sitting behind, so I can’t vouch for long distance comfort, but unless you’re over six foot tall, legroom and headroom should not be an issue. The Hyundai’s 2640 mm wheelbase is 20 mm longer than the CR-V’s, although the Honda is longer overall, and both cars are identical in width. However, it does gets a little dark and enveloping at the back for those who are easily claustrophobic. It’s due to the rising waistline and “coupe-style” glasshouse, but nothing can’t be solved by opening up the blinds for some natural light through the panoramic roof, which is a big wow feature in a car of this price and segment. The 591-litre boot volume is very good.

Hyundai Tucson test drive report from OmanFor the Tucson part of the test drive day, our hosts focussed a lot on off-road driving rather than on-tarmac handling. I’m not a Middle East geography expert, so I expected desert, desert and desert. However, the coastal city of Muscat (the Sultanate’s capital) and its surroundings were rocky and mountainous, providing a dramatic backdrop for the off-road drive. As a result, the moderately rugged trail we took looks tougher in pictures than it really was – very clever on Hyundai’s part!

But make no mistake, although not Land Rover grade, the route was far from a drive in the park and still required some sort of off-road talent from the Tucson. The gravel on the narrow trails were loose in many instances and there were some inclines steep enough for me to mash the throttle in hope, rather than in expectation. The standard road tyres on our test cars meant that some journos with hesitant right feet got stuck, but the entire fleet managed to complete the day without any mechanical trouble.

The Tucson’s approach and departure angles of 28.1 and 26.9 degrees are good figures for the “soft roader” class, achieved without resorting to ugly protruding chins (that’s you, VW Tiguan!). Those angles and the 44.19 degree max climbing angle were tested (and needed) in our route. We also tried out the Tucson’s Downhill Brake Control function, which like Hill Descent Control, lets you crawl down steep declines (8 km/h) without braking. Works as claimed, unlike a similar system in a premium brand SUV that saw this writer roll down a slope so fast, his foot instinctively intervened!

The Tucson’s 4WD system is the on-demand type, sending torque to the rear wheels when it detects slip, but can be locked to split torque 50:50 between the axles. To have 4WD, you’ll have to opt for the 2.4-litre model; conversely, if you don’t want/need AWD, you’re limited to the 2.0-litre model.

Both engines belong to the Theta II family, which is a development of the “World Engine” shared between Hyundai-Kia, Mitsubishi and Chrysler. Compared to its predecessor, the Theta II gets Dual CVVT (intake and exhaust, Theta I only had intake CVVT) and a two-stage Variable Intake System (VIS) for improved performance across the rev range. To reduce friction (and fuel efficiency), Hyundai has applied a “diamond-like coating” to the top surface of the valve tappets, while oil pump pressure was optimised to achieve a better balance between durability and fuel economy. Additionally, the 2.0-litre unit is lighter than before by 10 kg.

Among the World Engine partners, Hyundai has gone the furthest in development and now has above par output figures to show for. The 2.0-litre produces 164 bhp and 197 Nm, which is much stronger than the Honda CR-V’s 148 bhp/190 Nm. The 2.4 meanwhile makes 175 bhp and 227 Nm of torque, which is on par with Honda K24A’s 178 bhp/222 Nm. Claimed fuel consumption is 11.5 km/l for the 2.0 and 10.9 km/l for the 2.4. The direct injected GDI variants of the Theta II are even more impressive in output and economy, but Hyundai won’t risk bringing them in when our fuel is still stuck at Euro 2.

Our primarily off-road drive didn’t provide a chance to extend the engine. But the same 2.4-litre unit in the Sonata YF proved to be well insulated and smooth revving. Not the strongest off the line perhaps, requiring a heavier right foot for initial acceleration, but that’s not uncommon for naturally aspirated four cylinder engines of this size, even on D-segment cars like the Accord/Camry. Our wish list would include more low end response and torque. Better still, Hyundai’s R-series 2.0 diesel with 392 Nm of twist!

Hyundai Tucson test drive report from OmanIt’s clear that the days when Korean engines played second fiddle to their Japanese counterparts are over, and they’re not stopping there. The Tucson and Sonata ship with Hyundai’s new self-developed six-speed automatic transmission, making them only one of few carmakers to have their own gearbox. Developed over a four-year period, Hyundai’s new pride and joy is claimed to be smaller and lighter than any six-speed auto in existence. It’s also 12 kg lighter than the (off the shelf) five-speed unit it replaces and contributes to 12.2% better fuel economy. The difference for us in Malaysia should be even greater, as the Tucsons and Sonatas currently running on our roads have four-speed units.

But the main headline for this transmission is that it’s maintenance free; the unit comes without a dipstick as it’s filled with fluid that’s good for the life of the vehicle. Hyundai engineers revealed that the test regime involved running the ‘box 24 hours a day for one and a half months, cycling through every ratio in the process. With that, they are confident enough to cover the gearbox with a 300,000 km warranty.

However, for “harsh conditions” Hyundai recommends servicing the transmission every 100,000 km. What’s considered as “harsh”? If one makes trips up and down Genting Highlands every day, was the response given by Hyundai Sime-Darby. Unless there’s a sudden trend where Genting cabbies replace their trusty old Sentras for this SUV, Tucson owners should be a worry-free lot. Also, the gearbox is serviceable, which means that Hyundai can replace a particular part instead of replacing the whole unit should a problem occur. The chances of that happening is also reduced by having 62 fewer parts than before.

In practise, the gearbox is very smooth, and we didn’t feel the need to take shifts into our own hands with the Shiftronic function (no shift paddles), which is good news. A good automatic should be anonymous and unobtrusive and Hyundai’s six speeder ticks those boxes. It’s never lazy, but doesn’t feel like the snappiest and quickest ‘box around, which would be out of character anyway. Our limited test time didn’t uncover any flaws, but we’re looking forward to an extended session when the car is launched here.

Also needing verification on our roads is the ride quality; the smooth Omani roads didn’t pose any challenge for the Tucson, which felt rather stiffly sprung. Body roll is well resisted, but I didn’t feel totally comfortable with the electric power steering, which assistance didn’t seem to be consistent as you wind on lock. There also wasn’t much feel to the helm. It’s something owners will get used to in no time, but the CR-V’s steering feels more natural and accurate if my memory serves right.

The new Hyundai Tucson is a very strong package, offering stand out design, a stylish, well made cabin and technical competence, not to mention a lengthy equipment list, long warranty and attractive pricing (price isn’t finalised as of now; we’ll keep you updated). In Malaysia, the only prominent rival for this car is the recently refreshed Honda CR-V, and if you’re in the market for one of those, we reckon you should at least test drive the Tucson for a feel of what’s available outside the “safe zone”. Be warned, you might be surprised!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1012]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Budzer on Apr 01, 2010 at 11:01 am

The Korean has set their own class.

• Squawk on Apr 01, 2010 at 5:47 pm

Gotta wait to test drive before commenting but it looks impressive.

• sedusaX4 on Apr 01, 2010 at 11:29 am

Looks good :)

• MR.MILLER on Apr 01, 2010 at 11:57 am

nice car.. ! CRV time to step down~

• dukenborg on Apr 01, 2010 at 12:20 pm

Wow – even with 6 gears the 2 L gives 11.5km /liter? Thats a little high isnt it? What is the fuel consumption going to be like if this vehicle gets stuck with just 4 gears?

• If concern on FC, wait for 2.0 R-series diesel plus more powerful than both petrol version

• my CRV 5 speed gives 13-14km/L highway but drops to 10km/l for town driving. my toyota wish 2.0 gives 14km/l highway and 10-11km/l town even though it only has a 4 speed auto.

• david welle on Apr 28, 2010 at 4:29 pm

my PERSONA gives 8.5L/100km for mix driving. not very good FC.

• proton_excel on Apr 29, 2010 at 12:23 am

my iafm persona gives me 7.2l/100km for 90% town driving… what else to expect?

• wheelz on Apr 01, 2010 at 6:09 pm

That's actually a decent number considering the size and weight. What do you drive? My car gives me 9+km per liter. Its a 2.0 407 with 80% city driving.

• if FC is a concern, i suggest stick to kancil or kenari.. 2.0 cars just ain’t for you.

• Cpt Shopalot on Apr 01, 2010 at 12:59 pm

cool looking

• shawal on Apr 01, 2010 at 1:02 pm

Can't poke fun at korean cars anymore…, the koreans have definitely arrived….

• Nice car and the soon to be launch Kia Sportage also look promising

• im liking it…seen more of tucsons on sg roads

• geekfiredog on Apr 01, 2010 at 3:31 pm

Not in the market for new car/suv, but kudos to Hyundai for the great improvements!

• jugaus on Apr 01, 2010 at 3:32 pm

This is really fantastic..can't wait to test drive..

• Toyota drivers are i on Apr 01, 2010 at 3:50 pm

I believe the main problem with Hyundai cars is its lacck of steering feel, hope they already sorted that out with this model. I am not in a market for a softroader but I look forward for the price announcement since the CR-V is very much overpriced for a Honda.

• Jerry on Apr 01, 2010 at 3:54 pm

Bravo to Korea car manufacturer.

• klx (Member) on Apr 01, 2010 at 4:17 pm

COOL!

• Rassan on Apr 01, 2010 at 4:18 pm

Nice… How come Korean cars getting better than Malaysian car?

• very easy… Proton hire foreign workers with low wages wherelse the koreans hires its own plp that is proud of their cars.

• firos on Apr 01, 2010 at 4:28 pm

this is good for replacement my vitara

• wolfsburg on Apr 01, 2010 at 4:29 pm

Seems that the launching of Tucson is coming real soon… An impressive package!

• Yeah, finally it is the time for Hyundai to arrive.

• Littlefire on Apr 01, 2010 at 4:39 pm

Yeap, the Japs are already feeling the pressure from Korean..

If their car is worst? Why they are the one that profit during last year economic downturn?

The only thing that may coz people not to buy in Malaysia is the after-sales service and unable of getting spare part easily & cheap. If all the above can be solved, second-hand value will improve also as bankers usually do survey on all these issues to determine the used car price.

• Poor after-sales and spare part availability is a perceived issue. In reality, that is not the case.

Residuals are not determined by bankers but rather the market.

• Looks great, another nice face lift from Hyundai again…

• lol…its not facelift my friend, its new model. those toyota and honda minor exterior upgrade with increase price is only face lift…..

• 2.0 l giving 164bhp… this is good, now to gauge the price factor

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 01, 2010 at 4:50 pm

i like

• kimi_ on Apr 01, 2010 at 4:58 pm

The front does not looks good in WHITE colour, other colours are better to show out the chrome and design line…

• ganas

• Kelvin8048 on Apr 01, 2010 at 5:15 pm

Time to eat Honda and Toyota for breakfast..

• hahaha kudos to hyundai n kia! lets make T n H facing a vry tough time for their overpriced machine

• Fithrie Zin on Apr 01, 2010 at 5:23 pm

bile proton nak kluar SUV?

• you make me laugh already.. not going to happen

• slow2 la bro, proton baru nk merangkak..hyundai n kia da masuk gear 5 dah bro..

• better not la… if they were to big it off road, it would be a bone shaker, no need for good hifiset inside the car.

• DenFire on Apr 01, 2010 at 5:41 pm

Agreed, definitely the price will become a main factor in it. In SG they says this car's price is a bit on the premium side. Just don't know what Sime Darby will do about it regarding the pricing. By the way, this car is really outstanding…

• apamau on Apr 01, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Good review and looks like a good car. Ok, back to reality.

Price ? how’s the 2.4 being price and pit against 2.0 Honda CRV ? It will be the main fight for the market for Tucson 2.4 Vs Honda 2.0, before kia sportage adding more variable to the carnival.

And yes, it’s not going to be a 2.0 vs 2.0, As the long term brand of Honda and Perception of CRV, there’s a 0.4 handicapped.

• Elvis on Apr 02, 2010 at 8:53 am

Price can make a difference considering Hyundai value for money package…Honda cars too expensive to maintain…

• wow!! nice spec car… it also seem been up size too?

• aliBaPa on Apr 01, 2010 at 6:03 pm

perfect two column layout

thank you paul putting test drive report at the right column too

• jon joe on Apr 01, 2010 at 6:10 pm

nowadays hyundai becoming more angry..

• Korean on Apr 01, 2010 at 6:36 pm

Q5 substitute.

• kinda too feminine to me ..new Kia sportage better.. fierce, bold & steady..

• Comments from fifth gear:

PERFORMANCE

If you are after speed from your small off-roader then look elsewhere. But the 2.0-litre diesel still copes admirably under acceleration and is good for most overtaking manoeuvres. The petrol is less so and is best avoided.

Hopefully, the r-series diesel will be available here

• Ketaku ketamu on Apr 01, 2010 at 7:37 pm

No bashers around.. why? its not a proton..

and btw, nice looking SUV..

• umno juara tipu raky on Apr 01, 2010 at 10:47 pm

u forgot vios dugong..its not a proton but still get bashed…so its not only proton getting bashed

• avanza owner on Apr 01, 2010 at 7:44 pm

still cannot beat toyota.

TOYOTA IS THE BEST CAR IN THE WORLD….

• After humiliating recall,you still say TOYOTA is the best! stop daydreaming!

• toyota is a fine manufacturer but only the models available in Japan eg corolla,camry,wish,estima,alphard etc.The refinement of the avanza,innova gives it a budget feel.

• lame!!!

• HAHAHA, you sound funny.

• Bashers on Apr 01, 2010 at 8:07 pm

from my view :

Pos + :

Engine : good

External : better than previous tuscon

Neg – :

Internal : Look cheap

Conclusion.. good.. :D

• ryan_doohan on Apr 01, 2010 at 8:07 pm

impress, HYUNDAI.

• The side looks barf. Everything else is OK.

Hyundai needs to get Bangle-d!

• DKBoss on Apr 01, 2010 at 8:13 pm

Nice SUV design, really like the flow of the vehicle itself :)

• pulge on Apr 01, 2010 at 8:25 pm

The design is a bit radical for most Malaysians to accept. Overall, a nice vehicle.

• endreyip on Apr 01, 2010 at 9:11 pm

side view looks like the murano

• scottloeb on Apr 01, 2010 at 9:47 pm

Paul,

So its confirm that the Malaysia bound Tucson comes with 4 speeder? How is the feel and fuel efficiency? Comparable or expect the worst? I'm in the market of SUV/crossover and will need to consider this should the fuel price jack up again, as that will result in even worst 2nd hand value due to high maintenance cost.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 01, 2010 at 3:38 pm

Both the new Tucson and Sonata will come with a six-speed auto ‘box

• scottloeb on Apr 01, 2010 at 4:26 pm

Thanks Danny.
        That’s great news! Hope the price doesn’t disappoint us!

• l3ryan on Apr 01, 2010 at 6:20 pm

Paul meant the OUTGOING Tuscon came with a 4 speeder, not this new model.

• nice sexy design

• altariz on Apr 02, 2010 at 9:32 am

come to Papa….Baby, u so sweet and amazing machine.

• its a very nice suv but if it priced same or more than crv then it would b meaningless.
    For d same price ppl here will defanetly go for honda. So u sime-darby guys better
    b wiser k…

• Fanta Loo on Apr 04, 2010 at 3:12 pm

Today go n visit the real car from one of the Hyundai “store” factory at Shah Alam.Thanks to my frens who bring me to this secret place.After visited the car,i could say that’s a bit wasted for this car in term of the price,material and the “Malaysia” edition of new Tucson.First of all,there is no what we call 4 type of spec to choose,is only 3 type.2.0 Low,2.0 Standard and 2.4 High. 2.0 std and 2.4 high is almost the same,is only engine and air cond is different.2.0 low is really “low” in term of outlook cause there is no chrome for front panel,handle,and some of the interior feature.However the car look very future type but for me i think the Ground Clearance is a bit low ( 2.0 low and 2.0 high is 2wd and only 2.4 is 4wd ) with no passengers.The dashboard also make me feel too “plastic”.But the most important is the price for this car.ok,the confirm price for this car is 2.0 low 126k++,2.0 std 130k++ and 2.4 high is 136k++ with no insurance.Just my opinion with the price will make people think twice or triple.136k for 2wd car is a bit high cost for Hyundai car in Malaysia.How ever they offer 5 years warranty but sometime we to have consider about the second hand value in the market.At last,myself is Hyundai car owner and all the comment is just base on my own opinion.Just hope Hyundai will really take action on the price before they launched it at 28/4/2010.

Thank you.

• huwaaaaaa now i can forget to dream to own this car

• astromonster on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:12 am

Well done ‘Fanta Loo’ for your report.
      I was looking forward to the launch, but now with your report, I’m much disappointed. It seems they don’t learn from the current version pricing and market acceptance. If they want to sell and command a certain % of the market share, be aggressive in their pricing, or else they’ll continue to lag much behind CR-V.
      Cheers!

• Peter on Apr 09, 2010 at 10:43 am

Hey Hyundai,

Buying a properties is all about Location, Location & Location.

Buying a car is about Price, After Sales Service & Value for money.

So Hyundai, if you’re selling Tucson for the prices mentioned by Fanta Loo, you better give a great Warranty like they gave in USA or forget about winning over potential customers from CRV.

The prices should justify the re-sale value also, or else it’s just not attractive enough. For CRV the original cost vs re-sale value is still good. But for Hyundai, the re-sale value drops too much to be considered value for money.

• Peter on Apr 09, 2010 at 7:08 pm

Found this website of Tucson in USA.

http://usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/cars-trucks/Hyundai_Tucson/

• jackson on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:53 am

fanta loo, thanks for the insight. price should be 10K less than got fight. at that estimated price, gonna be a tough climb.

• force on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:06 pm

At 126k++ for the lowest spec is on the high side as the hyundai brand suffers from image problems. However, the sonata shud be priced lower than this then ? IF so then its certainly something to look out for.

• rasheed al bakshi on Apr 13, 2010 at 7:24 pm

will this agood car i like to be change my car with Tucson. i have 2009 model gerze it can be change?

• Fanta Loo on Apr 17, 2010 at 8:23 pm

Hey guys..just some update for this car.Today did a test drive with this car (2.0 high spec) with help from the same secret frens.Sorry to those who ‘dream’ or ‘gonna’ to take this car with my review.The car is totally not worth with the price they gonna to sell.( but if you really have too much extra cash to just buy the outlook,go for it).6 speed digital auto doesn’t let me feel any difference with my wife Honda City(2004),even lack of response compare to it.when i start the engine,i did hear some tricky sound ( di…di..) from the engine ( the first 5-10 sec) and really unknown what was that.when on the road,the whole car make feel very “lite” compare to my CRV(2009),myself driving hyundai accent and honda CRV so i know how to differentiate the sedan and SUV.when i drive Tucson(SUV),i feel like driving sedan car( maybe because of the Ground Clearance is a bit low ).and it’s bit noisy when inside the car( don’t know the sounds from outside or inside or winds or etc…)but this test drive really make up my mine about this car.i can’t give further review cause i’m not the professional and just base on my daily drive demand.worth it or not,see the price below first,

2.0 low = RM126.888
    2.0 std = RM136.888
    2.4 High = RM 152.888

all the price is confirmed cause i just take it from the price list( you all will see it on 28/4/2010).

thank you.

• Joshua on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:26 am

Fanta Loo,

Thanks for your comments but seem like you are quite cynical abt the new tucson. But for RM136,888, strong design, better fuel economy than CRV, sunroof, etc how does that compare with its rivals? Personally, I think Honda is overpriced at RM149k.

Also, reading reviews from around the world, the consensus is fairly positive except for the power steering which is not as good as the CRV. Yet, that is only a small part of the overall rating of the car, which is given 7.8 out of ten, same as CRV:

http://www.thecarconnection.com/car-compare-results/honda_cr-v_2008-vs-hyundai_tucson_2010

• Kevin Lau on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:48 am

STD Tucson 2.0l @ RM126,888
    Hi Spec 2.0l @ RM136,888
    Hi Spec 2.4l @ RM154,888
    Slightly over price if you ask me.
    Price range too close to standard Camry & Accord

• Fanta Loo on Apr 20, 2010 at 11:47 am

http://www.thecarconnection.com/overview/hyundai_tucson_2010#100228053

* Likes: An extreme makeover that works, Smoothed-over four-cylinder engine, Still offers a manual transmission, Spacious interior, Fuel economy Read more
    * Dislikes: Sluggish performance, Leather seat comfort, Steering feel, Braking feel Read more

First of all,i’m not cynical about the new Tucson.As i already mention,i’m not the professional to determine the car value.For myself,i will more look into the car performance and safety if i spend RM130K++ with various choices in the market,second hand value is also the factor for me.beside that,the parts price is taking a very important role for car maintenance.I totally agree with Joshua that the car have fairly positive in other country but not in Malaysia.( the whether,the road surface,the spec,the price,the second value and etc..)As i mention,it’s all my own opinion after the overall factors about this new Tucson.Maybe after go n test drive the car then you all will understand what i mean.

Thank you.

• Good to see big improvement from korean cars in all aspect. Our P1 & P2 should learn from them. It will also cut our rely on japanese over price vehicles. Good news to the consumer and hopefully gov policy will get away soon from the unfair taxation.

• E Bear on Apr 22, 2010 at 1:14 pm

With Hyundai, it is still an image issue…so price and reliability very important.

Sales should be quite good if the pricing is attractive.

Just throw in some other confidence boosters like extended warranties, free petrol, free servicing to make it a sweet deal.

• Kevin Lau on Apr 26, 2010 at 10:30 am

I have seen it at Hyundai Glenmarie Management office

Wow…it’s awesome man!

I would agree that in term of branding, korean cars are slightly behind their japanese rivals. And it’s a fair perception since the japs are longer in the industry.

However, be reminded what happened to GM could happen similarly to them (japs) too, should their rest on their laurel and underestimate the kimchi power.

Obviously, the korean are aware of this and therefore they are trying to compensate the brand gaps with extra value in term of total car package e.g. new technology engine and transmission, panaromic roof, keyless entry, HAC, VSC, and etc

Ultimately, it still a perception game and how well the car manufacturers could augment their offerings.

In term of resale value, it grows in tandem with the popularity and demand of the brands…and currently Hyundai is heading into that direction correctly. Soon, I reckon that the resale value would be improved.

Just sharing my two cent worth.

• my next car will be Korean (kia/hyundai-make)…KIMCHI-ME !

• Razzd on Apr 27, 2010 at 8:46 pm

I booked the 2.0 High Spec Tucson early this month, would expect to receive it 2-4 weeks after the official launch. I hope it will be earlier. Really looking forward to it….. I can hardly wait.

• malaysian on Apr 28, 2010 at 3:27 pm

insyaallah.. my next car

• Geng2 unstopable bleh beli SUV ni.. hehe

• George on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:26 pm

The only setback is the rear seat which I find it too low. The low seat and soft cushion will be very tiring when travelling long distances. Otherwise this SUV is quite a good buy. Hope Hyundai can seriously look into this oversight.

• Luxury SUV. A masterpiece from Hyundai. It does look like a car that costs 200k over… but the 2.0 is cheaper and better specs than the CRV 2.0? Doesn’t seemed to make sense….

• Kevin Lau on Apr 30, 2010 at 7:34 am

H & T thought they could shortchange Malaysia customers by providing lesser toys in their cars by expecting people to pay solely based on brand and perception…trust me many still do!

• estima778 on Apr 29, 2010 at 12:53 am

wowowow;;very sexy .HYUNDAI…..KAMPATEH,, kampateh………

• estima778 on Apr 29, 2010 at 12:57 am

CAN fight TOYOTA,HONDA,,,, HYUNDAI ,,,,,KAMPATEHHHHH

• very nice car…

• did it have :

1) shift tronic paddle @ its steering?
    2) auto cruise fucntion??

• Dear Remy,
      sorry to inform u that is no auto cruise n shifttronic paddle at its steering anyway coming sonata has auto cruise control.

• 130K car on May 08, 2010 at 8:45 pm

dear dude,
    may i know 130K++ car, toyota altis and tucson, which one better?

• angel on May 09, 2010 at 3:59 am

yoo guys,

I’ve seen the car in midvalley last friday. pretty impressive when passing by, V.stylish design, and from the side, v.much like audi Q7.

I’m currently planning upgrade my car to car budget at rm100k-rm130k max. Thou this car is much love at first sight. Especially 2.0 high specs, fit my budget and attactive specs which definitely far exceed those honda & toyota specs. Filled with sunroof, paddle shift, semi-leather seats, 2wd-lower fuel consumption etc.
    however, still lack of confidence to commit as many ppl commented on hyundai car after sales services, durability which could affect the secondhand value in this market. after much considerations, i guess i would rather wait for new toyota wish 2009 design coming to MY. thou gotta give up the luxury settings of sunroof, leather seats etc.

Hey honda & toyota, cant you guys see the rival has begin?

• Hyundai sime darby do something about the perception of poor after sales service n expensive spares u have done a good job bringing in the Tucson I have booked the 2.4 litre car without testing shows my confidence. Prove to us that u owners that u can do a good job by improving your weak point HSD do not keep quiet. Post your comments of your plans n see your bookings increase.All the best.

• Anyknow know what is the turning radius?
    I’m planning to get it. I drive a lot on highway. I guess this car with nice sunroof can be a breeze after work…..woho….

Downside:
    – Side mirrow not electronic control (what do you call that??). Even vios has it!
    – Rare seats behind looks rather cheapo. But the sunroof again compensate that. Keke..
    – No body kit available yet? Will look very gang-ho if body kit available.
    – Heard the parts can cost a bomb. Is that true.
    – Sales men told me can take bith RON95 and 97. Got to know what Tetra II, better take only RON97. Who can verify that?
    – Car with that price comes with normal front light? Aiyoh….why so lau-yah one….
    – Car audio so so only. Test drive it during the weekend, sound system not impressive at all.
    – Loud engine noise during pick-up but rather powerful. Anyone has the same thought about the engine noise?

• I testdrive the car recently at Hyundai HQ.Just like Ken said,too noisy during pick-up.

• went to the showroom yesterday. nice design.
    but the plasticky feel on the dash board and steering and center console is a big let down.

• tester on May 25, 2010 at 11:56 am

heard from SA saying the booking for Tucson is over 700+ unit now ?
    then this tucson is considered quite successful launch liao..

• Hyundai Tucson is one of my favorite SUV. It’s bold in appearance also comfort to drive in a long range.

• saiful on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:30 am

Booked one already for me. Really nice car…Fed-up of over-priced CRV. indeed a remarkable alternative!!

• Kevin Lau on Jun 09, 2010 at 9:34 pm

Stocks arrived this week in batches and hopefully some would be able to get it by next week

• Jeremiah on Jun 13, 2010 at 4:41 pm

Have been researching the new Tucson for months and done two test drives.

My two main problems with the car despite its seemingly competitive pricing, which btw went up by RM3k recently, are:

1. The poor visibility in the rear caused by a small and narrow back window.

2. Hyundai’s reputation for poor resale value. Even though the salesman said the new models are much better than the older ones, this does not change the perception of the brand. May takes a few years.

So may be a good idea to buy the car second hand after 2-3 yrs and you could get it 30-40% cheaper by then.

• There ain’t an ideal car that fits your expectation and budget unless you are a billionaire!

Thus, there would always be a gap.

Ultimately, you must know what you want first.

If not, it would be a neverending comparison process!

• kelvin JSD on Jun 18, 2010 at 12:23 am

why the car price increase about 3k ?

• Mustang Jeo on Jun 18, 2010 at 4:13 pm

Opposing Ken’s view.
    went to a showroom for test drive, salesman demonstrated the sound system w a plugged in cellphone via the aux port meant for USB and ipod, running some music files on the audio system, sounds pretty good, u’ve got not only low & high to set n tune but ‘mid’ as well… well.. the fm receiver is just like most vehicle but reasonable.

Revving sound seems fine in fact, with a smooth acceleration on the ‘organ’ type accelerator pedal, the power kicks in with substance and at a noticably low rev! gear was noticed to shifts at about 1.5rpm and therefore possibly good FC.

depending on std or the high specs, the steering felt different, lighter in the std version perhaps without the presence of ESP. We got to test drive both, and there clearly was difference.

coming to stationary, engine idles with very minimal engine noise.. we’re surprised! at one point i thought the engine died off.

According to the salesman, the price increase is to reward the early birds who placed their bookings.

overall, the koreans did a good job on this one, now we pray for consistenct in their future models.

Plus w a 5 yr wty (or 300,000km)… it’s too much to ask for more when our arrogant T & H is selling their makes at ridiculously overprice.. but no one complains..

• Anyone getting their car tomorrow?

Mine ready for collection by tomorrow…

• Peter on Jun 28, 2010 at 2:38 pm

SA told us the warranty is only applicable if the terms and conditions are FULLY complied with. Therefore please read the fine prints before you start pushing it or else the waranty will be voided.

Al Maintenance must be done at Hyundai for 5 years or else no warranty. That’s where they make their money back!

The canvas they used to cover the glass roof doesn’t feel too “tough” to withstand the hot weather of Malaysia. Any comments on it?

• KF.Chan on Jun 29, 2010 at 1:59 pm

I have tested the car the only comment will be the back seat door if wider by 6 inches it will be perfect so that when you get in and out of the car the leg will not knock the center frame.

Would proposed the widen this area easier for teh leg to move in and out .

over all very good I plan to purchase one unit 2.4 series..

KF

• Xtrail on Jul 06, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Can anyone comment on coming new nissan Xtrail compare to the tuscon ? Which is worth for the money in terms of power, after sales service and maintenance ?

• my understanding is the X-trail 2.0 FC is very poor, surely cannot compare FC with Tucson with new engine…

one more thing, X-trail looks antique and 10 years outdated… i think now uncle also may not accept X-Trail :) but good for people who love to collect oldies…hehe

• Outdoor Person on Jul 08, 2010 at 12:00 pm

I test drove the tucson 2.0l recently and i find the six speed gearbox giving shift shock n rubberband feeling..it feel like growling?? Any can share their experience..

• jonny blaze on Jul 13, 2010 at 10:07 am

the r-series diesel engine is also a ‘world engine’ shared with the other companies..?

• Kevin Lau on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:40 pm

Any Tucson owners wanna meet up?

My email [email protected] and another Tucson buddy Alf [email protected]

We are located @ Klang Valley

• Kevin Lau on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:45 pm

Tucson Crash Test Result

http://www.iihs.org/ratings/rating.aspx?id=1333

• Kevin Lau on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:55 pm

Roll over result
    Tucson – Good
    CRV – Marginal
    http://www.iihs.org/ratings/roof/detailsbyclass.aspx?58

• any owner in malaysia for Tucson? can you share how you feel the driving, FC, stability and other. Do you have any issue on the car for malaysian car

• 1Malaysia on Sep 20, 2010 at 4:24 pm

Has anyone received their car? How long did you wait for the car after booking?

• booked 2.4l in April 2010 still waiting

• Kevin Lau on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:45 pm

Hey, IX35 owners…

Need more in depth info, tips, feedback, news, links, videos, photos, etc concerning your beloved car…

Kindly join us @ Facebook. Just utilise the FB seach engine and look for Hyundai IX35 (Malaysia) page.

It is still new page (founded 4 Sept 10) and would appreciate your kind feedback if any on how to make it even more exciting and fun.

Currently, it is being moderated by myself and A330

Cheers

• dear all,

may i know can we install the autolock system(Speed control) for our new Tucson in HQ? is that anybody know about that , pls share it ….

thanks alot lot