BYD Auto’s first SUV caught in the open

BYD Auto is perhaps better known here as a Chinese brand with a range that rips off other cars, but the ambitious Shenzhen based automaker is actually pretty advanced in the development of hybrids and EVs, and counts Warrern Buffet as a stake holder. We struggle to understand why BYD won’t invest in car design or hire foreign design houses like what many of its local rivals are doing. Perhaps it’s not because they aren’t capable of an original looking car, and apeing the looks of successful models could be a strategy in itself.

Here are pics of the company’s first SUV caught testing. Speculated to carry the name S6, it will have a full electronic sunroof, a sliding luggage rack and could introduce keyless entry. Power is likely to be from the same engine as the BYD M6, a Mitsubishi supplied 4G69 2.4-litre with 160 bhp and 215Nm. China Car Times also says that a 2.0-litre model self developed engine will be included in the lineup; it makes 140 bhp and 186Nm and will only be available with a manual transmission.

As for the S6’s looks, we’ll let you draw the similarities. More images after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1031]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• novabestari on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:22 am

With Warren Buffet as stakeholder, this co. prob have some hidden potential…

• I always thought warren hates investing in car company due to the high cost in R&D and the low Return of Investment.

I bet there is some sort of blueprint we don’t know…

• MoFaz on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:41 am

high cost in R&D? but in China, everything is cheap. where alse do you find garbage being used as building materials to replace bricks & concrete?
        what kind of R&D they do? only study other people’s design then copy… hehehe.

• copy and paste also need skillful person… takes time.. and also money… its easy to a person to say copy is easy when he or she copy in the internet and paste it in their assignment/proposal… but to copy an engineering design is not easy as what you think… but of course…. its more easy if compared to self develop a technology from scratch….

• nonce on Apr 06, 2010 at 6:50 pm

yeah..byd does reverse engineering instead of investing on their on r&d.

• paultan fan on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:33 pm

not all china copy cat. Italian firm house like Pininfarina and Berton design so many2 car for china car company. But BYD like to copy cat Toyota. Don’t know why?

• 1st..
    toyota harrier/lexus RX copycat.

• lazyf on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:25 am

macam Toyota Harrier

• Vincent on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:40 am

Is this caugt in Bolehland?

• istvan on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:46 am

rear look like harrier

• Rear Design – Toyota Harrier
    Rear Lamp – BMWs 5 Series+ Satria Neo

Front Design – Hyundai Getz
    Front Grill – Chevrolet Optra

• ong chin aun on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:19 am

Yes, i agreed with you. If the price is good and affordable, the sale should be good.,

nice SUV .

• paultan fan on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:54 pm

price is RMB 150,000 ( RM 75, 000. 00 ) don’t know price if enter Malaysia market bcoz our G charge higher over tax to rakyat. Ok la that price for 2.4 engine Mitsubishi 4g69 MIVEC with AWD function.

http://autonews.gasgoo.com/auto-news/1014666/BYD-set-to-unveil-its-first-SUV-at-Beijing-auto-show.html

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:44 am

the overall chasis design looks like a FORD KUGA to me (ford focus suv big brother)

• boony on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:54 am

its a harrier body with silly bits n pieces to make it look different

• hanssen on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:55 am

hairier @ back !!! a ciplak of harrier…

• p4k4bu on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:55 am

NAZA should bring in this SUV.

Put lah any name …. Cendana, Angsana, Buluh Betung, C007, D4, AK48 …. anything…. if the *price* is right, people will buy ……..

… I think ;)

• paultan fan on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:55 pm

price is RMB 150, 000 ( RM 75, 000 ). I check at one of china auto web

• CatmaN on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:00 am

at a glance..the front end looks like a hyundai getz…n the back end…got d curves like harrier but with vios tail lamp.

• the stik on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:03 am

harrier+tucson+sorento = whatever the name is

• huahuahua on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:57 am

name it as HATUSO=harrier+tucson+sorento

• p4k4bu on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:22 pm

BYD = Build Your Dream….

Why build one only….. build all 3 lah in one car

:D :D :D

• borat on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:04 am

hav 2 admit this looks nice 4 a china brand car…

• Tommy on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:11 am

Harrier chasis

• drMpower on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:15 am

havent they got any copyright law whatsoever in China? i read somewhere that it doesnt exist there. and for any outsider doing business in China, they must files patent in China which means lots of problems, marketing wise and patent protection wise.

i mean, of course the patented thing cannot be copied. but these unimaginative, broken, cheap chinamen copy and paste almost pieces and parts off other vehicles onto their design.

the earlier commenters have said the back light is ‘inspired’ by a certain series Bimmer, the roof life/ exterior shells is like a first gen/second gen RX300, the front face looks like a CX 5/CX 7 copycats.

kudos to them for the electric thing, but thats easy part. u got money and cheap labour which can manufacture almost everything, then u are off going. as much i know, which i am, electric thing requires only an electric motor, some storage of electricity. and thats it for a basic.

but for regenerative electricity/ idling technology, etc etc, of course u need rnd.

• XiaoXuet on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:21 am

With 1.6bil population.. China cant go wrong.

Go go go Made in China !!

• paultan fan on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:58 pm

yup. now China is largest auto market in the world and also largest car producer in ther world suprasing US. GM also begin jan 2010 selling car at china more than seliing car at their home

• ya ya..after 1 year everything’s loosen and all lamps turned yellow…cheap plastics…hahaha

• thefuture on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:24 am

AWESOME!!

• Iskandar on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:30 am

I think many people don’t realize that Japan starts as a copycat country too. That’s how you start building things if you don’t have much resources or knowledge.

The same thing happens to the Korean cars.

But these companies evolve. One day they’ll have the resources, the knowledge and the dream of being a trendsetter. And that’s when they become the next Honda.

• paultan fan on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:02 pm

yup. i agree. take Japan and Korea as an example. Plus China has avantage compare to Japan and Korea incl lower labour cost, easy to get raw material at lower cost and huge population. Now they overtake USA as biggest car market in the world also become biggest car producer in the world. Future I thk BYD, Chery, Great Wall, SAIC at par with Toyota, Honda, GM. SAIC now ranked no8 in the world. But unfortunately they produce foreign brand car.

• Black Dog on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:41 am

That already old man Warren Buffet’s investment is not neccessary right. Last year he lost a lot of money for wrong decisions.

But no matter what, China will be a motoring powerhouse following Korea in the not too distant future. That’s why many people investing heavily in their stocks.

• Littlefire on Apr 06, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Warren Buffet style of investing is not always for fast money… His style of buying which a lot of us know “buy low sell high”! He is a very patient man, and well know to buy bargain and sell it high for a profit..

We all know that economy will one day back to those golden times, like the 10 year cycle. So for him, all these money are like kacang to him..

• paultan fan on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:04 pm

yup. Warren Buffet buy at lower cost. BYD is one of blue chip stock in Hong Kong.

• berotak on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:52 pm

the money he lost you ill never earn in your life time … talk with brain not with feet!!!

• Andrew on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:49 am

BYD= beat your dick

• MR.MILLER on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:05 pm

this particular china car maker might like to copies~~
    but for some other china car maker, has actually over take or soon to be better than japs~~

so..for proton..we lost a gain.

• paultan fan on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:08 pm

yup. I admire how company like Chery as example can produce 2 million car in less than 10 years. Double the production from 1 million car to 2 miliion in just 2 1/2 years. 2010 they target to sell 900, 000 car and in July their largest R&D lab in Asia will completed build. Volume of export more than 100, 000 unit a year or more than 1/2 of Proton production annually.

• sucks on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:18 pm

come on BYD
    stop copying please!

• whatever that is, lets hope the quality not like most china-made item…

• Mysticmind on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:21 pm

yawn…

• hehe got eyebrow like e60

• kimi_ on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:35 pm

YOU ALL ARE WRONG……

The FRONT upper part which are the grille and headlamps from HYUNDAI SONATA NF….

THE FRONT BUMPER FROM MERCEDES SL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AT least they made progress not copy whole front end but HALF-HALF ……LOLOL

• kimi_ on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:38 pm

CORRECTION: Front bumper from MERCEDES ML

• paultan fan on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:15 pm

But I thk Kia Optima also have similarity with BMW. Hyundai also have a liitle similarity with Merc.

• rexis on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:40 pm

China car is like playing lego.

You can reuse and reuse and reuse.

• pulge on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:55 pm

China is lacking creativity, but the people is very good at earning as much money through the cheapest means possible.

Profit first, quality second?

• drMpower on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:47 pm

very good strategy i must say.

dont care who drive it and be crippled. as long as my stocks are getting up.

• subhero on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:00 pm

another cap ayam

• I know this model name………

COPYCAT

• 1 Malaysia on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:16 pm

if it is cheap, who care who-copy-who?

• kerelbort on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:24 pm

BYD is not a bad car to be use as daily commute at all… livable..

• MyCarMyLife on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:55 pm

Very soon we will laughing at ourselves as we pay higher and higher taxes to buy one.

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Apr 06, 2010 at 2:15 pm

rear lamp = satria neo…wakakakaka

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 06, 2010 at 2:28 pm

Ford focus hatchback shape, with either that is the front part of a Honda Legend, or those lamps look similar to BMW 5 series

• wao
    the body shape really look like the lexus harrier
    and the front look abit like the mazda CX9
    i am quite impress with the interior
    look pretty comfy
    how much will it sold in malaysia if they bring it in?
    but…they wont be quite safe

• ckcspice on Apr 06, 2010 at 2:38 pm

the better term is reverse engineering…hahaha..i guess the chinese r very smart in a way..maximise ROI…spend the least to get the most profit…boring but definitely a rewarding biz model…give them a few more yrs n they will catch up with the koreans n japs…

• the interior middle console area is 90% similar to lexus harrier RX300

• paultan fan on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:21 pm

yup. BYD known as copier Toyota product. But why Toyota can’t sue BYD like GM sue Chery? Maybe BYD use original part from Toyota

• tokmoh on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:15 am

It’s politics. Both countries don’t want to have diplomatic break-up over something as silly as a car’s dashboard.

• BMW lights, toyota harrier side profile.

mish mash of this and that, but hey mr buffett invests in it, so its probably a golden goose.

• RON96 on Apr 06, 2010 at 3:01 pm

The overall shape is too generic to spot any particular brand. BYD, like most china car manufacturers, haven’t found their identity yet in term of design direction.
    Ask yourself how long did it take for Proton to finally escape from the Saga/Iswara/Wira cage?? And, Gen2, Savvy & Waja is not really very fanstastic/outstanding design (if one ever take a short trip down to our good neighbour in Singapore to admire the latest & greatest of global car brands).
    China carmakers are coming & we can’t really ignore them any longer:)

• sedusa on Apr 06, 2010 at 3:34 pm

I got a headache looking at it. Its like a combination of a few known cars to make into 1 car. Front looks like a Holden Statesman, back like a ford mondeo turned SÜV, side is a complete full view of Harrier.

• soon china car will do what the Korean do to the Japs and what the Japs did to the conti brand….

• The Who.. on Apr 06, 2010 at 3:45 pm

Looks like ablend of Ford Focus and Toyota Lexus.. Even the steering is ripped off from the Camry..

• Tommy on Apr 06, 2010 at 4:01 pm

Undeniably nice.. But sad… Its a hybrid of copies… Even though how expensive it is or how exclusive it is, people will say, MADE IN CHINA. Creative thinking anyway BYD, same like P2… just BYD a lil bit more creative in Hybrid-ing the look. And please, dont compare Proton with BYD, proton trying so hard to make the platform. BYD, trying so hard to copy the platform.
    RON96 go to singapore then.

• rexis on Apr 06, 2010 at 4:11 pm

China hybrid… a hybrid of copies, sigh.

Hint: for car enthusiast like everyone who roam around paultan.org, it certainly a street eye sort. But for regular layman/woman who barely know about cars, it might seem very nice, and seriously, that is at least 50% of the world population.

• paultan fan on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:40 pm

not all BYD product is copy cat. Take BYD M6 as example. It is MPV all wheel drive. It’s not copy cat product from other car manufacture. Please google to get info aboud elctric car BYD M6.

• paultan fan on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:43 pm

kalau tak silap BYD M6 mampu digerakkan lebih 300 km dengan single caj. dan mampu caj penuh kurang 1 jam. BYD bermula sbg pembuat bateri. Masa mula buat bateri pun dia tiru pengeluar lain. Tapi cuba tengok kedudukan BYD hari ini. Mereka adalah pembekal bateri terbesar untuk sykt pembuat telefon bimbit dan laptop termasuk jenama2 spt Nokia, Sony Ericcson, HP, Compaq, Acer dan Lenovo.

• littleboy on Apr 06, 2010 at 4:03 pm

wat is thid crap!!!!look like Harrier at the end with donno wat rear lighting…..front look like cruze….

• uda salleh on Apr 06, 2010 at 4:43 pm

understand that the Chinese are not good in designing…. so i don’t mind the copying that much… but why the tape on the glove compartment to the dashboard??? can’t be shut is it??? scary indication here!!!

• scanzew on Apr 06, 2010 at 4:52 pm

more look alike chevrolet captiva i think….

• Gajen on Apr 06, 2010 at 4:54 pm

the back lights are from mondeo….the rest of it is like a ripped off harrier

• lol nobody bashing this? if only proton did the same thing. sure kena bash kaw2 , but china automaker is ok?

• Because, Chinese in Malaysia, They hate Proton, and welcome chinese auto companies.

• paultan fan on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:45 pm

bcoz BYD not use tax payer Malaysian money

• BYD’s rising?
    That is a sentence of death to proton.
    btw, malayisian have any countermeasure of this?

• BYD Auto seriously needs to consider producing their own designs rather than imitating others’. Google up BYD Auto. most of their designs are a mix and match of other breeds in the automotive industry. Toyota, Auto Bavaria, Rolls Royce etc.

Come to think of it, China imitates a lot of goods. be it the clothes, handbags, perfumes, handphones etc. gosh, almost everything!

• paultan fan on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:47 pm

BYD similiar with Rools Royce. What model bro? i thk Rolls Royce copy by Geely not BYD.

• khaix19a on Apr 06, 2010 at 6:30 pm

when proton going to come up their own suv……..
    at this rate proton should close down if they cannot keep up with the industry….

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 06, 2010 at 6:41 pm

Proton can tie up with BYD. Rebagde this SUV and sell it here.

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 06, 2010 at 6:39 pm

Better than local manufacturer

• Vezeroth on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:42 pm

i hate made in china goods, you can be assured you’re being conned… thats my experience… any way, pretty sure they’ll be a byd golf gti soon… lol.,…

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:09 am

Almost everything you use is made there nowadays.

Granted, China makes a lot of crap, but you only get crap that people import in. Plenty of high (export)quality stuff you don’t see here because malaysians can’t afford them….wow..where that come from….the irony.

BYD is a company to watch.

• paultan fan on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:50 am

but they also have good product like Lenovo, Haier, Huawei, and BYD batteris. You can see BYD battery in Nokia Handphone, Sony Ericcson Handphone, Samsung handphone, Acer, HP, Compaq and in so many branded handphone and laptop product.

• Squawk on Apr 08, 2010 at 1:46 pm

China can make goods from Grade A to Grade F. It’s just a matter of which grade somebody wants to import in to sell. Of course, a lot of businessmen want to maximize profits so they bring in the cheaper grades. Also our kastam tax structure isn’t very favorable for imports. Not only is the value of goods taxable but your shipping cost is also included in the taxation, that means for some products, it can be as high as 40%. So not all the blame can be put on the importer.

• Alvin Ng on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:06 am

Lemme try,

Lexus dashboard
    Satria Neo + BMW 3 series rear lamp
    Sonata prev generation front lamp with 5 series ‘eye brow’

What you think?

• paultan fan on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:52 am

for RMB 150, 000 ( RM 75, 000 ) refer to chinese auto web, I thk it worth and value for money plus 2.4 4G69 Mivec engine.

• carfan on Apr 07, 2010 at 10:16 am

Dont be so hard on BYD. The new Persona lights look like W211 EClass lights and the new EClass back view looks more like a Camry. What about Lexus G300 with the four headlamp Eclass look. Every big car copied the 7series bootlid after an initial bashing.
    Good design no harm using them and I am more aghast at the initial poor quality of China made cars but the new ones are vast improvements and knowing the Chinese consumers will expect them to be serviced easily (lower tech) but last forever. At the expected prices not much to gripe about. Look at how Korean cars especially Kia has become.

• dont worry u wont get it cheap here haha

• paultan fan on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:00 pm

let calculate. RM 75, 000. 00 in China. So in Malaysia ?

• MoFaz on Apr 07, 2010 at 5:03 pm

China has FTA with Malaysia, so tax is not as high as cars from Europe.
    probably around 110-120k here, IF they bring it here.

• Potts2010 on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:59 pm

Its got the same shape as a Renault Koleos

• sauron on Apr 08, 2010 at 3:53 pm

wow, imitation grade AA :D

• jebat on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:04 pm

copy such unit=harrier=lexus= what china production have? all copyright others people idea, and what’s is warren buffet doing with BYD? (BE YOUR DANGER)……don’t talk so much later u will get court letter, he he he……but anyway pls use your brilliant idea to create your own product???&Y@%&!@%^&!@$%

• BYD is an auto brand with excellent brand image, reliable quality and reasonable price. Others are just bashing BYD and other chinese auto brands because of politics. These autos are a real blessing for the poor.