Audi surpasses Mercedes in sales, next target is BMW

Audi is ambitious and aggressive. The brand with the four rings wants to overtake both BMW and Mercedes by 2015 to be the world’s leading luxury carmaker with sales of 1.5 million per annum. With the revelation of first quarter figures, Audi is right on track as it has surpassed Mercedes-Benz to take the No.2 spot in the premium sector for the very first time.

Ingolstadt’s sold 264,100 vehicles in Q1, up 26% compared with the same period last year. At the same time Daimler sold 248,500 Mercedes-Benz cars, while leader BMW is expected to release its numbers before the end of April.

Cruicially for Audi, which is the VW Group’s fattest cash cow, the improved numbers are due to success in rapidly growing markets such as China. Audi sold 51,449 cars in China in the first quarter compared to 34,179 for BMW and 24,100 for Mercedes, a fact that any visitor to cities such as Shanghai won’t be surprised to hear – it’s apparent from the eye. Audi is targeting 200,000 units in China for 2010, up from over 150,000 last year.

Although it won’t be smart to bet against Audi’s continued rise, the brand still lags behind BMW and Mercedes in another key market – USA. It does however have the baby A1 as a major weapon this year. Audi has high hopes for its MINI rival and expects 80% of buyers to be Audi virgins. The A1 is expected to contribute 100,000 units to annual sales in the future.

“With these sales results, we have even surpassed the comparative figures from our record year in 2008,” said Audi sales chief Peter Schwarzenbauer, adding that Ingolstadt expects “continued growth compared to last year” in Q2. Audi sold about 256,000 cars in the second quarter of 2009. Next target, BMW.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kanasai on Apr 12, 2010 at 4:34 pm

DREAM ON!

• wolfsburg on Apr 12, 2010 at 6:35 pm

why not?

• R8 vs M5 – r8 wins hands down.

• anak dato' on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:33 pm

conparing r8 and m5 is ridiculous.r8 2door while m5 4door

• Anak dato, you are the one who’s being ridiculous here. Those cares are performance based. Each of them can be said to have embodied the ultimate technology of each respective company. I was talking about performance here – the best BMW vs the best Audi – hence the comparison between the both. So the number of doors should be taken into consideration when comparing cars? “Okay ini ada 3 pintu, tak payah compare.”

Anyway, this is a free country – I have my own opinion and you have yours – and that’s the way it is. I respect yours.

• M5 was the best?? No la bro…M6 more suitable for this title, even more suitable to compete with R8.

• agent on Apr 13, 2010 at 7:19 am

it should be audi R8 vs BMW M6….then it will be a fair fight

• Korean on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:39 pm

Yeah. the ‘DOUBLE B Benz and BMW’ is still more prestige than Audi.

• Snotmaster on Apr 12, 2010 at 4:54 pm

Good job for the underdog. And it also serves as a warning to companies who rest on their laurels and rely on brand recognition from 20 years ago (i.e. Toyota and Mercedes). I just hope Audi doesn’t get too snotty.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 12, 2010 at 5:34 pm

nice job audi

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Apr 12, 2010 at 5:43 pm

AUDI RS1 in the making????

to slice BMW M1 and mini cooper??

• fuyiopo on Apr 13, 2010 at 11:49 am

Audi R8 V10 is a good car i have to admit, even i myself like the car a lot. But still if you compare the R8 to a M5, it’s like comparing a 100 meter race between John Daly and Usian Bolt, it is just incomparable. The M5 is a well design sport ” SALOON”, and R8 is a super car, they are in a different category to begin with. So as agent said, R8 vs M6, then i will be a fair fight!
      As for the sales, if audi wants to overtake BMW, not to be bias here but, it will be quite difficult.

• wonder why so many people bashing and giving comment without doing research….salute to these thick faces….some don’t even know the existence of rs and 5 series from audi -.- zzzz such a pathetic….

• fuyiopo on Apr 13, 2010 at 10:49 pm

Before posting your reply, you better read what was the topic we were talking about. Mr lol and us were discussing about comparing the Audi R8 and BMW M5, and not those Rs or whatsoever. Your statement here is as inappropriate as a statement as human possibly to conceive. Please think twice before posting or you might end up getting flamed.
          As for your frank information, i know these RS models more than you do. They are very impressive showing their specs on the papers, but when they go to the track, they end up getting eaten by BMW’s, except for the R8 obviously. AND, what is the 5 series you are talking about? Throughout audi’s history, they never made a car named 5 series……Are you sure you were not drunk when you were posting this reply? If you were not drunk, then you better do your homework more before posting, stop making jokes out of yourself. And please note, don’t post offensive comments before you have enough knowledge to cover your ass.

• rodimus on Apr 12, 2010 at 6:08 pm

If not because of our damn NAP taxes, i would have get an Audi long a long hee hee.

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 12, 2010 at 7:01 pm

Used one is cheap though…

• Tiadaid on Apr 12, 2010 at 8:09 pm

Mercedes was 2nd behind BMW? I always thought BMW was behind Mercedes? Maybe in Malaysia, that is.

• paultan fan on Apr 13, 2010 at 10:57 am

I’m too. Merc done well in Malaysia but in China Audi done well. 20% Audi sales come from China. wow, China now is a big market for premium car. Why our Proton not enter China

• Becoz even china local car better than proton~

• Jarum on Apr 12, 2010 at 6:11 pm

Tough to supersede BMW’s sales but its not impossible provided they have a great strategy.

• Mosti on Apr 12, 2010 at 6:47 pm

Audi GO GO GO…
    Better built
    Enough of MB and BMWs….

MB quality suxxs !

• ahh…….the thought of buying audi A4 2.0T FSI quattro makes me drool everytime…well…better work harder!!!

• I had a good idea that Audi would surpass Merc and BMW, but did not expect them to beat Mercedes so early. The numbers add up. The market Audi is strongest in is China. And China is the the fastest growing market with at the very least another decade of two of very strong growth. The U.S. market, the one where Audi is weakest in compared to BMW and Merc, is a mature market, so the only way Audi has to go is up, and they have been doing that lately.

I remember a few instances where BMW executives would state that Audi was not their main competition, but rather Mercedes. I found that extremely arrogant and am now happy to hear that Audi is now firmly in hot pursuit of BMW. Sorry to all the BMW fans out there, but Audi will almost certainly surpass BMW in the coming years and sooner rather than later I might add.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 12, 2010 at 9:08 pm

Agree totally. Customers nowadays look for value for moeny buys even in the premium segment. Audi has been throwing MMI’s to nearly all cars aand they are gradually using s-tronic(DSG) gearboxes for all cars. Merc with the new e-class only makes do with a 5 speeder. Worse for bmw, when u compare the interior of an A4 1.8T and 320i, it looks like they were from a different decade.

• These words must have come from a knowledgeable car freak. Salute!

• think BIG….easy to success…..however to sustain the glory is much more difficult

• paultan fan on Apr 13, 2010 at 10:59 am

agree. USA now conquered by Lexus not Merc Benz or BMW.

• fuyiopo on Apr 13, 2010 at 11:51 am

We’ll see about that.

• BMW design is already the pass. The future is with Audi.

• Bolehlander on Apr 12, 2010 at 8:45 pm

But not in Malaysia…how come?

• DonkeyKong on Apr 13, 2010 at 1:51 pm

In Malaysia, the 3rd-world mentality is always behind the times.

In other parts of the world, Audi is the top German marque but in Malaysia they know nothing besides BMW and Mercedes-Benz.

In other parts of the world, Hyundai/Kia are surpassing the Japanese brands but in Malaysia they still worship Honda and Toyota.

Give Malaysia another 10-15 years, maybe then the mentality will change.

• raybrig on Apr 13, 2010 at 8:41 pm

agreed!!! kudos to audi n im one of the owner…im always be with audi + alfa..hehe

• rambo ramsey on Apr 14, 2010 at 9:52 am

In the last 15 years, nobody wants to buy BMW here in Malaysia. The new, young generation of yuppies and businessman open up to BMW and the way Auto Bavaria works to improve the marque must be applauded and the mushrooming of bawah pokok mechanics expert also really helps along with the kedai potong half cut parts.
        If Euromobil didnt buck up, maybe perhaps Naza or perhaps VGM directly took over then only it will be better.

• Ferruccio on Apr 12, 2010 at 8:47 pm

Audi is progressing form strength to strength. Very good product offering against BMW and Merc.

They just WON the first round of the Le Mans Series race(8hrs of Castellet) at the Paul Ricard circuit in France on Sunday with their R15 TDi racer, beating arch nemesis Peugeot 908.

• rulered on Apr 12, 2010 at 9:07 pm

Then perhaps Audi can get themselves involved in F1 just as Merc and BMW.

• mitlanevo on Apr 12, 2010 at 9:17 pm

Audi FOREVER!!!

• Auto_crat on Apr 12, 2010 at 9:48 pm

way to go Audi

• lambov12 on Apr 12, 2010 at 10:25 pm

thumbs up for Audi !! Well done !!

• 2fast on Apr 12, 2010 at 10:41 pm

Not surprising at all. Audi is under VW, which unofficially is the world’s largest car company and also has the widest range of cars. From exotic supercars like Lamborghini Reventon right down to humble Volkswagen Polo and they make great cars across the range. It will be difficult for BMW to stop Audi from becoming no.1 soon.

Anyway , there is no shame being number 2 in terms of volume as long as BMW still make excellent cars for the market they are targeting. The new 5 series is regarded by many reviewers as the best car in its class while the 3 series have been the best in its class for years!

• Not to forget about Veyron. I am absolutely amazed by the success that the VW company have achieved for all these years. They just keep on improving, don’t they? In my humble opinion, VW’s cars are good enough to have their slice of pie in the luxury car market.

• ohh i want VW DSG gearbox in my car!!! that could save about 0.6-0.8 seconds of my acceleration…

• paultan fan on Apr 13, 2010 at 11:15 am

kalau tak silap DSG dah dibeli oleh 1 company dari China. samada Geely ataupun BYD. tak sure. cuba google

• DonkeyKong on Apr 13, 2010 at 1:49 pm

It’s not just about faster acceleration, it’s about better efficiency and better fuel economy. Also, DSG gearboxes are able to handle more torque than regular torque converter auto boxes, so beefing up the performance on a car with a DSG gearbox should be pretty well-handled.

• Audi have the best design i’ve seen so far. though BMW is good in it, their maintainance are like mad. look at the old 3.2.5i, buy now, 60k no prob. maintain ada prob. one time nearly 10k also have. the stupid petrol thing keep leaking.
    Audi’s the best so far. still see alot of old audi’s on the roar. 10-15years audi.
    Look at how good audi is?

BMW?
    TAK DA!
    if got also at the roadside thr breakdown call tow truck. 0.0

• defitnely possible. with how much power audi has right now.

china also happens to be audi’s biggest market.

great design, good technology.

• Annihilated on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:18 pm

When one day they get No. 1, they should change from 4 circles to 5 circles..
    just like olympics symbols.. :p

• anak dato' on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:31 pm

in malaysia audi will never surpass merc and bmw’s popularity

• Thanks to you know who… I want a the B8 A4 with good after service…

• ‘Never’ is a needlessly fatalistic word to use in this case. But it’s OK, let’s revisit your post in a couple of years, shall we? I look forward to it. I delight at reading all the BMW and Merc diehards making statements like that.

Trends change. It takes time, but we are on the cusp of a major change in the automotive world. Look at all the big guys now, playing musical chairs and pairing up, lest they lose out. Mercedes is bleeding money big time and pretty much was forced to pair up with Renault. BMW had to do something or risk being marginalized, and hence the increasing collaboration with PSA. VW (group) is one of the very few coming from a position of strength nowadays (the other being Hyundai/Kia). As a previous poster mentioned, VW has an immense portfolio of technology at their disposal that no one else can match, BMW and Mercedes included. BMW’s technology is still impressive but I suspect will start lagging Audi’s in the years to come. Mercedes on the technology front is already fading. They can’t do high end (Maybach) or low end (Smart) to save their lives.

As for motorsports, VW has dominated almost every race series they participated in recently, WTCC with Seat (trashing BMW), Paris-Dakar (trashing BMW and Mitsubishi), LeMans (dominating for years and now in a very tight race with Peugeot). VW has hinted they will enter F1 in the next couple of years after their Paris-Dakar program. We’ll see how they stack up to Mercedes, if they are still around in F1. And BMW…oh, they’re gone.

• Missed out the top touring car series that Audi has won many times, the DTM. The last three champions won it in an Audi, over Mercedes.

• Tahar on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:54 pm

Provided AUDI is locally assemble and the price is reduce slightly . AUDI sales will definately outgunned BMW and Mrecedes easily. No need to rely heavily on stupid AP quota to import more AUDIs into Malaysia

AUDI cars are more dynamic and better built compare to BMW and Mercedes . Chinese in China are not dump people and they know what they are buying. That why AUDI and VW are top selling in China.

Info only

BMW = Lots of problem with electronic after 2 to 3 years owning
    Mercedes = Lots of breakdown on road side
    AUDI = never seen much breakdown on roadside and less electronic problem

Overall I would not be surprise AUDI will sooner or later surpass BMW and Mercedes sales in Malaysia easily .

NO wonder a Lot of people nowadays from all walks of life keep telling me , better buy an AUDI because the trend is no more buying BMW and Mercedes as people buying an AUDI is becoming more popular as each day passes . Please believe it as this is the current trend now.

I was skeptical to believe at first but now I am totally convince of what people keeps telling me .

I am for AUDI now

• omahabojan on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:24 am

Okay, my option is now opened. I thought of getting a 2nd hand BMW or Merc this year, but never thought of Audi. Any idea if the previous Audis are safe to buy?

• before bmw fans and now audi fans driving 2007 audis until today still nothing.

as im up down hill road ;)

• I’m not sure what your budget is but I would consider the Audi’s from the A4 B6 onwards. The build quality starting from those are really solid The older A4 B5 are getting on now so I would not consider them.

• For the best bang for your buck, If I were you I would get myself an Audi A4 B7 – it’s got a TFSI 2.0 turbo engine and the most advanced gear box in this class – to this date – the DSG. You can read this up on Paul’s blog.

• New car better la.. I luv the B8…
          Mind that if an Audi without warranty breaks down, it’s ridiculously expensive to repair..

• ProTip on Apr 13, 2010 at 9:35 am

Probably don’t see many Audis break down because there aren’t many on the road.

All cars have problems, as long as they aren’t major mechanical failures (brakes, steering, etc.) we just have to live with it.

When I was in Germany, many people verbally ranked Audi higher than Mercedes, prestige and quality-wise. VW was the lowest, then BMW, then Mercedes and the top is Audi.

Off topic: They use Mercedes and BMWs as taxis there lol. The C200 is only 20,000 euros for licensed taxi usage, subsidised quite a bit but amazing how cheap it is.

• Agree, all car certainly will have it’s own problem. Either you get a new one with warranty, or take a risk with a 2nd hand (and pray major components stay well).

I think Opel came lowest.. not VW. But recent Opel’s in DE land is quite competitive.

Yep, they use Merc and BMW. Taxi audi is not that common yet, well, maybe you’ll find it in Ingolstadt. I found out nowadays they are using Mazda as Taxi.. lol. (Yea, I know, €20k for such cars new are unbelievable…)

• paultan fan on Apr 13, 2010 at 11:27 am

only in bolehland C200 very expensive. we pay triple price to own. If no tax, of coz only big fans of Proton will buy PROTON PERDANA

• rally_fan on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:35 am

its all a matter of choice. they are all good cars, and definitely have their own strong points..etc. personally for me, i will get behind the wheel of a bmw and drive it any day.

build quality, features..etc. etc. are all good things, but nothing can replace or hide what is a good driving car.

personally, it dont bother me who is to of sales..etc.

• I do concede that BMW’s cars have an inherently better handling feel because of it’s RWD and 50:50 balance, but you know what? A large majority of the public don’t care or don’t know. You only get to experience that 50:50 balance once you start driving at 7/10’s or more. Furthermore, superior handling is no longer a given to BMW. Look at the new GTI’s and Sciroccos. Many reviewers rate them better than the equivalent BMW’s, e.g. Scirocco vs 125i. Audi’s Quattro cars also give better traction and stability in adverse real world conditions. That’s why people are buying them increasingly over Bimmers and Mercs.

• And even w/o knowing all the weaknesses of bmw,merc, i’d still get an audi simply because it looks SO MUCH BETTER THAN THE REST.
    The R8, A8, A1, RS5, all epic cars.

• 2fast on Apr 13, 2010 at 1:40 am

BMW’s first quarter number have been released and BMW still tops Audi. But only by 1,709 cars!

http://tinyurl.com/y9er34l1

• Holy cow! That is virtually nothing! The previous gap between BMW and Audi was 23,733 cars. Who would have thought that from just a few years ago Audi would be running neck and neck with BMW and overtaking Mercedes? It seems completely feasible now for Audi to overtake BMW comprehensively in the next year or two. VW/Audi’s 2015 goal of becoming the top premium car making seems awfully conservative now.

• fairsyah on Apr 13, 2010 at 5:56 am

what is the meaning of the 4 rings :

O= the mind; O=the steering wheel; O=the tyres; O= the world to conquer

the mind of the driver (the driver), using the steering wheel to navigate the car, the only contact of the car with the ground is the tyre (a lot have to be done to make sure the tyre contact perfectly), and lastly… there’s a world to conquer (market, races, people…)

my view of the 4 rings… :)

• Audi is a good car and infact was a great car…
    the problem is because of what happened to them years ago…1980s….when they had what seems to be Toyota’s problem today….although the person who started all these came out to explain…he was the one who created all these….as an entertainment purpose, AUdi’s sales slided…..
    Maybe some1 is behind Toyota’s problems now too??

• Wak Kreta on Apr 13, 2010 at 7:12 am

AUDI, dont AUTA! lah

• meteoraniac on Apr 13, 2010 at 8:42 am

am a proud owner of a4 b8.. :)

• Jaybond on Apr 13, 2010 at 8:50 am

VW has hinted it will only enter F1, if the current cost can still be further reduced. So it is highly unlikely VW will do it at least in the next 2-3 years.

On the other hand, I think the CKD BMW 320i series is slightly more expensive than CBU Audi A4 1.8T, even though the former is locally assembled!!

• Squawk on Apr 13, 2010 at 9:27 am

Tony Stark drives an Audi. ’nuff said. :-)

Btw, have the run flat tires on BMW improved? It can get really uncomfortable as a passenger.

• 4G63tDSM on Apr 13, 2010 at 9:42 am

Marketing.

One thing that have been brilliant at Audi is thier marketing team.

They have had in the 5-10 years been running a very successful marketing and ad campaign with very memorable and “meaningfull” ads.

Short, little dialog, and people remember them.

Factor in a very compelling product line with noticible improvements in each generation, you earn sales.

• modan on Apr 13, 2010 at 9:54 am

Audi is very good car.
    for information why Audi not many on the road of bcoz

euromobil can’t supply all the demand, waiting list is damn long…. people can’t wait for 6-8 month for the alternative then choose BMW or Merc

why cannot supply is bcoz people who own n run Euromobil is politician not a businessman. they only think how to safe their position.

i hope Audi AG will coming to malaysia n not working together with DRB after this

For USA market i think they will pick-up. Hollywood film maker right now use a load of Audi car to show their image n status.

• used non national car owner on Apr 13, 2010 at 10:11 am

AUDI used to be Another Ugly Deutchland Invention.

Not anymore.

Well done Audi!!!

• dukeKTM on Apr 13, 2010 at 10:36 am

Merc’s und BMW’s is well known for what they are well known of…for a Business purpose image most of all….Audi…only for people who truly loves cars and enjoy driving….I’ll choose Audi over Merc’s n BMW…although I’ve once own a banger 190E cosworth before…my 2 cents..

• cordoba1 on Apr 13, 2010 at 10:45 am

BMW and Merceddes should be aware how appealing the L series like Audi A6L and A4L is to the Chinese. Really Audi should look at introducing L series for Asian markets. Mercedes seems the laggard here.

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Apr 13, 2010 at 10:49 am

come on…

bring on all RS models…

RS4,RS6,TT-RS….

-and if possible..1 test car for me….AUDI QUATTRO S1 pikes peak special….sure heads up to bukit tinggi berjaya resort and genting….

• paultan fan on Apr 13, 2010 at 11:49 am

Grill Audi the best in the world

• I think you all seem to forget.

Its front wheel drive!!!!! (except for the quattro models)

Audi breaks down too! The reason why you dont see Audi’s on the side of the road is because most of them are at 2nd hand showrooms not being sold!

BMW – 50/50 weight distribution, Rear wheel drive.

Audi – MMI (fancy electronics), and…..fancy adverts? Come on, u know where its at.

..and one more thing. You’ll score better with the chicks in the BMW. trust me. it works.

• As I have written in my other post. Most people don’t give a s*it and don’t know what benefits RWD brings. Only true motorheads really care about this, you really only get to feel that 50:50 balance when you are pushing more than 7/10s, or if you want to drive round corners with your tail hanging out. Seriously, how many people can do that on a road? 1%? Besides, and I’ll say it again, great handling can come from front wheel drive cars too. Look at the Mini, GTI, Scirocco (beat the 125i in reviews no less).

And lest you forget, BMW will start building FWD cars soon. Don’t get me wrong, there is a place for rear wheel drive cars, but it ain’t all that. Audi is winning because they have superior quality, design, engineering and features that people want in the real world. And believe it or not, not everyone wants that “Look at me, I’m rich!” kind of image. Perhaps the Europeans have already gotten way past this and that’s why they prefer Audi over Merc and BMW?

• gogo audi… beat those stuckup bastard to hell. Merz, typical china man stuck in the past and BM, loser just want face… Audi, low profile that dont want ppl to know their rich.. =P

• Viosuser on Apr 13, 2010 at 2:22 pm

haha not really agree with you on Audi owners. Audi owners are high profile people. They are willing to tolerate high depreciation value for their cars for the sake of the LEDs light. I bet most of them are salary man leasing their cars (Hire purchase).

Agree with you that Merc owners all mostly old China business man, dull and old fashion. Totally agree with you that most used BMW owners are losers want face. I have seen a lot of BMW owners using SIME tyres !!!!! Scary !

• rambo ramsey on Apr 14, 2010 at 10:28 am

Maybe they work with Sime Darby (parent co of Auto Bavaria, 10% discount on new Bimmer + very low interest hehe)

• Wira Tua on Apr 14, 2010 at 2:09 pm

have u seen a bmw with 2 different brand for its rear tyres, almost botak summore..? hehehe..

• Autik on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:21 pm

Take out the communist China, Audi is just a piece of nut. Ingat nak overtake BMW….Dream on.

• Autik. Best you read up a couple of posts before making statements like that. BTW, if people just say take out China out of the equation, then you will have to take it out of every other carmaker who are also making tremendous gains there. And judging from what you said, you don’t read automotive news very often do you?

• LOL.. Autik must be the older generation whose mind is still stuck with the glory days of beamer and merc.

• rambo ramsey on Apr 14, 2010 at 10:30 am

There are no glory days of Bimmer. Only Merc. In the 80’s there are only Merc, and Volvo. The Gomen use Volvo, the Towkeys use Merc. And the professionals (Doctors, Engineers, Lawyers) love Alfa to the bits (before it become rusty haha).

• simple_mind on Apr 13, 2010 at 4:04 pm

a piece of nut??? wow! stay in europe for a couple of months , understand their engineering culture….then you’ll know.No offense here.

• 4agze (Member) on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:28 pm

who cares..as long as it’s a conti, be it merc, bmx or audi, i’ll suck it up

• modan on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:28 pm

A6L maybe, but for A4L, the current A4 B8 is already longer than competitor.
    for the option maybe….
    but if we look how Euromobil do business i don’t think they will bring
    even A5 n S model still not arrive here.
    i think what audi don’t have here is satnav.
    all competitor car right now equip with the GPS,
    it a basic feature for a premium car right now

• Audi Supporter on Apr 13, 2010 at 1:38 pm

Audi owners are all very safety cautious. They turn on their lights at daylight like motorcycle owners, claiming that this is safer. Therefore I propose all Malaysian to turn on their car light at dattime. Malaysia Boleh.

Let’s start with Proton owners since Proton is the most popular car in this country.

TURN ON YOUR LIGHTS PROTONS, LEARN FROM AUDI

• fuyiopo on Apr 13, 2010 at 10:51 pm

Well said my friend. Although i felt some sarcasm XD!

• dukeKTM on Apr 14, 2010 at 5:46 pm

Mercs is now also putting the daytime running lights in their new E class and facelifted S class. Even SLS AMG has it too…its a good thing and looks good too…

• Audiluver on Apr 13, 2010 at 2:17 pm

Great job audi AG…

too bad we cant say the same here.. true what ppl hv said about our ppl’s perception when it comes to the 3 main german makes… heck, i’ve even heard a car dealer saying that audi is the ‘2nd class’ marque behind merc & bmw… but u can forgive their ignorance… it’s because ppl here are nowhere near as exposed to the Audi brand as anywhere else in the world.. all thanks to the current and previous principals of the Audi brand here..

for those who wonder.. yes, i am an audi lover.. in fact the audi that i have in my garage now is my fourth one…I buy audi because Audi cars are great, reliable, looks great and always ‘1step ahead’ in technology to the other 2 makes…. so, i buy audi because i luv audi.. and to me audi is good…

but, as an audi lover, i am very ashamed and saddened at the way the brand representatives here market and present themselves…

these questions always come to mind each time i think about it…..one, where are the sales centres? two, where are the great audi ads? three, where to service my car? four, where is my car?? (they always have stock problems), four, how come your sales ppl know nothing about the car they are selling? five, how come every model has a waiting list? six, how come i can never get a straight answer about my car’s arrival? seven, how come i dont get to order the special models (RS&S models)? eight, how come i cant configure the specs that i want? nine, how come u always blame that germany is having production issues (cant deliver your few hundred cars) when they in fact can do about 1mill cars/year? ten, the biggest question… dear Audi AG, when are you goind to wake up and pass the dealership to someone else who is willing to invest and more passionate about the brand!!

honestly, i can go on and on.. because of my experiences as an audi owner… and i sum up that not until all the above questions are addressed… audi will never be no.1 in malaysia…

• Tiadaid on Apr 13, 2010 at 4:56 pm

You’re right. I went to their “Hangar” in Glenmarie last Saturday with a friend and the place looks very dull, compared to the nearby Volvo Showroom. They seriously need to buck-up their dealership service since Audi cars are very good. Sit inside an A4 and you’ll feel the difference! Too bad it’s out of my range at the moment.

• Good points. Audi needs a much more aggressive distributor here to realize their potential. Only when they can commit to significantly larger volumes can they get better allocation. As far as I know EM is not very well capitalized to commit the resources? Think Audi will come in officially in the near future?

• Rumours in the industry point to a direct participation by Audi AG. That was one of the reasons why Euromobil had to drop all its dealers.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 13, 2010 at 6:30 pm

Very very true. I heard there was a full 7 months waiting list for the Q5. Why were Euromobile appointed in the first place, DRB-Hicom linked companies never seem to do well, just look at chevy, suzuki and mitsubishi which is survived by one model’s sales. Audi should do what they did in singapore, Distribute themselves….. just look at what Audi has for singapore, every model with both the option of manual or automatic gearboxes. www.audi.com.sg

A great car company ruined by fools

• modan on Apr 13, 2010 at 2:44 pm

good suggestion about daylight.
    now bmw also follow Audi.
    i hope all car maker right now make this thing as compulsory (safety) feature

• molala on Apr 13, 2010 at 4:41 pm

I like Audi A4 B8.

• klaka seram on Apr 13, 2010 at 4:59 pm

long live lord of the rings

• Faizul Adlan (Member) on Apr 13, 2010 at 5:57 pm

oo..now market is for audi huh!? very nice!

• wonder why so many people giving comment without doing research….salute to these thick faces….some don’t even know the existence of rs and 5 series from audi -.- zzzz such a pathetic….

• wohoooo.. alot of audi supporters.

• asgard on Apr 13, 2010 at 11:39 pm

merc and audi rivalry dated back to 1930 f1 racing

• venven81 on Apr 14, 2010 at 6:41 pm

again like many have said, all these 3 german marques have their own strength and weakness. there’s no need to bash one another bcoz all these marques have good and not so good cars too. i’m an audi driver and i still love driving my old a4 b5… now i’m looking forward to test driving the new audi TT with my brother tomorrow bcoz even now he’s very addicted to audi due to its beautiful design and all the technologies plonked into the car!
    it’s a painful wait until tomorrow………..