Local Toyota sales unaffected by recalls, UMWT sales rise

Some might have expected Toyota’s image and sales to suffer across the globe after the world’s top automaker was hit by a wave of recalls, with those in the US particularly sticky and still ongoing. We could see repercussions in the longer term of course, but March and year-to-date sales in America saw upward figures thanks to aggressive incentives to counter the bad press. Back home, although Toyota buyers in Malaysia don’t get sweeteners like zero per cent financing, sales are up nevertheless.

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has revealed figures for the first quarter of 2010, and the 21,017 units sold represent a 22% jump from the same period last year. This has led to internal confidence that this year’s target will be met. “With this positive momentum, I am confident in achieving our target of 88,000 units or 16% market share,” UMWT president Kuah Kock Heng said.

Last year, UMWT sold more than 82,000 units with a market share of 15.4%, and sat at the top of the non-national vehicles segment, a position it has not conceded for 20 years.

Kuah was in Sarawak, and he chose to focus on Toyota’s growth there. Malaysia’s largest state contributed 10% of UMWT’s 2009 sales, and it’s no surprise that the Hilux pick-up truck is the most popular model in the range; four out of 10 Toyotas sold in Sarawak is a Hilux. “For the first quarter of this year, we have delivered 968 units on Sarawak roads, this is a 35% increase compared to 715 units in the same period last year,” Kuah added. Up north in Sabah, the Hilux has a 48.8% monopoly of the pick-up segment.

You’ve got to hand it to Toyota for the Hilux’s success. Here’s a truck that’s outspecced and outpowered by its rivals (the latter by a big margin) and still outsells them easily without a fight. I really don’t envy the marketing people at Isuzu, Ford and Mitsubishi – they must be at wit’s end thinking of a strategy to beat the Big T.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• jeffcws on Apr 12, 2010 at 2:12 pm

way to go Toyota!!! That is why I am a proud Vios TRD owner……

• wolfsburg on Apr 12, 2010 at 6:28 pm

You are proud of spending 90k on a small car or proud of having a Toyota logo on your car?

• buttercity on Apr 12, 2010 at 7:13 pm

Hahahaha.. One of the contributor to ‘blind success’ of UMW..

• proud to own vios, for what? Die hard fans are wierd

• staff on Apr 12, 2010 at 10:16 pm

proud of paying the installment?

hoho

• Squawk on Apr 13, 2010 at 9:30 am

I’ve seen Vios running around with Lexus badge too. Must be those fellas who think “hey, if the Harrier can do it, why can’t my Vios?”.

• Ericboy on Apr 13, 2010 at 2:51 am

For that amount… I rather spend it on all new KIA FORTE that comes with auto start/stop button…. (I love the stop start button) ^.^

• mohsin on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:35 pm

to UMW:
      Pleas bring in the new Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V with Dual VVT-i engine as already introduced in the ASEAN market!

• The brand mentality.

Just like you will not go wrong if you buy Microsoft OS, or buy Cisco switches.

• rexis on Apr 13, 2010 at 9:58 am

Nah, Ubuntu here. Seriously the Microsoft thingy is not relevant here, it is more like monopoly and people have no choice at all.

• ms187er on Apr 15, 2010 at 12:10 pm

Teh fact of buying Microsoft OS is aldy wrong! Hello! wake up la and astop monopoly in our consumer market!

• ms187er on Apr 15, 2010 at 12:10 pm

Teh fact of buying Microsoft OS is aldy wrong! Hello! wake up la and stop monopoly in our consumer market!

• sayapdewa on Apr 12, 2010 at 2:32 pm

recall and price hike up still sales increase ka? haiya…

the factor is bad public transport service in malaysia…gov always make money…

pleaseeeeeee….build up more LRT train in klang valley…then reduce massive jammed..

• Jarum on Apr 12, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Let’s put ourselves in the Government’s shoes. [and mind you all, I am not pro-Government… I am a neutral].

If our G should invest in improving public transportation that would be a huge cost to them. Like wise, having shitty public transportation is an advantage to them as the rakyat will have no other choice but to end up buying their own vehicle to at least commute to work to find a decent income.

By having the rakyat to buy their own vehicles, the G makes more money from the sales taxes, duties and excise charges for each vehicle sold.

So which would our G would opt for? The answer, my friends, is blowing in the wind :)

• MBX Boy on Apr 13, 2010 at 8:17 pm

I’ve always have your same idea about this.

But when I think more, I really wished the G would change what they are doing for the good of the rakyat.
        Just to add, I wished better public transport (referring to LRT, trains. NOT buses/taxis). Alternatively, G can change their tax policies and look into taxing the rich more, such as the millionaires/billionaires (increase the rate to something like the developed countries). Tax on cars should be reduced, and hopefully this would discourage G mentality of not developing public transport. Public transport should be very very accessible to all rakyat, and perhaps raise ticket fees a bit gradually (like in developed countries). After all, higher profits by public transport operators mean they can expand and maintain their services well. It even means increased tax revenue for the G at the end of the day. I agree when Najib mentioned that the major challenge of developing public transport (LRT/railway) is the huge cost, but then I thought to myself, wouldn’t building more large highways and overlapping more and more flyovers over one another equate to the same thing? When I was living in Australia and Germany, I felt that their public transport is so convenient and accessible. Here, in KL, I’ve stayed in several places: Pantai, Bangsar, Bangi, Sunway, Kelana Jaya, USJ. Everytime I want to go out, I will put public transport as my last choice. Almost every outing, I will need to use the car or the bike even to run simple errands.

The truth is : rakyat HATES traffic jam, especially when its now becoming more and more frequent and severe. So no harm for G to consider changing mentality.

• proton on Apr 12, 2010 at 2:39 pm

malaysian just loves Toyota so much, i was wondering why dont proton hands its distribution to TOyota, i’ll bet T can do a better Job than EON !! and Proton will outsell everyother brand in no time.

• Jarum on Apr 12, 2010 at 5:58 pm

I don’t think that Toyota is that hard-up to have a new problem on their hands. Why should that sell something that is not meeting to the customer’s specifications and needs, poor quality and poor after sales service.

• Peter on Apr 13, 2010 at 11:36 am

Doesnt Toyota Owned Perodua?

DAIHATSU IS UNDER TOYOTA, UMWT IS also ties wif Toyota?????/

• littlefire on Apr 12, 2010 at 2:43 pm

Toyota Hilux can sell coz of the brand, comfort and it’s engine durability. But for those people who are more hardcore, the new hilux is total no go as it is heavier (compare last gen) & the most underpowered pick-up in the market…

• wolfsburg on Apr 12, 2010 at 6:27 pm

the Hilux is really not as comfort as the Triton…

• buttercity on Apr 12, 2010 at 7:14 pm

You have not ride Triton haven’t you?

• littlefire on Apr 12, 2010 at 10:01 pm

If Triton so hebat, why now Hilux still beat him?

Triton & Nissan pick-up have the same problem.. Injector problem.. 1 injector stuck almost cost RM2k.. Maybe thanks to our superior Euro2 Diesel quality… That what i know from an uncle driving a new hilux… If u complain low power, just drive in Tom Yam land and upgrade an factory fitted intercooler.. Have seen a few fitted with it. Said the uncle… In the end is the T brand they buy..

• buttercity on Apr 13, 2010 at 7:35 am

That’s rite. Heard it from my uncle. Yesterday someone told me he heard it from his granny. Last week someone told he heard it from his neighbor dog. Last year someone told me he heard while he was sleeping.. Ekekekek..

• bmpower on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:06 pm

Ford ranger is far better.

• pelams on Apr 12, 2010 at 3:08 pm

well……malaysian mentality

• shokubeni on Apr 12, 2010 at 3:28 pm

malaysian, they always prefer T and H over others

• Squawk on Apr 12, 2010 at 3:37 pm

This is a T&H market still.

• mohsin on Apr 12, 2010 at 3:46 pm

Goodwill!
    it’s a typical Malaysian attitude.
    If T brand’s products, superb!

• King Samurai on Apr 12, 2010 at 5:41 pm

Thank you people…thank you for buying and believing Toyota…..cheh…macam tiada lain brand ka?

• RON96 on Apr 12, 2010 at 3:47 pm

Psss…Maybe Malaysian can start a community campaign & stop buying Big T for a year. Maybe we can get 20% discount + 0% financing^^

• razee hussin on Apr 12, 2010 at 4:25 pm

any proposal to make a rush with diesel powered suv?

• SY0H2 on Apr 12, 2010 at 4:31 pm

bolehland people living in their own world, not affected by outside, that’s why they still buy toyota..they appreciate japonese in everything…budus

• theanswer on Apr 12, 2010 at 5:40 pm

remember what happen to waja 1.8 with renault engine? p1 tiara? hehehe. but beside jap brand, what else can u get? even for old cars, ppl prefer to buy civic ek..corolla ae..so cant blame them..cant say budus. unlike u who can afford to buy bmw or even peugeot(the cheapest conti car in msia).

• good job…but Toyota has to be on their toes….getting competitve nowadays…
    but nevertheless, the US saga is really blown outta proportion….Toyota is not as bad as it seems….

• chris on Apr 12, 2010 at 5:34 pm

to beat hilux sales? get the top gear team to bring other brands i.e. navara or triton to the north pole to proof its durability!

• Toyota drivers are idiots on Apr 12, 2010 at 5:58 pm

boring.

• Seriously you guys painted the picture as if whoever bought them were gullible to be fooled with overpriced bad cars. Do you really think that both Toyota and Honda would be where they are right now if they don’t deserve it?

If you think otherwise, change the statistics by buying other marques and prove they are worthy.

• Can’t Agree more.
      So all Malaysia who buy T & H are stupid, pity me for being one of them.

• Squawk on Apr 13, 2010 at 9:33 am

Honestly, they are very overpriced and it’s not due to the govt’s taxes. There’s a reason why their staff can get at least 10 months’ bonus every year. How much bonus does your company give you?

• Well with my work effort, I think 6 months is adequate for me and my family.
          Thus I don’t wanna burden myself with constant power window and alarm problem with the rest of my life.

• alldisc on Apr 14, 2010 at 6:41 pm

UMW could sell vios at 50K, maybe as low as 40K if there is no protection scheme whatsoever for P1 and P2.

the overpiricing was not from UMWT. its from bolehland’s G and their excise duties structure.

• I guess whoever bought Toyotas are stupid and others who bought Korean makes are MENSA geniuses.

• Hilux 2.5 VN Turbo 144hp is my dream

• Jarum on Apr 12, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Many of you keep saying that its a Malaysian attitude in supporting the sales of Toyota and Honda. You are so wrong. Most Malaysians are sensible in the purchase we make, let it be cars, property or even a plate of mee hoon.

Why not see that a typical Malaysian mentality in making a decision to purchase is based on branding, reliability, quality, history, design, safety, after sales, promises to the customers, price, and most times word of mouth.

Except that for the blip that Toyota is facing lately in the safety issues of the cars, generally many people still have trust in their brand and their products. And now the new Toyota is Kia and Hyundai. Soon enough Malaysians will migrate to these makes because of the key issues I mentioned earlier, can we again say that its a Malaysian attitude?

• buttercity on Apr 12, 2010 at 7:16 pm

What Toyota vehicle you have under your porch?

• the problem is malaysian blindly TRUST the branding, reliability, quality, history, design, safety, after sales, promises to the customers, price, and most times word of mouth bla bla…..not JUDGE em

• carlover on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:56 pm

If the brand can be trusted, then why not? Some people love Alfa Romeo and Citroen although it’s known that the maintenance costs are high. still people are buying it. trust the branding is not a problem. it’s you who has problem with people trusting the brand.

• niamafufu on Apr 13, 2010 at 2:11 pm

T and H just better in marketing…they know well what is malaysian prefer…like used T and H price…but it doesn’t mean toyota offer the best car in the market…those T&H supporter just believe what they believe,maybe reliable??so they choose it…just a matter of choice…car is just a ride….if u lyk the shape d design…just buy it lo…some more there is no much other brand we can get it here with lower price…so dun blame T&H supporter blindness, blame our mighty gov.

• This is judge….Capture Info>Analyze(USING YR BRAIN)>output decision
          This is trust……Saw toyota emplem>great car (where’s the brain)

Judge prove Malaysian are really educated, as for Trust, Malaysian will be easily cheated forever.

The best way is to balance both Judge and Trust like seeing withe 2 eyes, 1 for judge, 1 for trust

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 13, 2010 at 7:10 pm

“Why not see that a typical Malaysian mentality in making a decision to purchase is based on branding, reliability, quality, history, design, safety, after sales, promises to the customers, price, and most times word of mouth. ”

What? Design? A Toyota? ROFL

• wolfsburg on Apr 12, 2010 at 6:26 pm

Nowadays, Toyota is just selling their car based on the reputation which they had built 20/30 years ago. Nobody will deny that their product is not the best and some can be the worst in class but the sales can still be very high and it is all due to their reputation. But hope that they will acknowledge that reputation can stay for a long time but the way people thinking is changing all the time. One day when people realise that they are just buying the name but not the quality, they will leave it…

• if fellow malaysian dont even mind the sub-quality of the national car, I don’t see any reason why ppl shy away from Toyota brand.

Malaysian are generally very cin-chai about their choice offered. Give them something with 4 wheels, and they will be contented oredi.

• Bujang Sarawak on Apr 12, 2010 at 6:51 pm

Sarawakian only buy the Toyota brand. They knew Toyota Hilux since long time ago. They are not very familiar with other brands. All pick up either the Ford Ranger, Mtisubishi Triton, Isuzu D-Max, Nissan Navara / Frontier called Hilux here … Sarawakian difficult to change to other brands in their hearts…

• me123 on Apr 12, 2010 at 7:44 pm

true true~

• me123 on Apr 12, 2010 at 7:46 pm

besides hilux, the camry is also popular in sarawak~ so as the fortuner, landcruiser & harrier.

• Jarum on Apr 13, 2010 at 1:18 am

Sabahans too, mate.

• buttercity on Apr 13, 2010 at 7:37 am

No wonder… :)

• Sabahan on Apr 13, 2010 at 11:41 pm

stop it. i have to say one thing u all have to admit & say yes. Do u know what pick up brand existed on our land since early 80s???? hello??? The mother “T” with “Hilux” name on it and yet ! the 20 YO car still running on our street my god…u will never had problem to find any genuine, non-genuine, second parts. Do u know how tahan it is? even many old 4WD such as Cherokee, Land/Range Rover also having “T” engine under the hood. “T” also the most after-sales-market accessories available. U can add/change/modify from HIM to Hulk, from Hulk to SHEMAN if u like. way b4 what so ever brand like mitsubishi, nissan, ford etc etc (im talking abt pick up double cab not luxury SUV). East Malaysian know it best. u buy the “T” with historic guarantee & confidence. can u imagine how popular is the hilux when u have almost of the same amount of wira (nowaday gen 2) around? RM90K same price tag for Hilux & Vios. Guys go for Hilux / Lady go for Vios. as obvious as that.

• alldisc on Apr 14, 2010 at 6:49 pm

one needs to visit sabah/sarawak and the fact is undeniable.

• huahuahua on Apr 13, 2010 at 9:42 am

dont forget, the one car brand that trusted for its powerful 4wd system, yet engine reliability and durability, toyota hilux (especially the 2.8 3L engine) and toyota landcruiser (70 and 80 series) at logging camp, and can drive easily on jalan balak here. (never see other brand of pickup at logging camp here)

• alxand on Apr 12, 2010 at 6:58 pm

tat’s the malaysia market, they buy name instead of product… look at T & H and P2… other brand had better product but yet their sales still topple other… mentality…

• buttercity on Apr 12, 2010 at 7:16 pm

Toyota will survive forever in Malaysia. Hahaha.. Gila la Malaysians..

• Lets move on guys, get a life…..theres better mondeo, ranger and fiesta out there other than these T crap, and theyre also more advance and powerful

• oldman on Apr 12, 2010 at 7:32 pm

why mesian still prefer toyota…easy mah, no repetitive power windows problem…

• littleboy on Apr 12, 2010 at 8:15 pm

HILux still the best pickup here,interm of resale value and durability…refer to topgear “how to kill a hilux” if i not mistaken about the title….here esp in rural area u can c a hilux just like u see in top gear still v strong with full loaded at the back…. u hardly c other brand in this situation…..way to go Toyota……

• starto on Apr 12, 2010 at 10:32 pm

hilux is the most durable truck in rural area in srwk. other brand they just got their rear gearbox f…up or half way engine dies and being tow by caterpillar

• cheku77 on Apr 12, 2010 at 8:37 pm

thats at srwk u only have hilux! that why people buying T brand are blind to see other…

• sour grapes on Apr 12, 2010 at 9:14 pm

toyota is good in marketins.
    to all bashers, go and learn marketing.
    money is mine, i can spend RM1.50 for teh tarik in mamak stall and i can also spend Rm15 in starbuck. it is up to me. none your business. hahaha….

• Good point, marketing…do u own one?

• sour grapes on Apr 13, 2010 at 6:46 am

do i need?

• Perhaps…to prove Toyota’s good marketing strategy and to contribute in sales chart

• alldisc on Apr 14, 2010 at 6:52 pm

if not mistaken toyota is the ONLY non-national car distributor to achieve 100,000 units sold since 25 years ago (2008). good marketing strategies contributed to that.

• OpenMind on Apr 14, 2010 at 4:34 pm

What you said amuse me…..I think what most people trying to express here is that you are paying RM15 for teh tarik (something like that). In other words, getting low value of your money spent. Your analogy in Starbuck vs mamak stall is contradicting because it is general assumption that the material used in mamak stall is not that good in quality / grade and furthermore you dont get the same ambient as in starbuck. But anyway, you are in directly admitting that you are spending more for little value in your analogy, which proves that toyota doesn’t worth that much.

Of course, it’s your money, we are just discussing the spec, the value, why they are successful, why other (even at the expense of providing higher spec and lower price) couldn’t make an bigger impact. Your must be a very clever person, otherwise, you wouldn;t be able to earn so much for your lifestyle. …

By the way, are you driving a vios? Come on, I am sure you could afford at least a camry 2.0G !!!!!!

• Taliban uses Toyota. That shows how reliable Toyota (Hilux) is.

(I dun own any Toyota)

• toyotaisbad on Apr 12, 2010 at 9:30 pm

Malaysians are not very smart. It because they keep buying underpowered and low spec toyotas which allows toyota to sell lausy cars. You may think hilux is a great car. It is infact! BUT NOT IN MALAYSIA. If you were to tell top gear to test the hilux we have in malaysia, i promise you that jeremy will say it is a load of rubbish. Please think twice about buying a hilux. It may look the best but it is empty on the inside. I hope Amarok comes to malaysia. That is a GOOD car.

• Auto_crat on Apr 12, 2010 at 9:43 pm

In Sabah you can see plenty of them running around. DMax’s gaining but still behind Hilux. If I have to choose… I say Nissan Navarra MT. 6 Speed ma. Hilux is…ok but it becoming pretty mundane and boring.

• StigFan on Apr 12, 2010 at 10:23 pm

Of coz doesn’t effect sales n recalls….Malaysian version Toyota aren’t as high tech as other country version….Very basic/bare bone

• tishaban on Apr 12, 2010 at 10:45 pm

My first Toyota was a JDM Wish imported new from Japan before UMW brought their Thai CBU Wish in. It was a decent car but nowhere near as god-like as what most Malaysian buyers tend to think. There were minor issues plus several recalls to correct sometimes serious problems.

The only reason I feel that Malaysians are so loyal to any car brand is because cars are so expensive. If the typical Malaysian made 350k a year and switching from a 150k Camry to a 150k Mazda 6 was easier on the pocket then maybe the Toyota name won’t matter so much and people would start looking at stuff like safety much more.

• bmpower on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:08 pm

boring and stupid people buy toyota.

• Jarum on Apr 13, 2010 at 1:19 am

So could it true that retards and spastics buy Proton?

• carlover on Apr 13, 2010 at 1:00 pm

are u a proton salesman? u can say all u want, nothing gonna change the fact that Toyota is still most Malaysian will buy…

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:20 pm

T may not be the best in everything, but they are more consistent across the range. just see the latest JD Power result, toyota only won 1~2 categories but consistently within the top 2. the same thing cannot be said to other brands, even H for that matter

• Tahar on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:30 pm

I do not see TOYOTA brand as a good brand to be my ride . Nothing to feel proud of owning except feel p[roud of owning this CRAP where I do not not have extra dispensable income only.

There are numerous problems associated with TOYOTA cars internationally that lead to loss of lifes permanently , for example , Pedal problem , steering problem , braking problems and indefinate unreveal problems.

To be why TOYOTA craps sell in Malaysia ?

1) Anybody can trade in their old faithful for this T crap simply UMW had TOPMARK used car division to collect trade in with good prices for any old cars . Unlike other car companies even having good products they do not have any used car division to offer customers trade in but simple had to call all over the town or city used car dealers for anybody cars wishing to trade (Just Too much hassle)

How other car companies can BEAT toyota SALES IN MALAYSIA?

1) Other car companies can beat TOYOTA sales provided they combined force to set up a trade in used car division themselves ( no need to engaged outside used car dealers) then perhaps other companies with good products can outbeat TOYOTA SALES

2) offer better trade in prices of old trade in cars as what TOYOTA is doing.

This is the situation why TOYOTA sells in number and it is not because TOYOTA have got good products to offer . This is the reason and wake up call to other car companies if they want to beat TOYOTA.. I believe in 5 years or sooner to come VW will outbeat TOYOTA hand down .

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:39 pm

yeah, lets all minnows combine together in a struggle against the empire.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 13, 2010 at 11:08 am

I dont think u even understand anything about the motor industry. U said so much of nothing actually. Ure blindly shooting in the dark without knowing anything. Why dont u do some research before commenting and embarrassing yourself? Allow me to argue your points 1 by 1:

1) There are numerous problems associated with TOYOTA cars internationally that lead to loss of lifes permanently , for example , Pedal problem , steering problem , braking problems and indefinate unreveal problems.

How did u know this? From the internet right? Did u bother to find out anything of your own before? Did u also know that there were major recalls for most major brands over the last 10 yrs? For instance, Hyundai had a major recall last year for almost 1 million vehicles. Did u know about that? Does that mean we all dump Hyundai now? Toyota had huge numbers of vehicles recalled cuz their sale volume was huge. U cannot judge recalls by numbers. If u have a problem with a Porsche and they issued a recall of course u wont have a 1 million recall list cuz there arent that many Porche’s on the road for a particular make. There are no recalls for Proton. Does that mean that Proton is the best? If u judge based on recalls then i hope ure driving a Proton cuz very few other brands have not had a recall in the past 10 yrs.

2) Other car companies can beat TOYOTA sales provided they combined force to set up a trade in used car division themselves. This is the situation why TOYOTA sells in number and it is not because TOYOTA have got good products to offer.

So Toyota sales are good cuz of trade in values and numbers? This is what i call the ultimate stupidity. Sales figures have nothing to do with trade in values. Trade in values are dependent on sale figures and demand. Toyota sells cuz of their reputation for quality and dependability. Go ask any Toyota owner and car repair outlets and chances are 80% of them will say Toyota has build quality. I have a Toyota and have not encountered a single major issue in the past 7 yrs. I have many family members and friends who own Toyota’s and all say the same thing. Small problems and issues will be there as in all other cars. So please do not talk about issues when u have no idea what ure talking about. These are the main reasons why ppl generally choose Toyota in Malaysia:

1) Build quality
      2) Dependability
      3) Service centre quality
      4) Maintenance costs
      5) Customer service standards

Not everybody will have the same experience and im sure there will be some who have experienced otherwise with Toyota but the general public will agree with Toyota for the above factors.

No particular car make is perfect. In Malaysia buying a car is like buying a house. It requires alot of thought due to the high pricing of vehicles. Which is why Malaysians are more conscious about the money they spend unlike in foreign countries.

Buying a car is a TOTAL customer experience. Not just limited by specs and physical looks. Toyota may not have all the aspects one looks for in a car but it certainly has most of them.

• alldisc on Apr 14, 2010 at 7:18 pm

are you a foreigner?? i think it must be since you didnt realise one can always trade in his/her car for a new car no matter Honda or Nissan. The Sales rep are more than happy to assist for a reasonable deal.

and as far as I am concern, there are several companies doing the same thing as Toyota. If not mistaken Cycle & Carriage, BMW Approved Used as well as EON Motoria. Not sure still exist or close shop but there’s one outlet of Motoria at Jalan Ampang KL.

• niamafufu on Apr 14, 2010 at 9:04 pm

agree………..tats what toyota doing now

• varrie on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:10 am

TOYOTA WIN BECAUSE OF IT GOOD DESIGN. SEE OTHER NO GOOD DESIGN. ISUZU DMAX BETTER FUEL CONS BUT DESIGN WISE BADDDDDD. VERY LOW NOT SUITABLE FOR KAMPUNG ROAD. BUT I STILL BUY DMAX LAH CAUSE IT HAVE POWER. TRITON OK BUT BAD DESIGN AND NO REPUTABLE NAME. NISSAN FRONTIER PEOPLE SAYS ENGIN NOT TAHAN CEPAT PANAS ENGINLAH. THE BEST DAN POWERFULL FORD RANGER XLT TAPI SPAREPART PROBLEM. NAVARA POWER BUT BAD DESIGN AND EXSPENSIVE FOR MIDDLE INCOME LIKE ME.. TOYOTA VIGO UNDER POWER., SOOOO WEAK. IN THE MIDDLE THE DMAX KAH I BUY…..

• niamafufu on Apr 13, 2010 at 2:20 pm

i got some question:
      1) toyota hilux looks the best?
      2) Isuzu dmax lowerer?how can u know that?i dont thnk those engineering design a pickup so stupidly w/o considering the suitable height for thier offroad carslol
      3) mitsubishi got no reputation?@@
      4) since u are driving ur isuzu dmax?how do u know nissan new navara will lyk d old frontier b4?and alots car prob occur is due to owner doesnt maintain it well.And i tot navara sharing amost the same price with T.hilux?

• jeffcws on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:14 am

to those who say buying toyota is a malaysian mentality, means u not yet been to Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia or Philippines…. go la and see your own dude……which brand are used more????? don’t put comment simply what u like……

i say i proud also cannot ah? its mine wat..i choose what i like to buy, i like over priced car with small cc so wat? u all dare to write here wat car u drive since u are SO PROUD w your choice……go la play far far

• TRD Power on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:28 am

good point

• Ur car will look like shit next to Forte, Avante, Cruze, Mazda 2, Ford Fiesta…all same price range….still wit the cow herd mindset…pity u….

• jeffcws on Apr 13, 2010 at 8:38 am

I pity u la uncle…. your mindset is no different than me…i like toyota, that is my mindset, your mindset cont to be against toyota…….

go and look at the mirror, u can find cow head there too

• minnow on Apr 13, 2010 at 11:27 am

wow bro..i admire ur undying love for dugongs…probably cauz endangered species….but seems like u misunderstand Don…he meant cow herd mentality…not head….hahaha

• jeffcws on Apr 15, 2010 at 1:06 pm

Ya, I overlooked it, but it does not matter if he cow herd or whatever, if u read before my other comments, I was talking about Toyota as total customer experience….i like toyota service…not just the vios…
            He say i have cow herd mentality….becos i follow the the group? Then the rest that anti toyota what mentality ler? chicken head?

• cybermaster98 on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:33 pm

Haha! Good one Jeff!

• cybermaster98 on Apr 13, 2010 at 11:28 am

don says:
        13/4/2010 at 12:44 am
        Ur car will look like shit next to Forte, Avante, Cruze, Mazda 2, Ford Fiesta…all same price range….still wit the cow herd mindset…pity u….

Get your own cow head out of the ground man.

• TRD Power on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:26 am

Oh well…. nothing much to say… Figure shows everything, Toyota rules!!!!

• Toyota rules because of having good products for certain markets THOUGH i’m not implying Toyota better than rivals. Take Hilux, l definitively won’t buy it as the Toyota so basic while the price is not.

Buyers, especially in rural “forced” to buy Hiluxes due to extremely reliable basic yet somewhat underpower engine but good enough for workhorse. If you stay in rural areas then you’ll understand this. I’ll buy the Hilux only in original form: derived from Four-Runner aka Hilux SUV like previous generations (Tacoma in US) NOT sacrifice here and there IMV-derived SUT.

If you want to have proper Hilux or Toyota not law ya Toyotas start telling them to offer proper stuff. Sales speak by itself. Stop buying they’ll offer decent products. Use your rights and roles.

• Tahar on Apr 13, 2010 at 3:31 am

TRD

The figures shows then you are the many who is earning an average incomes

Good luck to low income in driving a TOYOTA

• minnow on Apr 13, 2010 at 11:37 am

u hv a point….ur money ur choice….the rest of them although in the high income group, prefer to go for cars with passion rather than brand, cauz they just dont want to wake up in the morning n be grumpy seeing a dugong in their porch….

PS: i suggest u use some of ur money for english lessons….u sound like some bangla trying to speak english…..lol

• cybermaster98 on Apr 13, 2010 at 11:42 am

Tahar says:
      13/4/2010 at 3:31 am
      TRD

The figures shows then you are the many who is earning an average incomes

Good luck to low income in driving a TOYOTA

Make up your mind. Is it average or low? By the way i drive a Toyota. Wanna know how much i earn? Come meet me and ill demonstate my earning power. Only losers like you equate earning power to the car u drive.

How about if i buy a brand new Camry 2.4L cash against someone who pays through his nose monthly buying a BMW 3 series with a 9 yr loan? Does that mean that my earning power is lower than the other guy? Did u also know there are many Malaysians who drive cheaper cars but live in big houses? These are ppl who realise that buying a car is always a loss. So if i drive a 7 yr old Vios but live in a house that costs 1.2 mil that still makes me poor? Does that put me in the low income group?

Bet u will never understand that. So keep your dumb comments to yourself. Your comments reflect your mentality.

Cheers!

• Toyota is not as bad as u think….Malaysian especially the age group who frequents internet tends to dislike Toyota..for this age group..Toyota vs Honda..Honda rules…BMW vs Benz..BMW rules…
    Its a matter of appeal at that moment…when av1 reaches an age…and hardship comes…car buying will be more sensible…no longer bling bling…..no longer coolness…what they want is just a sensible car that brings thm from A to B…..safely…and without much mantainance….Toyota gives people the impression of that….
    Although there are few glithes here ad there, its unaviodable sometimes as what the management plans for, due to locality and policy, quality might be affected, but still because they tend to keep things simple, effect is not that big…

• blacky on Apr 13, 2010 at 8:40 am

know wat… malaysian generally dun like nice, powerful, stylish, bla bla (pls add in more) car. So they go for boring, dull, stupid, dugong, piece of crap bla bla (oso pls add more) car like toyota. And i think not just malaysian hehe,,,

• SY0H2 on Apr 13, 2010 at 9:39 am

toyota = ayah pin

• buttercity on Apr 13, 2010 at 1:26 pm

Buat aku pecah perut ketawa. The best comment of the day! Hahahaha..

• Electron on Apr 13, 2010 at 9:41 am

soon P1 will come out wiv pick up, and wipe all pick up sales….Let wait for SaLux

• carfan on Apr 13, 2010 at 9:56 am

Toyota are generally reliable, good quality and easy to own which is what the majority of car buyers want . I hv a harrier and an alphard.

If you add the number sold (approx 200K) by Perodua which is majority owned by Daihatsu (manufacturing side), then Toyota has a greater than 50% of MY market. See why MY is more important to Toyota for passenger cars than Thailand.

• TheDuck on Apr 13, 2010 at 7:13 pm

Have to agree. Toyota is still the most reliable car out there.

• rexis on Apr 13, 2010 at 10:13 am

People buy Toyotas in Sabah and Sarawak is because:

1st, it is durable as many has mentioned above, durability is obviously the main factory compare to highway fuel consumption especially you need to rely it to get back to civilisation.

2nd, its after sales service is available and reasonably good in those area.

• WHY EVERYONE KEEP TALKING “OVERPRICE” FOR ALMOST THREAD???

IF 320i LCI SELL 180K, CAMRY SELL 180K THAT’S IS OVERPRICE!!!!

NOW STILL LOT’S OF PPL BUY RECON WISH, ESTIMA, ALPHARD (100K-400K)

IF YOU FEEL OVERPRICE, IT COULD BE YOU DON’T “ENOUGH” MONEY

THE MONEY IS NOT YOURS, IT’S DOEN’T MEAN BUY A KIA FORTE IS SMART CHOICE OR STUPID

YOU DON’T LIKE THE CAR SIMPLY JUST SELL IT GET ANOTHER ONE… IT’S JUST CAR…

NOW A KID’S BIKE ALMOST SELL RM200 (IS IT OVERPRICE?)

• They make good cars. Reliable, solid…and boring.

Would you want a girlfriend who just sits there and does whatever you want them to.

Or you want that sizzling hot girl who breaks your heart once every few months and gives you the best lovin’ this side of Thailand.

• so what? we didnt buy it.

• tokmoh on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:13 pm

Govt servants abusing Toyota Fortuna

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2010/4/13/focus/6039126&sec=focus

Oh, for teh lulz

• Itu OK lagi. I have seen a govt servant bawak family jalan² in govt car. In Putrajaya. On Sunday afternoon.

• Jarum on Apr 13, 2010 at 10:55 pm

How come no one is questioning why are the government agencies buying Toyotas? Hmmmm. So much trust in the own brand.

• Biasa lar……

• and they say so what?

• broooo... on Apr 13, 2010 at 1:38 pm

always… any issue outside Malaysia will not effect our local… it’s true….

what a bullsit… did they Toyota didn’t sharing same product engineering… ???

very low class thinking!

• Nope…..the brake systemw was produced by american CTS for US market…after their sales exceed that of Nippon DEnso…..
    Whereas Malaysia we stick to Denso…
    So its a totally diff part…..but the thing is CTS supplied Ford, GM too….but no recall was made public…wonder why

• Good, good, good; so many ppls wiling to contribute tax to gov… keep it up….

• i ask my friend who live in Baram, Miri Sarawak, the place where only 4 wheels car can drive (jalan balak), why all the people there using toyota hilux? he told me that in the past year, the people from the village use many pick-up truck such as Nissan, Mitsubishi, ford, Mazda and toyota.. after a few year later, all the pick-up began to broken except toyota hilux… so they stick with toyota until now. yup.. toyota brand is very strong here in sarawak. from 10 cars that u c, 5 cars will be toyota..

• Mbiak Sarawak on Apr 13, 2010 at 9:10 pm

Are you sure bout that?.. don’t fooling around la wei… Ppl in rural area use hilux because of its selling value. Most of them will change their car because of the car already ‘barai’ due to extreme road condition. Most of them want to own more power pick-up like Nissan, Mitsu and Ford but to difficult to sell it. So the MAIN REASON is their resale value.. not their durability. Of cause the brand power contribute a bit. For your information, i am the villagers at Long Aton, Baram.

• OpenMind on Apr 13, 2010 at 6:16 pm

Agree with most of the comments.

We are kiasu, we generally lack of technical knowledge, lack of desire to explore, lack adventurous, dont know well about consumer right, lack of good judgement, etc.

YOu may not agree with me, but I am just making relative comparison with countries like Korea, Singapore, Taiwan, etc. That’s also why we are slightly behind now.

Even toyota also a top household brand in Thailand, at least toyota there dont enjoy so much of the price benefits if compare to Malaysia and at least toyota thailand is a regional export hub as well. Compare the price of vios 1.5G in thailand, indonesia and Malaysia, you will know what i meant. Thailand (about71k), Malaysia (87k), Indonesia (82k, due to the currency)….is the difference purely on tax?????? i dont think so.

• Calmdown... on Apr 13, 2010 at 7:31 pm

Why Toyota become world no.1or one of the largest car manufacturer?(altho currently not).. Its not in a day or a year, that must be a reason and must be strong in every aspects, gaining more n more of support from the customers all around the world. Figure tells. Why we have so much complaint? Hehe… bcoz we r in boleh land, taxes make everyone suffered.

• Peter on Apr 14, 2010 at 9:46 pm

After going thru the comments make by Tahar , cybermaster and TRD , I am entitle to my opnion , do I ?

I believe Tahar knows more about car market scenerio in Malaysia and what he is saying i totally agree with him . What cybermaster and TRD omments are somehow very superficial, loopsided and baseless to the extend everything about others is not right except TOYOTA . What a loser !!

Cybermaster praises so highly of TOYOTA but I do not believe TOYOTA make good products as durable , dependable and lasting as other makers does. Reasons is because there is Lots of TOYOTA spare parts in the market make available for the mechanics to fix TOYOTA cars . It is not TOYOTA parts are better or lasting , hell no !! . The scenerio in Sarawak is totally different . They need 4 wheel drive basically . ISUZU and FORD rangers are built for toughness but because their position is something new in Sarawak before the sales pick up to overhaul TOYOTA later on. People will buy anything not necessarily TOYOTA provided spare parts and service is available everywhere . The consumers looks for these before commiting which makes to buy not necessarily a TOYOTA always.

For your info , Empire does not rules for long if you happen to watch Star wars . There will always be a down turn to everything just the Law of gravity puts it ” Everything goes up must come down ” in this case applies to TOYOTA . We will see in the next fews months about the Sales of TOYOTA in USA and Europeans market after having their name tarnish badly by
    1) Pedal acceleration leading to death ( e.g camry)
    2) steering problem in Toyota Corolla
    3) Braking problem in Prius

Until today it is a well known fact that TOYOTA conceal the facts and withholding to the public until it had become unbearable to proclaim their car problems to the consumer. Blue kelly book revel recently that all TOYOTA vehicles second hand value had gone down and not as before.

In the Malaysia , thanks to our expanding economy we had more type of cars to chose from in our markets rather than limiting ourselves to get a TOYOTA ( not everyone cup of tea now but previously yes ) .

if you guys say so much about TOYOTA why in the first place the world biggest market
    China , TOYOTA does not sell in high number compare to VW , AUDI , BUICK , Citroen . Surely the chinese knows about cars more than us Malaysian does ? Reason the Chinese do not appreciate Japanese Cars like TOYOTA whenever they get better choice and option to go for.

In Malaysia , there is a changing trend in our society , We will buy what is a Value buy and not so much about second hand value. Most Japanese car value drop a lot immediately the day the car leave the showroom . Nobody is going to buy a 1 to 2 japanese car with a price of only 80% from it’s original value . People will go for first hand and most of all with a brand NEW Car smell ,new car feel , first car ownership name and would rather pay the 20% extra for these.

Let talk about peninsular Malaysia whereby majority of the car buyers are professional and slightly executives . With this image portrait , this so call YUPPIES in the making will surely look for more excting and european feels brand rather than a plain boring and bland car like TOYOTA .

I know of many people complaining that TOYOTA engines get noisy and louder each days as year passes until a point whereby the engine noise is absolutely sounded something wrong with it.

I know TOYOTA spend and relies heavily on advertisement and promotions only. Good cars never does much promotions and yet people knows about whenever they come across one . Why is TOYOTA spening so much on advertisement and promotions when you said TOYOTA is good .?

Sounds like TOYOTA cars is not the ideal car for people when coming to buy or choice with a choice .

In summary , only promotions , advertisement, incentives and offers help to sell in numbers for TOYOTA.. TOYOTA does not need lead in the field of Technical and safety innovations at all !! This where TOYOTA lost !!

• cybermaster98 on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:30 am

Peter,

Thanks for your comments but i think it is you who doesnt have all the facts. Allow me clear a few things for you based on your own comments:

1) (I do not believe TOYOTA make good products as durable , dependable and lasting as other makers does. Reasons is because there is Lots of TOYOTA spare parts in the market make available for the mechanics to fix TOYOTA cars . It is not TOYOTA parts are better or lasting)

You again have limited knowledge. The availability of spare parts are directly linked to the original sale volume. It has nothing to do with quality. The same with Proton. Why ru able to easily obtain Proton spare parts? Is it due to its poor quality? Of course not. That is why its difficult to get spare parts for European makes cuz of their original sales volume. The same goes for the number of service centres. If you have good sale volumes then u get more service centres. Why would you wanna have 500 SC when ure only selling 1000 units a month? Spare parts availability has NOTHING to do with QUALITY.

2) (why in the first place the world biggest market China , TOYOTA does not sell in high number compare to VW , AUDI , BUICK , Citroen . Surely the chinese knows about cars more than us Malaysian does ? Reason the Chinese do not appreciate Japanese Cars like TOYOTA whenever they get better choice and option to go for)

The reason why China or any other foreign country to go for other makes is due to PRICING. If i have a BMW sold for a few thousand more than a Toyota of course i would buy a BMW. But the problem arises when u have a price difference of 100K then u become more inclined to Toyota. As ive said many times before, DO NOT COMPARE THE CAR MARKET HERE IN MALAYSIA WITH OTHER COUNTRIES. We are not the same. We do not have a liberal market when competition is open and fair. Besides its also common knowledge that China and Japan do not have the best of economic relationships. Go do your research and ull see the obstacles faced by Japanese manufacturers and distributers in China.

3) (Most Japanese car value drop a lot immediately the day the car leave the showroom . Nobody is going to buy a 1 to 2 japanese car with a price of only 80% from it’s original value)

Again you prove your lack of knowledge. ALL cars will lose about 15% of its value the moment it leaves the showroom. This is not merely limited to Japanese cars only. But it is a well known fact in the Malaysian automative industry that Toyota has among the best resale values among the non national cars. Over a period of 7 yrs, generally a Toyota would probably loose about 40% of its original sale value. I say this from my own experience. This is an excellent resale value. U find me a European car with a better or even equal resale value for the same period.

Summary:

As ive said before, Toyota is NOT the best. But then again no car manufacturer can claim their car as best anyway. Toyota has its limitations and its negative aspects. But OVERALL it is still a great car make. The Koreans are fast improving and if Toyota doesnt buck up it will lose its NO 1 spot soon.

In saying this, i wish to remind you Peter to check ALL your facts before blindly bashing a car. You and Tahar have limited knowledge of cars. If u only knew the industry im in you wouldnt be arguing so much. Yes you are entitled to your opinion and i respect that but kindly ensure you have the RIGHT facts to back up your claims. Please do some research before you embarass yourself further.

Cheers!

• blacky on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:37 pm

actually, chinese oso like japanese car….. i cant remember wat d exact name, but they make car out of front Altis and back of city…. interior is oso altis…..launched last yr if not wrong….hehehe….

• LASER on Jun 18, 2010 at 1:28 am

Just some questions for UMWT president Mr Kuah Kock Heng he said

Last year, UMWT sold more than 82,000 units with a market share of 15.4%, and sat at the top of the non-national vehicles segment, a position it has not conceded for 20 years

How many years has he been the president of UMWT is it also 20 years.

How many times was the goal post moved to reach 82,000 units.

For the year 2010 UMWT sold 82,000 units which was one of the regions low figure how come in the world they are the second highest in customer complaints most of which was from the service department.