Ford now offering free service and wear and tear item replacement for Focus, Mondeo, Escape

Ford and Sime Darby Auto ConneXion has announced that all Focus, Mondeo, and Escape registered from the 1st of April 2010 onwards will enjoy complimentary Extended Service Plan (ESP) Premium Maintenance Coverage for 3 years or 60,000km. This covers all the following at no charge in addition to the 3 year or 100,000 warranty:

• Engine oil and filter changes
  • Multi-point routine inspections
  • Replacement of brake pads and brake linings when worn
  • Replacement of shock absorbers
  • Replacement of spark plugs
  • Replacement of clutch discs
  • Replacement of engine belts and hoses
  • Replacement of wiper blades

This basically ensures all the wear and tear replacement items on your Fords under the ESP programme are covered free of charge during your first 3 years or 60,000km of Ford ownership.

This should give potential car buyers another reason to consider a Ford as most competitors only offer a warranty and you still have to pay for expensive oil changes at the official service centers, which you will be forced to go to in order to keep your warranty. Some may only offer free oil/filter changes or sometimes only free labour. Ford ESP covers the brake pads, spark plugs, wipers and etc as well.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Eric G on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:59 pm

wow, watch out Toyota and Honda.

• Choon on Apr 17, 2010 at 2:29 pm

You know what holding me back to consider Ford Focus TDi even I love that car so much?

The maintenance cost! Now, this plan sure add points to my reconsideration of getting that nice car!

Keep up the good work – Sime Darby Auto ConneXion!

• niamafufu on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:02 pm

so generous

• Dr Begum on Jun 01, 2010 at 10:28 am

Don’t trust all the Ford Sime Darby says. My daughter bought a Ford Focus 1.8 Ghia. Ford Service in PJ detected the problem with rear wheel bearing within 3 years warranty period and at less than 30000 KM mileage mind you.

The service centre kept ding-donging givining us the run around that spare parts were not available. In the meantime the front bearing also became faulty and drive shaft too. The latter were replace leaving the r faulty ear wheel bearing still unchanges. Now that the wheel is almost ceasing we called for attention. Then all of asudden Ford Serice PJ fish out records that they have changed all bearings. Someone in Ford is lying and cheating customers..Beware. So go for Toyota who may be more honest. I am wondering if a Police report will help.

• Dr Elastic on Aug 25, 2010 at 1:24 pm

I used to have a toyota and had a bad experience with toyota service but i dont generalize everything based on one incident. After all it’s human we’re dealing with.

• hantupensil on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:08 pm

mean not to pay any cent for sevices??

• proton on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:09 pm

good move ford!

make sure to include ford fiesta too!!

• a good package offered.

• thayanand on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:21 pm

Wow… thats good news for Ford buyers

• thedaoaks on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:43 pm

wow..good deal!

• endre on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:44 pm

good. others pls follow Ford

• Annihilated on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:57 pm

Interesting! Great news. Way to go Ford..

Any T&C to share?

• The Loner on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:08 pm

Good for after sale service, which is vital point to make Ford another alternative to choose besides T & H.

• They are doing what Mercedes been doing for years. Warranty also covers wear and tear parts such as brakes and clutches.

• wow, thats a pretty good deal. but aside from the pickups, the other ford range just isn’t strong enough to penetrate the market.

• omahabojan on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:28 pm

Wow! i guess this is a good buy then. With good fuel efficiency + warranty deal

• freeze on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:31 pm

How they gonna make money this way? Service thousands of car but no income.

• Justin on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Does it says how long this offer is going to last? Coz Paul you only mentioned that 1st April onwards.

• Paul Tan on Apr 17, 2010 at 12:38 am

No end date specified. I think its a permanent thing, at least until the models are replaced.

• Jimmy on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:35 pm

I am worried that the dealers may not do a good job. They can just make claims to Sime Darby but they did actually change anything, eg engine oil and filter are not changed. Just masuk untuk cuci badan kereta sahaja, haha.

• lollipop on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:48 pm

Any hint from Auto ConneXion whether this ESP applicable to coming Fiesta?

• used non national car owner on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:49 pm

Wow!!!

That is a great offer indeed.

• CopyCat on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:49 pm

wow…nice and good offer. always ‘focus’ on customer needs and value for money. This is what Proton should do. Proton right now has lost focus and go back behind.

Proton more focus on profit. lost identity just copycat, low on R&D, poor quality and bad after sales & services. Just pro in cosmetic change front and rear bumper then…blinggg comes Elegant then right now Wajalution. Car Accessory shop sure can do…but diffrence is Proton are more PRO’Beng’

After 10 years I’m using Proton car is time for me to change for better value for money yup maybe go for diesel TDCi

• Tiadaid on Apr 17, 2010 at 12:40 am

Er, low on R&D just copycat? You’re actually referring to P2, not Proton. They’re the master copycatter and bumper makers.

• CopyCat on Apr 17, 2010 at 1:23 am

The facts is P2 are make more sales the P1. Yes, P1 now learn from P2, should I say P1 are the one that more desperate? at least Ford had good market strategy. and not lost they own identity.

• Tiadaid on Apr 17, 2010 at 8:19 am

Sales aren’t a good yardstick here in Malaysia. There are many Malaysians who buy a car because of brand factor, not rational thinking. Why do you think Ford do stuff like these? Because even though the Focus is good, people still flock to buy the Civic & Altis. Why? Because of the T&H brand. Besides, Proton now offers 5 years warranty that only a few cars can offer too. But to expect them to do this, when they have a lot of cars on the road compared to the Ford is just going to make them suffer!

• Littlefire on Apr 17, 2010 at 10:03 am

I defer that,

From my experience, people buy Japanese brand due to a lot of aftermarket parts (Half-cut) can be found and replace. Compare to other like European brands, parts are less and usually are more expensive to replace.. Just compare a Ford Focus parts price with a Toyota Altis parts price that need to replace, u will know what i mean…

I de end, people want their car to be more durability, and spare part are cheap n easy to replace. As in Malaysia we pay a lot just to pay off the car loan… Just imagine ur ford focus accident, i think u will need to wait for some time & expensive to get those original lights, bumpers to replace.. U know what i mean…

• Motorist on Apr 17, 2010 at 12:51 pm

P1 has become arrogant due to the protection given. It is now trying hard to grow up, making changes for the better after Tengku left. Sadly, it cant forge on alone in a world where giants dominate. It is not a niche manufacturer nor does it have the production capacity to reduce cost effectively. The annual production of P1 is only the global monthly production of Toyota. When you cut cost in materials to match the costing of giants, you end up reducing the overall quality of your own product. It makes sense for P1 to again start assembly for a giant but at the same time work with the giant’s R&D on future models. Going it alone just for pride of Melayu Boleh is going to ruin all the hard work & investment ploughed in. It’s our investment coz’ it was our tax money that subsidised P1 all this while.

As for those that buy T&H (V&C), they want face mah. Can ‘action’ ‘lan-si’ to others that you have made it mah. I got, you dont got mah. My Vios/City can run fast fast on highway. I tiong a Bee-Em at 160 the other day.

Aww, heck. Any monkey can drive fast in a straight line. Hell, a monkey was an astronaut even before Alan Shepard was sent up in Mercury 3. Try bringing your fast fast V&C to Sepang and see how well it handles in a fast track. See if you can tiong a Bee-Em in Sepang.

• Rulered on Apr 17, 2010 at 7:08 pm

Ford is actually making a comeback after a long hiatus for whatever reasons they have, whereas Toyota and Honda have been around eversince we can remember. They develope the advantage of having more parts, service centres and of course develope buyer’s confidence over the years. Even Nissan, Mazda and Mitsubishi is not viewed as the same by many as we view Toyota and Honda because they too ‘disappeared’ from our market for a short while. I bet if they are as consistent in their marketing and remained as automotive players in this parts of the world particularly Malaysia, it’s just a matter of time before their spare parts, service centre availability and peoples confidence will develope. It’s just they have been here consistently longer in our life that their parts are relatively more and easier to find and therefore relatively cheaper, they have more time to develope and train their staffs over the years that it is as if they make good reliable cars. Apart from from that, I don’t see Toyota or Honda cars are better in any way than Ford, Mazdas etc, etc.

• 2fast on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:49 pm

Looks similar to BMW’s service inclusive package. Maintainence is free until reach 60 k km.

• Is a good news, at least minimum 100,000 km and 3 years warranty is goods new for the consumer like us, Ford is a good & decent car, actually the dealer can make more profit from the services charges for 100,000km, conclusion is good. I will consider the Ford RDCi.

• lollipop on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:56 pm

If all automakers practise the same thing in the future, i think most auto spare parts shops and mechanics gonna close shop soon LOL….

• desmodeci on Apr 17, 2010 at 12:03 am

great..hope that it’ll include the upcoming Fiesta also

• FocusRS on Apr 17, 2010 at 12:04 am

I’m sure there r T&C tat applies….for eg brake pads wear depends on how u drive n brake….if I always brake hard n emergency brake or always drive up Genting then would they still replace for free if the pads wear out every 6mths?

• which ever comes 1st, 60000km or 3 y. n it didn cover ur disk if it warp.

• when proton will do like this?.. now customer only get free labour charge..oil and filter also need to pay at high price.. 40% high than sparepart price..come on la proton…and also need to replace some part that still ok..imagine change spark plug, colant, wiper every 10K km..come on la..in instruction manual said 15K km la..

• if u say proton product high price,u sir,not eligible to own a car.

• CopyCat on Apr 17, 2010 at 1:58 am

bro try to be smart when replying others people opinions. he speak base on his experience. Maybe you so rich and never own Proton car. no wonder you so arrogance.

• I owned a proton….and never changed the wiper once…i’m afraid you’re conned by your trusted SC friend…oh..you can always follow your instruction manual..that is your guide before going to SC…if the SC refuse to do it,then take your biznez sumwhere else

• Choon on May 17, 2010 at 5:01 pm

I owned Proton when I was broke, but never look back when I recover… sorry about this, but the World has proved that Proton is virtually “dead” in the market without the Government bless, and for those Proton supporter – You are paying $60K+ for a Proton while people all over the world like Thailand pay $60K+ for a Camry!

You can get BMW for 120K+ in China, but you pay double here… all thanks to Proton.

Argue all you want – answer me this, why didn’t the government open up the car market? or let the AP free, or at least put up those AP for bid instead of just protecting the market.

Long live Proton, pay more for less!

• Neo.S on Apr 17, 2010 at 12:14 am

wa………….how much is there ?

• and Fiesta next…?

• Charger on Apr 17, 2010 at 12:36 am

Desperate measure? Gee…

• AhmedAbd on Apr 17, 2010 at 9:38 am

This mentality is exactly why Bolehland customers always get bad deals. Throw a good deals then they will say the sellers are desperate? I guess some people enjoy buying car with 5 days warranty instead of 5 years since they buy from ‘not desperate company’!

• BoringMOOMOO on Apr 17, 2010 at 1:46 am

wow!! this is a very good offer~ and we should support Ford… ~

• Izhar on Apr 17, 2010 at 6:05 am

Paul,

Any chance of a detailed review of the diesel Focus?

• rickyll on Apr 17, 2010 at 6:54 am

Wow! This is the virtue of what competitions would bring. Sime Darby has certainly done a good job. I hope others will follow suit. If only I have that kind of money, i would definitely give Ford a try.

• oldman on Apr 17, 2010 at 7:42 am

would this be extended to upcoming ford fiesta….

interesting, interesting…..

• mr_3m on Apr 17, 2010 at 8:20 am

good marketing by Ford Auto Connexion, i must say… and hopefully it will build their passenger cars (Focus, Mondeo etc) customer base for the future…

• time to consider a Ford!

• kopi-man on Apr 17, 2010 at 9:06 am

Give me the Ford Fusion!

• emmeth on Apr 17, 2010 at 10:01 am

probably it’s a time to trade-in my accord for the mondeo!

• Fizbiscuit on Apr 17, 2010 at 10:10 am

Hey how about the old Ford Focus supporters? My Focus is 3 years old now and warranty just finished.. ow what a shame… but good incentive though…

• alldisc on Apr 17, 2010 at 10:35 am

mark-up price to include free service with parts. advance thinking but so manipulative!

there is no such thing as FREE in business – its all been calculated in the car price itself.

• ho ho ho….honda is going to “die”…..these honda fella’s forcing honda car owners to service their car every 5000km : (

worst part,if u dont follow them,ur warranty will be “kong”…..

• simple_mind on Apr 17, 2010 at 11:31 am

I believe that the person at Auto ConneXion who responsible for this package already make their own P&L calculation.There’s always a risk in business,so do our life too.It’s good for customer,as there’s multiple choice available when considering a new car,but it may not satisfied everybody.For me,if interested then go for it.If not,just leave it and go for others.

• They should be fine coz sales will surely improve, my current city had this 3 years/60k free service….bought it in 2006 over vios due to this free service, save me lots of $$$ every 5k service

• klaka seram on Apr 17, 2010 at 11:41 am

how about Ranger? Any possibility this model will be included?

• Motorist on Apr 17, 2010 at 11:46 am

More reason to consider the Mondeo (vs Camry vs Accord) !!!

Strategically, it’s a good move by Ford. It moves them up psychologically a notch to be on par with the top European marque in M’sia (BMW & Merc). It differentiates them from the local franchise T&H (chinaman mentality) service level. It rebuild confidence back into the brand. It increases the 2nd hand value. Ultimately, it’s a sales strategy.

In M’sia, since the 1980’s, Ford has been associated with Mazda (which Ford has 13% share; reduced from 33% prior to 2008). The Ford Escort was the last European Ford to be imported in M’sia. Every model after Escort has been a model derived from Mazda (this includes Australia also).

In order for Ford M’sia to be seen again as an European car company, it has taken the bold step to bring in European Ford cars (which is what the public has been wanting also). In order to build confidence, it has now given service inclusive. IMHO, European Ford cars are on par with other top end European marque (in build quality, design, safety, efficiency & emissions). But, realised that you get for what you pay. BMW, Merc & Audi are more expensive for a reason. Better quality cars but the question is, do you want to pay more for the extra quality & prestige (or what we call “face”).

Me, a Mondeo is good enough. European build & handling. Adequate engine power. Comfortable with European NVH standards.

• That mondeo need the focus’s tdci engine….than it will be just perfect

• Choon on May 17, 2010 at 5:05 pm

Personally, I love Mondeo – if they bring in the Titainum edition even better.

However, I think the 2nd hand value had many to do with the parts, hopefully those part price can go down dramatically, and more warranty for new car, that’ would greatly bring a car brand 2nd hand value back in business.

• rahleinad on Apr 17, 2010 at 12:14 pm

I’ve put down my booking for the fiesta!
    Let’s hope they offer this so that the ownership cost is greatly reduced!

• questy on Apr 17, 2010 at 2:23 pm

“timing belt ”

anyone know if the focus tdci is using timing chain or belt ?

• This is actually a good offer. The new diesel ford focus seems to be quite a good deal. Just that i checked their website, seems that they dont have any service center at penang. hmmm..

• they do have sime darby auto connexion at jalan chain ferry butterworth with sales n service. give ford webpage a visit then u can get more details :)

• feisal on Apr 17, 2010 at 4:23 pm

If only the Mondeo comes with ESP…. Mmmmmm

• Charger on Apr 17, 2010 at 6:10 pm

How many times have you been in a situation where you needed/activated the ESP?

I’ve personally floored a Hyundai XG while my passengers were rolling in the cabin like fish-balls, yet the TCS never kicks in. It was raining mildly with curvy roads.

I think you really need to drive very hard to utilize that.

• feisal on Apr 18, 2010 at 7:32 am

I needed it once but it was not there. You know what happened next. So for my current and next car, I will always look for ESP. At least I know it’s there when I need it.

• Charger on Apr 18, 2010 at 12:39 pm

Hope you weren’t driving your family members when that happens.

• feisal on Apr 18, 2010 at 2:53 pm

I did. Luckily we are safe. It should not have happened in the first place if ESP was there. So I always look for those and ABS and EBD and other safety features. It need only happened once.

Anyway, Fiesta is nice. Might go for it :-)

• Charger on Apr 18, 2010 at 4:13 pm

Fortunately you and your family is safe.

Do note that Fiesta is not included in the ESP program but it’s the only Ford sold by AutoConnexion that has ESP. Tough choice. lol

• Paul Tan on Apr 18, 2010 at 9:55 pm

Focus TDCi also got ESP.

• DaBaD on Apr 19, 2010 at 10:18 am

Paul,

Are you sure? I just made a booking last saturday for a TDCi and even called the ford sales person today, he keeps on telling me the TDCi is not covered by the new ESP and only the Escape & Mondoe is the only models that is covered by the ESP plan.
            Which is a real let down…their paper ads. doesn’t tell this to the public, only when u go to the Ford showroom do they tell u this….

• Great ride bro….great power & good fc, nice combo ; )

• dun called salesman
            called the customer servcie or branch mgr.
            the contact is listed in the website

• Motorist on Apr 19, 2010 at 1:39 pm

The perception about safety features like EBD, TCS, DSC … is that with these aids, you will never get into an out of control situation.

However, there will be times when the laws of physics (the path of least resistance) will over rule these aids. Times such as extremely wet & slippery conditions. Times such as loss of tyre grip.

I know of an accident where a BMW flip & roll 360 degs anti-clockwise (at Sepang track) but the airbags didnt deploy due to the car not hitting anything in the front. The sensor wasnt touched, thus airbag didnt deploy. Luckily no one was injured in this crash.

So, even with driver aids, common sense have to prevail. Slow down during wet conditions. Know what your car CANT do & dont push it to the limit (esp. when you have your loved ones in the car).

Thank God you were all safe in your accident.

• yeap………i had so far seen 3 beemer 5 series spin out off control at Guthrie Highway and 1 case, very bad injury which i heard the driver’s legs was mangled! (don’t have the heart/courage to take a look or assist the fireman/other drivers with the wreckage..too scary)…

…yeap, law of physic applies coz all 3 cases involved high speed driving while raining…aquaplaning i suspect

• Squawk on Apr 17, 2010 at 4:26 pm

Good move. Hopefully it’ll change some minds. Love the European Fords. Focus is the best handling car since Citroen ZX.

• Sentul Cowboy on Apr 17, 2010 at 4:30 pm

we need ford taurus, edge and fusion here…

• Galaxy and S-max tdci would be more suitable here….msian luv ppl mover and a torque laden & frugal diesel will be much better

• DaBaD on Apr 17, 2010 at 6:21 pm

Just went to Ford showroom at PJ

They said Focus TDCi not included in this promotion…if it was it would have been a Great Deal breaker.

• mitlanevo on Apr 17, 2010 at 8:39 pm

Ford FOREVER!!! love ya!

• johnmiddle55 on Apr 18, 2010 at 8:59 am

interesting enough!! I wish JB Ford distributor can do more than just sitting in the show room waiting for people to come. Your “inactive” presence has somehow lose out the confidence of the potential buyer.

• smellyjack on Apr 18, 2010 at 9:51 am

dear paul,

i’ve been discussing bout dis ford 3yr free service with ma dad….well, it’s kinda silly though…cos we couldn’t see the point as there is no 3s centres so 2 speak here in jb..
    it looked like saying,

“hey, if u buy a ford in jb, i’m gonna give u 3yr free service, but u’ll hv 2 go 2 klang valley 2 utilise it…” ;

as it is, if sime darby is really serious bout promoting ford in m’sia…they should expand their network of 3s…or else it shud be called ford sime darby autoconnecXion klang valley!…

• towfx on Apr 18, 2010 at 11:51 am

oh! i believe all those free charges were *pre-paid* from the car sale price… it wasn’t subsidized.

• mufasa on Apr 18, 2010 at 4:00 pm

why start form 1 apr? coz start from april, interest rate for car is increase, i dont think that all car distributer want to reduce price of car ….. that will give huge impact to all current owner ,,,,so what they do is to give good after sales ,good warranty…..

hope other distributer will tkae same approach,,,,,

• Perodua Azaha on Apr 18, 2010 at 6:53 pm

Why not Ranger too…

• Dr. Kervokian on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:40 am

had a quick chat with a friend. They probably have a database of all ford cars serviced. and figured out that hardly anyone replaces those major components within 60km.

most folks replace engine belts circa 80km.. .so its potentially borderline cases.

well, ford better be careful coz malaysians are pretty a kiasu bunch, by the end of 2.5 years there’s gonna be droves of fellas coming in with excuses to replace those components :p

• Paul Tan on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:03 am

Aiya. That comment of mine was supposed to be a reply to Charger’s above where he talks about the other ESP which is stability control. Dunno how it ended up down here. Sorry.

• intermilan on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:03 pm

In a nutshell, its a great move by Sime.

2009 is a rather inactive year for them, plus the not-so-attractive offer for their line-ups.

2010 however is a revolution for Ford.

I think Sime will get a much better sale this year for their PV.
    Its about time the Mondeo and the rest of the gang get the numbers its deserved.

• KcHarNaXuS on Apr 21, 2010 at 3:09 pm

I just placed my downpayment yesterday and my sales agent told me that TDCi is not covered by the ESP. Reason being petrol version of the Focus, Mondeo & Escape has very low sales. ESP is created to boost the sales of these model. Makes sense but I’m still not satisfied.

Called the Auto ConneXion Voice Center (1800883181) from the website and they gave me a number for their sales (03-7718 1200) which is Auto ConneXion PJ Jalan 215 Branch office number. Then the receptionist told me that all of their sales agent is attending customers. If I continue doing this I will end up doing what I wrote in the first line, which is asking my sales agent.. :)

• KcHarNaXuS on Apr 23, 2010 at 9:00 am

Latest update! The Ford ESP covers 4 models, Mondeo, Escape, Focus Petrol (Sedan, Sports) & Focus TDCi.

• Dr Begum on Jun 01, 2010 at 10:31 am

My sympathies with your purchase of a Ford and dealing with PJ Ford

• me_tdci on Apr 29, 2010 at 4:12 pm

Hi all

I bought TDCI and so far M more than happy of having IT. The performance, power and handling plus saving from fuel consumption are beyond my expectation. When I first heard of the new TDCI coming hear, initial doubt was there but the scepticism just went out gone once I got hold of the car. Very2 sweet.

My experience so far (mileage 1600km)

FC: 2.0 Diesel consume fewer liter / 100 km if compared to Vios 1.5 petrol, at 110 KM the RPM is only around 2000
    Power : No doubt, torque is so sweet.
    Handling & Comfort : Simply say , I LUV the ride
    Road Tax: Green Diesel Engine, therefore similar road tax to petrol engine ie 300++ per year..
    Service In PJ: comparable to TOYOTA. They provides wifi,TV, magazine and free breakfast (Nasi Lemak, Fried Mee + drink). First 1000Km service was 2 hours long
    Part: No replacement yet, however got voucher for the ESP (free spare part for normal wear n tear for 3 years or 60000KM whichever come first)

• Choon on May 17, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Too bad you didn’t tune it up! :P

My unichip tuner convince me this car over Lancer GT, I’m thinking of one soon.

According to him, unichip should bring this car HP up to 170+ bhp with 450+ nm torque! If this is true, that would be one of my best investment.

However, good bye to the warranty, enjoy the performance but you’ve to pay for the repair yourself! Which I don’t think that’s an issues, my experience with chip tuning still very positive.

• me_tdci on May 23, 2010 at 7:06 pm

I dont want to let go free item like warranty and ESP. This ESP can save me thousand $$$$ over 3 years. The torque is currently sufficient for me. The awards it receives worldwide say a lot about its current performance. Anyhow my main purpose was to have a car with power but with less FC for my daily city ride. Maybe i will tune it after 3 years once I get bored with 240nm.

• Shaun75 on Jul 31, 2010 at 11:16 am

I own a Ford Focus 1.8 2007. Within three years, the rear absorbers leaked and bearings faulty. The tire Continental Sportcontact II worn out within a year. Wipers worn out in 2 years. 1 pair of wipers cost you RM400. Just after the warranty period of 3 years over, the automatic transmission cable gave way, left drive shaft, both tie rods, and rear suspension bushes were faulty. Cost to repair nearly RM3k. Salesman last time told me although parts are expensive the likelihood of breakdown is low and all parts are long lasting. So much for long lasting.

Driving condition is normal (Penang) and no potholes or kampung roads.

Judge for yourself. Better go for Civic.

• Nikko on Sep 08, 2015 at 5:43 pm

I owned a Ford Escape, don’t trust Sime Darby, they can changed policy whenever they like, my ESP was revoked because they claimed they have informed owners by putting up notice on the service centres that it covers below 3years from the sale of car and not from following date/month of service and appointed service centres are also not aware.