Toyota Camry Hybrid production & sales begin in China

The production of the Toyota Camry Hybrid (the version with the Aurion-style look) has started in China via Toyota’s partner Guangzhou Toyota Motor. The Camry Hybrid will be sold between 319,800 yuan to 364,800 yuan, which roughly translates to between RM150k to RM172k at current exchange rates.

The Camry Hybrid is now produced at a few locations around the world – Kentucky, Thailand, Australia, Japan and now China. Not all produce the same version though – there are some that produce the US and Japanese market bodytype while the rest produce the Aurion-based body. The fundamentals under the metal are the same though – a 2.4 litre Atkinson cycle 2AZ-FXE engine producing 147 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 187Nm of torque at 4,400rpm, paired to a 30kW (40 horses) electric motor with 270Nm of torque.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• No turbos? Haih..

• Peter on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:27 pm

Hey, wad do you know about turbo????

Just another F1 wanabe…..

How much do you know about hybrid and about this?

Test drive before giving any comments…….

• I know a lot about turbo, I think like maybe 100 times more than you. TQ.

And they’ve chosen a 2.4L atkinson which they should have just went miller.

If you need to test drive everything before comment, our life will be very difficult when it comes to choosing a car (or wife ;-) ). Now since I think you sounded like more pro on this machine. Then tell me why T didn’t choose a turbocharged smaller engine for weight reduction? Hybrid is heavy enough, using a 2.4L doesn’t really help, unless you tell me that whole engine made out of mg/ti la. But this would prove that T is even dumber.

• Peter on Apr 20, 2010 at 11:19 am

Does turbos uses more fuel than normal engine?

Unless you are trying to say swiping the 2.4l atkinson with 1.6l turbos?

I believe it will be much fuel efficient….

If you wana use the same engine cc turbos….

Whats the point?

Besides this is a hybrid version…..

• 1) Turbo actually helps petrol engine to achieve even higher efficiency. As long as the fella who driving it don’t flat out the engine or have a stuck pedal (jocking, just to mock toyota). If you put a same person, with same driving attitude in a turbo car, they would actually get better FC than in a NA car. Of coz there’s a lot of conditions but I am presuming all condition is around the same, what’s different is the engine with or without turbo.

2) Yes, I was assuming they take out the 2.4L and replace it with something smaller. You din read my post below?

3) Yes, I am supportive of hybrid system. Just not this one that has a 2.4L engine.

*I do realize is that Toyota is incapable of delivering a worthy turbo system (realibility, etc etc) at this point of the time cause they haven’t use turbo in their normal cars (exclude Lexus). Thus they have fallen back on turbo technology since long time ago. If they were to slap on a turbo, the dev cost might be higher than this 2.4L. I am criticizing them on the point that they can do better, but they din really try. Instead, they choose to mate the hybrid to a big engine.

• Oh yea, sorry if i offended u.

• 4G63tDSM on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:57 pm

Name…

Why use a miller cycle? Is it better? and since you mentioned miller, what other cars – hybrid or otherwise use miller?

The only one I can think off is the Mazda Millenia 2.3 but with a 3.0L block…..and it’s supercharged, not turbo… and it’s a bloody expensive powerplant, having tooling for a larger engine block and the added complexities of the supercharger.

The other is a prototype subaru hybrid-turbo flat 4…although the name escapes me at the moment. Not even sure if it ever went past prototype

In principal, both the miller and atkinson work about the same, delaying valve closure deep into the compression stroke, increasing efficiency and reducing power. Mazda uses a supercharger to regain that power loss, which Toyota uses a electic motor to do it. I can undestand using the miller if the engine direct drives the motive wheel (a’la Honda IMI) but in this case, its purely nitpicking.

If you want the perfect powerplant for hybrids, is a micro turbine engine…

If you are going to spit out engine types, at least let us know why one is better than the other…..

• Atkinson cycle takes less air in. That’s why i presume turbo charging it would help a bit more. If u turbo/supercharge it, it becomes more similar to miller type engine. But you do have a point, they have electric motors to compensate the lost power.

Microturbine is indeed the most efficient fuel burning “thing” ever. But, industrial wise, Toyota will not take such risk to become pioneer (as most have failed) on this.

Anyway, what’s missing in the article is the FC value of this 2.4L. I am only judging it on experience of Otto cycle engines. if it achieves under or around 5L/100km combined condition, then the 2.4L design would justify. But I doubt it can achieve that value, thus I put my emphasis on smaller turbocharged engine. Best of all, a VW Bluediesel mated to this hybrid system. :-)

• Peter on Apr 20, 2010 at 3:42 pm

I do agree with you

However, as there’s already a very similar Lexus HS available in the market.

So why should Toyota develop and spent even more money in new development rather than some modifications???

I believe that this might be a rebadged Lexus HS for the china market…..

Putting T brand instead…..

• redxdevil (Member) on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:35 pm

typical basher. learn before u speak friend. lol

• letstorque on Apr 19, 2010 at 7:11 pm

Toyota Hybrid in a better package than Prius, but until gov structure a better taxation system for hybrid (and other better alternative such as clean small capacity diesel), this definitely out of reach for 95 % of the population.

• think on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:03 pm

hw about bringing into malaysia..at least the china based price is acceptable..but if it comes to malaysia ,,the price will challenge the bmw320i…greaT TAXATION..

• jolly_idiot on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:23 pm

This car got same problem like the Prius?

• bmpower on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:32 pm

2.4l inly 147hp? rubbish!
    Lotus Neo should laugh very loud then.

Toyota?
    Thanks bu no thanks.
    SAP – Stucked pedal still scare me.

• True2…hahaha

• francis on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:37 am

2.4L producing 147HP… Lotus Neo laughing…fine

How about what if this 2.4L producing 147HP can hit 2000KM with full tank…
      Toyota laughing more even louder…HAHAHAHAHA

• 2000 miles if driven <60 kmh…….tats ridiculous and perhaps how boring toyotas shud be driven. Neo already came back from fabulous holiday when toyota arrive. Who cares bout FC anyway if u buy 145hp neo, the ore rich enuf to think bout FC

• yup u’re right… nobody cares about fc when they want performance…

• do u know wat is atkinson cycle?

do u know the combine motor/engine is 190hp…

neo is far away…not even close…not to mention torque alone…

• Type F on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:24 am

Some ppl still didn’t now the big different between these 2 engines..
        Kind of stupid comparing this to neo..

• proton on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:34 pm

no turbo how to fight with proton? now proton already in turbo era

those jap company need to come out with turbo! just like VW if not cannot fight with proton dy

• BeemerFreak on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:10 pm

HaHaHa, nice one. Then on the road more cars will have punctured tyres becuase they will rollsover broken pieces of proton engine due to over charging of the turbo. Lousy campro engine still want add turbo, learn what others do first before getting turbo; dual cam timing and direct injection, ada power, jimat petrol. Not turbo aje, makan wang ,makan petrol, makan enjin.

• Campro turbo already tested on the road with over 200bhp…wake up bro

• chain on Apr 20, 2010 at 1:41 am

i own a Saga Blm..campro engine?..makan minyak jer…thk..i wun buy proton again..alot of small problem….if u got power but heavy fuel consumption is the same la..

• proton on Apr 20, 2010 at 5:40 am

ya we do not need quality car, we only need powerful car. We can always take annual leave to go to fix car and chit chat with foreman. Paling penting, ada gaya.

As long as my car can drive very fast at traffic light, bising pun tak pa, rosak pun tak pa. Ader gaya….

Minyak mahal pun tak pa, hujung bulan, pakai motor ler.

• paultan fan on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:05 pm

aiyoo..toyota caldina bukan turbo ker

• erhh…no recall??

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 19, 2010 at 9:44 pm

Very soon… Probably no more SAP (stuck accelerator pedal) but SCC (Self-combusting car) instead.

• Many ppl still blind of brand mah… oooyah..i like to see tat recall again…

• MDR – Massive Dugong Recall… hahaha

• proton on Apr 20, 2010 at 5:41 am

why recall? Gen2 terbakar pun tak recall? Persona terbakar pun tak recall, pintu setiap 2 bulan tak boleh buka pun tak recall.

• kalo setakat terbakar segijik dua bijik mcm mana nak recall semua.. claim insuran je lah.. claim total lost.. beli keta baru… toyota isu SAP cecah berjuta unit… itupun kalo tak force tak recall… yg 1st sekali kena blame, floor mat muahahaha…

• Persona E have to hold back delivery to buyer due to CamPro engine problem you don’t want to comment??? How come have problem ya? Its just a facelift… does tat mean all Campro have similar problem but proton… biasa la….

• Y not so much ppl talking abt proton, bcoz…u know i know la, quality la, durability la, service la, problem la…almost malaysian know la…so, y talk so much?
        Toyota big fat branded car maker mah…everyone thought quality & stability same as his price & name ma…manatau…haiz….i feel shame for it, but really funny la still got ppl think T are the best of the best……recall? perhaps~~

• BeemerFreak on Apr 20, 2010 at 9:01 am

true i agreed. Toyota is a big name should maintain the quality and reliability. We should not expect so much from proton because after all they are a kampung company building many kampung cars besides the Exora.

• ImpuL on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:48 pm

Cannot trust Toyota anymore… STUCKED ACCELERATOR PEDAL ..

• Soo Hai on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:50 pm

sorry Toyota… Prove that sticky accelerator pedal problem no more

• Guys… read properly la.. It’s hybrid, what turbo? what compete or fight with Proton?

Proton very advance? got hybrid alrd ka?

• Bro… think properly la.. It’s a 2.4L, what hybrid saves will be eat off buy that mega 2.4. And that 2.4L only offer 147hp/187Nm, better off with just a 1.5 Turbo.

• Someone on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:09 am

Actually, altogether it has 187 horsepower(plus electric engine).

• Stop being a troll and learn about hybrid engines first for a change and design principles of hybrid cars. The more you comment, the more daft you look.

It’s meant to be environmentally friendly and drivable in NORMAL conditions.

• I didn’t mean to cancel out hybrid. What I mean is to replace the 2.4L with a 1.5L T but still have that hybrid system.

And yes, I do understand how hybrid works. Do you understand what’s an atkinson cycle? If not, go google it up and look at 1 important flaw, which can be compensated by a simple T. And fyi, the lighter the car, the better it’ll be at FC, not to mention more environmental friendly. I just don’t see how a 2.4L engine can be lighter than a 1.5L.

Don’t put everyone in the same troll category. Learn to look at it as a good criticism. If not, you might be as “daft” as you find me to be.

• From what I know, turbos equal higher maintenance due to the ‘forced induction’ principles in all turbo engines (am no engineer, correct me if I’m wrong) and is subject to faster wear and tear. The target market for Camrys are those who can do without that ‘problem’ – family car mate.

Additionally, there’s also a reason why they build bigger engines so they can cruise better (hence not many turbo cars in the US).

So what I’m saying is, look at it holistically on why such design principles in a car like Camry before commenting on why not a 1.5L turbo.

• True, turbos was avoided generally in the industry because of high maintenance. But nowadays if you want to go green, turbo is a must (Look at the current market, everyone except for JDM is going turbo). It’s the only way to achieve more power while keeping emission down for a conventional engine. Even in unconventional setup, it will still win as long as a piston/crank shaft engine is used (Maybe there are a few exception but can’t think of any now).

Anyway, europe is aggressively working on turbos (partly is because they gov there is watching so close on their emission) while JDM slacks on (partly because of dev cost la).

• Peter on Apr 21, 2010 at 3:42 pm

Turbo is used for cleaner and greener engine….Be it gasoline or diesel…

But its a NO-NO for hybrid version….Besides, super-charging the turbos would be an ideal case instead of turbo charging it…

If u need turbocharger for every single engine…..Do you think it will last long? And also, if turbos can help to push all the power up which is equivalent to the higher cc engine….

Then wad’s the point of having 2.0l,2.4l,.3.0l or even V6,etc for????

• I’m referring to soft turbos, what the industry is using now…

You sounded like it’s hardcore turbos (those that needs intercooler).

Oki, nvm, dun even know if u will come back to read this thread or not.

• Tiadaid on Apr 19, 2010 at 10:09 pm

Actually Proton do have Hybrid, EV. Just that it’s still in prototype stage.

• at least no SAP :P

• honda====king on Apr 19, 2010 at 10:54 pm

who are toyota supporters = take bake your word .you see , a problem is going to happen soon !!!!!!!!
      HAHA

• tokmoh on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:34 pm

Honda also same la!! Quite literally, Honda is DEAD now that the FD2R is going to stop production. What is this la, what is Honda without racing or sporty characteristic? Konon going green, ptuuuuuuuuuiii!!!

• erhhh…malfunction engine? why only got 147bhp? later engine recall? loss horsepower…. :D

• hybrid la…think

• Type F on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:32 am

It’s ok KKK..
          Very funny reading comments about 147hp…
          They should read more on hybrid theory please…

• Less power better, at least SAP won’t accelerate you to lightspeed. XD

• yup.. 147bhp can bring u up to 180km/h… oso can bring death when hit something :)

• paultan fan on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:09 pm

bila la hybrid tu nak muncul? katanya 2 tahun. tapi dulu2 Exora pun dia kata sekian tahun2, last2 delay2 delay. samala macam Turbo Proton. delay dan delay. huhu. orang lain da bikin mcm2 jenis turbo, hybrid, EV, enjin besar V8 dan lain2

• Squawk on Apr 19, 2010 at 9:42 pm

A hybrid but still using big a$$ engine. Like the NAP will make a difference. Bring on Euro4 diesel!

• mitlanevo on Apr 19, 2010 at 9:59 pm

lame, nothing but lame…

• Boleh Land bila boleh Jual? overall design is excellence, see it on bangkok at the hotel parking bay, blue head lamp..good.

• This 2.4L engine is an Atkinson engine, not the usual type..Atkinson engines are for better fuel economy as the combustion chambers are built in a way that fuel burns more thoroughly.

• most ppl know engine got berapa hp…bla bla bla…
      not to mention a atkinson cycle engine…apa tu….

hybrid is about combine hp….
      n the motor alone got a 2L engine torque….

but then again…..no one knew…(oh ye ke)

• proton on Apr 20, 2010 at 5:44 am

thats why proton need turbo, cos semua orang mau cepat. When kereta problem, tak payah recall, proton will say ” apasal you bawak cepat cepat? driver error? no recall”

pakai turbo, bila ada masalah, orang sudah mati, tak complain tak recall, simple. Orang jepun yang bod0, recall buat pa? deny saja lah

• My concern is on the weight of the engine. Not really on the torque or hp. Japanese car has been very advance when it came to FC, but a huge factor of good FC on japanese car isn’t really on the engine technology anymore. It’s mostly because that JDM car is lighter than continentals. Why not build on such basis and choose a lighter, smaller engine (Miller cycle engine)?

• Squawk on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:42 pm

They couldn’t have used a smaller Atkinson engine?

• many just doesn’t care what inside the engine ~ atkinson cycle engine save more fuel then typical engine
    power is not a big issue in hybrid , fuel consumption is
    hybrid have many torque to cope with low power
    30kw motor already can give out 270nm , that a normal 2.8L NA torque ~ which is impressive enough ~

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:06 pm

Hopefully it has nothing to do with Rowan Atkinson… But since it came from T you would expect their cars to behave like Rowan Atkinson…

• engine + electric motor = 187hp and torque 457nm(more than 2.5L diesel engine) + 6/8l per100km = i will buy if the price is right.

• paultan fan on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:13 pm

agree. they din’t understand how hybrid work

• 6/8L/100km still far from VW Blue diesel figure..
        I know cannot compare la, since it’s a D-Segment (tyt) vs A-Segment (vw). Just for fun…

• subhero on Apr 20, 2010 at 9:08 am

got more pics paul?

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Apr 20, 2010 at 10:09 am

at first without seeing the title i tought it was new waja hybrid

:lol:

• The Camry Hybrid is selling about RM150K in Thailand.
    Hopefully our “care for rakyat” govt can do better.

What do u guys think??

• 4G63tDSM on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:39 pm

What I think?

Not a chance in hell.

If you really want to go green, ask proton to develop hybrid taxis…and test its reliability.
      Afterall they already have the 3-prototype…its been a while, how come still nothing?

Vancouver has probably one of the highest per-capita hybrid cars…..most of them taxis.

• MoFaz on Apr 20, 2010 at 2:04 pm

If Toyota is not using at leat 40% of local (made in thai) parts, the car will not be considered as ‘Asean car’ and will not be applicable for AFTA rules. Import tax will be high.

• Oris_TT2 on Apr 20, 2010 at 11:01 am

To have a sustainable future we must have HYBRIDS.ELECTRIC cars as well.one day in years to come in a not so distant future GASOLINE is going to be very expensive.
    GO GREEN!!!!

• Black99 on Apr 20, 2010 at 11:52 am

Estima price = RM180
    Current price camry in malaysia = RM140
    diffrerent RM40,000 /7 years =RM5,714.25/12months = RM476.19

Can ur save this amount with hyrid car..or less than that

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:11 pm

“Current price camry in malaysia = RM140”

So cheap that I can buy 31 Camry 2.0 with my monthly salary. Gotta head to T showroom now. For that kind of price I won’t even bother about SAP… hehe

• freeze on Apr 20, 2010 at 1:34 pm

You want to let us know you make RM4340 monthly?

What else can we know about you?

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 20, 2010 at 9:22 pm

Probably I can tell you that I eat grass.

• Peter on Apr 21, 2010 at 10:25 am

LOL..Dont tell me u gona spent all your money on the expenses of cars???

• Everybody a critics.. Paul would be nice if you could compile an article on hybrid technology and most appropriate engine to be mated with. It should also highlight our local mechanic capability to address issues arising from using hybrid technology. People can talk (write) but in term of doing the real work would off course be another issue.

• If our Govt really care about the rakyat and the “Green” thingy,
    There shd be no AP ruling and no tax imposed on
    Hybrid and electric cars.

Then everyone can go green!!!

• MoFaz on Apr 20, 2010 at 5:58 pm

but you must realise that Japanese gov is giving subsidy (about RM30k) to the citizen to buy hybrid / ev cars, that’s why the price ‘looks’ cheaper in Japan.

• there has been too many misconceptions and wrong judgements among malaysians..what many cares is how many horsepower does this engine produce and how high does it revs etc.

They never try to understand what kinda engine is that and how does it work..it’s such a shame.. :(

• bmpower on Apr 21, 2010 at 10:34 am

you know what?
      many T fan and proton basher comparing campro cps with ferrari engine HP what?
      so what?!

• Peter on Apr 21, 2010 at 3:45 pm

There are too many wanabes thinking abt turbochargine every single engine…

We saw WIRA, WAJA, Evolution wanabes…..Myvi jap wanabe turbo-ing their engine….

Normal engine will last longer than turbo-charging wanabe engine….No matter wad…..

All you think is abt power, speed…….

PLEASE WAKE UP……

• guys, u r not better than the japs. their targets are mainly the uncles and aunties… young ppl wouldnt probably want to buy this car… 1 thing is its price( mampu or x ) y T would wan to spend unecessarily for turbos?? this is a car made mainly for comfortness and for better FE… and environmental friendly… if wan power or speed better buy sport car instead la…

• anonymous on Aug 20, 2011 at 3:20 am

Will this camry come to malaysia?