BMW becomes world’s most valuable auto brand

BMW is now the world’s most valuable auto brand after the company overtook Toyota in an annual ranking of the world’s top brands called BrandZ Top 100 which is run by market research company Millward Brown. The survey indicated that BMW has a brand value of US$21.8 billion and sits in 25th spot in the overall ranking.

“It is likely that Toyota’s brand has suffered further in recent months, but it is a strong brand and is trying hard to overcome the damage through a major communications campaign,” said director Peter Walshe. “All of our evidence shows that strong brands are much more likely to recover from a crisis.”

According to the survey although BMW is on top its brand value declined by 9% compared to last year. Toyota had it worse with a 27% decline. Third place went to Honda while Mercedes-Benz is in fourth after suffering from an 11% drop. Porsche is in fifth after its brand’s value fell by 31%.

The brands that made up the top three of the list include, you’ve guessed it Google followed by IBM and Apple. Google’s brand value is worth US$114 billion.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• likehondanotsomuch on Apr 29, 2010 at 12:04 am

what is proton n p2 worth?

• Tiadaid on Apr 29, 2010 at 8:48 am

Does every damn post need to have someone mentioning Proton & P2?

• Terbaboo on Apr 29, 2010 at 9:53 am

after Google, IBM and Apple lah…hehehe….

• thanks to our gov…
      they jus love eat those colorful paper (corrupt)
      keep taxing everywhere, else we can even get honda jazz at around 36k but not those silly interior saga.. and those junk tin milo…

• lance on Apr 29, 2010 at 12:54 pm

1st & 2nd from behind..hehehe

• Darius on Apr 29, 2010 at 4:47 pm

Yeah, stuff it about p2 and proton. This is a BMW post. Talk about local cars in local car threads.

• likehondanotsomuch on Apr 29, 2010 at 7:18 pm

This post is about the branding of your product and where it stood in the eyes of the world and how much is the brand worth,,,bmw just happen to be no.1,i think ford and audi will make a comeback in the near future,,have a nice day.;)

• denaihati on Apr 29, 2010 at 12:55 am

Salute to BMW, you are the best.

• bobby on Apr 29, 2010 at 1:24 am

Steve Jobs is the king. I worshipped him !!

• Grammer Police on Apr 29, 2010 at 2:53 pm

So who do you worship now? X-P

• Why you like to buy An Apple that’s is already bitten off ?? Apple is sucking all their fan’s blood by slowly releasing same item with added functions that already long existed. Happy buying Bitten off Apple.

• William on Apr 29, 2010 at 1:34 am

I love to have one!

• seancorr on Apr 29, 2010 at 4:52 am

Wow, BMW = USD21bil and Google = USD114bil. BIG difference

• BMW = USD 21 Billion is still a LOT of money friend.

How about P1? Negative RM 21 Billion?

• JULIAN_LEE on Apr 29, 2010 at 5:25 am

now this is music to my ear

• Jaybond on Apr 29, 2010 at 8:35 am

But Audi is catching up.

• fenzo60 on Apr 29, 2010 at 9:37 am

What about VW?

• omahabojan on Apr 29, 2010 at 9:52 am

How about Mercedes? Not sure where it stands

• Motorist on Apr 29, 2010 at 11:25 am

You need new glasses.

Read: Third para, third line.

• 4th!!! u reading the article or not??

• E Bear on Apr 29, 2010 at 2:53 pm

I quote,
      “Mercedes-Benz is in fourth after suffering from an 11% drop”

This is the source,
      BrandZ Top 100 which is run by market research company Millward Brown.

Happy reading.

• Motorist on Apr 29, 2010 at 11:24 am

Good God !! Now the Bee_Emm fan boys will be even more egoistical & arrogant than before.

• Nerddy on Apr 29, 2010 at 12:27 pm

err… Honda..? Anybody…pls…

• staff on Apr 29, 2010 at 6:53 pm

honda is 2nd after BMW…

• OMG I can’t believe these people. How come they asked where are Merc and Honda in the rank when they are clearly mentioned in the post? It is as if the only read the title and straight away write a comment!

• Bang Iwan on Apr 29, 2010 at 2:34 pm

I Like BMW

• Every smart and not smart chicks knows about BMW or BM

Every kampung or urban girls knows about BM or BMW

so thats why it is number one.

Mercedes is for rich uncle. unless you wanna be mistress :) then you look for mercs guy.

If you wanna get married, look for BM guy :) i mean BMW not bukit mertajam

• Thou Merc is more uncle, everyone in europe knows behind the wheel of a bmw is a beer belly uncle. ;-) Subjective to malaysia d..

• behind the wheel of bMW is not beer belly uncle but a C0CK!!! ( according to jeremy clarkson) lol

• Peter on Apr 29, 2010 at 3:29 pm

BMW!

Yea, i like you!

• don’t forget coca cola!

• I hate BMW/Bimmer. Quality suxxxxx!!!!!

• tamaki on Apr 29, 2010 at 5:47 pm

audi not in top 5, wondering which position it is?

• arospeedo on Apr 29, 2010 at 7:48 pm

Top Car brands 2010

1- BMW
    2- Toyota
    3- Honda
    4- Merc
    5- Porsche
    6- Nissan
    7- Ford
    8- VW
    9- Audi
    10- Renault

• haywire on Apr 29, 2010 at 8:19 pm

BMW 21.8 billion, Audi 3.6 billion (from source)

Not even close

• Korean on Apr 29, 2010 at 10:41 pm

BMW – Best Man Win!!!!

• Yup, i do have a bimmer. a 2008 e60 525i bring me lots of problem. leather and dash board are starting to crack

• engine condition?

• BMW = Bring Me Women

maybe your bimmer attracted too many chics…hence lots of “ganas” love making action in the car thats why crack….hahahah

just kidding man…peace

• ali38hak on Apr 30, 2010 at 1:21 am

has proton keeped the new waja?

and what with diesel from proton and lotus?

they sad lotus and proton create a new diesel engine! what about it?

i follow this page for proton news, other brand news can be found everywhere!

• LOWEST TOP CAR BRAND 2010

1.PROTON
    2.PERODUA
    3. ????
    4. ???