GALLERY: Peugeot Hoggar – 206 derived light pick-up truck

Peugeot has released more images of its Hoggar light pick-up truck as we approach its mid-May launch in Brazil. Designed in Brazil for Brazil, the idea behind the Hoggar is similar to that of our Proton Arena/Jumbuck. Proton used the Wira for the Arena, and the Hoggar is based on the South American 207, which is actually a 206 with Peugeot’s “big mouth” corporate face and a new dashboard.

The Hoggar’s load capacity of up to 742 kg and the bed volume of 1,151 litres is very good for small businesses. Setting up shop in the market is made easier with a detachable tailgate that can sustain 300 kg of weight. Three trim levels will be available, and Brazilians can choose from two Flex Fuel engines – the entry-level 1.4-litre with 82 bhp and a 113 bhp 1.6-litre. The top of the range Escapade model comes with 4X4 style addenda and a tonneau cover.

We won’t get this here, but another 206 derived car – the sedan – will be launched later this year. I still see some Arenas being put to good use by night market vendors, although the idea never really caught on here. Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1093]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Green Fuel on May 04, 2010 at 11:18 am

Time for a Proton Persona derived light truck. I think is worth for Proton to look into it

• etu-dian-tE on May 04, 2010 at 5:37 pm

wanna proton make another mistake as p. arena ???

NO way man. Must LOOK forward dude

• S.Roma on May 04, 2010 at 8:00 pm

I disagree with u…

it just that our market here are “not so into” light pickup trucks…

so it is not a mistakes by Proton…

at least they try…!

• Not a mistake dude, its doing very well in Australia.

• pomen_GTR (Member) on May 05, 2010 at 9:12 am

yup…

if not mistaken untill 2008 proton still produce arena for aussie market….

even i like that arena..its just need a bit more grunt….

see here to see the real beauty of proton jumbuck (in malaysia) >> http://revsphotoblog.blogspot.com/2008/02/traffic-mags-proton-arena.html

-maybe a new proton arena-2 (gen2 style) from proton needed???

• Day deSIANG on May 04, 2010 at 11:19 am

…Definitely not a fan of this!!!

• Mad Cat on May 04, 2010 at 11:33 am

Its nice … IF I ran a Peugeot dealership. This would be my parts runner and ‘shop truck’.

• arashikage on May 04, 2010 at 11:37 am

It’s time to update the arena/ jumbuck. Used the front of Waja, equip with diesel engine.

• p4k4bu on May 04, 2010 at 11:54 am

What happened to Proton Arena anyway?

Discontinued?

• subhero on May 04, 2010 at 1:22 pm

discontinued only for malaysia kut. but not for australia.

• Wow.. this I have to say that Peugeot copied Proton…. (but correct me if i am wrong, i’ve never seen mini cars with truck bed behind except for the arena, dun really follow them)

• ezmil75 on May 04, 2010 at 5:25 pm

Proton is not the first. Subaru used to build something like this way back in the 1980’s called the Subaru Brumby. As expected, this car is very popular in Australia. The Jumbuck came at the right time as Australian has no option for a small pick up as the Brumby is the last of its kind. A term coined for this type of car is Ute (short for Utility Vehicle). There are bigger brother of the Arena sold in Australia build by Ford and Holden, based on the Falcon and Monaro chassis respectively.

By the way, the Americans too have this type of vehicle build by Chevrolet. It is the El Camino which was produced way back in 1959!

• theanswer on May 04, 2010 at 7:46 pm

Ford Falcon UTE..HSV maloo..holden ute..superb looking ute.

• oh yea.. the al camino.. how can i forget it, saw it on pimp my ride way long back ago. Thanks for the info. :-)

• pomen_GTR (Member) on May 06, 2010 at 8:40 am

subaru brumby outsmoke a porsche 911 here>> http://autospeed.com/cms/A_109938/article.html

:lol:

• mohsin on May 04, 2010 at 12:22 pm

Is there a new proton arena/jumbuck based on exora?
    Love to see it!

• Green Fuel on May 04, 2010 at 1:30 pm

Hope to see two variant, one with the similar size of the current Proton Arena based on Proton Persona, and another bigger brother based on Exora (which can lift more than 1 tonnes, like the 1.5 tonnes Toyota Dyna)

• Squawk on May 04, 2010 at 12:51 pm

Can’t say much about the rest of the car, errr… truck but I like the rear lights.

• azrai on May 04, 2010 at 12:57 pm

It’s not feasible for Proton to come out with new Arena. Maybe Proton could have a kind of bodywork subsidiary dealing with chassis modification work like turning proton model into Limo, executive model, open top, and even this kind of arena like proton. This can make money instead DSZ. Exclusive and custom made.

• HirumaKecil on May 04, 2010 at 1:04 pm

Nampak x popular bagi kita sebab kita x perlukannya.. tapi ramai yg perlukan pickup kecil macam ni..n contoh paling jelas proton arena.. semua orang cakap sapa nak beli ? tapi kat kampung saya di kedah, ramai yg pakai arena, dalam taman tu ada 5 orang guna persona.. kira banyak la tu.. diorang ni ada yg jual buah, ada yg berniaga pasar malam dan ade yg bawak gi kebun.. minyak pon lagi jimat dari truck pickup yg besar2 tu..

• Shappawi_2012 on May 04, 2010 at 1:48 pm

Dan…road tax pun murah

• kat Australia, Proton Arena/Jumbuck hari2 ko bole jumpa.

• p4k4bu on May 04, 2010 at 3:35 pm

Tak dapat dinafikan, memang tak popular. Dalam sebuah forum kereta, dikatakan jualan enam bulan pertama 2007 bagi Arena ialah: 162 unit sahaja.
      Sedangkan Perdana yg dah tua bangka pun terjual 1460 unit. Di Australia lebih popular gamaknya.

Business wise, it simply does not make sense for proton to build something like Arena if that’s the kind of sales it is going to get. Unless Proton can export it to Thailand, Indonesia, Australia, South Africa, Middle East etc etc.

Orang Malaysia simply tak suka pakai this kind of vehicle. Small traders prefer Nissan Vanette ….. which is still selling :(

• bmpower81 on May 04, 2010 at 2:55 pm

ARENA look alike….

• Alanore Chong on May 04, 2010 at 3:12 pm

Looks very odd leh…

• likehondanotsomuch on May 04, 2010 at 8:33 pm

Now everything needs to be small,light,easy parking space saving + electric some more,,,,sure odd one

• likehondanotsomuch on May 04, 2010 at 3:59 pm

fuhhh,,,just in brazil,really dont want one

• dizzy on May 04, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Tail lights used are the same as Arena….

• khaix19a on May 04, 2010 at 4:44 pm

put V8 engine in this car….so people can deliver their more faster…haha…just like ford maloo….6.3 v8 engine

• zanggief on May 04, 2010 at 5:21 pm

perhaps saga derived arena…pack with 1.6 campro or 1.4 tdi engine!!!!

• Alifz on May 04, 2010 at 7:37 pm

Proton, time to convert Exora to this kinda ute .. :-)

• S.Roma on May 04, 2010 at 7:58 pm

Dear All,

1.6 Litre and 113 bhp only?

SUCKX !

• Nihao on May 04, 2010 at 9:33 pm

ARENA Copycat !…. means Proton doing something right just wrong market in Malaysia

• JaneD on May 05, 2010 at 9:30 am

I used to drink a truck (Ford Ranger) and now I drive a 206. Love both cars but I still do not wish to see an amalgamation of them as one.

• budleee on May 05, 2010 at 10:41 am

we just need a diesel in proton and that proposed pickup chassis from the Exora…

it would sell

these small pickups car are not for everyone, just those who needs a smaller pickups..

i think proton should do like a cab pickup, with a small upright seats behind the drivers to serve as extra cargo space and perhaps to carry people for short distances…

• techboy_88 on May 05, 2010 at 6:54 pm

This shows that there is still market for “soft pick-up truck.”

• yup. maybe not here in malaysia but there certainly has a market for these elsewhere. so, to those who find this concept amusing, look out of this country and see what other places have. then you’ll broaden your knowledge.

• Cosmos on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:35 pm

modify it like how some south americans do. looks great with big wheels and lowered suspension!