Volvo S80 2.5T facelift – extra 31 bhp, 40 Nm and safety kit

Volvo has unveiled the facelifted S80 this morning. No more CBU 3.2 model for Malaysia, but the locally assembled 2.5T variant lives on and has a lot more to offer than before, both under the hood and in equipment count, especially on the safety front.

The same turbocharged 2.5-litre five-cylinder engine is used, but with an extra 31 bhp and 40 Nm to make 231 bhp and 340 Nm available from 1,700 to 4,800 rpm. The substantial jump in figures is due to higher boost pressure, from the previous 0.5 bar to 0.8 bar. The added grunt results in improved performance; the 0-100 km/h sprint is completed in 7.5 seconds (previously 8.0 sec), leading Volvo to call its flagship “the fastest car in its class” (Volvo considers the E250 CGI and 523i as classmates).

Fuel consumption has improved as well, from 9.8 km/l to 10.4 km/l. Drive is channeled to the 17-inch front wheels via a six-speed automatic ‘box. Volvo also says that the “improved chassis” now offers “firmer handling”.

Unlike many CKD cars, this S80 is fully loaded with equipment, many of which weren’t available in the pre-facelift 2.5T. My favourite safety toy BLIS (Blind Spot Info System) is here, joined by Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), which is similar to Mercedes’ Distronic.

Also here is Collision Warning and Auto Brake, which alerts the driver with audible and visual signals should he/she approach another vehicle’s rear end without braking (distracted by a hot pedestrian perhaps?). In such situations, the brakes are pre-charged and if the driver still does not react, the S80 automatically deploys 50% of brake capacity to reduce collision impact.

Next up is Driver Alert Control and Lane Departure Warning. LDW, as its name suggests, keeps you within the lines, while DAC monitors driver consistency, waking up sleepy or dozing drivers with a coffee sign on the meter. Just like in the W212 E-Class, but DAC goes further by having a mobile phone style signal bar for your concentration levels that’s always on display. Rounding it all up is active bending lights.

I have a thing for modern Volvo cabins and really like S80’s warm and cocooning living quarters. There are small changes here, namely ambient lighting from the doors, “silk metal trim” and a new four-spoke steering wheel with a full circle of tasteful dark wood (not just the top and bottom parts). For the exterior, blink and you’ll miss the changes.

A larger iron mark on the grille, eyeliner, a chrome strip along the bottom of the doors and below the rear lights are the subtle tweaks. Two new colours are available – Ice White and Ember Black – the latter has embedded “gold flakes” for an orangey hue in certain light conditions.

So how much? The price is up by RM10,000 to RM295,000 OTR without insurance, a tiny increase considering the extras you get over the pre-facelift car. Live pictures from this morning’s event is after the jump.

Volvo S80 facelift live images
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1124]
Volvo S80 facelift official images
[zenphotopress number=999 album=130]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• TheophilusChin on May 13, 2010 at 2:35 pm

This is a good car. It deserves to sell more in Malaysia.

• Choon on May 13, 2010 at 7:51 pm

Nope, I don’t think so.

I think – RM290K is over price, the previous price just nice. I’ve asked one of the Volvo tuner of getting the previous version, he advice me about the car reliability.

Apparently after 100K, many major parts is done, the maintenance cost is about 5K+

If you really have those kind of cash, why don’t you consider premium brand instead of Volvo? Personal preference? You must be load of cash! :P

• So that means whoever drive new Volvo must be darn richer than those who drivers Merc and Beamers.. LOL

• pororo on May 14, 2010 at 10:43 am

hi Choon…

i think that any car will have many parts need to be replaced after 100K kms….. even if it’s a Merc/BMW/Audi…..

can you pls elaborate on the 5K+ maintenance cost? per month or per service?

thx…

• Scuddie on May 15, 2010 at 8:26 pm

Nevermind him..the guyz is just so biased and nothing neutral…most likely is 1 of those another merc or bmw salesperson in showroom..he even oversighted the fact that Volvo is already a premium brand itself….pathetic…

• David Yeoh on May 19, 2010 at 10:31 am

I believe you are from others premium brand salesman, Mr Choon ! anyway… don’t simply comment when you know nothing about Volvo…

• Hi, i am a volvo owner but surprising don’t agree with choon. A thrash talk from a used car salesman I pressume. I have no problem with my volvo and until now still served my purpose after 100k km. I have driven a number of cars and will change to the new s80. thumbs up volvo. finally you got it right.

• Choon on Jun 23, 2010 at 3:40 am

Agree or not, that’s your right and freedom of speech.

Truth still remains, it doesn’t matter if other premium cars needs to change the part even before 100K KM, I’m willing to pay for the BRAND.

I like Volvo, but really hate the distributor here… sorry to say this – you guys ruin everything of a GOOD car.

BTW, I don’t think Volvo is a safe car, that’s just a perception Volvo successfully put in most people’s mind.

If only those guy in Volvo management know anything about marketing, they won’t position themselves with Germany Premium Brand , they are not up to it. They should compete with VW.

Good luck to all Volvo lover, you are kena potong kau kau… :D

• feisal on May 13, 2010 at 2:39 pm

Fully loaded, faster on century sprint and 100k cheaper than the new 523i….

• Choon on May 13, 2010 at 7:53 pm

But RM130K+ more expensive than the coming Sonata….

And I think Sonata is much better. Yes, not comparing apple to apple, but Volvo is no where near BMW.

• feisal on May 13, 2010 at 10:31 pm

Sonata? Kizashi maybe…

• pororo on May 14, 2010 at 10:25 am

How can one compare S80 with sonata? eventhogh both starts with the letter S…

• Scuddie on May 15, 2010 at 8:32 pm

lol…he thinking that the sonata is as safe as the volvo when having a serious crash in an accident…phew~

• Scuddie on May 15, 2010 at 8:35 pm

lol..he thinks that the sonata is as safe as volvo when having a serious crash in an accident…phew~

• Mark P.K on May 13, 2010 at 2:45 pm

Still can’t play MP3?

• HirumaKecil on May 13, 2010 at 2:48 pm

RM210000 to RM295000???? Not Rm10000 to RM295000 right???

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 13, 2010 at 3:11 pm

Up by RM10K, not up from RM10K

• Syarif on May 13, 2010 at 3:16 pm

Previous price was RM285,000. So it really is an increase of RM10,000. If you can look pass the brand (Volvo vs Mercedes/BMW/Audi), I believe this really is a good buy. With more S80 on the road, and more younger people buying Volvo nowadays, second hand value could possibly rise.

• sutheshkumar on May 13, 2010 at 3:03 pm

no more navigation?

• Paul Tan on May 13, 2010 at 6:41 pm

The 2.5T never had navigation I think, only the inline-6 had it.

• this is a seriously nice car but the pricing puts it smack close to the germans and knowing the limited knowledge that malaysians have in cars (only thinking of the fabled resale value) they will give it a miss until it is priced like a camry!!! but we all know that will never happen ;)

hehe, i may be opening a can of worms here!!

but seriously, this is a nice understated car that doesn’t shout the owner’s wealth or class.

• volvo 4 life !!!

• RAZMAN MAJID on May 13, 2010 at 4:30 pm

295K is still cheaper than C230CGI from Mercedes Benz, but seriously would anyone buy S80 if he can easily afford C230CGI Mercedes Benz?

donno man… This Volvo brand nearly gone China.

• but the S80 is a full sized family car like the 5 series and E class.can’t compare with C class which is much smaller unless you want to cramp your whole family.

somehow I see the C class and 3 series as cars that you drive mostly yourself or with 2-3 passengers.most owners would have another alphard or estima at home to take the family out,or else it’s used by yuppies or singles.

The S80 is an excellent choice if you are looking for a comfortable safe family car without the brand factor

• Choon on May 13, 2010 at 7:58 pm

I would say Ford Mondeo is better, especially the space inside Mondeo is actually bigger than the 5 series!

S80 is very good car, but a lot over price consider the price range come close to German Premium car.

Not sure about anyone else, my friend from UK told me Volvo is just another Citroen or Peugeot, not close to any premium Brand.

• pororo on May 14, 2010 at 10:34 am

true true….. a guy from Sweden visited my ex-company last time….. he told me most Swidish guy thinks a good car means SAAB…..

• Nice. Always had a soft spot for Volvo’s cause I literally grew up in one. Dad had bought a Volvo 244 when was born and later updated to the 940 Turbo. Solid cars. Used to drive all the way to Penang, Singapore and the east coast old federal roads. Don’t have them now, but I’m trying hard to convince him to give the E and 5 a miss and settle for the S80.

• Motorist on May 13, 2010 at 6:24 pm

Me was the 144. Even have a baby photos of me holding onto the steering wheel of the 144 :-)

One thing about Volvo is that the back seat can be uncomfortable for those that get car sick easily. My brother used to throw up every long distance trip we ever made in the 240.

I understand that even the current Volvo’s seem to still have this quirk.

• Choon on May 13, 2010 at 8:00 pm

Volvo must be much more than just a normal Brand to you, it’s your happy memory and life – Volvo for life!

• Motorist on May 13, 2010 at 5:52 pm

Why the hell does all locally assembled luxury cars here MUST have the fugly fake wood trims. Most go overboard, some make it worse by choosing an orange based tint.

If you think by adding wood trim, the car suddenly up ante into a Rolls or Bentley, then you must be mad.

• tishaban on May 13, 2010 at 5:52 pm

I test drove the pre-facelifted S80. I love the look of the car, NVH is top notch even compared to BMW and Mercedes plus the safety features are top notch. However the car wallows around corners, so much so that I got scared driving up and down Besraya. I also couldn’t imagine driving around a family in a car with white leather, back in 2009 there was no manufacturer option for the S80 to change leather colors like BMW or Mercedes.

As much as I liked the features, I couldn’t get attached to the car on the emotional level so I didn’t buy it. Like it or not at these price ranges emotion plays a big role.

• Choon on May 13, 2010 at 8:03 pm

Try Ford Mondeo, you’ll love the space and handling. Basically same technology but Ford seems to be a lot better and practical.

If you had the cash to spare, get Audi, the style is better and the build feature won’t let you down.

However, if you are tight with cash, no worries, new Sonata is loaded with tons of feature, plus the price is very competitive!

• Finally, we get a black interior. Time to consider it :)

The previous beige was a strict no-no for me.

• mati katak on May 13, 2010 at 7:11 pm

i think unker auntie driver will adore Volvo design……….

• Toyota drivers are idiots on May 13, 2010 at 7:52 pm

What took them so long? Finally a good Volvo to consider. The E-Class is overpriced and the CBU 5-Series is a dissapointment when it comes to specs. Does it comes with the navigation? Volvo needs to improve on its wheel design.

• Roland on Nov 12, 2010 at 3:05 pm

It’s an optional Accessories as well as the better wheel design

• E Bear on May 13, 2010 at 10:40 pm

Nice car but any idea how long this design has been around?

Merc n Bmw’s update their models very quickly in Malaysia so we don’t get to be too behind developed countries.

Might as well just get an A4 instead, can go for quattro……

• odi862 on May 14, 2010 at 12:10 am

Volvo has its own fans here in Malaysia. Although not as much as the German marque, we still see occasionally a Volvo on the road. I’m sure with the introduction of this upgraded version, S80 will continue to sell and other models also. If not, Federal Auto and Swedish Marque sure will close down…….

• V50 T5 Heico Sportiv on May 14, 2010 at 12:12 am

was there only after the launch. saw the car and i must say i was impressed. i even sat in the driver’s side for about 20 mins, simply amazed how volvo has evolved(slowly but surely). maybe i’ll get one… but i’m still eyeing the C30 T5 R-Design. very curious how it performs.

Volvo For Life,
    Volvo, For Wife?

• pororo on May 14, 2010 at 10:40 am

Volvo For Wife…. LOL!!!!! That’s a good one!!!!! can imange having that on the number plate frame!!!!

• venven81 on May 14, 2010 at 7:39 am

some volvo models are indeed very nicely designed but the driving experience that i had with my cousin’s volvo s40 2.0T (2003) does not come close to the german marque. volvo cars are powerful but the feelings of driving it does not make me want to own one but surely there are a lot of volvo-for-life fans out there who still want one… or may be more :)

• that model of s40 was designed in collaboration with mitsubishi so the underpinings are similiar to the waja.agree with you that it was not a very nice drive,although powerful with the turbo.
      The newer s40 shared th platform with the focus so it drives much better.Overall volvo buyers are neither looking to impress others or do night racing.
      The car serves as a SAFE means of transport which fortunately now doesn’t have to look like a square box.

• V70T5 on May 14, 2010 at 9:49 am

this is naughtier… i like it :D

• just compare the features n specifications of C250CGI or F10 523i with this S80, then u wont say RM290k is overpriced

• JKucing on May 15, 2010 at 8:35 am

Still need to put in the key for the keyless start?

• paultan fan on May 15, 2010 at 8:07 pm

Volvo. maybe must wait 3 years for new owner of Volvo from China to lower the price. hehe. I like Volvo for their safety

• Bobby on May 16, 2010 at 3:06 am

Amazing from what I read here.

From what the S80 was equipped with, you’d be hard pressed to find any competitor whose price can close the gap within RM130k from this car.

It’s RM298,000 an increase of just RM10,000 and you get:

31hp more
    40Nm more
    Lower Fuel Consumption
    BLIS
    ACC
    Driver Alert
    Lane Departure
    ZtH of 7.5 second

And we have nincompoops here saying this car is expensive? Give me a break please.

If the Japs can come up with a car with these specs and sell you at this price, I’ll forever drive Proton Tiara for the rest of my life.

Seriously, the only two car brands in Malaysia where their products offer the best bang for buck ratios is, amazingly European brands! Peugeot and Volvo.

As for commenters who mentioned this car wallows at highways, please, it is our highways built by dumb arses and not the car. Yes, I have driven the car, it is slightly less all conquering as a BMW 5 Series, Audi A6 nor Merc E-Class when it comes to storming at highways around 220km/h; but it is definitely much better than a 3 series or c-class; so don’t even mention a Sonata or Camry.

Yes, Ford Mondeo is a good car, but what sells a car? What intrigues buyers most? The chassis? the engine? the specs? Not exactly, after the brand, its the looks of the car. The Ford Mondeo has an interior that looks like those 90s AIWA Hi-Fi, still like those? And what about those safety features the Volvo is loaded with? The performance?

And FYI, the Volvo S80’s interior wood panels and real stuffs.

• Mr Q. on Jul 18, 2010 at 1:43 pm

There’s a volvo in every cars!!! E.g. 3-point safety belt. So there is no doubt of safety in volvo cars….

• karthig on Apr 12, 2011 at 12:56 pm

good morning,hei guys volvo is dam awesome car and trust me i never been love bmw til these days.
    im sorry to be cruel those who are bias to these car ur just someone who cant accept the truth that volvo is better then merc n bmw. ok i knw those gona attack me u wil argue bmw is performance car hei baby do u knw i can chase 530i which realy speeding with altis 1.8G i think thats very far comparability,my point is its not about the car its bout how talented are u in driving…… “anyone can chase anyone”

can i ask u another question,have u seen a old those days bmw i mean im not sure the model im not into bmw,25years car plus is on the road sure with problem and compare with merc e190,w123 they are so so problem free with just low maintenance,and u can go for long distance without scared men….

volvo is world safest car,and their rnd is the best they realy into research about the parts and who said volvo federal is not user friendly,hei hello have u went there 1st place they are so good men and they advice u alot in all term aspect.

• A Volvo is a superb car inside out…ull never know how good the car is until uve owned 1 urself…have u ever heard of the phase..ONCE UVE OWNED A VOLVO ITS ALWAYS GONNA BE A VOLVO AGAIN AND AGAIN..ive had 3 so far starting fron the first generation s80 and now I own the 2.5t with 231bhp.it drives better than any of its competitors..don’t even dream of sniffing the car on the highway bcs ull never get close to it